Approved: January 18, 2007
Date
MINUTES OF THE SENATE ASSESSMENT AND TAXATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Barbara Allen at 10:45 A.M. on January 17, 2007 in Room
519-S of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:
Chris Courtwright, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Martha Dorsey, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Gordon Self, Office of Revisor of Statutes
Jason Thompson, Office of Revisor of Statutes
Judy Swanson, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Bruce Larkin, Kansas Department of Revenue
Mike Taylor, United Government of Wyandotte County

Others attending:
See attached list.

SB 26: Adjustments to the homestead property tax act related to refunds and filing requirements

Bruce Larkin, Kansas Department of Revenue, said the bill would make two changes: 1) change the
percentage of rent paid for renters attributable to property taxes from 20% to 15%, and 2) eliminate the
requirement that a copy of the property tax statement be included with the return, which will allow for
electronic filing of homestead returns. (Attachment 1) KDOR supports enhancing the program by increasing
the maximum refund amount from $600 to $700.

Mike Taylor, Unified Government of Wyandotte County, testified in favor of SB 26. (Attachment 2) He said
it is a positive, effective and cost-efficient way to assist those citizens who may struggle to pay their property
tax bills.

SB 27: Verification of income by certain claimants who are renters under the homestead property tax
refund act

Bruce Larkin, KDOR, testified this bill was requested by KDOR to address an issue of potential fraud.
(Attachment 3) He said the change would allow KDOR to deny those returns where the income does not
exceed the rent by 150%, subject to the claimant providing proof of other exempt income.

SB 28: Providing asset test requirement for claimants of homestead property tax refunds

Bruce Larkin, KDOR, said this bill would place an asset test of $250,000 or less as a qualifier for a homestead
refund. (Attachment 4) Mr. Larkin introduced Chad Sullivan and Lori McNnery, KDOR, who assisted in
answering Committee questions regarding filling out the application to qualify for the homestead exemption.

Mr. Larkin said he would explore KDOR’s ability to look at real versus paper losses on income tax returns.
The definition of “assets” as currently in the bill means gross assets, and this should probably be discussed
further. Inserting home valuation amount as a qualifying factor for homestead exemption might be an
alternative option for this bill. Senator Apple requested information to determine if valuation of primary
residence, instead of net worth, could be inserted in the bill.

Hearing on SB 26, SB 27 and SB 28 was closed.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to
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CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE Senate Assessment and Taxation Committee at 10:45 A.M. on January 17, 2007 in
Room 519-S of the Capitol.

Mr. Larkin reviewed the the process of how taxpayers apply for the homestead exemption, and what they need
to do to meet requirements. To be eligible, a person must make less than $28,000 annually, be a Kansas
resident for twelve months and meet one of the following three criteria:

. be over the age of 55 for an entire year
. be disabled
. have a child who is 18 years old or younger for a period of twelve months

Most agencies serving low income people request KDOR assistance in disseminating information on applying
for homestead exemption to the people potentially qualifying for the exemption. Renters are more difficult
to get information from than homeowners. In 2006, approximately$13 million was attributed to homeowners
and $3 million to renters. The fiscal note is $20 million now. Last year there were 82,000 claims for
homestead exemption.

Senator Lee questioned internet vendor forms. She had a constituent who used a form off the internet, and
the form was incorrect. Mr. Larkin said not all internet forms were KDOR approved.

Joan Wagnon, Secretary of KDOR, said she will bring back suggestions within two weeks on how SB 28
could be improved.

Senator Bruce moved to approve the Minutes of the January 11 Committee meeting. Senator Schmidt
seconded the motion, and the motion passed.

Being no further business the meeting adjourned at 11:20 a.m. Next Committee meeting will be January 18.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to
the individuals appearing before the commiltee for editing or corrections. Page 2
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Kathleen Sebelius, Governor

KA iNE s A S Joan Wagnon, Secretary

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
www.ksrevenue.org

Testimony on Senate Bill 26
to
Senate Committee on Assessment & Taxation
By Bruce Larkin, Kansas Department of Revenue
January 17, 2007

Chairperson Allen, members of the committee,

The Department of Revenue appreciates the opportunity to address the changes to the
Homestead program included in Senate Bill 26. Two of the changes recommended by
the Department to the interim committee are included in Senate bill 26. These include a
change in the percentage for renters from 20% to 15%, and elimination of the mandatory
requirement of supplying a copy of the property tax statement which will allow for
electronic filing of homestead returns.

