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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Kathe Decker at 9:00 AM on March 8, 2005 in Room 313-S
of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:
Kathie Sparks, Kansas Legislative Research
Carolyn Rampey, Kansas Legislative Research
Ann Deitcher, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Dale Dennis, Dep. Comm. Of Ed
Jim Hathaway, USD 204
Eldon Chlumsky, Wichita Public Schools

SB 42 - concerning teacher; relating to certification thereof; amending K.S.A. 72-1387 and repealing
the existing section.

Brief - SB 42 would remove the teacher certification fee limitation and allow the State Board of
Education to set the licensure fee for all Kansas teachers and administrators.

Dale Dennis testified before the Committee, recommending that K.S.A. 72-1387 be amended to permit the
State Board to determine the licensure fee and strike language which places a cap of $24 per license.
(Attachment 1).

Discussion followed.

With no other questions or comments, Chairman Decker closed the hearing on SB 42.

SB 43 - concerning payments to schools for driver training courses; amending K.S.A. 8-272 and
repealing the existing section.

Brief - SB 43, as amended., would do the following: remove the stipulation that $1.540,000 is to be
distributed each vear to school districts for driver training courses; removed the stipulation that
$210,000 is to be distributed each vear to school districts for motorcycle safety courses; and remove the
stipulation that $70,000 is to be distributed each vear to school districts for truck driver training
courses.

Dale Dennis testified before the Committee. Looking at the bill on line 24, he pointed out to the Committee
that the appropriation amount is in the statute. (Attachment 2). A recommendation was made that the dollar
limit in K.S.A. 8-272 be eliminated and that the amount earmarked, without a limitation be available for
distribution to schools to reimburse them for the number of students completing driver education. We
currently reimburse school districts approximately $84 per driver education student which equates to about
27 percent of the districts’ cost for driver education. Amending K.S.A. 8-272 would have the effect of
offsetting the cost to the students and their parents as well as transfers from the schools districts’ operating
funds.

Discussion followed.

Next to testify as a proponent for SB 43 was James Hathaway. A handout by district name and USD number
was distributed, showing public and private districts that offer driver education. A total of 298 schools were

on the list. (Attachment 3).

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transeribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to
the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1




CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE House Education Committee at 9:00 AM on March 8, 2005 in Room 313-S of the
Capitol.

Eldon Chlumsky appeared as a proponent for SB 43, (Attachment 4). As a district that supports driver
education for a major community in his state, he encouraged the Committee to remove the cap placed on
Driver Education funds, thus allowing the Kansas State Department of Education to appropriately distribute
such funds to approved driver education programs across the state.

Discussion followed.

A motion was made by Representative Craft and seconded by Representative Horst to work SB 42.

Representative Yonally made a motion to do the technical clean up that has been recommended. Seconded
bv Representative Horst. the motion passed on a voice vote.

A motion was made by Representative Horst and seconded by Representative Storm to pass SB 42 favorably
as amended. The motion passed on a voice vote.

Representative Storm made a motion to do a cleanup to reflect that the Board of Regents is responsible for

the truck and part of the motorcycle driving training. The motion was seconded by Representative Horst and
passed on a voice vote.

A motion was made by Representative Loganbill to pass SB 43 favorably as amended. This was seconded
by Representative Roth and passed on a voice vote.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:05 am. The next meeting of the full committee is scheduled for
Wednesday, March 9, 2005.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 2
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TO: House Education Committee

FROM: Dale M. Dennis, Deputy
Commissioner of Education

SUBJECT: 2005 Senate Bill 42

Senate Bill 42 amends K.S.A. 72-1387 and allows the State Board of Education to set the
licensure fee for all Kansas teachers and administrators.

Current law provides that the State Board of Education is required to determine the licensure fee
for the renewal of teacher licenses. The current fee of $24 has been in effect since 1986. Due to
efficiencies and computerization, we have been able to maintain the licensure fee at $24.
Revenue collected from this fee can only be used for licensure purposes.

After consulting with professional education organizations, we recommend that K.S.A. 72-1387
be amended to permit the State Board to determine the licensure fee and strike language which
places a cap of $24 per license.

h:FN-TEST--2005--Test--42
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TO: House Education Committee
FROM: Dale M. Dennis, Deputy

Commissioner of Education

SUBJECT: 2005 Senate Bill 43

Senate Bill 43 amends statutes concerning the state safety fund which provides funding for driver
education courses approved by the State Board of Education.

Current law provides that a portion of the driver's license fees will be distributed to school
districts based upon the number of students who have completed driver education and met the
criteria established by the State Board of Education. This law provides a cap of $1,540,000
which may be distributed on an annual basis.

