Approved: __ January 31, 2006
Date

MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Les Donovan at 8:30 A.M. on January 17, 2006 in Room
527-S of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:
Michele Alishahi, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Bruce Kinzie, Revisors of Statutes
Maggie Breen, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Alan Cobb, Americans for Prosperity
Carmen Alldritt, Director, Division of Motor Vehicles
Tom Whitaker, Kansas Motor Carriers Association
John Federico, Recreational Vehicles Industry Association

Others attending:
See attached list.

Chairman Donovan welcomed the committee back and said he looks forward to another productive year.

Chairman Donovan made reference to the joint committee meeting with the House on January 11. The House
stayed in session and voted on approving the issuance of $150 million KDOT bonds to the finance council.
Itis also required that the Senate Transportation approve the bonds. Chairman Donovan said he had planned
for the committee to vote immediately this morning but agreed to let Alan Cobb speak briefly to the
committee, as he couldn’t participate last week due to his son having a medical procedure.

Alan Cobb, Americans for Prosperity, said he knew the committee has heard most of Dr. Bartley Hildreth
of Wichita State University’s excellent study on the rate of Kansas debt growth. He pointed out that adding
the $60 million, that has already been approved, to the $150 million will move Kansas from the seventeenth
to the sixteenth highest state debt per capita. We already have a negative debt rating. Clearly this will further
harm it. There are only eight states that have a negative debt rating, Kansas being one of them. Twenty stites
are actually decreasing their debt as a percent of income. And finally, a note of trivia: the debt and inte ‘est
payment exceeds the total amount of debt from 1992. Kansas is the second highest state in debt growith.
Wyoming is number one but is still arelatively low debt state. Alan said he thinks these are things to ponder.
While he know this won’t change this vote, he thinks it is of great importance to watch over the next couple

of years. (Attachment 1)

Chairman Donovan opened the floor for comments. He said he didn’t disagree with Alan’s comments but
emphasized that Kansas’ ability to pay its debt is still looked at, by people who buy the bonds, as being
strong. While he would much prefer not to incur the debt but it wasn’t possible.

Senator O’Connor said she didn’t originally support the tax increase for the Transportation Plan. However,
once the legislature voted and expressed its will, she accepts the will of the legislature. Now, itneeds to fund
what it promised to fund. We would not be facing this if the demand transfers had been honored. She said
she would reluctantly have to support this further going into debt.

Senator Wilson said he’s really concerned with how much debt we’re incurring in this state. He said he
wonders if Kansas voters would have approved this debt explosion. He said he has a big problem, not v-ith
highways, but with how debt is increasing in the state and he hopes we don’t continue adding to it. He is
reluctantly going to vote for it.

Senator Palmer said she wanted to reiterate her comments regarding the debt of our state. She thinks we are
putting ourselves in critical, critical, shape and its like going on a on a credit card for the future of our children
and we have to stop it. She doesn’t like what’s going on at all. She understands why its going on but she
wants some assurance from somebody that KDOT is not going to come back and ask for more bonds because
they don’t have enough money. She thinks the Highway Patrol should be removed from KDOT.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1



CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE Senate Transportation Committee at 8:30 A.M. on January 17, 2006 in Room 527-S
of the Capitol.

Senator Journey said that its important that all of us remember the concept that the assets being created by this
borrowing will be used by our grandchildren also. To spread out the obligations over the years of its useful
live is areasonable thing to do. These are not general obligation bonds. This, the expansion and enhancement
of infrastructure in the state, is a primary and necessary factor in determining real economic development.
Had the bonding been for general governmental functions, he would be adamantly opposed to it. He supports
the bonds.

Senator Hensley said Senator Journey made some valid points. This is a commitment we have made to
communities across Kansas and we need to adhere to that commitment. We put together a plan that was
passed by the 2004 legislature. And what we are doing, in reality, is making sure we carry out those promises.
The thing he would question in Mr..Cobb’s information is, of the debt we have outstanding, how much of
that is attributed to the pension obligation bonds. The legislature decided to enact these bonds, and it was
very bipartisan. They were in the neighborhood of $500 million. We have to take that into consideration. We
continue to have a good credit rating.

