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Date

MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Les Donovan at 8:30 A.M. on February 1 in Room 527-S of
the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:
Hank Avila, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Robert Waller, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Bruce Kinzie, Revisors of Statutes
Maggie Breen, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Don McNeeley, Kansas Automobile Dealers Association
Senator Phil Journey
Carmen Alldritt, Director of Motor Vehicles, DOR
Willie Jones, US Major, Retired

Others attending:
See attached list.

Chairman Donovan asked for introduction of bills.

Don McNeely, Kansas Automobile Dealers Association, requested the introduction of two bills amending
K.S.A. 8-135. The first deals with an expedited lien release time frame for when a lien must be released upon
the satisfaction of a security interest in a motor vehicle. The second request extends the time period within
which a creditor can perfect a security interest. (Attachment 1 and 2)

Senator Wilson made a motion to introduce both bills. Senator O’Connor seconded the motion. The motion
carried.

Senator Petersen said he had a conceptional bill. The bill deals with an additional exceptions to “tools of the
trade” legislation which was enacted several years ago. He wants to add yard maintenance.

Senator O’Connor made a motion to introduce the legislation. Senator Gilstrap seconded the motion. The
motion carried.

Chairman Donovan opened the hearing on SB 346 - Regulating traffic, television-type equipment, operation
thereof.

Senator Journey said SB 346 reflects a case where technology has outpaced current law. Current law says no
vehicle can be equipped with a television-type receiving equipment located where the screen is visible from
the driver’s seat. SB 346 amends the statute to make the operation of the screen, rather than the possession
of it, a violation of the statute. (Attachment 3)

Chairman Donovan closed the hearing on SB 346 and opened the hearing on SB 396- Military veteran license
plates, travel trailers.

Carmen Alldritt, Director, Division of Motor Vehicles, said she didn’t have any problem with SB 396. They
will have to shrink down the veteran’s emblem in order to make room for a sixth digit as they are running out
of numbers. She said they sell them for 50 cents at the county treasurers’s office and they cost $3.50 to make.
It’s a little benefit they receive. (No handout)

Willie Jones, US Major, Retired, said it was an honor to be before the committee. He is a veteran of 22 years.
He served in Korea for 14 months and did 3 tours in Viet Nam. He thinks that something that has disappeared
in our country is the thought of and the care for veterans. He had a motor home and he bought a veteran’s tag
for it. He traded his motor home for a fifth wheel. He went in to get his new tag and the lady said “you can’t
have it.” He told her it didn’t make sense. He was told “That’s just the law.” He told her he doesn’t know
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CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE Senate Transportation Committee at 8:30 A.M. on February 1 in Room 527-S of the
Capitol.

who wrote that law, and if there is anyone on the committee was involved in writing he apologized, but he
doesn’t think it is realistic. He told Senator Derek Schmidt, a good friend of his, and the Senator wrote SB
396. Mr. Smith thinks it is a very good bill. He said veterans are proud to be veterans and thinks they should
be given this opportunity to show it. (Attachment 4)

Chairman Donovan closed the hearing on SB 396 and asked what the committee’s pleasure was on the two
bills.

Senator Journey made a motion to pass SB 396 favorably and place it on the consent calendar. Senator
Palmer seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Senator Schmidt made a motion to pass SB 346 favorably. Senator Wilson seconded the motion. The motion
carried. Senator Journey will carry the bill.

Chairman Donovan said the committee would look at SB 344- Traffic regulation. school crossing zones,
school crossing guards.

Senator Schmidt recalled that Mr. Church had suggested an amendment to change the word “may” on line 28
to “should.” However, she doesn’t think should is strong enough. She would like for it to be changed to
“shall.”

Senator Schmidt made a motion to amend the word “may” on line 28 to “shall.” Senator Wilson seconded
the motion. The motion carried.

Senator O’Connor made a motion to amend In 20 and 21 to_“or any person under 18 years of age who is being
directly supervised by a person at least 18 years of age.” The motion died for lack of a second.

