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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMERCE AND LABOR COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Don Dahl at 9:00 A.M. on February 9, 2006 in Room 241-N
of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Broderick Henderson- excused
John Grange- excused

Committee staff present:
Jerry Ann Donaldson, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Norm Furse, Office of Revisor of Statutes
June Evans, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the commuttee:
Jim Gamer, Secretary of Labor
Terry Humphrey, Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety
Representative Candy Ruff
Pat Oslund, Policy Research Institute, Kansas University
Franke Straub
Doug Allen
Wil Leiker, AFL-CIO
Mark Block

Others attending:
See attached list.

The Chairman opened the hearing on HB 2654 - Increase in workers compensation benefits and removal
of cap on permanent total disability.

Jim Garner, Secretary of Labor, testified as a proponent to HB 2654. This bill would provide a modest
increase in the benefits paid to injured workers under the Kansas Workers Compensation system. Kansas
ranks 44" in the nation in premium costs. The conservative “Small Business Survival Index 2005" ranks
Kansas as the 8" best state for workers compensation costs. There is no crisis or escalation of premium costs
in Kansas. In comparison, Kansas ranks 45" in the nation in weekly benefits to injured workers. This issue
needs to be addressed (Attachment 1).

Terry Humphrey, Kansas Trial Lawyers Association Executive Director (KTLA), on behalf of Kansas
Coalition for Workplace Safety, testified in support of HB 2654. Ninety-four percent of all workers in Kansas
are covered by the state’s workers compensation laws. Under Kansas law, an injured employee receives only
two-thirds of his or her gross average weekly wage or a maximum of $467 per week, whichever is higher.
Only five states in the nation provide lower weekly benefits for their injured workers.

HB 2654 leads in the right direction: (1) Kansas workers who are injured on the job would be eligible to
receive 75% of their average weekly wage instead of only two-thirds. (2) The maximum weekly benefit
would be raised to 100% of the state’s average weekly wage instead of the current 75%. (3) Workers who
are totally disabled would receive benefits for the duration of their disability, like workers in most other states.
The current benefit maximum would be raised to $182,400 and adjusted the cap annually based on the
percentage of change in the state’s average weekly wage as presently calculated for purposes of determining
the state’s average weekly wage. KLA urges HB 2654 be passed out with the Coalition’s amendments
(Attachments 2 & 3).

Representative Candy Ruff, testified as a proponent to HB 2654. Medical costs continue to drive the worker
compensation engine in Kansas. Accounting for 50 to 60 percent of the premium costs, prescription drugs
and medical procedures manage to almost double in price from year to year. It is seen in our employee health
insurance premiums and our workers compensation premiums as well. The issues before us this year would
center on good state policy. Permanent partial disability should not be capped at $50,000 (Attachment 4).

Pat Oslund, Policy Research Institute, University of Kansas, testified as a proponent to HB 2654. Ms. Oslund
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stated this testimony consists of her findings, and does not represent the position of the University of Kansas
or any other partics. There are two ways in which we can try to estimate the impact of changing economic
conditions on the value of benefit cap amounts. One method is to examine the impact of inflation. Another
method of viewing the impact of changing economic conditions on workers compensation caps is to look at
wage growth. The inflation and the wage growth methods are not completely different, because inflation is
the major contributor to wage growth. But wage growth also reflects changing productivity, changing
competitive positions, and other factors. Changes in the maximum weekly benefit allowed under Workers
Compensation already are tied to wage growth. The total cumulative amounts that an injured worker can
receive have remained unchanged over long periods of time (Attachments 5 & 6).

Franke Straub, an injured worker, testified as a proponent to HB 2654. Mr. Straub was mjured and the
insurance company routinely is late sending his checks. This injury will affect his ability to work for the rest
of his life, but payments are capped at $100,000. Over the 415 weeks his compensation is based on, 1f he
would have continued to work earning $800 per week, he would have made $332,000. It is believed these
changes in benefits are long overdue (Attachment 7).

Doug Allen, Spring Hill, Kansas, testified as a proponent to HB 2654. Mr. Allen was injured in an
automobile accident. The benefits are substandard. HB 2654 provides an increase in benefits; however,
these changes are insufficient to meet the needs of injured workers in Kansas. Compensation for disabled
workers should be fair (Attachment 8).

Wil Leiker, Executive Vice President, Kansas AFL-CIO, testified in support of HB 2654. This is an
important change for Kansas workers, particularly workers who are higher wage carners. Under the current
law, workers are asked to live on 50% or less of their weekly earnings when injured and unable to work. It
has often been stated that Kansas is a low benefit state, and that employers enjoy low premiums. Kansas
should not be proud of the fact that their temporary total rate is the lowest in the five state regions, particularly
when the legislature knows how devastating this is to injured workers (Attachment 9).

Mark Block, Dwight, Kansas, testified in support of HB 2654. Mr. Block was injured and had to have both
legs amputated. His disability benefit is $401 per week and he had been earning $700 per week. This is not
enough to survive on. Mr. Block stated this bill would not help him, but it would help other Kansans that
were injured on the job (Attachment 10).

Written testimony in opposition to HB 2654 was provided by: Jeff Glendening, Vice President of Political
Affairs, Kansas Chamber of Commerce (Attachment 11); Tina N. Williams, Claims Director, Kansas Self-
Insurers Association (Attachment 12); Ashley Sherard, Vice President, Lenexa Chamber of Commerce
(Attachment 13); and Duane Simpson, Kansas Agribusiness Retailers Association (Attachment 14).

The Chairman closed the hearing on HB 2654.

The Chairman reminded the committee of the hearing on HB 2614 February 8 wherein Mr. Jim DeHoff,
Executive Secretary AFL-CIO recommended the bill be sent to the Employment Security Advisory Council.
The Chairman asked what the committee wished to do.

Representative Schwab moved and Representative Humerickhouse seconded to refer HB 2614 to the
Employment Security Advisory Council. The motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 10:50 a.m. The next meeting will be February 10, 20006.
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KATHLEEN SEBELIUS, Governor

Jim Garner, Secretary

Testimony in Support of 2006 HB 2654
House Commerce and Labor Committee
9 February 2006
Jim Garner
Secretary of Labor

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to appear in support of House Bill 2654. This bill
would provide a modest increase in the benefits paid to injured workers under the Kansas

Workers Compensation system.

First, let’s take a look at the “lay of the land.” Kansas ranks very well
concerning workers compensation premium costs. The nationally recognized Oregon
study ranks Kansas as 44™ in the nation in premium costs. The conservative “Small
Business Survival Index 2005 ranks Kansas as the 8™ best state for workers
compensation costs. And when considering premium costs as a percentage of total
wages, Kansas is in good shape. Premiums in Kansas represent 0.80% of total wages.
Premiums in the nation represent 2.09% of total wages. ‘

Overall, the voluntary workers compensation market in Kansas saw an average
2.0% reduction in premium rates approved for 2006, saving employers roughly $3.5
million. Since the reforms of 1993, premium rate filings in Kansas have resulted in over
$112 million in savings. Furthermore, the KCCI's own polling data suggests workers
compensation is not the major concern for employers when it comes to the costs of doing

business in Kansas.

Recently, the National Council on Compensation Insurance, the rating company
of workers compensation underwriters in Kansas, presented its “State of the Industry”
report for Kansas. Their report reflects that things are pretty dam good in Kansas.
According to the NCCI, the average loss cost in Kansas is the lowest in the region.
Moreover, the report showed the workers compensation market for insurers 1s profitable

in Kansas.

Bottom line — there is no crisis or escalation of premium costs in Kansas.
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In comparison, benefits levels in Kansas are low. We rank 45" in the nation in
weekly benefits to injured workers. Relying on two-thirds of your previous weekly wage
is quite a challenge for many families. During the time an injured worker is home from
-work on a disability, the worker’s mortgage payment, car loan payment or child care bills
are not reduced to two-thirds. It is time to do something to address this issue. In my
opinion, House Bill 2654 is a good start but probably not enough. I support the bill as an
effort to aim the focus where it is needed and address the extremely low level of benefits
now provided to assist families when their lives are disrupted by a workplace injury.

Finally, as you address workers compensation issues this session, it would be
unfortunate to create unintended consequences. There is a bill in the Senate (SB 461)
that proposes drastic changes to the method by which pre-existing conditions and work
disabilities are handled. My fear is that we could see a classic political slight of hand —
giving with one hand while taking much more away with another. Even if House Bill
2654 were to become law, many injured workers could find themselves in even worse
conditions with less compensation if the features of SB 461 also became law.

In conclusion, it is past time to address the low benefits to injured workers in
Kansas. House Bill 2654 is a step in the right direction and I encourage your support of

this legislation.

Thank you for the opportunity to appear and share my comments and concerns on
this matter.
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State Voluntary Market Filings
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Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety

Promoting Economic Security Through Workplace Safety for Kansas Workers and their Families.

Testimony Before House Commerce & Labor Committee
February 9, 2006
Terry Humphrey, KTLA Executive Director
On Behalf of the Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety

Chairman Dahl and members of the committee, I am Terry Humphrey, executive

director of the Kansas Trial Lawyers Association. I am here today as a representative

of the Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety. The Coalition is a group of more than

30 organizations representing nearly 500,000 working Kansans, including firefi

ghters,

nurses, teachers, senior citizens, businesses, labor unions, and others. Thank you for

this opportunity to discuss the need to improve benefit levels for injured workers under

the Kansas Workers Compensation Act and support HB 2654 with our suggested

amendments.

In 2004, the Docking Institute of Public Affairs released a report on the state of

workers compensation in Kansas. In the study’s introduction, the Docking Institute

cites “two significant conclusions™: (1) Kansas employers pay low premiums

compared to other states; and (2) benefit levels for injuries and illnesses are also

comparatively low.” Today I would like to focus on the second issue: the low benefits

Kansas offers its injured workers and the need to improve them.

First and foremost, it is important to understand that 94% of all workers in Kansas are

covered by the state’s workers compensation laws. That means that nearly all of the

workers in Kansas—and, presumably, most of your constituents—are directly affected

by these laws and will be forced to subsist on the very low benefits if they are injured

on the job. As you will hear in later testimony, the economic hardships injured

workers must endure only add insult to their physical injuries.

Secondly, no discussion of workers compensation would be complete without
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acknowledging its impact on the state’s employers and insurance carriers. Fortuna

the news here is good. The work comp premiums paid by Kansas employers are far
lower than both the countrywide and regional averages. In fact the Insurance
Department has lowered the combined premiums by more than 32% between 1994 and
2006. Rates are so low that economic development groups like the Greater Wichita
Economic Development Coalition cite them to attract new business to the state. This
year the news for employers gets even better. Recently, the Insurance Department

approved a 2% decrease in rates for the voluntary market for 2006.

Insurance companies operating in Kansas should be equally pleased. In 2003, Kansas
ranked 6th in the country in work comp profitability. In fact, in 2002 and 2003, Kansas
was one of only six states in which work comp insurers booked a profit even before
adding in their investment income. Suffice it to say that Kansas employers and insurers
are thriving under the current workers compensation laws. Unfortunately, the same

cannot be said of the state’s most important economic resource, its workers.

