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Date
MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Les Donovan at 8:30 A.M. on February 15, 2007 in Room
527-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Anthony Hensley- excused
Committee staff present:
Hank Avila, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Mike Corrigan, Revisors of Statutes
Maggie Breen, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Col. William Seck, Kansas Highway Patrol
Ashleigh Atkins, 17 year old Seat Belt Advocate
Jim Hanni, AAA
Dr. Howard Rodenberg, KDHE
Cindy D’Ercole, Kansas Action for Children
Dr. Robert Foss, Dir of Center for Young Drivers Highway Safety Center
Secretary Deb Miller, KDOT
Director Mike Watson, Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police

Others attending:
See attached list.

Chairman Donovan opened the hearing on SB 211--Safety belts, primary enforcement for occupants under
18 vears of age.

Proponents:
Col. William Seck, Kansas Highway Patrol said, as the committee well knows, the current law requires the law

enforcement officer to sight the driver for another infraction before they can ticket them for the secondary seat
belt law. SB 211 would also require all occupants between the ages of 14 to 18, regardless of where they’re
seated in the vehicle, to wear a seat belt . Law enforcement across the state supports the bill, thinking it a step
in the right direction. They also support another bill in the committee, SB 223 which would require everyone
in the vehicle to be belted. Current seat belt usage in Kansas is about 73% and the national average is 81%.
Most experts tell us that if Kansas were to enact a primary seat belt law there would be about a 10-15% increase
in seat belt usage. The increased seat belt usage would have a direct effect correlation on reducing the number
of fatalities. So far in 2007, there have been 41 fatalities and of the 18 reports received and reviewed 14 were
not belted. It takes about 10 seconds to buckle up and it increases your likely hood of survival hood by about

45%. (Attachment 1)

Ashleigh Atkins, 17 year old Seat Belt Advocate and proponent of the bill, came to tell the story of her family’s
tragedy. “Cause of death was massive blunt trauma to the head and chest” they were told and the Highway
Patrol had written “Most likely, injuries would have been minimal had Malorie been seat belted in.” On October
2, 2004, Malorie was on her way home from a volleyball tournament, riding with one of her friend’s parents.
There were 3 kids in the vehicle. It was a nice fall day and an accident was the farthest thing from their minds.
The four words “SHE DIDN'T MAKE IT” re-play over and over in Ashley’s head every day. She knew
something good needed to come out of this tragedy. Ever since she has been telling her story to many different
schools and drivers’ ed classes and promoting safety and the importance of wearing your seat belt. Ashley also
distributes key chains with Malorie’s picture and a message to “Buckle up for Mal”. (Attachment 2)

Dr. Howard Rodenberg, KDHE, said unintentional injuries from motor vehicle accidents kill more Kansans age
34 and under than any other cause. It’s a real public health problem. If there were an outbreak of a disease or
an epidemic that killed as many people, we would be up in arms about it. Yet, we continue to let this situation
sit and don’t seem to be able to react it very well. Every year in Kansas we lose about 420-450 people and we
see the rate continue to go up. It goes up with teen drivers as well specifically in the age group of 14 to 17. The
net effect of the bill would be to save about 10 lives each year in this age group. His department also supports
SB 223. (Attachment 3)

Cindy D’Ercole, Kansas Action for Children, said she is appearing in support of SB 211 The committee has

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the

individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1



CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE Senate Transportation Committee at 8:30 A.M. on February 15, 2007 in Room 527-S
of the Capitol.

heard all of the experts and they have her written testimony. She just summarized that as people work to protect
their children and keep them safe, the biggest danger to Kansas teens is in our driveways. No matter where they
are in the car, teens wear seat belts much less than adults. In 85% of teen fatalities, they were not wearing seat
belts. Seat belts work and seat belt laws work. (Attachment 4)

Pete Bodyk, KDOT - Written Only (Attachment 5)
Dr. Dennis Cooley, American Academy of Pediatrics - Written Only (Addresses both SB 211 & SB 294 in his

testimony) (Attachment 6)

Chairman Donovan closed the hearing on SB 211 and opened the hearing on SB 294--Drivers' licenses, age
requirements.

Proponents:
Jim Hanni, AAA, also representing the citizen’s task force- Driving Force, spoke in support of the bill. The task

force pledged to bring evidence based recommendation. At the top of the list of things this state needs to
address to reduce car crashes, injuries, fatalities and the $1.9 billion cost associated accidents, is fixing our
system of licensing novice drivers. In 2005, there were 80 deaths, 7,000 injuries, and almost 18,000 accidents
involving teen drivers. In well over half the deaths, it was someone other than the teen driver. These statistics
can be greatly improved with minimal change, by implementing SB 294. It’s supported by over 30
organizations. Forty-five states have something similar. (Attachment 7)

Dr. Robert Foss, Director of Center for Young Drivers Highway Safety Center, University of North Carolina,
said his main reason for being here was to answer any questions the committee may have concerning the
legislation. This really isn’t about “teen drivers,” it’s about “beginning drivers.” The problem is basically that
for a beginner, driving is a terribly complex environment. Kansas statistics show that the rural environment is
the one that experiences the highest number of fatal and injury crash rates. The graduated driver’s license
(GDL) has proven to work in this country and in the world. (Attachment &)

Secretary Deb Miller, KDOT, said they have been working very hard to lower fatalities. The task force, the
Driving Force, was established and they were asked to look very specifically at lowering fatalities. It became
apparent that there are a few laws that have a such a significant impact on roadway fatalities. The GDL is one
of them. It is the key to decrease teen fatalities. There will be an 18 month delay should the legislation be

enacted. (Attachment 9)

Director Mike Watson, Director of Riley County Police Department and President of the Kansas Association
of Chiefs of Police, said he was present representing both organizations to support SB 294. Too often, law
enforcement agencies respond to injury and fatality crashes involving teens. There is no duty they hate more
than contacting parents to tell them that their novice drivers, or a passengers in their car, has been killed or
seriously injured. It’s equally as tough to go to someone’s house to tell them their loved one was injured or
killed in a traffic accident that involved a novice driver. He related a personal story involving a brother who was
in an extremely bad accident. The brother, who was wearing a seat belt, was the only person in either car that
survived the wreck. Mike said he always wears his a seat belt. (Attachment 10)

Dr. Howard Rodenberg, KDHE , said he couldn’t articulate any better than Dr. Foss and some of the other
experts. His department is in support of the bill as a public health measure. Lack of time on the road correlates
to increased crash rates. The net cost of the crashes the teens are involved in is about $650 million.
(Attachment 11)

Col. William Seck, Kansas Highway Patrol - Written Only (Attachment 12)

Steve Blackiston, National Transportation Safety Board - Written Only (Attachment 13)
Jan Stegelman, Coordinator, Safe Kids Kansas - Written Only (Attachment 14)

Terry Holdren, Kansas Farm Bureau - Written Only (Attachment 15)

Chairman Donovan closed the hearing on SB 294.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:31 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, February 20th.
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KANSAS

WILLIAM R. SECK, SUPERINTENDENT KATHLEEN SEBELIUS, GOVERNOR
KANSAS HIGHWAY PATROL

Testimony on SB 211
to
Senate Transportation Committee

Presented by
Colonel William Seck
Superintendent, Kansas Highway Patrol

February 15, 2007

Good morning, Mr. Chairman and members of the committee. My name is Colonel William Seck, and
on behalf of the Kansas Highway Patrol, it is a pleasure to appear before you today to comment on
Senate Bill 211.

Currently under Kansas law, law enforcement officers must cite a driver for another infraction before
issuing a citation for failure to wear a seat belt. In some cases, a driver would receive a warning for
the initial violation, such as speeding or an improper lane change. This makes it impossible to issue
a citation for a seat belt violation when warning someone for the primary violation. Without a doubt, |
believe issuing citations for seat belt violations is one of the most effective ways to bring about
positive change.

Senate Bill 211 would require passenger car occupants between the ages of 14 and 18 to buckle up,
regardless of where they are seated in the vehicle. The Patrol supports this legislation because our
. goal is to get everyone buckled up in the vehicle, and if people get in the habit of buckling up as a
teenager, that habit will carry over into their adulthood. And while SB 211 is a step in the right
direction, the Patrol and the Driving Force task force fully support another bill before your committee,
SB 223, which offers protection to all occupants, regardless of age. Senate Bill 223 also includes
funding mechanisms that will enhance EMS and trauma care in Kansas, as well as increase the fine
for not buckling up. Studies have shown that higher fines result in higher compliance. Senate Bill 211
does not modify the existing $10 fine for violating the seat belt law.

Since joining the Highway Patrol in 2003, | have strongly encouraged troopers to issue citations,
rather than warnings, for seat belt infractions. In that time, our agency’s warnings have decreased,
citations have increased and fatalities in Kansas were reduced (down 178 deaths compared to the
prior 4 year period). | am optimistic that the enforcement and education efforts of the Patrol and other
Kansas law enforcement agencies contributed to these wonderful accomplishments. If we can
achieve fewer lives lost by strongly enforcing a secondary law, just think of what we could accomplish
with a primary law. Seat belt use in Kansas has increased every year since 2001. At 73% in 20086,
122 SW 7 Street, Topeka, Kansas 66603 ) :
Voice 785-296-6800 Fax 785-296-5956 www.KansasHighy ~ Senate Transportation Cemmittee
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K. .as is still woefully below tne national average of 81%, but the gradual increase over time 28
me hope that Kansans are embracing the idea of buckling up.

