Approved: March 5. 2007
Date
MINUTES OF THE SELECT COMMITTEE ON STATE EMPLOYEE PAY PLAN

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Pat George at 7:30 A.M. on March 1, 2007 in Room 241-N
of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Representative John Grange- excused

Committee staff present:
Alan Conroy, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Julian Efird, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Cyndie Rexer, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:
George Vega, Director, Division of Personnel Services
Glen Deck, Executive Director, Kansas Public Employees Retirement System (KPERS)

Others attending:
See attached list.

The minutes of February 19, 2007 were distributed. Representative Charles Roth moved the minutes be
approved. Representative Mike Burgess seconded the motion. The minutes were approved.

Chairman George introduced George Vega who gave a brief presentation of four (4) profiles of the State of
Kansas Employee 2006 Total Compensation Statement. Attachment 1 Mr. Vega also distributed copies of
the Benefits Guidebook For Active State Employees. Attachment 2

Glen Deck gave an overview of KPERS Benefits including retirement basics, benefits, income examples, a
comparison of contributions vs. benefits, an explanation of the deferred compensation plan, and death and
disability benefits. Attachment 3

Chairman George turned the meeting over to Representative Tom Hawk, Minority Leader for the Committee,
who conducted a period of questions and answers. Representative Ann Mah inquired of the status of her
request at the February 19, 2007 meeting for a list of State Statutes regarding pay issues. Alan Conroy
confirmed that Legislative Research is compiling the list.

Representative Hawk adjourned the meeting at 8:25 A.M. The next meeting is scheduled for Monday, March
5,2007 at 9:00 A.M. in Room 519-S.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1
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DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION http://da.ks.gov/ps

MEMORANDUM

T The Honorable Pat George, Chairman
Members, Select Committee gn Employee Pay Plan

FROM: George Vega, Director ’95‘\

Division of Personnel Services
DATE: February 28, 2007

SUBJECT: Total Compensation Statement Profiles

Attached are 4 profiles of the State of Kansas Employee 2006 Total Compensation
Statement.

The assumptions made on all of the profiles are that the employee has Family Medical
Coverage, and has been employed by the State of Kansas for a length of 13 years (save for the
new hire profile). Those items, as well as the employee annual salary are listed at the top of each
profile.

Select Committee On
State Employee Pay Plan
3/1/07
Attachment 1

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION PERSONNEL SERVICES

900 SW Jackson, Room 252, Topeka, KS 66612 ® (785) 296-4278 ® Fax: (785) 296-0756
e-mail: george.vega@da.ks.gov



New Hire 3-26-06
Annual Salary $20,758
Family Medical Coverage

State of Kansas Employee 2006 Total Compensation Statement

As an employee of the State of Kansas, you receive direct compensation (pay, leave, etc.) and
indirect compensation (employer contributions), This statement lists the direct and indirect
compensation you received in 2006. Please contact your agency human resources office if you have
any questions concerning this statement. The amounts below are based on current benefits costs
and programs. All benefits listed are subject to change.

Direct Compensation Indirect Compensation

Compensation you received as an employee of Fayments made by the State of Kansas as

the State of Kansas your employer

Regular Hours $12,066.52 Employer Contribution to Benefits  $3,940,29

Overtime Hours $0.00 Employer Contribution to %0.00
Retirerment

Shift Differential $0.00 Employer Tax Contributions £984.80

Bonrus Pay $0.00 Total Indirect Compensation $4,925.09

Holidays $473.60

\facation Leave $509.72

Sick Leave Taken $559.82

Other Leave Taken $14.97

Other Pay $0.00

Total Direct Compensation $13,624.63

Total Direct and Indirect Compensation $18,549.72

Your total compensation may be greater than the amount shown if you receive or utilize some of
the following benefits and services;

Deferred Compensation

Optional Group Life Insurance

Mowing Expense Reimbursement

Direct Deposit

Tuition Reimbursement

Service Recognition

Savings Bonds

Training/Continuing Education

Vision Insurance

KanElect (Pre-tax Premium Option, Flexible Spending Accounts)
Payroll Deduction for Professional Association Dues, United Way and KPERS BuyBacks
HealthQuest (Lifeline,Exercise and Fitness Events, Education Services)

Nothing in this staterment shall be construed as a contract of employment between the State of
Kansas and any employee, nor as a guarantee of any employee to be continued in the employment
of the State, nor as a limitation on the right of the State to discharge any of its employees with or
without cause. The 2006 Total Compensation Staternent does not replace W-2 forms or other
income tax related information and is not intended for use in tax preparation.
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Annual Salary $33,716
13 Yrs of Service
Family Medical Coverage

State of Kansas Employee 2006 Total Compensation Statement

As an employee of the State of Kansas, you receive direct compensation (pay, leave, etc.) and
indirect compensation (employer contributions). This statement lists the direct and indirect
compensation you received in 2006, Please contact your agency human resources office if you
have any questions concerning this statement. The amounts below are based on current benefits
costs and programs. All benefits listed are subject to change.

Direct Compensation
Compensation you received as an employee of
the State of Kansas

Reqgular Hours
Qvertime Hours

$28,490.41
$0.00

Shift Differential $0.00

Bonus Pay $520.00
Holidays $£1,430,82
\facation Leave $£1,782.90
Sick Leave Taken $218.77
Cther Leave Taken $992.32
Cther Pay $0.00
Total Direct Compensation $33,435.22

Total Direct and Indirect Compensation

Indirect Compensation
Payments made by the State of Kansas as your
employer

Employer Contribution to Benefits  $7,341.80
Employer Contribution to $1,848.06
Retirement

Employer Tax Contributions $2,385.53
Total Indirect Compensation  $11,575.39

$45,010.61

Your total compensation may be greater than the amount shown if you receive or utilize some of

the following benefits and services:

Deferred Compensation

Optional Group Life Insurance
Mowing Expense Reimbursement
Direct Deposit

Tuition Reimbursement

Service Recognition

Savings Bonds
Training/Continuing Education
Vision Insurance

KanElect (Pre-tax Premiurn Option, Flexible Spending Accounts)
Payroll Deduction for Professional Association Dues, United Way and KPERS BuyBacks
HealthQuest (Lifeline,Exercise and Fitness Events, Education Services)

Nothing in this statement shall be construed as a contract of employment between the State of
Kansas and any employee, nor as a guarantee of any employee to be continued in the
emnployment of the State, nor as a limitation on the right of the State to discharge any of its
ernployees with or without cause. The 2006 Total Compensation Statement does not replace W-2
forms or other income tax related information and is not intended for use in tax preparation.
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Annual Salary of $40,955
13 Yrs of Service
Family Medical Coverage

State of Kansas Employee 2006 Total Compensation Statement

As an employee of the State of Kansas, you receive direct compensation (pay, leave, etc.) and
indirect compensation (employer contributions). This statement lists the direct and indirect
compensation you received in 2006, Please contact your agency human resources office if you have
any questions concerning this statement, The amounts below are based on current benefits costs
and programs. All benefits listed are subject to change.

Direct Compensation Indirect Compensation

Compensation you received as an employee of  Payrnents made by the State of Kansas as your

the State of Kansas , employer

Reqgular Hours $34,330.99 Employer Contribution to Benefits $7,404.55

Overtime Hours $0.00 Employer Contribution to $2,235.53
Retirement

Shift Differential $0.00 Employer Tax Contributions $3,187.57

Bonus Pay $520.00 Total Indirect Compensation $12,828.65

Holidays : $1,699.12

Vacation Leave $2,503.55

Sick Leave Taken $854,.54

Other Leave Taken $607.04

Other Pay $0.00

Total Direct Compensation $40,515.24

Total Direct and Indirect Compensation $53,343.89

Your total compensation may be greater than the arnount shown if you receive or utilize some of
the following benefits and services:

Deferred Compensation

Optional Group Life Insurance

Moving Expense Reimbursement

Direct Deposit

Tuition Reimbursement

Service Recognition

Savings Bonds

Training/Continuing Education

Vision Insurance

KanElect (Pre-tax Premium Cption, Flexible Spending Accounts)
Payroll Deduction for Professional Association Dues, United Way and KPERS BuyBacks
HealthQuest (Lifeline, Exercise and Fitness Events, Education Services)

Mothing in this staterment shall be construed as a contract of employment between the State of
Kansas and any employee, nor as a guarantee of any employee to be continued in the employment
of the State, nor as a lirmitation on the right of the State to discharge any of its employees with or
without cause, The 2006 Total Compensation Statement does not replace W-2 forms or other
income tax related inforrmation and is not intended for use in tax preparation.
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Annual Salary of $65,208
13 Yrs of Service
Family Medical Coverage

State of Kansas Employee 2006 Total Compensation Statement

As an employee of the State of Kansas, you receive direct compensation (pay, leave, etc,) and
indirect compensation (employer contributions). This statement lists the direct and indirect
compensation you received in 2006, Please contact your agency human resources office if you have
any questions concerning this statement. The amounts below are based on current benefits costs
and programs. All benefits listed are subject to change.

