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MINUTES OF THE SENATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Dwayne Umbarger at 1:37 p.m. on March 9, 2004 in Room
123-S of the Capitol.

All members were present:

Committee staff present:
Carolyn Rampey, Legislative Research
Kathie Sparks, Legislative Research
Debra Hollon, Legislative Research
Theresa Kiernan, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Judy Steinlicht, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Theresa Kiernan, Revisor of Statutes
Richard Hoffman, Director of Kaw Area Technical School
Reginald Robinson, President & CEO, Kansas Board of Regents
Joan Wagnon, Secretary of Revenue

Others attending:
See Attached List

HB2795—-Compulsory school attendances; exemption for students in postsecondary educational
institutions

Theresa Kieman, Revisor of Statutes, gave the committee a brief overview of HB2795.

Richard Hoffman, Director of Kaw Area Technical School (KATS), told the committee that he started as
director of KATS in August 2003, and in October 2003, he was notified that the U.S. Department of
Education would be conducting an audit. He was informed that KATS was out of compliance based on the
fact that the school was accepting students, who had not graduated from high school or received their
GED, and further, these students had not passed the age as set forth by law since 1997 when the
compulsory age in Kansas was changed from 16 to 18. As a result, KATS was asked to pay back $882,445
in financial aid that was given to qualified students, but they were not allowed to spend the money with
KATS because KATS did not meet the guidelines. KATS has never been sited for awarding ineligible
students with financial aid. The Federal regulation accepts whatever the state sets as its own guidelines.
Mr. Hoffman believes HB2795 will fix the problem for the entire state and asks for support. (Attachment

1)

Reginald Robinson, President & CEQ, Kansas Board of Regents, told the committee it was the elevation
of age from 16 to 18 that triggered the issue. KATS has legal council that is on top of the issue and they
are trying to get clarification from the U.S. Department of Education that the language in HB2795 will
satisfy the problem. He hopes to get some clarity prior to the end of session. (no attachment)

HB2493—Education; concerning private and foreign postsecondary schools

Theresa Kiermnan, Revisor of Statutes, presented balloon amendments to HB2493 to make technical
changes and clarifications. (Attachment 2)

HB2795-Compulsory school attendances; exemption for students in postsecondary educational
institutions

Senator Vratil proposed wording to amend HB2795 by adding a definition whereby “regularly enrolled”
we would be defined to mean 5 hours or more per day, and then use the term "regularly enrolled" in
section 1 (a) which is the compulsory attendance statute and also in section 1 (b)(3) so that it would say
students attending both a postsecondary institution and a K-12 school would be “regularly enrolled” and
concurrently enrolled which was bring in the 5 hour concept.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to
the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1



CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE SENATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE at 1:37 p.m. on March 9, 2004 in Room
123-S of the Capitol.

Senator Bunten made a motion to amend HB2795 with the wording described by Senator Vratil.
Seconded by Senator Teichman. Motion carried.

Senator Schodorf made a motion to amend HB2493 into HB2795 with the technical amendments and
clarification proposed by Theresa Kieman. Seconded by Senator Emler. Motion carried.

After some discussion, Senator Oleen made a motion to amend HB2795 changing the word “foreign” to
“out of state” . Seconded by Senator Downey. Motion carried.

Senator Vratil made a motion to recommend HB2795 as amended favorably for passage. Seconded by
Senator Teichman. Motion carried.

SB344-Sales tax; exempting certain sales by schools and school-sponsored groups and
organizations

Joan Wagnon, Secretary of Revenue, explained the fiscal note on SB344. The fiscal note as currently
proposed would be $9 million in 2005 with the potential that the impact could be higher. If secondary
schools were included, the impact would be $13 million. The loss would accelerate in 2006.

Senator Vratil made a motion to table SB344. Seconded by Senator Emler. Motion carried.

SB 512-School districts; building-based budgeting

Senator Bunten handed out information on his proposal in SB512 which includes a copy of the district
wide budget which is required by school districts to submit to State Department of Education, a copy of
the format that the building-based budget working group developed and a copy of Seaman School
District's budget figures put on the new format. Senator Bunten handed out the information with the
understanding that the bill would be worked tomorrow, March 10, 2004.

Adjourned 2:30 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for March 10, 2004.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 2
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March 9, 2004

TO: Senator Dwayne Umbarger
Senate Education Committee

FROM: Richard Hoffman
Director, Kaw Area Technical School

RE: HOUSE BILL #2795

In October 2003, I was notified by the United States Department of Education that they would be
conducting an audit of Kaw Area Technical School’s (KATS) financial aid program. During the
exit interview, the lead auditor informed me that KATS was out of compliance based on the fact
that the school was accepting students, who had not graduated from high school or earned their
General Equivalency Diploma (GED), as regular students, and these students had not passed the
age of compulsory attendance as set forth by K.S.A. 72-111. Further, KATS has been out of
compliance since July 1997 when the compulsory age for Kansas was changed from sixteen (16)
to eighteen (18).