Under Kansas law, an injured employee receives only two-thirds of his or her gross
average weekly wage or a maximum of $467 per week, whichever is higher. For
example, an employee who averages $400 per week will receive benefits of
approximately $267 per week, or two-thirds of his average weekly wage. An employee
who averages $1,000 per week will receive the maximum of $467 per week, which
represents less than half of his average weekly pay. Since many Kansans live
paycheck to paycheck, it is not surprising that such low weekly benefits can be

financially devastating.

Only five states in the nation provide lower weekly benefits for their injured workers.
Furthermore, Kansas provides the lowest benefit among our neighbors Missouri,
Colorado, Nebraska and Oklahoma. This year even Arkansas, which formerly tied

Kansas in weekly benefits, has surpassed us by raising their maximum weekly benefit.

Kansas’ extremely low weekly benefits result in large part from the fact that benefits
are capped at only 75% of the state’s average weekly wage. In other words, the
maximum amount an injured worker in Kansas can receive—regardless of how much

he or she earned before the injury—is 25% less than the average weekly wage for all



employees in Kansas. This weekly cap of $467 applies regardless of whether the
employee is permanently totally disabled, temporarily totally disabled or permanently
partially disabled. On top of the weekly cap, there are limits on the total amount of
disability an injured worker can receive. For temporary total disability and permanent
partial disability, the maximum benefit is $100,000. For permanent total disability,
when a worker is completely unable to return to substantial and gainful employment,
the maximum benefit is $125,000. Keep in mind, these are not lump-sum payments,
but the maximum amount disabled workers can receive in weekly “installments™ of

$467 or less.

Kansas is only one of four states in the nation that caps permanent total disability rather
than provide lifetime benefits to the disabled worker—the Kansas cap is the lowest. In
fact, Kansas has made no changes to the maximum benefits for permanent total
disability or permanent partial disability since they were established in 1987! Think
about what it means to be permanently disabled in 2006 and be forced to live on 1987
dollars. The fact that we have not raised these benefits in nearly two decades is

appalling and does not reflect well on this state’s attitude toward its workforce and the

families they support.

Unfortunately, Kansas’ history of closing its eyes to injured workers predates 1987. In
1972, the National Commission on State Workmen’s Compensation Laws delivered a
report that sets out 19 essential recommendations for states to adopt in order to
maintain an equitable and effective workers compensation system. For the more than
three decades since then, the U.S. Department of Labor analyzes each state’s
compliance with the Commission’s report annually. To this day, according to the
Docking Institute, “Kansas has adopted fewer of the essential recommendations than
any other state in the region.” Nebraska, Oklahoma, Missouri and Colorado are all in

greater compliance with the Commission’s recommendations than we are.

At least two of the recommendations Kansas has ignored for 30 years are relevant to
today’s discussion. First, the Commission recommended that as of July 1, 1975, the
maximum weekly benefit for temporary total disability and permanent total disability
be at least 100% of the state’s average weekly wage. As we’ve seen, Kansas’ benefits

are still only two-thirds of 75% of the state’s average weekly wage. The Commission



also recommended that permanent total disability benefits be paid “for the duratio.
the worker’s disability, or for life, without any limitations as to dollar amount or time.”
Again, Kansas offers workers who suffer permanent total disability the lowest cap in

the nation.

It is long past time for Kansas to come into compliance with the National
Commuission’s recommendations, and HB 26354 leads us in that direction in three

important ways:

(1) Kansas workers who are injured on the job will be eligible to receive 75%
of their average weekly wage instead of only two-thirds;

(2) The maximum weekly benefit will be raised to 100% of the state’s average
weekly wage instead of the current 75%; and

(3) Workers who are totally disabled will receive benefits for the duration of

their disability, like workers in most other states.

In addition, he Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety is proposing amendments to HB
2654 which would address the erosion of the values of the workers compensation
benefit caps currently in place. As you know, the maximum benefits allowable for
permanent partial disability have not changed since 1987. Think in terms of what $100
could buy in 1987 compared to 2006. Think about how much wages have increased
since 1987. In 1987, the maximum compensation rate was $256. That means the state
average weekly wage was $341. The current state average weekly wage is
approximately $622. Yet, maximum rates have stayed the same since 1987. Further
evidence as to the real erosion of benefits will be provided by Patricia Oslund of the

University of Kansas Policy Research Institute.

The amendments we have attached would raise the caps from their 1987 rates of
$100,000 to a current benefit maximum of $182,400 and would also adjust annually the
cap based on the percentage of change in the state average weekly wage as presently
calculated for purposes of determining the state average weekly wage. $182,400 1s the
2006 value of the $100,000 cap considering the same rate of growth as wages across

the state have risen in the 18 years since 1987.



Also we propose language to clarify the intent of HB 2654 regarding permanent tc
disability caps. Our language states that permanent total disability be paid for the
duration of the condition. In other words, weekly benefits would continue as long as
the worker continues to be permanently and totally unable to engage in any substantial

gainful employment.

We also eliminate the $50,000 cap on functional impairment only cases. This cap
unfairly and unnecessarily disadvantages workers with significant functional
impairments. For instance, a worker who loses an arm and has a gross average weekly
wage high enough to receive the maximum temporary total rate would receive 210
weeks of compensation of the maximum rate of $467 per week. That would equal total
benefits of $98,070. However, the current $50,000 cap would limit the worker to a
maximum of $50,000. This provision produces grossly inequitable results. The
original intent of the “Fletcher Bell” amendment was to limit awards where the injury
did not affect the worker’s ability to engage in work. Certainly, losing one’s arm and
similar serious injuries would affect a worker’s ability to work. The limit is irrational

and serves no legitimate purpose and should be stricken from the statute.

Another amendment to HB 2654 would provide authority for the administrative law
judge to impose penalties on parties who do not comply with the orders of the ALJ. At
the present time there is no enforcement mechanism to make an insurance company or
employer follow an order of the court to provide medical care or to confirm treatment
is authorized to a designated provider. Employers and insurance companies frequently
refuse to acknowledge they are responsible for medical and have in fact advised
doctors that they will not pay for medical treatment in direct violation of the
administrative law judge’s order. Employers and insurance carriers are routinely late
in paying temporary total disability payments, bills, and reimbursement requests. This
amendment will utilize the same procedure as currently employed in K.S.A. 44-512(a)
to ensure benefits are timely provided. This change is desperately needed to control

unscrupulous employer and insurance carriers.

In closing, let me remind the committee that Kansas is fortunate to have among the
most desirable workers in the country. According to a recent Kansas Chamber poll,

nearly three-quarters of all business owners surveyed said they were satisfied with the
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quality of their workforce. But it is not enough to praise our workers when they a1
able-bodied. We must also ensure that their needs are taken care of when they are
injured on the job. HB 2654 with the Coalition’s amendments moves us closer to that

goal. T urge you to pass HB 2654 with our amendments to protect our most valuable

resource.

Thank you.



Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety
Proposed Amendments to K.S.A. 44-510f and K.S.A. 44-512a

Section 3. K.S.A. 44-510f is hereby amended to read as follows: 44-510f. (a)

t The maximum compensation benefits payable by an employer shall not
exceed the following, except that the maximum compensation benefits shall be
adjusted annually in the same percentage as the percent of change in the state

average weekly wage as determined pursuant to K.S.A.44-511:

(1) For permanent total disability, ircludingtemporarytotaltemporary
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$125,000-foran-injury-orany-aggravationthereef such benefits shall be paid for
the duration of the condition,
£ (1) for temporary total disability, including any prior permanent total,
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permanent partial or temporary partial disability payments paid or due,
$4006;000 182,400 for an injury or any aggravation thereof;

23 (2) subject to the provisions of subsection (a)(4), for permanent or
temporary partial disability, including any prior temporary total, permanent total,
temporary partial, or permanent partial disability payments paid or due,
$400,;000 182,400 for an injury or any aggravation thereof; and

(b) If an employer shall voluntarily pay unearned wages to an employee in
addition to and in excess of any amount of disability benefits to which the
employee is entitled under the workers compensation act, the excess amount
paid shall be allowed as a credit to the employer in any final lump-sum
settlement, or may be withheld from the employee's wages in weekly amounts
the same as the weekly amount or amounts paid in excess of compensation
due, but not until and unless the employee's average gross weekly wage for the
calendar year exceeds 125% of the state's average weekly wage, determined

as provided in K.S.A. 44-511 and amendments thereto. The provisions of this
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subsection shall not apply to any employer who pays any such unearned
wages to an employee pursuant to an agreement between the employer and

employee or labor organization to which the employee belongs.

K.S.A. 44-512a is hereby amended to read as follows: 44-512a. (a) In the
event any order of the administrative law judge is not complied with, including,
but not limited to, providing medical treatment, confirming medical benefits
coverage to providers, payment of temporary total disability pursuant to K.S.A.
44-512, and any compensation, including medical compensation, which has
been awarded under the workers compensation act, is not complied with or
paid when due to the any person, firm or corporation entitled thereto, the
employee shall be entitled to a civil penalty, to be set by the administrative law
judge and assessed against the employer or insurance carrier liableforsuch
compensation ordered to provide such benefits in an amount of not more than
$400 $500 per week nor less than $250 per week for each week any-disability
compensation-is any ordered benefits are past due and in an amount for each
past due medical bill equal to the larger of either the sum of $26 $700 or the
sum equal to 10% of the amount which is past due on the medical bill, if: (1)
Service of written demand for payment, setting forth with particularity the items
of disability and medical compensation claimed to be unpaid and past due, has
been made personally or by registered mail on the employer or insurance
carrier liable for such compensation and its attorney of record; and (2) payment
of such demand is thereafter refused or is not made within 20 days from the

date of service of such demand.
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Workers comp

Falling down on the job

hen Lisa Wurgler was 27, she earned about $730 a week as a
nurse at a hospital in Rugby, N.D. “[ felt if my parents ever needed
help, if thev had to go into a nursing home, I would be in a position
to take care of them,” she says. Now, six years later, Wurgler says she

gets $200 a week from Social Security. Her parents take care of her.

manager, tests showed no brain damage. It
took five vears to win his claim. And even
then, the city did not pay Stotts’ ongoing

In 1990, Jim Stotts, then 46, earned
$33,000 a vear as toreman of a citv urility
plant in Latayette, La. He owned his own

home and had $30,000 in retirement savings.
Within 18 months, he had lost it all.
[n 1995, [im Sargeant, now 37, was excited

medical bills until a settlement was reached
last vear.
Jim Sargeant, who was diagnosed with

herniated disks after handling a 35-gallon
drum of industrial cleaner, qualified for per-
manent disability under Social Security.
A state board awarded him workers-comp

about his new job as a sales rep and distrib-
utor tor a janitorial-equipment company,
where he'd make 535,000 a vear. He and his
wite were expecting their third child. Thev
benefits. but then withdrew them periodi-

Aud saved 12000 toward a house. and thev 1

owned s minvan and a car. Tvo vears lazer, cailv, Stare othcials have not rerurned our

short or cashy they had to give up their  phone calls.
apartment, their cars, and all their savings.
filed for bankruptey,” savs Sargeant, of

ton, Wash, “\We fost evervthing.”

