Approved: March 25, 2005
Date
MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMERCE AND LABOR COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Don Dahl at 9:00 A.M. on March 10, 2005 in Room 241-N
of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Kevin Yoder- excused
Patricia Kilpatrick- unexcused

Committee staff present:
Jerry Ann Donaldson, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Norm Furse, Office of Revisor of Statutes
Renae Jefferies, Office of Revisor of Statutes
June Evans, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
John Federico, Kansas Self Storage Owners Association

Larry Triplett, General Partner, Triplett Self Storage

Others attending:
See attached list.

The Chairman opened the hearing on SB 69 - Kansas Self-Storage Act; Late Fees.

Staff gave a briefing on SB 69, stating a self-service storage facility is any property used for renting or leasing
storage spaces. The hyphen was removed between “last” and “known” in line 41, page 1. A new Section (1)
was added to define late fees. In new Section 2. “not” was added in line 9.

John J. Federico, on behalf of Kansas Self Storage Owners Association, testified as a proponent to SB 69.
A very similar version of this bill passed out of the House last year and was too late to have Senate hearings.
It was started in the Senate this year and passed out 39-0. Owners add late fees now but there is nothing in
the statutes that says they can. This legislation only impacts people not paying their bills. Nuisance law suits
are expensive. SB 69 limits what can be charged for late fees, either $20 or 20% which 1s a fair amount
(Attachment 1).

Larry Triplett, General Partner, Triplett Self Storage L.P. dba Citywide Self Storage, testified as an opponent
to SB 69. Mr. Triplett stated he believes this legislation would instigate litigation. It would be better to
substitute “a reasonable fee rather than state $20 or 20%”. Mr. Triplett believes the New Hampshire Self
Storage Lien Laws would lower overhead of every storage owner in Kansas. When overhead 1s lowered the
consumer 1s the winner (Attachment 2).

There was discussion and it was found that some technical changes were needed. Staff was asked to bring
back a balloon for final action at a later date.

Written testimony was distributed for Anthony Santaularia, Diversified Concepts, Lawrence, an opponent.
(Attachment 3).

The Chairman closed the hearing on SB 69.

The Chairman asked the committee what their pleasure was on SB 215 - Commercial real estate broker lien
act.

Staff briefed the committee on the balloon for SB 215.
Representative Pauls suggested two technical amendments to the balloon: (1) On page 5, line 7, change 30
to 20. (2) On page 4, line 43, strike “registered or certified mail, return receipt requested™ and replace with

“return mail receipt requested”.

Representative Jack moved and Representative Grant seconded to accept the balloon with the technical

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1




CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE House Commerce and Labor Committee at 9:00 A.M. on March 10, 2005 in Room
241-N of the Capitol.

amendments. The balloon was adopted as amended

Representative Jack moved and Representative Kiegerl seconded to move SB 215 out favorably as amended.
The motion carried.

The Chairman said action would be taken on SB 69 at a later date.

The meeting adjourned at 10:15 a.m. and the next meeting will be March 11.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 2
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1 «<DERICO CONSULTING
A Public Affairs Group

Government Affairs
Public Relations

II.

III.

Regulatory Counsel

Testimony in Support of SB 69
House Commerce & Labor Committee
John J. Federico; On Behalf of the KSSOA

March 9, 2005
What SB 69 Does
A. Simply seeks to codify what is a standard business practice of charging a late fee
to delinquent payers.
B. Also sets a “cap” on what the late fee can be. (You are not setting the fee! It is
permissive.)
C Mandates that if a late fee is charged to a delinquent payer, that it be part of the

written contract between the operator and renter.
NOTE: No one loses with the passage of SB 69. Both the small business owner, AND
the consumer win with this legislation. The bill makes it permissible (not mandatory) that
self-storage facility operators be allowed to charge a late fee to delinquent payers.. If an
operator chooses to charge a late fee, the bill provides that the terms of the late fee be part
of a written contract. And finally, it caps the late fee (currently an operator can charge
any fee they choose.)