As a result of this change in state statute, the Preliminary Finding Point Sheet and the Draft
Auditor’s Report both recommend that Kaw Area Technical School face the following penalties:

1. Immediate suspension of KATS ability to award financial aid to postsecondary students.

2. Pay back to the government financial aid disbursed to students during AY 2002-03,
which total $882,445.

3. Further audit KATS enrollment practices prior to AY 2002-03 to identify additional
monies that should be paid back. (This estimated amount exceeds over $3,000,000.)

It is important to note that Kaw Area Technical School has never been sited for awarding
ineligible students financial aid. All students, who received financial aid, met federal eligibility
requirements.

Further investigation by Reggie Robinson, president and CEO of the Kansas Board of Regents,
has determined that the compulsory age law is a problem for other schools and colleges in at
least seventeen (17) other states as well as Kansas. After visiting with several United States
Senators, Representatives and their staff members, it was determined that this is a state issue not
a federal issue. The Federal regulation simply states that whatever the State sets as its own
guidelines is what the Federal government will accept.

To this end, I am asking your support of House Bill #2795 as a legislative solution to this
problem for the entire State of Kansas.

5724 SW Huntoon Street Topeka, Kansas 66604-2199 785-273-7140 (Telephone)
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ATTORNEYS AT LAW

3105 South Streel, NW

& RUSTE IN Washington, DC 20007
h 202.965.3652

ANASEVIT T ox 202.965.8913
email bruman@bruman.com

www. bruman.com

ATTORNEY-CLIENT PRIVILEGED

MEMORANDUM
To: Richard Hoftman
From: Leigh Manasevit, Brian Kobil
Subj: Analysis of Statutory Amendment
Date: February 17, 2004
ISSUE

You asked us for our analysis of the proposed amendment to the Kansas
compulsory school attendance statute.

BACKGROUND

Kaw Area Technical School (KATS) is a technical college in Topeka, Kansas that serves
students from 17 surrounding school districts. The majority of KATS’ regular students are either
high school graduates or are over 18 years old, or both. KATS also admits juniors and seniors in
high school who may be either 10- or 17-years-old. Of the 440 high school students admitted by
KATS, between 250 and 300 are under age 18. The high school students take classes at KATS
and at their respective high schools. If a student enrolls in KATS during his or her junior year of
high school, upon successful completion of the curriculum, he or she will graduate with both a
KATS diploma and a high school diploma at the end of his or her senior year in high school.
Though KATS does educate a handful of 15-year-old students each semester, none of the 15-
year-olds are enrolled in a diploma program, nor do they receive postsecondary credit.

KATS hopes to amend the Kansas compulsory school attendance statute,
so as to add a new exemption to the compulsory school attendance requirements.
The proposed amendment exempts 16- or 17-year-old children from the
compulsory school attendance requirements if they are “enrolled in a
postsecondary educational institution, as defined by K.S.A. 74-3201b, and
amendments thereto.” This amendment “shall be applicable to children from
and after July 1, 1997 and shall relate back to such date.”

DISCUSSION

The Kansas compulsory school attendance statute currently requires that
any child “who has reached the age of seven years and is under the age of 18
years and has not attained a high school diploma or a general educational



development (GED) credential” must continuously attend a public, private,
denominational, or parochial school each school year. K.S.A. § 72-1111(a)(1)-
(2). Ifachildis [6- or [ 7-years-old, the parent by written consent, or a court
pursuant to a court order, may allow such a child to be exempt from the Kansas
compulsory school attendance requirements. /d.

There are two exemptions from the compulsory school attendance
requirements currently in force that apply to children age 16- or 17-years-old:
(1) enrollment in a program recognized by the local school board as an approved
alternative educational program; or (2) attendance by the child and parent (or
person acting as parent) at a final counseling session conducting by the school
during which a disclaimer to encourage the child to remain in school or to
pursue educational alternatives is presented to and signed by the child and the
parent (or person acting as parent). K.S.A. § 72-1111(b).

The amendment proposed adds a third exemption to the compulsory school
attendance rcquirements, which would apply to any 16- or 17-year-old child who
is “enrolled in a postsecondary educational institution,” as defined by Kansas
law. Kansas defines a postsecondary educational institution as “any public
university, municipal university, community college, technical college and
vocational education school, and includes any entity resulting from the
consolidation or affiliation of any two or more of such postsecondary
educational institutions.” K.S.A. § 74-3201b(h). The amendment “shall be
applicable to children from and after July 1, 1997 and shall relate back to such
date.”