Direct Compensation
Compensation you received as an employee of
the State of Kansas

Regular Hours $55,518.00
Qvertime Hours $0.00
Shift Differential $0.,00
Bonus Pay $520.00
Holidays $2,701.84
‘Jacation Leave $4,863.36
Sick Leave Taken $501.60
Other Leave Taken $0.00
Other FPay $0.00
Total Direct Compensation $64,104.80

Total Direct and Indirect Compensation

Indirect Compensation
Payments made by the State of Kansas as your
employer

Employer Contribution to Benefits

Employer Contribution to
Retirement

Employer Tax Contributions
Total Indirect Compensation

$7.817.28
$3,539.48

$5,895.35
$17,052.06

$81,156.86

Your total compensation may be greater than the amount shown if you receive or utilize some of

the following benefits and services:

Deferred Compensation
Optional Group Life Insurance
Moving Expense Reimbursernent
Direct Deposit

Tuition Reimbursement

Service Recognition

Seavings Bonds
Training/Continuing Education
Vision Insurance

KanElect (Pre-tax Premium Option, Flexible Spending Accounts)
Payroll Deduction for Professional Association Dues, United Way and KPERS BuyBacks
HealthQuest (Lifeline,Exercise and Fitness Events, Education Services)

Nothing in this statement shall be construed as a contract of employment between the State of
Kansas and any employee, nor as a guarantee of any employee to be continued in the employment
of the State, nor as a limitation on the right of the State to discharge any of its employees with or
without cause, The 2006 Total Compensation Staternent does not replace W-2 forms or other
income tax related information and is not intended for use in tax preparation,
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- INTRODUCTION

STATE OF KANSAS
ACTIVE STATE EMPLOYEE BENEFITS GUIDE

This guide provides information regarding State of Kansas employee benefits. Each
employee benefit has its own enroliment period and enroliment/eligibility rules. Please refer
to the section for each employee benefit for specific information.

This guide should be read carefully and retained for reference. If there are additional
questions, the employee should contact their Agency Human Resources Office.

NOTE: This guide contains information which is current as of May 1, 2006; however,

benefit information is subject to change without notice.

http://da.state.ks.us/ps/documents/default.htm. Go to this website and click on:
Employee Benefits Guide (Active Employees)

OR

Go straight to: http://da.state.ks.us/ps/documents/benquide.pdf. This address takes
you directly to the Benefits Guide.

Note: The information in this guide is intended to summarize the benefits offered in language that is clear and easy to
understand. Every effort has been made to ensure that this information is accurate. It is not intended to replace the legal
plan document or contract which contains the complete provisions of a program. In case of any discrepancy between this
guide and the legal pfan document or contract, the legal plan document or contract will govern in all cases. An employee
may review the legal plan document or contract upon request. The State of Kansas reserves the right to suspend, revoke
or modify the benefit programs offered to employees.

Information contained in this guide, in the Stale of Kansas Health Plan Administrative Manual and in the insurance
provider's certificate/contract takes precedence over verbal information.

Nothing in this guide shall be construed as a contract of employment between the State of Kansas and any employee, nor
as a guarantee of any employee fo be continued in the employment of the State, nor as a limitation on the right of the
State lo discharge any of its employees with or without cause.

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide — Rev. 05/01/06
3
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ENROLLMENT/ELIGIBILITY INFORMATION

Employee Eligibility

According to provisions of Kansas Administrative Regulation (K.A.R.) 108-1-1, an active
employee is eligible to participate in the State of Kansas Health Plan if the employee is one

of the following:
A Any elected official of the State of Kansas;

B. Any other officer or employee of a State of Kansas agency who meets both the
following conditions:

1. is working in one or more positions that together require at least 1,000 hours of
work per year; and

2. lsin a position that is not temporary. An employee who works under employment
customs at any regents institution requiring less than a full calendar year of service
shall not be considered temporary;

C. Any person engaged in postgraduate residency training program in medicine at the
University of Kansas Medical Center, or in a postgraduate residency or internship
training program n veterinary medicine at Kansas State University, but notincluding
student employees of a state institution of higher learning;

D. Any person elected to a board position that requires less than 1,000 hours of work
per year,

E: Any person serving with the foster grandparent program;

o Persons participating under reduced service agreements outlined in K.S.A. 76-746,

and amendments thereto; and

G. Any other class of individuals approved by the Kansas State Employees Health
Care Commission, within the limitations set out in K.S.A. 75-6501 et seq., and
amendments thereto.

The employee should contact their Agency Human Resources Office to inquire about the
benefits eligibility of their position.

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide — Rev. 05/01/06
4
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ENROLLMENT/ELIGIBILITY INFORMATION

Initial Enrollment Period/60-Day Waiting Period

The initial enroliment period for the Health Plan is limited. Employees should submit a
completed Enrollment Form to their Agency Human Resources Office within 31 days of
their date of hire or date of new eligibility. If the forms are not submitted to the Agency
Human Resources Office within 31 days of the event, the employee is not allowed to enroll
until the next Open Enroliment period unless they experience a qualifying mid-year change
event (see Health Plan Mid-Year Enroliment Changes in this guide).

Employees must also submit the proper supporting documentation for each dependent
enrolled in the State of Kansas Health Plan. This documentation includes, butis not limited
to marriage licenses and birth certificates.

If an Enroliment Form is submitted within the initial 31 day enroliment period, the effective
date of coverage is the first day of the month following the completion of a 60 day waiting
period. Both the 31 day and 60 day time frames begin from the first day of work in a
benefits eligible position. Time spent in a benefits ineligible position will be applied to the
60 day waiting period if there is not a break in service of more than three days.

Pre-Existing Conditions

The State of Kansas Health Plan does not apply a waiting period for pre-existing conditions
for new employees and their dependents. Certificates of creditable coverage from other
health plans are not required.

Coverage Options

& -
The State of Kansas Health Plan offers the following types of coverage. Please refer to the
current Health Plan Summary Booklet for additional information. This document is
available at the benefits website:

http://da.state.ks.us/ps/benefits.htm

Medical and Prescription Drug — Eligibility for all medical plans is determined by the
participant’'s county of residence (based on the city and state of residence).
Employees may choose from several medical plans including HMO, PPO and
Qualified High Deductible Health Plan options. Enroliment in the Qualified High
Deductible Health Plan also requires enroliment in a Health Savings Account (HSA).

Prescription drug coverage is provided for all employees/participants enrolled in any
State of Kansas medical plan. All dependents enrolled in medical coverage will also
be enrolled in a prescription drug plan. Prescription benefits include a card that can
be used at any contracting pharmacy.

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide — Rev. 05/01/06
5
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ENROLLMENT/ELIGIBILITY INFORMATION

Dental — Dental coverage is only available for employees/participants enrolled in
medical coverage. An employee may choose to enroll all of their dependents that are
enrolled in medical coverage, or none, for coverage in the dental plan. If however, an
employee elects to cover child dependents under medical AND dental coverage, the
same child dependents must be enrolled in both plans.

Vision — Voluntary vision coverage offers specific coverage on lenses, frames and
contact lenses. Employees may enroll in the vision coverage level of their choice
regardless of their medical or dental insurance enrollment. However, if an employee
elects to cover child dependents under medical AND vision coverage, the same child
dependents must be enrolled in both plans.

Hearing Improvement Program (K-SHIP) - Employees who are enrolled in the State
of Kansas Health Plan and their covered family members are eligible to receive a ten-
percent (10%) discount off the cost of eligible services. Participants do not have to
apply for coverage or fill out any forms to be eligible for the discount. Simply call one
ofthe Clinics, tell them the participant is a State of Kansas Health Plan participant and
schedule an appointment. At the time of the appointment, show a prescription drug
plan card to verify eligibility. Hearing evaluations may be eligible for coverage under a
health plan. To maximize benefit options, be sure to contact the plan and ask about
coverage. If enrolled in HMO coverage, obtain a referral from the member’s primary
care physician before obtaining services.

Identification Cards - Separate identification (ID) cards and/or certificates of
coverage for medical, prescription drug, dental and vision coverage will be sent to
employees after the State of Kansas and the health plan(s) have processed the new
enrollment elections.

The health plans will mail 1D cards and/or certificates of coverage directly to the
employee’s home address. If an employee does not receive |ID cards and/or
certificates of coverage after three weeks, the employee should contact the applicable
health plan and request ID cards and/or certificates of coverage are sent.

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide — Rev. 05/01/06
6
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- HEALTH PLAN

OPEN ENROLLMENT INFORMATION

Annual Open Enrollment Period

Open Enroliment for the Health Plan is held during October each year. An employee who
enrolls during the Open Enrollment period will have coverage effective January 1 of the
new Plan Year.

Pre-Existing Conditions

The State of Kansas Health Plan does not apply a waiting period for pre-existing conditions
for new employees and their dependents. Certificates of creditable coverage from other
health plans are not required.

Newly Eligible Employees

~ A newly eligible employee may enroll during their initial enrollment period. Enroliment
* forms should be submitted within 31 days of date of hire. If they complete initial enrollment
before the 31-day deadline expires, the coverage will become effective the first day of the
month following their 60-day waiting period. In addition, the employee may complete Open
Enroliment for different coverage to be effective the beginning of the upcoming Plan Year.

Identification Cards

New identification (ID) cards and/or certificates of coverage for Open Enrollment changes
will be mailed to the employee’s home address in mid-December prior to the start of the
new Plan Year. New ID cards and/or certificates of coverage will generally be mailed only if
the employee has changed either a health plan or coverage level(s).

Beginning in January of the new Plan Year, if an employee does not receive a new ID card
and/or certificate of coverage as listed above, the employee should contact the health plan
and request ID cards and/or certificates of coverage.

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide — Rev. 05/01/06
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- HEALTHPLAN

COST OF COVERAGE

Employee and employer contributions for the State of Kansas Health Plan are subject to
change each Plan Year.

Health Plan coverage and rates are based upon semi-monthly payroll deduction periods.
A. Full time or part time employment status of the employee’s position.

B. For full time employees, the State of Kansas generally contributes 95% of the cost of
single Health Plan coverage and 45% of the additional cost for dependent coverage.

C. The amount contributed by the agency for part time employees is generally 75% of the
amount contributed for full time employees.

D. Annual salary range of the employee’s position:
1. Less than $27,000
2. $27,000 to $47,000
3. Greater than $47,000

E. Health plan(s) selected.
F. Coverage tier selected.

G. Employees who are approved to participate in the HealthyKIDS program will receive an
employer contribution of 95% of the additional cost for ch|Id(ren) coverage. See Page

23 for more information.