The Patrol believes enforcement and education go hand-in-hand. In addition to troopers who give
safety presentations at schools and community organizations, our agency is fortunate to have seven
seat belt convincers and seven rollover demonstrators. The convincers, purchased with grants from
KDOT, simulate a head-on crash at 5 mph. Riders, who are belted in, experience how strong a crash
at slow speeds can propel them forward, but the seat belt protects them. The rollover demonstrator
also purchased with KDOT grants, places a dummy inside the cab of a truck without a seat belt and
simulates a rollover crash. It's frightening to see how easily the unbelted dummy is ejected through

the truck’s window.

Seat belts protect you from being ejected from the vehicle, being slammed around inside the vehicle,
andfor making contact with the windshield, dash or other interior parts. Air bags alone are not
enough. In addition, air bags are designed to work in tandem with your seat belt, and will not stop you
from being ejected from the vehicle. A seat belt will. The force in a rollover crash is very strong and
can throw people of any size out of a window or a door that opens during the crash.

Seventy percent of persons killed in 2005 were not belted. It takes 10 seconds or less to buckle your
seat belt, which could make the difference of a lifetime. If you ever have the chance to put forth a
change that will undoubtedly save someone’s life — this is it. It is proven time and time again — seat
belts save lives. Even with the best safety presentations, the seat belt convincers, and the rollover
demonstrator, we need strong laws to support these safety initiatives. Statistics show states that have
made the commitment and changed their secondary law to a primary law have experienced an
increase in seat belt usage from 10% to 15%. As Kansans, we could quickly see as much as 83% to
88% of us buckling up for this simple change. As law enforcement officers, we are committed to
protecting the public and saving lives. As lawmakers, this is your opportunity to join us in that effort.

| appreciate the opportunity to speak with you today. The Highway Patrol supports Senate Bill 211,
however we ask that you also consider Senate Bill 223, which requires everyone to buckle up, as well
as provides funding for improving EMS and trauma care. | will be happy to answer any questions you

may have.
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Testimony Presented to the
Senate Transportation Committee
SB 211

My name is Ashleigh Adkins, I'm 17 years old, and a Senior at Wathena High School. I
am a proponent of Senate Bill 211,

I am not going to get into statistics because you will hear that from others who speak. [
would like to tell you why I am a proponent for the Primary Seat Belt Law for those 18
years of age and under.

Cause of death, massive blunt trauma to the head and chest. This is a direct quote from
my sister’s accident report. At the end of the report, the Highway Patrol had written,
“Most likely, injuries would have been minimal had Malorie been seatbelted in.”

For a minute, I would like to take you back to the day the accident happened. October 2,
2004, Malorie had just finished playing her last volleyball game of the season and was
riding home with 3 of her friends. It was a beautiful fall day....a car accident was the
farthest thing from their minds. Imagine the principal knocking on your door telling you
that there had been a bad accident.

The four words, “SHE DIDN’T MAKE IT”, do and will forever re-play over and over
again in my head everyday.

Instead of talking to Malorie about her first day of basketball practice, I was picking out
her casket and songs to be sung at her funeral. Instead of buying Mal a Christmas
Present, I was decorating a tree for her at the cemetery. Just imagine looking across the
table where your sister sat for every meal and know that she will never sit there again.
You go to a basketball game and notice 1 player is missing. Each year [ spend without
my sister, I realize the things I will never get to do with her. Malorie and I couldn’t wait
for her to get into high school so we could play on the same basketball team together.
Before every game when I step out onto the floor, I have to relive the pain of losing my
sister.

Time has now taken on a new meaning for me. I have tried to become a better person,
and not bitter. I don’t want another family to have to suffer like ours. It’s been 27
months since we lost Malorie and our lives were forever changed. 27 months since we
heard Mal’s loud laugh, saw her roll those big brown eyes, or even argued with her.
While Malorie was here with us, she definitely made sure her life had meaning, that’s
why I want to make sure something good comes from this tragedy.

In October of 2004, if Kansas had had the primary seatbelt law for 18 and under, maybe
the adult driving at the time would have made sure each passenger was buckled in.

Senate Transportation Committee
2-15-07
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I will not attempt to further describe the all to common horror Mal’s Family and Friends
have gone thru. I will ask you, instead, to focus on the chilling statistics you will hear
today. Crashes kill more children in Kansas than any other thing. I know some will
argue that the legislation is an attempt to take away their right to make choices. I will
remind you that no parent, grandparent, or other adult has the right to endanger a
child.

In closing, 27 months later, we still don’t have any answers. One thing we do have is
hope. Hope that adults will remember to insist on buckleing up their children. Hope that
people will remember how fragile life is.

Thank you to the Senate Transportation Committee for letting me talk today. I applaud
the work your committee is doing to make Kansas Children Safe. Remember as you
debate the critically needed legislative change, behind every statistic, is a family, friend,
and community that will grieve forever.

This is the reason I would like for you to support this bill, if it is a law for children 18 and

under to be seat belted in, then maybe somewhere, someone will not die, because they
remembered to Buckle-Up-For-Mal.
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Testimony on SB211
To
House Committee on Transportation

By Howard Rodenberg, MD, MPH
Director, Division of Health

Kansas Department of Health and Environment

Chairman Donovan and members of the Committee on Transportation, my name is Howard
Rodenberg and I am the director of the Division of Health at the Kansas Department of Health
and Environment. Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you today in support of
Senate Bill 211, which proposes to strengthen the seatbelt law for teenagers ages 14 through 17.

Unintentional injuries kill more young Kansans than any other cause, and motor vehicle crashes
result in nearly half of these deaths. Thirty Kansas kids died and 2,613 more were injured as a
result of car crashes in our state in 2005 (KDOT). Between 1995 and 2004, almost 31,000
people died in crashes involving 15- to 17-year-old drivers. Sixty four percent of the people who
died as a result of crashes involving teen drivers were either passengers, occupants of other
vehicles or pedestrians.

While teen drivers ages 15 — 18 account for only 6.7% of all Kansas registered drivers, they
represent 20.1% of all crashes.

Crashes due to teen drivers cost the country an estimated $40 billion annually. According to
KDOT, in 2005, 16,156 crashes involving drivers ages 14 — 19 cost the state $629,144.050.

Passage of SB211 would result in progress toward meeting Healthy People 2010 goals to
increase seat belt usage and to reduce death rates due to motor vehicle crashes. Primary safety
belt laws have been shown to increase observed safety belt use by 12% to 22.6% over secondary
laws.

Thank you again for the opportunity to provide this information to the committee. I will be
happy to answer any questions you might have.

Senate Transportation Committee
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To: Senate Transportation Committee
From: Cindy D’Ercole
Re: Senate Bill 211

Kansas Action for Children supports the enactment of SB 211. Traffic
crashes are the number one cause of death for teens and one of the key
factors is unbuckled seat belts. Increasing seat belt use is the single most
effective and immediate way to save lives and reduce the number of injuries
on Kansas roadways.

Teens are at risk: more accidents and lower seat belt use

Teenagers tend to have more accidents because inexperience, immaturity
and risk-taking behavior make for a bad combination. Further compounding
matters is that teens often drive at night with other teens in the car. Teen
drivers are only 6.7 percent of all licensed drivers in Kansas, but they have
20.1 percent of the crashes.

The disproportionate teen driver accident rate is pared with a
disproportionately lower seat-belt usage rate. Whether they are driving or
not, teens are much less likely to wear belts than adults. In 85 percent of
all teen traffic fatalities in Kansas the victim was not wearing a seat belt.

Quite simply teens are the most likely to be involved in a crash and the least
likely to be wearing a seat belt.

Seat belts work

The single greatest defense against highway injuries and fatalities is the
seat belt. When used properly, seat belts reduce the risk of fatal injury to
front seat vehicle occupants by 45 percent.

Seat belt laws work

Research shows that standard, or primary, seat belt laws are much more
effective in increasing safety belt use. In fact, the states that currently
have the highest teenage seat belt use have strong standard seat belt laws.
Teens are more likely to buckle up because people are more likely to buckle
up when there is the perceived risk of receiving citation.

Many teens also support standard enforcement safety belt laws. In 2000, a
nationwide survey was conducted to determine attitudes regarding standard
enforcement safety belt laws. Of the more than young people 16 to 20 years
of age who were surveyed, 60 percent voiced their support for standard
enforcement laws.

CHILDREN

Making a difference for Kansas children.

Kansas Action for Children Inc.
720 SW Jackson | Suite 201
Topeka, KS 66603

P 785-232-0550| F 785-232-0699

| kac@kac.org | www.kac.org

Celebrating 25 years
of child advocacy

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
Gary Brunk

BOARD OF DIRECTORS
Pat Anderson
Margot Breckbill

Gui Burley

Dennis Cooley, MD
Carol Cowden

Tina DelLaRosa

Sue Evans

Judy Frick

Susan Garlinghouse
Rebecca Holmquist
Jermee Jones

Larry Kane

Rhonda Lewis, PhD
Martin Maldonado, MD
Sarah Mays

Bill McEachen, MD
James McHenry, PhD
Zenab Mebed

Linda Newman
Marge Petty

John Poertner, DSW
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The Details:

There are two types of safety belt laws: primary and secondary.

A primary (standard) safety belt law allows law enforcement officers to stop
a vehicle and issue a citation when the officer simply observes an unbelted
driver or passenger.

A secondary safety belt law means that a citation for not wearing a safety
belt can only be written after the officer stops the vehicle or cites the
offender for another infraction.

In Kansas, children 14 and older are only required to wear seatbelts if they
are riding in the front seat. The enforcement is secondary, meaning the
driver must be stopped and ticketed for another violation. There is no law,
primary or secondary, that applies to teens in the back seat.

