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Date
MINUTES OF THE HOUSE HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Jim Morrison at 1:30 P.M. on Fébruary 13, 2006,
in Room 526-S of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:
Melissa Calderwood, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Mary Galligan, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Renae Jefferies, Revisor of Statutes’ Office
Gary Deeter, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Elmer Zerr, Zerr Engineering, Colby
Dale Owings, Penco Engineering, Plainville
Scott Heidner, American Council of Engineering Companies of Kansas
Tom Conley, Chief, Radiation and Asbestos Control Section, Kansas Department of
Health and Environment

Others attending:
See attached list (not available on electronic copy).

The minutes for February 9, 2006, were approved.

The Chair opened the hearing on HB 2715.

Elmer Zerr, Zerr Engineering, Colby, spoke as a proponent. (Attachment 1) He noted that
earlier legislation (SB 396) raised the fee for inspecting industrial portable gauges from $300 to
$800, the fee being assessed per entity or company, not per unit. He stated that the fee is
inequitable to small companies who own one unit when larger companies, owning numerous
units, pay the same fee. He commented that the bill will correct the disparity between large
companies and smaller ones.

Dale Owings, Penco Engineering, Plainville, testified in favor of the bill. (Attachment 2) He
said his firm operates in 18 counties in northwest Kansas, working on small projects, mostly
bridge repair. He explained that his contracts do not permit including gauge inspection as an
expense, requiring his firm to absorb the cost of inspections. He likewise recommended the
principle of structuring the fee per unit than per entity.

Scott Heidner, representing the American Council of Engineering Companies of Kansas, spoke
as a proponent. (Attachment 3) He said the 70 member firms support the per-unit fee schedule,
adding that the Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) must be properly
compensated for inspections, especially since inspections by the Nuclear Regulatory




Commission (NRC) would triple the fees. He offered to work with KDHE to find an acceptable
resolution that would be fair to the agency as well as to smaller and larger firms.

Mike Butler, Schwab-Eaton Civil Engineers, Manhattan, provided written testimony as a
proponent. (Attachment 4)

Tom Conley, Chief, Radiation and Asbestos Control Section, Kansas Department of Health and
Environment, (KDHE) said the agency was not opposed to the bill if the changes could be made
revenue-neutral, adding that without KDHE inspections, the federal government will assess
much higher fees for their inspections. (Attachment 5) He suggested $200 per unit to meet the
agency’s revenue requirements.

Conferees responded to members” questions: Mr. Heidner said 17 firms (out of 70) that he
represents would pay more, the remainder less, noting that a $200-per-unit increase would be an
exorbitant increase for larger firms. Mr. Conley replied that the inspection process includes not
only assessing the unit, but the procedures of use as well. He suggested alternatives, such as a
base charge plus a per-unit fee, or perhaps a lower and higher fee for under or over 5 units. Mr.
Heidner said the NRC assesses a per-company fee of $2500. He also suggested modifications
similar to Mr. Conley’s recommendation.

Susan Kang, Policy Director, KHDE, said the agency was willing to work with the engineers to
arrive an equitable resolution. The Chair received a commitment that Mr. Heidner, Ms. Kang,
and Mr. Conley would work out a satisfactory solution to bring back to the committee.

A fiscal note was provided for the committee. (Attachment 6)

The hearing was closed.

Staff Mary Galligan provided a briefing on HB 2829, a bill to regulate clinics and facilities
where office-based surgeries are performed. She said the bill enacts new law requiring the
Secretary of KDHE to develop rules and regulations regarding these clinics, noting that the bill is
similar to HB 2503 that passed the legislature last year, except that the latter addressed only a
sub-set—abortion clinics. This bill would cover any facility other than a licensed medical
facility where office-based surgeries are performed; the Secretary is enjoined to give
consideration to the Kansas Medical Society standards of care for clinics adopted by the Kansas
Board of Healing Arts, standards which the Board made permanent on February 11, 2006. She
stated that the bill sets forth enforcement procedures according to the Kansas Administrative
Procedures Act and establishes fines for noncompliance. The Secretary is required to conduct a
timely inspection upon receiving a complaint and submit the cost to the Board of Healing Arts
for reimbursement; the Board of Healing Arts likewise must forward complaints to the Secretary,
who must share pertinent information with the Board of Healing Art and the Board of Nursing.