The Department presented information about the disparity between renters and home
owners to the Special committee on Assessment & Taxation this past fall which showed
that renters were receiving higher amounts of refunds than homeowners. The change
from 20% to 15% will help eliminate that disparity. Included in the testimony is the
information supplied to the interim committee with 103 examples of actual returns for
renters of single family dwellings.

The second change in this bill is eliminating the mandatory requirement that a copy of
the property tax statement be included with the return. This would allow for the
department to facilitate electronic filing of homestead returns. That in turn would create
time savings and greater efficiencies in the administration of the homestead program.
The Department can always request a copy of the property tax statement if there are
concerns about certain returns.

The department also supports the interim committee recommendation of enhancing
the program by increasing the maximum refund amount from $600 to $700. We
appreciate this opportunity to address these concerns and would stand for questions.
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OWNER/RENTER COMPARISON OF THE SAME PROPERTY

Actual
Household Refund Property
Income Percentage Tax Homeowner | Rent Amount | Renter County
$3,756 88 $115 $101 $3,600 $528 Sedgwick
$18,869 28 $369 $103 $3,600 $168 Shawnee
$13,720 48 $285 $136 $7,800 $288 Shawnee
$0 100 $473 $473 $3,000 $600 Sedgwick
$0 100 $404 $404 $3,600 $538 Sedgwick
$6,708 76 $107 $81 $3,600 $456 Sedgwick
$0 100 $322 $322 $3,600 $535 Shawnee
$1,296 100 $1,184 $600 $4,800 $600 Lyon
$0 100 $1,196 $600 $9,600 $600 Finney
$2,070 100 $374 $374 $2,400 $480 Jackson
$5,880 80 $221 $177 $4,200 $450 | Montgomery
$6,348 76 $387 $294 $2,400 $365 Smith
$8,120 68 $466 $317 $3,000 $408 Reno
$9,650 64 $448 $287 $6,900 $384 Wyandotte
$9,542 64 $1,711 $384 $6,000 $384 Jefferson
$6,571 76 $577 $439 $4,200 $456 Shawnee
$0 100 $2,033 $600 $4,800 $600 Shawnee
$2,074 100 $216 $216 $2,400 $456 Sumner
$9,263 64 $186 $119 $4,800 $384 Bourbon
$9,985 64 $581 $372 $3,300 $383 Trego
$9,110 64 $755 $384 $3,600 $384 Saline
$8,827 68 $205 $139 $4,200 $408 Sedgwick
$7,813 72 $269 $194 $3,983 $365 Sedgwick
$4,996 84 $771 $504 $2,250 $378 Barton
$0 100 8675 $600 $4,900 $600 Reno
$2,861 100 $875 $600 $3,000 $600 Ellis
$7,188 72 $703 $432 $3,000 $415 Marion
$7,583 72 $336 $242 $3,480 $432 Phillips
$5,820 80 $1,037 $480 $4,200 $480 Labette
$3,499 88 $1,143 $528 $3,600 $528 | McPherson
$499 100 $747 $600 $2,750 $550 Osbourne
$3,080 88 $470 $414 $3,888 $528 Wyandotte
$6,851 76 $180 $137 $3,000 $456 Brown
$6,835 76 $261 $198 $3,600 $456 Morris
$8,299 68 $664 $408 $3,178 $408 | Montgomery
$6,262 76 $175 $133 $3,900 $456 | Montgomery
$9,098 64 $1,295 $384 $6,000 $384 Cowley
$9,825 64 $222 $142 $2,400 $252 Dickinson
$3,890 88 $889 $528 $6,600 $528 Franklin
$0 100 $959 $600 $4.,686 $600 Reno
$0 100 $336 $336 $3,300 $600 Reno
$7,094 72 $178 $128 $3,300 $391 Stanton
$8,856 68 $1,578 $408 $12,720 $408 Johnson
$56 100 $528 $528 $4,320 $600 Sedgwick
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OWNER/RENTER COMPARISON OF THE SAME PROPERTY