Kansas Action for Children urges you to support SB 211 to ensure that
all children under 18 are wearing their seat belt. It is more than just a
saying: seat belts really do save lives.

~.
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Teen Seat Belts
A Single Step to Saving Lives

The Tragic Problem: Motor vehicle crashes are leading cause of death among
teenagers. In Kansas in 2004, 51 drivers ages 15-18 were killed in accidents and
almost 6,000 were injured.

The Simple Solution: Increasing seat belt use is the single most effective and
immediate way to save lives and reduce the number of injuries on Kansas
roadways. Kansas needs to extend primary enforcement of seat belt usage to
include children ages 14 - 18.

Improving the Kansas Law

In Kansas, children 14 and older are only required to wear seatbelts if they are

riding in the front seat. The enforcement is secondary, meaning the driver must

be stopped and ticketed for a separate violation. There is no law, primary or
secondary, that applies to teens in the back seat.

Primary Prevention
» In 85% of teen fatalities in Kansas, the victim was not wearing a seat belt.

- Failure to use seat belts contributes to more fatalities and injuries than any
other single traffic-related behavior.

» Research shows that primary safety belt laws are much more effective in
increasing safety belt use: states that currently have the highest teenage safety
belt use have strong primary safety belt laws.

In Kansas, teens have the highest fatality rate in motor vehicle crashes and the
lowest safety belt use rate. It is not just a saying, safety belts do save lives. It is
clear that too many young lives in Kansas are being lost each year, and there is a
clear and simple solution. All children under 18 should be required to wear seat
belts in Kansas.

720 SW Jackson, Suite 201 | Topeka S 66603 | (785) 232-0550 | |

Fast Facts

Two out of five deaths among U.S. teens
are the result of a motor vehicle crash
(CDC 2004).

Compared with other age groups, teens
have the lowest rate of seat belt use. In
2003, 18% of high school students reported
they rarely or never wear seat belts when
riding with someone else (CDC 2004b).

More than 90 percent of all transportation-
related deaths each year result from
highway crashes. Data indicates that nearly
half of crashes involving children occur
within 7 minutes from home (NTSB).

The Human Collision

At the moment of impact, unbelted
‘occupants are still traveling at the vehicle's
original speed. Just after the vehicle comes
to a complete stop, these unbelted
occupants will slam Into the steering wheel,
the windshield, or some other part of the
vehicle interior. This is the human collision.

The human collision also includes person-
to-person impact. Many serious injuries are
caused by unbelted occupants colliding
with each other. People in the front seat
are often struck by unbelted rear-seat
passengers who have become high-speed
projectiles.
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TESTIMONY BEFORE
SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

REGARDING SENATE BILL 211
Primary Seat Belt Law Up to 18 years of age

February 15, 2007

Mr. Chairman and Committee Members:

The Kansas Department of Transportation (KDOT) is providing written testimony in support of
Senate Bill 211, a primary seat belt law for Kansans up to 18 years of age.

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death and serious injury for teenagers in the
United States. In 2005, Kansas drivers 14 through 17 years old were involved in more than
9,000 crashes on Kansas roadways. According to research data provided by the National
Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA), safety belt use is the single most
effective countermeasure available to passenger vehicle occupants in preventing fatalities and
injuries in highway traffic crashes. When lap/shoulder safety belts are used, the risk of fatal
injury to front-seat passenger car occupants is reduced by 45 percent and the risk of moderate-to-
critical injury is reduced by 50 percent.

Experiences in other states have shown that when a primary law is enacted, the use of seat belts
increases. Enacting a primary law for this age group will help to lower the number of serious
injuries and fatalities involving teenage drivers. This bill will only affect a small percentage of
the Kansas population, but that population is over-represented in crashes and a law that will
influence them to be safer in motor vehicles is good public policy.

At KDOT, we will continue to look for ways to increase the safety of the driving public, and we
believe this is a positive step in that direction. If you have any questions, please contact Pete
Bodyk, Chief of the Bureau of Traffic Safety at (785) 296-3756.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF TRANSPORTATION
Dwight D. Eisenhower State Office Building
700 S.W. Harrison Street; Topcka, KS 66603-3745 = (785)296-3461 « Fax Senate Transportation Committee
TTY (Hearing Impaired): (783) 296-3583 * e-mail: publicinfofiksdot.org * Public Acces: 2-15-07
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American Academy of Pediatrics

DEDICATED TO THE HEALTH OF ALL CHILDREN"

DR DEnPES €O LEY

Kansas Chapter

TESTIMONY FOR SENATE BILL 294 AND SENATE BILL 211
Senate Committee in Transportation

The Kansas Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics is a non-profit
organization representing over 95% of the practicing pediatricians in the state.
We are pleased to offer our support of Senate Bills 294 and 211.

Teen drivers account for a disproportionate rate of motor vehicle accidents.
Nationally teens make up 6% of total drivers but 14% of fatal crashes. In the state
of Kansas teen drivers are involved in 20% of all motor vehicle accidents. The
teen drivers themselves are not the only ones injured. Almost 60% of the fatalities
were of passengers, occupants of other vehicles and pedestrians.

There are many factors associated with the increased risk in automobile accidents
involving teens. Teens are involved in increased risk-taking behaviors. These
behaviors may be particularly influenced by peer pressure, emotions and other
stressors. For example teens tend to wear seat belts less, because wearing seat
belts isn’t considered “cool”. And finally there is the feeling of invincibility the
teens have which encourages them to take chances adults and more experienced
drivers would not.

The single most important risk factor, however, is inexperience. The adolescent is
less proficient in making adjustments to hazards and integrating speed. Decision
making abilities may not be fully developed. They are more easily distracted. We
now have data that shows that accident rates decrease as more experience is
obtained.

One answer to these problems is the graduated drivers’ license. Since 1996 the
American Academy of Pediatrics has supported efforts to establish graduated
drivers’ licenses. Graduated drivers’ licenses have been implemented successfully
in many states. A review of 13 graduated driver license laws nationwide showed
that in states with these laws total crashes decreased 26-41%, injuries decreased 4-
43% and hospitalizations due to MV As decreased 31%. SB294 would strengthen
our current licensing law and protect not only the teen driver but the other people
who are victims in these motor vehicle accidents. It also provides exceptions for
our rural communities.

For much of the same reasons teens need a graduated driver’s license they need
laws requiring seat belt usage. We have discussed above some of the reasons why
teens don’t wear seat belts. As a result of these factors teens have lower rates of
seat belt usage than other groups.

Senate Transportation Committee
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Kansas Maternal and Child Health data form 2004 shows that 48% of all deaths
in the adolescent and young adult age range are due to motor vehicle accidents.
We know from data that seat belt usage saves lives. We also know that primary
seat belt laws increase seat belt usage. The next step is obvious. We owe it to our
children to pass SB211.

In summary The Kansas Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics strongly
encourages passage of SB294 and SB211 to help save the lives of Kansas citizens
young and old.

©
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TESTIMONY, SB 294
Presented by James R. Hanni,
Executive Vice President, Kansas Region & Public Affairs, AAA Allied Group
February 15, 2006
Senate Transportation Committee

AAA supports changes to the current licensing system in SB 294, recommended by the
work of a citizen’s task force, the Driving Force. The changes will help teens maximize
the experience they need and minimize the risks to their safety reducing the number of
car crashes, injuries and deaths.

We support the changes because the proposed system is proven to work as seen in
many other states who have adopted similar features.

Finally, we support the changes because we know both parents and teens who have
gone through a licensing system such as this approve of it.

Key Changes for effective reduction of car crashes:
¢ Preserve the Farm Permit. Research shows work-related crashes are minimal.

¢ One Year (Level I) Instruction Permit with adult supervision, as early as age 15. It
gives teen experience that is proven to help reduce car crashes.

¢ An intermediate, “Restricted Driver’s License” (Level Il) stage. As early as age
16. Novice driver may drive without adult supervision, EXCEPT for just a few
months longer, six to be exact, must continue adult supervised driving at night
and with no more than one non-sibling passenger under age 21.

¢ Unrestricted license (Level Ill) as early as age 16 2.

¢ Novice driver may advance to each level with no moving violations or seat belt
infractions.

¢ No use of wireless devices while driving.

Basis of Our Support:

* All points made in Secretary of Transportation, Deb Miller’s testimony. We concur
that the size and scope of the injuries and fatalities involving novice drivers in
Kansas is a public health epidemic, recurring year after year without being
addressed like other public health issues. (Chart A shows driver risk by age)

¢ 45 out of 50 states have an intermediate stage of licensing in their graduated
driver license system. Technically, without the intermediate stage, we lack a true
graduated license system (GDL) (See Chart B).

Senate Transportation C ommittee
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¢ While 64% of teen car crashes in Kansas occur in urban areas, 72% of all fatal
car crashes occur in rural areas. For 15 and 16 year-old drivers in Kansas, 90%
and 81%, respectively, of all fatal car crashes occur on rural non-interstate roads
(See Chart C).

¢ Teen car crashes affect all road users, not simply the teens involved. According
to a 2006 AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety study, in Kansas, nearly six out of ten
persons Killed in a 15-17 year old driver crash are someone other than the 15-17
year-old driver (Chart D).

4 It addresses the need for gaining experience behind the wheel with adult
supervision, and has dramatically reduced teen crashes in many other states.