Representative Bethell requested the committee consider for passage HB 2649, commenting that
he had worked with the Kansas Medical Society, the Kansas Association of Osteopathic
Medicine, and other interested parties to amend the bill to eliminate opposition to it. Members
discussed the best way to adopt the bill and its amendments. (Attachment 7)1‘eﬂects the



amendments.) Jerry Slaughter, Executive Director, Kansas Medical Society, commented that
one section was changed to reflect legislative intent rather than appearing to create a legal duty
or right; another made the enforcement section consistent with the Healing Arts Act; another
removed language that might be construed as assisted suicide. No action was taken on the bill.

The Chair opened discussion of HB 2342 — allowing determination and pronouncement of death
by ARNPs and RNs in adult care homes and licensed hospice facilities. A motion was made and
seconded to change and to or in line 14; the motion passed.

Another motion was made and seconded to insert physician assistants where appropriate in the
bill. The motion passed.

A motion was made and seconded to recommend the bill favorably as amended. Members
discussed various issues raised by the bill. One member expressed concern that the

pronouncement of death by an employee might limit rights of redress for the family of the
deceased. A member commented that the bill establishes in statute what is already common
practice and that issues of abuse of a resident are outside the parameters of the bill.

A motion to change the word employee to acting within the scope of their duties was, after
discussion, withdrawn.

The motion passed.

The Chair adjourned the meeting. The next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, February 14,
2006.



HOUSE HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE
GUEST LIST

DATE: FeZamar/\/ 13 opl

NAME REPRESENTING
Dale Ouwinas Pence E—*’\&a‘necf?'ﬂ
/ﬁe.g\ﬁ/ﬂ AC(_CC /(/ar\j;;
E/ma»«. ek, Zell EwnmecK ne
e m m Conles LD N
/'/arwb KD/’/G " i .
/ UM /412 XMMM
| émolwf Qw:f/caf i A éam/ Fron
Q\)\‘)uﬁ/kh 3
nd Ppm/}
. ’)ﬁé&ww %cc_ :// /435/7 57//44,44 Méﬁ%




ZERR ENGINEERING

PH: 785-462-6992 P.O. BOX 889 1000 E. 4TH
COLBY, KANSAS 67701-0889

Health and Human Services Committee
525-S
Kansas Legislature

Dear Chairman and Committee Members:

| wish to go on record that | support House Bill No. 2715 as published. At the present time,
the annual licensing fee for an Industrial portable gauge (R., Page 4 of Bill) is $800.00.
The fee, as authorized by Senate Bill 396, is assessed per entity or company, not per unit
owned. Our company's particular portable unit is a device which is primarily used in quality
assurance testing of soil, bituminous pavement, and/or concrete slab densities on construction
projects. Small consulting engineering firms and/or testing laboratories will generally own a
single portable unit, but are subject to the same fees as large firms, who may own several
portable units. The State of Kansas, primarily the Kansas Department of Transportation, does
indeed own or lease many of these portable units, and is quite possibly the largest benefactor of
the existing license fee structure. The annual licensing fee has increased at a rather quick
pace, from $300 in 2002-2004 to $800 in 2005. A review of our records indicates that our unit
(Troxler Model Series 3400) was purchased in May, 1994 for $4,550.00. At the existing fee
rate, the unit will essentially be re-purchased every six (6) years! The current annual fee is also
more than four (4) times the annual renewal fees paid for my land surveyor's license in Kansas
and my engineer's licenses in Kansas, Oklahoma, Colorado, and Kansas combined.

The proposed bill does not suggest the licensing fees be abolished, merely revised.
House Bill No. 2715 bases the fees on a payment per unit. The redistributing of the fees to a
per unit basis is viewed as a much more equitable method of assessment since all entities
will contribute proportionally.

Thank you for your attention.

