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MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Les Donovan at 8:40 A.M. on March 3, 2005 in Room 527-
S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Anthony Hensley- excused

Committee staff present:
Hank Avila, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Bruce Kinzie, Revisors of Statutes
Maggie Breen, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Mike Hoeme, Kansas Corporation Commission

Ken Gudenkauf, Kansas Department of Transportation
Carmen Alldritt, Department of Revenue, Division of Revenue

Others attending;:
See attached list.

HB 2123 - Transfer power, duties and functions of KCC relating to railroads to KDOT

Proponents:

Mike Hoeme, Director of Transportation Division of the KCC, testified as a proponent to HB 2123. In the
bill, KCC proposes to transfer its limited Railroad statutes and authority over to the Kanas Department of
Transportation. In 1999, many of the enabling statutes regarding the KCC’s authority to regulate railroads
were repealed or preempted. Consequently, over the past 18 months, the KCC has worked with KDOT and
the railroads on this proposed legislation to rationalize existing state law with current practices and regulatory
duties. It is agreed that KDOT is better equipped with the engineering and technical knowledge needed to
exercise residual authority over the railroads that has not been assumed by the federal government. It will also
eliminate many duplicate processes. There is a minimal financial impact on the Commission for giving up
this area of regulation. The bill will 1) remove any reference to Railroads as a common carrier, 2) repeal
the statutes regarding KCC authority that are re-enacted under Article 2 of Chapter 66 in order to transfer the
authority to KDOT, and 3) make repeals necessary due to federal preemption. There is also one slight change
they would like to propose. On page 2, line 26 and 27 under “common carriers,” the words “express
companies” and “sleeping-car companies” should be struck as they relate to railroads and it was not the intent
to leave any reference to railroads in the definition of “common carriers.” (Attachment 1)

Ken Gudenkauf, Legislative Liaison, KDOT, stated that HB 2123 is basically a cleanup bill and they have
the staff to take care of what’s being transferred to them and they agree with it. They have worked closely with
the KCC in accomplishing this transfer. They also agree with the amendment being made. (Attachment 2)

Senator Wilson said he assumed the Railroad Industry was in agreement to the bill. Pat Hubbell who has
been associated with the railroads for 37 years said the industry was in agreement.

Senator Palmer questioned why it was being called a cleanup bill when it was really a big policy change. Mr.
Hubbell said it really wasn’t a policy change because the DOT has been handling all of the functions where
the money comes through for grade crossing protection and really everything that’s been going on with the
industry. Plus all of the regulatory part if handled by the Service Transportation Board in Washington. That’s
all preempted.

Final Action

Senator Wilson moved to adopt the amendment to HB 2123. Senator Schmidt seconded the motion. Motion
carried.

Senator Schmidt moved to pass HB 2123 favorably as amended. Senator Wilson seconded the motion.
Motion Carried.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to
the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1



CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE Senate Transportation Committee at 8:30 A.M. on March 3, 2005 in Room 527-S of
the Capitol.

HB 2215- Commercial driver's licenses, hazmat fee fund

Proponents:

Carmen Alldritt, Department of Revenue, Division of Vehicles, said that HB 2215 is technical cleanup of
2004 legislation. The bill does three things. First, it creates a Hazardous Materials (hazmat) fee fund for the
deposit and expenditure of fees collected when a person applies for hazmat endorsement on a Commercial
Drivers License. The fees are then used for payment of the driver’s background and fingerprint checks.
Second, it brings Kansas into compliance with Transportation Security Administration (T'SA) procedure
concerning the notification of renewal. TSA has changed the notification time period from 180 days to 60
days, and 90 days to 30 days. And third, to insert a technical amendment which Bruce Kinzie has prepared.
The amendment is cleanup dealing with Commercial Drivers License disqualifications, to correctly reference
the federal requirements. (Attachment 3)

Bruce said the amendment is dealing with the Commercial Drivers License (CDL), not necessarily with the
hazmat part of it. Two years ago we did the disqualification division for CDL. Direction came our from the
federal government to do a more stringent disqualification. There were some internal references under K.S.A.
8-259, where it says you don’t have to have a administrative hearing to have your license disqualified. Some
of the provisions were under the CDL. So, if you were convicted under a particular charge you didn’t get an
administrative hearing before they suspended your license. Those references were incorrect. The first section
of the amendment corrects them. It lists those provisions where your license is going to be disqualified,
suspended, or revoked without having an administrative hearing, depending on what you were convicted
under. The second change is the section where the disqualifications are actually set out. On page 2, Sec. 1,
(1) (C) talks about being involved in a fatality, it says “is convicted of causing.” (Attachment 4)

Senator Wilson moved to adopt the above amendments to HB 2215. Senator Schmidt seconded themotion.
Motion carried.