NOTE: For current Health Plan rates, employees should refer to the Health Plan
Summary Booklet for the current Plan Year. To view the Health Plan Summary
Booklet and rates see the following web page.

http://da.state.ks.us/ps/documents/docs_ben_all.htm

2-7
aral
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DEFINITION OF DEPENDENT

A dependentis eligible to be covered under the State of Kansas Health Plan if they are one
of the following:

A.

An employee's lawful wife or husband. When the employee is divorced from the lawful
wife or husband, the ex-spouse is no longer eligible to participate in the State of Kansas
Health Plan except as allowed under COBRA continuation coverage. A three page
affidavit (see your Human Resources Office) must be completed and submitted for
common law spouse consideration.

An employee's unmarried child or stepchild who:

1. Is less than 23 years of age;

2. Does not file a joint tax return with another taxpayer;

3. Receives more than half of their support from the employee (children of parents who
are either divorced, legally separated or live apart for the last six months of the
calendar year and who live with either or both parents for more than six months of
the year may meet this support test if both parents cumulatively provide more than
one-half of the child's support);

4. Is a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national or a resident of the U.S., Canada or Mexico at
some time during the tax year; and

5. Either resides with the employee for more than six months of the year or does not

reside with the child's brother, sister, grandparent, aunt or uncle for more than six
months of the year.

The word "child" means in addition to the employee's own or lawfully adopted child,
any stepchild or a child for whom the employee has legal custody. Ifthe employee is
divorced from the natural parent of the stepchild, such child no longer qualifies as the
employee’s stepchild, and is no longer eligible for coverage. As used in the preceding
sentence, the term natural parent includes an adoptive parent.

. The child of an employee's covered dependent child if such grandchild resides in the

employee's household and meets the criteria of section (B) (1) through (5) listed above.
A one-page affidavit (see your Human Resources Office) must be completed and
submitted along with a copy of the grandchild’s birth certificate.

An employee's unmarried child who is over the age of 23, who is not capable of self
support because of mental retardation or severe physical handicap which existed prior
to attaining age 23, and who has maintained continuous group coverage as a
dependent child prior to attaining age 23. Such child must be chiefly dependent on the
employee for support. A two-page affidavit (see your Human Resources Office) must
be completed and submitted.

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide — Rev. 05/01/06
. 9
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HEALTH PLAN

ADDITIONAL DEPENDENT INFORMATION

Children of divorced parents — An employee may cover their dependent children if the
children receive at least 50% of their support from one or both parents.

Grandchild - An employee may cover a grandchild if the employee has legal custody or
has adopted the child; or if the grandchild lives in the employee's home, is the child of a
covered dependent child, and the employee provides more than one half of the
grandchild's support.

Ex-Spouse — When the employee is divorced from their lawful wife or husband, the ex-
spouse is no longer eligible to participate in the State of Kansas Health Plan except as
allowed under COBRA continuation coverage.

Dependents who are Employees — An employee who is eligible for coverage in the
State of Kansas Health Plan is not eligible to be covered as a dependent in the State of

Kansas Health Plan.

Dependents May Not Be Covered in Duplicate — Eligible dependent children may not
be covered by more than one participant in the State of Kansas Health Plan.

Dependents residing out-of-country

A spouse who is not a U.S. citizen or who resides in another country is eligible for PPO
coverage when the employee is newly eligible, when newly married or at Open
Enrollment. The employee will not be allowed to add the spouse to coverage if the
spouse moves to the United States during the Plan Year.

Dependent children who are not U.S. citizens and who reside in another country are not
eligible for coverage until they move to the United States. The employee will be allowed
to add the children to coverage if the children move to the United States during the Plan
Year (if added within 31 days of the move). However, if added to PPO coverage and
the dependent children later return to another country during the Plan Year, coverage
may not be dropped for these children until the next Open Enroliment period (unless
enrolled on an after-tax basis).

Adopted child - An employee may cover an adopted child if the petition for adoption has
been filed with the court, if the employee has a placement agreement for adoption, or if
the employee has been granted legal custody of the child. Supporting documentation
must be provided in English and must be submitted to Benefits Administration.
Adopted children who are not U.S. citizens and who reside in another country are not
eligible for coverage until they reside in the United States.

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide — Rev. 05/01/06
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HEALTH PLAN

ADDITIONAL DEPENDENT INFORMATION

The State of Kansas and the health plans reserve the right to request documentation to
support proof of dependency and/or residency.

NOTE: When enrolling dependent(s) for coverage in the State of Kansas Health Plan,
the employee must certify that the dependent(s) meet the requirements for
dependent coverage for the year in which the dependent(s) are being enrolled. Any
attempt to enroll dependent(s) that do not meet the requirements will be considered
fraud and will be subject to penalties as prescribed by law.

2. 12—
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 HEALTH PLAN

ENROLLMENT ELECTIONS

Enroliment elections must be made on a State of Kansas Enroliment Form, unless enrolling
via Employee Self Service on the Internet during Open Enrollment. Enrollment Forms are
available at the employee’s Agency Human Resources Office and must be returned to the

Agency for processing.

General Information

Tax Status - The employee must elect how to pay for the cost of coverage - before tax
or after tax — refer to the section on Pretax Premium Option under KanElect. Pretax
payment status may only be changed during Open Enrollment.

Medical Insurance Plan - Eligibility for all medical plans is determined by county of
residence (based on fhe city and state of residence according to the U.S. Census Bureau).
For HMO's, the employee and all covered dependents must reside within the designated
enrollment area for the particular HMO. Employees may choose from any currently offered
medical plan for which they are eligible. Employees may also choose to waive
medical/dental/prescription drug coverage.

Medical and Prescription Drug Coverage Level - Allemployees and dependents enrolled
in medical coverage will have the same level of prescription drug coverage. Employees
may choose from among the following coverage levels for medical and prescription drug:

Member Only

Member and Spouse Only

Member and Child(ren) Only

Member and Family - with Spouse and Child(ren)
Waive Medical/Dental/Prescription Drug Coverage

O wN =

Dental Insurance Plan — Employees may choose from any currently offered dental plan.

Dental Coverage Level - Single dental coverage is provided for all employees enrolled in
medical coverage. An employee is enrolled in dental coverage if they enroll in
medical/prescription drug coverage. Employees may choose from among the following
dental coverage levels:

1 Member Only

D Member and Dependent(s) - dependent dental is available only if the same
dependent medical/prescription drug coverage level is selected. All child
dependents elected for coverage in the Dental plan must match those child
dependents enrolled in medical/prescription drug coverage.

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide — Rev. 05/01/06
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HEALTH PLAN.

Vision Coverage Level - Employees may elect any level of vision coverage regardless of
enrollmentin a medical or dental insurance plan. However, if child dependents are covered
under the medical plan, the child dependents covered under the vision plan must match
those in the medical play. Employees may choose from among the following coverage
levels:

1 Member Only

2 Member and Spouse Only

3 Member and Child(ren) Only
4 Member and Family

5 Waive Vision Coverage

Identification Cards - Identification cards and/or certificates of coverage will be mailed to
the employee’s home. If an employee does not receive an ID card for each plan, they
should contact the health plan and request an ID and/or certificates of coverage.

Required Information - For each employee and covered dependent, the following
information is required:
» Relationship (e.g., child, spouse, stepchild, etc.). Documentation proving
dependency or relationship must be provided.
e Full Name
e Social Security Numbers are requested (for everyone over 60 days old). If social
security numbers are not received for dependents, an alternative number will be
assigned.
« Gender
o Date of Birth
e PCP (Primary Care Physician) Number - for initial enrollment only in HMO plans.
Employees should telephone their HMO to verify that their selected physician is a
participating primary care physician. For all other PCP changes, the employee
must call their HMO plan.

NOTE: To be enrolled as a dependent under the emﬁloyee’s coverage in the State of
Kansas Health Plan, the employee and the dependent must be enrolled in the
same health insurance plans.

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide — Rev. 05/01/06
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MID-YEAR ENROLLMENT CHANGES

Changing Primary Care Physician (PCP) on HMO Plans

In order for an employee to change their PCP designation during the middle of a Plan Year,
the employee must telephone their elected medical plan. This is the only method an
employee can use to change a PCP designation. PCP changes are the sole responsibility
of the employee/participant. Do not contact your Agency's Human Resources office or the
State of Kansas Benefits Administration. Failure on the part of the employee/participant to
do this may result in no payment of benefits.

The change in PCP will generally become effective the first day of the month following the
change. Medical plan telephone numbers are listed on the employee’s ID card or can be
found in the Health Plan Summary Booklet.

It is the employee's responsibility to verify that the PCP selected is appropriate for the
enrolled medical plan and that the PCP is accepting new patients or is limited to existing
patients only. In the event that an employee or dependent that is enrolled in coverage has
selected an ineligible PCP, benefits will not be paid.

Moving from one Enrollment Area to Another

Employees who move from one enroliment area to another during the Plan Year
have the following enrollment options:

A. If the employee is enrolled on a pretax basis, a new medical plan may be
selected only if the old medical plan is not available in the new area of

residence.
B. If enrolled after-tax, and a medical plan is now available that was not available

inthe old area of residence, the employee may change without restriction to the
same level or lower level of coverage (e.g., family to single) with the new
medical plan, including HMQ's. The new medical plan may be selected even if
the prior medical plan is still available in the new area of residence.

C. Employees with PPO coverage who move from a non-HMO county to a HMO
county may change to any available HMO.

If a change to the new medical carrier is desired, a Change Form must be completed and
signed within 31 days of the move. The effective date of change in coverage will be the
first day of the month following the move. If the move occurs on the first day of a month,
the change effective date will be that day. The Benefits Section must receive forms within

10 days of the completion of the form.

If the form is not completed within 31 days of the move, the change will be effective the
first day of the month following completion of the form.