Elmer G. Zerr, P.E.

Zerr Engineering

P.O. Box 889

1000 East Fourth St.

Colby, Kansas 67701-0889
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February 15, 2006

Health and Human Services Committee
525-S
Kansas Legislature

Re: House Bill 2715
Dear Chairman and Committee Members:

I wish to thank you for the opportunity to testify on behalf of HB 2715 on Monday,
February 13, 2006. The testimonies provided at the Committee meeting require some
additional comments. Although the Kansas Department of Health and Environment
(KDHE) does not oppose the change of the fee structure for industrial portable gauges
from the existing per entity basis to the proposed per unit basis, they do not concur with
the amount ($25/unit), since this would cause an annual departmental revenue shortfall of
some $83,000. In order to remain revenue neutral, a fee of $200/unit would be required.
The alternative is for KDHE to terminate their agreement with the Nuclear Regulatory
Commission (NRC), resulting in federal administration of the program at a cost of
$2,500/ year per entity. Compared to the existing $800/entity fee structure, the $200/unit
offers greater parity for the small firms. The proposed fee would not adversely affect any
entity owning and/or controlling less than five (5) units. Based on KDHE data, most of
the entities own and/or control four (4) units or less.

The KDHE proposal would affect the entities which own and/or control large numbers of
units. The existing fee structure has allowed the larger companies a substantial monetary
advantage for many years. Most of the “large unit owners” are located in the large
metropolitan areas and are national or international companies. The percentage of the
restructured fees versus total annual revenue would still be less for the large entities than
that of the small firms. Although Colby is located in a rather isolated area of the State,
and considered a fuel/meal stop by many on their way to the ski slopes, it is home to
some of us. Other than KDOT Area offices, the unit we have is the only portable gauge
within an eighty (80) mile radius. If we were to discontinue providing testing services of
the machine, the nearest replacement would be Plainville (100 miles east), Hays (105
miles east-southeast), or Garden City (100 miles south). For example, a hospital or
library construction project located in Saint Francis, Goodland, Atwood, Oberlin, Oakley,
etc., with specifications requiring field soils density testing, would realize a substantial
increase in drive-time alone, thus increasing project costs.

I ask that the Committee consider the $200/unit fee as suggested by KDHE.

Thank you.

Elmer G. Zerr, PE

[~



Office (785) 434-4611
(785) 434-2145
Fax (785) 434-4612

PENCO ENGINEERING, P.A.

P. 0. Box 392 - 711 NW 3rd St. (K-18 Hwy)
Plainville, Kansas 67663

Dale K. Owings, P.E. Jerol I. DeBoer, P.E.
President Secretary/Treasurer

February 9, 2006

Health and Human Services Committee
525-S
Kansas Legislature

Re: House Bill No. 2715
Dear Chairman and Committee Members:

I would like to go on the record in support of House Bill No. 2715 as published. The
current annual licensing fee for an industrial portable gauge is $800.00 annually.
Previously, we had been paying $300 for a two year renewal.

Our company is a small consulting engineering firm that uses the portable gauge to test
soil and bituminous mixtures for density. During some years, we have several projects
that require the use of the gauge while other years we use the gauge very little.

The initial cost of our last portable gauge was $4450. The current renewal fee of $800
will pay for a new gauge in 6 years. The flat rate renewal fee for each entity appears to
benefit large organizations such as KDOT and large testing firms that only conduct
material testing. Small engineering consulting firms are burdened by a fee, when in fact
we have a small percentage of the market. The larger organizations have a larger share of
the testing market and a better ability to pay the fee.

I feel an appropriate fee is in order, one that is equitable with companies large and small.
House Bill No. 2715 bases the fee on the number of machines, which I believe levels the
playing field for all.

