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MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Les Donovan at 8:30 A.M. on March 8, 2006 in Room 527-
S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Anthony Hensley- excused

Committee staff present:
Hank Avila, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Bruce Kinzie, Revisors of Statutes
Maggie Breen, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Representative Bonnie Huy
Don McNeeley, Kansas Automobile Dealers Association
Carmen Alldritt, Director of Motor Vehicles
Deann Williams, Bureau Chief, Motor Carrier Service Bureau
Mary Jane Stankiewicz, Kansas Grain and Feed

Others attending:
See attached list.

Chairman Donovan opened the hearing on HB 2645 - Vehicle title service agents, licensing.

Representative Bonnie Huy said HB 2645 is a consumer protection measure that would close some existing
loopholes relative to fraudulent title documentation on stolen vehicles. She shared what she learned as a
victim of vehicular theft. Her truck was stolen and the title transferred three times without her knowing it.
. She included copies of forged documents processed on her vehicle with her testimony. In our state it’s
incredibly easy for a thief to steal a vehicle, obtain a duplicate title, transfer title by forging the owner’s
signature and get away with it because of the current loopholes and the lack of any checks and balances. An
application for a duplicate Certificate of Title and title transfer can be processed simply by forging the owner’s
name because a notarized signature is no longer required nor is proof of ownership. Also, the state is not
currently linked to the National Crime Information Center (NCIC) and property crimes are the lowest priority
for law enforcement. In Wichita there is a title company that operates almost completely “under the radar
screen” and the word on the street is you can pretty much get anything you want done there. The Vehicle Title
Service Licensing Act would require vehicle title service agents, that process third party title work, to pay a
license fee of $75 and maintain a bond of $25,000. The Director of Motor Vehicles would have authority to
suspend or revoke licenses and impose civil penalties for violation of the act. The bill is not intended to be
burdensome to legitimate title businesses. This bill, along with the news that Kansas will soon start using
NCIS, will make it much harder for would be thieves. The bill was amended in the House Transportation
Committee to exempt Kansas Automobile Dealers Association and the Kansas Motor Carriers Association,
both of which process title work. There have been no complaints regard those two groups. She asked for
favorable support of the bill. It passed the House 118 to 7. (Attachment 1)

Don McNeeley, Kansas Automobile Dealers Association, said that one of the many services to their members
is operating a title service on their behalf. The dealers send them title work, they run it through the Division
of Motor Vehicles for processing and mail it back to their dealer members. They are very pleased to support

the bill. (Attachment 2)

Carmen Alldritt, Director of Motor Vehicles, said there are approximately 25 title service agents or businesses
in Kansas. The title services are used by some dealers and often by individuals. All the vehicle work is taken
for processing to the County Treasurer’s offices and it is stamped “hand carry.” The agents bring that work
to the front counter at the Docking Building for same day printing oftitles. The Division is in agreement with
the amended version of the bill. She said it had been very interesting and informative working with
Representative Huy as she traced and retrieved her vehicle. A few years ago the state attempted to get into
NCIC for this very problem but it was cost prohibitive. But when they made the call this time they found they
can get hooked up with just the cost of a little programming time. They’re thankful that Representative Huy
took up the cause. (Attachment 3)

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1



CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE Senate Transportation Committee at 8:30 A.M. on March 8, 2006 in Room 527-S of
the Capitol.

Chairman Donovan closed the hearing on HB 2645 and opened the hearing on:

HB 2878 - Motor fuel trip permits. issuance of.

Deann Williams, Bureau Chief, Motor Carrier Service Bureau, Division of Vehicles, said she just started
working there last Thursday and is very pleased to be there. She appeared in support of HB 2878. Basically,
it would allow a motor carrier to obtain a 72- hour fuel permit that will allow them to go back and forth across
the state border. They would not have to buy a trip permit each and every time come into Kansas. Also, if
they know they will be coming in for a week or two, then they would be able to purchase three additional
permits at a cost of $25 each. They feel the bill will make it easier for the carriers operating close to the
border to bring commodities into Kansas. (Attachment 4)

Chairman Donovan asked if there was an increase in the fee. Deann said yes and no. It is $13 right now for
the one trip permit and it would increase to $25 for the 72 hour permit.

