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MINUTES OF THE SENATE FEDERAL AND STATE AFFAIRS

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Pete Brungardt at 10:45 a.m. on Tuesday, January 11, 2005,
in Room 231-N of the Capitol.

Committee members absent: Senator Barnett (E)

Committee staff present: Athena Andaya, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Dennis Hodgins, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Mary Ann Torrence, Revisor of Statutes Office
Dee Woodson, Committee Secretary

Others attending: See attached list.
Conferees appearing before the committee: Bob Groneman, Director of ABC

Chairman Brungardt opened the meeting by welcoming committee members and staff. The Chair
introduced new committee members, Senators Anthony Hensley, Roger Reitz, and Ralph Ostmeyer. He
also introduced members of assigned staff: Athena Andaya and Dennis Hodgins of the Kansas Legislative
Research Department, Mary Ann Torrence from the Revisor of Statutes Office. The Chair introduced new
Committee Secretary Dee Woodson.

Chairman Brungardt made several general announcements regarding meeting dates, time, and subject
matter that comes before the Senate Fed and State Committee. He called upon the Committee’s Revisor,
Mary Ann Torrence, to give an update on recent legislation relating to alcoholic beverages. She covered
the Uniformity of the Kansas Liquor Control Act, and the ability of cities to opt out of its provisions;
Sunday sales of alcoholic beverages, the issue which precipitated the uniformity debate; and the
prohibition against purchasing wines from outside the state and shipping them into the state.
(Attachment 1)

Dennis Hodgins, Legislative Research Department, was asked by the Chairman to give an overview of
background information on Kansas liquor Laws. His presentation of Kansas Liquor Law history ranged
from 1880 through 2000, and was detailed in his written review. (Attachment 2) The presentation
included various tables regarding Liquor Licensee, Their Suppliers, and Their Markets, Businesses
Licensed To Sell Beer and CMB (Cereal Malt Beverage) for Off-Premise Consumption, Licensee
Qualifications, and Business Types Eligible for License. Mr. Hodgins also provided a map of the counties
in Kansas depicting whether the counties have or do not have liquor-by-the-drink. He explained Table 8
which covered how state liquor and fees are distributed.

General discussion and questions followed the presentation regarding clarification of definition between
CMB (less then 3.2 beer) and alcoholic beer (greater then 3.2).

Chairman Brungardt called upon Bob Groneman, Director, Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Division,
to give an overview of the ABC 2004 Budget. Mr. Groneman introduced ABC’s new Assistant Attorney
General, Brad Burke, and ABC Operations Manager, Jackson Armbrister.

Mr. Groneman stated that the number one priority of the ABC was to fairly administer and enforce the
liquor laws in Kansas to ensure compliance, and to maintain a level playing field among all licensees. He
added that as a part of the Department of Revenue, it was their duty to see that all applicable taxes due and
owing are collected. He explained that the division was divided into three organizational units: licensing,
administration, and enforcement. He gave a brief description of each unit’s responsibilities and
organization.

Mr. Groneman talked about the division’s 2004 budget of $1,829,779 vs 2005's projected budget of
$2,207,490 including the breakdown between salaries and operating expenses for each year. He outlined
the various types of licenses issued in 2004 by type and number as depicted in his written testimony. A
comparison of 2003/2004 taxes collected and where those taxes are distributed also was shared by the
Director. (Attachment 3)

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to
the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1



CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE Senate Federal and State Affairs at 10:45 a.m. on Tuesday, January 11, 2005, in
Room 231-N of the Capitol.

Committee questions followed Mr. Groneman’s presentation.

Chairman Brungardt summarized the challenges and responsibilities of updating liquor laws due to
changing times. He stated that the Committee’s charge was to be mindful of the situation as it exists since
it was the Legislature that created the current laws governing liquor, but also to look at moving ahead
toward making the laws a little more rational in the future.

The meeting adjourned at 11:35 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for January 12, 2005, at 10:30 a.m.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to
the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 2
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Office of Revisor of Statutes

Statehouse, Suite 322-S
300 S.W. 10th Avenue
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1592
Telephone: 785-296-2321 FAX: 785-296-6668
email: maryt@rs.state.ks.us

MEMORANDUM
To: Senate Committee on Federal and State Affairs
From: Mary Torrence, Senior Assistant Revisor of Statutes

Date: January 11, 2005

Subject: Recent Legislation relating to Alcoholic Beverages

The Legislature considered several issues related to alcoholic beverages in the 2003 and
2004 legislative sessions. Among those were: (1) Uniformity of the Kansas Liquor Control Act and
the ability of cities to opt out of its provisions; (2) Sunday sales of alcoholic beverages, the issue
which precipitated the uniformity debate; and (3) the prohibition against purchasing wines from

outside the state and shipping it into the state.

Uniformity of the Kansas Liquor Control Act

In late 2002 the governing bodies of the Unified Government of Wyandotte County and
the city of Edwardsville adopted charter ordinances exempting their respective jurisdictions from
the prohibition against Sunday sales of alcoholic liquor under the Kansas Liquor Control Act. The
state filed an action challenging the cities” authority to charter out of the provisions of the Act. The
issue in the case was whether provisions of the Liquor Control Act which are not uniformly
applicable to all cities allow cities to exert their home rule powers under Article 12, Section 5, of the
Kansas Constitution to charter out of the provisions of the act or whether the authority to regulate
alcoholic liquor is exclusively reserved to the state under Article 15, Section 10, of the Constitution.
On appeal, the Kansas Supreme Court held that the Liquor Control Act is does not apply uniformly
to all cities and that cities may charter out of the Act. See Stare ex rel. Kline v. Board of Comm rs

of Unified Gov't of Wyandotte Co/KC, 277 Kan. 516 (2004).
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The Legislature attempted to address the issue of nonuniformity of the Liquor Control
Act during the 2003 session in House Substitute for Senate Bill No. 2. Because the House and Senate
could not agree on how to resolve the issue, the bill died in conference committee.

During the interim between the 2003 and 2004 sessions, the Special Committee on
Judiciary was charged with review of the liquor and cereal malt beverage laws and the need for
uniformity in those laws. The Committee introduced 2004 Senate Bill No. 305, which would have
made the Liquor Control Act uniform and would have amended or repealed various provisions of
the liquor and cereal malt beverage laws which the Committee determined were out of date or
unenforceable. The Committee discussed but did not make recommendations regarding holiday
sales, single-strength beer, elimination of the distinction between alcoholic liquor and cereal malt
beverage and a number of other issues. The Committee did recommend that the Legislature further
consider the issue of hours of sale of cereal malt beverages and alcoholic liquor.

In the 2004 session, Senate Bill No. 305 was referred to the Senate Committee on Federal
and State Affairs. The Committee adopted various amendments to the bill, including a provision that
would have allowed cities and counties to adopt alcoholic beverage regulations which were more
stringent than or supplementary to state law. This provision was deleted by the Senate Committee
of the Whole. The Committee on Federal and State Affairs also amended the bill in other ways,
including a provision increasing increase gallonage taxes which was also deleted by Senate
Committee of the Whole. The bill then went to the House where it died in the House Committee on
Federal and State Affairs.

Also during the 2004 session, the House Committee on Federal and State Affairs
introduced House Substitute for Senate Bill No. 295, which would have made the Liquor Control

Act uniform. This bill died on House General Orders.

Sunday and Holiday Sales of Alcoholic Beverages

The issue of Sunday sales of alcoholic liquor was central to legislative consideration of
the uniformity issue. In 2003 the House Committee of the Whole amended House Substitute for
Senate Bill No. 2 to provide for Sunday sales of alcoholic liquor on a county-option basis. Similarly,
2004 Senate Bill No. 305, as introduced, would have allowed any city to provide for Sunday sales
within the city and any county to allow Sunday sales within the unincorporated area of the county.

On the House side, 2004 House Substitute for Senate Bill No. 295, as it came out of House
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committee, would have prohibited all Sunday liquor sales. As previously noted, these bills died at

various stages of the legislative process.

Purchase and Shipment of Wines from Qutside the State

Another issue which surfaced repeatedly during the last two legislative sessions is
whether out-of-state wine sellers should be allowed to sell and ship wines to buyers in this state. In
2003, the House of Representatives passed House Concurrent Resolution No. 5016, which called for
a study of the issue. The concurrent resolution died in Senate Committee on Federal and State
Affairs. However, 2003 House Substitute for Senate Bill No. 2 was amended by House Committee
of the whole to include a provision allowing the sale and shipment of out-of-state wines to Kansans.
The introduced version of 2003 Senate Bill No. 305 included a similar provision which was deleted
by the Senate Committee of the Whole. In addition, 2003 House Bill No. 2637, sponsored by a
number of House members, would have enacted the same provision. That bill died in House
committee. To enforce collection of liquor taxes and the age for consumption of liquor, all the bills
dealing with this subject have required the wine to be shipped to a licensed Kansas liquor store,

where the buyer must pick up the wine.
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KANSAS LIQUOR LAWS

How Has Kansas Policy Regarding Regulation of Alcohol Evolved?
Some major events in the evolution of liquor policy in Kansas are listed below:

1880 Voters approved (92,302 to 84,304) an amendment to the Kansas Constitution prohibiting
the manufacture and sale of intoxicating liquors (Article 15, §10).