What causad these people to fall from
the security ot a regular paycheck to near-
destitution? All were injured on the job, and
workers compensation—the program that
is supposed to pay for their medical care
and some lost income—failed to help.

Lisa Wurgler injured her back lifting
patients. But the North Dakota Workers
Compensation Bureau cut off her benefits
when she refused to go to a pain clinic after
two others did her no good (among the rec-
ommended therapies: anger-management
classes). The bureau declined to comment.

Jim Stotts suffered dizzi-
ness, burning nasal passages,
sky-high blood pressure,
headaches, and swollen eves
after being exposed to toxic
solvent fumes while on the
job at the power plant. Doc-
tors recommended bv his
emplover diagnosed him with toxic en-

JOHN McKAY of Monaca, Pa.. with his wife Vickie and
his son Nathan, 8, was a journeyman bricklayer
before he injured his leg in 1992, Although he
was declared permanently disabled and can't sit
or stand well, his insurer forced him to take a
telemarketing job. When he stopped working at
the request of his doctor, his benefits were cut

cephalopathy, a form of brain damage.
Bur the city of Latavette did not accept
the diagnosis: according to the city's risk
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Workers compensation, from which 1.8
million people collected cash benefits in
1998, was designed as a safety net for those
who are injured or die on the job. And
experts agree that the system can work,
especiallv for people whose medical condi-
tions clear up quickly. But for others, the
systemn falls short.

In the early 1990s, state legislatures
across the nation, at the behest of insurance
carriers and the business community, passed
reform laws designed to improve the system.
They did—for insurers and businesses.
Workers-comp insurance, once the money-
loser of the industry, grew fat with profits.
And businesses saw premiums drop sub-
stantially from 1992 to 1996, a development
that public officials say stimulates job growth.

The old svstem needed changing, many
e2. But instead of rargeting insurance




bureaucracies and employer fraud—two
key problems that still exist—the new laws
have generated profits for insurers and sav-
ings for employers mainly at the expense of
injured workers. Those laws clamped down
on benefits, raised eligibility requirements,
and put medical treatment mainly in the
hands of insurance companies, which can
delay or deny medical care or income pay-
ments. The tactic is called “starving them
out,” according to former insurance claims
adjuster Erik Grindal of Coral Gables, Fla.,
who is now a lawyer. While waiting for help,
claimants spend down their savings and
then, but of desperation, accept a settlement
for only a fraction of what they should get.

Robert Hartwig, chief economist of the
Insurgnce Information Institute, defends the
reforms. “The laws are designed to encourage
people to go back to work,” he savs. And while
qualifiing for workers comp may be more dif-
ficult now, he adds, “If vou disagree with the
decision, vou can appeal; vou have recourse.”

Meanwhile, many people continue to
believe the notion—propagated by the insur-
ance industrv—that workers who file for
benefits are merely milking the system.
ConsUaER RepoRTS chief medical adviser
reviewed available documents of people
whose stories are profiled in these pages and
tound evidence of disabling injuries. But all
of them sav they were treated like cheats.
Observes Ernie Delmazzo, 42, a truck driver
who Hurt his neck in 1996 and now heads the
Oregon Iniured Workers' Alliance, one of
dozens of citizen groups that have grown up
around the country in the last decade: “It's a
psychological nightmare. Even vour neigh-
bors lpok at you like you're a fraud.”

To be sure, some workers abuse the
svster, though nobody knows exactly to
what extent. The National Insurance Crime
Bureau, an industry group, says workers-
comp| claimant fraud costs carriers about
5$2.4 hillion a vear. But the group concedes
that's just a guess. Conning & Co., an insur-
ance research firm, put claimant fraud at
about 1.9 percent of premiums paid—or
$477 million.

In [Florida, claimant-fraud cases typically
average $10,000 in undeserved pavouts, says
Ron Foindexter, director of the state’s divi-
sion of insurance fraud. By contrast, he
says, emplovers who fail to buy workers-
Lompunsurance or cheat on their premiums
by reclaqu\/mﬂ workers in less dangerous
and less costly job categories are bilking
insurers out of millions annually. Worse, the
injurenf:l employees end up filing for Social
Sccunl‘fv or public assistance, which may pay
less anid be harder to get.

How believable are those claims?

Employers and insurers, says Jeffrey Biddle,
a Michigan State University economics pro-
fessor, sometimes assert that workers-comp
claimants are afflicted with an "“Oprah
syndrome”-the desire to ditch work and
watch TV all day.

To find out whether the public agrees,
ConsuMer ReporTs conducted a phone survey in
November of 1,001 Americans representing a
cross-section of the population. We asked
respondents how truthful they found six dif-
ferent types of claims. Only 46 percent
viewed workers-comp claims to be truthful
most of the time, though they were thought
to be more truthful than all others in the sur-
vey except the claims that drivers make to
their auto-insurance companies.

Fear of being disbelieved, says Biddle, may
discourage injured workers from applying for
workers comp in the first place. A study he
conducted of Michigan workers, whose iliness
reports to companies would have qualified

A VITAL SAFETY NET

Workers-compensation laws, adopted by ali
states between 1911 and 1940, were designed
to accomplish nwo goals: to provide medical
care and income to workers injured on the
job and death benefits to families of those
who died, and to protect emplovers from
costly and unpredictable lawsuits by workers.

While each state has its own tangle of
laws and regulations, most states require all
businesses, except the very smallest, to pro-
vide workers-compensation coverage for
their employees. To pay for the hLability,
employers buy insurance, usually from pri-
vate carriers or state-run insurance funds, or
they insure themselves.

If you're injured on the job, you tvpically
have no choice but to go through the
workers-comp insurance system. Your
regular health-care provider can and will turn
you down for medical coverage—even if you
have great benefits—if it discovers vou were
injured at work. As for lost income, many U.S.
workers would have little help without work-
ers comp if they were laid up from an on-the-
job accident or an illness. Social Security Dis-
ability Income pays a stipend to anvone who
is permanently and totally disabled, but it's
generally much smaller than workers comp.

Benefits available to injured workers
were never princely, but by the 1970s their
levels had sunk so far below the poverty line
that President Nixon appointed the National

them for benefits, showed that depending on
the industry, only 9 percent to 45 percent
of the complaints ended up as claims. A
Connecticut study of workers suffering from
repetitive-stress injuries found that oniy 15
percent filed for workers-comp benefits.

,/ Percent ahmsta{\mrstrm
- or “truthful most of the time”

Drivers wha.ﬁle damaqe claims
to their car insurers

Warkers who file workers-
comp claims

Claims made th| ukatierrits .ag'a-insl their -
doctersin m_aipra:iice lawsuits

* Consumer claims against mandfacturers
in praduct-safety fawsuits

Eligibility claims made by people fo qualify
for welfare and other public assistance

Smokers' claims, in lawsuits, that tobacco -
companies misled smokers about health risks

Commuission on State Workmen's Compen-
sation Laws 1o "A\UL].\ L]‘ll:' PILH’IETH. 1[ recont-
mended. among other things, that states pay
totally disabled workers at least two-thirds of
their salaries { workers comp is not taxable, so
in theorv workers don't need all their wages),
up to a cap of 100 percent of the state’s aver-
age weekly wage. Fearing tederal takeover,
states raised benefits. But as of last vear, 17
states still didn’t meet that standard wage.

REFORMS CUT BENEFITS AND COSTS
By the mid-1980s, however, insurance
carriers found themselves deep in trouble.
Medical expenses were increasing by about 11
percent a vear. and returns had dropped on
the investments that insurers maintain to pay
future claims. Premiums were insufficient.
and the workers-comp line of insurance lost
money every year from 1984 to 1992,
Carriers beseeched state insurance regu-
lators for steep premium increases, blaming
their losses on runawav benefit costs and
claimant fraud. However, John Burton, dean
of the School of Management and Labor
Relations at Rutgers University and chairman
of the national workers-comp commission,
savs the losses came partly because insurers
had previously made excessive cuts in pre-
miums to attract customers. As rates spiked,
emplovers complained to governors and
state legislators that there was a crisis. High
workers-comp rates, they argued—then
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Injuries and illnesses

Tendinitis
Chemical burns.
Amputations

Other

o Who gets injured and how

Waorkers in private industry reported 1.8 million injuries and illnesses that required time off
work in 1997, the most recent year available. We list the most common injuries, and, based
on 1998 data, some industries with relatively high rates per 100 full-time workers.

Injury and illness rates by industry

Sprains, Strains......c.oeeee.. 43.6%  Air transportation........ocooeeeeeeececcieeenee. 8.4
BrUISES wmsismimsemitassmmmnss 9.0 Aluminum foundries .....ooeeeeeeeeesseserenens 6.4
CltS i 7.3 Concrete block and brick ...v.ecveeecreerieenens 6.1
Fractures .coooeeresesssesesssenenas 6.5 Prepared flour mixes and doughs ............. 5.7
Multiple traumatic injuries...... 3.3 Bottled and canned soft drinks ................ 5.4
Heat burns. ..o 16 Commercial [aundry equipment..........c...... 5.3
Carpal tunnel syndrome .......... 1.6 LOGQING cvurreerereeecaensnmsssenassrensssnssssees

Truck and bus body WOTK .eeueeeeeeerenneseesnns
Prefabricated wood buiidings........
Shipbuilding and repair............ceeeeeeeeenenee

Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics

about $2.20 for every $100 of payroll
—would sink businesses, throw state econo-
mies into a recession, and eliminate jobs.

To whip up public support for reform,
the insurance industry took its case to TV
stations and newspapers across the nation.
A powerful weapon was videotape culled
from private investigators showing workers
cheating small businesses. In a ten-day
period in December 1991, no fewer
than five reports appeared in the
national media, including @ “20/20”
segment showing claimants com-
mitting outrageous abuses. Eric
Oxteld. president ot UWC-Strategic
Services on Unemplovment and
Workers' Compensation, which lob-
bies for insurers on this issue, now
concedes that claimant fraud was
never a major driver of workers-
comp costs. ‘People understand
fraud,” he says. “So it got more atten-
tion perhaps than it deserved.”

JIM STOTTS, 55, breathed in toxic fumes ata

Lafayette, La, power plant where he worked
for 18 years. His doctors said that he had
suffered brain damage, but his employer
disallowed his workers-comp claim and
terminated him.

The campaign succeeded. In the last
decade, 29 states passed major workers-
comp laws designed to cut costs. For
the most part, legislatures chose from a
menu of standard remedies. They allowed
insurers to establish managed-care programs
that would require claimants to get treatment
from insurer- or emplover-approved doctors.
Several states reduced the number of weeks
that workers could collect, stopped benefits
when an emplovee could return to any work,
and cut off pavments when a claimant
reached age 63, whether or not he qualified

J0 CONSUMER REPORTS © FESRUARY 2000

for Social Security. And 12 states passed pro-
visions cutting workers-comp benefits if
claimants also collected money from Social
Security or from their own pension.
Benefits and employer costs, as a per-
centage of payroll, dropped by more than 20
percent from 1992 to 1996, although many
workplace-safety experts believe that some

of the decline comes from safety measures
adopted by employers, a decreasing per-
centage of dangerous jobs in the economy,
and greater employer willingness to hire the
disabled. If the Occupational Safety and
Health Administration goes ahead with new
ergonomics regulations, repetitive-stress
injuries such as carpal tunnel syndrome
could decline further.