Mary Jane Stankiewicz, Vice President and General Counsel for Kansas Grain and Feed Association (KGFA),
said they discovered that one of their members last year, due to some changes in the law, missed out on
approximately one million bushels of grain from Kansas City. They are seeking the ability to buy either a day
or a 72-hour permit rather than a one trip permit. Some of their people were actually fined when they were
driving through our state, to the point of entry, to buy their trip permits. Their only other option was to get
up earlier and do it online. Some can do this but it is not convenient, especially during your busy season.
They have one recommended change for consideration. The bill eliminates individual trip permits altogether,
in effect raising fees for anyone who wants to make 1 trip into the state. They suggest the 24-hour permit be
$13 and the 72-hour permit be $25. (Attachment 5)

Bruce Kinzie said he’d visited with Ms. Williams and there is some concern with the language in the bill and
the way law enforcement personnel might interpret it. In essence, if would be clearer if we got away from the
wording “trip permits” and referred to them as “motor fuel permits.” He said the wording “within the state”
should also be taken out so there would be no confusion about them crossing the borders in and out of the
state.

Chairman Donovan asked Ms. Williams if the Feed and Grain amendment works for them. Ms. Williams said
they want to make sure that the $13 for a 24-hour period will work on the fiscal side. They will get back to

him.

Chairmman Donovan closed the hearing on HB 2878.

Chairman Donovan said his plans are to take final action on SB 456 - Open records; disclosure of certain

records pertaining to drivers of motor vehicles transporting members of the public, when the committee
meets on February 14.

HB 2645

Senator Wilson made a motion to pass HB 2645 out favorably. Senator Petersen seconded the motion. The
motion carried.

Chairman Donovan initiated approval of the committee minutes for February 22, 2006.

Senator Schmidt made a motion to approve the minutes as written. Senator Wilson seconded the motion. The
motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 9:10 a.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, March 14, 2006.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to
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STATE OF KANSAS

Bonnie Huy
Representative, 87th District
Capitol Building, Room 110-S
Topeka, Kansas 66612

(785) 296-7644
huy@house.state.ks.us

Committee Assignments
Member:
* Appropriations
* Education Budget

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
87" DISTRICT

Testimony in Support of
House Bill 2645
Before the Senate Transportation Committee
By Representative Bonnie Huy

March 8, 2006

Chairman Donovan and Committee Members:

I appreciate the opportunity to appear in support of House Bill 2645, which is a
consumer protection measure that would close some existing loopholes relative to
fraudulent title documentation on stolen vehicles.

If the committee would indulge me, I would first like to share what I have learned as a
victim of vehicular theft.

Back in December 2004, our truck was stolen along with my husband’s prized tools
that he had collected over the past 50 years.

Between December 2004 and October 2005, I periodically contacted the detective
assigned to our case to inquire about the status of the investigation. When I called in
October 2005, I remarked that, if the truck were still in the state, at least the title could
not be transferred because we held the Certificate of Title. The detective enlightened
me about how simple it is to obtain a duplicate title in Kansas and furthermore that he
had not checked to see if an application for a duplicate had been processed. I
subsequently requested that he do so and received a follow-up call the next day
informing me that the title had transferred three times.

In Kansas, it is incredibly easy for a thief to steal a vehicle, obtain a duplicate title,
transfer title by forging the owner's signature and get away with it because of the
current loopholes and the lack of any “checks and balances.” For example:

o There is no in-state check to detect the stolen status of a Vehicle Identification
Number (VIN) when an application for a duplicate title is processed. The
Division of Motor Vehicles is not presently linked to the National Crime

Senate Transportation Committee
Home Address: 1142 S. Governeour Ct. - Wichita, Kansas 67207 - March 8. 2006
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Information Center (NCIC), the computerized index of criminal justice
information, which includes stolen properties.

e Property crimes are the lowest priority for law enforcement and are not
aggressively pursued due to heavy caseloads.

e An application for a duplicate Certificate of Title and title transfer can be
processed simply by forging the owner’s name because a notarized signature is
no longer required nor is proof of ownership.

Law enforcement tells me that the real problem with stolen vehicles started when the
criminals figured out how easy it is to apply for a duplicate Certificate of Title due to
the lack of “checks and balances” in the system. They just simply forge and complete
an affidavit for power of attorney and receive a duplicate title on any vehicle of
choice. The vehicle is usually immediately sold and the new buyer has no way to
know if the seller is in fact the actual owner.

As examples of how uncomplicated it is for criminals to obtain a duplicate title and
transfer ownership by forging a signature, I have attached to this testimony copies
of the forged documents processed on our vehicle.

In Wichita we have a glaring example of a title service that operates almost
completely "under the radar screen." The word on the street is that this person will
apply for and process duplicate titles and vehicle registrations for anyone for cash --
no questions asked. According to law enforcement, this person is even willing to
forge documents. Whenever an investigator has inquired about a particular
transaction, the standard answer from this person is: “I do not have any record of nor
do I remember that transaction. I did not ask for identification and I do not know if
they were being truthful or not.” Because this person requires no proof of ownership
or identification, illegal aliens who do not have drivers’ licenses frequently utilize her
services. (All persons involved with our truck were illegal aliens.)