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide — Rev. 05/01/06
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HEALTHPLAN

MID-YEAR ENROLLMENT CHANGES

NOTE: Eligibility is based on the state and city of the participant’s current home
mailing address. The county is then determined by the participant’s city and state
according to the U.S. Census Bureau - regardless of the location of the actual
residence or personal property of the participant. )

Active Military Duty

Employee coverage ends effective the last day of the month in which the employee
goes on military leave.

Employees on military leave without pay may continue coverage for the next 30 days;
the agency will continue to make the Health Plan employer contribution for those 30
days. The employee is required to remit his/her premium (regular payroll deduction
amount) to the agency to retain coverage during the 30 days following the effective date
of the military leave without pay.

Employees may continue coverage in the Health Plan beyond the 30 days leave without
pay timeframe, but must remit the full premium. There will be no agency contribution. An
employee with spouse, children, or full family coverage may elect to drop themselves
and keep their spouse and/or children covered in the State Health Plan. However,
employees must make the change within 30 days of the effective date of the military
leave without pay.

If group health insurance is continued, it will be the primary payer of claims and their
military coverage will be secondary.

A. Employees and/or their dependents who elect to discontinue State of
Kansas Health Plan coverage and who have primary coverage
provided by the military will be allowed to rejoin the provider coverage
they left when they return to active employee status. .

B. Employees on military leave during Open Enrollment may enroll in any
coverage for which they are eligible, without penalty, upon their return to
active employee status.

LI /A
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MID-YEAR ENROLLMENT CHANGES

Active Military Duty continued

The effective date of coverage may be either the first day of the month following
the employee’s return from active military duty or the first day of the month in
which the employee returns to active employee status.

C. If an employee is qualified for and elects to participate in the military's
transitional health benefit program, the employee will be allowed to
reenter the State of Kansas Health Plan without penalty when the
transitional coverage terminates. The employee may be qualified for up
to 180-days of transitional health benefits.

The effective date of coverage may be either the first day of the month
following termination of the military transitional health coverage or the first
day of the month in which the military coverage terminates, whichever the
employee chooses.

Return from military leave policies also apply to dependents returning
from military leave.

Termination of Coverage

Employee

An active employee’s health plan coverage ends upon the employee's retirement,

termination of employment, or change to an ineligible position. The employee s lastday of
coverage is the last day of the month in which the employee last worked in an eligible
position. The employee will then be offered COBRA continuation of State of Kansas
coverage (refer to the continuation of coverage section in this guide). '

An active employee’s health plan coverage also ends upon non-payment of premium or

upon termination of the group policy. Coverage will end either the last day of the month for
which premiums were received or on the date the group policy is terminated.

Dependent

State of Kansas Health Plan coverage for dependents terminates on the last day of the
month that the employee’s coverage terminates; or on the last day of the month in which
the individual ceases to be a qualified dependent under the plan’s definition.

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide — Rev. 05/01/06 Z A 7
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MID-YEAR ENROLLMENT CHANGES

Retirement

When an employee retires from State of Kansas employment, the employee must indicate
on a Change Form whether or not they wish to continue in the State of Kansas Health Plan
through the Direct Bill Program. If continued coverage is desired, a Change Form must be

completed 30 days prior to the employee’s retirement in order to ensure continuous
coverage between active employee coverage and Direct Bill coverage.

The effective date of the change to the Direct Bill Program will be the first day of the month
following the employee’s last day at work. The coverage ending date for active coverage
will be the last day of the last month that the employee is employed. Those enrolled in the
Direct Bill Program must pay their premiums by automatic bank draft. Deductions will be
made from the individual's bank account on approximately the 10" of each month for
coverage for that month.

-The employee may change their medical plan at the time of retirement and subsequent
enrollment in the Direct Bill Program. Dependents may be dropped from coverage upon
retirement; however, dependents may be added to coverage only if there is a qualifying
mid-year event. Dependents may also be added to coverage during the next Open
Enroliment period.

If the employee and/or covered spouse are age 65 or older when the employee retires, the
employee and/or spouse must be enrolled in Medicare Part A. If the individual does not
currently have Medicare Part B, they must apply for Medicare Part B. The Social Security
Administration requires that the Agency Human Resources Office send retiring employees
a letter containing health insurance information necessary to process the application for
Medicare Part B coverage. When applying for Medicare Part B, the employee should
present the letter to the local Social Security office.

Kansas Senior Plan C is available to Medicare eligible retirees and their Medicare eligible
dependents. Kansas Senior Plan C offers the same medical benefits as the Medicare
Supplemental Plan C. Both are designed to coordinate with traditional Medicare coverage.
See the current Health Plan Summary Retirees and Direct Bill Participants booklet for more
information.

For more information on retirement, the employee should contact their Agency
Human Resources Office.

2.1
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~ HEALTHPLAN

MID-YEAR ENROLLMENT CHANGES

Additions to Coverage

Newly Eligible Dependents

Dependents shall become newly eligible on the latter of:

1. The employee's initial date of eligibility; or
2. The date the individual first becomes an eligible dependent of the employee. This
includes the following:

A. A new spouse and/or stepchildren due to marriage,;

B. A new dependent child due to birth or adoption (the petition for adoption must
have been filed with the court or there must be a placement agreement);

C. Anew dependent child due to new legal custody or guardianship (not power of

attorney); or
D. Dependent children listed on a Medical Withholding Order (K.S.A. 23-4,105).

Coverage for newly eligible dependents (see #2 above) may be added mid-year to the
employee's current medical plan, but only if all of the following requirements are met:

- 1. The dependent is added to coverage within 31 calendar days of the qualifying mid-
year event (by completing a Change Form);

2. Written documentation is provided (such as a copy of the birth certificate, petition for
adoption, placement agreement, marriage license, custody agreement, etc.); and

3. The change in coverage is consistent with the qualifying event and/or complies with
HIPAA regulations.

Coverage for newborn/adopted children will generally be effective on the date of birth, the
date of filing of the petition for adoption or the date of the placement agreement. Changes
to the employee contribution will be effective the first of the following month. However, no
benefits will be provided for the newborn/adopted child until the Change Form has been
processed.

If the petition for adoption or the placement agreement is within 31 days of the birth of the
child the effective date of coverage will be the date of birth and the employee contribution
will be effective the first of the following month. .

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide — Rev. 05/01/06 'z' }7
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HEALTHPLAN

MID-YEAR ENROLLMENT CHANGES

Non-Newly Eligible Employees and Dependents

Non-newly eligible employees and dependents are defined as:

Employees and/or dependents for whom 31 days have passed since their initial
eligibility for coverage.

Non-newly eligible employees and/or dependents may be added or dropped from Health
Plan coverage (not including vision coverage) during the Plan Year but only if all of the
following mid-year change requirements are met:

1. The change is a result of one of the events listed on the following pages and/or
complies with HIPAA regulations,

2. The change is requested within 31 calendar days of the event (by completing an
Enroliment or Change Form),

3. Written documentation of the event is provided (such as a divorce decree, death
certificate, custody agreement, or statement from a spouse's employer), and

4. The change in coverage is consistent with the event and/or complies with HIPAA
regulations.

‘Note: For mid-year enrollment changes, the effective date of coverage or change in
coverage will generally be the first day of the month following the event (assuming
all form requirements have been met). For events that occur on the first day of a
month, the coverage effective date will be that day. However, if a death occurs on
the first day of a month, the change effective date will be the first day of the
following month.

Deletions from Coverage

Dependent dental coverage may not be dropped during the Plan Year, unless dependent
medical and prescription drug coverage are also dropped.

Vision coverage may not be dropped during the Plan Year. In addition, vision coverage

cannot be changed during the Plan Year unless due to either a newly eligible dependent or
a dependent becoming ineligible.

2.20
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MID-YEAR ENROLLMENT CHANGES

PRETAX EVENTS

If an employee is enrolled pretax, and any addition or deletion to coverage will resultin a
change in employee contribution, there must be a qualifying status event for the change to
be approved. Enrollment changes must also be consistent with the event and/or must
comply with HIPAA regulations. Employees may change pretax status only during Open
Enroliment each. gear (unless the 60 day waiting period was waived for initial enroliment).
The change in status event must result in a gain or loss of eligibility for coverage in an
employer-sponsored group health insurance plan. This gain/loss/change can be for the
employee, spouse, or dependent and can be under either the State's plan or a plan
sponsored by the spouse or dependent's employer. The requested change of election
must then correspond with the gain/loss of coverage, and must be confirmed with
documentation in the form of a letter from the employer on the employer's letterhead. All
changes must be requested within 31 days of the event.

Employees who are enrolled in group health insurance on a pretax basis may make mid-
year additions and deletions from coverage based on the following events:

A. Employee’s marriage - may add or drop entire family if the family is picked up
under the new spouse's employer's plan because the entire family is now
newly eligible. The entire family is not newly eligible if the spouse's employer
covered unmarried domestic partners.

B. Final divorce (the first and last pages of the final divorce decree must be
attached to the Enrollment or Change Form).

C. Birth or adoption of a dependent - may add entire family. May drop entire
family only if the status change is due to a birth or adoption, and those family
members are now newly eligible under some other employer's plan.

D. Gain orloss of legal custedy of a dependent.

E. Change from part time to full time or from full time to part time employment
by employee or spouse that affects cost, benefit level, or benefit coverage for
employee, spouse and/or dependents. Change from benefits eligible position
to benefits ineligible position by the employee, spouse or dependent.
Termination or commencement of employment (includes retirement) of
employee, spouse or dependent which affects benefits coverage for
employee, spouse and/or dependents (an employee may change medical
plan at the time of retirement). Any employment status change that affects
eligibility.

F.  Unpaid leave of absence by employee, spouse or dependent which affects
the benefits coverage of employee, spouse and/or dependents. If the
employee is rehired or reactivated within 30 days, they must step back into
the same enrollment unless they experience a status change event.