Sincerely,

Dale K. Owings, PE
Penco Engineering

Box 392

711 NW Third St.
Plainville, Kansas 67663

PROFESSIONAL ENGINEER — LAND SURVEYOR - LICENSED IN KANSAS AND NEBRASKA
Road, Street and Bridge Design Airport and Land Surveys Water and Sewer Design
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Affiliated with:
American Council of Engineering Companies

Kansas Society of Professional Engineers

AMERICAN COUNCIL OF ENGINEERING COMPANIES National Society of Professional Engineers

of Kaunsas Professional Engineers in Private Practice
TESTIMONY
TO: HOUSE HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE
FROM: SCOTT HEIDNER, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
AMERICAN COUNCIL OF ENGINEERING COMPANIES OF KS
RE: HB 2175
DATE: FEBRUARY 13, 2006

Mr. Chairman, members of the committee, thank you for the opportunity to appear today as a supporter of HB 2175.
My name is Scott Heidner, and I serve as the Executive Director of the American Council of Engineering Companies
of Kansas (ACEC Kansas). ACEC Kansas represents approximately 70 private consulting engineering firms em-
ploying thousands of Kansans.

HB 2175 remedies a licensure fee inequity that has developed over the last three years. Most of our member firms
have material density gauges, used often in testing of substances such as soil, pavement, and concrete. The Kansas
Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) has responsibility for licensing and inspecting these instruments.

Three years ago, the fee for such work was $300 per year for each firm owning these instruments. In the last three
years that fee has grown to $800 per firm.

For firms having a large number of these machines, that number is probably reasonable. However, for the firms with
a small number of these machines (in many cases only one), this is a large expense. Going to a “per unit” fee of $25
makes great sense, and we strongly support that change.

I would like to share a word of caution with the committee, however, Switching to a “per unit” criteria makes sense
with the fee at $25 per unit. If that fee were to grow any higher, however, it would quickly become something we
oppose. We have firms in Kansas with as many as 50 of these machines. A jump to, say, $100 per unit would drive
the annual cost to those firms from $800 to $5,000. This would create another inequity, this time for the larger
firms.

I would like to share a second word of caution as well. KDHE acts as the licensing and inspecting agency for these
machines by choice. They could abdicate that duty and send it back to the federal agency. We want to avoid this
result at almost any cost. Both the cost and administrative hassle of going through the federal agency is much worse
than KDHE. Our firms work in other states that have the federal agency at the helm, and they universally testify to
this fact. There is a real cost to KDHE to process these licenses and perform these inspections. We do not wish to
see KDHE operate at a significant loss.

In closing, we strongly support HB 2715 as currently written. We are confident there is more than one way to
change the fee schedule that would fix the current inequity, and also stand ready to work with all interested parties if

there is a desire to try another approach. Thank you for your time, and I would entertain questions at the appropriate
time.

Scott Heidner, Executive Director
825 5 Kansas Avenue, Suite 500 + Topeka, KS 66612 + (785)357-1824 + Fax (785)233-2206 * www.acecks.org * sheidner@acecks.org
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SCHWAB-EATON, P.A.

e T T T e )
CIVIL ENGINEERS LAND SURVEYORS LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS

February 8, 2006

State Capital

Kansas Legislature

Health and Human Services Committee
300 SW 10™ Street

Room 525-S

Topeka, KS 66612

Re: House Bill 2715

Chairman and Committee Members:

This letter 1s being written in support of House Bill 2715 regarding the annual licensing fee of
"industrial portable gauges". The current annual fee, as set by Senate Bill 396, is $800, up from
$300 just two years ago. The fee is a lump sum amount irregardless of the number of gauges a
company Or agency may owrl.

Our company owns three material density gauges which are categorized as "industrial portable
gauges". A lump sum type of fee would be appropriate if each firm/agency had a similar number
of gauges, but the fact is the numbers vary greatly from company to company. This type of fee
would be akin to having a single, lump sum charge for a car license--- one car or a fleet of cars,
the cost would be the same.

The point being, a lump sum fee for "industrial portable gauges" is grossly disproportionate.
House Bill 2715 addresses the problem and we encourage your support and passage of the bill.

Very truly yours,

SCHWAB-EATON, P.A.

Mike Butler, President

Schwab-Eaton, P.A. e 1125 Garden Way e Manhattan, Kansas 66502 s Phone (785) 539-4687 o FAX (785) 539-6419
DIRECTORS:  C. Michael Butler, PE. o Chris Cox, P.E. = Bradley J. Fagan, P.E.