Senator Wilson moved to pass the bill favorably as amended. Senator Schmidt seconded the motion.

Senator Petersen said he would be more comfortable if the committee waited until the next meeting before
passing the amended bill. Senator Wilson withdrew his motion. Senator Schmidt withdrew her second.

Chairman Donovan asked Tom Whitaker, Kansas Motor Carriers Association, for his comments. Mr.
Whitaker said they support the legislation, they don’t have any choice. It’s a fee funded bill. The drivers have
to pay the $90 fee in addition to the regular license fee.

Division of Revenue Press Release

Carmen Alldritt covered a press release given by Revenue Secretary Joan Wagnon granting a grace period
for returning deployed military personnel. It allows returning military personnel to drive vehicle with expired
registration for a period of 7 days, allowing adequate time to properly register the vehicle. This has been done
before and greatly appreciated so the press release, dated February, 2004, was re-released this week as there
is another group returning at this time. (Attachment 5)

Senator Schmidt moved to approve the minutes for the February 22 committee meeting. Senator Peterson
seconded the motion. Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 9:12 a.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for March &.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 2
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KANSAS

CORPORATION COMMISSION KATHLEEN SEBELIUS, GOVERNOR

BRIAN J. MOLINE, cramr
ROBERT E. KREHBIEL, commissionEr
MICHAEL C. MOFFET, cOMMISSIONER

Testimony of Mike Hoeme
Director of Transportation
Kansas Corporation Commission
House Bill 2123
March 3, 2005

Good morning Mr. Chairman and members of the committee. My name is Mike Hoeme. I am the
Director of the Transportation Division of the Kansas Corporation Commission (“Transportation
Division™ and “KCC,” respectively) I am here to testify as a proponent of House Bill 2123.

The KCC proposes to transfer its limited Railroad statutes and authority over to the Kansas Department
of Transportation (KDOT). In 1999, many of the enabling statutes regarding the KCC’s authority to
regulate railroads were repealed or federally preempted. Consequently, over the past eighteen months
the KCC has worked with KDOT and the railroads on this proposal to rationalize existing state law with
current practices and regulatory duties. We all agree that KDOT is better equipped with the engineering
and technical knowledge needed to exercise the residual authority over the railroads that has not been
assumed by the federal government. In addition, HB 2123 will eliminate many duplicate processes.

There will be a minimal financial impact on the Commission for giving up this area of regulation.
During FY 2004, the Commission assessed the railroads for $22,500. Currently, during the first three
quarters of FY 2005, the amount assessed and paid by the railroads is $7,500. At this time, KCC
administrative staff time is spent compiling and updating the Kansas Railroad map and the Kansas
Railroad safety statistics, both of which are also maintained by KDOT.

As you can imagine, given that railroads have been a part of the Kansas transportation system since the
state began, a good number of statues have been enacted to regulate the industry, and thus many
amendments are required. Generally, the amendments required will fall under one of the following
classifications:

 Amendments to remove any reference to Railroads as a common carrier

e Repeal of statutes regarding KCC authority that are then re-enacted under Article 2 of Chapter
66 in order to transfer the authority to KDOT

e Repeals necessary due to federal preemption

SENATE TRANSPORTATION
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In addition, we would propose a very slight change to the bill that is before you. On page 2, lines 26 &
27 under “common carriers”, the words “express companies” and “sleeping-car companies” should be
struck, as they related to railroads and it was not our intent to leave any reference to railroads in the
definition of “common carriers.”

The KCC realizes the changes proposed are significant, however, as noted above, this transfer of
authority will eliminate many duplicate processes between the two agencies and allow a more efficient
and effective process to begin.

This concludes my testimony, and I will stand for any questioné you may have.
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DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION KATHLEEN SEBELIUS,GOVERNOR
DEB MILLER, SECRETARY

TESTIMONY BEFORE THE
SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

REGARDING HOUSE BILL 2123
RELATING TO RAILROADS

MARCH 3, 2005

Mr. Chairman and Committee Members:

Good morning. My name is Ken Gudenkauf Legislative Liaison for the Kansas Department of
Transportation (KDOT). I appreciate the opportunity to testify on House Bill 2123.

House Bill 2123 would amend K.S.A. Chapter 66 so that all powers, duties, and functions of the
Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC), as it relates to the regulation of railroads, would be
transferred to and conferred and imposed upon KDOT. Statutes within K.S.A. Chapter 66 which
are preempted by federal law will be repealed. Virtually all railroad regulation is done at the
federal level through the Federal Railroad Administration.