2.2
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MID-YEAR ENROLLMENT CHANGES

PRETAX EVENTS continued

G.

i R

Significant changes in the health insurance coverage of the employee or
spouse attributable to the spouse's employment. The loss of one
participant's PCP is not an allowable change. The change under a spouse's
plan must be the result of a status change event and result in a gain/loss of
eligibility and coverage. An employee can make a mid-year change due to
an Open Enrollment change made by a spouse or dependent.

Employee, spouse or dependent being called to active military duty.
Expiration of COBRA continuation benefits from a previous employer for an
employee, spouse or dependent.

Change of residence of employee that requires a change of medical plans.
Death of a spouse or dependent.

Dependent turning age 23 or marrying (coverage will end the last day of the
month of the birthday or date of marriage). If the birth date or date of
marriage is on the first day of a month, the coverage ending date for that
dependent will be the last day of the preceding month.

Employee, spouse or dependent gaining or losing government-sponsored
medical card coverage, although terminating coverage is not allowable if the
employee becomes covered under programs like SCHIPS because these
programs are not supposed to replace existing insurance. This may apply to
other government card coverage.

Employee, spouse or dependent losing Medicare eligibility or becoming
eligible for Medicare, and electing Medicare coverage as primary.
Dependent children identified under a Medical Withholding Order (K.S.A. 23-
4,105) or Qualified Medical Child Support Order (the State group has the
authority to add these dependent children without the consent of the
employee).

Court Order requiring addition or deletion of coverage for a dependent child.
Spouse or dependent moving outside an HMO enroliment area (employee
may drop dependent coverage or may change medical plans in order to
continue dependent coverage).

Failing to meet the 50% support requirement for a dependent child during the
Plan Year. A notarized written statement from the employee must be
attached to the Change Form, which states that the dependent does not
receive 50% of their support from the employee for the entire tax year. The
date of event will be the date of completion of the Change Form and the
effective date will be the first day of the following month. If the Change Form
is completed on the first day of a month, the effective date will be that day. If
approved and coverage is dropped for the dependent, the dependent cannot
be added back to coverage during the Plan Year.

Dependent children losing eligibility/coverage under another group health
insurance plan. -

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide = Rev. 05/01/06
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MID-YEAR ENROLLMENT CHANGES
AFTER-TAX EVENTS

Employees who are enrolled in Group Health Insurance on an after-tax basis may make
mid-year additions and deletions from coverage due to the following events:

A. All events as listed under Pretax Events;

B. Removing employee and/or dependents from group health insurance
coverage for any reason (no documentation is required).
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~ HEALTHPLAN

HealthyKIDS Pilot Program

HealthyKIDS is a pilot program that helps eligible state employees with their premium for
children’s health insurance coverage in the State Employees Health Plan (SEHP). State
employees with dependent children who are eligible will have 90% of the premium for their
covered children paid for by the state instead of the traditional 45%. The employee will pay
for the remaining 10%. Employees may enroll in any of the available plan options. The
_state contribution will be based on the lowest cost HMO or PPO.

If an employee cannot qualify for Kansas Health Wave (Title 21) because they are a state
employee, they may qualify for HealthyKIDS if their household size and income fall within
the guidelines below.

To use the chart below, the employee should count themselves and their spouse if living in
the same household. Also, count the children under 19 who live with the employee,
including adoptive children and minors for whom the employee has legal custody.

Household Gross Income

Household Size Yearly Monthly
2 $26,400 $2,200
3 $33,204 $2,767
4 $40,008 $3,334
5 $46,800 $3,900
6 $53,604 $4,467
7 $60,408 $5,034

During Open Enrollment employees will enroll in a health plan and coverage tier of their
choice. If the employee believes they may be eligible for HealthyKIDS, they should
complete a paper application form and send it to HealthyKIDS, Landon. State Office
Building, 900 SW Jackson St., Rm 951-S, Topeka, KS 66612-1251.

Employees may apply mid-year due to a qualifying event if that event affects their health
insurance coverage. The qualifying events are the same as those established for mid-year
enroliment changes. Employees must apply within 31 days of the event.

Employees have to reapply each year for the HealthyKIDS program during open
enroliment.

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide — Rev. 05/01/06
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HEALTH PLAN

HIPAA DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS

Under the Department of Labor’s (DOL) rules governing plan disclosure requirements,
health plan sponsors must provide participants and beneficiaries with certain information.
The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) amended the
content requirements for employee communication materials for group health plans. The
required disclosure information is as follows:

Plan Participants’ Rights

If a participant has any questions about this guide, their health benefits or about their rights,
the participant should contact the following office:

U.S. Department of Labor

Pension and Welfare Benefits Administration
City Center Square, 1100 Main Street
Kansas City, Missouri 64105

Telephone: 816-426-5131

The participant may also contact the Division of Technical Assistance and Inquiries,
Pension and Welfare Benefits Administration, U.S. Department of Labor, 200 Constitution

Avenue NW, Washington, D.C. 20210.

Newborns and Mothers Health Protection Act

Group health plans and health insurance providers offering group health insurance
coverage generally may not, under Federal law, restrict benefits for any hospital length of
stay in connection with childbirth for the mother or newborn child to less than 48 hours
following a normal vaginal delivery. Nor may they restrict benefits for any hospital length of
less than 96 hours following a cesarean section, or require that a medical plan obtain
authorization from the plan or insurance provider for prescribing a length of stay not in
excess of the above periods.

Prior Coverage Certification

Written certification of health plan coverage is automatically provided either when an
individual's coverage is lost under the State of Kansas Health Plan, when coverage is lost
under COBRA continuation or upon request within 24 months after either loss of coverage.
Certification will be sent to the individual at their last known address and will identify the
covered person, the period of coverage and any waiting periods.
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HEALTH PLAN

HIPAA DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS

Special Enroliments/Notice of Employee Rights

If an employee is declining enroliment for himself/herself or their dependents (including
their spouse) because of other health insurance coverage, the employee may in the
future be able to enroll himself/herself or their dependents in this plan. This is allowable
provided that the employee requests enrollment (by submitting a completed Enrollment
Form) within 31 days after the other coverage ends. In addition, if the employee has a
new dependent as a result of marriage, birth, adoption, or placement for adoption, the
employee may be able to enroll himself/herself and their dependents, provided that the
employee requests enrollment within 31 days after the marriage, birth, adoption or
placement for adoption.

NOTE: The State of Kansas requires that written documentation of the marriage,
birth, adoption or placement for adoption be provided. Employees should refer to
the Mid-Year Enrollment Changes section in this guide for more information
concerning special enroliments. '
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WOMEN’S HEALTH AND CANCER RIGHTS ACT

Effective January 1, 1999, the Federal Women's Health and Cancer Rights Act of 1998
requires group health plans, insurance companies, and health maintenance organizations
(HMOQOs) that provide benefits for mastectomies to also provide coverage for:

A. Reconstruction of the breast on which the mastectomy was performed,

B. Surgery and reconstruction of the other breast to produce a symmetrical
appearance, and

C. Prostheses and treatment of physical complications for all stages of a mastectomy,
including lymphedema (swelling associated with the removal of lymph nodes).

The deductible and coinsurance provisions applicable to these benefits are consistent with
the deductible and coinsurance provisions governing other benefits provided by the State of
Kansas Health Plan. Coverage will be provided in a manner determined from consultation

with the attending physician and the patient.

Any questions concerning the above benefits provided under the State of Kansas
Health Plan should be directed to the employee’s medical plan.
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CONTINUATION OF COVERAGE - COBRA

The federal Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA) was enacted in
1986. The law requires that most employers sponsoring Health Plan plans offer employees
and their families the opportunity for a temporary extension of health coverage, at group
rates, in certain instances where coverage under the plan would otherwise end.

This section is intended to inform employees of their rights and obligations under the
continuation of coverage provisions of the law. Both the employee and spouse should
read this section carefully.

If the employee is covered by Health Plan, the employee has the right to choose
continuation coverage if they lose their coverage due to:

» A reduction in their hours of employment; or
e The termination of their employment (for reasons other than gross misconduct).

Ifthe spouse of an employee is covered by the employee's Health Plan, the spouse has
the right to choose continuation coverage if they lose coverage due to any of the following
reasons: '

« The death of their spouse (the employee);

e Termination of their spouse's employment (for reasons other than gross mlsconduct)
or reduction in their spouse's hours of employment; or

e Divorce or legal separation from their spouse

» Spouse becomes entitled to Medicare

If a dependent child of an employee is covered by the employee's Health Plan, the
dependent child has the right to choose continuation coverage if they lose coverage due to
any of the following reasons:

« The death of their parent (the employee);

¢ Termination of their parent's employmeht (for reasons other than gross misconduct) or
reduction in their parent's hours of employment;

« Their parent's divorce or legal separation;

 Their parent becoming entitled to Medicare; or

» The dependent child ceasing to be a dependent under the Health Plan (such as
turning age 23 or marrying).
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CONTINUATION OF COVERAGE - COBRA

Under the law, the employee has the responsibility to inform their Agency Human
Resources Office of the occurrence of certain events. These events include divorce or
legal separation, or a child losing dependent status under the Health Plan. Notice mustbe
given within 60 days of the latter of (1) the date of the event or (2) the date on which
coverage would end under the plan because of the event. The Agency Human Resources
Office has the responsibility to notify Benefits Administration of the employee's death,
termination, or reduction in hours of employment.

When Benefits Administration is notified that one of these events has happened, a COBRA
notification letter will be mailed to the employee or the family member detailing the right to
choose continuation coverage. The individual has 60 days from the date of the qualifying
event OR the date of the letter, which ever is later, to elect continuation coverage by
returning the Enrollment Form that is enclosed with the notification letter. People covered
under COBRA will receive information and make payments to a third party administrator,

currently Conexis.