Actual
Household Refund Property
Income Percentage Tax Homeowner | Rent Amount | Renter County
$0 100 $264 $264 $3,000 $552 Shawnee
$7,188 72 $1,172 $432 $3,000 $432 Saline
$8,042 68 $770 $408 $3,600 $408 Sherman
$8,034 68 $335 $228 $4,200 $408 | Montgomery
$9,444 64 $474 $303 $3,600 $384 Jackson
$3,973 88 $436 $384 $4,524 $528 Franklin
$13,723 48 $333 $160 $3,900 $288 Marion
$4,029 84 $370 $311 $4,888 $504 Linn
$7,006 72 $414 $298 $2,975 $394 Thomas
$5,5697 80 $635 $508 $3,900 $480 Thomas
30 100 $966 $600 $5,700 $600 Saline
$6,859 76 $662 $503 $3,600 $456 Neosho
$7,916 72 $660 $475 $3,720 $432 Bourbon
$7,188 72 $327 $235 $4,500 $432 Crawford
$1,919 100 $530 $530 $6,000 $600 Crawford
$7,800 72 $485 $349 $2,707 $392 Lyon
$6,713 76 $396 $301 $4,200 $456 Lyon
$9,714 64 $800 $512 $5,700 $384 Shawnee
$7,241 72 $467 $408 $5,700 $432 Shawnee
$9,568 64 $248 $159 $4,800 $384 Shawnee
$956 100 $190 $190 $3,600 $600 Sedgwick
$3,451 88 $686 $528 $4,800 $528 Sedgwick
$0 100 $333 $333 $4,800 $600 Shawnee
$7,395 72 $505 $364 $2,520 $363 Sedgwick
$3,614 88 $762 $528 $4,800 $528 Sedgwick
$5,076 80 $441 $353 $6,000 $480 Sedgwick
$3,056 88 $655 $528 $4,500 $528 Wyandotte
$9,534 64 $1,107 $384 $5,220 $384 Wyandotte
$5,985 80 $278 $222 $3,600 $480 Butler
$6,948 76 $1,429 $456 $2,400 $365 Labette
$0 100 $244 $244 $3,600 $600 Labette
$19,167 24 $958 $144 $6,044 $144 Franklin
$8,178 68 $99 867 $4,800 $408 Barton
$3,316 88 $1,183 $528 $3,600 $528 Miami
$14,641 44 $335 $147 $3,300 $264 Ellsworth
$7,343 72 $457 $329 $3,600 $432 Marshall
$5,697 80 $452 $362 $3,600 $361 Pratt
$0 100 $241 $241 $4,200 $600 Lyon
$9,911 64 $333 $213 $4.200 $384 Sherman
$7,038 72 $1,056 $432 $2,568 $370 Saline
$5,955 80 $673 $480 $4,800 $480 Grant
$0 100 $426 $426 $6,000 $600 Riley
$0 100 $218 $218 $5,400 $600 Sedgwick
$9,900 64 $1,034 $384 $3,600 $384 Sedgwick
$5,243 80 $601 $480 $7,200 $380 Sedgwick
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OWNER/RENTER COMPARISON OF THE SAME PROPERTY

Actual
Household Refund Property
Income Percentage Tax Homeowner | Rent Amount | Renter County
$0 100 $375 $375 $4.200 $600 Sedgwick
$7,843 72 $1,062 $432 $8,400 $432 Sedgwick
$8,731 68 $337 $229 $4,560 $408 Shawnee
$0 100 $1,245 $600 $5,400 $600 Shawnee
$3,837 88 $491 $432 $5,100 $528 Harvey
$6,554 76 $534 $406 $3,850 $456 Harvey
$5,871 80 $587 $470 $4,680 $480 Harvey
30 100 $98 $98 $3,000 $552 Cherokee
$1,912 100 $358 $358 $4,200 $600 Cherokee
$0 100 $132 $132 $2,400 $480 Cherokee
$6,516 76 $745 $456 $3,300 $456 Sumner
$8,354 68 $1,145 $408 $7,500 $408 Douglas
$0 100 $419 $419 $4,600 $600 Neosho
$3,622 88 $307 $270 $2,580 $456 Coffey
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Testimony

Unified Government Public Relations
701 N. 7™ Street, Room 620
Kansas City, Kansas 66101

Mike Taylor, Public Relations Director
913.449.4848 mtaylor@wycokck.org

Senate Bill 26
Homestea_d Property Tax Act

Delivered January 17, 2007
Senate Assessment and Tax Committee

The Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City supports Senate Bill 26 which calls for an
increase in the refund allowed under the Homestead Exemption Act.