This is primarily a cleanup bill and the Kansas Department of Transportation agrees, with the
Kansas Corporation Commission’s request, to take on the few remaining railroad responsibilities
from the Commission. If this bill becomes law, current KDOT staff will be able to take on the
additional responsibilities and there should be no effect on the agency budget.

Essentially, the Kansas Department of Transportation will become the repository for various
filings by Class I railroads operating in Kansas and the primary point of contact with the Surface
Transportation Board as it relates to railroad filings for abandonment and decisions by the
Surface Transportation Board affecting rail transportation in Kansas. The Kansas Department of
Transportation will review, prior to July 1, 2005, and shall take custody of all Kansas
Corporation Commission records, memoranda, writings, entries, prints, or combinations thereof

relating to railroads.

KDOT has worked closely with the KCC in accomplishing this transfer of authority and supports
House Bill 2123.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF TRANSPORTATION
DWIGHT D. EISENHOWER STATE OFFICE BUILDING
700 S.W. HARRISON STREET, TOPEKA, KS 66603-3754
PUBLIC ACCESS AT NORTH ENTRANCE OF BUILDING SENATE TRANSPORTATION
VOICE 785-296-3461 TTY 785-296-3585 FAX 785-286-1095  http://wy 3-03-05
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[OAN WAGNON, SECRETARY OF REVENUE KATHLEEN SEBELIUS. GOVERNOR
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

DIVISION OF VEHICLES

March 2, 2005

Testimony on HB2215

Senate Committee on Transportation
Carmen Alldritt

Director of Vehicles

Thank you Chairman Donovan and members of the Committee. I am Carmen Alldritt and serve
as the Director of Vehicles. House Bill 2215 is technical clean up of 2004 legislation.

This bill will create a Hazardous Materials (hazmat) fee find for the deposit and expenditure of
fees collected when an individual applies for a hazmat endorsement on a Commercial Drivers
License. The fees are utilized for the payment of the driver’s background and fingerprint checks.

The second item would bring Kansas into compliance with Transportation Security
Administration procedure concerning notification of renewal. TSA has changed the notification
time periods from 180 days to 60 days, and 90 days to 30 days.

I ' would also ask your consideration to insert technical clean up which deals with Commercial
Drivers License disqualifications, to correctly reference the federal requirements.

Alan Anderson, our Chief of Driver Licensing, and Marcy Ralston, the Manager of our Driver
Control Bureau, are with me today to answer any technical questions.

Thank you for the opportunity to speak on behalf of HB 2215.

DOCKING STATE OFFICE BUILDING, 915 SW HARRISCN ST., TOPEK,
Voice 785-296-3601 Fax 785-291-3755 http://wwwk  SENATE TRANSPORTATION
3-03-05
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PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO HOUSE BILL NO. 2215

Sec. . K.S.A. 8-259 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 8-259. (a) Except in the case of mandatory revocation
under K.S.A. 8-254 or 8-286, and amendments thereto, mandatory
suspension for an alcohol or drug-related conviction under
subsection (b) of K.S.A. 8-1014, and amendments thereto,
mandatory suspension under K.S.A. 8-262, and amendments thereto,
or mandatory disqualification of the privilege to drive a
commercial motor vehicle under subsection ta3tEy7-t2y-er—t37

(a)y(1)A), (a)(1)(B), (2) (1) (C), (a)(2)(a), (2) (3)(A) or

a)(3)(B of K.S.A. 8-2,142, and amendments thereto, the
cancellation, suspension, revocation, disqualification or denial
of a person's driving privileges by the division is subject to
review. Such review shall be in accordance with the act for
judicial review and civil enforcement of agency actions. In the
case of review of an order of suspension under K.S.A. 8-1001 et
seq., and amendments thereto, or of an order of disqualification
under subsection <+ta¥t4y (a)(1)(D) of K.S.A. 8-2,142, and
amendments thereto, the petition for review shall be filed within
10 days after the effective date of the order and venue of the
action for review is the county where the administrative
proceeding was held or the county where the person was arrested.
In all other cases, the time for £filing the petition is as
provided by K.S.A. 77-613, and amendments thereto, and venue is
the county where the licensee resides. The action for review
shall be by trial de novo to the court. The court shall take
testimony, examine the facts of the case and determine whether
the petitioner is entitled to driving privileges or whether the
petitioner's driving privileges are subject to suspension,
cancellation or revocation under the provisions of this act.