The Vehicle Title Service Agent Licensing Act would require vehicle title service
agents that process third party title work to pay a license fee of $75 and maintain a
bond of $25,000 deposited with the State Treasurer. The Director of Vehicles would
have the authority to suspend or revoke licenses and impose civil penalties between
$100 and $2,000 for each violation of the Act. The licensee would be required to
maintain for three years a log containing a record entry of the date of each
application, the name of the person for whom the title services were performed, the
name of the owner and the vehicle identification number of each vehicle and, if the
service is performed for an individual, photo identification of the owner.



The bill is not intended to be burdensome to legitimate title businesses most of whom
are honest and have a reputation for cooperating with law enforcement. The intent of
this legislation is to tighten existing loopholes utilized by criminals and a few
unscrupulous title service agents.

Licensing of title service agents and linking to NCIC (which I'm told will soon be
implemented by the Division of Motor Vehicles) will make it much more difficult to
process fraudulent title documents.

HB 2645 was amended in the House Transportation Committee to exempt Kansas
Automobile Dealers Association and the Kansas Motor Carriers Association, both of

which process title work.

If we don’t tighten the known loopholes that make it all too easy for the criminal, we
may as well erect a billboard stating, “Crime Pays in Kansas.”

I ask for your favorable support of HB 2645 that will make it more difficult for a thief
to fraudulently obtain a duplicate Certificate of Title on a stolen vehicle.

Thank you for your time and attention.
Respectfully,

Representative Bonnie Huy
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KANSAS AUTOMOBILE DEALERS ASSOCIATION

March 8, 2006

To:  Chairman Les Donovan
and the Members of the Senate Transportation Committee

From: Don L. McNeely, KADA President

Re: HB 2645 — Vehicle Title Service Agent Licensing Act

Chairman Donovan and Members of the Committee:

Good morning, my name is Don McNeely, and I serve as President of the Kansas
Automobile Dealers Association (KADA). Mr. Whitney Damron, KADA’s Legislative
Counsel, also accompanies me this morning. On behalf of the Kansas Automobile
Dealers Association, which represents the interests of the state’s franchised new motor
vehicle dealers, and as one of our member services performs the services of a title service
agency to meet the needs of our membership, we respectfully request your support of HB
2645.

The House Transportation Committee at the request of KADA adopted our
proposed amendments which exempts the state’s licensed motor vehicle dealers from the
proposed legislation’s licensing requirements due to the fact, they are already licensed
with the Division of Vehicles, which requires an annual licensing fee, an established
place of business, minimum liability insurance, property and sales tax clearance, $30,000
bonding and open records inspections. In addition, the House also adopted KADA’s
proposed amendment which streamlines the recordkeeping requirements required of a
licensee.

On behalf of the Kansas Automobile Dealers Association, I would like to thank
the Members of the Committee for allowing me to appear before you this morning and
we respectfully request your support of HB 2645, as amended. Thank you.

O Aye. = Jopeka, KD 33807 Senate Transportation Committee

Telephone (785) 233-6456 © Fax (785) 233-1462 March 8, 2006
Attachment 2
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JOAN WAGNON. SECRETARY KATHLEEN SEBELIUS. GOVERNOR
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

DIVISION OF VEHICLES

TO: Chairman Les Donovan
Members of the Senate Transportation Committee
FROM: Carmen Alldritt, Director
Division of Vehicles
DATE: March 8, 2006
SUBJECT: House Bill 2645 — Title Service Agents

Thank you, Mr. Chairman and Committee members.

We have approximately twenty five title service agents or businesses in Kansas. They are located
throughout the state, but primarily in Kansas City, Wichita, Topeka, Hutchinson, Salina and two
out of Missouri. Title services are used by some dealers and often, some individuals. All vehicle
work is taken for processing to the County Treasurers’ offices, and it is stamped “hand-carry”.
The agents bring that work to our front counter at the Docking Building for same day printing of
titles or whatever their business needs require.

The Division is in agreement with the amended version of this bill, as we consider Motor Carriers,
Dealers and Financial Institutions, as party to these transactions.

This bill would require the title service to keep records of identification of their customers in case
there would ever be any question regarding a transaction. The bonding would be in place for any
consumer issues that might arise. And, of course, since we do tax clearance on any licenses
issued, such as dealers licensing, title service agents would be subject to that process.

DOCKING STATE OFFICE BUILDING, 9215 SW HARRISON ST., TOPEKA, KS 66612-1588
Voice 785-294- 3601 Fax 785-291-3755  http://www ksrevanna nrn!