The individual does not have to show that they are insurable to choose continuation
coverage. However, continuation coverage under COBRA is provided subject to their
eligibility for coverage. The State of Kansas reserves the right to terminate the individual's
COBRA coverage retroactively if they are determined to be ineligible.

If the individual does not choose continuation coverage, their Health Plan coverage will end
on the last day of the month in which the qualifying event occurred. If COBRA coverage is
chosen, the effective date will be retroactively assigned to the coverage ending date of the
active employee coverage.

If the individual chooses continuation coverage, the medical plan is required to provide
coverage which, as of the time coverage is being provided, is identical to the coverage
provided to similarly situated active employees or family members. The law requires that
the dependent be afforded the opportunity to maintain continuation coverage for 36 months
unless the employee lost group health coverage because of a termination of employment or
reduction in hours. In those cases, the required continuation coverage period is 18 months.
These 18 months may be extended to 36 months from termination of employment for
dependents if other events such as a death, divorce, or legal separation occur during that

18 month period.

The 18 months may be extended to 29 months if an individual has been approved as
disabled (for Social Security disability purposes within 60 days of the qualifying event) and
the medical plan is notified of that determination before the end of the initial 18 months.
The affected individual must also notify the medical plan within 30 days of any final
determination that the individual is no longer disabled. In no event will continuation
coverage last beyond 3 years from the date of the original COBRA qualifying event.
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~ HEALTHPLAN

CONTINUATION OF COVERAGE - COBRA

Under the law, the individual may have to pay all or part of the premium for their
continuation coverage. Premiums are due on or before the first day of each month of
coverage. There is a grace period of at least 30 days for payment of the regularly
scheduled premium. The law also says that, at the end of the 18 month or 3 year
continuation coverage period, the individual must be allowed to enroll in an individual
conversion health plan provided by the medical plan(s).

However, the law also provides that the individual's continuation coverage may be
terminated for any of the following four reasons:

« The State of Kansas no longer provides Health Plan coverage to any of its employees;

» The premium for the continuation coverage is not paid on time;

« The individual becomes covered under another group health plan that does not
contain any exclusion or limitation with respect to any pre-existing condition they may
have; or

e The individual extended coverage for up to 29 months due to their disability and there
has been a final determination that they are no longer disabled.

e The individual becomes entitled to Medicare

For additional information concerning COBRA continuation coverage, the employee
or spouse should contact the employee's Agency Human Resources Office.

2.30
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HEALTH PLAN

CONTINUATION OF COVERAGE - DIRECT BILL PROGRAM

An individual is eligible for participation in the State of Kansas Health Plan as a Direct Bill
Program participant if they are:

A.  Any former elected state official;

B.  Any retired state officer or employee who is receiving retirement benefits under K.S.A.
74-4925, and amendments thereto, or from the Kansas Public Employees Retirement

System;

C. Any totally disabled former state officer or employee who is receiving benefits under
K.S.A. 74-4927, and amendments thereto;

D. Any surviving spouse or dependent of a qualifying participant in the health care
benefits program. The spouse or dependent must have been covered under the
State immediately before the date of death of the participant or retiree;

E. Any active State participant who was covered under the State immediately before
going on approved leave without pay. Participation due to leave without pay status is

limited to one year;

F.  Any blind person licensed to operate a vending facility as defined in K.S.A. 75-3338,
and amendments thereto; and

G. Any former state officer or employee who separated from state service when eligible
to receive a retirement benefit but, in lieu of that, withdrew that individual's employee
contributions from the retirement system.

Important note: All employees retiring after January 21, 2001 will not have the option
to re-enroll in the State of Kansas Health Plan after they drop from the State of
Kansas Health Plan. Retiring employees will be allowed to re-enroll if they maintain
continuous coverage under the State Health Plan as a dependent.

For example, a state employee retires from the state on January 2, 2001 and they do not
remain on the state’s health plan either on Direct Bill or as a dependent. This retiree will be
allowed to re-enroll in the state's health plan. Conversely, a state employee retires from
the state on February 22, 2001. They also do not remain on the state’s health plan either
on Direct Bill or as a dependent. This retiree will NOT be allowed to re-enroll in the state’s

health plan.

For more information on the Direct Bill Program, the employee should contact their
Agency Human Resources Office.
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~ HEALTH PLAN

CONTINUATION OF COVERAGE - FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT

The Federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 provides that eligible employees are
entitled to continuation of Health Plan benefits up to a maximum of 12 weeks for:

« The serious health condition of the employee that makes the employee unable to
perform the functions of the employee’s position; or

 Care for the employee's spouse or parent with a serious health condition; or

e The birth of the employee’s child or placement of a child with the employee for
adoption or foster care and care of the child upon birth or placement in the employee’s
home.

Employees on FMLA leave must continue to pay their portion of the Health Plan premium.
If the employee’s payment is 30 or more days late, the State will not contribute the
employer's portion of the premium and coverage may cease until the employee returns to
work. Upon return to work, coverage will be restored if it has lapsed due to the employee
not making the required premium payments.

If an employee fails to return to work after the FMLA leave has been exhausted or expires,
the employee will be required to reimburse the State for the employee’s portion of the
Health Plan premiums paid during the employee's unpaid portion of FMLA leave.
Reimbursement will not be required if the employee is unable to return to work because of:

» Continuation, reoccurrence or onset of a serious health condition of the employee
or the employee’s family member which would otherwise entitle the employee to
leave under FMLA; or

s Other circumstances beyond the control of the employee.

For more information concerning this continuation program, the employee should
contact their Agency Human Resources Office.
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- KANELECT FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PROGRAM -

GENERAL INFORMATION

KanElect is offered by the State of Kansas to benefits eligible employees and is an Internal
Revenue Code (IRS) Section 125 plan. It allows the employee to pay for Health Plan
premiums, non-reimbursed health care expenses, and dependent daycare expenses with
pretax dollars. An employee can save an estimated 25-40% in taxes on that portion of their
salary that is used for these qualifying expenses.

KanElect Options

The KanElect Program offers three benefit plans:

Pretax Premium Option - allows the employee to pay for the cost of (the State of
Kansas) Health Plan premiums with pretax or after-tax dollars.

Health Care Flexible Spending Account- allows the employee to use pretax dollars
to pay health care expenses allowed by the IRS but not reimbursed by medical,
dental, prescription drug or vision insurance. :

Dependent Care Flexible Spending Account - allows the employee to use pretax
dollars to pay for work related daycare expenses.

Tax Savings

Payment on a pretax basis means that the employee enters into an agreement with the
State of Kansas to reduce their salary by the cost of Health Plan coverage or by the
amounts elected for either, or both Flexible Spending Accounts. Since the employee's
salary is reduced, the employee does not pay federal or state income taxes or Social
Security taxes on these amounts. As a result, the employee's take home pay will increase
by the amount they don't pay in taxes for the pretax benefits selected.

Initial Enrollment

All benefits eligible employees may elect to participate in the Flexible Spending Accounts
even if they do not enroll in the Health Plan.

The initial enroliment period for Flexible Spending Accounts is limited. Employees should
submit a completed Enrollment Form to their Agency Human Resources Office within 31
days of their date of hire or new benefits eligibility. If forms are not submitted within 31
days, the employee will not be allowed to enroll until the next Open Enrollment period
unless they experience a mid-year qualifying change event for Flexible Spending Accounts.

Effective date of coverage is the first day of the month following completion of a 60 day
waiting period. The waiting period begins with the first day of work for the State of Kansas
in a benefits eligible position. Time spent in a benefits ineligible position will be applied to
the 60 day waiting period if there is not a break in service of more than three days when an
employee moves from a benefits ineligible position to a benefits eligible position.
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KANELECT FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PROGRAM

GENERAL INFORMATION

Annual Open Enrollment Period

Employees electing to participate in either the Dependent Care or the Health Care Flexible
Spending Account(s) for a new Plan Year must complete a new Flexible Spending Account
Enrollment On-line during the annual Open Enrollment period.

Open Enroliment is generally held during the month of October each year. An employee
who enrolls during the Open Enroliment period will have Flexible Spending Account
coverage effective the first day of the new Plan Year as outlined in the Health Plan
Summary Book.

Mid-Year Changes

Because KanElectis an IRS Section 125 plan, there are some restrictions imposed by the
IRS regarding changes in coverage during the Plan Year. A participating employee cannot
. change their Health Plan pretax coverage level or the amount placed in the Flexible
Spending Accounts until Open Enrollment unless they experience a qualifying status
change.

All changes must be requested within 31 calendar days of the status change event and
must also include written documentation of the event. In addition, the requested change
must be consistent with the event. Alist of allowable status changes for each option of the
KanElect Program is included in the section for that option.

However...KanElect is not for everyone

If the employee will need additional flexibility to drop out of Health Plan coverage during the
year, the after-tax option may be better. If the employee is divorced and has c¢hildren
covered by court order or through an ex-spouse's employer, the after-tax option may offer
more flexibility.

If the employee does not have some predictable dependent care expenses or health care
expenses that will not be reimbursed, they should not elect the KanElect Flexible Spending
Accounts.

Neither the employee or the employee's spouse may make contributions to a Health Care
Savings Account (HSA) while the employee is participating in the health care flexible
spending account.

Questions

This is an overview of the KanElect Program. For more specific information, the employee

should refer to the specific section in this guide that deals with each of the three options, or
contact their Agency Human Resources Office. '

2.3¢
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i KANELECT FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PROGRAM.

PRETAX PREMIUM OPTION

An employee enrolled in the State of Kansas Health Plan may elect to participate in the
Pretax Premium Option. The pretax election must be indicated on an Enrollment Form,
during the initial enrollment period. This election is made on-line during Open Enroliment.
Participation in the Pretax Premium Option reduces the amount of tax withheld from the
employee's pay and increases their take-home pay.