The amendment will address the state’s broad policy goals that
encouraged Kansas to raise the age of compulsory education from 16 to 18 in
1997. First, this amendment will help to prevent high school dropouts. Second,
the amendment will encourage more students pursue higher education degrees.
Students that are enrolled in degree programs in KATS as juniors and seniors in
high school are required to attend classes both at KATS and their respective
high schools. At the end of the program, if they successfully complete the
curriculum, the students receive both a high school diploma and a degree from
KATS. By giving this option, Kansas is encouraging students to stay in school
who might otherwise have considered dropping out to be the better choice. The
amendment allows KATS and other postsecondary educational institutions in
Kansas to continue to serve high school juniors and seniors without placing
themselves at risk for a potential determination of institutional ineligibility for
Title IV programs. As a result, this amendment furthers the state’s policies of

Similarly, the amendment will address the policy goals of all
postsecondary educational institutions within the state of Kansas. Just as it is
the state’s policy to encourage more students to remain in school, graduate from

2



high school, and pursue higher education, postsecondary educational institutions
share these same goals. KATS, and other postsecondary educational institutions
within the state of Kansas, require a certain measure of flexibility in attempting
to meet these policy goals, particularly with regard to students who, in the past,
may not have chosen to graduate from high school or pursue higher education.
By allowing KATS and other postsecondary educational institutions to serve 16-
and 17-year-old students, the amendment enables these institutions to offer the
students enhanced educational and professional opportunities, and provide a
valuable service to the community, while not placing their Title IV eligibility at
risk.

This amendment will also address the short-term issue of the pending U.S.
Department of Education (ED) Office of Inspector General (O1G) Draft Audit
Report. KATS is clearly covered by this exemption because, as a technical
college, it is a “postsecondary educational institution” under Kansas law. By
enacting this exemption, all of KATS” 16- and 17-year-old regular students will
be exempt from the compulsory school attendance requirements by virtue of
their enrollment in a degree program at KATS. This will likely render the audit
results moot. Also, by making the exemption retroactive to July 1, 1997, the
amendment will also likely nullify the Draft Audit Report’s assertion that KATS
may have been ineligible to participate in Title [V programs since 1997, when
the age of compulsory education in Kansas was raised from 16- to 18-years-old.
Not only will KATS likely be in a better position with regard to this Draft Audit
Report, it is likely that other postsecondary educational institutions in Kansas
will not be subject to similar audit findings in the future.

(98]



KAW AREA

TECHNICAL SCHOOL

“"Your Workforce Pevelopmient Specialist”
www.kals.[ec. ks.us

Cooperating Districts

USD 321
USD 335
USD 336
USD 337
USD 338
USD 339
USD 340
USD 341
USD 342
USD 343
USD 345
USD 372
USD 434
USD 437
USD 450
USD 454
usD 501

Kaw Valley

North Jackson
Holton

Royal Valley
Valley Falls
Jefferson County North
Jeff West
Oskaloosa
McLouth

Perry

Seaman

Silver Lake

Santa Fe Trail
Auburn Washburn
Shawnee Heights
Burlingame
Topeka
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[As Amended by House Committee of the Whole]

Sesivn of 20001
Substitute for HOUSE BILL No. 2493
By Committee on Higher Education

1-29

AN ACT relating to education: concerning private and ‘thecondln\g
institutions; lcpoalm" K.S A, 7T2-4916, 72-4919, 72-4920, 72-4921, 72-
4922, 72-4924 through 72-4937, inclusive, 72-4939, 72-4940 and 74-
3249 through 74-3253, inclusive and K.S.A, 2003 Supp. 72-4938,

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the Stare of Kansas:

Section 1. This act slull be known and may b(_ cited as thv “Kansas
private and foreign postsecondaniistitiition it

Sec. 2. As used in this act:

(a)  “Academic degree” means any associate, hachelov's, first profes-
sional, master’s, intermediate (specialist) or doctor’s degree.

(h)  “Accreditation” refers to acereditation by an agency recognized
by the United States department of education,

(¢) “Branch campus”™ means any subsidiary place of business main-
tained within the state of Kansas by an institution at a site which is sep-
arate from the site of the principal place of husiness maintained by the
institution and at which subsidiary place of husiness the institution offers
a course or courses of instruction or study identical to the course or
courses of instruction or study offered by the institution at its principal
place of husiness.

() “Commission” means the advisory commission established pur-
suant to this act.

e} “Distance education” means any course delivered primarily by
f_mwspnndenu' study, andio, video and/or computer technologies.