Senator Journey made a motion to pass SB 344 out favorably as amended. Senator Petersen seconded the
motion. The motion carried. Senator Journey will carry the bill.

Chairman Donovan asked if there was a motion on SB 347 - Doubling speeding fines in school zones.

Senator Schmidt made a motion to pass SB 347 favorably. Senator Wilson seconded the motion. The motion
carried. Senator Journey will carry the bill.

The meeting adjourned at 9:08 a.m.

The next scheduled meeting is Tuesday, February 7.
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KANSAS AUTOMOBILE DEALERS ASSOCIATION

February 1, 2006

To:  Chairman Les Donovan
And the Senate Transportation Committee

From: Don McNeely, KADA President

Re:  Bill Introduction Request — Satisfaction of Security Interests

Chairman Donovan and Members of the Committee:

My name is Don McNeely, President of the Kansas Auto Dealers Association, a
state trade association representing the franchised new car and truck dealers in the state of
Kansas. I appear before you this morning to request introduction of an amendment to
K.S.A. 8-135 regarding the timeframe for when a lien must be released upon the
satisfaction of a security interest in a motor vehicle.

The proposed amendment establishes an expedited lien release time frame of 3
days, when the indebtedness to a lienholder is paid in full by means of electronic transfer
of funds. Dealers and consumers would also have the ability to file complaints with the
Division of Vehicles against lenders who fail to comply with the requirements to release
liens within 3 days after demand, or within 10 days, if the indebtedness is not made by
electronic transfer of funds, but some other means. In addition, the Division of Vehicles
would also have the authority to issue written notice of non-compliance to lenders,
conduct hearings, and issue fines up to $5000 for repeat offenders.

On behalf of the Kansas Automobile Dealers Association, we respectfully request
the introduction of this bill proposal. Thank you.

Attachments
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SENATE BILL No.

AN-ACT concerning the satisfaction and release of liens and encumbrances
on vehicles and establishing civil penalties for failure to timely do so.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

New Section 1. (a) Upon the satisfaction of a lien or encumbrance on a vehicle
which is subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 8-135 and amendments thereto,
or K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 8-135d and amendments thereto, the lienholder shall, within three
days after receipt of a payment of the type described by subsection (c) fully execute a
release of the lien or encumbrance in the manner the Division prescribes, and mail or
deliver the release where directed by the person who requests the release thereof as
set forth on a form approved by the Division, in the manner prescribed by the Division
depending upon whether the certificate of title is an electronic certificate of title or not.
In all other instances of satisfaction of a lien or encumbrance under this subsection, the
lienholder shall fully execute a release of the lien or encumbrance in the manner the
Division prescribes within ten days of delivery of payment and mail or deliver the
release where directed by the person who requests the release thereof as set forth on a
form approved by the Division in the manner prescribed by the Division depending upon
whether the certificate of title is an electronic certificate of title or not. Lien releases for
an electronic certificate of title shall be in the manner prescribed by the Division.

(b)  Upon the satisfaction of a lien or encumbrance on a vehicle for which the
certificate of title is in the actual possession of a lienholder whose lien is satisfied, the
lienholder shall, within three days after receipt of a payment satisfying the lien which is
of the type described by subsection (c), fully execute a release of the lien or
encumbrance in the manner the Division prescribes, and mail or deliver the release
where directed by the person who requests the release thereof as set forth on a form
approved by the Division. In all other instances of satisfaction of a lien or encumbrance
under this subsection on a vehicle for which the certificate of title is in the possession of
a lienholder whose lien is satisfied, the lienholder shall fully execute a release of the lien
or encumbrance in the manner the Division prescribes within ten days of delivery of
payment and mail or deliver the release where directed by the person who requests the
release thereof as set forth on a form approved by the Division.