Insurers had another reason to cheer:
The Social Security offset handed them a
multimillion-dollar windfall. By 1995,
workers-comp carriers had become the envy
of the insurance industry, with annual oper-
ating profits of 20 percent. More companies
entered the business, and soon insurers were
battling each other to cut premiums. Rates
dropped further, and state officials crowed
with joy: “We have driven a stake through
the heart of the No. 1 job killer in California,”
said Pete Wilson, then the governor, upon
passage of the state’s reform in 1993.

The new laws not only reduced benefits
but made them harder to collect. In many
states, the burden is now on workers to prove
by a preponderance of the evidence that
their injuries occurred as a result of their job
and not poor health habits, aging, or a pre-
existing medical condition. To win a claim,
says Cleveland workers-comp attorney
Harold Ticktin, a worker practically has to
be “convicted of injury on the job.” The
result is that ill and injured workers now
must fight a series of battles: first, to get

medical care; next, to withstand
exams by insurance-company
doctors who have an incentive
to tind excuses not to pay;
then, to get a fair assessment
of any permanent disability;
and finally, to win a hearing if
there’s a dispute.

DELAYS IN MEDICAL CARE
These days medical care doesn't
come without a struggle. In 38
states injured workers have to
choose a doctor from a com-
pany-approved list or man-
aged-care program controlled
by the insurer. The doctor
may give them a palliative—
even for a painful or serious
injury—until the insurer
agrees to pay for more-
expensive care including
tests, visits to specialists,
surgery, or medication. If
there’s a dispute, the worker
must petition for a hearing
before one of the state workers-
comp judges. That may add days or months

to the wait for treatment.

For example, when Dr. Harvey Baumann,
a Providence, R.L, plastic surgeon who
treats hand injuries, recommends that a
postsurgical workers-comp patient receive
rehabilitation, the insurer will grant only
nine sessions— ‘enough for three weeks,” he
says, and often, not enough. “Even if [ write
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or cau .ue claims adjuster asking for more
sessions right away, the carrier will leave the
patient waiting. By the time the insurer
agrees to another nine sessions, the good of
the first nine is lost.” Withholding or delay-
ing such care has cut insurers’ medical cost
increases to 3 percent per year this decade,
from 11 percent per vear in the 1980s. Those
savings, however, can exacerbate the frus-
tration and stress for some injured workers.
“People become so desperate and depressed
they can never return to a normal life,”
Baumann says.

Take the case of Paul Nessmith,
a carpenter from Fort Lauderdale,
Fla. In 1993 he injured his knee
when he fell off a scaffold. A spe-
cialist recommended that the 24-
vear-old undergo arthroscopic
surgery. Associated Industries of
Florida, the insurer, insisted on a
second opinion from its own
independent medical examiner—
but the claims adjuster took four
months to set up the appoint-
ment. The new doctor approved
the surgery, bur it couldn’t fix
the problem, according to
Nessmith's attorney, Andrea

Wolfson. Nessmith's doctor told
nim thev would try again, but
the insurer wanted another
independent assessment, which
meant another four-month
wait. He eventually got the
surgery, but it did no good, his
attorney says.

He tried to look for work
as the insurer demanded, his wife
says, but with only a tenth-grade education
plus a leg brace and a cane, no one would
hire him. The insurer contended, however,
that he wasn’t making a real effort and cut
off his benefits. His wife, Susan, couldn’t
work because Paul couldn’t take care of
their baby, she says, adding that the family
survived by borrowing from relatives
and friends.

Four years later, after several hearings, a
workers-comp judge ordered the insurer to
pay Nessmith previously owed and ongoing
benefits. The insurer made good on old pay-
menis, but paid no more. Wolfson was forced
to go to court again, she says, “just to get him
what the judge had already ordered” Nes-
smith took his own life in March 1998 by
swallowing “all the prescription drugs he
could lay his hands on,” Wolfson savs. Two
days later, she received notification from the
insurer that it was declaring Nessmith per-
manently and totally disabled and would pay

Susan a $100,000 death benefit. The company
declined comment on the case.

THE SECOND OPINION

Getting medical care depends on the opinion
of an independent medical examiner (IME),
a physician called in to assess a patient’s
condition. IMEs are paid by the insurer. On
average, they earn $507 per consultation,
according to a 1997 survey of 266 IMEs
conducted by SEAK, a medical-seminar
company. Specialists like psychiatrists earn

even though a negative report from an IME
can play a big part in an insurance company’s
decision to cut off benefits immediately and
unilaterzlly, workers in some states can’t
have anyone witness an exam except for
their treating physician, who may not be
available. Others can’t even know what's in
an IME’s report until it becomes evidence at
an official hearing.

[MEs also examine a worker’s medical
history to find other explanations for the ill-
ness or injury. In Oregon, for example, if 51
percent of the cause of the medical problem
is attributable not to the job but to

ordinary aging or a pre-existing
medical condition, the worker
gets nothing at all.

After Jim Stotts was diag-
nosed with toxic encephalo-
pathy, for example, his employer
called in an IME. In a letter
to the IME, Lafayette’s risk-
management division suggested
that his illness might be
explained by alcohol abuse: “The
application completed for physi-

cian’s appointment ... shows that
Mr. Stotts consumed approxi-
mately 40 drinks over ... one
weekend,” it read. A copy of the
application shows that Stotts
admitted to an alcohol problem—

~ SUSAN NESSMITH'S husband Paul, a Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
carpenter, took his own life in 1998 after a five-year battle
with his insurer to get medical benefits for his injured
knee. "He was in constant pain and depressed because
he couldn't take care of me and our daughter,” she says.
' Two days after his death, she received word from the

company that it had declared him permanently and

as much as $900 per consult.

The high fees are justified,
says Dr. Chris Brigham, editor of The Amer-
ican Medical Association’s The Guides
Newsletter, which helps doctors and others
evaluate workers-comp cases. A proper
exam, he says, should include a complete
review of the patient’s medical records, a
thorough interview, an appropriate physical
examination (which typically takes about an
hour and a half), and a written report—
possibly a four- or five-hour job. Determin-
ing the severity and cause of an illness is a
complicated task, and careful professionals
can disagree.

But more than a dozen injured workers
who spoke to CONSUMER REPORTS, whom
we found through lawsuits, injured-worker
groups, and the Internet, uniformly com-
plained of doctors who clearly hadn't read
their medical records and of examinations
that lasted no more than 15 minutes. And

totally disabled and awarded benefits.

12 years earlier. “The last time I had taken a
drink was in 1978, he says.

Insurers sometimes shop patients
around to a series of IMEs, flying them out
of state and putting them up at motels.
According to “Unjust Treatment,” a 1998
New York AFL-CIO report, IME documents
are often altered to please insurers.

Mary Jeffords, 43, has two steel rods and
four screws near the base of her spine and
uses two canes to get around the apartment
complex for the handicapped where she
lives in Sanborn, N.Y. She was injured in
1987 in a brutal beating by a mentally
retarded patient at the group home where
she worked as a weekend supervisor. She
spent a total of four months in the hospital
and won benefits only last year—12 years
after the attack—as a permanently and
totally disabled person.
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Still asserting that she wasn'’t as injured
as she claimed, Liberty Mutual, the insurer,
asked for an assessment by an IME in 1996.
After a hearing at which Liberty Mutual
contended that Jetfords was only moderate-
ly disabled, she requested a copy of the
report, and two surfaced. Both reports,
dated the same day, were identical until the

= Reforms aided insurers ...

Since passage of reform laws in the early 1990s,
workers-compensation insurers have enjoyed years
of profits, but they're starting to siip.

24%

20 Operatng profits
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1988~ 89" 90* 91* 92 93 94 95 95 97 98p
* Figures for 1988-1991 have been adjusted to reflect realized capital
gains, to be consistent with other years.
p Preliminary figures.
Source; Nationai Council on Compensation Insurance

conclusion on page 7; one called her dis-
ability “total,” while the second said it was
“moderate.” After Jeffords complained to
the New York attorney general about the
two reports, however, her IME said that he
had merelv altered his initial opinion after
reviewing his notes. Liberty Mutual said it
had nothing to do with his change of mind.
Meanwhile, the judge refused to reduce Jef-
fords’ benefits.

WINNING LOST WAGES

An insurer makes temporary total disability
payments, usually two-thirds of salary up to
the state cap, until a worker reaches “maxi-
mum medical improvement.” Then a doctor
may release the claimant for work or assess
any permanent impairment that prevents a
return to the job. The conclusion, whatever
it is, will determine how much an injured
worker can collect in lost wages permanently.
States should weigh many elements in
determining a person’s disability: education,
age, capacity for retraining, pain, and so on,
says Brigham of the American Medical
Association newsletter.

Yet 38 states go solely by impairment
scores set forth in the AMA Guides to the
Evaluation of Impairment, even though
Chapter 1 warns that financial awards
should be not be based solely on scores. In
many states, having severely damaged
shoulders is a 15 percent whole-person
impairment, so if two-thirds of a worker’s
average weekly wage is $500, he would
get $75 a week no matter how impertant

37 . CONMSUMER REPORTS § FEBRUARY 2000

shoulders are in doing his job.

About 1 to 3 percent of injured workers
are declared totally and permanently dis-
abled and receive the maximum state bene-
fits. [n a 1998 study of partially disabled
workers who were injured in the early 1990s
in California, Robert Reville, a RAND Insti-
tute analyst, found that generally claimants
receive about 30 percent of their previous
income instead of the two-thirds that the
national commission had recommended.
“They try to return to work,” he says, “but
their condition makes it hard for them to
earn as much as before or to retain jobs.”

APPEALING AN INSURER'S DECISION

A claimant who has been denied a medical
treatment or wage-loss benefit has to
take his or her case to the state workers-
compensation board. That’s no simple
task. In Florida,
which supposedly has
a streamlined system,
claimants must first

... and businesses L

As a percentage of payroll, workers-compensation
costs for employers have fallen in recent years.

Workers Alliance, prod workers to accept
small lump-sum settlements rather than
fighting it out in court for doubttul rewards.
By contrast, there are no limits on what
insurance companies can pay their own
lawyers to defend them from claims.

Even when workers win, their benetits
may be cut off if they don't cooperate with
their insurer. John McKay, 48, of Monaca,
Pa, is a former journeyman bricklayer
who injured his knee and sustained nerve
damage in his legs when a scatfold collapsed
in 1992, He was declared permanently
impaired; he can’t walk well, and sitting for
any length of time is painful.