NOTE: In the 2004 Session a similar bill was passed out of House Judiciary Committee,
twice, and was approved by the House 110-14. This bill passed the Senate 39-1

Why is the Bill Necessary?
A. To prevent very expensive class action lawsuits.
B. To eliminate or minimize retaliatory lawsuits by delinquent payers.

NOTE It is not without much debate and consideration that the self-storage industry has
come to the legislature and ASKED to be further regulated! In short, because the
current Kansas Self-Service Storage Act is silent as to whether late fees are
permissible, there is a realistic threat of a class-action lawsuit by delinquent payers as to
whether operators are allowed to charge a late fee. The KSSOAs request for protection
from lawsuits is EXACTLY the same premise that prompted the cable industry to seek
similar legislation and protection in 1999 (HB 2076 was passed by the full legislature).
SB69 protects small business owners from both the threat and expense of a class action
lawsuit similar to the one filed against self-storage owners in Maryland, and, against
retaliatory lawsuits (very frequent and time consuming) by delinquent payers challenging
an operators’ right to charge a late fee.

Is There Precedence?
A. The Kansas legislature has put in statute similar language to protect other
businesses with similar concerns.
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This bill helps add clarity to a “hazy” part of the Kansas Self Storage Act. It
is permissive, not mandatory. It provides the operator with the protection
they need from nuisance lawsuits and protects the consumer by placing a cap

B.

Why is
A.

o0

NOTE:

Similar language has been passed in other states (Missouri, Ohio, Arizona, West
Virginia, & California) To our knowledge, no state has rejected this effort by
self-storage owners in other legislatures.

the “Cap” Set at $20 or 20% ?

There are currently a few self-storage owners currently charging $20 so while
they are seeking help from the legislature, they would not be required to change
current business practice or bear the expense of drafting new contracts and
paperwork.

It allows some flexibility that will prevent the industry from returning to the
legislature repeatedly to ask that is been raised.

Other states have similar caps.

There is justification for self-storage late fees to be higher than other late fee
charges such as cable or cellular phones. A small self-storage owner has only a
limited number of units they can rent and is denied use and income from that
space that is being occupied by a delinquent payer.

Currently, an operator can charge any amount they want to for a late fee. You

are not being asked to “set” the late fee, only cap it. Competition will play more of a role

as to what the fee is set at, more so than anything the legislature does.

Is There Something “Hidden” In The Bill?
A. No. Currently, a self-storage owner is free to charge any amount for a late fee.

So it is not without careful consideration that that they come to the legislature

asking for further regulation and a “cap” on the amount they will be allowed to
charge!

B. New Section 2 (c) merely makes clear that a late fee is in addition to the recovery

NOTE:

Does It

of other expenses already provided for in another part of the statute;
(K.S.A. 58-816)
The operator of a self-service storage facility has a lien on
all personal property stored within each leased space for
rent, labor or other charges, and for expenses reasonably
incurred in its sale, as provided in the self-service storage
act.
This does NOT allow for recovery of attorney fees.

Help To Just Authorize A Late Fee And Not Set A Cap?

No. There must be clear legislative intent for both to avoid a lawsuit. If both are not part

of the b
if the la

ill, then a lawsuit can be filed either challenging whether a late fee is allowed, OR
te fee is reasonable.

on late fees that are allowable. Thank you for your support.
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" Larry Triplett’

SENATE BILL 69
AMENDMENT OF K.S.A. 58-814
COMMERCE COMMITTEE

For your review.

I was introduced to the self-storage business by fate in 1984 when I evolved from tenant to landlord due
to the owner of the office space we rented becoming insolvent. The office complex that we occupied as
administrators of a c-store fuel stop operation also included a small self-storage operation. Our intent in
the purchase of the facility was continued occupancy of our office space as well as expansion of the self-
storage business as there was additional land included that was well suited for the purpose. We inherited
the renters of what was a fully occupied building only to discover the amount of rent being collected was
only about 38% of the actual amount of the scheduled rent. Through diligent efforts, we were able to
increase our collectmn of scheduled rents into the low 80-percentile range.