The Kansas Legislature amended KSA 8-272 in 2003 and increased driver's license fees resulting
in additional funds in the State Safety Fund (driver education reimbursement). As a result of
increased fees, there is more money available for distribution to school districts than the statute
allows.

We recommend that the dollar limit in KSA 8-272 be eliminated and that the amount earmarked,
without a limitation, be available for distribution to schools to reimburse them for the number of
students completing driver education.

We currently reimburse school districts approximately $84 per driver education student which
equates to about 27 percent of the districts' cost for driver education. Amending KSA 8-272
would have the effect of offsetting the cost to the students and their parents as well as tranfers
from the school districts' operating funds. '

h:FN-TEST--2005--Test--43
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PROPONENT FOR SENATE BILL 43

It is a pleasure for me to speak to you today as a proponent for Senate Bill 43. As you
know, a percentage of all drivers’ license fees collected by the Department of Revenue is
deposited in the State Safety Fund of the Department of Education and is earmarked for driver
education. As these fees have been increased, more money has been added to the State Safety
Fund balance. The Departmerit of Education has been limited, however, in the amount
distributed to school districts for driver education c;ourses even though these additional funds
have been coll_ected and are available.

With the cost of fuel, insurance, maintenance, and instructor salaries all increasing over
the past few years, the formula for current reimbursement is not keeping up with these.rising
costs, and it is placing more burden on the 298 public/private schools that are currently offering
driver education programs. This amendment is not asking for additional funds, only your
support in making these funds available. Therefore, the amendment is very appropriate at this
time to allow the Departmént of Education to aid schools in continuing to offer this valuable
course that helps shape a young person’s attitude about safety in an automobile, and, hopefully,
attain a level of skill that will enable them to survive their teen years and make good driving
decisions. It has been long recognized that parents look to these accredited courses for
professional help in teaching their kids to drive. In the state of Kansas, a student is required to
complete a driver education course to get a Restricted license at age 15 and insurance discounts
are available as well. Therefore, I urge you to support this amendment to SB 43. It is a win-win

situation for all parties concerned.

James C. Hathaway
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District Name and USD No.

Abilene - D0435
Altoona-Midway - D0387
Andover - D0385
Anthony-Harper - D0361
Argonia Public Schools - D0359
Arkansas City - D0470

Ashland - D0220

Atchison Co Comm Schools - D0377
Atchison Public Schools - D0409
Attica - DO511

Auburn Washburn - D0437
Augusta - D0402

Axtell - D0488

B & B - D0451

Baldwin City - D0348

Barber County North - 00254
Barnes - D0223
Basehor-Linwood - D0458
Baxter Springs - 00508

Belle Plaine - D0357

Beloit - D0273

Blue Valley - D0384

Blue Valley - D0229

Bluestem - D0205

Bonner Springs - D0204
Brewster - D0314

Bucklin - D0459

Buhler - D0313

Burlingame Public School - D0454
Burlington - D0244

Burrton - D0369

*Butler Co Comm College - J0802
Caldwell - D0360

Caney Valley - D0436
Canton-Galva - D0419

Cedar Vale - D0285

Central - D0462

Central Heights - D0288

Centre - D0397

Chanute Public Schools - D0413
Chapman - D0473

Chase County - D0284
Chase-Raymond - D0401
Chautaugua Co Community - D0286
Cheney - D0268

Cherokee - D0247

Cherryvale - D0447

Chetopa - D0508

Cheylin - D0103
Cimarron-Ensign - D0102

Circle - D0375

Claflin - D0354

Clay Center - D0O379

Clearwater - D0264
Clifton-Clyde - D0224

Coffeyville - D0445

Colby Public Schools - D0315
Columbus - D0493

Comanche County - D0300

DISTRICTS THAT
Total number of pub

District Name and USD No.