But in February 1997, Cigna, his insurer,
forced him to take a job with a telemarket-
ing company under a program the insurer
subsidized. Hearings last year before the
Pennsylvania Senate Labor and Industry
Committee revealed
that the businesses
involved failed to
determine whether

meet with an om- {525 : ’ disabled  workers
budsman who tries to 2.00 || 8 premium costs could actually per-
per $100 of payroll i J
work out the problem 175 { | M Benetts paid per \/ form the work,
2 3 5100 of payroll
with the insurance { 150 rarely gave much
company. [f that fails, 125 | ] training, and, after
there's a settlement 100 1" | | 1 six months, either

conference, and if that 173

I e

; Ared workers for

fails, a trial before an { 250 7
administrative judge. el B

Sources: Social Security Admin., Narional Academy of Socia Insurance
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Except for ombuds-
man meetings, the
procedures are legal affairs, generally
requiring depositions, testimony, and filing
fees. Pursuing a case may take years. When
the International Association of Industrial
Accident Boards and Commissions polled
states about how long it took for claims to
get from an application for a hearing to the
judge’s decision, only 13 states responded.
The average lag time ranged from 30 days in
Michigan to 1% years in lowa. According to
the California Compensation Institute, 43
percent of that state’s cases are still open
after 3Y years.

Many states limit workers-comp lawyers
to small fees. One aim, of course, is to keep
workers from being gouged. But the caps
also have had an unintended effect: further
prolonging the process.

In 28 states, insurers or state funds are
required to pay a worker’s legal bills if the
worker wins a dispute. The bills are so
small, says former Louisiana workers-comp
judge Aimee Johnson, “There’s not much
incentive for insurers to pav a claim without
challenging it.” And plenty of attorneys, says
Ernie Delmazzo of the Oregon [njured

were uncooperative.
McKay received only one half-hour of train-
ing, he says, but persevered for six months
by taking double his usual amount of pain
medications. When he stopped working at
his doctor’s request, Cigna would not
restore his benefits—though he got them
restored six months later. The insurer
declined to comment.

ONE-SIDED ATTACK ON FRAUD

In their reform laws, 18 states set up special
agencies to ferret out workers-comp fraud.
It’s important to crack down on cheaters;
they boost premiums and the cost of goods
and services for evervone. But most current
enforcement etforts are one-sided: In almost
all jurisdictions, the target is the claimant.
Yet fraud by medical providers and employers
is much more significant.

The Texas Research and Oversight
Council on Workers' Compensation found
that in 1996, fraudulent billing by doctors
and other health-care providers cost about
$1.2 million—more than eight times the
$134,000 in phony worker claims that were
uncovered. [n Florida, a 1997 grand jury
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rep und that about 13 percent of a
sampling of the state’s businesses carried
no workers-comp coverage, even though
most are legally required to do so. Florida,
Minnesota, Arkansas, and California have
started efforts to prosecute employer fraud,
but in many states it's not a priority.
Claimant fraud is a felony, but a company’s
failure to carry workers-comp insurance
may be only a misdemeanor.

These days, medical costs, which held
steady in the early 1990s, have started spiking
again. And as in their lush years, workers-
comp carriers have allowed claims-handling
expenses to steadily increase while cutting
rates too far to cover them, according to a
1999 report on the workers-comp industry
by Conning & Co., the research firm. Em-
ployers are paying about 20 percent less
than they should be, says Hartwig of the
Insurance Information Institute,

Insurance companies are again saying
that unless something gives, premiums will
rise. “Reform,” says lobbyist Oxfeld, “is by no
means at an end.”

RECOMMENDATIONS
Workers deserve more help from the workers-
compensation system than they e getting.

The Occupational Safetv and Health
Administration should persist in its enforce-
ment and regulatory etforts to make the
workplace safer. The easiest way to keep
workers-comp premiums and benefits low
Is to cut on-the-job accidents and illnesses.

Congress should revive standards set by
the National Commission on State Work-
men’s Compensation Laws, which, among
other things, asked that benefit caps be
raised to 100 percent of each state’s average
weekly wage.

States should audit their workers-comp
systems to see whether they're too restrictive.
States should also tighten deadlines for deci-
sions and fine parties that delay, to discour-
age “starve out” tactics. Workers who receive
good prompt treatment are less likely to be
permanently impaired.

Workers should contact their state labor
department to see if their employers have
workers-compensation insurance, if there's
any doubt. When considering a job, they
should ask if the company offers group private
long-term disability insurance. Consumers
can also buy long-term disability insurance
on their own.

If you become injured on the job, imme-
diately report the circumstances and date in
writing to your employer and get a receipt.

For more information on workers comp,
visit www.aflcio.org/safery/comp.htm. @

SESSLES

Vehicles and equipment

»'91, '93-94 DaimlerChrysler minivans
Liftgate could drop suddenly and unexpectedly,
possibly injuring anyone in its path.

Modes: 1.8 million minivans made 8/90-6/94. including Chrysier
Town & Country; Dodge Caravan and Grand Caravan; and Ply-
mouth Voyager and Grand Voyager.

What to do: Have dealer inspect and, if necessary, install larg-
er washers on bolts that attach liftgate supports.

Household products |
»Gap and Old Navy children’s pajamas
Garments may be neither flame-resistant nor self-extin-
quishing if fabric ignites, in violation of federal flamma-
bility standards.

Products: 231,000 garments sold 8/99-12/99 at Gapkids, babyGap,
Gap Qutlet, and Ofd Navy stores for about $20 to $40. Six styles of
pajamas &re subject to recall, including the following:

Style 353558 2-piece flannel pajama sets with long sleeves and
pants, and buttons in front. Sets came in yellow with penguin
print or navy with bear print. Labeled "Gap” and "100% poly-
ester” Sold in sizes 2 through 14. Style 353554 Like 353558, but
in fleece material. Came in white, blue, and pink with snowflake
print.

Style 466291: I-piece fleece footed pajama with zipper front and
long sleeves. Came in navy with white star print. Labeled
“babyGap” and "100% polyesier” Soid in infant and toddler
sizes XS through 3XL.

Style 674060: 2-piece button-front top with long sieeves and
long pants. Came in lavender or blue with white piping around
pani cuff; shirt has piping around collar, front placket, and cuff.
Labeled "0ld Navy” and "100% polvestar” Sold in infant sizes
o ta 12 months througn toddler sizes 27 to 3T.

Style 733002 T-piece fleece footed palama w Ipper iront
and long sieeves. Came tn blue witn wnite snowrlake print,
Labeled "babybap” and 100% polyester.” Soid in infant and tod-
dler sizes XS throuah 4XL. Style 733032 Like 733002, but in
black-ana-white pony print and cheetah print. Labeled “baby-
Gap” and “100% polyester.” Sold in infant and toadier sizes XS
through 3XL.

What to do: Return garment to any Gap or Old Navy store for
refund plus S10 gift certificate. For information. call Gao at 800
427-1895 or 800 653-6289, or visit www.gap.com or www.old-
navy.com.

*Sunbeam, Hankscraft, and SunMark
“glow in the dark” humidifiers
Pose fire hazard.

Products: 560,000 humidifiers sold 3/95-12/97 at discount
department stores and drugstores for 58 to $15. Sunbeam units
came with 1-gallon, 1.5-gallon, or 2-gallon tank and have service
numbers 644 through 646 written on back of motor housing.
Hankscraft models came with 1.2-qallon, 1.7-gallon, or 2.5-gal-
lon tank and have service numbers 1260 through 1262 on inside
of piastic motor housing. SunMark humidifiers came with 1.2-
gallon tank and have service number 1260 on inside of motor
heusing. Suspect units have date code 1001 through J226
stamped on electrical plug. Units are white with green, blue, or
rust-colored cavers. Brand name is written on plastic cover.
What to do: Call Sunbeam at BOO 440-4668 to learn how to
return humidifier to company for free replacement, or visit
www.sunbeam.com.

FOR MORE | 7o report 2 dangerous

-vehicle or auto product,
Information call the National Highway

. Traffic Safety Administration at 800 424-9393. To

report @ dangerous household product, call the Con-
sumer Product Safety Commission at 800 638-277Z,
then press 1, followed by 777. Past recalls are available
free in searchable form at Consumer Reports Online,
at www.CorsumerReports.org.
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STATE OF KANSAS

L. CANDY RUFF
REPRESENTATIVE FORTIETH DISTRICT
LEAVENWORTH COUNTY
321 ARCH
LEAVENWORTH, KANSAS 66048
(913) 682-6390

COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

RANKING MINORITY MEMBER: COMMERCE & LABOR

MEMBER: FEDERAL AND STATE
AFFAIRS

WILDLIFE, PARKS &
TOURISM

STATE CAPITOL, ROOM 278-W TOPEKA
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66612-1504
(785) 296-7647 HQOUSE OF

E-MAIL: Ruff@house,state.ks.us
REPRESENTATIVES

To: House Commerce and Labor Commuittee
From: Rep. L. Candy Ruff

Re: HB 2654

When our Commerce and Labor Committee started meeting earlier this Session, we heard of the current status
of the Kansas Workers Compensation program. Where the 1993 Legislative Session faced annual worker
compensation premium Increases from 10 to 20 percent, Kansas employers in 2006 were pleased to learn NCCI
had recommended a two percent decease. When Kansas companies shopped for worker compensation coverage
in 1993 only a handful of insurance companies were willing to write policies. This year our Kansas Department
of Insurance reports well over 200 companies eager to do business in Kansas. That might have something to do
with the profits they can make. The Dole Institute at Fort Hays State reported not long ago that insurance
companies writing worker compensation policies in Kansas enjoyed profits that ranked fourth in the nation.

Qome statistics, however, never change. Whether 1993 or 2006, medical costs continue to drive the worker
compensation engine in Kansas. Accounting for 50 to 60 percent of the premium costs, prescription drugs and
medical procedures manage to almost double in price from year to year. We see it in our employee health
insurance premiums and we see it in our worker compensation premiums as well. When it comes to indemnity
costs that include benefits, lawyers and court proceedings, the impact on premiums remains constant from
decade to decade. Chief among the reasons is this: Benefits to injured workers are 48" in the nation.

Our committee’s new vice chairman said at the start of the Session that despite the lack of a crisis situation 1n
worker compensation today, the 1ssues before us this year would center on what is good state policy. I agree,
Rep. Schwab, because the compensation given injured workers in Kansas is a disgraceful state policy. And that
is why I asked for legislation to increase benefits. HB 2654 would first increase the weekly benefit injured
workers receive while recuperating from injures suffered on the job. This bill increases from 66 to 75 percent of
the state’s average weekly wage. My proposal would also raise the minimum weekly benefit for low-income
workers from $25 to $100 a week, realizing the special circumstances surrounding the lives of workers living so
near poverty. In addition, my proposal eliminates the cap paid to those who are permanently and totally
disabled. Only four states cap these benefits and the other three top out at nearly a half million dollars compared
to Kansas at $125,000. How cruel it is for someone so dreadfully injured to face the future unable to work and
devoid of benefits because they ran out. We can do better in Kansas.