Senator Peterson said he is supporting this bond because infrastructure is so important to our state. This did
not come easy. It was his assurance from the secretary, that none of this bonding was going to operational
costs, that sealed his final decision. He has some concerns for the Highway Patrol being under the KDOT and
some of the shared costs.

Senator O’ Connor, with reluctance, made amotion to recommend to the finance council that the $150 million

bond be issued. Senator Hensley seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Chairman Donovan said he very much appreciated everyone’s participation. He thanked them for their
comments and their votes. He said he understands their concern.

Chairman Donovan opened the floor for introduction of bills.

Carmen Alldritt, Division of Vehicles, said she has two bills the Department of Revenue would iike
introduced. The first one gives a definition to self-propelled crane. (Became SB 374 ) The second one deals
with commercial drivers license and will bring us in compliance with all the federal requirements. (Became
SB 371) (Attachments 2 & 3)

Senator Wilson made a motion to introduce both bills. Senator O’Connor seconded the motion. The motion
carried.

Tom Whitaker, Kansas Motor Carriers Association (KMCA), requested a bill that is a joint effort between
KMCA and the Department of Revenue, Division of Vehicles to introduce what is known as PRISM, the
Performance and Registration Information System Management. It ties registration and commercial motor
vehicles to the carrier’s DOT number. In a case where the federal government would say that a company is
an eminent hazard to have on the highways, it gives the state the authority to revoke their registration at that
point. Tt only applies to vehicles that are apportioned registration. It does not apply to vehicles that are
registered at the county. The implementation of this is paid for by grant money. (Became SB 373)
(Attachment 4)

Senator O’Connor made a motion to introduce the bill. Senator Wilson seconded the motion. The motion
carried.

John Federico, on behalf of the Recreational Vehicle Industry Association (RVIA), requested the introduction
of a bill that would change Kansas statute to allow for certain appurtenances to be affixed to side of
recreational vehicles. (Became SB 372)

Senator O’Connor made a motion to introduce the bill. Senator Wilson seconded the motion. The motion
carried.

Meeting adjourned at 9:06 a.m. Next meeting will be Thursday, January 19.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to
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m AMERIGANS-FOR-P..OSPERITY
K ANS A S

2348 SW Topeka, Suite 201 Topeka, Kansas 66611
785-354-4237 785-354-4233 FAX
www.afpks.org

January 17, 2006

Mr. Chairman and members of the committee,

Thank you for allowing me to belatedly speak for a few minutes on the subject of Kansas” state debt
burden.

While our Transportation Secretary is already talking about another massive borrowing program for
highways when the current plan expires, it is incumbent upon us to fully examine that absolute
explosion in Kansas debt since 1992.

If the additional $210 MM in borrowing is approved, Kansas will move to the 16™ highest state
debt per capita from 17th.

This April, the next Moody's report will be released. Kansas® 2005 debt is much higher then 2004
so Kansas is sure to look even worse, even without the $210 MM, in all the Moody's state rankings
(per capita/% of personal income etc..)

Moody's can give a state three debt ratings that they recommend investors look at when investing
in a state, positive, stable or negative.

Kansas received a negative rating, one of only 8 states to receive that lowest rating. is

Kansas Debt Facts

Kansas debt has increased 832% since 1992, from $424 million in 1992 to $3.95 billion in 2005.
Kansas debt increased 32% between 2003 and 2004 alone.

Kansas 2005 total debt service (principle + interest) of $429 million was slightly higher than the
total debt outstanding in 1992 (3424 million). (Kansas Division of Budget, June 2005)

Kansas ranks the 2nd in the growth of debt as a percent of personal income: 1992-2004 (560%
increase).