(c) If the payment in satisfaction of the lien or encumbrance is in cash or by
intra-bank transfer of funds or inter-bank electronic transfer of funds, or other electronic
transfer of funds, the payment shall be considered cleared immediately upon receipt by
a lienholder, at which point the satisfaction of the lien or encumbrance shall be deemed
to have occurred.

(d)  For purposes of subsections (a) and (b), the release is deemed fully
executed where the release is not by electronic means at that point in time when it is
completed and placed in the United States mail, postage prepaid, directed to the person
requesting the lien release as shown on the form so requesting it; or if the release is
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accomplished electronically, the release is deemed fully executed when it is delivered to
the person requesting the release as shown on the form so requesting it, in the manner
prescribed by the Division.

(e) If a lienholder fails to comply with subsection (a) or (b), an aggrieved party
may file a complaint against the lienholder with the Division. For the purposes of this
section, an aggrieved party shall be the Division, the owner of the vehicle subjected to
the lien or any person making a valid lien request on a form approved by the Division
whereby the lienholder has failed to comply with the applicable subsection (a) or (b).

(f) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the Director of Vehicles, or
other duly appointed hearing officer, on a complaint filed with the Division may assess a
civil administrative penalty on a lienholder who fails to comply with the applicable
portions of subsections (a) or (b) or any regulation issued by the Division pursuant to
this Act after a hearing pursuant to the Kansas administrative procedures act. A
lienholder shall not be found liable for such noncompliance if the noncompliance
occurred as a result of the action or inaction of the Division or county treasurer. A
lienholder who is found to be in violation of this Act may, in the discretion of the Director
of Vehicles or other duly appointed hearing officer, have a civil administrative penalty
imposed upon such person of up to $500 for a first offense. For each successive
violation, the civil administrative penalty may be up to $2,000; but, if the lienholder has
been cited and penalized by the Division for noncompliance five or more times in the
preceding 12 month period, the penalty may be imposed for an amount up to $5,000 for
each subsequent offense.

(g)  Whenever the Division seeks to assess a civil administrative penalty itself
or on complaint by a person pursuant to this Act, the Division shall cause to be served
upon the lienholder, either by service in hand, or by certified mail, return receipt
requested, written notice in the manner provided for instituting an action under the
Kansas administrative procedures act of the intent to assess a civil administrative
penalty, which shall include a concise statement of the alleged act or omission for which
the civil administrative penalty is sought to be assessed, the law that has not been
complied with as a result of the alleged act or omission, the amount that the Division
seeks to assess as a civil administrative penalty for each alleged act or omission, a
statement of the lienholder's right to a hearing on the proposed assessment, the
requirements the lienholder shall comply with to avoid being considered to have waived
the right to a hearing, and the manner of payment thereof if the lienholder elects to pay
the penalty and waive a hearing.

(h)  Whenever the Division seeks to have a civil administrative penalty
assessed against a lienholder, the lienholder shall have the right to a hearing as
provided by the Kansas administrative procedures act, which shall apply except as
provided in this section.

(i) A lienholder who institutes proceedings for judicial review of the final
assessment of a civil administrative penalty shall do so in the District Court of Shawnee
County, Kansas, which shall have exclusive jurisdiction for judicial review of agency
actions under this Act. The lienholder shall place the full amount of the final
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assessment in an interest-bearing account in the custody of the clerk of the District
Court of Shawnee County, Kansas in a manner required by the clerk. The
establishment of the interest bearing account shall be a condition precedent to the
jurisdiction of the reviewing court unless the party seeking judicial review files a motion
seeking to extend the time for making the account or to waive it and demonstrates in a
preliminary hearing held within 20 days of the filing of the complaint either the presence
of a substantial question for review by the court, an inability to pay, or other material
cause for extending or waiving the establishment of the account. After hearing the
motion, the court may grant an extension or waiver of the interest bearing account or
may require, in lieu of the interest bearing account, the posting of a bond payable
directly to the State of Kansas in the amount of 125 per cent of the assessed penalty.