() “Forei ign institution ol postsec nnq ary e education” means any insti-

tution of pmtwumddn “education chartered, lI!(()l[)()l(lf(“(I or othenvise
organized under the laws of any jurisdiction other than this state.

[(g) “Institution” means any {'orcign insﬁtulion of postsueon—
this act. ] """"""""""

fe) [(h)]  “Institution employee” means any person, other than an
owner, who directly or indirectly receives compensation from an insti-
tution for services rendered.

,{ foreign postsecondary educational institutions

()] Owneref-an-imstitationineans,

S

s one e e i *l educational

“Owner of an institution”

&é;zze& éﬁutaﬁ%
ey
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Sub. HB 2493—Am. by HCW

(1) In the case of an institution owned by an individual, that
individual;

(2) in the case of an institution owned by a partnership, all full, silent
and limited partners:

(3) in the case of an institution owned by a corporation, the corpo-
ration, its divectors, officers and each sharcholder owning shares of issued
and outstanding stock aggregating at least 10% of the total of the issued
and outstanding shares; and

() in the ease of an institution owned by a limited liability company,
the compuny, its managers and all its members.

GG “Person” means any individual, firm, partnership, association
or corporation.

& [(k)] “Physical presence” exists if the institution employs in Kansas
any Kansas resident for the purpose of achministering, coordinating, teach-
ing, training, tutoring, counse ling, advising or any of]ml activity on behalf
of the sponsoring organization, or if the institution delivers, or plans to
deliver, instruction in Kansas, and receives assistance from any other or-
ganization within the state in delivering the instruction, such as, but not
limited to, a cable television company or a television broadeast station
that carries instruction qpon‘;()red h\' the institution,

Ha) [(D] “Private pmtw(-(mclmx institutions” er=institutiens= are-de-

Ainedias-endtisg sl

(1) Are business enterprises whether ()pemt{’d on a profit ar not-for-
profit basis: which have a physical presence within the state of Kansas, or
solicit business within the state of Kansas;

(2)  offer acourse or courses of instruction or study through classroom
contact or by distance education, or both, for the purpose of training or
preparing persons for a field of endeavor in a business, trade, technical
or industrial occupation, or offer a course or courses leading to an aca-
demic degree, except as hereinafter excluded; and

(3) are not specifically exempted by the provisions of this act.

(1 [(m)]  “Representative™ means any person employed by an insti-
tution to act as an l1!701‘1l solicitor or ITTDLP] to procure students or en-
rollees for the institution by solicitation within this state at any place other
than the office or a place of husiness of the institution.

fory [(n)] “State board”™ means the Kansas board of regents, or such
person or persons as may be designated by the state hoard to administer
the provisions of this act.

() [(0)]  “Support” or “supported” means the primary source and
means h\' which an institution derives revenue to perpetuate (npemti(m
of the institution.

et [(pY] “University frefer vmollwwd\—tﬁ) an institution of postsecon- o

dary education authorized to offer bachelor degrees together with grad-

“Private postsecondary educational institution” means
an entity

means
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Sub. TIB 2493—Am. by HCW

o]

uate or first professional degrees.

Sec.

3. The following are exempt from the provisions of this act and

shall not be considered 1o be within the definition of private and [or]
ﬁ)r(—*ign pmlsocom]ary institutions:

(a)

An institution_or educational institution supported primarily by

Kansas taxation from either a local or state source;

(h)

it l]}Htltllll()]l or flxlll]lll”’ progrim which offers instruction O]l]\’

for avocational or recreational purposes as determined by the state board:

(c)

1 course or courses of instruction or study, excluding da.gu.c

granting programs, sponsored by an employer for the training and prep-
aration of its own employees, and [or which no tuition or other fee is
charged to the student;

()

a course or courses of instruction or study s ‘ponf;ored by a rec-

ognized trade, business or professional organization having a closed mem-
hm ship for the instruction of the mombe]s of the organization, and for
which no tuition or other fee is char Ucd to the student;

(e)

an institution which is urh('rwue regulated and approved under

any other law of this state;

(O

a course or courses of special study or instruction having a closed

enrollment and financed or subsidized on a contract basis by local or state
government, private industry, or any person, firm, association or agency,
other than the student involved;

(g

an institution financed or subsidized by federal or special funds

vhich has applied to the state board for exemption from the provisions
n{ this act and which has been declared exempt by the state board hecanse
it has found that the operation of such institution is outside the purview
of this act; and

(h)

Any institution of pe condary education \\hlch was granted ap-

proval to confer academic or honumw demees h\ ‘the state bo udofed-
ucation under the provisions of former K.S.A. 17- G]U%H(—j l]m(’ Kansas
City (,(nllvgc and bible school, inc.