It was also my intention to get rid of the Fletcher Bell provision in our worker compensation law. Capped at
$50,000 for permanent partial disability, this amendment was motivated by a settlement given the former
insurance commissioner. Although not included in this bill, it is my intention to offer an amendment when this
bill is worked.
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AL consider what is good state policy in the Kansas Workers Compensation program, it is my hope th x
committee and later our fellow House members accept an increase in benefits for injured workers. Other than
the death benefit increase from $125,000 to $250,000 granted six years ago, workers compensation benefits
have not been adjusted since 1987. That nearly 19 years ago. It’s time to do a better job of compensating injured

workers in Kansas.



The Changing Value of Workers Compensation Benefit Caps
Testimony presented to the House Commerce and Labor Committee

By Patricia Oslund, Policy Research Institute, University of Kansas
February 9, 2006

Chairman Dahl and Members of the Commuittee:

Good morning. My name is Pat Oslund, and I am a Research Economist at the University of
Kansas Policy Research Institute. We at the Institute were contracted by the Kansas Coalition for
Workplace Safety to provide background information about how changing economic conditions
have affected the value of Workers Compensation Benefit Caps. The testimony that I present
today consists of my own findings, and does not represent the position of the University of
Kansas or any other parties.

Several benefits provided by Workers Compensation have an absolute dollar cap, or an absolute
maximum payout. For example, the cap on payments for permanent total disability is $125,000,
as it has been since 1987. Fortunately, most workplace injuries do not disable the worker to the
extent that the cap levels are reached. But unfortunately, benefit caps become effective in the
most serious cases. And unfortunately the benefit cap amounts have not kept pace with changing
economic conditions.

There are two ways in which we can try to estimate the impact of changing economic conditions
on the value of benefit cap amounts. One method is to examine the impact of inflation.

You all have heard about the Consumer Price Index, which is reported in the news every month.
The CPI is used to measure the purchasing power of a dollar in different time periods. To take
an example, if the CPI was 100 in 1983 and 200 today, then inflation would have 100 percent
between the two years, and you would need 200 dollars today to buy what you could have gotten
for $100 back in 1983, or to have the same purchasing power.

What you may or may not know is that there is not a single CPI, but rather several, covering
different geographic areas and different groups of consumers. The CPI that comes closest to
representing Kansas workers is called the Kansas City CPI for wage earners and clerical
workers. Table 1 in your report shows inflation calculated using various price indexes. Table 2
shows the dollar amounts that you would need today to have the same purchasing power as
provided by the worker comp benefit caps back when they last were adjusted. For example,
today it would take over $205,000 to buy the same goods and services that you could get for
$125,000 back in 1987.

Another method of viewing the impact of changing economic conditions on workers
compensation caps is to look at wage growth. The inflation and the wage growth methods are not
completely different, because inflation IS the major contributor to wage growth. But wage
growth also reflects changing productivity, changing competitive positions, and other factors.
Changes in the maximum weekly benefit allowed under Workers Compensation already are tied
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to wage growth. But the total cumulative amounts that an injured worker can receive have
remained unchanged over long periods of time.

Table 3 shows what worker compensation caps would look like today if they had grown at the
same rate as average Kansas wages. The rational for this is that Worker Compensation benefits
are intended to replace lost wages. We see, for example, that the benefit cap for total permanent
disability, set at $125,000 back in 1987, would be $228,000 today if it had kept pace with wage

growth.

Regardless of which method we use, it is clear that the value of worker comp cap amounts have
not kept up with economic trends.



The Eroding Value of Workers Compensation Benefit Cap Levels

A report prepared for the
Kansas Coalition for Workpiace Safety
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The Declining Value of Workers Compensation Benefit Cap Levels

This report addresses the effect of price inflation on the purchasing power of Workers
Compensation Benefits. Worker compensation benefits depend on factors such as the extent of a
worker’s wage level and the extent of his injuries. However, benefits are capped at fixed dollar
amounts. Benefit caps are not adjusted on a regular basis. As each year goes by, the maximum
allowable benefits go less and less far towards supporting an injured worker and her family.

In this report, we look at two possible methods of valuing maximum benefit caps. One approach
looks at what could be purchased by a worker whose injuries and wages warrant compensation at
one of the maximum benefit levels. How have price changes affected the purchasing power of a
worker’s payments? To complete this analysis, we examine several alternative price adjustment
measures provided by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)'. A second approach looks at
wages; what would benefit caps look like today if they had grown by the same rate as Kansas
average wages per employee?

Method 1: Purchasing Power Adjustment

We all experience the impact of inflation in our daily lives. Inflation produces winners and
losers; one couple may retire comfortably on the proceeds of a home that has risen in value.
Another couple may drift into poverty as the purchasing power of a fixed pension erodes.
Inflation hits hardest on those whose income or benefits are defined in fixed dollar terms that are
not adjusted over time. People who depend on benefits that have been capped under Kansas
Workers Compensation provisions are a good example of this hardest hit group.

How to measure changes in the value of a dollar

When prices change, the purchasing power of a dollar changes accordingly. If people purchased
only one good, say bread, measuring the purchasing power of a dollar would be easy: it simply
would be the amount of bread that could be purchased with a dollar. But real people purchase an
array of hundreds of goods and services. Furthermore, people purchase these goods and services
in different proportions: for some people, gasoline is 20 percent of their weekly expenditures; for
others it is only 5 percent. Hence there is no perfect measure of the value of a dollar or of the
“cost of living.”

However, the BLS calculates approximations of the cost of living, published as the often cited
Consumer Price Index, or CPL. And in fact, there is not a single CPIL, but rather several CPIs,
each of which depends on the population group whose expenditure patterns are tracked.
Examples of price indexes include:

all urban residents in the US (the most commonly used CPI)

all urban wage earners and clerical workers in the US

urban residents in the Midwest

urban wage earners and clerical workers in the Midwest

urban residents in the Kansas City Area (no other Kansas areas are included by BLS)

urban wage earners and clerical workers in the Kansas City Area.



BLS price indexes are computed as the ratio between the weighted average of prices in the
current time period to prices at some historical base time period (1982-1984 1s used as the base
for the CPI). By definition, the index is 100 in the base period. If the Consumer Price Index were
200 today, this would mean that prices on average had doubled since the base period. Inflation is
calculated as the percentage change in a price index. Table 1 below shows several commonly
used price indexes and the inflation that is computed from them.

Table 1: Price Indexes and Inflation

Index Name Index- Index- Index- Index- Inflation Inflation Inflation
July July July Dec. 1987- 1993- 2000-
1987 1993 2000 2005 2005 2005 2005

CPI-All Urban Consumers 113.8 1444 172.8 196.8 72.9% 36.3% 13.9%

CPI-All Urban Consumers- 112.3 140.0 168.8 189.7 68.9% 35.5% 12.4%
Midwest

CPI-All Urban Consumers- 111.5 137.5 165.0 187.3 68.0% 36.2% 13.5%
Kansas City

CPI-Urban Wage Eamers and 1127 142.1 169.4  192.5 70.8% 35.5% 13.6%
Clerical Workers

CPI-Urban Wage Earners and 1104 137.2  165.1 185.1 67.7% 34.9% 12.1%
Clerical Workers-Midwest

CPI-Urban Wage Eamers and 108.6 1335 159.5 178.6 64.5% 33.8% 12.0%

Clerical Workers-Kansas City

As can be seen in Table 1, all of the listed priced indexes follow the same general pattern.
However, prices have risen less rapidly in Kansas City and in the Midwest than they have in the
nation as a whole. Similarly, prices based on the expenditure patterns of wage eamers and
clerical workers have risen less rapidly than prices based on the expenditures of all urban

consumers.

In the calculations that follow, we rely on the CPI for Kansas City wage earners and clerical
workers. The definition of this group most closely matches the characteristics of those who may
become eligible for Kansas Workers Compensation benefits. It would be straightforward to
change our calculations to make use of a different index; however this would not change our
overall conclusions.

Adjusting benefits for inflation

Several workers compensation benefits are subject to a maximum capped level. Caps for total
disability, partial disability, and temporary total disability have not been adjusted since 1987.
The functional only cap has been set at $50,000 since 1993, and the death benefit cap has been
set at its current level of $250,000 since 2000.



As can be seen in Table 2 below, substantial increases in Workers Compensation benefit caps
would be necessary to bring the purchasing power of the benefits back to what they were when
the caps were established. To put this in human terms, a worker in 1987 could have heated his
home for a month, purchased 5 pounds each of bananas and hamburger, brought home 5 half-
gallons of ice cream, and filled his car twice--all for under $100°. Today, the heating bill alone
would be over $100. Averaged over all of the goods a typical worker buys, prices are almost 65
percent higher than they were in 1987.

Table 2: Capped (Maximum) Benefits Adjusted for Inflation as of Dec. 2005

Capped Benefit Maximum Date Last Inflation Based Adjusted
Amount ($) Adjusted on KC CPI Amount ($)
Permanent Total Disability 125,000 July, 1987 64.5% 205,625
Permanent Partial Disability 100,000 July, 1987 64.5% 164,500
Temporary Total Disability 100,000 July, 1987 64.5% 164,500
Functional Only 50,000 July, 1993 33.8% 66,900
Death 250,000 July, 2000 12.0% 280,000

Source: Data from BLS (see endnote 1). Calculations by PRI, University of Kansas.

Method 2: Average Wage Adjustment

So far, we have examined the effect of consumer price changes on the value of Workers
Compensation benefits. This section takes an alternative approach, asking “what would benefit
caps look like if they had kept pace with average wage changes?” It is true that the single biggest
factor behind changes in the average wage is price changes, so the price and wage approaches
will give somewhat similar results. However, wage changes also reflect such factors as changes
in productivity and collective bargaining agreements.

Each year, the Kansas Department of Labor’ computes a statewide average weekly wage. This
statewide average is used to peg maximum weekly Workers Compensation benefits—at two-
thirds of the Kansas average wage per worker. But while wage growth is reflected in the growth
of maximum weekly benefits, it does not affect benefit caps. As wages rise and caps remain
constant, this means that many injured workers will reach their benefit caps in fewer weeks.

Table 3 below shows the adjustments that would be necessary in order for benefit caps to keep
pace with the growth of wages in Kansas. We find that adjustments based on wage growth would
be somewhat higher than adjustments based on changes in the Kansas City CPL



Table 3: Benefits Caps Compared with Growth of Kansas Average Wages

Capped Benefit Maximum Date Last Growth in Adjusted

Amount ($) Adjusted Kansas Av. Amount ($)

Wage through
2005

Permanent Total Disability 125,000 July, 1987 82.4% 228,000
Permanent Partial Disability 100,000 July, 1987 82.4% 182,400
Temporary Total Disability 100,000 July, 1987 82.4% 182,400
Functional Only 50,000 July, 1993 49.2% 74,600
Death 250,000 July, 2000 16.5% 291,250

Source: Wage data from Kansas Department of Labor (see endnote 3).
Calculations by PRI, University of Kansas.

Summary

We have examined the impact of fixed maximum benefit caps using two different methods.
Under method 1, we used the CPI for wage earners and clerical workers for Kansas City to
measure inflation. We found that benefits that were capped in 1987 would need to increase by
about 65 percent to adjust for inflation; benefits that were capped in 1993 would need to increase
by about 34 percent, and benefits capped in 2000 by about 12 percent.