Concordia - D0333

Conway Springs - D0356
Crest - D0479

Cunningham - D0332

De Soto - D0232

Deerfield - D0216

Derby - D0260

Dexter - D0471

Dighton - D0482

Dodge City - D0443

Douglass Public Schools - D0396
Durham-Hillsboro-Lehigh - D0410
Easton - D0449

El Dorado - D0490

Elk Valley - D0283

Elkhart - D0218

Ell-Saline - D0307

Ellinwood Public Schools - D0355
Ellis - D0388

Ellsworth - D0327

Elwood - D0486

Emporia - D0253

Erie-St Paul - D0101

Eudora - D0491

Eureka - D0389

Fairfield - D0310

Flinthills - D0492

Fort Scott - D0234

Fowler - D0225

Fredonia - D0484

Frontenac Public Schoals - D0249
Ft Larned - D0495

Ft Leavenworth - D0207
Galena - D0499

Garden City - D0457

Gardner Edgerton - D0231
Garnett - D0365

Geary County Schools - D0475
Girard - D0248

Goddard - D0265

Goessel - D0411

Golden Plains - D0316
Goodland - D0352

Great Bend - D0428

Greeley County Schools - D0200
Greensburg - D0422

Halstead - D0440

Hamilton - D0390

Hanston - D0228

Haven Public Schools - D0312
Haviland - D0474

Hays - D0489

Haysville - D0261

Healy Public Schools - D0468
Herington - DO487

Hesston - D0460

Hiawatha - D0415

Highland - D0425

Hill City - D0281

* Denotes private school, community college or state school

OFFERED DRIVER EDUCATION IN 2003-04
lic and private districts that offer driver ed: 298

District Name and USD No.

Hillcrest Rural Schools - D0455
Hoisington - D0431

Holcomb - D0363

Holton - D0336

Hoxie Community Schools - D0412
Hugoton Public Schools - D0210
Humbeldt - D0258

*Hutchinson Comm College - J0811
Hutchinson Public Schools - D0308
Independence - D04456
*Independence Comm College - J0812
*Independent School - Z0047
Ingalls - D0477

Inman - D0448

lola - D0257

Jayhawk - D0346

Jefferson County North - D0339
Jefferson West - D0340

Jetmore - D0227

Jewell - D0279

Kansas City - D0500

*Kansas City Catholic Diocese - Z0029
*Kansas City Kansas Comm College - J0814
Kaw Valley - D0321

Kingman - Norwich - D0331
Kinsley-Offerle - D0347
Kismet-Plains - D0483

Labette County - D0506

LaCrosse - D0395

Lakin - D0215

Lansing - D0469

Lawrence - D0497

Leavenworth - D0453
Lebo-Waverly - D0243

Leoti - D0467

LeRoy-Gridley - D0245

Lewis - D0502

Liberal - D0480

Lincoln - D0298

Little River - D0444

Logan - D0326

Lorraine - D0328

Louisburg - D0416

Lyndon - D0421

Lyons - D0405

Macksville - D0351

Madison-Virgil - D0386

Maize - D0266

Manhattan - D0383

Marais Des Cygnes Valley - D0456
Marion-Flarence - D0408
Marmaton Valley - D0256
Marysville - D0364

McLouth - D0342

McPherson - D0418

Meade - D0226

Midway Schaols - D0433

Mill Creek Valley - D0329

Minneola - D0219
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District Name and USD No.

Mission Valley - D0330
Montezuma - D0371

Morris County - D0417

Moscow Public Schools - D0209
Mulvane - D0263

Nemaha Valley Schools - D0442
Neodesha - D0461

Ness City - D0303

Newton - D0373

Nickerson - D0309

North Central - D0221

North Jackson - D0335

North Lyon County - D0251
North Ottawa County - D0239
Northeast - D0246

Northern Valley - D0212

Norton Community Schools - D0211
Oakley - D0274

Oberlin - D0294

Olathe - D0233
Onaga-Havensville-Wheaton - D0322
Osage City - D0420
Osawatomie - D0367

Osborne County - D0392
Oskaloosa Public Schools - D0341
Oswego - D0504

Otis-Bison - D0403

Ottawa - D0290

Palco - D0269

Paola - D0368

Paradise - D0399

Parsons - D0503

Pawnee Heights - D0496
Peabody-Burns - D0398

Perry Public Schools - D0343
Phillipsburg - D0325

Pike Valley - D0426
Piper-Kansas City - D0203
Pittsburg - D0250

Plainville - D0270

Pleasanton - D0344

Prairie Heights - D0295

Prairie View - D0362

Pratt - D0382

Pretty Prairie - D0311

Quinter Public Schools - D0293
Rawlins County - DO105
Remington-Whitewater - D0206
Renwick - D0267

Republic County - D0427

Riley County - D0378

Riverton - D0404

Rock Creek - D0323

Rolla - D0217

Rose Hill Public Schools - D0394
Royal Valley - D0337

Rural Vista - D0481

Russell County - D0407
Sabetha - D0441

District Name and USD No.