We contlnued our busmess venture by adding an additional property for development into self-storage and

then acquiring two more existing self-storage operations. The collection of rents as a percentage of rents

scheduled continued to haunt our quest to be efficient in the management of this growing enterprise.

Without efficiency we would be just another also ran. e

We experimented over a period of time with varying programs in an effort to reduce the amount of
delinquent tenants, minimize management cost in rent collection efforts, and maximize the retention of
satisfied customers. Our efforts zeroed in on a $2.00 per day late fee imposed after a 5-day grace period
as being the most effective of the programs that we introduced to control rental delinquency. It was also
by far the most accepted by those tenants who had money management difficulties. This was
accomplished by stating the fee in bold type on the front page of our rental agreement and having the
manager further explain the policy prior to the tenant signing the agreement. Qur result was an increase
in tenant’s length of occupancy and a greater number of tenants to return when a storage need arose. An )
increase of rents collected into the mid 90’s as a percentage of scheduled rents also reduced our
dependence on rate increases to pace cost of living increases created by inflation.

The business that continued to evolve was split into two separate businesses in 2002 with my daughter
and son-in-law taking over 300 units as their own to operate. The remaining portion continued to grow ~
and in the past 12 months has achieved a 12.8% increase in rented space in spite of being in a period of
static population growth and having several new storage operatlons to compete with.

My reason in-relating the abadve story is to illustrate how a company, when unrestricted, can improvise in
the implementation of a program dealing with tenant delinquency which is acceptable to those tenants
betause it is a known guantity. The quantity is also easily understood and is emphasized in bold type on
the front page of our storage rental agreement. .

'The legislation a@s proposed could be restrictive to our late fee policy as it indicates any amount in excess

of the arb|trary $20.00 or 20% fee being proposed is probably excessive. Our $2.00 per day late fee
imposed following a.5-day grace period is much easier to put into a contract agreement than it is to list all
the expenses that will be incurred complying with the mandates of the Kansas Self Storage Act,

-particularly as it pertains to auctioning tenants property to satisfy a lien. 58- -814[e] of the act requires

any Jate fee charged by the operator shall be stated in the rental agreement. The daily late fee is easily

-understood by the tenant, while the schedule of numerous charges incurred during compllance with the

storage act is quite complex.
We do_not feel there is a need for this legislation, as we know of no one'in the State of Kansas that has
been sued which this legislation would have prevented. If you deem it to be needed legislation then I

‘would ask that the $20.00 or 20% fee be removed and replaced by the words “reasonable fees” to allow
- self storage operators to improvise with acceptable variations. Where there is freedom to choose, the

consumer comes out the winner.
Thark you for consideration of this inpht.

Respectfully, .

1

General Partner - ;
Triplett Self Storage L.P- dba Cltywnde Self Storage
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~ —  SELF STORAGE RENTAL AGREEMENT
#021605002

1. THIS RENTAL AGREEMENT (the “Agreement”) includes the terms and conditions outlined below and this Agreement is
a legally binding contract. If not understood, seek competent advice.

SPACE Tnplett Self Storage, LP doing business as Cltywlde Self-Storage, 440 North Ohio, Salina, KS 67401, as Citywide,
hereby-re CE and whose primary Identltﬁ%l nuATar Is as Customer Storage Spac,
: inCitywide's storage bulldlng located at Salina, KS to be used for

CUSTOMER:

Name: DAVI

, Primary 1D#: (-
Physical Address:

City, State Zip: SALINA, KS 67401-

Home Phone:(785) QEIRNER, Work Phone: (785) SiilD
Email: YR @COX.NET
X N

Employer: ErnauiEEED May we contact your employer: Yes,

2. TERM: The initial term of this agreemer‘it" shall begin on 02/16/05, and end on 03/14/05, and continue month to month
thereafter. Citywide may terminate this Agreement on fifteen-(15) days written notice to the Customer. Customer may
terminate this Agreement at any time. If Customer vacates the Storage Space within fifteen (15) days of the beginning of the
current rental term, Citywide will prorate on'a dalily basis the Rent in excess of fifteen (15) days. If Customer vacates the
Storage Space sixteen (16) days or more after the beginning of the current rental term, Customer shall owe rent for the entire
month. Customer shall remain liable for rent until Customer has officially notified Citywide In writing or in person at Citywide's
Rental Office that the unit has been vacated and Customer has cleaned and retumed Citywide's lock and two keys. Citywide
may change any provision of this Agreement at any time on thirty-(30) days written notice to Customer, but Customer retains
their right to terminate this Agreement. If Customer does not terminate this Agreement prior to the effective date of any such
change, the change shall take effect.