¢ It protects novice drivers from their greatest exposure to car crash risk: driving at
night and with other teen passengers (Chart E). As proposed, these protections
in the intermediate stage of licensing will result in a substantial reduction in car
crashes for 16 year-old drivers, as is proven in other states (N.Carolina Chart F).

¢ Parents and teens see a GDL system, like the one proposed, as reasonable and
they strongly endorse it. There are no differences in approval between urban and
rural, parents or teens (See Charts G & H).

Conclusion

Because so many other states have enacted true GDL systems, there is plenty of
evidence that GDL as proposed clearly works to reduce novice driver car crashes
significantly. GDL Systems, like what is proposed for Kansas, produce 20-25%
reductions in daytime crashes and 47-52% reductions in nighttime crashes.

In addition to parent and teen attitudes of approval and there is wide public support for
improving our GDL system. Many organizations besides AAA, including Kansas Farm
Bureau, support this bill. These changes will strongly benefit both rural and urban
parents and teens, however, experience indicates greater reductions will occur for rural
than for urban families.

There are few votes that can do more for the families of Kansas than an affirmative vote
on this bill. On behalf of the safety of the families of the nearly quarter million AAA
members we represent in Kansas, | urge you to vote this bill favorably out of the Senate
Transportation Committee.

A4
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Kansas Teen Crash location by driver age
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Chart E

Chart F
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Parents’ overall opinion of GDL by residence
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oung Drivers

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Testimony of
Robert D. Foss, PhD.
Director, Center for the Study of Young Drivers
Highway Safety Research Center
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Regarding Senate Bill 294
Kansas Senate Transportation Committee

February 15, 2006

I was born in Hays, and spent several of my formative years in McPherson and Great Bend. As a
teenager I worked summers on my grandfather’s and uncle’s farms in Pawnee county. Because
Kansas will always be my home, I am particularly pleased to have the opportunity to speak to you

about this bill which, if enacted, would enhance my native state’s graduated driver licensing
(GDL) system.

I have devoted much of my adult life to teaching young people about the joys, benefits and
challenges of family life, and doing research to determine how to enhance the quality of family
life. One major focus of my research has been the search for ways to prevent the emotional
devastation that parents experience when a child is injured or killed. Because motor vehicle
crashes are the main threat to the lives of children, much of my work has been concerned with
preventing those crashes and the injuries that result.

Along with some of my colleagues, I recently completed a report for the Transportation Research
Board of the National Academies of Science documenting known effective strategies to reduce
young driver crashes. We reviewed the existing research literature throughout the world and
worked with nearly two dozen national experts on teen driving to create this report. The
conclusion of that effort is that, by far, the most important and effective thing that states can do to
protect young drivers — and everyone who shares the road with them — is to enact a
comprehensive graduated driver licensing (GDL) system.

My new home state, North Carolina, enacted a GDL system in 1997 and the results have been
dramatic. Our research findings in North Carolina are particularly relevant since the proposed
legislation would enact a system in Kansas that is highly similar to that in North Carolina, which
is considered to have among the best young driver licensing systems anywhere. Within a couple
of years after GDL was enacted in North Carolina, crashes declined by 38% and 20% among 16
and 17 year-old drivers respectively. More serious crashes — those involving a death or injury
requiring medical treatment — declined even more dramatically (47% and 37% among 16 and 17
year-olds, respectively).

Our research indicates that, along with reducing crashes, GDL is overwhelmingly supported by
parents. Though teens are less enthusiastic than parents, the majority of those who have
experienced the system also support it. Only a tiny fraction of parents who have experienced the
GDL process report any objections or dissatisfaction. Contrary to what is sometimes thought, by
those who do not have teenagers, parents see GDL as supporting them rather than as interference
in their parental prerogatives.

730 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Suite 300, Campus Box 3430, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3430 \ Phone 919-962-2203 \ Fax 919-962-8710
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Among the happy, unanticipated, benefits of GDL is that the extended period of parent-
supervised driving appears to bring many parents and teens closer together. Substantial
proportions of both parents and teens report enjoying the time spent in supervised driving. Both
the crash reductions and the high rates of parent approval seen in North Carolina are confirmed
by studies in other states as well. Crash reductions of 25 - 30% are routinely found in high quality
studies of GDL programs in other states.

The proposed revisions to the Kansas young driver licensing system are solid, but they do not
overreach, as is sometimes the case in traffic safety efforts. Although some national advocacy
groups call for a complete ban on teen passengers, and several states have enacted such bans, the
research evidence does not clearly indicate that carrying a single passenger is particularly risky.
The recommended passenger restriction, allowing a single teen passenger, matches the evidence
on teen driver risks. It will impinge only modestly on typical teen life, because only about 11-
12% of 16 year-old driver trips involve more than one passenger. Only those relatively
uncommon, but highly dangerous, trips would be prohibited for the first few months during which
teens learn to handle unsupervised driving.

The proposed legislation is also modest, but solid, in that it proposes that protective restrictions
(passenger and night driving limits) last only for the first six months of unsupervised driving.
This closely matches the research evidence regarding teen driver risk. As is shown in Figure 1,
crash risks are very high during the initial months of unsupervised driving, but decline fairly
rapidly in the initial six months, followed by a much slower continuing decline for the next few
years. Some national groups call for restrictions on teens to last until they are 18, though there is
no clear evidence to support the need for such an extended period.

Figure 1. Novice driver crash risk by month of licensure
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Rural vs. Urban Crash Risks

In view of what we in the research community know about young driver risks and the effects of
GDL, it is clear that the greatest benefit of the proposed revision to the Kansas driver licensing
system will be among teens living and driving in rural areas. This is because rural driving is more
dangerous, especially for the least experienced drivers. Figure 2 shows the rate of fatal and



serious injury crashes per capita for Kansas counties during 2001 to 2005, clearly indicating that
the more urban counties tend to have the lowest rates and the most rural experience substantially
higher rates.

Figure 2. Average annual teen (14 — 17) fatal and serious injury crash rates per 10,000 population
by county, 2001 — 2005.
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Rural roads most dangerous

Most fatal crashes in Kansas occur on rural, non-interstate roads. There are many reasons for this.
Although the opportunity to collide with another vehicle is less in a rural area:

Rural roads tend to be older, less safely designed and less well maintained

Rural travel speeds are generally higher (increasing both crash likelihood and severity)
Nighttime lighting is generally poor on rural roads

Emergency rescue services are more widely dispersed in rural areas

Crashes are less likely to be reported quickly, especially if they involve only one vehicle
— which is much more likely in rural areas.

The crash fatality rate per mile traveled on rural, non-interstate roads in Kansas is three times that
for all other roads. By virtue of their lack of experience, young drivers are less able to handle any
risky driving situation. That is particularly true for rural driving.

Because of this greater risk to rural teens, a graduated driver licensing system that protects novice
drivers from the greatest crash risks, as they gain the driving experience that enables them to
become safe drivers, is particularly valuable in a rural state like Kansas.

Rural families strongly endorse GDL and its components
Legislators representing rural areas are sometimes understandably concerned that the conditions
necessary to ensure novice driver safety may be unduly burdensome to families living in small

towns and rural areas. To examine the kinds of problems that rural residents might experience
with a GDL system, we interviewed families whose teens were in, or had completed, the first two

-3-



stages of the GDL process. Comparing families who live in rural v. urban/suburban areas, it is
clear that, as a group, rural families favor GDL as strongly as those living in suburban/urban areas
(96% of both groups approve). Rural families (86%) are as likely as urban/suburban families
(88%) to approve of the 6-month, night driving restriction (which begins at 9 p.m.). They are
equally as likely to say that the 12-month learner permit period is either “about right” or “too
short” (93% rural v. 94% urban/ suburban). There was no passenger restriction when these
interviews were conducted, so we do not know about approval rates. More recent research
indicates, however, that most parents require their teens to comply with the passenger restriction,
suggesting that they support that as well as the other elements.

Summary

Graduated driver licensing dramatically reduces novice teen driver crashes. It is broadly endorsed
by parents and it is also supported by teens to a degree that is surprising to many. Despite their
different living circumstances and travel patterns, rural parents approve of GDL and its particular
elements to the same degree that urban/suburban parents do.

In our interviews and discussions with several thousand families, parents repeatedly comment
that holding teens to the protective restrictions that parents sense are appropriate is much easier
for them to do when the state has incorporated them in its driver licensing system. [ believe the
parents of Kansas will be every bit as happy with the proposed GDL system as parents elsewhere
have been.

9-14
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TESTIMONY BEFORE
SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

REGARDING SENATE BILL 294
Graduated Drivers License

February 15, 2007

Mr. Chairman and Committee Members:

My name is Deb Miller, Secretary of the Kansas Department of Transportation. I am here to
provide testimony in support of Senate Bill 294, an act relating to age requirements and
limitations on driver’s licenses. This legislation was one of the many recommendations from the
Driving Force, a task force studying ways to reduce fatalities and injuries on Kansas roadways.
According to research data provided by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
(NHTSA), Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) is a countermeasure with proven effectiveness in
reducing novice driver crashes.

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death and serious injury for teenagers in Kansas
as well as the United States. Nationally, motor vehicle crashes represent 39 percent of deaths for
people between the ages of 16 and 20. In 2005, Kansas drivers aged 14 through 19 were
involved in more than 16,000 crashes on Kansas roadways; wherein eighty teens were killed and
more than 7,000 were injured. Although they make up only 7 percent of licensed drivers, young
novice drivers are over-represented in crashes. They are involved in 13 percent of fatal crashes,
and 20 percent of all crashes.