During this same time ('92-'04) 20 states actually DECREASED their debt as a percent of
personal income. (Moody's Investors Service, 2004)

Total Debt Outstanding
$4,500,000,000
$4,000,000,000
$3,500,000,000
$3,000,000,000
$2,500,000,000
$2,000,000,000
$1,500,000,000
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AFP AMERIGANS-FOR-P..OSPERITY

K AN S A S

2348 SW Topeka, Suite 201 Topeka, Kansas 66611
785-354-4237 785-354-4239 FAX
www.afpks.org

Kansas Debt Explosion

"We must not let our rulers load us with perpetual debt."
-- Thomas Jefferson (letter to Samuel Kercheval, 7/12/1816)

Kansas Debt Facts

= Kansas debt has increased 832% since 1992, from $424 million in 1992 to $3.95 billion in 2005.
Kansas debt increased 32% between 2003 and 2004 alone.

= Kansas 2005 total debt service (principle + interest) of $429 million was slightly higher than the
total debt outstanding in 1992 ($424 million). (Kansas Division of Budget, June 2005)

= Kansas ranks the 2nd in the growth of debt as a percent of personal income: 1992-2004 (560%
increase).

= During this same time ('92-'04) 20 states actually DECREASED their debt as a percent of personal
income. (Moody's Investors Service, 2004)
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= In 2005, Kansas will pay $173,172,403 in debt service interest payments (Kansas Division of Budget,
June 2005).

Debt Service (Interest Only)
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= Kansas’ debt per capita is much higher than ALL its surrounding states. (Moody’s Special Comment,
June 23, 2004) '

o Kansas $963 per person

o Missouri $461 per person
o Oklahoma $315 per person
o Nebraska $43 per person

= Kansas debt as a percent of personal income has increased 560% between 1992-2004. During this
same time, the US average increase was only 13%. (Moody’s Investor Service 2004)
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= Kansas’ debt as a percent of personal income is considerably higher than ALL the surrounding
states (Moody s Special Comment, June 23, 2004).

Kansas 3.3%
Missouri 1.6%
Oklahoma 1.2%
Colorado 0.9%
Nebraska 0.1%

O 0O 0 o0 0O

Kansas Constitution: Let the People Decide.

The Kansas Constitution gives the legislature authority to issue up to $1 million in General Obligation
debt. Beyond that level, Kansas citizens, in a direct vote of the electors, are to decide whether to allow
the state to move further into indebtedness.

Kansas Debt Explosion: Would Kansans have approved?

* The Kansas Legislature has circumvented a direct vote of the people by issuing bonds that are not
General Obligation, but instead, rely on a devoted stream of revenue and assurance of the
legislature to pay the debt service when owed. This does beg the hypothetical question: Would
Kansas voters have approved this debt explosion?
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2006 Srsld34 e
PROPOSED BILL No. ( 3 7% )

By

AN ACT relating to the registration of vehicles; concerning self-propelled cranes; amending
K.S.A. 8-128 and repealing the existing section.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 8-128 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-128. (a) The following
need not be registered under this act, any:

(1) Implement of husbandry;

(2) all-terrain vehicle;

(3) road roller or road machinery temporarily operated or moved upon the highways;

(4) municipally owned fire truck;

(5) privately owned fire truck subject to a mutual aid agreement with a municipality;

(6) school bus owned and operated by a school district or a nonpublic school which has
the name of the municipality, school district or nonpublic school plainly painted thereon;

(7) farm trailer used in carrying not more than 6,000 pounds owned by a person engaged
in farming, which trailer is used exclusively by the owner to transport agricultural products
produced by such owner or commodities purchased by the owner for use on the farm owned or
rented by the owner of such trailer and the weight of any such farm trailer, plus the cargo weight
of 6,000 pounds or less, shall not be considered in determining the gross weight for which the
truck or truck tractor propelling the same shall be registered; or

(8) farm trailer used and designed for transporting hay or forage from a field to a storage

Senate Transportation Committee
January 17, 2006
Attachment 2



area or from a storage area to a feedlot, which is only incidentally moved or operated upon the

highways, except that this paragraph shall not apply to a farm semitrailer.