Under method 2, we used data from the Kansas Department of Labor to measure changes in the
average wage level. We estimated how much benefit caps would need to change in order to track
wage growth. We found that benefits that were capped in 1987 would need to increase by about
82 percent to match wage growth; benefits that were capped in 1993 would need to increase by
about 49 percent to match wage growth, and benefits capped in 2000 by about 17 percent.

The two methods differ somewhat in their exact dollar estimates. However, they both tell the
same story—that maximum Workers Compensation benefits have eroded substantially over time.

' Data for Consumer Price Indexes are published by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics and are available on the BLS
Web site: http://www.bls.gov/cpi/home.htm (02/08/2006).

? Data on prices for specific items are published By the US Bureau of Labor Statistics in its “Average Price Data”
series. We used data for Kansas City where available and data for the Midwest Region otherwise.
http://www.bls.gov/cpifhome.htm (02/08/2006).

? Data on average wages are calculated by the Kansas Department of Labor. Historical data from 1993-2005 are
published on the KDL website: http://www.hr state ks.us/we/html/wecurrent ALL.html (02/08/2006). Additional
historical data were received directly from KDL.




TESTIMONY IN SUPPORT OF
HOUSE BILL 2654

BY
FRANKE STRAUB
5983 S.W. 30™ TERRACE
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66614

February 9, 2006

Thank you Chairman Dahl and Members of the Committee. My name is Franke Straub. I was
injured on August 18, 2004, while working at Alma Foods in Alma, Kansas. Iinjured my neck, back
and right arm on August 18, 2004, while lifting a heavy piece of machinery. Since September 29, 2004,
I have received temporary total disability benefits in the amount of $449.00 per week. I am still
receiving medical treatment, and the doctors are now talking about the possibility of surgery on my
neck.

Prior to the injury, I was earning over $800.00 per week. Since my injury, I have been forced
to endure not only the stress of not being able to work and the pain associated with my injury, I have
also been forced to endure the added stress of trying to live and pay my bills on about half of my normal
income. Due to the severe reduction of my income, several of my bills are way behind, and I am
looking at the possibility of bankruptcy. Ihave had to sell some of my possessions just to make ends
meet, and if it was not for my fiancé allowing me to stay at her house, I would not be able to make ends
meet at all.

Additionally, even though temporary total disability benefits have been ordered since
September 29, 2004, the insurance company routinely is late with my checks. At times, they have been
up to three weeks behind. Sometimes the checks will arrive on time for a couple weeks, and then the
next check is a week or two late. This has happened as a regular course ever since September 29, 2004.
Something needs to be done to correct this abuse by the insurance company. How would you be able
to pay your bills if you never knew when you would get a paycheck? Not only has my income been
cut in half, through no fault of my own, I also never know when I am going to get even that half.

Due to my injury to my neck, back and arm, and the resultingatrophy and loss of strength in
my right hand, I will never be able to return to my prior occupation as an electrician/mechanic. In
addition to being forced to live on approximately half of my normal income, I will have to figure out
some way to earn a living after I have been released by the doctors. Right now, I understand that my
benefits potentially available to me are capped at $100,000.00, including the temporary total disability
I have been paid and what I will receive for my permanent disability. I have lost my ability to earn
wages in the labor market as a result of this injury which occurredthrough no fault of my own. Ido
not have any educational training other than that of an electrician. I cannot work as an electrician,
because of this injury. Ido not know how I will ever be able to earn any wages anywhere close to what
I was earning before. This injury will affect my ability to work for the rest of my life, but Tam capped



by law at $100,000. Over the 415 weeks that my compensation is based on, if I could have continued
to work earning $800 per week, I would have made $332,000. This result is simply just wrong. No one
in their right mind would want to be in the workers compensation system. It seems to me that Kansas
employers, especially the corporations and the large insurance companies, are recording record profits
at the expense of the suffering of Kansas workers and their families. You have the power to make
changes necessary to treat Kansas workers fairly, and I urge you to do so. I also understand that Kansas
has some of the lowest benefits in the Nation. I believe the way Kansas workers compensation law
treats the hardworking employees in Kansas is wrong.

While the changes in benefits proposed by House Bill No. 2654 will not help me, I believe that
the changes are appropriate and long overdue. I would urge you to vote in favor of this bill and to stand

up for injured workers and their families in the State of Kansas. I will be watching how this Committee
treats injured workers as will the 500,000 members of the Kansas Coalition For Workplace Safety.

Thank you for allowing me to testify.

teststraubfranke2-9-06.wpd



TESTIMONY TO HOUSE COMMITTEE ON COMMERCE AND LABOR

RE: HOUSE BILL NO: 2654

Good Morning. My name is Doug Allen. I live in Spring Hill, Kansas. I am a workers’
compensation victim. [ am an injured worker and not an employer. I am here today to
discuss the very substandard benefits provided to injured workers in this State. I have
reviewed House Bill No. 2654 and appreciate that it provides for an increase in benefits
currently being paid. I want you to understand that these changes are insufficient to meet

the needs of injured workers in Kansas.

Like many other workers’ compensation claimants, I live and work in Kansas. I have a
family which I am raising in Kansas. My daughter goes to school in Kansas and my
family goes to church in Kansas. I pay taxes in Kansas. I always assumed that if injured
on the job, the laws in Kansas would protect me and my family. Then I was injured on

the job and learned how a work related injury could affect me and my family.

[ injured my shoulder, low back and both knees in accidents which occurred in
September and October of 2004. My employer did not notify its workers’ compensation
insurance company in a timely manner but, rather, told me to go to a doctor if I
absolutely needed to and charge it to my health insurance. I went to a doctor who
performed surgery on one of my knees. The result has not been very good but [ was

supposed to have surgery on the opposite knee. Authorization has been withheld.

Although my employer finally notified its’ workers’ compensation insurance company of
my claim eventually and medical care was provided for my back and shoulder, medical
care was refused for my lower extremities. In order to obtain any relief I was forced to
retain the services of an attorney. We have fought for treatment for over seven (7)
months. I have been unable to work since May 30, 2005 and was terminated by my
employer on June 17, 2005 because I could no longer do my job. I have received no

compensation.
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I have been to two (2) hearings. Despite having an Order for medical care, the insurance
carrier has refused to provide it even though I have won both hearings ordering them to
provide medical treatment. There is no penalty in the workers’ compensation law if the
employer/insurance carrier fails or refuses to provide medical care they have been
ordered to provide. The administrative law judge now says I can go to any doctor I want
and the msurance company must pay but I’ve not been able to find an orthopedic surgeon

who will assume care under the circumstances.

My salary prior to these injuries was over $82,000.00 per year. I had fringe benefits
which made my salary worth more than $100,000.00 per year. I have been unable to
work, generate any income from farm work or obtain another job due to these injuries.
Even if [ had been receiving the maximum workers’ compensation benefits for this entire
time I would have received less than $13,500.00 or approximately twenty-eight percent
(28%) of my normal earnings during that period. I have lost my fringe benefits such as
vehicle expenses, 401k retirement and employer paid health insurance. I now pay about

$800.00 monthly.

I was a management employee. I may be more fortunate than many others. Ihad many
employees who worked for me who made only $12-$15/hr. With wages between $480 to
$600/wk., if they were paid temporary total disability, they would only receive $320 to
$400/wk. Could you or your family live on that? Those same employees, if they had to
go through what my family and I have been through, would have lost everything they had
and would be far in debt with no hope of ever recovering. If the disability was permanent
and bad enough, they would have no future nor would their families. These people do

not want to become wards of the state.

I understand House Bill No. 2654 does increases some benefits, however, a much more
realistic view should be taken. It is my understanding that there have been no changes in
the method of computation to determine weekly benefits since July 1, 1974. (At which
time it was determined the claimant’s weekly benefit would be based on two-thirds (2/3)

of his average weekly wage not to exceed sixty-five percent (65%) of the State’s average



weekly wage for the preceding year). Please consider a more significant change in the

law. Iknow the Coalition on Workplace Safety can provide you with statistics to show

how low Kansas benefits are compared to those provided in other states. Why is it

unreasonable to compute compensation on the injured workers actual wage?

The payment of benefits as the law is currently written can only cause the ruination of
injured workers in this state. Workers who are supporting families and who become
temporarily or permanently disabled cannot live on $467/week (the current maximum
payable in Kansas). I want to give my employer a full day’s work for a day’s pay. All I
and others want is fair compensation when our jobs disable us. Kansas law does not do

that now.

Please understand these injured workers are not only Republicans and Democrats but
members of our families and our friends and neighbors. We should not treat our friends

and neighbors this way.
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Testimony on HB 2654
to the House Commerce & Labor Committee

By Wil Leiker, Executive Vice President
Kansas AFL-CIO

February 9, 2006

My name is Wil Leiker, Executive Vice President of the Kansas AFL-CIO. I
am here to testify in support of HB 2654. The intent of HB 2654 is, in part, to
increase the weekly maximum compensation rate from its present level. This is
an important change for Kansas workers, particularly workers who are higher
wage earners. Under the current law, we are asking some workers to live on
50% or less of their weekly earnings when injured and unable to work. This 1s
unfair, since the intention of the workers compensation system is, in part, wage
replacement. As you have heard before, and as I am sure you appreciate, most
employed Kansans live from paycheck to paycheck when they are working and
supporting their families. A serious injury should not force them into
bankruptcy, or force them to sell assets to keep the family’s welfare intact.

You are aware of the 2005 NCCI report, which pictures the insurance industry
making high profits as well as the Docking Institute report from 2004, which
showed Kansas injured workers receiving benefits at a level near the very
bottom of all states in this country. Hopefully you are aware that this is a
change which is affordable, and necessary. It has often been stated that Kansas
is a low benefit state, and that employers enjoy low premiums. Kansas should
not be proud of the fact that their temporary total rate is the lowest in the five

. state region, particularly when the legislature knows how devastating this is to

injured workers. It is time to pass favorable legislation for Kansas working
families. It is difficult to comprehend how the system can considered
“balanced” when benefits in many areas have been frozen for almost two
decades. Obviously, any raise in benefits will have a minimal impact on
premiums. To ignore the existing unfairness of the system year after year
simply because of a potential increase in premiums is to turn our backs on the
Kansas workforce and their families.
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In addition, HB 2654 would raise the permanent total disability from the current $125,000.
Again, it is really sad that we are even here talking about this today, and debating it. There
simply are not that many permanent total cases, and you are talking about the most severely
injured workers. Again, we are only one of four states in the nation that does not pay lifetime
benefits for permanent total. Our caps have not been increased in 19 years, and the cost of this
change will have a minimal effect on premiums.

Thank you for allowing me to testify.



TESTIMONY IN SUPPORT OF
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Thank you Chairman Dahl and Members of the Committee. My name is Mark Block.
I suffered a work-related injury in a motor vehicle accident in Marion County, Kansas, on
May 16, 2001. As a result of the work-related injury I suffered burns to 55% of my body. As
a result of my injuries, I lost both of my legs.

I am here today on behalf of workers in the State of Kansas to ask that the Legislature
approve House Bill 2654. T also spoke in favor of House Bill 2317 last year which would have
raised benefits to injured workers.