Two of the riskiest situations for young drivers to encounter are nighttime driving and driving
with other teenage passengers in the vehicle. The most effective GDL systems restrict nighttime
driving as well as limit the number of other teenage passengers in the vehicle. Statistics clearly
illustrate that Kansas’ current licensing system is not effective in reducing teen crashes. The
current system does not provide enough supervised driving experience for young drivers, and it
does not protect them from some of the riskiest driving situations. In order to best prepare our
young citizens for a lifetime of safe driving, our licensing system must be changed to afford
increased learning experiences in less risky situations.

NHTA released a report in June 2006 evaluating GDL systems across the United States. The
report showed an 11 percent to 32 percent reduction in fatal crashes involving novice drivers
after enactment of an effective GDL system. It is also important to note that funding for driver
education must continue. Driver education courses provide a base of knowledge to young
drivers that can be built upon as they progress through the GDL system. An effective system
will incorporate driver education to provide basic beginner knowledge along with an opportunity
for young drivers to gain needed experience in the least risky of situations.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY QF TRANSPORTATION
Dwight D. Eisenhower State Office Building
700 S.W. Harrison Street: Topeka, KS 66603-3745 « (783)296-3461 » Fax Senate Transportation Committee
TTY (Hearing Impaired): (783) 296-3585 * e-mail: publicinfozksdot.org * Public Access 2-15-07

Attachment 9



Driving Force Recommendation
Graduated Driver’s Licensing in Kansas

4-2.

CURRENT PROPOSED CHANGES
Instruction Permit Instruction Permit
Age Minimum 14 years old Minimum 15 years old
Testing Required Vision Vision
Written Written
Driver Education Required No (permit is used to take driver education) No (Driver Education is required to be taken during the Instruction
Permit period)
Accompanied by a licensed Yes Yes. Supervising driver must be in front seat.
iver at all times?
Wireless use restriction No No use of wireless devices while driving.
Seatbelt Use Secondary Law Primary Law for permit holder while driving. Seat belt violation
committed by driver will be considered a violation of restriction.
Farm Permit Farm Permit
Age Minimum 14 years old but less than 16 years old Minimum 14 years old but less than 16 years old
Testing Required Vision Vision
Written Written
Drive (if not previously completed a Driver Education course) Drive (if not previously completed a Driver Education course)
Driver Education Required No No
Driving Restrictions Yes Yes
Can drive unsupervised: Can drive unsupervised:
e Toand from school (no school activities) e To and from school (but not to school activities)
e To, from or in connection with any farm related work s To, from or in connection with any farm related work
“assenger Restriction Yes. May not transport any non-sibling minor passenger. Yes. May not transport any non-sibling minor passenger.
,ireless use restriction No No
Seatbelt Use Secondary Law Primary Law for permit holder while driving. Seat belt violation
committed by driver will be considered a violation of restriction.

February 5, 2007




CURRENT

PROPOSED

Restricted Driver’s License

Restricted Driver’s License

Age

Minimum 15 years old but less than 16 years old. Must have had an
instruction permit for at least six months, Any person under age 16
with a restricted license, that is convicted of 2 or more moving
violations will remain restricted until age 17.

Minimum 16 years old and have held an Instruction Permit for 12
months with no moving violations, seat belt infractions, or improper
wireless device use comumitted within preceding 6 months.

Driver Education Required

Yes

Yes

Driving Restrictions

Yes
Can drive unsupervised:
e Toand from school (no school activities)
¢ To, from or in connection with employment or farm-related
work

Yes
Can drive unsupervised:

e Between the hours of 5 am — 9pm (Includes driving to school)

e  Or, when driving directly to or from work

Passenger Restriction

Yes. May not transport any non-sibling minor passenger.

Yes. When driving without a supervising driver, no more than one
passenger under age 21 unless they are members of the immediate
family.

Required Number of driving
hours

Prior to age 16, applicant must provide affidavit showing at least 50
hours of adult supervised driving, with 10 of those hours being at
night. If affidavit is not provided prior to age 16 the driver will
remain restricted until age 17 or until affidavit is provided,
whichever comes first.

Prior to receiving a Restricted Driver’s License, applicant must provide
affidavit showing at least 50 hours of adult supervised driving, with 10

of those hours being at night.

Wireless use restriction

No

No use of wireless devices while driving.

Seatbelt Use

Secondary Law

Primary Law for permit holder while driving. Seat belt violation
committed by driver will be considered a violation of restriction.

Non-Restricted Driver’s License for 16 & 17 year olds

Non-Restricted Driver’s License for 16 & 17 year olds

Minimum 16 years old but less than 18 years old.

Minimum 16.5 years old but less than 18 years old and have held a
Restricted Driver’s License for 6 months with no moving violations,

seat belt infractions, or improper wireless device use committed within

preceding 6 months.

Testing Required Vision Vision
Written Written
Drive (if not previously completed a Driver Education course)

Driver Education Required No Yes

Required Number of driving
hours

Driver must provide affidavit showing at least 50 hours of adult
supervised driving, with 10 of those hours being at night, by a
licensed driver at least 21 years old, and signed by a parent or
guardian.

Hours are required prior to receiving Restricted Driver’s License.

Wireless use restriction

No

No use of wireless devices while driving.

Seatbelt Use

Secondary Law

Primary Law for permit holder while driving. Seat belt violation
committed by driver will be considered a violation of restriction.

February 5, 2007

9-3



Testimony on SB 294
to
Senate Transportation Committee

Presented by
Director Mike Watson
Riley County Police Department
Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police

February 15, 2007

Good morning, Mr. Chairman and members of the committee. My name is Director Mike Watson, and
on behalf of the Riley County Police Department and the Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police, it is
a pleasure to appear before you today in support off Senate Bill 294.

Law enforcement agencies all too often respond to injury and fatality crashes involving teens. All too
often, it's a lack of experience, too many passengers, or the distraction of an electronic device that
contribute to the crash. One of the saddest things for us to do is tell a parent or guardian that their
child was severely injured or killed in a crash that could have been prevented with more experience
and maturity behind the wheel. It's equally difficult to tell someone’s spouse and children their loved
one isn’t coming home because they were struck by teenager who didn’t know how to drive in snow
or rain or because the teen driver was showing off for his/her friends. In small communities, such as
those throughout Riley County, traffic crashes involving teens are devastating. It is unfortunate that
tragedies like these are sometimes what it takes to compel teens to be more responsible drivers.

A Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) program would be a proactive measure to counteract the high
crash rates among teens in Kansas and across the country. The numbers before you from the
Kansas Department of Health and Environment and the Kansas Department of Transportation show
that Kansas is no different from the rest of the United States when it comes to the high proportion of
teens involved in motor vehicle crashes. Other states that have gone to GDL programs have seen
positive results in lives saved through a comprehensive GDL program. Implementing a GDL program
in Kansas is one way for law enforcement officers and lawmakers to work together to protect and
serve the public.

Law enforcement agencies recognize this legislation may pose some challenges in enforcing the GDL
rules. However, enforcing the stipulations of a GDL program cannot be half as difficult as telling a
parent their child was severely injured or killed in a vehicle crash. | ask that you give us the tools we
need to save more teens from being killed or killing others on Kansas roadways. The Riley County
Police Department and the Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police support Senate Bill 294, and | am
happy to answer questions you have at this time.

HitH
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Testimony on SB 294
To
Senate Committee on Transportation

By Howard Rodenberg, MD, MPH
Director, Division of Health

Kansas Department of Health and Environment

February 15, 2007

Chairman Donovan and members of the Committee on Transportation, my name is Howard
Rodenberg and I am the director of the Division of Health at the Kansas Department of Health
and Environment. Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you today in support of
Senate Bill 294, which proposes to strengthen graduated drivers licensing laws (GDL) in Kansas.

Unintentional injuries kill more young Kansans than any other cause, and motor vehicle crashes
result in nearly half of these deaths. In 2002, more than 5,000 teens ages 16 to 19 died of injuries
caused by motor vehicle crashes nationally (CDC 2004). Crash rates among young drivers age
16 —19, per mile driven, are higher than those for all other age groups and the crash risk among
16 to 17 year old drivers is almost three times as high as among 18 to 19 year olds drivers.
(Insurance Institute for Highway Safety)

Kansas statistics show a similar pattern. While teen drivers ages 15 — 18 account for only 6.7%
of all Kansas registered drivers, they represent 20.1% of all crashes. Fifty -one Kansas kids died
and 5,993 more were injured as a result of car crashes in our state in 2004 (Kansas Department
of Transportation, 2004). According to the Kansas Department of Transportation (KDOT)
drivers ages 14 through 19 were involved in 17,978 crashes in 2004 for an estimated cost of
$653,832,300.

Graduated Driver licensing programs have become an increasingly poplar approach to managing
the serious problem of high rates of fatal and nonfatal crashes among beginning drivers. These
programs vary from state to state, but most are designed to provide novice drivers the
opportunity to gain driving experience in less risky circumstances, typically implementing a
combination of provisions such as those described in the Johns Hopkins study cited below. Forty

Senate Transportation Committee
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one states and the District of Columbia have already instituted some form of GDL that includes
two phases prior to full licensure.