See,

(1) The state hoard of regents may adopt rules and regulations

for the Ll(ll‘nl!llﬁtl ation of this act. Prierte the adoption of any such rules
and regulations, the state board shall afford the advisory commission an

chpthnmt\ to make recommendations thereon.

(h)

Specitic standards shall be set for determining those private or

foreign institutions of postsecondary education which qlm]lfy for approval
to mnfm or award degrees. Such standards shall be consistent with stan-
dards applicable to state educational institutions under the control and
supervision of the state board of regents.

(¢)

The state hoard shall maintain a list of institutions that have heen

issued a certificate of approval.

()

Anyv state agency having information swhich will enable the state

.and amendments thereto, or

3
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Sub. HB 2493-—Am. by HCW ”

Joard of regents to exercise its powers andd perform its duties in admin-
istering the provisions of this act shall from time to time as r(:(_lnest(.‘d
furnish such information to the state hoard of regents.

See, 5. () The advisory commission on private and foreign postse-
condary institutions is herehy created. The eommission shall consist of
nine members appointed by the state h():n‘d.Q;Lamla@rﬁ«ﬁ-lmllwm seubE

b
il

CTFcommission member

resigns, or is otherwise unable to serve, o new member shall be appointed
by the state board to fill the unexpired term. Five members of the com-
mission shall he owmners or managers of private pusl‘,‘iecmndmy institutions,
at least two of the five members shall represent institutions, which at the
time of appointment of such members, have enrollments of under 125
students, and at least one shall represent a degree granting institution.
Four members shall be selected from among the following categories:
Secondary schools, pnstm_-(-un(lur_\' schools, business and industry, the em-
ployment community, economic development and health ()CCUpﬂbidiiE.

(1) The connmission shall elect one member as chairperson of the
commission and such other officers as may be necessary.

(¢)  The commission shall meet at least annually in Topeka during the
month of October, and shall conduct special meetings on the call of the
chairperson or the state hoard or at the request of at Teast four members
of the commission.

() Members of the advisory commission on private and foreign pos-
tsecondary institulions attending meetings of such commission, or at-
tending a subcommittee meeting thereof authorized by such commission,
shall be paid amounts pro\'id(':l in subscetion (e) of K.S.A. 75-3223, and
amendments thereto.

(e) A muajority of the conmission is a quorum to conduct business,
but no less than four members must concur to pass upon any matter
hefore the commission.

(f)  The commission may recomment to the state hoard such policies,
regulations, minimum standards and gunerall rules that the commission
deems necessary for administering the provisions of this act.

Sec. 6. (a) No private or foreign pustsecomlury institution may op-
crate within this state without obtaining a certificate of approval from the
stute board as provided in this act. No private institution of postsecondary
education chartered, incorporated or othenvise organized under the laws
of this state shall confer or award any degree, whether academic or hon-
arary, unless and until such an institution has been approved for such
purpose hy the state board of regents.

(b)  Anycontract entered into by or on behall of any owner, institution
cinployee or representative of an institution which is subject to the pro-
visions of this act, but which has not obtained a certificate of nppm\-'u],

Except as provided by this subsection, members shall
be appointed for terms of -
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Sub. HB 2493—am. hy HCW

shall be unenforceable in any action.

See. 7. (al Each institution shall apply to the state board for a certif-
icate of ;lppl'm‘ed. An institution shall not be 1‘(’(1uimd to obtain a separate
certiticate of approval for maintenance of anv branch institution.

thy  An application for a certificate of approval shall be made on a
form prepared and furnished by the state board and shall contain such
information as may be required by the state board.

{c) The state board may issue a certificate of approval npon deter-
mination that an institution meets the standards established by the state
hourd. The state board may issue a certificate of approval to any institution
accredited by a regional or national accrediting agency recognized by the
United States office [department] of education without further
evidence.

Sec. 8. The state board shall issue o certificate of approval to an in-
stitution when the state board is satisfied that the institution meets min-
imum standards established by the state board by adoption of rules and
regulations to insure that:

(a)  Courses. curriculum and instruction are of such qualitv. content
and Tength us may reasonably and adequately ensure achievement of the
stated objective for which the courses. curriculum or instruction are
offered.

(bhi Institutions have uda—‘rfuutc space, equipment, instructional ma-
terial and personnel to provide education and training of good quality.

(e} Educational and experience qualifications of directors, adminis-
trators and instructors are such as may reas(nmbl_\' insure that students
will receive instruction consistent with the objectives of their program of
study.