Abhchiud ¥
HHS 27304



KANSAS

RODERICK L. BREMBY, SECRETARY KATHLEEN SEBELIUS, GOVERN
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENT

Testimony on House Bill 2715
Kansas Radiation Control Program Dedicated Fee Fund

Presented to
House Health and Human Services
by
Thomas A. Conley, CHP
Chief, Radiation and Asbestos Control Section
February 13, 2006

Chariman Morrison and members of the committee, I am Tom Conley, Chief of the Radiation
and Asbestos Control Section for KDHE. I appreciate this opportunity to appear before the
committee to present alternatives to House Bill 2715. The bill seeks to amend K.S.A. 48-1606 to
add a new fee category for industrial portable gauges setting the fee at $25 per machine and to
remove the Secretary’s authority to set the fee for this category.

Background:

By agreement effective January 1, 1965, Kansas became an Agreement State under Section 274
of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, under which the Atomic Energy Commission
(now the Nuclear Regulatory Commission) relinquished to Kansas portions of its regulatory
authority to license and regulate byproduct materials (radioisotopes), source materials (uranium
and thorium), and certain quantities of special nuclear materials. Through KDHE’s radiation
control program, Kansas continues to regulate 315 facilities licensed to use radioactive materials
and about 2,450 facilities registered to use x-ray equipment. These facilities include industrial
operations, research labs, medical and dental facilities, and security screening operations.

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) evaluates agreement state radiation control
programs, including Kansas, every four years. In response to criticism by the Nuclear
Regulatory Commission that the Kansas program was not adequately staffed and did not have
adequate resources or funding to fulfill its obligations under the agreement to regulate certain
radioactive materials, KDHE in the 2004 legislative session sought legal authority to establish a
radiation control fee fund.

K.S.A. 48-1606 was amended in 2004 to establish a series of radiation fee categories and, in
response to concerns of the legislature, to set maximum limits on the fees for each. The

DIVISION OF ENVIRONMENT
CURTIS STATE OFFICE BUILDING, 1000 SW JACKSON ST., STE. 400, TOPEKA, KS 66612-1367
Voice 785-296-1535 Fax 785-296-8464  http://www.kdhe.state ks.us/

Atechiad §~
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HB 2715
Page 2
February 13, 2006

Secretary of KDHE was given authority to set fees within the constraints of this statute.
Subsequently, regulations were promulgated which set the fee for licenses authorizing the use of
industrial portable gauges at $800 per year; the maximum set by statute is $1250 per year.

Impact:

Passage of House Bill 2715 as introduced will affect 104 of our licensees and have a significant
negative impact on revenue generated by the Radiation Control Fee Fund. This group of
licensees’ fees generates about $83,000 per year or approximately 10% or the program budget.
The decrease in revenue will amount to approximately $72,000/yr. As a result, it will be
necessary to either increase fees to other licensees or to appropriate State General Funds to make
up the difference. In addition, since the program does not currently track the number of gauges a
licensee has (a maximum limit is placed on the license), we anticipate the need to adopt
additional regulations to require inventory reporting and to establish a tracking system, both of
which would increase program overhead and costs. In the event the NRC should terminate the
Agreement, NRC, not the State of Kansas would license industrial portable gauges (as well as all
other radioactive material) and the NRC fees for these licenses would be $2,500/yr with
additional fees for inspections set at $152/hr. Kansas does not charge for inspections.

The Kansas radiation protection regulations are designed to protect workers and the public from
unnecessary and harmful exposure to radiation. Under the current regulatory scheme, a license is
1ssued to ensure that the holder of the license has in place the radiation safety procedures
required for specific uses of radioactive materials, including portable industrial gauges, medical
use, research, and manufacturing. Each of these uses has their own unique radiation safety issues
and the safety measures required vary with the use and form of the device rather than the
quantity of radioactive material.