The effectiveness of Graduated driver licensing laws as a prevention strategy has been widely
demonstrated. According to a study conducted by researchers at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg
School of Pubic Health, graduated driver licensing programs reduce incidence of fatal crashes of
16 year old drivers by an average of 11 percent. Using data from 1994-2004 collected by
NHTSA’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System and the US Census Bureau the study group
examined fatality outcomes with the number of components contained in the respective
graduated drivers license law. Seven components commonly found in graduated license laws
were chosen for analysis and these included: 1) a minimum age of 15 % for obtaining a learner
permit; 2) a waiting period after obtaining a learner permit of at least 3 months before applying
for an intermediate license; 3) a minimum of 30 hours of supervised driving; 4) minimum age of
a least 16 years for obtaining an intermediate state license; 5) minimum age of at least 17 years
for full licensing; 6) a nighttime driving restriction; 7) a restriction on carrying passengers,
Comparing states with five of these program components to states without graduated driver
licensing programs, the researchers reported an 18 percent difference in fatal crashes involving
16 year old drivers. Programs with six or seven components were associated with a 21 percent
reduction. The authors concluded that the most comprehensive graduated driver licensing
programs result in the best reduction of fatal crashes of 16 year old drivers.

The states who have responded to the national priority of protecting young drivers by raising
their minimum driving ages and implementing GDL are experiencing the pay off. For example,
after North Carolina adopted a three-phase licensing system, which included nighttime
restrictions, the number of 16 year olds involved in motor vehicle crashes dropped 23 percent.
The number of fatal collisions was cut in half. Similarly, during the first three years after
California enacted legislation restricting those younger than 18 from driving with passengers
younger than 20, an estimated eight lives were saved and almost 700 injuries prevented in
averted crashes.

The national 2005 crash statistics indicate that headway is being made in reducing crash deaths,
thanks in large measure to the success of graduated licensing, which phases in full driving
privileges among beginners. Deaths of 16 and 17 year-olds in passenger vehicles fell 8 percent in
2005, to 1,631 from 1,773 the year before. Among 13-19 year-olds, deaths fell 6 percent and
have declined about 40 percent since 1975. The death rate per population of teens is the lowest
on record. Still, we have a long way to go. In 2005 teens accounted for 12 percent of motor
vehicle deaths and only 10 percent of the US population. Fatal crashes involving young drivers
typically involve a single vehicle plus driver error and/or speeding. The crashes often occur
when other young people are in vehicles driven by teens, so teenagers are disproportionately
involved as passengers as well as drivers. Of the 4,440 teenagers killed in passenger vehicle
crashes last year, 45 percent were passengers. Sixty-one percent of these deaths occurred in

crashes in which another teenager was driving. (Insurance Institute for Highway Safety
November 21, 2006

It is time for Kansas to act on the evidence base that calls for graduated drivers licensing.
Enacting a Graduated Drivers License bill will save lives and reduce injuries to Kansas teens.
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Thank you again for the opportunity to provide this information to the committee. I will be
happy to answer any questions you might have.
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February 15, 2007

Good morning, Mr. Chairman and members of the committee. My name is Colonel William Seck, and
on behalf of the Kansas Highway Patrol, it is a pleasure to appear before you today in support off
Senate Bill 294.

The Patrol is dedicated to the promotion of traffic safety and the reduction of injuries and fatalities
from motor vehicle crashes. Our experience as a law enforcement agency supports education and
experience as key elements in developing safe driving habits, especially with teen drivers. We
recognize that experience and maturity are two significant factors in a large number of crashes
involving young drivers. Patrol troopers see the horrors of what happens when teens try to “show off’
for their friends or when their peers distract their attention from driving. Teens also lack practical
knowledge of driving, particularly in adverse weather conditions, such as heavy rain, dense fog,
snow, and ice.

Graduated Driver’s License programs, also known as GDL, are proven to help teens gain maturity
and experience behind the wheel, which assist in reducing the high crash rates for drivers in their age
group. Although teens make up a small percentage of licensed drivers, they are over-represented in
injury and fatality crashes. Teens rank highest in crashes attributed to speeding, aggressive and
reckless driving, and distractions. All these factors could be minimized with education, experience,
and maturity. The provisions set forth in Senate Bill 294 tackle issues proven to reduce teen crash
rates, such as restricting use of electronic drivers, number of passengers, and nighttime driving.

The Patrol recognizes challenges that may exist when considering a bill, such as SB 294, that would
bring about a dramatic change in the way of life for young Kansans. The Highway Patrol supports SB
294, and we ask that your committee give this bill favorable support. | appreciate the opportunity to
address you today. At this time, | will stand for questions.

R
122 SW 7t Street, Topeka, Kansas 66603 Senate Transportation Committee
Voice 785-296-6800 Fax 785-296-5956 www. KansasHighwa 2-15-07
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Chairman Donovan and members of the Transportation Committee, the
National Transportation Safety Board offers this statement regarding the National
Transportation Safety Board’s graduated driver licensing (GDL) recommendations
and our investigations of accidents involving young drivers. Senate Bill 294 is a
strong measure that will save the lives of many teenagers in Kansas.

The National Transportation Safety Board is an independent Federal agency
charged by Congress to investigate transportation accidents, determine their
probable cause, and make recommendations to prevent their recurrence. The
recommendations that arise from our investigations and safety studies are our most
important product. The Safety Board cannot mandate implementation of these
recommendations.  However, in our 39-year history, organizations and
government bodies have adopted more than 80 percent of our recommendations.

The Safety Board has recognized for many years that motor vehicle crashes
are responsible for more deaths than crashes in all other transportation modes
combined. More than 90 percent of all transportation-related deaths each year
result from highway crashes. A disproportionate number of these highway crashes
involve teen drivers age 15 through 20, young people who have only recently
obtained their licenses to drive. Young drivers have been the focus of U.S. driver
licensing systems primarily because they constitute the largest group of beginners
and have the highest crash risk.

THE PROBLEM

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, traffic crashes
account for 40 percent of all deaths among 15-20 year olds, making traffic crashes
the leading cause of death for this age group, more than from suicides or drugs.
Crash rates for young drivers are significantly higher than crash rates for other
driving populations. Young drivers age 15-20 years make up about 6.3 percent of
the driving population, but comprise 13.6 percent of the drivers involved in fatal
crashes. Further, more than 21 percent of all highway fatalities occur in crashes
involving teen drivers. Crash statistics for Kansas are just as ominous. Teens
make up 8.8 percent of the driving population, but constitute about 15 percent of
the drivers involved in fatal crashes. More than 22.7 percent of the deaths on
Kansas roads occur in crashes involving teen drivers.

While these numbers define a serious problem, it is individual tragedies that
make us recognize the critical importance of addressing this issue. On December
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21, 2005, a 1993 Toyota Tercel, operated by a 16-year-old driver, crossed over the
centerline and into oncoming traffic on US 69 near Pittsburg, Kansas. The Toyota
collided with a 1994 Dodge Intrepid, killing the 16-year-old driver and the rear
seat teen passenger in the Toyota and seriously injuring the front seat teen
passenger in the Toyota and the two occupants in the Dodge. Witness statements
indicated that a ringing cell phone distracted the Toyota driver and that the
distraction caused the driver to turn the wheel toward the shoulder as she reached
tor the ringing phone.

While the emotional costs are staggering, the financial costs are equally
alarming. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
calculated that the lifetime cost to society for each fatality is over $977,000, and
those not directly involved in crashes pay for nearly three-quarters of all crash
costs, primarily through insurance premiums, taxes, and travel delay. Therefore,
the tragic lives lost across our nation cost society billions of dollars.

A number of studies by Federal agencies, the States, private organizations,
and others have shown that 16-year-olds are more likely to be involved in single
vehicle crashes, be responsible for the crash, be cited for speeding, and carry more
passengers in their vehicles than older drivers. Such crashes are most likely to
occur from 10 p.m. to midnight on Friday and Saturday nights. Although young
drivers do only 20 percent of their driving at night, over half the fatalities of young
drivers occur during nighttime hours.

A recent analysis of 10 years of data conducted by the AAA Foundation for
Traffic Safety found that the majority of fatalities in teen crashes are persons other
than the teen drivers. This is consistent with the Safety Board’s review of young
driver crashes. In Kansas, AAA found that almost 60 percent of those killed in
accidents involving teen drivers were either passengers, occupants of other
vehicles, or non-motorists such as pedestrians.

Young drivers typically carry more passengers in their cars than older
drivers, and these passengers are usually around the same age as the driver. Often
this results in a deadly combination of inattention, inexperience, and immaturity.
A recent study published in the Journal of the American Medical Association
concluded that the risk of death increased significantly with each additional teen
passenger transported by a teen driver. In single vehicle crashes involving teen
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drivers, two-thirds of fatally injured passengers were also teens (between ages 15
and 19).

A frequent contributing factor to crashes, injuries, and fatalities involving
teens is the decision by the young novice driver and his or her peers not to use seat
belts. Nationally, from 1996 through 2005, at least 39 percent of motor vehicle
occupants involved in fatal crashes were unrestrained, and at least 57 percent of
fatally injured motor vehicle occupants were unrestrained. As abysmal as these
numbers are, seat belt use among the teen population is worse. For the same years,
at least 48 percent of teen occupants age 15 through age 20 who were involved in
fatal crashes were unrestrained. Over 62 percent of fatally injured teens were
unrestrained. In Kansas, at least 64 percent of the teens involved in fatal crashes
while riding in motor vehicles were unrestrained. Over 73 percent of the fatally
injured teens were unrestrained. Previous research has indicated that belt use
among teen occupants is particularly low in States with secondary enforcement
seat belt laws.

Our current driver education system does not teach young people to drive; it
teaches them to pass a test. Learning to drive is a long-term process, one that
cannot be effectively managed through the traditional driver education program.
Once the basic skills are learned, extensive additional “on the job” training
without distractions, and with the assistance of a more mature and experienced
driver is needed. As their skills and maturity develop, young novice drivers can
then proceed to full licensure.