Status Changes

According to IRS regulations, if the employee is participating in the Pretax Premium Option
and they request a change in their coverage that will change their premium amount, the
employee must first experience an approved status change as listed in this guide. In
addition, changes in the Health Plan coverage must be requested within 31 calendar
days of the qualifying event. The change in coverage will generally be effective the first
day of the month following the event. '

Supporting documentation of each status change is required. Examples include copies of
marriage license, final divorce decree, birth or death certificate, custody agreement,
adoption papers, statement from a spouse's employer or statement from the daycare
provider. For more information, refer to the section on Mid-Year Enroliment Changes.

Waiver Option

If an employee does not want to participate in the Pretax Premium Option, and wants to
pay for the cost of Health Plan coverage on an after-tax basis, the employee can indicate
this on the Health Plan Enrollment Form or during the On-line Open Enroliment.

KanElect Enrollment Form and Options

The annual election for Flexible Spending Accounts is the amount(s) selected on the
KanElect Enrollment Form for new hires and mid-year changes or on the KanElect portion
of the On-line Open Enroliment. To complete the enroliment process for new hires and/or

«mid-year changes, the form must be given to the employee's Agency Human Resources
Office. A new enrollment must be completed each year during Open Enroliment evenifno
change is desired.

Each employee is responsible for reviewing the deductions on their first paycheck of a new
Plan Year. If the deduction amounts are not correct, the employee should contact their
Agency Human Resources Office within 14 days of the paycheck in order to make
corrections. If corrections are not requested within 14 days of the employee’s first Flexible
Spending Account(s) payroll deduction, changes will not be considered.

For more information concerning Flexible Spending Accounts, refer to the next section.
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HEALTH CARE FLEXIBLE SPENDING ACCOUNT

The Health Care Flexible Spending Account can be used to pay for qualified medical,
vision, prescription drug and dental expenses which are not reimbursed by health
insurance.

Each employee determines how much money they want to set aside for non-reimbursed
health care expenses during a particular Plan Year. The employee then makes an annual
election on the KanElect portion of the on-line Open Enroliment or a KanElect Enroliment
Form for initial and mid-year enrollments, and that amount is withheld from their salary on a
pretax basis. As the employee incurs health care expenses, they request reimbursement
from the account by filing claims with Application Software Inc (ASI). The employee will
receive reimbursement of their eligible expenses by check or by direct deposit into their
own checking or savings account. The money that is reimbursed has not been taxed and
will not be taxed. '

An employee may not transfer money from one spending account into another spending
. account. Money from the Health Care Account cannot be used to pay for dependent
daycare expenses, and money from the Dependent Care Account cannot be used to pay
for health care expenses.

Eligible Expenses

Except for insurance premiums and long-term care expenses, eligible expenses are
generally those that would otherwise be deductible on a Federal income tax return. Refer
to the current IRS Publication 502, or link to ASI's website (www.asiflex.com) or through the
Benefits website (http://da.state.ks.us/ps/benefits.htm) for further information on qualifying
expenses. Publication 502 is not written for flexible spending accounts. Please note that
expenses are eligible for reimbursement from the health care flexible spending account
based on the date the medical service is provided, not based on the date you pay for it.
Some examples of eligible expenses for the employee and their dependents include the
non-reimbursed portion of;

« Medical care expenses, such as deductibles and coinsurance;

e Dental care and orthodontia expenses:

e Prescription drug or insulin expenses;

» Treatment and procedures not covered by medical or dental insurance (excluding
cosmetic surgery procedures);

» Vision care expenses, including exams, eyeglasses, and contact lenses;

» Hearing exams, hearing aids, and hearing aid batteries; and

s Other health care expenses permitted by the IRS.

» Over-the-counter medicines used to treat an existing medical condition

Z2-3L
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KANELECT FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PROGRAM

HEALTH CARE FLEXIBLE SPENDING ACCOUNT

Eligible Expenses (continued)

An employee may not use this account to pay health insurance premiums for any individual,
group coverage, or long term care expenses, even though these expenses are considered
tax deductible on their federal income tax return. The same expense cannot be submitted
to both health insurance and a Health Care Account.

The employee will be reimbursed only for expenses with dates of service between
January 1 and December 31 of the Plan Year for which they are enrolled. Expenses that
were incurred in a prior year, although being paid for in the current year, are not eligible for
reimbursement. If an employee enrolls in the Health Care Account after January 1 of a
Plan Year, they will be reimbursed for only those expenses incurred on or after their
effective date of participation in the account. An expense is considered incurred when the
services are provided that give rise to the expense regardless of when the employee is
billed for or pays for the expense.

How Much to Deposit

To participate in the Health Care Flexible Spending Account, an employee must complete
and submit a KanElect Enrollment Form or complete KanElect Enrollment on-line during
Open Enroliment. As of January 1, 2006 (amounts subject to change each Plan Year), the
minimum and maximum pay period/annual amounts are:

Health Care Flexible Spending Account | Minimum Maximum
24 deduction period employees / deduction $8.00/ $145.00/
24 deduction period employees / per year 192.00 | 3,480.00
16 deduction period (at regents) / deduction $12.00/ $217.50/
16 deduction period (at regents) / year 192.00 3,480.00

If an employee and their spouse are both State of Kansas employees and eligible to
participate, each may each deposit the maximum per year in a Health Care Flexible
Spending Account. However, an eligible claim may only be submitted to only one account.

The employee's annual Health Care Flexible Spending Account election will be divided by
24 semi-monthly deduction periods (or 16 for some regents) and deducted from 24
paychecks. New mid-year participants (new hires) will enroll with an annual eiectlon
divided by the number of remaining deduction periods in the calendar year.
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KANELECT FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PROGRAM

HEALTH CARE FLEXIBLE SPENDING ACCOUNT
Grace Period

In May 2005, the IRS modified its rules to permit a “grace period” immediately following
each plan year during which unused benefits remaining may be paid for qualified expenses
incurred during the grace period. The KanElect Health Care Flexible Spending Account
plan has been modified to include a “grace period” through February following the Plan
Year. Therefore, for the Health Care FSA, expenses eligible for reimbursement are those
incurred from January 1, 2005 through February 28, 2006. Claims for the Health Care FSA
must be filed by April 15, 2006. '

Health Care FSA eligible expenses for 2006 are those incurred from January 1, 2006
through February 28, 2007. Claims for the health care FSA in 2006, must be filed by April
15, 2007.

Status Chanqes

According to federal tax regulations, once the Plan year begins an employee’s Health Care
Flexible Spending Account cannot change or stop until the next Open Enroliment period
unless the employee experiences one of the following changes in status:

e The employee’s marriage, divorce or court-approved legal separation;

e The birth or adoption of a dependent;

e« The death of a spouse or dependent;

e The gain or loss of legal custody of a dependent;

e A dependent's eligibility is affected due to reaching age 23 or marriage;

* A change in the employment status of the employee, the employee's spouse or the
employee's dependent such as a change from a benefits eligible position to a benefits
ineligible position, termination or commencement of employment of the employee,
spouse or dependent which affects FSA coverage for the employee, spouse and/or
dependent;

* Anunpaid leave of absence by the employee, spouse or dependent which affects the
FSA coverage of the employee, spouse and/or dependent. If reactivated, the employee
must step back into the same enrollment unless he/she experiences a different status
change event. :

» The employee's leave or return from leave under the FMLA. Upon return from leave,
the employee must step back into the same election unless they experience a different
status change event.

All election changes must be requested within 31 calendar days of the event, must be
consistent with the event, and must include supporting documentation of the event. An
election change satisfies the requirements of the consistency rule only if the election
change is on account of and corresponds with the change in status that affects eligibility for
coverage under an employer’s plan. If an employee does not enroll in the Health Care
Flexible Spending Account during Open Enrollment, or when they first become eligible,
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KANELECT FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PROG_RAM :

HEALTH CARE FLEXIBLE SPENDING ACCOUNT

Status Changes (continued)

they must wait to enroll during the next Open Enroliment period, unless they experience a
qualifying status change event. A mid-year change in the employee’s annual maximum
election applies to expenses incurred after the effective date of that change.

Ending the Account

Health Care Flexible Spending coverage ends at the end of the month in which termination
from State of Kansas employment occurs. If an employee terminates employment with the
State of Kansas or stops making deposits following a change in status, the employee will
face restrictions. The employee will have until April 15 following the end of the Plan Year to
file claims that were incurred-through the end of the month of their termination or status
change. In addition, if the employee terminates employment, they may extend their period
of coverage on the Health Care Flexible Spending Account on an after-tax basis by electing
continuation of coverage under COBRA. Ifthe State of Kansas rehires the employee in the
same calendar year, they may not reenroll until the next Open Enroliment period.

An employee on FMLA leave may continue participation in the health care flexible spending
account by making payments to the account on an after tax basis. Otherwise, they may
reactivate the account upon return from FMLA leave.

Filing for Reimbursement

An employee may file claims for reimbursement from their Health Care Flexible Spending
Account at any time during the year by completing a KanElect Reimbursement Form.
Claim forms, information line instructions, a direct deposit Enroliment Form and e-mail
notification information will be sent to the employee after Open Enroliment or may be
requested from their Agency Human Resources Office during the year. All forms may also
be downloaded from the AS|I website (www.asiflex.com or link through
http://da.state.ks.us/ps/benefits.htm). The employee must mail or fax the completed form
and proof of expense to the address or fax number on the form. Proof of expense includes:

e Awritten statement from an independent third party stating that the medical, dental,
prescription drug or vision expense has been incurred and clearly indicates the
date the service was provided and the amount of the expense (such as a Blue
Cross "Summary of Claims Processed" form); or

« |f the service is not covered by insurance (such as eyeglasses or orthodontia), a
written statement from the provider, such as an original invoice or contract for
orthodontic expenses, indicating the patient's name, date and type of service, and
amount of the expense. The IRS does not allow cancelled checks, statements of
balance due or proof of payment as proof of expense.