() Institntions maintain written records of the previous education
and training of students and applicant students. and that training periods
are shortened when warranted by such previous education and training
or by skill or achievement tests.

(e} A copy of the course outline, schedule of tuition, fees and other
charges. settlement policv. rules pertaining to absence, grading policv and
rules of operation and conduct are furnished to students upon entry into
class.

() Upon (.'()T'I'll'll(“til)l'l of training and/or instruction. students are given
certificates, diplomas or degrees as appropriate by the institution indi-
cuting Sitti:ifllL-t(ul‘}' (_-(n'npk‘tinn of the program.

(g)  Adequate records are kept to show attendance, satisfactory aca-
demic progress and enforcement of satistactory standards relating to at-
tendance. progress and conduct.

(h) Institutions comply with all local. citv. connty, municipal. state
and federal regulations.
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(i) Institutions are financially responsible and capable of fulfilling
commitments for instruction.

(i} Institutions do not utilize erroneous or misleading advertising, ei-
ther l)_\' actnal statement. omission or intimation.

(k) Institutions have and maintain a policy. which shall be subject to
state board approval. for the refund of unused portions of tuition. fees
and other charges in the event a student enrolled by the institution fails
to begin u course or withdraws or is discontinued therefrom at anv time
prior to completion, which policies shall take into account those costs of
the institution that are not diminished by the fuilure of the student to
enter or complete a conrse of instruction.

Sec. 9. () The state board. upen review of an application for a cer-
tificate of approval mecting the requirements of this act shall issue a
certificate of upproval to the applicant institution. Certificates of approval
shall be in a form specitied by the state hoard with advice from the com-
mission. Certiticates of approval shall state at least the following
information:

{11 The date of issuance and term of aippl'o\'al[:

(2)  the correct name and address of the institution: ane

(31 the signature of the chief executive officer of the Kansas board of
regents or a person designated hy the state board to administer the pro-
visions of this act.

(b) Certificates of approval shall be valid for a term of one vear.

(¢)  Euach certificate of approval shall be issued to the owner of an
applicant private and [or] foreign postsccondary institution and shall be
nontransterable. In the event of a change in ()\\nmahlp of a private and
[or] foreign postsccondary institntion, the new owner must apply within
30 calendar davs prior to the change in ewnership for a new certificate
of approval. The state board may waive the 30 calendar day requirement
upon determination that an emergency exists and that the waiver and
change in ownership would be in the best interests of students currently
enrolled in the private and [or] foreign postsecondary institution. W hen-
ever d change of 0\\‘nership oceurs as i result of death, court order or
operation of law. the new owner shall apply immediately for a new cer-
tificate of approval,

() At least 60 calendar davs prior to expiration of a certificate of

approval. the state board shall forward to the private and [or] foreign
pc)\twumddn institution a renewal llpplmllt]{m form.

(¢) Anv institution which is not vet in operation when its application
for a certificate of approval is filed shall not acce pt pavments for tuition,
fees or other enrollment charees until receipt of the certificate of
alppm\‘ul.
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proval must notifv the state board at least 60 calendar davs prior to the
expiration date of the certificate of approval.

Sec. 10 () If the state hoard. upon review and consideration of an
application for a certificate of upproval. determines the applicant to he
unacceptable, the state hoard shall refuse to issue the certificate and set
forth the reasons for the determination.

(h) It an applicant. upon written notification of refusal by the state
hourd to issue a certificate of approval. desires to contest such refusal.
the applicant shall notify the state board in writing, within 15 calendar
davs after the date of service of such notice of mfm(l} of the desire to be
heard, and such applicant shall be afforded a hearing in accordance with
the provisions of the Kansas administrative !)mcedure act. Upon conclu-
sion of any such hearing, the state hoard \hd“ issue a certificate of ap-
proval or a final refusal to do so.

(¢)  Ifanapplicant, upon service of notice of refusal by the state board
to issue a certificate of approv al. Fails to request a llEdl‘lﬂU within 15 cal-
endar davs after the date of service of such notice of refusal, the state
hoard's |'t’fu‘;'1] shall be final.

Sec. 11, () The state hoard mav revoke a certificate of approval or
impose wm(mdhie conditions upon the continued approval represented
h} a certificate. Prior to revocation or nnpomhnn of conditions upon a
certificate of ;Lpprc)\‘al the state board shall notitv the holder of the cer-
tificate in writing of the impending action setting forth the grounds tor
the action contemplated to be taken and dedmg. a hmrmor on a date
within 30 calendar davs after the date of such notice. l-ivannrrs under this
section shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas
administrative procedure act,

by A certificate of approval mav be revoked or conditioned it the
state board has reasonable cause to believe that the institution is in vio-
lation of any provision of this act or of any rules and regulations adopted
under this act.