RECOMMENDED SOLUTIONS

Graduated Driver Licensing

After reviewing crashes involving drivers under the age of 21, in 1993, the
Safety Board recommended that Kansas and the other States take several specific
actions, including implementation of a comprehensive provisional license system
for young novice drivers, also known as graduated driver licensing (GDL). The
model program requires young novice drivers to proceed through three stages—a
learner’s permit, an intermediate or provisional license, and a full license. GDL
establishes restrictions so that, until the driver has had an opportunity to gain
experience, initial driving occurs in less dangerous circumstances. Restrictions are
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lifted after successful completion of the learning and intermediate stages, without
any moving violations or crashes attributed to the driver.

Strengthening your graduated driver licensing law is an important step that
will reduce needless deaths and injuries on Kansas highways and help thousands
of young drivers in Kansas to adjust to their new driving responsibilities.

Based on research by the Safety Board, NHTSA, and others, the Board
recommends that the basic elements of a three-stage GDL program include the

tollowing:

o A learner’s permit with—

O

O

O

O

O

A minimum 6-month holding period, during which a licensed driver
who is at least 21 years old supervises the permit holder.

A minimum period of 6 months without at-fault crashes or traffic
violations (and accelerated penalties if the driver has an at-fault crash
or traffic violation) before proceeding to the intermediate or
provisional license.

At least 50 hours of supervised driving practice with a licensed driver
who is at least 21 years old.

A prohibition on the use of interactive wireless communication
devices while driving.

Mandatory seat belt use and zero tolerance of alcohol use (under age
21).

0 An intermediate stage with—

O

o}

A minimum 6-month holding period for the intermediate or
provisional license.

A nighttime driving restriction that prohibits the intermediate or
provisional license holder from driving unsupervised at night,
particularly between the hours of midnight and 5:00 a.m.

A passenger restriction that allows no more than one other passenger
in the vehicle, unless the driver is accompanied by a supervising
licensed adult at least 21 years old.

A minimum period of 6 months without at-fault crashes or traffic
violations (and accelerated penalties if the driver has an at-fault crash
or traffic violation) before proceeding to the full license.

A cell phone (wireless communications device) use restriction while
driving for at least 6 months of the intermediate stage.
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o Mandatory seat belt use and zero tolerance of alcohol use (under age
213
a Full license with—
o Mandatory seat belt use and zero tolerance of alcohol use (under age

21).

Nighttime Driving Restrictions

Nighttime driving restrictions are especially important and effective in
reducing crashes. Forty-three percent of teen motor vehicle deaths in 2001
occurred between 9:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. Studies have revealed that nighttime
driving restrictions are associated with crash reductions of up to 60 percent during
the restricted hours. A 1984 study of nighttime driving restrictions in four States
found among 16-year-old drivers that crashes were reduced by 69 percent in
Pennsylvania, 62 percent in New York, 40 percent in Maryland, and 25 percent in
Louisiana. Because many of these crashes occur in the evening hours, a greater
crash reduction is achieved when the restriction starts earlier in the night. Many
States include conditions or exemptions related to work or school, and may limit
routes or number of passengers as well.

Many parents and even young drivers support the restriction when they
understand the justification for it. A telephone survey of 16- to 18-year-olds in
four States with such restrictions indicated that 47 percent in Indiana, 63 percent
of the teens surveyed in Illinois, 67 percent in New York, and 80 percent in
Pennsylvania were in favor of some kind of night driving restrictions for
beginning teen drivers. A November 1994 survey by the Insurance Institute for
Highway Safety (IIHS) found that 74 percent of parents of 17-year-olds favor
night driving restrictions for beginning drivers. Of those in favor, 48 percent
preferred a restriction beginning at 10 p.m.

ITHS conducted follow-up surveys in 1999 of parents in Connecticut and
Florida whose children had recently obtained their driver’s licenses. These parents
were even more supportive than they had been during initial interviews, before
their teens had begun the licensing process. Few parents reported that the laws
had inconvenienced them. Many were in favor of additional requirements, such as
passenger restrictions, that were not currently part of their State’s laws.
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Passenger Restrictions

In 2002, the Safety Board added a passenger restriction to its original GDL
recommendation after investigating several crashes and reviewing new research on
the involvement of young novice drivers in crashes. The crash investigations and
research illustrated the tragic consequences of allowing inexperienced young
drivers to drive with multiple teen passengers in the vehicle.

The presence of teen passengers can adversely influence the risk-taking
behavior of teen drivers, leading to crashes with increased injuries and death for
both the drivers and their passengers. The relative risk of death among 16- and
17-year-old drivers who have at least one passenger in the car is substantially
greater than the risk when driving alone. The risk increases with each additional
passenger. Carrying at least three teen passengers results in a threefold increase in
the probability of a teen in that vehicle being killed.

The National Committee on Uniform Traffic Laws and Ordinances added a
passenger restriction to its Model Graduated Licensing Law in 2000, and
incorporated it into the Uniform Vehicle Code (UVC). Elements of the UVC
model law include the following:

a No more than one passenger under age 20 is allowed unless a supervising
driver is present or until the driver receives full licensure.

o Passenger exemptions are granted for family members to ride with an
unsupervised provisional licensed driver.

Based on the available research, the UVC model law, and FARS data, the
Safety Board concluded that by restricting to zero or one the number of passengers
carried by teen drivers during the intermediate stage, States can substantially
reduce crashes involving young novice drivers and can reduce fatalities among
teen occupants. The Board also concluded that if the passenger restriction lasts
only a few months, it is unlikely to have a substantial safety benefit. The Board,
therefore, believes that Kansas should restrict young novice drivers with an
intermediate license from carrying more than one passenger under the age of 20
until they receive an unrestricted license or for at least 6 months (whichever is
longer).
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Cell Phone (Wireless Communication Device) Restrictions

In 2003, the Safety Board examined the role that driver distraction plays in
motor vehicle crashes, especially when the driver is inexperienced. The Board
concluded that current State laws are inadequate to protect young, novice drivers
from distractions that can lead to crashes. The Board recommended that States
enact legislation to prohibit holders of learner’s permits and intermediate licenses
from using interactive wireless communication devices while driving. The
recommendation is derived from the Board’s investigation of the
February 1, 2002, Ford Explorer Sport collision with a Ford Windstar minivan and
a Jeep Grand Cherokee on Interstate 95/495 near Largo, Maryland.

This crash involved multiple risk factors, some of which are associated with
young drivers. The crash driver, who was 20 years old, was unbelted, and had had
only an estimated 50 hours of driving experience. She was operating a
short-wheelbase sport utility vehicle, with which she was unfamiliar and she was
driving 15-20 miles over the speed limit, while talking on a handheld wireless
telephone. The crash caused the death of five people including the young driver.

Learning how to drive and becoming comfortable in traffic requires all the
concentration a novice driver can muster. According to a 2001 study, even
experienced drivers engaged in wireless telephone conversations were unaware of
traffic movements around them. Moreover, the use of wireless communication
devices has become increasingly prevalent. Recent NHTSA research documented
that an estimated 6 percent of drivers used hand held cell phones during daylight
hours in 2005. This translates into approximately 974,000 drivers on the road
nationwide at any time during the day that are using a hand-held phone.

In January 2002, New Jersey passed a law prohibiting holders of special
learner’s permits, driver’s examination permits, and provisional driver’s licenses
from using any interactive wireless communication device while operating a motor
vehicle. On May 23, 2003, the Governor of Maine signed a law restricting drivers
under age 18, including persons with an instruction permit and holders of
restricted licenses, from “operating a motor vehicle while using a mobile phone.”
Today, 14 States and the District of Columbia restrict cell phone use by drivers
with a learner’s and/or intermediate license. The Safety Board recommends that
Kansas enact similar legislation and prohibit holders of learner’s permits and
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intermediate licenses from using interactive wireless communication devices while
driving.

STATE IMPLEMENTATION

Beginning drivers should be introduced gradually to the driving experience.
They should be provided the maximum time to practice, under the safest possible
real-world conditions. They should be given the opportunity to gradually develop
the skills needed for full licensure. For young drivers to have the chance to
develop their skills, we need to create a support system that involves parents and
guardians. We need to quickly identify young problem drivers before bad habits
and behaviors become ingrained, and then take action to correct those problems.
GDL has been described as “training wheels for young drivers.” This analogy
makes good sense; we do not proceed from walking to riding a bicycle in one step.
We need training wheels to make the driving process safer.

There has been a revolution in driver licensing laws in the past 10 years.
Virtually every State has strengthened its driver licensing system. With the 2006
enactment of a comprehensive law in Kentucky, 45 States and the District of
Columbia have a 3-stage licensing system. Today, 44 States and the District of
Columbia have a nighttime driving restriction, and 35 States and the District of
Columbia have some form of passenger restriction. However, Kansas has not
implemented any of these provisions.

With the enactment of Senate Bill 294, Kansas will address all the elements
of the Safety Board’s graduated licensing recommendations. Kansas will have one
of the strongest 3-stage licensing systems, including a 1-year mandatory holding
period for the first stage and a requirement that drivers remain violation free
before graduating to the next stage. The nighttime driving restriction in Senate
Bill 294 is especially valuable because it begins at 9:00 p.m., thereby covering the
most dangerous hours of the day for teenage drivers. The proposed passenger and
cell phone restrictions also satisfy the Board’s recommendations and will therefore
reduce crashes, injuries, and fatalities.
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SUCCESS STORIES

GDL does make a difference. According to the National Safety Council,
16-year-old drivers in States with GDL systems are involved in 33 percent fewer
traffic crashes. At a 2007 symposium on young driver crashes, a representative
from the ITHS noted that the number of teens killed in highway crashes is the
lowest it has been since 1992, despite having the highest teen population since
1977. As noted by another researcher from the University of Michigan
Transportation Research Institute, at least 26 studies on GDL effectiveness have
reported positive findings, including fatality reductions between 5 and 73 percent.