1934 Voters rejected (347,644 to 436,688) a proposed constitutional amendment to authorize the
Legislature to regulate and tax liquor.

1937 The Legislature enacted the law that categorizes beer with an alcohol content of 3.2 percent
or less alcohol by weight as cereal malt beverage (CMB) which was excluded from the
definition of intoxicating liqguor. The law authorized sale of CMB for both on-and off-premise
consumption throughout the state.

1948 Voters approved (422,294 to 358,310) an amendment to the Kansas Constitution that
authorized the Legislature to “. . . regulate, license and tax the manufacture and sale of
intoxicating liquor . . . regulate the possession and transportation of intoxicating liquor.” (Art.
15, §10) The amendment also “forever prohibited” the open saloon. The amendment meant
that package liquor sales could be authorized and regulated, but that sale of liquor by the
drink in public places was prohibited.

1949 The Legislature enacted the Liquor Control Act. The Act authorized package sale of liquor
in counties in which the 1948 amendment had been approved. The Act created a system of
regulating, licensing, and taxing those package sales. The Division of Alcoholic Beverage
Control (ABC) was created to enforce the Act.

1959 The Legislature enacted the “minimum price law” which required manufacturers and suppliers
to sell liquor to distributors in Kansas at the same price and without discrimination.
Manufacturers' price lists were to be filed with the Director of ABC. Manufacturers also were
required to file suggested wholesale and retail price lists with the Director. Distributors were
required to file current price lists with the Director and were prohibited from selling liquor to
retailers at any price other than that posted with the Director. The Director of ABC was
authorized to promulgate rules and regulations prohibiting distributors and retailers from
selling liquor below manufacturers' suggested case and bottle prices filed with the Director
of ABC.

Prior to enactment of statutes regulating liquor pricing, prices were controlled by regulation.
The regulation was overturned by the courts in 1958.

1961 Amendment of the minimum price law established guidelines for the ABC Board of Review
to use to set minimum wholesale and retail liquor prices.
Senate Federal & State Affairs
Committee
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1965 The Legislature enacted laws providing for licensure and regulation of liquor sales in private
clubs. Such clubs were allowed under the constitutional prohibition because they were not
open to the public.

1968 Consumption of alcoholic liquor authorized on property leased by a city to others which is
used as a hotel or motel.

1969 Consumption of alcoholic liquor authorized on city property in any city larger than 200,000
when approved by the city ordinance.

1970 Blood alcohol level at which a driver was presumed to be under the influence of alcohol was
lowered from 0.15 percent to 0.1 percent.

Proposition to remove “open saloon” prohibition from Constitution rejected by voters 335,094
to 346,423.

1971 Consumption of alcoholic liquor authorized on county property in any county larger than
150,000 when approved by county resolution.

1975 Consumption of alcoholic liquor authorized on state-owned premises which are furnished to
and occupied by any state employee as a residence.

1978 Restaurants were authorized to sell liquor if they derived at least 50 percent of gross receipts
from the sale of food and are located in counties that approved such sales at the 1978
general election. These establishments were not subject to the ten-day waiting period and
membership dues requirements of the private club law. (Law struck down by court.)

1979 Private clubs were statutorily authorized to sell liquor by the drink to members and guests.
The law eliminated “liquor pools” and permitted class B clubs that derived a minimum of 50
percent of their gross receipts from the sale of food to establish reciprocal relationships with
other similar clubs. Those agreements provided members of one participating club with
access to all participating clubs. Class A clubs also were authorized to enter into reciprocal
agreements.

The 10 percent “drink tax” was imposed in lieu of the retail sales tax on sales of liquor by
clubs. Revenue from the tax was credited to the Local Alcoholic Liquor Fund from which
allocations were made to cities and counties based on the amount collected from clubs
located in that jurisdiction. A city or county receiving an allocation must credit moneys as
follows:

e one-third to the general fund; ‘
e one-third to a special parks and recreation fund; and
® one-third to a special alcohol programs fund.

An exclusive territorial franchise system for liquor wholesalers was established. Under the
system, each liquor wholesaler was required to file with the ABC the territory agreed upon
by the wholesaler and the manufacturer, within which the wholesaler will sell the man-
ufacturer's products to retailers. A manufacturer cannot grant a franchise for a particular
territory to more than one wholesaler.

2-1
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Minimum wholesale prices were no longer established by the state. Minimum price mark-ups
for retailers were to be determined by the ABC Board of Review.

Consumption of alcoholic liquor authorized on property owned or operated by an airport
authority pursuant to chapter 27 of KSA.

Consumption of alcoholic liquor authorized in a licensed club on property owned or operated
by an airport authority established by a city larger than 200,000 population.

Private clubs were authorized to sell CMB for on-premise consumption only at any time liquor
is sold (prior law provided for different hours of sale for liquor and CMB at clubs). Authority
for clubs to sell CMB for off-premise consumption was repealed.

Blood alcohol content of 0.1 percent becomes prima facie evidence that a driver is under the
influence of alcohol to a degree that renders the person incapable of driving safely.

One-fourth of receipts from “drink tax” to be allocated to the State General Fund.

Farm wineries were permitted to manufacture and sell table wine containing 14 percent or
less alcohol made from Kansas-grown products. Farm wineries were authorized to sell their
products to wholesalers and to consumers for off-premise consumption.

Liquor enforcement tax rate increased from 4 percent to 8 percent of the retail sales price
of liquor sold for off-premise consumption.

The minimum legal age for possession and consumption of CMB was raised to 21 for
persons born after July 1, 1966.

CMB sold in private clubs was subject to the 10 percent “drink tax.” Five percent of “drink
tax” receipts credited to the Community Alcoholism and Intoxication Programs Fund
administered by SRS. The amendment reduced the amount allocated directly to cities and
counties.

“Happy hour ban” enacted. Certain promotional practices by clubs and CMB retailers were
prohibited (see Table 5).

Hotels were permitted to enter into agreements with class B clubs whereby hotel guests
could be issued temporary memberships in the club.

The Legislature approved the resolution proposing to amend the Constitution to permit the
sale of liquor by the drink in public places.

The Liquor Law Review Commission was appointed by Governor Carlin to conduct a
comprehensive review of Kansas' liquor laws and to make recommendations for amend-
ments.
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1986 Voters approved (489,646 to 325,505) the constitutional amendment permitting sale of liquor
by the drink in establishments open to the public.

The Liquor Law Review Commission issued its report with recommendations for changes in
statutes and rules and regulations.

1987 Drinking establishments were created as a category of licensee permitted to sell liquor by the
drink. The bill also provided for sale of liquor by the drink on unlicensed premises by
licensed caterers and by persons holding temporary permits.

Liquor and beer wholesalers were permitted to sell bulk wine directly o caterers, clubs, and
drinking establishments. Beer distributors were permitted to sell beer directly to caterers,
clubs, and drinking establishments. Liquor retailers were permitted to deliver products to
caterers, clubs, and drinking establishments located in the same or adjacent counties.

The Attorney General issued an opinion that minimum price mark-ups are illegal.
Retail sale of liquor at less than acquisition cost was prohibited by statute.

Microbreweries were created as a category of licensee. Microbreweries manufacture beer
with 8 percent or less alcohol content and have capacities of 5,000 or fewer barrels per year.

The ABC Board of Review was abolished.
Price and brand advertising of liquor was permitted.

Sunday sale of CMB was permitted in restaurants that derive 30 percent or more of gross
receipts from sale of food if they were located in a city or county that authorized such sales
by ordinance or resolution.

Boating under the influence of alcohol (blood alcohol content of 0.1 percent or greater) was
made a misdemeanor.

Consumption of alcoholic liquor authorized on: the premises of a microbrewery or farm
winery; the State Fairgrounds on the day of a parimutuel race; and on property under the

control of the State Board of Regents or the Washburn University Board of Regents which
is not used for classroom instruction.

1988 Farm wineries were permitted to sell directly to clubs, drinking establishments, and retailers.
Consumption of alcoholic liquor authorized on the State Fairgrounds if such liquor is domestic
wine and is used for judging competitions.

1990 The 10 percent “drink tax” was imposed on sale of liquor by the drink by persons holding
temporary permits.

The Nonalcoholic Malt Beverages Act authorized distribution, sale, and taxation of malt
beverages containing less than one-half of 1 percent alcohol. Those beverages may be sold

2-4
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by liquor retailers, clubs, drinking establishments, and CMB retailers. Nonalcoholic malt
beverages (NAMB) were subject to the same taxes as CMB.

Consumption of alcoholic liquor authorized at the State Historical Museum and other
buildings on the premises.

Required periodic price posting by suppliers and wholesalers was replaced by registration.
Consumption of alcoholic liquor authorized by cities which have a lease agreement with a

National Guard armory.

Farm wineries were permitted to operate a maximum of two licensed outlets for off-premise
sale of domestic wine and for wine tasting if the outlet is located in a county where liquor can
be sold by the drink.

Microbrewery licensees were authorized to obtain caterer licenses.

Liquor retailers were authorized to sell nonalcohol items included by manufacturers in
packages of liquor. Retailers also were authorized to distribute free advertising specialties.