(b) Self-propelled cranes shere-the-crane-operatoron-ajobsiteoperates the controls of

identified with a product identification number and not a vehicle identification number. with the

boom or hoist controls operated from a permanent enclosure or housing integrated into the

manufacturer's design and not designed or manufactured with a bed that would allow for the

transportation of property, except the property that is required for safe and stable operation of the
crane itself and earth moving éﬁuipment which are equipped with pneumatic tires may be moved
on the highways of this state from one job location to another, or to or from places of storage,
delivery or repair, without complying with the provisions of the law relating to registration and
display of license plates but shall comply with all the other‘requirements of the law relating to
motor vehicles.

(c) Oil well servicing, oil well clean-out or oil well drilling machinery or equipment
need not be registered under this act but shall comply with all the other requirements of the law
relating to motor vehicles.

(d) A truck permanently mounted with a hydraulic concrete pump and placing boom may
be mmlred on the highways of this state from one job location to another, or to or from places of
storage delivéry or repair, without being registered under this act, but shall comply with all the
other requirements of the law relating to motor vehicles. The provisions of this subsection shall
not apply to ready-mix concrete trucks.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 8-128 is hereby repealed.

Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its publication in the

Kansas register.
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PROPOSED BILL NO. ( 37/

By
AN ACT amending the Kansas uniform commercial drivers' license act; providing for penalties;

relating to certain notifications; amending K.S.A. 8-2,131 and 8-2,138 and K.S.A. 2005 Supp.
8-2,128 and 8-2,142 and repealing the existing sections.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

New Section 1. (a) A driver who is convicted of violating an out-of-service order shall
be subject to a civil penalty of not less than $1,100 nor more than $2,750, in addition to any
disqualification under K.S.A. 8-2,142, and amendments thereto.

(b) An employer who is convicted of violating subsection (b)(3) of K.S.A. 8-2,131, and
amendments thereto, shall be subject to a civil penalty of not less than $2,750 nor more than
$11,000.

(c) An employer who is convicted of a violation of subsection (b)(4) of K.S.A. 8-2,131,
and amendments thereto, shall be subject to a civil penalty éf not more than $10,000.

(d) Civil penalties shall be enforced and collected by an attorney for the division of
vehicles in the appropriate district court.

(e) Civil penalties shall be remitted in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215,
and amendments thereto, to the state treasurer. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state
treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the state highway
fund.

(g) The provisions of this section shall be a part of and supplemental to the Kansas

uniform commercial drivers' license act.

Senate Transportation Coynmittee
January 17, 2000
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New Sec. 2. (a) It shall be unlawful and constitute a class B misdemeanor for any person
to violate any of the provisions of the Kansas uniform commercial drivers' license act, unless a
different penalty is prescribed by this act.

(b) The provisions of this section shall be a part of and supplemental to the Kansas
uniform commercial drivers' license act.

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 8-2,128 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-2,128. As
used in this act:

(a) "Alcohol" means any substance containing any form of alcohol including, but not
limited to, ethanol, methanol, propanol and isopropanol;

(b) "alcohol concentration" means:

(1) The number of grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood; or

(2) the number of grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath;

(c) "commercial driver's license" means a commercial license issued pursuant to K.S.A.
8-234b, and amendments thereto;

(d) '"commercial driver license system" means the information system established
pursuant to the commercial motor vehicle saféty act of 1986 to serve as a clearinghouse for
locating information related to the licensing and identification of commercial motor vehicle
drivers;

(¢) ‘instruction permit" means a permit issued pursuant to K.S.A. 8-294, and
amendments thereto;

() "commercial motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle designed or used to transport
passengers or property, if:

(1) The vehicle has a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 or more pounds or such

lesser rating, as determined by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary, but shall not be



more restrictive than the federal regulation;