Following my injury of May 16, 2001, which occurred through no fault of my own, I
received temporary total disability benefits in the amount of $401.00 per week which was the
maximum rate for May, 2001. Before my injury, my wages, which included benefits, were over
$700.00 a week. My family and I have been forced to live on the $401.00 a week maximum
which was a 43% pay reduction. This reduction of wages created a substantial hardship for my
family and myself, and in addition to the stress caused by the injury itself, my family and [ were
forced to endure the stress of trying to survive based on weekly payments of $401.00 per week
when we were used to having $700.00 plus a week to live on. The current system, which only
pays two-thirds of the injured worker’s wage up to 75% of the State maximum, is a slap in the
face to injured Kansas workers and hurts Kansas workers and their families.

While House Bill 2654, will not help me, it will make it easier for Kansas families to
survive the hardships created by a work-related injury. Increasing the temporary total disability
to 75% of the injured worker’s wage and increasing the max to 100% of the State average weekly
wage, is a step in the right direction. Under House Bill 2654, an injured worker would only
suffer a 25% pay reduction instead of the nearly 50% reduction my family and I were forced to
endure.

As a result of my injuries, I was deemed to be permanently and totally disabled, and my
benefits, including temporary total disability benefits, were limited to $125,000.00, which is
supposed to cover my permanent total disability for the rest of my life. Ialsounderstand that
Kansas benefits for permanent total disability are the absolute lowest in the Nation. This result
is wrong and needs to be changed. Again, this will have no impact on my situation; however,
hopefully, other Kansas workers and their families who find themselves in the same situation
will not have to go through the devastating impact that being injured in Kansas and permanently
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and totally disabled has on Kansas workers and their families. It is my understanding this bill
removes the cap on permanent total disability. Benefits would be paid for the duration of the
disability. This change would place Kansas workers and families in line with the majority of
States across the Country.

Additionally, I believe something needs to be done to correct abuses in the system by
insurance carriers and employers. At the present time, insurance carriers and employers can
simply disregard the Orders of the Administrative Law Judge in many instances and not be held
accountable. In my case, the insurance company continuously did not pay bills on time, was
routinely late with payment of temporary total disability benefits, and generally did not show
any consideration to the hardship that payment of mileage, temporary total disability, and other
bills in a late fashion caused upon me and my family. My attorney advises that everything
within the law was done to make those bills and payments be made on time; however, the law
does not have any penalties for the insurance carrier when they are inconsistent, late, and
dilatory in taking care of their obligations. This needs to be changed, and insurance companies
and employers need to be held accountable the same as injured workers are held accountable.
I even tried to file a claim for abusive practice or act by the insurance company; however, the
insurance department simply refused to get involved. This bill, as amended, would give the
Administrative Law Judge the power to enforce their Orders and to stop the delay and abuses
to the system by the insurance companies and employers.

As I stated in my testimony last year, I believe the Legislature should be responsible to
the people of the State of Kansas. Most of the people of the State of Kansas are employees of
some fashion, and most of those employees are voters in the State of Kansas. I would
respectfully request that the rights of Kansas workers and families, who are your constituents,
be foremost in the consideration of the Legislature.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to testify.
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Testimony before the Kansas House Commerce and Labor Committee
By Jeff Glendening, Vice President of Political Affairs

KANSAS

Thank you Mr. Chairman and members of the committee for this opportunity to
testify in opposition to HB 2654. My name is Jeff Glendening, and | am representing
the over 10,000 member businesses of The Kansas Chamber.

The Force for Business

The bill proposes a series of benefit increases within the workers compensation act.

835 SW Topeka Blvd. The Kansas Chamber’s opposition is based on the following observations.

e HB 2654 would prompt a massive increase in the cost of workers
compensation insurance, a cost paid exclusively by businesses in our state. |
do not know how large the impact would be, but it would be conservative to

Fax: 785-357-4732 estimate the workers compensation insurance increase to be in the tens of
millions of dollars.

e Kansas employers would be paying these higher costs in a workers
compensation environment where:

o little legal relief exists when workers aggravate a medical condition due
to a preexisting condition,

o Kansas continues to utilize a contentious “work disability”
compensation process,

o and where no steps are being taken to reduce the litigiousness of our
workers compensation law.

e HB 2654 removes a financial incentive that exists in our law today to
encourage return to work by injured employees. As a result, employer costs
will not just be increased workers compensation premiums, but also higher
expense to perform work not being done by employees off work on workers
compensation.

Topeka, KS 66612-1671

785-357-6321

E-mail: info@kansaschamber.org

www.kansaschamber.org

The Kansas Chamber would urge the Committee reject HB 2654. Thank you for the
opportunity to comment on the legislation before you today.

The Kansas Chamber, with headquarters in Topeka, is the statewide business advocacy group moving Kansas fowards
becoming the best state in America to do business. The Kansas Chamber and its affiliate organization, The Kansas
Chamber Federation, have more than 10,000 member businesses, including local and regional chambers of commerce
and trade organizations. The Chamber represents small, medium and large employers all across Kansas.
Oam m L Z aL or



KANSAS 825 S Kansas Avenue, Suite 500
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Written Testimony Re: HB 2654
Committee on Commerce and Labor
Presented by Tina N. Williams
on behalf of
Kansas Restaurant and Hospitality Association
and
Kansas Self-Insurers Association
February 9, 2006

Chairman Dahl and Members of the Committee:

My name is Tina Williams and I am the Claims Director for Kansas Restaurant and Hospitality
Association Self-Insurance Fund (KRHASIF). I am also on the Board of Directors of the Kansas Self-
Insurers Association (KSIA). KRHA is the professional association for restaurant, hotel, lodging and
hospitality businesses in Kansas and offers our members workers’ compensation insurance through a
self-insurance fund. Currently we insure approximately 500 employers who employ approximately
25,000 workers in the State of Kansas.

KRHASIF and KSIA oppose HB 2654. There are numerous employees in our industry who work
part-time and have less than $100 gross average weekly wage. The proposed changes would entitle
those injured in the course and scope of employment to earn more money as a result of an injury if the
minimum compensation rate is increased to the proposed $100 per week. If an injured employee is
earning more on workers’ compensation than he/she would earn working, there is little incentive for
an employee to return to work; therefore, significantly affecting the cost of claims, increasing
experience modifiers, increasing premiums, etc.

Workers’ compensation insurance is no-fault and pays benefits for work-related injuries, including
cases where negligence is a factor. Removing the permanent total cap would potentially cause
employers to pay for damages in instances where they have no fault. There are currently caps on
liability so why would we remove them from workers’ compensation?

An insured business pays insurance premiums based on their experience rating set by NCCI. Prior
history impacts the experience rating and removing the caps would result in an ambiguous / exorbitant
reserve for the unknown if the cap is removed. Employers will have a significant increase in the total
incurred for each claim, causing an increase in their experience rating, causing an increase in their
premiums.

Employers pay social security wages as well as workers® compensation insurance premiums.
Workers’ compensation gets no credit against Social Security and the employer pays for Social
Security creating a double expense to the employer.

Thank you for allowing me to express our concerns with HB 2654.

Tina N. Williams
Claims Director
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Chamber of Commerce

The Historic Lackman-Thompson Estate
11180 Lackman Road

Lenexa, KS 66219-1236
913.888.1414

Fax 913.888.3770

TN Rep. Don Dahl, Chair
Rep. Scott Schwab, Vice-Chair
Members, House Commerce Committee

FROM: Ashley Sherard, Vice-President
Lenexa Chamber of Commerce
DATE: February 9, 2006
RE: HB 2654 -- Workers Compensation Benefit Increases

The Lenexa Chamber of Commerce would like to express its concerns
regarding HB 2654, a bill that would significantly increase workers
compensation benefits.

First, proposed changes in HB 2654 would result in some workers
potentially earning more money during recovery from a workers
compensation injury than they would earn working, providing little
incentive for the employee to return to work. This disincentive would
likely lead to increased claim costs, increased experience modifiers, and

increased premiums.

Second, removing certain caps as proposed in HB 2654 would have
serious consequences. Because potential claim costs would be
unknown, it would create substantial ambiguity in the amount of
reserves to be charged. In addition, employers would potentially face
significant increases in claim costs, leading to increases in their
experience rating and increases in their premiums.

Lastly, businesses have faced particularly difficult economic challenges
in recent years. Increasing workers compensation benefits would
increase costs and add yet another burden on businesses at a time when
the economy is still struggling to rebound, discouraging the business
recovery that is key to providing jobs and producing economic growth.

For these reasons, the Lenexa Chamber of Commerce urges the
committee not to recommend HB 2654 favorable for passage. Thank
you for your time and attention to this important business issue.
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STATEMENT OF THE

KANSAS GRAIN & FEED ASSOCIATION

AND THE

KANSAS AGRIBUSINESS RETAILERS ASSOCIATION

SUBMITTED TO THE
HOUSE COMMERCE COMMITTEE
IN OPPOSITION TO HOUSE BILL 2654
REP. DON DAHL, CHAIR

FEBRUARY 9, 2006

KGFA & KARA MEMBERS ADVOCATE PUBLIC POLICIES THAT ADVANCE A SOUND ECONOMIC
CLIMATE FOR AGRIBUSINESS TO GROW AND PROSPER SO THEY MAY CONTINUE THEIR INTEGRAL
ROLE IN PROVIDING KANSANS AND THE WORLD THE SAFEST, MOST ABUNDANT FOOD SUPPLY.

816 SW Tyler, Topeka KS 66612 — 785-234-0441 - Fax: 785-234-2930
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Chairman Dahl and Members of the House Commerce Committee:

The Kansas Grain and Feed Association and the Kansas Agribusiness Retailers
Association are opposed to HB 2654. The KGFA is a voluntary state association
with a membership encompassing the entire spectrum of the grain receiving,
storage, processing and shipping industry in the state of Kansas. KGFA's
membership includes over 950 Kansas business locations and represents 99% of
the commercially licensed grain storage in the state. KARA's membership
includes over 700 agribusiness firms that are primarily retail facilities that supply
fertilizers, crop protection chemicals, seed, petroleum products and agronomic
expertise to Kansas farmers. KARA's membership base also includes ag-
chemical and equipment manufacturing firms, distribution firms and various
other businesses associated with the retail crop production industry.

Between 2001 and 2004, agribusiness saw work comp increases ranging from
17% to 105%. In order to keep their doors open, our members have had to lay
off workers. In the past two years, some rates have leveled off, while others
have continued to climb. HB 2654 would greatly exacerbate the rising cost of
work comp insurance.

This bill would increase the disability benefits and remove the cap, while doing
nothing to reform our work disability statute. While business groups, the
Governor and the House Democratic Caucus are all attempting fo find ways to
lower the cost of workers compensation, this bill would do the exact opposite.
Our members are having difficulty paying workers compensation insurance
today; this bill would make it even more difficult, likely resulting in layoffs.

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee, | urge you on behalf of the
members of KGFA and KARA and every small business struggling to provide
workers compensation insurance to defeat this proposal.