Sec. 12, Anv action of the state board pursuant to sections 10, 11 or
13, and amendments thereto, is subject to review in accordance with the
act for judicial review and civil enforcement of agency actions. Tf it shall
appear to the board of regents on the basis of its own inquiries or inves-
tigations or s a result of a complaint that any of the provisions of this act
have been or are about to be violated. the board of regents may request
the attorney gene ral to institute an action enjoining such \10thlon or for
an order aluvc_tm(r compliance with the provisions of this act.

See. 13, () Each representative of an institution shall register with
the state board. Application for registration may be made at any time on
a form prepared and furnished by the state board and shall contain such
information as new be required by the state hoard.
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(bl Registration of a representative shall be etfective upon receipt of
notice from the state board and shall remain in effect until expiration of
the certificate of approval of the institution emploving such representa-
tive. Renewal of representative registration shall be in accordance with
the renewal Llpphc(ltum form forwarded to the institution b_\- the state
board.

(¢)  Denial or revocation of registration of are presentative h\ the stute
board shall he in accordance with the provisions ‘of this act ;Lpphcuble to
denial or revocation of a certificate of approval.

(i A representative emploved by more than one institution shall not
be required to register for each institution when such institutions have a
commaon ownership.

See. 4. () Before a certiticate of ;ippm\';tl is issued under this act,
a bond in the PH]AI st of $20.000 shall be prm“ided b'\‘ the institution
for the period for which the certificate of approval is te be issued. The
abligation of the bond shall be that the institution and its officers, agents,
representatives and other emplovees shall be bound. upon closure of the
institution, to deliver or muke available to the state board the records of
all students who are in attendance at the institution at the time of closure
or who have attended the institution at any time prior to closure. The
bond shall be a corporate surety hond issne A v a company authorized to
do business in this state. The bond shall be filed with the state board. Tf
the institution ceases operation. the state hoard may recover against the
hond all necessary costs tor the acquisition, permanent filing and main-
tenance of student records of the private-postsecondary institution,

by In lieu of the corporate surety bond rec quired under subsection
ta) an institution may provide any similar (.L-‘l‘tlfif_glt(r‘ or evidence of in-
debtedness or insurance as may be acceptable to the state board if such
certificate or evidence of indebtedness or insurance is conditioned that
the requirements of subsection (a) shall be met.

Sec. 15, () Subject to the provisions of subsection (b). no tuition in
an amount greater than 5350 shall be collected from a student by any
institution more than 30 davs before the student receives classroom in-
struction, and not more than 5150 of such umount may he retained by an
institution from any student who fails to enter the institution.

(h) In the case of distance education. no tuition in an amount greater
than $200 shall be collected from a student prior to the first submission
of a lesson by the student. and not more than 573 of such amount may
be retained by an institntion from any sindent who fails to enter the
institution.

Sec. 168, (a) No person shall:

(1) Operate an institution without a certificate of approval:

(21 solicit prospective students without heing registered as required
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by this act;

(3) accept contracts or enrollment ;Lpplicatitms tfrom a representati\'ﬁ
who is not registered as required by this act:

(41 use frand or misrepresentation in advertising or in procuring en-
rollment of a student:

35 use the term “acereditation” except as defined in this act: and

(6)  use the term “universit” in the name or advertisement of the
institution unless such institution is & “aniversin” as defined by this act.

(h) Violation of any provision of subsection (a) or of any other provision
of this act is a class C nonperson misdemeanor.

Sec. 17, Upr)n apphmtl(m of the attorney Ueneml or a county or dis-
trict attorney., the district courts shall have |nns(11ttmn to enjoin any vi-
olation of this act and to enjoin persons from engaging in husiness in this
state. [n any action ‘mmlrht to enforce the provisions of this act, if the
court finds that a person willfully used any deceptive or misleading act or
pm(.tl{.e the . attorney genet ral or a county or district attorney, upon pe-
tition to the court. may recover on behalf of the state, in addition to the
criminal penalties pmﬂded in this act. a civil penalty not exceeding $1.000
per person for each violation. For purposes of this section. a willful vio-
lation occurs when the person committing the violation knew or should
have known that the conduct of the person consisted of acts or practices
which were deceptive or misleading,

Sec. I8, Anv note or contract taken by any institution or its officers,
directors, agents or representatives. without having complied with the
provisions ot this act. shall he null and void and any persen who shall
have entered into a contract with such institution or its officers, directors,
agents or representatives shall be entitled to a tull refund of the money
or consideration paid plus interest aceruing trom the date of pavment at
arate per annum equal to the rate specified in K.S.A. 16-207, and amend-
ments thereto, together with other damages sustained by such person.