3. RENT: Customer shall pay Citywide $74.00 on 02/16/05, as rent for the pgument period of this lease, and Customer sh
thereafter pay Citywide $77.00 per month, In advance, on or before the ﬁJ - day of each subsequent monthly rentag
period during the term of this Rental Agreement. - N : gm'ﬂ

4. OTHER CHARGES: IF THE MONTHLY RENTAL IS NOT PAID BY TH DAY OF ANY MONTH DURING
THE TERM OF THIS LEASE, THE GUSTOMER SHALL PAY AN/ADDITIONAL RENT OF $2:00:PER DAY'BEGINNING THE
NEXT DAY AND CONTINUING UNTIL ALL PAST DUE RENTS HAVE BEEN PAID IN FULL; and Citywide shall have the right
to lock the storage space and deny the Customer access to the storage space until the Customer shall have paid in cash all
past due rents, additional rents and a $15.00 fee for removal of Citywide's lock from the storage space. Delivery of an
insufficient funds check shall not constitute payment of rent or other charges due Citywide. Customer agrees to allow
Citywide to contact the person listed below In the event Citywide cannot reach the Customer through the information provided
under paragraph (1). :

5. DEPOSIT: 'Customer shall deposit with Citywide $20.00, to ensure the return of the Storage Space in good condition
and for the high security lock —__ Initials In blank Indicate acceptance of high security lock with two keys) provided by
Citywide. The deposit is not a prepayment of rent. Customer agrees to keep the Storage Space in as good condition and
repair as itis on the date hereof and leave the Storage Space clean and free of debris at the end of the Term. Customer shall
dispose of all dirt, debris, garbage, and similar matter, at Customer's expense throughout the Term of this Agreement and
upon Termination as stated in Paragraph 2. Customer forfeits the amount of the deposit needed to satisfy one or more of the
following items thathas not been previously paid for:

a. Citywide must clean Storage Space.

b. Citywide must repair any damage to the Storage Space not specifically noted in Paragraph 6 below.

c. Citywide cuts lock to satisfy a condition of this Lease Agreement.

d. To satisfy any rents and/or fees due Citywide.

e..Customer fails to return both keys and the high security lock in usable condttlon
~ f. Any other costs incurred by Citywide caused by Customer.

The balance of such deposit after payment of such costs shall be refunded to the Customer without interest.

6. CONDITION OF STORAGE SPACE: Customer will inspect the Storage Space upon moving in and will advise the
Citywide if the same Is not suitable for Customer's Intended use or if the same is damaged when rented, except




*

ESTIMATED COSTS INCURRED BY CITYWIDE SELF STORAGE TO
AUCTION AND CLOSE OUT A DELINQUENT TENANT IN COMPLIANCE
WITH THE KANSAS STATUTE

Sale held 55 days after tenant becomes delinquent.

FEES CHARGED

Fees of 2.00 per day from 6th-55th day
Lockout fee after 10 days past due
Total fees charged

COST OF COLLECTIONS

5th day past due letter

10th day lock out notice

20th day pre lien notice

30th day lien notice

Cut high secutity lock and Inventory unit  [inventory for sale add]

30th day auction notice restricted mail

Legal notice in paper based on total charges [ divided by 10 units being sold)]
Buyers guide ad to attract buyers based on charges [divided by 10 units]
Letter to potential auction buyers 52 letters @ 2.37 [divided by 10 units]
Per unit cost of auction