Senate Transportation Committee
March 8, 2006
Attachment 3



JOAN WAGNQON. SECRETARY KATHLEEN SEBELIUS. GOVERNOR
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
DIVISION OF VEHICLES

TO: Chairman Les Donovan
Members of the Senate Transportation Committee

FROM: Deann Williams, Chief, Motor Carrier Services Bureau
Division of Vehicles

DATE: March 8, 2006

SUBJECT: House Bill 2878 — Motor Carrier Trip Permits

My name is Deann Williams, Bureau Chief, Motor Carrier Services Bureau, Kansas Department of
Revenue. We appear here this morming in support of House Bill 2878.

House Bill 2878 would provide for a 72-hour fuel permit to be issued by Kansas motor carrier permit
offices for a cost of $25.00. This bill gives the motor carrier the ability to purchase three additional
72-hour permits, making it easier for motor carriers making multiple trips into Kansas, especially for those
carriers conducting business close to state borders.

I would be pleased to stand for questions at the appropriate time.
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Kansas Grain & Feed Association

P.0.Box2429 © Phone: 785-234-0461 -

816 SW Tyler Fax: 785-234-2930
Topeka, KS 66601-2429 www.KansasAg.org

Statement in Support of HB 2878
Senate Transportation Committee
March 8, 2006

Thank you Chairman Donovan, members of the Senate Transportation Committee. My name is
Mary Jane Stankiewicz, I am Vice President and General Counsel for the Kansas Grain and Feed
Association (KGFA). The KGFA is a voluntary state association with membership
encompassing the entire spectrum of the grain receiving, storage, processing and shipping
industry in the state of Kansas. KGFA’s membership includes over 950 Kansas business
locations and represents 99% of the commercially licensed grain storage in the state. Our
members include both state and federally licensed warehouses. On behalf of our members I am
appearing today in support of HB 2878.

Last year, the Legislature removed the exemption for out-of-state farmers that do not have an
IFTA tag, to purchase individual motor fuel trip permits when they enter the state. That law has
had the unintended consequence of driving grain business out of the state. One elevator in
Kansas City estimates that over 1 million bushels of grain didn’t come to their elevator as a
direct result of last year’s law.

Under the current law, permits are valid for one trip into the state, regardless of the number of
miles actually driven. The permits are only valid the day they are purchased. For example,
during harvest season, an out-of-state farmer might purchase 6 permits and only be able to use 4
in a given day. The other two permits are worthless and they must purchase new permits the
next day.

HB 2878 is an attempt to make the law work better. We have worked with the Kansas Motor
Carriers Association and the Department of Revenue to craft this bill so out-of-state truckers can
comply with the law easily with the minimum amount of interaction with the state bureaucracy.

This bill creates a 72-hour permit at a cost of $25 that allows the out-of-state trucker to make as
many trips as they choose for a single rate. It also allows the out-of-state trucker to purchase
multiple 72-hour permits at a time, lessening the amount of interaction they must have with the
state.

We would recommend a minor amendment to the bill to allow for a 24-hour trip permit as well.
The current fee is $13 for a single trip, but HB 2878 eliminates individual trip permits altogether,
in effect raising fees for anyone who only wants to make 1 trip into the state. We would suggest
the committee amend HB 2878 to allow a 24-hour trip permit at the $13 rate and a 72-hour trip
permit at the $25 rate.

Thank you Mr. Chairman, I"1l stand for questions at the appropriate time.
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Session of 2006
HOUSE BILL No. 2878
By Committee on Transportation

2-10

9 AN ACT relating to motor fuel trip permits; providing for 72-hour per-
10 mits; amending K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 79-34,118 and repealing the existing
11 section.

I2

13  Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

14 Section 1. K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 79-34,118 is hereby amended to read
15  as follows: 79-34,118. Upon application to the director of taxation and
16  payment of the fee prescribed under this section any interstate motor fuel
17  user may obtain a trip permit which will authorize one commercial motor
18 vehicle to be operated for a period of 72-hours within this state without
19 compliance with the other provisions of the interstate motor fuel use act
20 and in lieu of the tax imposed by K.S.A. 79-34,109 and amendments

21  thereto. The meM@@m@sm&ddeLLﬂm_s%%ﬂﬁhﬁ}Hw Eh'qke ouq

22
23

: Tﬂp permits may be purchased in multiples of three upon makma
proper application and payment of the required fees. The secretary of
25 revenue shall adopt rules and regulations specifying the conditions under
26 which trip permits will be issued and providing for the issuance thereof.
27  The secretary may designate agents or contract with private individuals,
28  firms or corporations to issue such trip permits so that such permits will
29  be obtainable at convenient locations.

30 Sec. 2. K.S5.A. 2005 Supp. 79-34,118 is hereby repealed.

31 Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its
32 publication in the statute book.
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