Consumption of alcoholic liquor authorized on the premises of any state-owned historic site
under the jurisdiction of the State Historical Society.
The blood alcohol content at which a person is found to be driving or operating a boat under

the influence of alcohol was lowered from 0.1 percent to 0.08 percent.

Minimum liquor container size law was repealed.

Election day sales of liquor and CMB for off-premise consumption legalized.

On-premise consumption of CMB in taverns on election days legalized.

Class A clubs and Class B clubs that are restaurants permitted to enter into reciprocal
agreements.

The maximum number of barrels of beer that can be produced by a microbrewery increased

from 5,000 to 15,000.

State residency requirement for a beer distributor’s license reduced from five years to one
year.

Distributors prohibited from selling CMB at a discount for multiple case lots.

ABC authorized to issue temporary permits to charitable organizations to sell liquor at
auction.
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ABC authorized to issue temporary permits to individuals to sell limited issue porcelain
containers of alcohol.

Consumption of CMB in or on the grounds of the Capitol Building prohibited.

CMB retailers permitted to employ persons to sell, serve, or dispense CMB who become
convicted of a felony or violation of liquor laws more than two years prior to employment.

Hotels licensed as drinking establishments or caterers authorized to have minibars in guest
rooms.

Consumption of alcoholic liquor authorized at the Mulvane Art Center and the Bradbury
Thompson Alumni Center on the campus of Washburn University.

Liquor and CMB retailers, microbreweries, and farm wineries authorized to accept certain
credit cards for the sale of alcoholic beverages.

Liquor, wine, and beer distributors authorized to use the warehouses of another licensed
distributor for storage and delivery of liquor to retailers.

Liquor, wine, and beer distributors authorized to use products from their inventories as
samples in the course of business or at industry seminars.

The spouse of a retail liquor license permitted to have a license for a separate retail liquor
establishment.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) law amended to make it unlawful for any person under 21
years of age to operate a motor vehicle with a blood or breath alcohol concentration of .02
or greater.

Beer manufacturers in Kansas prohibited from selling beer directly to liquor retailers.
Price or service discrimination between CMB retailers by CMB wholesalers prohibited.

Off-premise CMB retailers prohibited from selling CMB at less than acquisition cost.

City residents authorized to vote on the question of whether to allow retail liquor stores to
operate in the city limits at any regular general city election (every two years). Prior law
allowed such a vote only once every four years.

Licensed farm wineries allowed to produce and sell "domestic fortified wine" (which contains
between 14 percent and 20 percent alcohol by volume) under the same conditions as they
sell domestic table wine.

The Hiram Price Dillon House and surrounding property exempted from the general
prohibition against consuming liquor on public property. Policies regarding the consumption
of liquor in the Dillon House will be established by the Legislative Coordinating Council.
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Consumption of alcoholic beverages at lake resorts at state parks allowed, should any such
lake resorts be developed.

Consumption of alcoholic liquor authorized: (1) at the Kansas National Guard Regional
Training Center in Salina pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by the Adjutant General;
(2) in the State Capitol Building and on the Capitol grounds on 12-31-99 and 1-1-2000 under
policies adopted by the Secretary of Administration; and (3) at the Sternberg Museum at Fort
Hays State University under policies adopted by the Kansas Board of Regents.

The Attorney General is required to appoint a Statewide Drug Abuse Resistance Education
(DARE) coordinator.

Boating Under the Influence (BUI) laws amended to be more consistent with the Driving
Under the Influence (DUI) laws.

Retail liquor store licenses may be issued in any township having a population of more than
5,000 (previous law set the population at more than 11,000).

Consumption of alcoholic liquor authorized on community college property, subject to policies
adopted by the community college board of trustees.

Procedures are established for "sting" operations in which a person under 21 years of age
attempts to purchase alcoholic liquor or CMB in violation of the law.

Citations for violations of certain liquor laws must be delivered to the alleged violator at the
time of the violation, and mailed to the licensee within 30 days.

The Liquor Control Act is amended to delete the residency requirement for liquor and beer
distributors.

CMB and alcoholic liquor statutes, as they apply to a minor in possession of such beverages
or liquor, are combined into one law. The crimes of furnishing alcoholic liquor and CMB to
minors are combined.

The residency requirements for the Director and all employees of the Division of Alcoholic
Beverage Control is revised to require that these individuals be United States citizens and
residents of Kansas.

The issuance of a license for liquor or CMB to a license applicant is prohibited if the
applicant's spouse has been convicted of a felony or other crime which was committed during
the time that the spouse held a license.

DUI laws are amended to increase criminal fines and penalties, to increase driver's license
lengths of suspensions and reinstatement fees, to provide for lifetime driver's license
revocations, to amend the zero tolerance laws regarding driver's license suspensions, and
to amend the underage drinking and possession statute to require driver's license
suspensions of 30 days for violations.



2002

2003

2004

8-

The new Beer and Cereal Malt Beverage Keg Registration Act requires retailers to register
all beer kegs having a capacity of four gallons or more with an identification number to
establish the identity of the purchaser. Violations by retailers could result in fines and
suspensions or revocation of their licenses. A class B misdemeanor crime is created for
possession of an unregistered keg or removal or defacing of the identification number.

DUI fund expenditures by Kansas Department of Health and Environment are broadened to
include laboratory enhancements and other purposes related to preservation of evidence,
such as travel. Current DUI expenditures include blood or breath alcohol equipment and
driving programs.

Procedural changes are made to the driving under the DUI law relating to offenders
convicted of fourth and subsequent offenses.

The State Fair Board is authorized to allow the consumption of alcoholic liquor on nonfair
days in conjunction with bona fide scheduled events involving 75 or more invited guests.

The Liquor Control Act is amended to delete the requirement that the Division of Alcoholic
Beverage Control (ABC) issue permits for common carriers to transport liquor in Kansas, and
to delete the requirement that common carriers submit duplicate bills of lading to the ABC.

The furnishing of alcoholic liquor to a minor law is amended to clarify that all cereal malt
beverage and alcoholic liquor defendants are entitled to the defense that they had
reasonable cause to believe the minor was 21 years old.

A non-prison sanction of up to 60 days for those offenders who are condition violators of the
new drug and alcohol abuse treatment programs was enacted in KSA 22-3716. The non-
prison sanctions could include county jail, fines, community service, intensified treatment,
house arrest or electronic monitoring. If these methods prove ineffective, the offender may
be sent to prison to serve the term of the sentence.

In March of 2004, the Kansas Supreme Court, in State ex rel. Kline v. Unified Bd. of Comm'rs
of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, 277 Kan. 516 (2004), unanimously upheld the exemption
of cities from the provision of the State Liquor Control Act that prohibited the sale of liquor
on Sunday, because the provisions of the Act are not uniformly applied to all cities. A
number of cities subsequently allowed the sale of liquor on Sundays. The Legislature
attempted to address the uniformity issue, but the bill died in conference committee.

A new crime was created of unlawfully hosting minors consuming alcoholic liquor or cereal
malt beverages. The new crime is a class B misdemeanor with a fine of $200.

The Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control is authorized to revoke or suspend the liquor
license of any licensee found in violation of the prohibition against the use of pyrotechnics
(fireworks), pyrotechnic devices and pyrotechnic materials in any building which includes
liquor establishments.
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What Types of Alcoholic Beverages are Available in Kansas?

e Alcoholic liquorin Kansas law includes spirits, wine, and beer containing over 3.2
percent alcohol by weight. Spirits are defined in statute to be any distilled
alcoholic beverage including brandy, rum, whiskey, and gin, among others.

® Cereal Malt Beverage (CMB or 3.2 beer) is beer containing 3.2 percent or less
alcohol by weight.

® Nonalcoholic Malt Beverage (nonalcohol beer or NAMB) is beer containing 0.5
percent or less alcohol by weight.

® Domestic Table Wine contains 14 percent or less alcohol by volume and is
manufactured by farm wineries from Kansas-grown agricultural products.

® Domestic Fortified Wine contains between 14 percent and 20 percent alcohol by
volume and is manufactured by farm wineries from Kansas—grown agricultural
products.

® Domestic Beer contains 8 percent or less alcohol by weight and is manufactured
by microbreweries from Kansas-grown agricultural products.

What State Agency is Responsible for Regulating the Liquor Industry in Kansas?

The Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control of the Department of Revenue was created by
enactment of the Liquor Control Act to license and regulate the liquor industry and enforce liquor
laws. The Division has broad rule-making authority.

Who Can Legally Buy and Sell Liquor in Kansas?

The Kansas Constitution authorizes the Legislature to prohibit intoxicating liquor in certain
areas. The Legislature also is authorized by the Constitution to regulate, license, and tax the
manufacture and sale of liquor and to regulate the possession and transportation of liquor. The
Legislature has done so through enactment of the Liquor Control Act and the Club and Drinking
Establishment Act.

The liquor distribution system in Kansas is referred to as a “three tier system” because by
statute liquorand CMB are distributed from manufacturer to distributor (commonly called wholesaler)
to retailer. There are exceptions to that generalization.