(2) the vehicle is designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver; or

(3) the vehicle is transporting hazardous materials and is required to be placarded in
accordance with 49 C.F.R. 172, subpart F;

(g) "controlled substance” means any substance so classified under K.S.A. 65-4101, and
amendments thereto;

(h) "conviction" means an unvacated adjudication of guilt or a determination that a
person has violated or failed to comply with the law and in a court of original jurisdiction or an
administrative proceeding, an unvacated forfeiture of bail or collateral deposited to secure the
person's appearance in court, a plea of guilty or nélo contendere accepted by the court, the
payment of a fine or court cost, or violation of a condition of release without bail, regardless of
whether the penalty is rebated, suspended or probated;

(i) "disqualification" means a prohibition against driving a commercial motor vehicle,
including the suspension, revocation or cancellation of the privilege to drive a commercial motor
vehicle;

(j) "drive" means to drive, operate or be in physical control of a motor vehicle in any
place open to the general public for purposes of vehicular traffic. For purposes of K.S.A.
8-2,137, 8-2,138, 8-2,142, 8-2,144 and 8-2,145, and amendments thereto, "drive" includes
operation or physical control of a motor vehicle anywhere in the state;

(k) "driver" means any person who drives, operates or is in physical control of a
commercial motor vehicle, in any place open to the general public for purposes of vehicular
traffic, or who is required to hold a commercial driver's license;

(1) "driver's license" means any driver's license or any other license or permit to operate a

motor vehicle issued under, or granted by, the laws of this state, including:
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(1) Any temporary license or instruction;

(2) the privilege of any person to drive a motor vehicle whether or not such person holds
a valid license; or

(3) any nonresident's operating privilege;

(m) "employer" means any person, including the United States, a state or a political
subdivision of a state, who owns or leases a commercial motor vehicle or assigns a person to
drive a commercial motor vehicle;

(n) "endorsement” means an authorization to an individual's commercial driver's license
required to permit the individual to operate certain types of commercial motor vehicles;

(o) "felony" means any offense under state or federal law that is punishable by death or
imprisonment for a term exceeding one year;

(p) "gross vehicle weight rating" means the value speciﬂ.ed by the manufacturer as the
maximum loaded weight of a single or a combination (articulated) vehicle. The gross vehicle
weight rating of a combination (articulated) vehicle (commonly referred to as the "gross
combination weight rating") is the gross vehicle weight rating of the power unit plus the gross

vehicle weight rating of the towed unit or units;

(q) "hazardous materials" has-the-meaningas-thatfound-insection 103-of the-hazardous
materials-transpertation—ach49-U-5-C—1801ef-seq- means any material that has been designated

as hazardous under 49 U.S.C. 5103 and is required to be placarded under subpart F of 49 C.F.R.

part 172 or anv quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin in 42 C.F.R. part 73:

(r) "motor vehicle" means every vehicle which is self-propelled, and every vehicle which
is propelled by electric power obtained from overhead trolly wires but not operated upon rails,

except vehicles moved solely by human power and motorized wheel chairs;

3+
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(s) "out-of-service order" means a temporary prohibition against driving a commercial
motor vehicle, which is imposed when a driver has any measured or detected alcohol
concentration while on duty, or operating, or in physical control of a commercial motor vehicle
or a declaration by an authorized enforcement officer of a federal, state, Canadian, Mexican or
local jurisdiction that a driver, a commercial motor vehicle or a motor carrier operation, is
out-of-service pursuant to 49 C.F.R. Part 386.72, 392.5, 395.13, 396.9 or such compatible laws,
or the North American out-of-service criteria;

(t) "residence" means the place which is adopted by a person as the person's place of
habitation and to which, whenever the person is absent, the person has the intention of returning.
When a person eats at one place and sleeps at another, the place where the person sleeps shall be
considered the person's residence;

() "secretary" means the secretary of the Kansas department of revenue;

(v) "serious traffic violation'; means:

(1) Excessive speeding, is defined as 15 miles per hour or more over the posted speed
limit;

(2) reckless driving, as defined under K.S.A. 8-1566, and amendments thereto;

(3) a violation of any sfate or local law relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other
than a parking violation, arising in connection with an accident or collision resulting i death to
any person;

(4) changing lanes of traffic illegally or erratically, as defined under K.S.A. 8-1548, and
amendments thereto;

(5) following another vehicle too closely, as defined under K.S.A. 8-1523, and

amendments thereto;
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(6) a violation of subsection (a) of K.S.A. 8-2,132, and amendments thereto; or

(7) any other violation of a state or local law relating to motor vehicle traffic control,
other than a parking violation, which the secretary determines by rule and regulation to be
serious;

(w) "state" means a state of the United States and the District of Columbia;

(x) "state of domicile" means that state where a person has such person's true, fixed and
permanent home and principal residence and to which such person has the intention of returning
whenever such person is absent;

(y) "tank vehicle" means any commercial motor vehicle that is designed to transport any
liquid or gaseous material within a tank that is either pefmanently or temporarily attached to the
vehicle or the chassis. Such vehicles include, but are not limited to, cargo tanksf as defined in 49
C.F.R. 171. However, this definition does not include portable tanks having a rated capacity
under 1,000 gallons;

(z) "United States" means the 50 states and the District of Columbia;

(aa) "division" means the division of vehicles of the Kansas department of krevenue;

(bb) "director" means the director of the division of vehicles of the Kansas department of
revenue;

(cc) "foreign country" means any jurisdiction other than the United States;

(dd) "nonresident commercial driver's license" means a license issued pursuant to K.S.A.
8-2,148, and amendments thereto;

(ee) "fatality" means the death of a person as a result of a motor vehicle accident;

(ff) "noncommercial motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle or combination of motor

vehicles not defined by the term commercial motor vehicle in subsection (f);

36
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(gg) "school bus" means a commercial motor vehicle used to transport preprimary,
primary or secondary school students from home to school, from school to home or to and from
school-sponsored events. School bus does not include a bus used as a common carrier.

Sec. 4. K.S.A. 8-2,131 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-2,131. (a) An employer
shall require the applicant to provide the information specified in subsection (¢) of K.S.A.
8-2,130, and amendments thereto.

(b) No employer shall knowingly allow, permit or authorize a driver to drive a

commercial motor vehicle durinsany-pertod:

(1) During any period in which the driver has a driver's license suspended, revoked or

canceled by a state; has lost the privilege to drive a commercial motor vehicle in a state or has
been disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle;

(2) during any period in which the driver has more than one driver's license, except

during the ten-day period beginning on the date the employee is issued a driver's license; e

(3) during any period in which the employee, the motor vehicle such employee is driving

or the motor carrier operation is subject to an out-of-service order=: or

(4) in violation of a federal. state or local law or regulation pertaining to

railroad-highway grade crossings.

Sec. 5. K.S.A. 8-2,138 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-2,138. (a) Within 18 30
days after reeceivingareport-of the conviction of any nonresident holder of a commercial driver's
license for any violation of state law or local ordinance relating to motor vehicle traffic control,
other than parking violations, committed in a—eeﬂqﬂ&efe}a%—metep any type of vehicle, the division
shall notify the driver licensing authority in the licensing state of the conviction.

(b) Within 30 days after the conviction of any nonresident who is not a holder of a
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commercial driver's license. but who is licensed to drive by another state. for any violation of

state law or local ordinance relating to motor vehicle traffic control. other than parking

violations. commifted in a commercial motor vehicle. the division shall notify the driver

licensing authority in the licensing state of the conviction.

(c) Within 30 days of receiving notification from the licensing authority of another state

of a conviction under subsection (a) or (b). the division shall record such conviction on the

driver's record.

(d) On and after September 30, 2008, the notification required in subsections (a) and (b)

and the recordation of convictions under subsection (¢) shall be made within 10 days of the

conviction.