Phone calls and attempted phone calls through the default to sales

~ period made including research to find tenants that have moved and long

distance phone. calls to out of area tenants
Average cost lo clean units after sale

'ABOVE CHARGES INCLUDE WAGES AND BENEFITS FOR MANAGER

AND RELIEF MANAGER, PLUS MILEAGE,;POSTAGE AND MATERIALS
CONSUMED TO COMPLETE PROJECT

,Total collection expenses per delinquent unit

Less fees charged
Expenses incurred in excess of fees imposed

This loss of revenue does not reflect that the unit is not rentable during the
55 day period, and it is rare that the total fees and rent are covered by
auctions proceeds.

‘We have a grace period of 5 days past due no charge, and on the 6th day and

w @ N

100.00
15.00
115.00

2.87
2.87
2.87
2.87
25.00
10.42
9.18
5.28
12.38
32.00
15.00

20.00

140.66
125.00
15.66

thereafter we charge a $2.00 fee EXAMPLE: A tenant 8 days delinquent would pay $2.00

per day for the 6th, 7th and 8th day for a total of $6.00 instead of the $20.00 fee being

proposed., a $14.00 savings for the tenant, A majority of delinquent tenants fit this profile.
Qur late fee structure is an incentive to pay timely and at the same time imposes
- penallies based on the degree of infraction



RECAP AUC

TIONSALES |

Units Sold for Dollars |

Auc Date Total Units | Total AveDollars |
) 101-200 |201-300 {301 & over|Sold Dollars Per Unit § oL_D
i . e $ . - -
7/26/2001 5 2 7|$ 690.00 | $ 98.57
9/26/2001 5 p D 2 9] $ 1.675.00 [ $ 186.11
11/28/2001 5]- 1 3 9[$ 2,260.00 | $ 251.11
3/20/2002 3 4 1 3 21| $ 2,840.00 | $ 135.24
5/29/2002] 6 1] 1 1 9[$ 1,195.00 [ $ 132.78 |
7/24/2002| 7] 2 1 1 11[ $ 1,165.00 | $ 105.91
Auto 7/31/2002 9 2 2 13| $ 1.467.00 [ $ 112.85
9/25/2002 6 3 3 12[ $ 2,230.00 | $ 185.83
11/20/2002 2 1 1 2 6] $ 2.280.00 | $ 380.00
1/25/2003 2 0 1 3 6] $ 1,525.00 | $ 254.17
4/30/2003 4 1 1 1 7|$ 960.00 | § 137.14
7/27/2003 4 6 1 11]$ 1,955.00 [ $7177.73 |
10/1/2003 4 2 6|$ 49500 |$ 82.50
11/16/2003 6 3 1 10[ $ 1,380.00 | $ 138.00
1/28/2004 7 7|$ 28250|$ 4036 -
3/31/2004 1 1 2 4]$ 71500 | $ 178.75
5/26/2004 .3 1 4$ 21000 [$ 52.50
7/28/2004 3 1 2 6/ $ 1,370.00 | § 228.33
9/29/2004 6 - 1 7|$ 43500 |$ 62.14
12/15/2004 3 1 1 5/$ 670.00 | $ 134.00
~ 3/2/2005 1 3 2 1 4]$ 2,345.00 [ $
TOTAL 30 14 28] 174] $28,144.50 |¢§ 161.75 S Zg
% to Total 81%| 16.1%|  100.0% :

7 58.6% P 17.2%]
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v Hampshire Self Storage Lien Laws ' Page 3 of

"stating the time and place of sale, the property to be sold, and the amount of the
rent, charges, fees, or expenses owed.
Chap. 451-C, §451-C:5