® Farm wineries may sell directly to retailers, clubs, drinking establishments,
caterers, and consumers.

e Microbreweries also may sell their products directly to consumers but must sell
to retailers, clubs, and drinking establishments through licensed distributors.

e Farm wineries and microbreweries also may be licensed as clubs or drinking
establishments, and microbreweries may be licensed as caterers for sale of liquor
by the drink to consumers.
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e Clubs, drinking establishments, and caterers may purchase beer and bulk wine
directly from wholesalers, but must purchase all other liquor from a liquor retailer.

Table 1 displays current categories of liquor licensees and the market niche occupied by
each. Table 2 displays major statutory provisions that govern the sale of beer and CMB for off-
premises consumption. Tables 3 and 4 display qualifications individuals and businesses must meet
to obtain a liquor license.

TABLE 1

Liquor Licensees, Their Suppliers, and Their Markets

Licensee/Permittee Buys From Sells To
Manufacturer N/A Distributors and nonbeverage users
Distributor Manufacturer Retail liquor stores; other distributors; beer and
(wholesalers) bulk wine only to clubs, drinking establishments,
and caterers
Retail Liquor Store Distributor Consumers (off-premise), clubs, drinking estab-
lishments, caterers, and temporary permit holders
(may deliver to clubs and drinking establishments
in the same or adjacent counties)
Farm Winery N/A Wine distributors, retail liquor stores, clubs,
drinking establishments, caterers, and consumers
(off-premise)
Microbrewery N/A Beer distributors and consumers (off-premise)
Club Distributor (beer and bulk Members, their families, and guests (on-premise
wine only), retail liquor only)
store, farm winery
Drinking Distributor (beer and bulk  General public (on-premise only)

Establishment

Caterer

CMB Retailer
Off-Premise
On-Premise

wine only), retail liquor
store, farm winery

Distributor (beer and bulk
wine only), retail liquor
store, farm winery

Beer distributor
Beer distributor

General public (by the drink only)

General public (off-premise only)
General public (on-premise only)
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Statutory Provision

TABLE 2

BUSINESSES LICENSED TO SELL BEER AND CMB FOR OFF-PREMISE CONSUMPTION

Retail Liquor Store

Microbrewery

CMB Retailer (off-premise)

License Issued By

Licensee Quaiification

Business
Arrangements
Eligible for
License

License and
Application Fees

State

e 10 year U.S. Citizen'
4 year Kansas Resident?

e No felons; no persons convicted of prostitution,
gambling/morals violations

e No prior license revocations®

® 21 years of age

e May not be, appoint, or supervise any law enforce-
ment official* or be employed by ABC

e May be a licensed CMB retailer®

e Must own premises or have a valid lease for at
least 3/4 of license period

e Upon initial application, the applicant's spouse also
must meet qualifications for licensure other than
citizenship, residency, and age

Partnerships - All partners qualify as individuals

Corporations -- Not eligible for licensure

Trust -- All grantors, beneficiaries, and trustees must
meet qualifications, except for age of beneficiary, as
individuals

License Fee: $250, annually

Application Fee: $50, initial; $10, renewal
Local License Tax: $100-300, annually

@ Same

@ Same
® Same

® Same

® Same
® Same
® Same

@ Cannot have CMB License
® Same

® Same

Same

City or County

e U.S. Citizen

1 year Kansas Resident

@ 6 months resident of county where busi-
ness is located; good character repu-
tation in community where resident

@ No felony conviction in preceding 2
years; no conviction for moral turpitude,
drunkenness, DUI, or any liquor violation

® N/A

® Same

e N/A

e N/A
e N/A

® Same

Partnerships, if all partners qualify as indi-
viduals

Corporations, Stockholder owning aggre- Corporations, if all officers, managers,

gate 50% must be fully qualified as indi-
viduals, all others must be fully qualified
except for citizenship or residency
Same

Same

Same
N/A

directors, and stockholders with >25% of
stock would qualify as individuals®

Business may be operated by an agent if
the agent qualifies as an individual
License Fee: $25-50, annually

Application Fee: $25, annually
State Stamp: $25

2=/



TABLE 2 (CONTINUED)

Statutory Provision

Retail Liquor Store

Microbrewery

CMB Retailer (off-premise)

Products
Days of Sale

Hours

Discounts
Credit Card Sales

Advertising

Employee Age

Buys From

Sells To

Location of
Licensed Premises

Total: $400-600, initial
$360-560, renewal
Beer, wine, spirits, NAMB

No sales on: Sunday, certain holidays’

No sales between 11:00 p.m. and 9:00 a.m.?

No sales at less than cost®

Yes'®

No hand bills, bill boards'', or window displays of
liquor

Must be 21 or older

Licensed wholesalers
No credit purchases

® Consumers, clubs, drinking establishments,
caterers, and holders of temporary permits

e May deliver product to clubs, drinking establish-
ments, and caterers in the same or adjacent
counties

@ Must be in areas zoned for commercial use if
jurisdiction is zoned

® Cannot be in city that does not permit retail liquor
stores

@ Cannot be within 200 feet of school, coliege, or
church

® Cannot have inside entrance or opening that con-
nects with another business

Total: $350, initial
$260, renewal
Domestic beer

Any days

No sales between midnight and 6:00
a.m., Sunday sales permitted between

noon and 6:00 p.m.
N/A

Same

All advertising subject to approval by

ABC

Must be 18 to manufacture, sell, or serve
with supervision of someone 21 or older

N/A

@ Consumers, beer distributors

® Must be zoned for agricultural, com-
mercial, or business purposes

@ Cannot be within 200 feet of a school,

college, or church

Total: $75-100, annually

CMB, NAMB
No sales on Sundays

No sales between midnight and 6:00 a.m.

Same as retail liquor stores
Same

No restrictions

Must be 18 or older

Same

Consumers

e City or county may establish zones in
which CMB retailers may not be located

R=13



TABLE 2 (CONTINUED)
Statutory Provision Retail Liquor Store Microbrewery CMB Retailer (off-premise)
Other Sales e May not sell any products other than liquor, pro- @ No limitations regarding sale of @ Same
ducts or materials included by the manufacturer in nonalcoholic products
the package, and nonalcoholic beer, except
lottery tickets

1)
2)
3)
4)
6)
7)
9)

10)
11)

e May give away advertising specialties

May charge a delivery fee

e May not provide entertainment nor have pinball
machines, or games of skill or chance on the pre-
mises

Spouse of deceased licensee may be licensed if a U.S. citizen for less than ten years or if that person becomes a citizen within one year of the licensee’s death.
The requirement does not apply upon the tenth and subsequent renewals if a resident agent has been appointed.

A license may be issued after ten years from revocation if the previous license was revoked for conviction of a misdemeanor.

An exception to the supervision provision is provided for members of a city or county governing body.

CMB and liquor cannot be sold for off-premise consumption at the same location.

if any manager, officer, director, or stockholder owning more than 25% of the corporate stock has had a CMB license revoked or has been convicted of a violation
of the Kansas Drinking Establishment Act or CMB laws, the corporation could not receive a CMB retailer license.

Holidays on which liquor stores must be closed: Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

By ordinance, a city may require liquor stores to close prior to 11:00 p.m., but not before 8:00 p.m.

Wholesalers cannot grant retailers quantity discounts. Sales at less than cost are permitted when a retailer is closing out stock, selling damaged or deteriorated
stock, or selling under court order.

Credit card sales are permitted if the credit card entitles the user to purchase goods or services from at least 100 persons not related to the issuer of the credit card.
in a 1992 opinion (92-14) the Attomey General stated that the statute that attempts to prohibit liquor retailers from advertising by means of billboards (KSA 1992
Supp. 41-714) is so vague as to be unenforceable.