Salina - D0305

*Salina Catholic Diocese - Z0030
Santa Fe Trail - D0434
Satanta - DO507

*School for Deaf - S0610

Scott County - D0466

Seaman - D0345

Sedgwick Public Schools - D0439
Shawnee Heights - D0450
Shawnee Mission Pub Sch - D0512
Silver Lake - D0372

Skyline Schools - D0438

Smith Center - D0237

Smoky Valley - D0400
Solomon - D0393

South Barber - D0255

South Haven - D0509
Southeast Of Saline - D0306
Southern Cloud - D0334
Southern Lyon County - D0252
Spearville - D0381

Spring Hill - D0230

St Francis Comm Sch - D0297
St John-Hudson - D0350
Stafford - D0349

Stanton County - D0452
Sterling - D0376

Stockton - D0271

Sublette - D0374

Sylvan Grove - D0299
Syracuse - D0494

Tonganoxie - D0464

Triplains - D0275

Troy Public Schools - D0429
Turner-Kansas City - D0202
Twin Valley - D0240

Udall - D0463

Ulysses - D0214

Uniontown - D0235

Valley Center Pub Sch - D0262
Valley Heights - D0498
Vermillion - D0380

Victoria - D0432

Waconda - D0272

Wakeeney - D0208

Wallace County Schools - D0241
Wamego - D0320

Washington Schools - D0222
Wathena - D0406

Wellington - D0353

Wellsville - D0289

Weskan - D0242

West Elk - D0282

West Franklin - D0287

West Smith County - D0238
Western Plains - D0106
Wheatland - D0292

White Rock - D0104

Wichita - D0259

* Denotes private school, community college or state school

DISTRICTS THAT OFFERED DRIVER EDUCATION IN 2003-04
Total number of public and private districts that offer driver ed: 298

District Name and USD No.

*Wichita Catholic Diocese - Z0031
Winfield - D0465
Woodson - D0366




Wichita Public Schools
Senate Bill 43 Hearing Notes
3.8.05

Driver Education

General Overview

e Driver Education programs are supported in all seven comprehensive high schools
including East, Heights, North, Northwest, South, Southeast, and West.

e The program consists of three aspects including classroom instruction, simulation
instruction, and behind the wheel instruction.

e 15.2 FTE positions are budgeted, 16 teachers are supported either fully or
partially with the 15.2 position count. 13 of the Driver Education teachers teach
Driver Education full time. Two additional staff members are funded through the
Special Education budget.

e We have multiple programs within every school year that include Regular Driver
Eduecation during the school day, Evening Driver Education (at East High) on
multiple evenings and weekends, Summer Driver Education that occurs during
a six week session during June and July, and Special Education Driver
Education that is housed at East High School during the regular school day.

e USD 259 operates the largest Driver Education program within the state of
Kansas. Our successful completion student numbers have been very stable at
about 1750 total per year. This compares to the next two closest programs in our
state with successful completion of students totaling 600 in USD 233 Olathe and
417 students in USD 229 Blue Valley this past year.

e In 1993, the legislators of our state of Kansas enacted the law that requires youth
within our state to have successfully completed an approved course in Driver
Education prior to being eligible for a restricted license at the age of 15.

e The Wichita Public Schools Board of Education enacted fee payments to offset
the costs of Driver Education several years ago, along with these actions, students
that qualify for reduced or free lunches are provided access to this course at
reduced rates during the regular school year. The Wichita Public Schools has a
proud history of providing the Driver Education course to all students within our
community.

e Estimated percentages of students that paid reduced or free rates for Driver
Education this school year, 2004-2005, per BOE policy are as follows with
comparison to each school’s reduced or free rates:

% per Driver Ed % per School
75.6% East High School 58.5%

75% West High School 70.2%

79% North High School 72.6%

70% South High School 60.4%

55% Southeast High School 54.7%

45% Heights High School 42.9%

24% Northwest High School 29%
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e Students impacted in the Wichita Public Schools Driver Education Program:

404
213
232
194
239
250
175
373

2100

East High School-256 plus 85 Special Ed and 63 Evening Program
West High School

North High School

South High School

Southeast High School

Heights High School

Northwest High School

Summer School 2004 at East and Northwest

Students total served by the Driver Education Program 2004-2005

Example of funding compared to district Driver Education Budgets:

State aid received during 2002-2003 Actual $147,806 Driver Ed Budget $966,352

State aid received during 2003-2004 Actual $147,430 Driver Ed Budget $1,169,140

As a district that supports Driver Education for a major community in our state, we
encourage you to remove the cap placed on Driver Education funds, thus allowing the
Kansas State Department of Education to appropriately distribute such funds to approved
Driver Education programs across our state.

Submitted by: Eldon L. Chlumsky, Coordinator, Driver Education, Wichita Public

Schools
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