DISCLAIMER. Please Note: With
respect to the documents ayailable Sale.
from ths site or server, neither myself [[f any of the rent, char es, fees, or expenses referred to in thls chapter shall remain
y g8 P p
nor any employees, makes any
warranty, express or implied, unpaid for 30 days, and after complying with the provisions of RSA 451-C:4 and
incluginsw ?T;m??: of , RSA 451-C:5, the owner may sell such personal property at a privaté or public
merchan 1Ly and fitness for a .
particular purpose, or assumes any |(581€; and the proceeds shall first be applied to satisfy such rent, charges, fees, or
legal liability or responsibility for the |lexpenses. Proceeds remaining after the sale and payment of rent, charges, fees, or
oy bomrion. s |lexpenses to the owner shall then be paid to any lienholders of record, as thieir
product, o process disclosed, or interests may appear, with any remaining proceeds to be paid to the occupant. .

represents that its use would not Chﬂp 451-C, §451-C:6

infringe privately-owned rights. This

i.nforr;ntion is provided for ; /—-\3
o s oy P \Abandoned Property
interpretation of individual statutes.
. L. In the event that a storage unit is unlocked, and the rent on the unit is past-due,
fand the entire contents of the unit have a total value under $500, the property shall-
be deemed abandoned. Such property may then be removed from the self-service
storage facility unit and shall be retained for 30 days. If after 30 days, the occu_pant
does not claim such personal property and any of the rent, charges, fees, or
expenses remain unpaid, and there is no lienholder of record, the owner may
dispose of the property without notice to the occupant.
e S )
I. In the event that a storage unit is locked, and the rent on the unit is‘past due, and
the entire contents of the unit have a total value under $§mggggg%mv_sl;mm
de;eglzd_w If after 30 days, the occupant does nof claim such personal
property and any of the rent, charges, fees, or expenses remain unpaid, and there is
no lienholder of record, the owner shall be exempt from requirements of RSA 451-
C:5 and RSA 451-C:6, may remove such property from the self-service storage *

.Wnlt and dispose of the property without notice to the occupant. 7
Chap. 451-C, §451-C:7

e : : e
Liability.

An owner acting in accordance with the provisions of this chapter shall not be
liable to the occupant or lienholder for personal property dlsposed of under the
.P provisions of this chapter.

wahap 451-C, §451-C:8

Purchaser.

Provided that the provisions of this chapter are complied with by an owner’
conducting a sale of personal property, a purchaser in good faith of personal
property under the provisions of this chapter shall take the personal property free
and clear of any rights of an occupant agamst whom the liens were placed by a
lienholder.

Chap. 451-C, §451-C:9

Disclosure.

An owner of a self-service storage facility shall disclose, in any rental agreement
or lease, the terms and conditions of such rental agreement or lease and the notice
provisions of RSA 451-C to an occupant before renting or leasing the storage unit.
Chap. 451-C, §451-C:10

IIS 4&f Uolb/d /OWGl- JVG"I“I/-"/ éy” A,‘_,e
owner in /heses When overhead s /mm-e/ Fhe

LonS & rry &V :‘S 7’3/8 Winnney,
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'th Carolina Self Storage Lien Laws

(C) The officer to whom a distress warrant is delivered after the predistress hearing
shall demand of the occupant payment of the rent with costs as enumerated in the
distress warrant. If the amount is paid the officer shall return the warrant with the
amount collected to the magistrate who shall settle with the owner. If the tenant
fails or refuses to pay the rent with costs, the officer shall distrain sufficient of the
property upon the rented premises to pay the amount by delivering or mailing to * _
the occupant at his last known address a list in-writing of the property distrained
together with a copy of the distress warrant, : ML *

(D) If any property distrained is not the property of the occupant, the occupant
shall immediately name the owner of the property and inform the officer of the
ownership and the officer shall distrain sufficient other property of the occupant to
pay the rent and costs. The property of the occupant must be first applied to
payments of the rent and costs. All property in the self-service storage facility is

||subject to distress as provided in this section. ’

(E) Any property belonging to the occupant removed from the self-service storage
facility must, if found, be subject to distraint and sale, provided the distraint be

. ||made within thirty days after the removal.

(F) Within five days after the distraint, the occupant may free the property froni the
lien of the distraint by giving a bond payable to the owner in double the amount
claimed, with sufficient surety or sureties approved by the court, and the issues
thus joined must be tried by the court. The owner has the right to except to the
surety or sureties and the surety or sureties shall justify before the magistrate as -
provided for justification for sureties in claim and delivery actions.