o0
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TABLE 3

LICENSEE QUALIFICATIONS—INDIVIDUAL APPLICANT

2-14

u.s. Kansas Hold 3.2
Citizen Resident Record Age Other Employment License? Control of Premise? Spouse Beneficial Interesis
Manufacturer 10year |5 year No felony, prostitution, gambling, or 21 |May not be, appoint, or supervise any no Proof of ownership or valid | Initial application: must be fully qualified N/A
morals conviction. No license revocation® law enforcement official® or be employ- lease for at least 3/4 of other than citizenship, residency, and
ed by the director of ABC. license period age. Renewal: N/A
Nonbeverage User 10 year |N/A No felony, prostitution, gambling, or 21 |May not be, appoint, or supervise any no Proof of ownership or valid | Initial application: must be fully qualified N/A
morals conviction. No license revocation? law enforcement official® or be employ- lease for at least 3/4 of li- other than citizenship, residency, and
ed by the director of ABC. cense period age. Renewal: N/A
Spirits Distributor 10 year |N/A®T No felony, prostitution, gambling, or 21 |May not be, appoint, or supervise any no Proof of ownership or valid  |Initial application: must be fully qualified |May hold more than one distributor's li-
morals conviction. No license revocation? law enforcement official® or be employ- lease for at least 3/4 of Ii- other than citizenship, residency, and cense. No other interest allowed.
ed by the director of ABC. cense period age. Renewal: N/A
Wine Distributor 10 year |N/A®T No felony, prostitution, gambling, or 21 |May not be, appoint, or supervise any no Proof of ownership or valid |Initial application: must be fully qualified |May hold more than one distributor's li-
morals conviction. No license revocation? law enforcement official® or be employ- lease for at least 3/4 of other than citizenship, residency, and age |cense. No other interest allowed.
ed by the director of ABC. license period Renewal: N/A
Beer Distributor 10 year |N/A®? No felony, prostitution, gambling, or 21 {May not be, appoint, or supervise any no Proof of ownership or valid | Initial application: must be fully qualified |May hold more than one distributor's li-
morals conviction. Mo license revocation® law enforcement official® or be employ- lease for at least 3/4 of ather than citizenship, residency, and cense. No other interest allowed.
ed by the director of ABC. license period age, Renewal: N/A
Farm Winery i0year |4 year' No felony, prostitution, gambling, or 21 |May not be, appaint, or supervise any no Proof of ownership or valid | Initial application: must be fully quaiified |May hold club or D.E. license. No other
morals conviction. No license revocation® law enforcement official® or be employ- lease for at least 3/4 of other than citizenship, residency, and interest allowed.
ed by the director of ABC. license period age. Renewal: N/A
Microbrewery 10year |4 year’ No felony, prostitution, gambling, or 21 [May not be, appoint, or supervise any no Proof of ownership or valid | Initial application: must be fully qualified |May hold club, D.E., or caterer license.
morals conviction. No license revocation? law enforcement official® or be empioy- lease for at least 3/4 of other than citizenship, residency, and No other interest allowed.
ed by the director of ABC. license period age. Renewal: N/A
Retailer 10 year' |4 year' No felony, prostitution, gambling, or 21 | May not be, appoint, or supervise any yes Proof of ownership or valid | Initial application: must be fully qualified |No beneficial interest in any other state
morals conviction. No license revocation® law enforcement official® or be employ- lease for at least 3/4 of other than citizenship, residency, and license except that spouses may each
ed by the director of ABC. license period age. Renewal: N/A hold licenses for separate retail establish-
ments.

Class A Club 10 year |1 year + No felony, prostitution, gambling, or 21 |May not be, appoint, or supervise any yes Proof of ownership or valid | Initial application: must be fully qualified |May hold caterer license or other
current resident | morals conviction. No license revocation? law enforcement official” or be employ- lease for at least 3/4 of Ii- other than citizenship, residency, and club/D.E. license if restaurants or in ho-
of county ed by the director of ABC. cense period age. Renewal: N/A tels. No other interest allowed.®

CMB Retailer Yes 1 year/ No felony in 2 years; no conviction for moral | 21 Initial application: must be fully qualified

(local license) 6 months county | turpitude, drunkenness, DUI, or any liquor N/A N/A N/A other than citizenship, residency, and N/A

violation age. Renewal: N/A

Class B Club 10 year |1 year+ No felony, prostilution, gambling, or 21 |May not be, appoint, or supervise any yes Proof of ownership or valid | Initial application: must be fully qualified |May hold caterer license or other
current resident | morals conviction. Mo license revocation® law enforcement official® or be employ- lease for at least 3/4 of li- other than citizenship, residency, and club/D.E. license if restaurants or in ho-
of county ed by the director of ABC. cense period age. Renewal: N/A tels. No other interest allowed.

Drinking Estab. 10 year |1year+ No felony, prostitution, gambling, or 21 |May not be, appoint, or supervise any yes Proof of ownership or valid | Initial application: must be fully qualified |May hold caterer license or other

Caterer current resident |morals conviction. No license revocation? law enforcement official® or be employ- lease for at least 3/4 of li- other than citizenship, residency, and club/D.E. license if restaurants or in ho-

Hotel of county ed by the director of ABC. cense period age. Renewal: N/A tels. No other interest allowed.

1) Spouse of deceased retail licensee may be licensed if U.S. citizen or becomes U.S. citizen within one year of licensee's death.
2) License may be issued after lapse of ten years from date of revocation if license was revoked for conviction of a misdemeanor.
3) Except as member of city or county governing body.
4) Does not apply upon tenth and subsequent renewals if resident agent has been appointed.
5) Class Aclub officer, director, or board member may be a distributor or retailer if they do not sell to the club.
Nonresidents are required to submit to a national criminal history check, provide a set of fingerprints, disclose substantial financial interests,
and allow the Director to review applicant's financial record before any application is granted.
»+ Nonresident applicants appiying for a license or permit are required to file a written consent giving the State court jurisdiction over the applicant in any court action.

SOURCE: Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
as formatted and updated 12/04/01 by Kansas Legjslative Research Department




TABLE 4

BUSINESS TYPES ELIGIBLE FOR LICENSE

Individual

Partnership

Corporation

Trust

___|

Manufacturer

fully qualified as
described in Table 3

all partners fully qualified
as individuals

all officers and directors, or stockholders holding more than 25%
must be fully qualified as individuals except for citizenship or
residence

all grantors, beneficiaries and trustees must be
fully qualified as individuals except for age of
beneficiary

Nonbeverage User

fully qualified as
described in Table 3

all partners fully qualified
as individuals

all officers and directors, or stockholders holding more than 25%
must be fully qualified as individuals except for citizenship or
residence

all grantors, beneficiaries and trustees must be
fully qualified as individuals except for age of
beneficiary

Spirits Distributor

fully qualified as
described in Table 3

all partners fully qualified
as individuals

all officers, directors, and stockholders must be fully qualified as
individuals

all grantors, beneficiaries and trustees must be
fully qualified as individuals except for age of
beneficiary

Wine Distributor

fully qualified as
described in Table 3

all partners fully qualified
as individuals

all officers, directors, and stockholders must be fully qualified as
individuals

all grantors, beneficiaries and trustees must be
fully qualified as individuals except for age of
beneficiary

Beer Distributor

fully qualified as
described in Table 3

all partners fully qualified
as individuals

all officers, directors, and stockholders must be fully qualified as
Iindividuals

all grantors, beneficiaries and trustees must be
fully gqualified as individuals except for age of
oeneficiary

Farm Winery

fully qualified as
described in Table 3

all partners fully qualified
as individuals

stockholders owning aggregate 50% must be fully qualified as
individuals, all others must be fully qualified except for citizenship or
residency

all grantors, beneficiaries and trustees must be
fully qualified as individuals except for age of
beneficiary

Microbrewery

fully qualified as
described in Table 3

all partners fully qualified
as individuals

stockholders owning aggregate 50% must be fully qualified as
individuals, all others must be fully qualified except for citizenship or
residency

all grantors, beneficiaries and frustees must be
fully qualified as individuals except for age of
beneficiary

Retailer fully qualified as all partners fully qualified | may not hold retail liquor license’ all grantors, beneficiaries and trustees must be
described in Table 3 as individuals fully qualified as individuals except for age of
beneficiary
CMB Retailer fully qualified as all partners fully qualified | all managers, officers, and directors and any stockholders owning

described in Table 3; man-
ager or agent conducting busi
ness must also be fully quali-
fied

as individuals

more than 25% of the corporate stock must be fully qualified except
for citizenship and residency requirements, none may have had a
CMB license revoked or have been convicted of a violation of the
drinking establishment or CMB laws of Kansas

NA

Class A Club (nonprofit
social, fraternal, or vet-
erans)

may not hold Class A club
license

all partners fully qualified
as individuals

all officers, managers and directors, or stockholders holding more
than 5% must be fully qualified as individuals except for citizenship
or residence; must be a Kansas corporation

all grantors, beneficiaries and trustees must be
fully qualified as individuals except for age of
beneficiary

Class B Club

fully qualified as
described in Table 3

all partners fully qualified
as individuals

all officers, managers and directors, or stockholders holding more
than 5% must be fully qualified as individuals except for citizenship
or residence; must be a Kansas corporation

all grantors, beneficiaries and trustees must be
fully gualified as individuals except for age of
beneficiary

Drinking Estab.
Caterer
Hotel

fully qualified as
described in Table 3

all partners fully qualified
as individuals

all officers, managers and directors, or stockholders holding more
than 5% must be fully qualified as individuals except for citizenship
or residence; must be a Kansas corporation

all grantors, beneficiaries and trustees must be
fully qualified as individuals except for age of
beneficiary

Source: Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control, as edited by the Kansas Legislative Research Department

1)

Attorney General Opinion No. 94-90 (July 20, 1994) holds that limited liability companies are not corporations under Kansas law, so may hold a retail liquor license.
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Where Can Consumers Legally Purchase
Alcoholic Beverages in Kansas?

Beer, wine, and spirits for off-premise consumption (package sales) must be purchased at
a retail liquor store. Retail liquor stores also may sell NAB. Farm wineries and microbreweries may
sell their products, domestic wine and demestic beer, to the public for off-premise consumption.
CMB may be purchased from any locally licensed CMB retailer. In the case of off-premise sales,
licensed CMB retailers are commonly grocery and convenience stores. State law requires that CMB
and alcoholic liquor be scid at retail for off-premise consumption in separate places. In 1995 the
Legislature authorized issuance of temporary permits to charitable organizations to sell liquor at an
auction and to individuals to sell limited issue porcelain containers of alcohol.