Unless the petitioner's driving privileges have been extended

pursuant to subsection (o) of K.S.A. 8-1020, and amendments

thereto, the court on review shati--ecensider—-the--petitienerts
traffie-viotations—record-and-tiabitity-insurance-coverage-before

granting may grant a stay or other temporary remedy pursuant to

SENATE TRANSPORTATION
3-03-05
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K.S.A. 77-616, and amendments thereto, after considering the

petitioner's traffic violations record and liability insurance

coverage. If a stay is granted, it shall be considered equivalent
to any license surrendered. If a stay is not granted, trial shall
be set upon 20 days' notice to the legal services bureau of the
department of revenue. No stay shall be issued if a person's
driving privileges are canceled pursuant to K.S.A. 8-250, and

amendments thereto.

(b) The clerk of any court to which an appeal has been taken
under this section, within 10 days after the final disposition of
such appeal, shall forward a notification of the final

disposition to the division.

Sec. 1. K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 8-2,142 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 8-2,142. (a) A person is disqualified from driving a
commercial motor vehicle for a period of not less than one year
upon a first occurrence of any one of the following:

(1) While operating a commercial motor vehicle:

(A) The person is convicted of violating K.S.A. 8-2,144, and

amendments thereto;

(B) the person is convicted of violating subsection (b) of

K.S.A. 8-2,132, and amendments thereto;

(C) the person has-eaused is convicted of causing a fatality
through the negligent operation of a commercial motor vehicle; or

(D) the person's test refusal or test failure, as defined in
subsection tky (1); or

(2) while operating a noncommercial motor vehicle:

(A) The person is convicted of a violation of K.S.A. 8-1567,
and amendments thereto; or

(B) the person's test refusal or test failure, as defined in
K.S.A. 8-1013, and amendments thereto; or

(3) while operating any motor vehicle:

(A) The person is convicted of leaving the scene of an
accident; or

(B) the person is convicted of a felony, other than a felony

described in subsection (e), while using a motor vehicle to
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commit such felony.

(b) If any offenses, test refusal or test failure specified
in subsection (a) occurred in a commercial motor vehicle while
transporting a hazardous material required to be placarded, the
person is disqualified for a period of not less than three years.

(¢) A person shall be disqualified for life upon the second
or a subsequent occurrence of any offense, test refusal or test
failure specified in subsection (a), or any combination thereof,
arising from two or more separate incidents.

(d) The secretary of revenue may adopt rules and regulations
establishing guidelines, including conditions, wunder which a
disqualification for 1life undgr subsection (¢) may be reduced to
a period of not less than 10 years.

(e) A person is disqualified from driving a commercial motor
vehicle for 1life who uses a commercial motor vehicle or
noncommercial motor vehicle in the commission of any felony
involving the manufacture, distribution or dispensing of a
controlled substance, or possession with intent to manufacture,
distribute or dispense a controlled substance.

(f) A person is disqualified from driving a commercial motor
vehicle for a period of not less than 60 days if convicted of two
serious traffic violations, or 120 days if convicted of three or
more serious traffic violations, committed in a commercial motor
vehicle arising from separate incidents occurring within a
three-year period.

(g) A person is disqualified from driving a commercial motor
vehicle for a period of not less than 60 days if convicted of two
serious traffic violations, or 120 days if convicted of three or
more serious traffic violations, committed in a noncommercial
motor vehicle arising from separate incidents occurring within a
three-year period, if such convictions result in the revocation,
cancellation or suspension of the person's driving privileges.

(h) (1) A person who is convicted of operating a commercial
motor vehicle in violation of an out-of-service order shall be

disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for a period

\
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of not less than:

(A) Ninety days nor more than one year, if the driver is
convicted of a first violation of an out-of-service order;

(B) one year nor more than five years if, during any l0-year
period, the driver is convicted of two violations of
out-of-service orders in separate incidents; or

(C) three years nor more than five years if, during any
10-year period, the driver is convicted of three or more
violations of out-of-service orders in separate incidents.

(2) A person who is convicted of operating a commercial
motor vehicle in violation of an out-of-service order while
transporting a hazardous material required to be placarded under
49 U.S.C. 5101 et seqg. or while operating a motor vehicle
designed to transport more than 15 passengers, including the
driver, shall be disqualified from driving a commercial motor
vehicle for a period of not less than:

(A) One hundred and eighty days nor more than two years if
the driver is convicted of a first violation of an out-of-service
order; or

(B) three years nor more than five years if, during any
10-year period, the driver is convicted of any subsequent
violations of out-of-service orders in separate incidents.