() If, after judicial review, in a case where the requirement for an account has
been waived, and in cases where a bond has been posted in lieu of the requirement,
the court affirms, in whole or in part, the assessment of a civil administrative penalty, the
Division shall be paid the amount thereof together with interest at the rate of 10 percent
per annum. If, after the review in a case where an interest-bearing account has been
established, the court affirms the assessment of the penalty, in whole or in part, the
Division shall be paid the amount thereof together with the accumulated interest thereon
in the interest-bearing account. If the court sets aside the assessment of a civil
administrative penalty in a case where the amount of the penalty has been deposited in
an interest-bearing account, the lienholder on whom the civil administrative penalty was
assessed shall be repaid the amount so set aside, together with the accumulated
interest thereon.

(k) Each lienholder who fails to pay a civil administrative penalty after it
becomes final, and each lienholder who issues a bond pursuant to this section and who
fails to pay to the Division after the liability becomes final, the amount required
hereunder, shall be liable to the Division for up to 3 times the amount of the civil
administrative penalty, together with costs, plus interest from the time the civil
administrative penalty became final and attorneys' fees, including all costs and
attorneys' fees incurred directly in the collection thereof. The rate of interest shall be the
rate of 10 percent per annum.

Sec. 2. This Act shall be part of Chapter 1, Article 8 of the Kansas Statutes
Annotated.

Sec. 3. This Act shall take effect and be in force from and after January 1, 2007.
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KANSAS AUTOMOBILE DEALERS ASSOCIATION

February 1, 2006

To: Chairman Les Donovan
And the Senate Transportation Committee

From: Don McNeely, KADA President

Re:  Bill Introduction Request — Perfection of Security Interest Amendment

Chairman Donovan and Members of the Committee:

My name is Don McNeely, President of the Kansas Auto Dealers Association, a
state trade association representing the franchised new car and truck dealers in the state of
Kansas. I appear before you this moming to request introduction of an amendment to
K.S.A. 8-135 regarding the time period which a creditor can perfect a security interest.

Due to the changes in the Federal Bankruptcy Code, which went into effect last
October, we respectfully request the timeframe to perfect a lien on a motor vehicle be
extended from 20 to 30 days. This proposal would bring Kansas in line with the
amendments to the Federal Bankruptcy Code and avoid bankruptcy losses that have
occurred due to lien perfection outside the current 20-day period as provided by Kansas
law, but within the 30-day time period allowed under federal law.

On behalf of the Kansas Automobile Dealers Association, I respectfully request
the introduction of this bill proposal. Thank you.

Attachment
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a valid Kansas title or registration, except that when a vehicle is registered in another
state, but is financed originally by a financial institution chartered in the state of
Kansas or when a financial institution chartered in Kansas purchases a pool of motor
vehicle loans from the resolution trust corporation or a federal regulatory agency, and
the vehicle is repossessed in another state, such Kansas financial institution shall be
entitled to obtain a valid Kansas title or registration. In addition to any other fee
required for the issuance of a certificate of title, any applicant obtaining a certificate of
title for a repossessed vehicle shall pay a fee of $3.

(3) Dealers shall execute, upon delivery to the purchaser of every new vehicle, a
manufacturer's statement of origin stating the liens and encumbrances thereon. Such
statement of origin shall be delivered to the purchaser at the time of delivery of the
vehicle or at a time agreed upon by the parties, not to exceed 30 days, inclusive of
weekends and holidays. The agreement of the parties shall be executed on a form
approved by the division. In the event delivery of title cannot be made personally, the
seller may deliver the manufacturer's statement of origin by restricted mail to the
address of purchaser shown on the purchase agreement. The manufacturer's
statement of origin may include an attachment containing assignment of such
statement of origin on forms approved by the division. Upon the presentation to the
division of a manufacturer's statement of origin, by a manufacturer or dealer for a new
vehicle, sold in this state, a certificate of title shall be issued if there is also an
application for registration, except that no application for registration shall be required
for a travel trailer used for living quarters and not operated on the highways.