Liquor may be purchased for consumption on the licensed premises of Class A or B clubs,
and drinking establishments. CMB may be purchased for on-premise consumption at locally
licensed bars and restaurants and in clubs and drinking establishments that also hold a local CMB
license. Farm wineries and microbreweries may serve samples of their products on the licensed
premises if they are located in a county that has approved liquor by the drink. Farm wineries and
microbreweries also may be licensed as clubs or drinking establishments in which case they can sell
liquor by the drink in accordance with those licenses. Licensed caterers and temporary permit
holders may sell liquor by the drink in public places that are not licensed premises.

Except in clubs, liquor by the drink is specifically prohibited except where voters have
approved its sale. A 1986 amendment of the Kansas Constitution authorized the Legislature to
provide for liquor by the drink in establishments that derive 30 percent or more of gross receipts from
the sale of all food and beverages from food. The amendment also authorized the Legislature to
provide for temporary permits to serve liquor by the drink at public places. Temporary permits can
only be issued in those counties that have approved liquor by the drink. Finally, the amendment
authorized the Legislature to provide for a subsequent county referendum in which voters may:

@ prohibit liquor by the drink in that county;
® remove the minimum food sale requirement; or

° permit liquor by the drink in places that meet the 30 percent minimum food sale
requirement

The statute that provides for exercise of the county option permits a county commission to
initiate the referendum by resolution. Alternatively, the question may be placed on the ballot in
response to an initiative petition signed by a number of electors equal to at least 10 percent of the
voters who voted for the office of Secretary of State at the last preceding general election for that
office.

Attachments 1 and 1a display counties in which liquor by the drink is legal in Kansas. Table
5 displays some restrictions that apply to package and by-the-drink sales of liquor and CMB by
licensees that have permanent premises. Attachments 2 and 3 summarize rights and restrictions
that apply to licensed caterers and temporary permit holders.

A1
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ATTACHMENT 1

Kansas Liquor-by-the-Drink
November 2004

The tax base for the liquor-hy-the-drink tax is gross receipts from the sale of aleoholic liquor by clubs, caterers, drinking establishments, and temporary permit holders. This map identifies
the year the county voted for liquor-by-the-drink, and where applicable, the year the county removed the 30% [ood reguirement.

[:] No liquor-by-the-drink

Liquor-by-the-drink allowed with 30'% food requirement

m Liquor-by-the-drink allowed with no food requirement

Jewell

Oshorne 1984

Sheridan

- 1986

Wallace _Johrisan

Greeley Wichita T
-, 2004
Liie
2liEy
- 1992
St 2
Tlamiton At r i 3
TR Woodron | 7 Roirhon
C199R fih
Stanton e i
Witsan A 1992
Ll 5 3@_
il
Morts | 1998
orton “tar { b
Slevens Mende Clark Comanche Barber Harper P— v Cherokee
autauquo

Source: Kansas Department of Revenue, 2004 Annual Report, Page 85
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ATTACHMENT 1a
LIQUOR BY THE DRINK

Counties where Liquar by the Drink

Counties Where Liquor by the Drink
Has Been Approved as of 12/04

Has Not Been Approved as of 12/04

No Food Sales

With 30% Food Sales Requirement Requirement

Barber Kiowa Allen Miami Barton
Chautaqua Lane Anderson Mitchell Brown
Cherokee Logan Atchison Morris Cowley
Clark Meade Bourbon Nemaha Crawford
Clay Morton Butler Neosho Douglas
Commanche Osborne Chase Ness Ellis
Doniphan Ottawa Cheyenne Norton Geary
Elk Rice Cloud Osage Graham
Gove Scott Coffey Pawnee Lyon
Grant Sheridan Decatur Phillips Montgomery
Gray Stafford Dickinson Pottawatomie Riley
Greeley Stanton Edwards Pratt Saline
Hamilton Stevens Ellsworth Rawlins Sedgwick
Harper Wallace Finney Reno Shawnee
Haskell Wichita Ford Republic Wyandotte
Jewell Woodson Franklin Rooks

Greenwood Rush TOTAL:

Harvey Russell 15 Counties

Hodgeman Seward

Jackson Sherman

Jefferson Smith

Johnson Sumner

Kearny Thomas
TOTAL: Kingman Trego

32 Counties Leavenworth Wabaunsee

Labette Washington

Lincoln Wilson

Linn

Marion

Marshall TOTAL:

McPherson 58 Counties

Source: Department of Revenue, Division of Alccholic Beverage Control
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TABLE 5

WHERE, WHEN, AND HOW IS LIQUOR SOLD TO THE PUBLIC?

-9

CMBretailers (on-premise)

CMB, NAMB

taurants may sell on Sunday if
authorized by local governing
body. No election day sales.

and 6 a.m. excepl in clubs
and drinking establish-
ments.

motions.

permitled at any time.

Increased alcohol
content in drink must resutt in
proportional increase in price.
Free food and entertainment

CREDIT
CARD EMPLOYEE
TYPE OF SALES PRODUCTS DAYS HOURS DISCOUNTS SALES ADVERTISING AGE
PACKAGE SALES
Relall Liquor Stores Beer', wine, spirils, non-alcohol | No sales on: Sunday, certain | No sales between 11 p.m. | No sales al less than cos1.® Permilled No handbills, blllboards®, | Must be 21 or older.
beer (NAMB)? holidays?®. and 9 a.m.* or window displays of
liquor.
CMB Retailers (off-premise) CMB, NAMB No sales on Sunday. No sales between midnight | May sell at less than cosl. Permitted No restrictions. Must be 18 or older to sell
and 6 a.m.’ CMB.
Farm Wineries, oullels, and Domestic wine (farm wineries) Anydays. Limited Sunday hours. No sales belween midnight Permilted Adverlising is subject lo | Persons employed in
Microbreweries Domestic beer {microbrewerles) and 6 a.m. approval by the Director of | manufaclure, sale, or
Sunday sales permitled NA ABC. serving must be 18 or old-
between noon and 6 p.m. er. Those under 21 must
be supervised by some-
one 21 or older.
BY THE DRINK
Clubs & Drinking Eslablishments Beer, wine, splrils, NAMB, CMB® Any days. No sales between 2 and 9 | Nofreedrinks. Nosalesatless | Permitled No advertising of prohib- | Must be 21 or older to mix
am. than cost. No public *alf you iled promotions (see "Dis- | and dispense drinks.
Microbreweries and Farm Wineries® can drink” for one price promo- counls”). Must be 18 or older to
tions. No sales at price less serve drinks.
than that charged the general
. public. Cannot offer drinks as

No sales on Sunday in bars. Res- | Nosalesbetweenmidnight | Prizes. No “happy hour” pro- | permjtied Must be 18 or older lo

serve and dispense CMB
in restaurants. Must be
21 in "taverns.”

sl SO S

Malt beverage containing more than 3.2 percent alcohol by weight.
Malt beverage containing not more than 0.5 percent alcohol by weight.
Holidays on which liquor stores must be closed: Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.
By ordinance, a city may require liquor stores to close prior to 11:00 p.m., but not before 8:00 p.m.
Wholesalers cannot grant retailers quantity discounts. Sales at less than cost are permitled when a retailer is closing out stock, selling damaged or deteriorated stock, or selling under court order.

In a 1992 opinion (92-14), the Attorney General stated that the statute that prohibits liquor retailers from advertising by means of billboards (KSA 1992 Supp. 41-714) is so vague as to be unenforceable.
City or county governing bodies may, by ordinance or resolution, prescribe hours of closing, standards of conduct and rules and regulations concerning the moral, sanitary, and health conditions of CMR

licensees and may establish zones within which CMB retailers may not be located.

®

Microbreweries and farm wineries located in counties that permit liquor by the drink may offer free samples of their product. In order to sell liquor by the drink, microbreweries and farm wineries must be

licensed as clubs or drinking establishments, in which case they must adhere to requirements for those licenses. Microbreweries also may be licensed as caterers and, if so, would follow those

statutes.

9. Clubs and drinking establishments may also have a locally issued license fo sell CMB. Microbreweries .and farm wineries must be licensed as a drinking establishment in order to sell liquor by the drink.
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ATTACHMENT 2
CATERERS

Caterers are authorized to sell liquor by the drink on unlicensed premises that may be open to the pubiic.
Caterers may only sell liquor by the drink in counties where those sales have been approved by voters.

Caterers must:

® meet the minimum food sales requirement that applies to drinking establishments in the county;
® maintain a principal place of business in a county that permits liquor by the drink;

® notify the ABC Division a minimum of ten days prior to an event at which liquor will be sold; and

e notify the police chief or county sheriff with jurisdiction over the location of the catered event.

Caterers may share a portion of their receipts with the persan who hires them.

Prohibitions against special promations, such as “happy hour,” that apply to on-premise licensees also
apply to caterers (see “Discounts” on Table 5).

License requirements are the same as for clubs and drinking establishments except for the requirement
to conduct business only on licensed premises (see Tables 3 and 4).

Retailers may deliver liquor to caterers.

Caterers must collect the 10 percent drink tax on sales of liquor.

H=R0
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ATTACHMENT 3

TEMPORARY PERMITS FOR LIQUOR BY THE DRINK SALES

The Secretary of Revenue is authorized to issue temporary permits which allow permit holders to sell
liquor by the drink in public, unlicensed places in counties where voters have approved liquor by the drink.
Holders of temporary permits need not be caterers and caterers do not need to secure temporary permits
for catered events.