Mayor Joe Reardon and the Unified Government Board of Commissioners have worked hard to lower
the property tax burden on our citizens... from cutting mill levies and collecting more delinquent taxes,
to growing other revenues by expanding the local economy.

The Unified Government tax rate (combined city/county mill levy) has been reduced 25% since voters

approved consolidation 10 years ago. Still, the property tax can be difficult for some of our older,
fixed-income citizens to deal with.

Senate Bill 26 is a positive, effective and cost-efficient way to assist those citizens who may struggle
to pay their tax bills. This measure, combined with various efforts at the local level, can go a long way
to making all of our communities more affordable for all of our citizens.
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Kathleen Sebelius, Governor

KA N S AS Joan Wagnon, Secretary

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
www.Ksrevenue.org

Testimony on Senate Bill 27
to
Senate Committee on Assessment & Taxation
By Bruce Larkin, Kansas Department of Revenue

January 17, 2007
Chairperson Allen, members of the committee,

Senate Bill 27 was requested by the department to address an issue of potential fraud.
This provision would allow the department to deny returns from renters if the income of
the renter didn’t exceed the rent paid by 150%.

This portion of the program is the most difficult to administer for the department.
Many applicants know that the lower the income and the higher amount of rent the
greater the refund will be. For instance an individual that claims rent paid of $5000 and
income of $6000 dollars would be eligible for the maximum refund. However, we all
know that no one can live on $1000 per year. In this case there is income not reported or
income that is exempt (ie. Social security disability, gifts, inheritance, or money from
savings) that needs to be identified in order to qualify for a refund. This change will
allow the department to deny those returns where the income doesn’t exceed the rent by
150% subject to the claimant providing proof of other exempt income.
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Kathleen Sebelius, Governor

KA N S A S Joan Wagnon, Secretary

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
www.Ksrevenue.org

Testimony on Senate Bill 28
To
Senate Committee on Assessment & Taxation
By Bruce Larkin, Kansas Department of Revenue

January 17, 2007
Chairperson Allen, members of the committee,

S.B. 28 appears to be the more controversial of the suggestions made by the
department to the interim committee. This bill as introduced would place an asset test as
a qualifier for a homestead refund of $250,000. A concern was raised about the
definition of “asset” that will be left up to the committee to determine.

The Homestead program has always been promoted as a way to relieve low income
Kansans from the burden of property tax. Every one can envision the elderly widow on
fixed income who struggles to keep up with escalating cost of living, and having to pay
higher property taxes each year because valuations and or mill levies increase each year.
This program 1s designed to help individuals who struggle to make ends meet. However,
I want to make the committee aware of individuals who qualify for the homestead
program because they have a loss for the year or income not subject to taxes and let the
committee decide if they want to continue to provide assistance in these cases.

We recently had an appeal from an individual who was had foreign income not subject
to either federal or state taxes. He showed no state income, so he filed for a homestead
refund. The property valuation on his home was in excess of $600,000. He was denied
because his return was filed late. Another individual showed a business loss as a reason
for his application for a homestead refund. His property valuation was in excess of
$800,000 and his taxes exceeded $15,000 per year. He also was denied only because he
filed past the deadline. These are just a couple of examples of returns that we receive.
Many that have similar situations are accepted and paid because there are no current
restrictions.

We understand the concerns raised by the interim committee and that perhaps the
suggestion made by the department may not be the best way to address this problem.
However, we do feel that it was not the legislature’s intent to send refunds to many of
these individuals that may qualify due to business loss etc. If the committee has an
interest in pursuing this issue the department would be happy to assist in any way we can.
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