Sec. 19, Whenever any institution negotiutes any promissory instru-
ment or note received from a student or on behalf of a student as pavment
of tuition or other fees charged by each institution. any person or assignee
or holder to whom the instrument or note is assigned shall take such
instrument or note subject to all defenses which would be available to
the student from whom or on behalf of whom the instrument or note was
received.

Sec. 20, (@) The state board shall fix. charge and collect fees for cer-
tificates of approval. registration of representatives and providing tran-
seripts to students who attended ﬁ-ﬁﬂ*“ﬁ‘t‘-ﬁﬁﬁfﬁ‘t—tﬁﬁd"ﬁ‘c [an] institution
that has ceased operation by adopting rules and regulations for such pur-
poses, subject to the fnllo\vmtr limitations:

(Lr For institutions domiciled or having their principal place of busi-



[op T S C

o

13
19
20
2l
S5
23
24
2
26
o~
a8
29

U= 02 =

R Y EG s [ v B v T v R o' R W R i B B ur s i o
o — & & o0 -1 3

Nl

Sub. HB 2493—Am. by HCW i

ness within the state ot Kansas:

Initial issuance of ceriificate of approval nondegree erauting — not more

i et A R $1.700
Initial issnance of certificate of approval degree graniing — not more

TN 0o P S S A 52000
Renewal of certificate of approval nondegree cranting — not more

than $1.200
Renewal of certificate of approval degree aranting — not more than ... 51.600
Initial registration of representative — not more . 3130
Annmal renewal of registration of representative — not more than ... 100

(2)  For institutions domiciled or having their principal place of busi-
ness outside the state of Kansas:
Initial issuance of certificate ill‘;\plﬂ'“'\'k” nondesree granting — not more

than...... T S S e S L R $3.400

Initial issuance of certificate of approval degree granting — not more

PR v meven e T B e 53,500
Renewal of certificate of apprnal nondegree granting — not more

I hemsonuse e s B A R S R T 52400
Benewal of certilicate of approval degree aranting — not more than ... $2.500
Initial registration of representative — not more than ... — — $300
Annnal renewal of redistration of representative — not more than ... 43200
Stucent transeript fron institution that has ceased operation — not more

I 510

thy  The state b(mid shall determine on or betore June 1 of each vear

the amount of revenue which will be required to properly carry out and
enforce the provisions of the Kansas private and foreign pc)stseumdan
institution act for the next ensuing fiscal vear and qha.]l fix the fees au-
thorized for such veur at the sum deemed necessary for such purposes
within the limits of this scetion. Prior to adoption of any such fees, the
state board shall afford the advisory commission on private and foreign
postsecun(lun' institutions an opportunity to nke recommendations on
the proposed fees,

(c) Fees may be charged to conduct onsite reviews for degree grant-
ing or to review curricalum i content arcas where the state board does
not have expertise.

Sec. 21, (a) The state board shall remit all monevs received pursuant
to the provisions of this uct to the state treasurer. Upon receipt of each
such remittance. the state treasurer shall de sposit the entire amount re-
mitted in the state tre asury and shall credit the same to the private and
foreign postsecondary institution fee fund to be used for the purpose of
admuustc—untr this act. All expenditures trom the private and foreign pos-
tsecondary institution tee fund shall be made in accordance with appro-

nwarrants of

e

2 -6
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pursuant to vouchers approved by the state board or by a person or per-
sons designated by the state hoar.

(h!  On or before the 10th of each month, the director of accounts
and reports shall transfer from the state general fund to the private and
[mezcrn p()atwuxmhm institution fee Iund interest eammﬁs based on: (1)
The average dailv bulance of monevs in the private and Forew'n postse-
condan institution fee find for the preceding month: and (2) the net
carnings rate for the pooled money investment porttolio for the precediﬂg
month.

Sec. 22, Ifanv clause, paragr aph. subscction or section of the Kansas
private and foreign postsecondary institution act shall be unconstitutional
or invalid, it shall be conclusiv elyv presumed that the legislature would
have enacted the remainder of the act without such meonqhtuh(md] or
invalid clause. puragraph, subsection or section.

Sec. 23, K.S.A. 72-4916, 72-4919, 724920, 72-4921, 7T2-4922, 72-
4924 through T2-4937, inclusive, T2-4939, 72-4940 and 74-3249 through
T4-3353, !ndlmw and K.S.A. 2003 Supp 7 2-4938 are hereby Lepedled

See, 24, This act shall take effect and he in force from and after its
publication in the statute heok.

<