Applicants for temporary permits must:
e make application for the permit at least 14 days prior to the event;
e use proceeds from sale of liquor only for purposes stated in the permit application;

e sell liquor only on premises located where city and county zoning permit the sale of liquor by the
drink; and

e |imit liquor sale activity to three consecutive days.

Applicants are limited to four temporary permits per year.

Prohibitions against special promotions, such as “happy hour,” that apply to on-premise licensees and
caterers also apply to holders of temporary permits (see “Discounts” on Table 5).

Employees of temporary permit holders must meet the same requirements as employees of licensees
in regard to age and criminal background.

Temporary permit holders must purchase liquor from licensed retailers.

Liquor sold by holders of temporary permits is subject to the 10 percent drink tax.

XAl
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Who Can Work in Licensed Liquor Establishments in Kansas?

Individuals who sell and dispense alcoholic liquor generally must be 18 years of age or
older. Persons under 21 must, in most cases, be under the supervision of someone who is 21 or
older. Felons generally cannot work in licensed establishments. Table 6 summarizes statutory
restrictions on employment by various types of licensees.

Statutes do not impose any restrictions on employees of liquor manufacturers or
distributors.

TABLE 6

QUALIFICATIONS FOR EMPLOYMENT

Licensee/Employer Minimum Age Supervision Reguired Other
Liquor Retailer 21 N/A No convicted felons
CMB Off-Premise Retailer 18 N/A No person can be employed to

sell, serve, or dispense CMB
if, within the preceding two
years, the person was found

CMB On-Premise Retailer 18 in restaurants N/A guilty of a felony or violation of
(>=50% food sales) a liquor law,
21in bars
Clubs and Drinking Establish- 18 for serving of liquor Licensee, permit hold- No convicted felons, or perpe-
ments 21 for mixing or dispensing er, or employee who is trators of morals violations; no
21 or older persons found guilty of viola-
tion of liquor laws for 2 years
after adjudication
Microbrewery and 18 for manufacture, sale, Licensee or employee No convicted felons employed
Farm Winery or serving 21 or older in connection with manufac-

ture or sale of alcohol.
21 for mixing or dispensing
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What Fees are Charged to Obtain and Renew Liquor and CMB Licenses?

TABLE 7
Licensee License Fee | Application/Registration Fee Local License Tax
CLUB
Class A
Fraternal or War Veterans $250 $50 initial application Optional annual tax:
Social Club $10 renewal application $100-$250 (no other tax
<= 500 members $500 or license fee authorized)
Social Club > 500 members $1,000
Class B $1,000
Drinking Establishment $1,000
Hotel (entire premises) $3,000
Caterer $500 N/A
Temporary Permittee $25/day N/A N/A
Manufacturer
Spirits $2,500
Wine $500 Optional annual tax not to
Beer $200-$1,600 exceed amount of state
license fee
Distributor
Spirits $1,000 $50 initial application
Wine $10 renewal application
Beer
Microbrewery $250
Farm Winery N/A
Qutlet $50
Liquor Retailer $250 Mandatory annual license
tax $100-$300
CMB Retailer $25-$50 N/A
Off Premise $25
CMB Retailer $25-$200 N/A
On Premise
a) Applicants for new and renewal of CMB retailer licenses must submit the application and $25 to th
Director of ABC as well as to the local licensing entity. Upon receipt of the application and fee, th
Director must authorize a state stamp be placed on the license. No license may be issued or renewed
without a state stamp. The statute does not give the Director of ABC any authority to approve or rejec
applications for licensure.
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How is Liquor Taxed in Kansas?

Gallonage Tax
Spirits $2.50
Wine (14% alcohol or less) 0.30
Wine (over 14% alcohol) 0.75
Beer and CMB 0.18

Gallonage tax is paid by the Kansas manufacturer or by the first person in the state who
receives the product.

Gallonage tax is not applied to amounts of a gallon or less brought into the country by a
private citizen for personal use. Other exceptions include sacramental wine and alcohol sold to
nonbeverage user licensees.

Liquor Enforcement

This 8 percent tax is paid by the consumer in lieu of retail sales tax on liquor and NAMB
purchased from licensed liquor retailers, farm wineries, and microbreweries. The tax also is paid
by clubs and drinking establishments on purchases they make from retail liquor stores and from
wholesalers.

Since 1987, the enforcement tax has been collected on sales of CMB by wholesalers
directly to clubs, drinking establishments, and caterers. Prior to that, the enforcement tax was
not applied to any CMB sales. The enforcement tax rate was increased from 4 percent to the
current 8 percent in 1983.

Drink Tax

The drink tax at the rate of 10 percent of gross receipts is imposed on sales of liquor and
CMB by clubs, drinking establishments, caterers, and holders of temporary permits. The tax is
paid by the consumer to the licensee or permit holder. Like the enforcement tax, this tax is paid
in lieu of retail sales tax. Drink tax is collected on sales of CMB only by on-premise CMB
licensees who are also liquor licensees.

Retail Sales Tax

The state retail sales tax of 5.3 percent, plus applicable local sales tax, is collected on
CMB sales by CMB licensees who are not also liquor licensees, e.g., CMB taverns, restaurants,
and grocery stores. Sale of CMB by clubs was subject to retail sales tax until 1985 when those
sales became subject to the drink tax.

Table 8 displays the allocation of state taxes and fees levied on liquor and liquor
licensees. The table also includes amounts credited to each state fund during FY 2002.



TABLE 8

How State Liquor Taxes and Fees are Distributed

Fiscal Year 2004

KR=R5

Distribution of Fees and Taxes

Total Net of State Other Funds

Source Receipts Refunds Refunds General Fund Amount Fund
Taxes
Gallonage Tax (Beer, CMB, Wine) $ 11,063,786 $ 0% 11,063,786 § 11,063,786 $
Gallonage Tax (Spirits) 7,715,839 0 7,715,839 6,944,256 771,583 Community, Alcoholism and Intoxication Pgm. (10%)
Enforcement Tax 40,272,868 16,403 40,256,466 40,256,466
Drink Tax $ 28,672,690 $ 54946 $ 28,617,744 § 7,153,502 1,430,700 Community, Alcoholism and Intoxication Pgm. (5%)

' 20,033,542 Local Alcoholic Liquor (70%)

Retailers' Sales Tax

City and Township License Tax on Liguor
Retailers

Fees

Club, Drinking Establishment, and Caterer
Annual Licenses

Club, Drinking Establishment, and Caterer
Applications, Temporary Permits

CMB Retailer Applications

Other Fees and Fines
TOTAL

(Tax paid by retailers on cereal malt beverages sold by non-liquor licensees)

(Local taxes assessed on liquor retailers)

$ 2,083,843 % 58,400 § 2,025,444 $ 1,012,722 § 1,012,722
350,115 7,699 342,415 342,415
82,950 - 82,950 82,950

— 456 309 - 456,399 456,399

$ 90,698,491 $§ 137,447 § 90,561,043 $ 67,312,496 $ 23,248,547

State tax to SGF & Highway Fund, local tax to local
general fund

Estimated lo generate $90,000- $230,000 annually

Alcoholism Treatment

The Community, Alcoholism, and Intoxication Program Fund is expended by the Secretary of SRS to provide financial assistance to community based alcoholism and intoxication treatment
programs. Funds may be used to match federal Title XX funds to purchase treatment services, provide start-up or expansion grants for halfway houses or rehabilitation centers, purchase
services from treatment facilities for low income persons who are not eligible for Medicare or Medicaid assistance, and assist with development programs for prevention, education, early
identification and facility assistance and review team. Alcohol treatment programs at Topeka, Osawatomie, and Larmed State hospitals and Rainbow Mental Health Facility may not receive

support from this fund.

The Alcoholism Treatment Fund is to be used by the Secretary of SRS to implement the Secretary’s responsibilities to establish, coordinate, and fund programs for prevention and treatment

of alcohol abuse.

The Local Alcoholic Liquor Fund is distributed to counties and cities. For counties and cities with a population greater than 6,000, the funds must be divided equally between their general
funds, parks and recreation funds, and special alcohol and drug program funds. Small cities must divide their receipts their receipts equally between the general funds, and parks and
recreation funds. Counties receiving receipts attributable to taxes collected in smaller cities must credit those moneys to the county's special alcohol and drug program funds. Butler County

nd it's cities have a special distribution and usage requirement.

wource: Department of Revenue Comparative Statement of Taxes and Fees Received, Fiscal Year 2004 dated July 31, 2003
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What is the Role of Local Units of Government in Regard
to Liquor Sales in Their Jurisdictions?

Local governments have some statutory power to regulate cereal malt beverage and liquor
sales in their jurisdictions. In addition, cities under their constitutional home rule authority and
counties under their statutory home rule power also may adopt regulations in this area. The most .
extensive statutory authority for local units of government in regulating sale of alcohalic beverages
is in the licensure and regulation of the sale of CMB. Cities and counties are the sole issuers of CMB
licenses. City and county governing bodies have authority to dictate hours of closing, standards of
conduct, and rules and regulations regarding the moral, sanitary and health conditions of CMB
retailers and to establish zones in which CMB may not be sold. CMB-only retail establishments are

regulated by and their license requirements are enforced by localities, not by the ABC.