Portable industrial gauges use sealed sources that, if handled properly, can be used safely by a
qualified person. KDHE’s regulatory role is to ensure that the license holder has proper
procedures in place for the use, handling, transportation, and maintenance of the gauges; to
ensure that proper monitoring of radiation levels is being conducted; and to ensure that
emergency procedures exist in the event of an accident. These procedures are equally applicable
whether the license holder has one gauge or many.

Conclusion:

KDHE is in the final stages of implementing needed improvements to the Kansas radiation
control program, which were funded by increases in fees charged to the licensees and registrants.
House Bill 2715 as introduced would significantly lower the fees for approximately one half the
licensees, necessitating either an appropriation from the State General Fund in order to subsidize
program funding at a level to fulfill its obligations under the NRC Agreement or a redesigned fee
structure. To remain revenue neutral, a $200 per unit annual fee is required. We appreciate your
consideration of KDHE’s position with respect to House Bill 2715.

Thank you.



ATTACHMENT 1
Alternatives:
We have explored several alternatives to the fee structure proposed in HB 2715. Currently,
licensees possess from 1 to 92 devices. The following table compares each of these options to

HB 2715 and the current fee.

Radiation Fee Option Comparison

Graduated
Current w/n Current
Fee HB 2715 | Min/Unit' |[Max/Unity Statute®
Per unit fee N/A $25 $25 $200
Base Fee $800 $0 $690 $0
<=5
Devices $700
>5 Devices $1,250
Subsidy needed to remain
revenue neutral 0 $71,675 $0 $0 $0
Subsidy needed if $1250
cap is applied N/A N/A $2,700 | $44,000 N/A
Fiscal Impact on Top Five Licensees (104 licensees will be affected)
Graduated
# OF CURRENT w/n Current
City Co | FACILITY | GAUGES FEE HB 2715 [ Min/Unit |Max/Unit| Statute
TOPEKA SN |[KDOT a2 $800 $2,300 $2,990 | $18,400 $1,250
Maxim
KANSAS CITY | WY [Technologies 43 $800 $1,075 $1,765 | $8,600 $1,250
Terracon
LENEXA JO |Consultants 37 $800 $925 $1,615 | $7,400 $1,250
Geosystems
LENEXA JO [Engineering 19 $800 $475 $1,165 | $3,800 $1,250
Kansas State
MANHATTAN | RL |University 19 $800 $475 $1,165 | $3,800 $1,250
TOTALS 461 $83,200 | $11,525 | $83,285 | $92,200 | $82,150
Minimum 1 $800 $25 $715 $200 $700
Maximum 92 $800 $2,300 $2,990 |[$18,400| $%1,250
Average 4 $800 3111 $801 $887 $790

' Minimum fee per device authorized with a base fee per license. Under this alternative, a $690 base license fee
would be charged plus $25 per device authorized under the license.
* Maximum fee per device authorized with no base fee. This alternative would charge a flat $200 per device.
? A graduated fee based on the number of devices authorized. This option could be accomplished by amending the
current fee regulation [K.A.R. 28-35-147a(b)(16)] without amendment to the existing statute. To remain revenue
neutral, we would propose a fee of $700 for licenses authorizing five or fewer devices and a $1,250 fee for licenses
authorizing more than five devices.

53



ATTACHMENT 2

Comparable fees in adjacent states:

State New Annual fee | Amendment Renewal Inspection
Application

Kansas NA 800 NA NA NA
Nebraska NA 850 NA NA NA
Colorado 1300 1850 NA NA 1290
Oklahoma 1375 1375 NA NA NA
lowa 1300 NA 325 1170 1927
Arkansas™ NA 1-5 gauges | NA NA NA

$300

>5 gauges

$500

*Arkansas is the only adjacent state not 100% fee funded, program costs are subsidized by the
state’s general fund.




February 13, 2006

The Honorable Jim Morrison, Chairperson
House Committee on Health and Human Services
Statehouse, Room 143-N

Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Representative Morrison:

Subject: Fiscal Note for HB 2715 by Representative Jim Morrison

This is to notify you that the Division of the Budget is preparing a fiscal note for the bill
indicated above. A request to provide fiscal effect information has been sent to one or more
agencies or organizations, and we are awaiting a response from them to complete the fiscal note.
This notice is to acknowledge that a hearing has been scheduled on the bill and to advise you of
the status of the fiscal note in our continuing effort to provide useful and timely information on
proposed legislation. As soon as the necessary information is received, the fiscal note will be

completed and submitted to you for your deliberations.