(4) The fee for each original certificate of title shall be $10 in addition to the fee
for registration of such vehicle, trailer or semitrailer. The certificate of title shall be
good for the life of the vehicle, trailer or semitrailer while owned or held by the original
holder of the certificate of title.

(5) Upon sale and delivery to the purchaser of every vehicle subject to a
purchase money security interest as provided in article 9 of chapter 84 of the Kansas
Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, the dealer or secured party may
complete a notice of security interest and when so completed, the purchaser shall
execute the notice, in a form prescribed by the division, describing the vehicle
showing the name and address of the secured party and of the debtor an
information the division requires. The dealer or secured party, within 2&days of the
sale and delivery, may mail or deliver the notice of security interest, together with a
fee of $2.50, to the division. The notice of security interest shall be retained by the
division until it receives an application for a certificate of title to the vehicle and a
certificate of title is issued. The certificate of title shall indicate any security interest in
the vehicle. Upon issuance of the certificate of title, the division shall mail or deliver
confirmation of the receipt of the notice of security interest, the date the certificate of
title is issued and the security interest indicated, to the secured party at the address
shown on the notice of security interest. The proper completion and timely mailing or
delivery of a notice of security interest by a dealer or secured party shall perfect a
security interest in the vehicle described on the date of such mailing or delivery. The
county treasurers shall mail a copy of the title application to the Kansas lienholder.
Each county treasurer shall charge the Kansas lienholder a $1.50 service fee for
processing and mailing a copy of the title application to the Kansas lienholder.

(6) It shall be unlawful for any person to operate in this state a vehicle required to
be registered under this act, or to transfer the title to any such vehicle to any person
or dealer, unless a certificate of title has been issued as herein provided. In the event
of a sale or transfer of ownership of a vehicle for which a certificate of title has been
issued, which certificate of title is in the possession of the transferor at the time of
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Testimony for the Kansas Senate Transportation Committee
Presented February 1*, 2006 in Support of Senate Bill #346

It is a privilege and an honor to have the opportunity to address the Senate Transportation
Committee and to offer comments in support of Senate Bill #346.

Senate Bill #3406 is a simple piece of legislation which addresses the circumstances where
technology has outpaced current law. It amends K.S.A. 8-1748 repealing the existing section and
replacing it with the language in the bill.

Current law says that no motor vehicle can be equipped with a television-type receiving
equipment located where the screen is visible from the driver’s seat. Current technology being
sold every day in Kansas includes not just the video screens we see in mini-vans that are
appropriately placed under current law behind the drivers’s seat, but also screens that are
installed in the dash which are viewable by the driver. Many after-market entertainment systems
have screens that retract inside the dash and pop out with operation. Senate Bill #346 amends
that statute so as to. make only the operation of the screen rather than possession a violation of
state statute.

I would ask the committee to favorably recommend this legislation for passage as it more
accurately represents our circumstances and technologies.

Respectfully submitted,
7N -\. O
¥
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Senator Phillip B. J(ﬁv

26™ District

Senate Transportation Committee
February 1, 2006
Attachment 3



TAGS for VETERANS CAMPER TRAILERS
To Whom it may concern:

There appears to be a very serious discrepancy in the current law. You
can purchase a veteran's tag for a motor home, but not for a travel trailer.
My concern is why this difference. | feel there is no real logical reason for
this. | served fourteen months in the Korean Conflict and am very proud of
my service. | also served three tours of twelve months in Vetnam of which
whatever people might think | believe in doing my duty. | realize this is a
minor issue with most of those here today. As a veteran of twenty two
years of service this is a black eye to all of us veterans. It is my deepest
feeling that we should not be discrimated in this matter. These are the
people that have and are keeping our country free to live in such a great
democracy. This is why we have voted to elect those who are realistic in
making laws that support the people.

Willie L. Jones

US Major Retired

1920 Nth 24th Street
Independence, KS 67301
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Senate Transportation Committee
February 1, 2006
Attachment 4