Sec. 6. K.S5.A. 2005 Supp. 8-2,142 is hereby amended to read as follows: §8-2,142. (a) A
person 1s disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for a period of not less than one
year upon a first occurrence of any one of the following:

(1) While operating a commercial motor vehicle:

(A) The person is convicted of violating K.S.A. 8-2,144, and amendments thereto;

(B) the person is convicted of violating subsection (b) of K.S.A. 8-2,132, and
amendments thereto;

(C) the person is convicted of causing a fatality through the negligent operation of a
commercial motor vehicle; or

(D) the person's test refusal or test failure, as defined in subsection (1); or

(2) while operating a noncommercial motor vehicle:

(A) The person is convicteci of a violation of K.S.A. 8-1567, and amendments thereto; or

(B) the person's test refusal or test failure, as defined in K.S.A. 8§-1013, and amendments
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thereto; or

(3) while operating any motor vehicle:

(A) The person is convicted of leaving the scene of an accident; or

(B) the person is convicted of a felony, other than a felony described in subsection (e),
while using a motor vehicle to commit such felony.

(b) If any offenses, test refusal or test failure. specified in subsection (a) occurred in a
commercial motor vehicle while transporting a hazardous material required to be placarded, the
person is disqualified for a period of not less than three years.

(c) A person shall be disqualified for life upon the second or a subsequent occurrence of
any offense, test refusal or test failure specified in subsection (a), or any combination thereof,
arising from two or more separate incidents.

(d) The secretary of revenue may adopt rules and regulations establishing guidelines,
including conditions, under which a disqualification for life under subsection (¢) may be reduced
to a period of not less than 10 years.

(e) A person is disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for life who uses a
commercial motor vehicle or noncommercial motor vehicle in the commission of any felony
involving the manufacture, distribution or dispensing of a controlled substance, or possession
with intent to manufacture, distribute or dispense a controlled substance.

(f) A person is disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for a period of not
less than 60 days if convicted of two serious traffic violations, or 120 days if convicted of three

or more serious traffic violations, committed in a commercial motor vehicle arising from

separate incidents occurring within a three-year period. The beginning date for any three-vear

period within a ten-vear period. required by this subsection. shall be the issuance date of the
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citation which resulted in a conviction.

(g) A person is disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for a period of not
less than 60 days if convicted of two serious traffic violations, or 120 days if convicted of three
or more serious traffic violations, committed in a noncommercial motor vehicle arising from
separate incidents occurring within a three-year period, if such convictions result in the
revocation, cancellation or suspension of the person's driving privileges.

(h) (1) A person who is convicted of operating a commercial motor vehicle in violation
of an out-of-service order shall be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for a
period of not less than:

(A) Ninety days nor more than one year, if the driver is convicted of a first violation of
an out-of-service order;

(B) one year nor more than five years if, during any 10-year period, the driver is
convicted of two violations of out-of-service orders in separate incidents; or

(C) three years nbr more than five years if, during any 10-year period, the driver is
convicted of three or more violations of out-of-service orders in separate incidents.

(2) A person who is convicted of operating a commercial motor vehicle in violation of
an out-of-service order while transporting a hazardous material required to be placarded under
49 U.S.C. 5101 et seq. or while operating a motor vehicle designed to transport more than 15
passengers, including the driver, shall be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle
for a period of not less than:

(A) One hundred and eighty days nor more than two years if the driver is convicted of a
first violation of an out-of-service order; or

(B) three years nor more than five years if, during any 10-year period, the driver 1s

310
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convicted of any subsequent violations of out-of-service orders in separate incidents.