If you have questions or more detailed information is desired, please contact us.

Sincerely,

CC e a0
Duane A. Goossen
Director of the Budget

A HZ&:‘.L u&«ﬁ' é?
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Ses+fon of 2008
HOUSE BILL No. 2649
By Committee on Health and Human Semvices

1-18

AN ACT conceming s health care: relating to a pain patient ’s hill of rights;
amending K.5.A. 60-4403 and 65- 2637 and repealing the existing

sections.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

New Section 1. Sections 1 through 4, and amendments thereto, shall
be k;mwn and may be cited as the “pain patient’s bill of rights.”

New Sec. 2. All Kansans have a right to:

Xa) Have their report of pain tuken seriously and to be treated with
d]an v and respect by doctors, nurses, pho.mmctst\ and other healtlf care
pmfmq nals;

(b1 hawg their pain thoroughly assessed and promptly treped:

el 11111:1&. rate activ eii in decisions about how to managé their pam

{d)  have thy pain re assessed re gularly and their tredtment adjusted
il their pain has my been eased;

(el be referred tya pain specialist if their painpersists;

i) get clear and pRynpt answers to their qyeStions; and
] tdke time to makendecisions ref_,‘udm their pain treatment and
refuse a p”u't]cul.u type of trxgtment if so déeided.

New Sec. 3. ia) A patient Who sufler§ from moderate to severe paiu

may:
(1 Request or reject the use ofay or all modalities to relieve pain;

i2) cheose from appmprmte lmm =.r.ulmr1( treatment options to re-
lieve moderate to severe painAncluding opiate medications, without first
having to submit to an invgve medical procedure such as surgery, de-
struction of u nenve or gffier body tissue by magipulation or the implan-
tation of a drug delived svstem or device:

{3} be informegd/y the patient’s physician or physicians who are qua.]—
ified to treat moderate to severe p;uu employing methods that include
the use of opipfes when the p(ttwnt s physician refuses to prescribe opiate
nedication Aeatment tor such pam and

(4] 1 quest and receive an identifying notice of a prescriptjon from
the P ent’s ph\’ucidn for purpases of emergency treatinent or kw en-

forg€ment identitication.
/ib) A physician who uses opiate therapy to relieve moderate to sevelg

Representative Bethell, 3rd
Balloon Amendment
February 7, 2006

At 9

S
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{a) Expand the authorized scope af practice of any licensdd physician;
ib) limitanygeporting or disciplinary provisions applj 4bleto licensed
ph",siciau.s and sunsgons who violate prescribing pracgiCes; and

cipline or prosecution of a Jifensed physician for:
iy complete. accurate ned current records that
ination and megiCal history of a patient, the
of a patjént and the treatment of the

(e} prohibit the ¢

{1} Failing to mainti
document the physical exar
busis for the clinical diagnosh
putient;

(21 writing false or fictitious py
trolled substances:

{3) prescribing. administpfing or dispdysing pharmaceuticals in vio-
lation of the provisions of e federal comprehensive drg abuse preven-
7021 US.C 501 et s

criptions for federal or state con-

tion and coutrol act of
{4} diverting meg
sician’s own pel'" al use; and
(5] causing/or assisting in causing the suicide. euthawgsia or mercy
killing of apg” individual. (A} so long as it is not causing or\gssisting in
causing tHe suicide, euthanasia or mercy killing of any individua] to re-
scribeAnedical treatment for the purpose of treating moderate to dyvere
pf and (B) so long as the medical treatment is not also furnisher
srpose of causing or assisting in causing death for uny reason.