(G) If the occupant fails to give bond as prescribed in subsection (F) then the
officer may sell the property at public auction to the highest bidder for cash at a
designated place of sale after posting a notice of the sale for five days iipon the
premises and two other public places in the county stating the time and place of the
sale. ' :

(H) The purchaser at a sale of chattels seized under a distress warrant takes the
property subject to any other perfected and recorded liens on the property.

(I) If the property distrained brings more than the rent with costs at the sale the
surplus must be paid to the occupant and the rent must be paid to the owner.

SECTION 39-20-49. Person claiming contents of storage facility to pay all unpaid
rents. [SC ST SEC 39-20-49]

The owner of a self-service storage facility may require of a person laying claim to
any of the contents of the self-service storage facility that the claimant pay to the
owner all unpaid rents due for the use of the facility before taking possession of the
contents. The owner is not responsible for any property taxes that may be due on
any contents that have been in storage in the facility.

SECTION 39-20-50. Creation of additional rights, duties, and obligations by

agreement; relation of chapter to other laws. [SC ST SEC 39-20-50]

Page 50f £

Nothing in this chapter may be construed as in any manner impairing or affecting
the right of the parties to create additional rights, duties, and obligations in and by
virtue of the rental agreement. The rights provided by this chapter are in addition

to all other rights allowed by law to a creditor against his debtor.

N—




February 28, 2005

Representative Don Dahl
Chairman of Commerce and Labor

RE: SB 69
Dear Representative Dahl:

On March 3, 2005, your committee will hear Senate Bill 69 being sponsored by the Kansas Self
Storage Association. The Kansas Self Storage Act does not address whether an operator may or
may not charge a customer a late fee and it is the intent of this legislation to protect operators
from being sued for assessing late fees to delinquent tenants. We are a supporter of having a late
fee bill, but do not support capping the rates because we believe $20.00 or 20% per month is not a
strong enough deterrent to consumers to pay on time and will not recoup the costs associated with
collecting past due rents from delinquent tenants due to the following reasons:

e SB 69 will allow an operator to collect more on larger units and less on small units. The
consumers that are generally late are the ones renting the small units.

e The costs associated to collect past due rents do not vary based on the size of a unit.

e Currently, rental rates are set to produce a return on investment for the storage space
rented and the costs associated with renting a unit not to recover costs incurred to collect
past due rents.

» Additional payroll is required to make collection calls, write letters, send notifications of
sale, write and publish legal notifications, conduct sales and cleaning each unit after the
sale.

e There are costs associated with letter registrations and newspaper publications to perfect
a lien under the Kansas Self Storage Act.

Proponents of this legislation claim it is to protect operators from being sued for charging late
fees and operators whose costs exceed the proposed $20.00 or 20% rule may charge a reasonable
late fee. Attorney’s target as being reasonable fees will be the amounts that are scheduled in
Senate Bill 69. Any operator that should dare to exceed that schedule will be exposed to potential
litigation even though the fee being charged is fair and reasonable. If storage operators do not
feel free to charge the delinquent tenant the full amount of losses incurred due to passage of this
bill they will need to recoup the losses through overall rent increases.

The Kansas Self Storage Association who is sponsoring this bill represents only 15% of the Self
Storage Owners in Kansas. The reason cited for needing such a law is the Class Action Law
Suite against a cable company who operates as a monopoly in the market place. With over 600
individual Self Storage Operators in Kansas, late fees as well as any other charges are regulated
by the free market place and this proposed legislation is an attempt to promote the newly formed
Kansas Self Storage Association. If this bill becomes law it could potentially result in over 85%
of the Self Storage Owners being out of compliance with the Kansas Self Storage Act. For these
reasons and the reasons stated herein we are opposed to statutorily regulating late fee amounts
and recommend this bill be tabled or remove the caps.

Lawrence Triplett Anthony Santaularia
Triplett Self Storage, L.P. Diversified Concepts
Salina, Kansas - Lawrence, Kansas
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