(1) (1) A person who is convicted of operating a commercial motor vehicle in violation
of a federal, state or local law or regulation pertaining to one of the following six offenses at a
railroad-highway grade crossing shall be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle
for the period of time specified in paragraph (2):

(A) For persons who are not required to always stop, failing to slow down and check that
the tracks are clear of an approaching train;

(B) for persons who are not required to always stop, failing to stop before reaching the
crossing, if the tracks are not clear;

(C) for persons who are always required to stop, failing to stop before driving onto the
crossing;

(D) for all persons failing to have sufficient space to drive completely through the
crossing without stopping;

(E) for all persons failing to obey a traffic control device or the directions of an
enforcement official at the crossing; or

(F) for all persons failing to negotiate a crossing because of insufficient undercarriage
clearance.

(2) A driver shall be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for not less
than:

(A) Sixty days if the driver is convicted of a first violation of a railroad-highway grade
crossing violation;

(B) one hundred and twenty days if, during any three-year period, the driver is convicted

of a second railroad-highway grade crossing violation in separate incidents; or

3 -/
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(C) one year if, during any three-year period, the driver is convicted of a third or
subsequent railroad-highway grade crossing violation in separate incidents.

(1) After suspending, Ievéking or-canceling a commercial driver's license, the division
shall update its records to reflect that action within 10 days. After suspending, revoking or
canceling a nonresident commercial driver's privileges, the division shall notify the licensing
authority of the state which issued the commercial driver's license or nonresident commercial

driver's license within 10 days. The notification shall include both the disqualification and the

violation that resulted in the disqualification. suspension. revocation or cancellation.

(k) Upon receiving notification from the licensing authority of another state, that it has

disqualified a commercial driver's license holder licensed by this state. or has suspended.

revoked or canceled such commercial driver's license holder's commercial driver's license, the

division shall record such notification and the information such notification provides on the

d_river‘s record.

@5 (1) Upon suspension, revocation, cancellation or disqualification of a commercial
driver's license under this act, the license shall be immediately surrendered to the division if still
in the licensee's possession. If otherwise eligible, and upon payment of the required fees, the
licensee may be issued a noncommercial driver's license for the period of suspension, revocation,
cancellation or disqualification of the commercial driver's license under the same identifier
number.

& (m) As used in this section, "test refusal" means a person's refusal to submit to and
complete a test requested pursuant to K.S.A. 8-2,145, and amendments thereto; "test failure"
means a person's submission to and completion of a test which determines that the person's

alcohol concentration is .04 or greater, pursuant to K.S.A. 8-2,145, and amendments thereto.



St
12

Sec. 7. K.S.A. 8-2,131 and 8-2,138 and K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 8-2,128 and 8-2,142 are
hereby repealed.
Sec. 8. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its publication in the

statute book.
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LEGISLATIVE BILL REQUEST
Requested by the Kansas Motor Carriers Association
Before the Senate Transportation Committee
Senator Les Donovan, Chairman
Tuesday, January 17, 2006

MR. CHAIRMAN AND MEMBERS OF THE
SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE:

[ am Tom Whitaker, executive director of the Kansas Motor Carriers Association. I appear
here this morning representing our 1,250 member-firms requesting legislation to
implement the Performance and Registration Information Systems Management (PRISM)
program in Kansas. PRISM allows the state to tie interstate commercial motor vehicle
identification numbers to a motor carrier’s identification number issued by the Federal
Motor Carrier Safety Administration.

PRISM has been implemented in 32 states. The proposed legislation would allow the
Kansas Department of Revenue to revoke or suspend the vehicle registration of
commercial motor vehicles if the motor carrier responsible for its safety has been
prohibited from operating in interstate commerce by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration.

The Department’s ability to revoke or suspend motor vehicle registrations through PRISM
only applies to those vehicles registered in Kansas under the provisions of the
International Registration Program (apportioned registration) and not to vehicles
registered at the county level.

The proposed legislation is supported by KMCA, the Kansas Department of Revenue and
the Federal Motor Carriers Safety Administration.

We respectfully request the Senate Transportation Committee introduce the PRISM
implementation legislation. Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you today. I
would be pleased to respond to any questions you may have.

Senate Transportation Committee
January 17, 2006
Attachment 4
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