/[Please put insert A here

Ser. . hoo.A. BU-LHI13 15 hereby amended to read as tolloves: 60-
4403 {a) A licensed health care professional who administers. prescribes
or (Ei-sp&nses medications or Pmcedm‘es to relieve another Person's lmjn

or discomfort-eve : S <ty . -
thresislefdenthr does not violate K.S.A. 21-3406 and amendments
thereto unless the medications or I_')T()(‘E:(Eli]'t’:ﬁ are knowingly ad ninistered,
prescribed or dispensed with the intent to cause death. A mid-level prac-
titioner as defined in subsection (i) of K.S.A. 63-1626 and amendments
thereto who prescribes medications or procedures to relieve another per-
sON’s pain or discomforts ke e vt
ortheremie-tie-rskebdesd does not violate K.S.A. 21-3406 and amend-
ments thereto unless the medications or pr()cedures are knowingl}-' pre-
seribed with the intent to cause death.

{hy A licensed health care professional, family member or other le-
gally authorized person who participates in the act of, or the decision
making process which vesults in the withholding or withdrawal of a life-
sustaining procedure does not violate K.S.A. 21-3406 and amendments

thereto.
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Insert A

New Sec. 2. The Legislature finds and declares the following:

(a) A person suffering from pain should expect their report of pain to be taken seriously, and should expect to be treated with respect
by health care professionals.

(b) A person suffering from pain should have access to and expect proper assessment and treatment of such person’s pain, while
retaining the right to refuse treatment.

(c) A person’s health care professional may refuse to prescribe opiate medication for a patient who requests treatment for pain.
However, that health care professional shall inform the patient that there are physicians who specialize in the treatment of pain with
methods that include the use of opiate medication.

(d) A person suffering from pain may request that such person’s physician provide an identifying notice of such person’s
prescription for purposes of emergency treatment or law enforcement identification.

(e) A health care professional treating a person who suffers from pain may prescribe opiate medications in a dosage deemed
medically necessary to relieve such person’s pain.

(f) A person suffering from pain has the option to request or reject the use of any or all modalities to relieve such person’s pain,
including the use of opiate medications to relieve pain without first having to submit to an invasive medical procedure such as surgery,
destruction of a nerve or other body tissue by manipulation, or the implantation of a drug delivery system or device.

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 65-2838 is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-2838. (a) The board shall have jurisdiction of proceedings to take
disciplinary action authorized by K.S.A. 65-2836 and amendments thereto against any licensee practicing under this act. Any such action
shall be taken in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act.

(b) Either before or after formal charges have been filed, the board and the licensee may enter into a stipulation which shall be
binding upon the board and the licensee entering into such stipulation, and the board may enter its findings of fact and enforcement order
based upon such stipulation without the necessity of filing any formal charges or holding hearings in the case. An enforcement order based
upon a stipulation may order any disciplinary action authorized by K.S.A. 65-2836 and amendments thereto against the licensee entering
into such stipulation.

(¢) The board may temporarily suspend or temporarily limit the license of any licensee in accordance with the emergency
adjudicative proceedings under the Kansas administrative procedure act if the board determines that there is cause to believe that grounds
exist under K.S.A. 65-2836 and amendments thereto for disciplinary action authorized by K.S.A. 65-2836 and amendments thereto against
the licensee and that the licensee's continuation in practice would constitute an imminent danger to the public health and safety.

(d) The board shall not take disciplinary action against any licensee for prescribing, dispensing or administering controlled

substances, including opioid analgesics, for a legitimate medical purpose and in the usual course of professional practice. The board shall
consider prescribing, ordering, administering or dispensing controlled substances for pain to be for a legitimate medical purpose if based
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on sound clinical grounds. The board shall adopt guidelines for the use of controlled substances for the treatment of pain. In the event
alicensee’s use of controlled substances has been questioned by another regulatory or enforcement agency and such licensee has prescribed,
dispensed or administered controlled substances, including opioid analgesics. in accordance with guidelines adopted by the board, the board

shall support the licensee in response to the other regulatory or enforcement agency.

New Sec. 4. Nothing in this act shall be construed to prohibit disciplinary action by the state board of healing arts or interfere with
the investigative authority of any law enforcement agency.