(i) (1) A person who is convicted of operating a commercial
motor vehicle in violation of a federal, state or local law or
requlation pertaining to one of the following six offenses at a
railroad-highway grade crossing shall be disqualified from
driving a commercial motor vehicle for the period of time
specified in paragraph (2):

(A) For persons who are not required to always stop, failing
to slow down and check that the tracks are clear of an
approaching train;

(B) for persons who are not required to always stop, failing
to stop before reaching the crossing, if the tracks are not
clear;

(C) for persons who are always required to stop, failing to

7+
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stop before driving onto the crossing;

(D) for all persons failing to have sufficient space to
drive completely through the crossing without stopping;

(E) for all persons failing to obey a traffic control device
or the directions of an enforcement official at the crossing; or

(F) for all persons failing to negotiate a crossing because
of insufficient undercarriage clearance.

(2) A driver shall be disqualified from driving a commercial
motor vehicle for not less than:

(A) Sixty days if the driver is convicted of a first
violation of a railroad-highway grade crossing violation;

(B) one hundred and twenty days if, during any three-year
period, the driver is convicted of a second railroad-highway
grade crossing violation in separate incidents; or

(C) one year if, during any three-year period, the driver is
convicted of a third or subsequent railroad-highway grade
crossing violation in separate incidents.

(j) After suspending, revoking or canceling a commercial
driver's license, the division shall update its records to
reflect that action within 10 days. After suspending, revoking or
canceling a nonresident commercial driver's privileges, the
division shall notify the licensing authority of the state which
issued the commercial driver's license or nonresident commercial
driver's license within 10 days.

(k) Upon suspension, revocation, cancellation or
disqualification of a commercial driver's license under this act,
the license shall be immediately surrendered to the division if
still in the licensee's possession. If otherwise eligible, and
upon payment of the required fees, the licensee may be issued a
noncommercial driver's license for the period of suspension,
revocation, cancellation or disqualification of the commercial
driver's license under the same identifier number.

(1) As used in this section, "test refusal" means a person's
refusal to submit to and complete a test requested pursuant to

K.S.A. 8-2,145, and amendments thereto; "test failure" means a

o5
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person's submission to and completion of a test which determines
that the person's alcohol concentration is .04 or greater,

pursuant to K.S.A. 8-2,145, and amendments thereto.
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JOAN WAGNON, SECRETARY KATHLEEN SEBELIUS,GOVERNOR
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

For Immediate Release
February 18, 2004

Revenue Secretary Wagnon announces grace period for returning deployed military
personnel. '

(Topeka) To express appreciation to the soldiers who were deployed out of state or country for
ongoing military efforts, the Kansas Department of Revenue will begin providing a grace period
of seven days for expired vehicle registration from the date they arrived back in Kansas.

Military personnel will be allowed to drive a vehicle with expired registration for a period not to
exceed seven days allowing adequate time to arrange affairs and properly register the vehicle in
their home county. This extension only applies to operation of a vehicle within the State of
Kansas. While operating a vehicle with expired registration during this period, military
personnel will need to be able to provide the following information if stopped by a Kansas law
enforcement officer:

e A copy of their deployment orders or an official form from their home military
installation showing the date of return to the United States and,
e current liability insurance on the vehicle they are driving.

Furthermore, any penalties on registration will be waived. If the vehicle is leased and property
tax is due, the Kansas Department Revenue recommend that Kansas County Treasurers waive
any penalties, but will ultimately be left up to the treasurer’s discretion.

Again, this grace period only applies to respective vehicle and while operated within the state of

Kansas.

END

Peggy Stalcup 785.368.8798

DOCKING STATE OFFICE BUILDING, 915 SW HARRISON ST., TOF  SENATE TRANSPORTATION
Voice 785-296-3042 Fax 785-368-8392 http://www.ksi 3-03-05
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JOAN WAGNON., SECRETARY KATHLEEN SEBELIUS. GOVERNOR

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
DIVISION OF VEHICLES
Policy name: Grace period for military deployed for recent war effort
Effective date: February 17, 2004

Policy statement: = Military personnel will be allowed to drive a vehicle with expired
registration for a period not to exceed seven days allowing adequate time to arrange affairs
and properly register the vehicle in their home county.

To express our appreciation to the soldiers who were deployed for the recent war effort, we are
going to grant a grace period of seven days for expired vehicle registration from the date they
arrived back in Kansas.

They must be able to provide a copy of their deployment orders and the date of return to the
United States.

They must have current liability insurance on the vehicle they are driving.

This grace period extension does not apply to vehicles that are taken out of state with expired
registration. We are not responsible for out of state travel.

Any penalties on registration will be waived. If the vehicle is a leased vehicle and property tax is

due, we recommend that the counties waive the penalties; however, that will be left up to the
discretion of the County Treasurer.

04-014
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