Local units of government, by statute, also have some role in the process of granting retail
liquor store licenses. City or township governing bodies by statute may make advisory recommenda-

As outlmed in Kan.s'as Local Govemment Law
cities may e

o prowde more stnngent closmg hours for pnvatc
clubs than state law requ:res TE ,

'es e ; L SR T

or prohibit the same acts that are proscribed
under the Kansas Liquor Control Act;

* authorize liquor consumption on the premises of
municipally-owned buildings;

* hold a drinking establishment hcense under
certain circumstances;

* regulate conduct and entertainment where cere-
al malt beverages are sold;

* prohibit licensure under the Drinking Establish-
ment Act only if the premises are located in an
inappropriately zoned area.

. 2 proh1b1t open contamers of cerealmalt beverag—

* adopt citj( ordinances which declare as uni’av&ful’ i

tions to the Secretary of Revenue relative to the
granting or refusal to grant a retail liquor license.
The Secretary is not bound to follow those
recommendations. Since the Liquer Control Act
is nonuniform, cities may, by charter ordinance,
regulate other aspects of retail liguor sales.

Approximately 100 cities have enacted
ordinances under their constitutional home rule
authority that require local licensure of establish-
ments that sell liquor. For example, the city of
Lawrence requires a local license for each
caterer, Class A Club, Class B Club, drinking
establishment, alcoholic liquor retailer and
temporary alcoholic liquor permit holder. The
local crdinance also prohibits nudity in licensed
premises. The City of Wichita under its home
rule authority as part of its licensing scheme,
prohibits minors to be on the premises of estab-
lishments that sell liquor by the drink unless 30
percent of the gross revenues of the establish-
ment is derived from food sales.

Voters in Kansas have some ability to
limit liquor, but not CMB, sales in localities. By
statute, retail liquor store licenses cannot be
issued for stores located in first or second class
cities or in third class cities located in a township
where the voters did not approve the 1948
constitutional amendment that permitted the
Legislature to legalize retail liquor sales in

Kansas unless voters subsequently authorized such sales in that locality. Currently, retail liquor

sales are permitted in 101 counties in Kansas.

KR
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Retail liquor stores cannot be located in cities in Haskell, Kiowa, Linn, and Stanton counties.
(Voters in those four counties also have not approved the sale of liquor by the drink.) The
Constitution prohibits sale of liquor by the drink in public places in counties where voters did not
approve the 1986 constitutional amendment, unless voters subsequently voted to permit liquor by
the drink. Currently, 39 counties in Kansas do not permit sale of liquor by the drink in public (sale
of liquor by the drink in clubs is legal in those counties). The Constitution also permits voters to
remove or impose a 30 percent food sales requirement on public places that sell liquor by the drink
in their county.

As indicated in Table 7, above, cities and townships may levy an annual occupation or license
tax on manufacturers and distributors at a rate that does not exceed the annual state license fee.
Cities and townships are required to levy an annual $100 to $300 occupation or license tax on liquor
retailers. Other local license and occupation taxes on these licensees are prohibit by statute. Cities
and counties are authorized to levy an annual $100 to $250 occupation or license tax on clubs and
drinking establishments.

Licensed liquor establishments and events at which liquor is sold under the authority of a
temporary permit must be in locations that are properly zoned for those businesses, if they are
located in a jurisdiction that is zoned. Liquor retailers, farm wineries, and microbreweries cannot be
established within 200 feet of any existing public or parochial school or college or church. Those
businesses must be in buildings that conform to local building ordinances. Licensees also must
conform to local ordinances and resolutions regarding signs and outdoor advertising of their
businesses. Cities may require retail liquor stores to close prior to 11:00 p.m., but cannot require
closing prior to 8:00 p.m.

Cities are prohibited from enacting ordinances that conflict with the Club and Drinking
Establishment Act. Cities may enact ordinances that conform with the Act, but the minimum penalty
imposed by those ordinances cannot exceed the minimum penalty imposed by the Act. Cities and
counties may enact local ordinances and resolutions that impose penalties that are more stringent
than state law for possession and consumption of liquor by minors.

40464~(1/6/5{2:18PM})
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JOAN WAGNON. SECRETARY KATHLEEN SEBELIUS. GOVERNOR
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL

Ta: Senate Federal and State Affairs Committee
Honorable Pete Brundgardt, Chairman

From: Tom Groneman, Director
Alcoholic Beverage Control

Date: January 11, 2005

Subject: Kansas Department of Revenue
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division Overview

Mr. Chairman, Members of the Committee, it is my pleasure to appear before you
today to present a brief overview of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division and
introduce our new Assistant Attorney General and ABC Operations Manager.

The number one priority of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division of the
Department of Revenue is to fairly administer and enforce the liquor laws in
Kansas to ensure compliance and to maintain a level playing field among all
licensees. Also, as part of the Department of Revenue, it is our duty to see that all
applicable taxes due and owing are collected. The division is divided into three
organizational units: licensing, administration and enforcement.

In 2004, licensing processed in excess of 3,800 renewal and new license
applications for retail liquor stores, distributors, manufacturers, farm wineries,
microbreweries, on-premise establishments (class “A” clubs, class “B” clubs and
Drinking Establishments), caterers, suppliers and temporary permit holders.
Licensing serves as the first point of contact for businesses desiring to sell alcohol
products in Kansas. Licensing answered over 32,700 phone calls and helped over
2,100 walk-in customers with alcohol related questions during the last year.

Senate Federal & State Affairs
DOCKING STATE OFFICE BUILDING, 915 SW HARRISON ST., TOPEKA, KS &¢ Committee
Voice 785-296-7015 Fax 785-296-7185 htip://www ksrevenue.c /=)= 5—

' Attachment \3




In addition, licensing monitors brand registrations (currently 21,636) and collects
gallonage taxes, liquor drink taxes, liquor excise taxes, sales tax, withholding tax
and administrative fines levied by the Director of ABC or his Designee. Licensing
is functionally part of the Customer Relations Bureau within the Division of Tax
Operations, but under the authority of the Director of ABC for issues related to
liquor licenses. Licenses are issued and renewed on an annual basis.

The administrative unit performs general staff support for the Director and Chief
Enforcement Officer and related work such as budget preparation, personnel
record keeping, property management, records management and coordination of
the divisions activities. Included in administration is the Legal/Licensee
Administrative Actions (LAA) section.

The Legal/Licensee Administrative Action (LAA) section is staffed by the
Assistant Attorney General assigned to the ABC, who administratively prosecutes
violations of the liquor laws before the Director or his designee. The Director and
‘the Assistant Attorney General are responsible for the disposition of all liquor
related administrative citations brought forth by the investigative activities of the
Enforcement section and other law enforcement agencies. Citations are issued for
~ violations such as: sale of liquor to a minor, minor in possession, furnishing, open
after hours, failure to timely pay liquor taxes and numerous other violations of
state laws, rules and regulations. Also, the Assistant Attorney General represents
the division at all appellant levels, assists in drafting administrative regulations,
reviews agreements and provides legal counsel.

The Enforcement unit provides investigative support for the ABC Director and
Chief Enforcement Officer. Enforcement agents are certified law enforcement
officers. They conduct criminal and administrative investigations to determine
compliance with liquor laws. Field agents provide training to licensees and local
law enforcement officers; conduct controlled buy operations and bar checks;
investigate complaints and hidden ownerships; and perform routine compliance
checks. Enforcement works closely with local, state and federal law enforcement
agencies as well as the Division of Taxation in carrying out these activities.
Investigations resulting in violations are presented to the County or District
Attorney for criminal prosecution, and/or the ABC Assistant Attorney General for

administrative action.



Over the years the ABC has been assigned other programs to administer, including
the enforcement of laws prohibiting the sale of cigarettes to minors, enforcement
of the cigarette tax laws and enforcement of the tax on illegal drugs.

In 2004, The Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control had 39 total positions, 5 of
which were vacant. Currently, three of the vacant agent positions are in the
process of being filled and the new agents should be onboard by the end of this
month.

The 2004 budget for the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division was $1,829,779
comprised of $1,635,545 in salary and § 194,234 in other operating expenses.

The 2005 prcuected budget is $ 2,207,490 comprised of $ 1,938,347 in salary
and $ 269,143 in other operating expenses.

There were 3,807 licenses issued in 2004 as follows:

Retail liquor stores 717

Class “A” clubs 317

Class “B” clubs 158

Drinking Establishments 1,509

Caterers 111

Beer Distributors 44

Spirits Distributors 7

Wine Distributors 10

Microbreweries 9

Farm Wineries/Outlets 19

Manufacturers 5

Temporary Permits 33

Supplier Permits 556
Comparison of 2003/2004 Taxes Collected:

2003 2004 % +/-

Gallonage $15,487,785.91 $16,614,792.35%* 7.0 +
Liquor Enforcement $38,833,089.51 $40,256,465.86 3.6+
Liquor Excise $27,387,241.14 $28,614,009.98** 4.4+



*10% of gallonage tax goes to SRS Community Alcoholism and Intoxication

Program.the remainder to the state general fund.
** 70% of Liquor Excise Tax goes to Local Alcoholic Liquor fund, 5% goes to the

SRS Community Intoxication Program and 25% to the state general fund.