Individual States have had great success with GDL. In 2001, after Towa
enacted GDL, the Towa Department of Transportation reported that 16-year-old
drivers were involved in 20 percent fewer traffic crashes than the same group in
1998, the last year before the system was adopted. In addition, 16-year-old drivers
received 38 percent fewer traffic convictions than in 1998.

North Carolina implemented a comprehensive graduated licensing system
with a 9:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m. nighttime driving restriction in December 1997. A
2003 review of North Carolina’s crash data found a 23-percent reduction in
injuries and deaths involving 16-year-old drivers. Nighttime crashes (during the
restricted hours) decreased more than those during daytime hours. Both the
number of crashes and the rate, based on population, declined dramatically.

Reviews from other States have consistently shown significant crash
reductions:

o California — A review by the Auto Club of Southern California found that
there was a 20 percent reduction in at-fault fatal and injury crashes for  16-
year-old drivers. Injuries and fatalities of teen passengers decreased by 40
percent.

o Delaware — For drivers 16 years old, fatal crashes decreased by 43 percent
and all crashes decreased by 42 percent. For drivers 17 years old, fatal
crashes decreased by 72 percent and all crashes decreased by 21 percent.

o Florida — For drivers age 15 through age 17, IIHS found a 9-percent
reduction in fatal and injury crashes.

o Michigan — For drivers 16 years old, the risk of being involved in a crash in
1999 was 25 percent lower than the risk in 1996.
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o Louisiana — For drivers 15 years old, crashes fell by 25 percent during the
nighttime driving restriction hours.

o New York — For 16- and 17-year-old drivers, the nighttime driving
restriction resulted in a 62-percent crash reduction.

o Pennsylvania — GDL is credited with a 27-percent reduction in crashes, a
32-percent reduction in injuries, and a 58-percent reduction in fatalities. For
drivers under age 18, there was a 69-percent reduction in crashes during the
nighttime driving restriction hours.

CONCLUSION

From 1997 through 2004, across the nation, more than 72,000 people died

in crashes involving teen drivers. In that period in Kansas, almost 950 people
died.

Highway crashes involving young drivers will remain a serious and
persistent problem unless concrete and comprehensive steps are taken. Our young
people are this Nation’s most valuable resource, one that must be nurtured and
protected. Too many of them are being killed and injured unnecessarily.

Mr. Chairman, the Safety Board asks that you enact legislation to improve
your existing GDL system. We urge you to require a minimum holding period for
learner’s permits, to require at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice in the
learner’s permit stage, and to add nighttime driving, passenger and cell phone
restrictions.

The Board believes an effective combination of tough, fair laws; vigorous
enforcement; and an intensive, targeted educational campaign is needed. We are
so convinced of graduated driver licensing’s life-saving benefit that we have
included GDL on the Board’s list of “Most Wanted” recommendations. A
comprehensive GDL system is one of the most effective actions that the Kansas
Legislature can take to save both young lives and the lives of others involved in
crashes with young drivers.

#HH##
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Safe Kids Kansas, a nonprofit coalition of 67 statewide organizations and businesses is
dedicated to preventing accidental injuries to Kansas children ages 0-14. We are pleased
to support Senate Bill 294 — Graduated Drivers License for teen drivers.

Motor vehicle crashes are still the leading cause of death for Kansas children ages one
through 17. Teen drivers account for over 20% of all the motor vehicle crashes in Kansas
— even though they comprise only 7% of all registered drivers. These crashes also kill the
passengers of teen drivers, pedestrians, and people in other vehicles. The majority of
people killed in teen driver motor vehicle crashes are people other than the teen
driver themselves — this includes children. In fact, of the 9,847 passengers of 15-to-17
year old drivers who were killed in crashes in the U.S. in the last ten years, 1,615 (16.4%)
were younger than 15. Teen drivers killed an additional 969 children younger than 15
who were passengers in other vehicles. This means that in the last 10 years, teen
drivers in this country killed 2, 584 children ages 0-14.

Graduated drivers licensing laws such as SB 294, which include limits on nighttime
driving and prohibiting the use of cell phones, have been shown to decrease fatalities
mvolving teen drivers. Specifically in regard to children riding with teen drivers, SB
294 would strengthen Kansas’ graduated drivers licensing law by restricting teens’
operation of a motor vehicle with non-sibling minor passengers.

The member organizations of Safe Kids Kansas and our 38 local coalitions and chapters
support the passage of SB294 to protect young drivers, their passengers, and passengers
in other vehicles. The result will be fewer Kansas children injured and killed in motor
vehicle crashes.

Attachment:
Safe Kids Kansas Member Organizations

Safe Kids Kansas, Inc. is a nonprofit Coalition of 67 statewide organizations and
businesses dedicated to preventing accidental injuries to Kansas children ages 0-14.

. Senate Transportation Committee
1000 SW Jackson Suite 230 Topeka, KS 66612 tel 785-29 2-15-07
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Safe Kids Kansas

safe Kids Member Organizations

Kansas

AAA Kansas
American Academy of Pediatrics - KS
Attorney General of Kansas
Board of Emergency Medical Services
Brain Injury Association of Kansas
Children’s Mercy Hospital
Cusick Jost Consulting, LLC
Dillon Stores
Fire Education Association of Kansas
Fire Marshal’s Association of Kansas
Kansas Academy of Family Practice Physicians
Kansas Action for Children
Kansas Association of Counties
Kansas Assoc. of Local Health Dept.
Kansas Assoc. of Osteopathic Medicine
Kansas Association of School Boards
Kansas Chapter International Assoc.

of Arson Investigators
Kansas Children’s Cabinet & Trust Fund
Kansas Chiropractic Association
Kansas Cooperative Extension 4-H
Kansas Dental Association
Kansas Dept. of Health & Environment
Kansas Dept. of Human Resources
Kansas Dept. of Transportation
Kansas District of Kiwanis International
Kansas EMS Association
Kansas Emergency Nurses Association
Kansas Farm Bureau
Kansas Foundation For Medical Care
Kansas Head Start Association
Kansas Healthy Start Home Visitors
Kansas Highway Patrol
Kansas Hospital Association
Kansas Insurance Department
Kansas MADD
Kansas Medical Society
Kansas Motor Carriers Association
Kansas Operation Lifesaver
Kansas Parent Teacher Association
Kansas Public Health Association

Kansas Recreation & Park Association
Kansas Rehabilitation Hospital

Kansas SADD

Kansas Safety Belt Education Office
Kansas School Nurse Organization
Kansas State Association of Fire Chiefs
Kansas State Board of Education
Kansas State Fire Marshal’s Office
Kansas State Firefighters Association
Kansas State Nurses Association
Kansas Trial Lawyers Association
KIDS AND CARS

KNEA

KUMC Burn Center

KUMC Trauma Program

NHTSA Regional Office

Mid-America Poison Control Center
Office of the Governor

Safety & Health Council Western MO & KS
State Farm Insurance Companies

State Capitol Area Fire Fighters Association
Stormont-Vail Regional Medical Center
United School Administrators of Kansas
Via Christi - St. Francis Burn Center
Via Christi - Trauma Center

Wesley Medical Center

*Membership also includes Local Coalitions and
Chapters located in Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Clay,
Coffey, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Ellis, Finney,
Ford, Franklin, Geary, Jackson, Jefferson, J ohnson,
Leavenworth, Marion, McPherson, Meade, Mitchell,
Montgomery, Nemaha, Osage, Pottawatomie, Republic,
Rice, Riley, Saline, Shawnee, Smith, W abaunsee,
Wilson and Woodson Counties: as well as the cities of
Chanute, Emporia, Leavenworth, Norton, Pittsburg,
Wichita Area, and Metro Kansas City.

Safe Kids Kansas is a member of Safe Kids

Worldwide, a global network of organizations whose

mission is to prevent accidental childhood injury.
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Topeka, Kansas

Written Testimony Provided by:
Terry D. Holdren
KFB Governmental Relations

Chairman Donovan and members of the Senate Committee on Transportation, thank
you for the opportunity to discuss the potential impacts of SB 294 on farmers, ranchers,
small businesses, and communities across the state. As you know KFB is the state’s
largest general farm organization representing more than 40,000 farm and ranch
families through our 105 county Farm Bureau Associations.

Over the interim KFB had the opportunity to participate in the Driving Force discussions
concerning the need for reform of our drivers licensing structure and on the safety
implications of the proposed changes. We also had the opportunity to discuss and
agree with the task force on the current structure of the farm permit. Additionally, our

membership had the opportunity to consider these issues in their annual policy
discussions.

KFB supports SB 294 as a rational approach to teen driving in Kansas. The bill has
addressed a number of concerns held by our organization regarding the ability of 14
year olds to obtain a Farm Permit.

KFB policy developed and adopted after input and discussion in all 105 counties of the
state, supports the proposal before you today. Our membership agrees and empathizes
with the general safety applications contained in the proposal but still maintains that
the farm permit is an essential component in any proposal.

Thank you.

Kansas Farm Bureau represents grass roots agricufture. Establish- '~ ==~ '
non-profit advocacy organization supports farm families who earn

changing industry. Senate Transportation Committee
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