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide — Rev. 05/01/06 p( ,5 ‘?

38 /)ﬂ%jf



KANELECT FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PROGRAM

HEALTH CARE FLEXIBLE SPENDING ACCOUNT

Filing for Reimbursement (continued)

For prescription drugs, the proof of expense must also show the name of the drug being
dispensed. Inaddition, the IRS will not allow advance reimbursement of future or projected
-expenses from the Health Care Account (this includes future orthodontia expenses).

Reimbursement Payments

An employee will be reimbursed daily for eligible health care expenses. If the employee is
enrolled in direct deposit and their claim is received by ASI for processing one day, then
reimbursement to their account should be initiated on the next business day. A check or
notice of direct deposit will be mailed to the employee's home address, or if enrolled in e-
mail notification sent via the Internet. To enroll in direct deposit or e-mail notification, the
employee should contact their Agency Human Resources Office or ASI.

¢« An employee may file claims until April 15th of the following year for eligible
expenses” incurred in the current Plan Year. Any money remaining in an
employee's account after April 15" following the end of the Plan Year will be
forfeited.

How to Plan Ahead

An employee should plan ahead for the effect of payroll reductions during participation in
the Health Care Flexible Spending Account. Keep in mind, at the start of each year, there
will be health care expenses as well as payroll deductions for the account.

Benefits of the Health Care Account

A federal and state income tax deduction is available for health care expenses. However it
will be to the employee's advantage to use the Health Care Flexible Spending Account for
predictable medical expenses. Federal tax regulations do not allow the employee to take
the deduction and use the Flexible Spending Account for the same eligible expenses. A
comparison of the Health Care Account and the federal income tax deduction is shown
below:

2_4p
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KANELECT FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PROGRAM =

HEALTH CARE FLEXIBLE SPENDING ACCOUNT

Benefits of the Health Care Account (continued)

Health Care Spending Account

Federal and State Income Tax
Deduction

All expenses reimbursed through the
account are on a pretax basis.
Expenses are exempt from tax. You will
not pay taxes on them at a later date.
There is no Social Security tax on pay
deposited to this account.

Deposits through payroll deduction help
budget for -expected health care
expenses during the year. .

Only expenses that exceed 7.5% of
adjusted gross income are deductible,
and only if deductions are itemized.

Social Security tax is paid on health care

expenses that are not paid through the
KanElect Health Care Spending
Account, even if they can be deducted
on federal and state income tax returns.

Aside from a Health Care Spending

 Account, no other special account helps

to budget for expected health care
expenses or save taxes on these
expenses during the year.
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KANELECT FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PROGRAM

DEPENDENT CARE FLEXIBLE SPENDING ACCOUNT

The Dependent Care Flexible Spending Account can be used to pay for an employee's
eligible work-related dependent care (daycare) expenses.

The employee determines how much they will spend on dependent care during the year.
These expenses must be employment-related, and are the amounts the employee will
spend in order for the employee and/or their spouse to be employed. The employee then
makes an annual election on the KanElect Enroliment Form or on-line during Open
Enrolliment and that amount is deducted from their paycheck on a pretax basis. As the
employee incurs dependent care expenses, they request reimbursement from the FSA
account by filing claims. The employee will receive reimbursement for their eligible
expenses by check or direct deposit. The money that is reimbursed has not been and will
not be taxed.

The employee may not transfer money from one KanElect spending account into the other.
Money from the Dependent Care Account cannot be used to pay for health care expenses,
and money from the Health Care Account cannot be used to pay for dependent care
expenses. Employees should not enroll prior to the birth of a child - in anticipation of
daycare expenses for that child. No eligible daycare expenses can occur prior to the birth.

Who Can Use the Account

An eligible employee may elect to participate in the Dependent Care Account if they are:
¢ Single;
» Married, and the dependent care expenses are necessary for both parents to work;
or, '
» Married and the employee's spouse is either incapable of self-care, actively seeking
employment, or is a full-time student at least 5 months during the year.

Eligible Expenses

According to IRS regulations, eligible expenses for reimbursement are those expenses that
are for the care and well being of the employee's dependent child. The child must be under
the age of 13 or the care must be for a disabled dependent of any age (such as a parent)
that is incapable of self-care and spends at least 8 hours per day in the employee's home.
Camps in lieu of dependent care must be primarily for care of the dependent. Expenses for
education, sports camps and overnight camps are not eligible except in extremely rare
circumstances. Food and transportation expenses, when billed separately, are not eligible.
(Please refer to the current IRS Publication 503 for further information on qualifying
expenses. Publication 503 is not written for flexible spending accounts. Please note that
expenses are eligible for reimbursement from the dependent care flexible spending account
based on the date the dependent care is provided, not based on the date you pay for it.).
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KANELECT FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PROGRAM -

DEPENDENT CARE FLEXIBLE SPENDING ACCOUNT

Eligible Expenses {continued)

Eligible expenses include charges for:

e A licensed, certified or registered daycare facility or nursery school;
¢ An individual in the employee's home (other than their spouse, the employee's
dependent child under age 19, or a housekeeper); or,
¢ An individual in their home (assuming all State requirements have been met).
This account may not be used to pay for a dependent's health care expenses if the
employee is divorced they must have more than 50% physical custody to use this account.

Employees will be reimbursed only for daycare provided between January 1 and December
31 of the Plan Year for which they are enrolled. Expenses that were incurred in a prior
year, although being paid for in the current Plan Year, are not eligible for reimbursement. If
an employee enrolls in the Dependent Care Account after January 1 of a Plan Year, they
will be reimbursed for only those expenses incurred on or after their effective date of
participation in the account.

How Much to Deposit

To participate in the Dependent Care Flexible Spending Account, the employee must
complete a KanElect Enrollment Form or enroll on-line during Open Enrollment. The
minimum and maximum (subject to change each Plan Year) pay period/annual amounts
are:

Dependent Care Flexible Spending Account | Minimum | Maximum

24 deduction period employees / deduction $16.00/ | $208.33*
24 deduction period employees / per year = | 384.00 [ 5,000.00*
16 deduction period (at regents) / deduction $24.00/ | $312.50%/
16 deduction period (at regents) / year 384.00 5,000.00*

*Subjéct to tax filing status

- If the employee.is: B =3 : THey__may deposit up to:
Single ‘ $5,000 per year
Married, filing joint $5,000 per year
Married, filing separately $2,500 per year
Married, with a spouse who is disabled or a full-time student $3,000 per year for 1 dependent or up to $5,000 per
year for 2 or more dependents.
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DEPENDENT CARE FLEXIBLE SPENDING ACCOUNT

How Much to Deposit (continued)

If the employee or their spouse earns less than the amounts shown, the maximum amount
the employee may elect is the lesser of the employee’s or spouse’s income if the employee
and their spouse are both State of Kansas employees and are eligible for the Dependent
Care Flexible Spending Account, they may

deposit no more than the defined maximum deduction per year between their two
accounts combined, subject to the income limitations already stated.

The employee's annual Dependent Care Flexible Spending Account election will be divided
by 24 deduction periods (or 16 for some regents) and deducted from each semi-monthly
paycheck (There is no deduction take on the third check of a month). New mid-year
participants (new hires) will enroll with an annual election divided by the number of
remaining deduction periods in the calendar year.

Grace Period
There is no grace period for the Dependent Care FSA. Eligible expenses for
reimbursement are those incurred from January 1, 2006 through December 31, 2006.

Claims for 2006 dependent care expenses must be filed by April 15, 2007.

Status Changes

According to federal tax regulations, once an employee is participating in the Dependent
Care Flexible Spending Account, they cannot change the amount of money they put in their
account or stop contributions until the next Open Enroliment period unless the employee
experience one of the following changes in status:

* The employee's marriage, divorce or court-approved legal separation;

¢« The birth or adoption of a dependent;

» The death of a spouse or dependent; :

* A change in the employment status of the employee, the employee’s spouse or the
employee's dependent such as a change from a benefits eligible position to a benefits
ineligible position, termination or commencement of employment of the employee,
spouse or.dependent which affects FSA coverage for the employee, spouse and/or
dependents: '

¢ Anunpaid leave of absence by the employee, spouse or dependent which affects the
FSA coverage of the employee, spouse and/or dependent. If reactivated, the employee
may step back into the same enrollment unless he/she experiences a status change
event;

e The employee’s leave or return from leave under the FMLA. Upon return from leave,
the employee may step back into the same election unless he/she experiences a status
change event;

2.4
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KANELECT FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PROGRAM

DEPENDENT CARE FLEXIBLE SPENDING ACCOUNT

Status changes (continued)

¢ A qualified dependent reaches the age of 13;

« Achange in the employee's dependent carg provider (including kindergarten)

e A significant increase or decrease in the current dependent care provider's rate
(excludes relatives).

All changes must be requested within 31 calendar days of the event, must be consistent
with the event, and must also include supporting documentation of the event. An election
change satisfies the requirements of the consistency rule only if the election change is on
account of and corresponds with a change in status that affects eligibility for coverage
under an employer's plan. If an employee does not enroll in the Dependent Care Flexible
Spending Account during Open Enroliment, or when they first become eligible, they must
wait until the next Open Enrollment period to enroll, unless they experience a change in
status.

Ending the Account

If an employee terminates employment with the State of Kansas or stops making deposits
due to a change in status, they have until April 15th in the year following the end of the Plan
Year to file claims which were incurred up to the end of the Plan Year. If the State of
Kansas rehires the employee in the same calendar year, the employee may not reenroll
until the next Open Enroliment period.

If the employee returns from a leave without pay, they may reenroll in the Dependent Care
Flexible Spending Account.

Filing for Reimbursement

The employee may file claims on their Dependent Care Flexible Spending Account at any
time during the by completing a KanElect Reimbursement Form. Claim forms, information
line instructions, a direct deposit Enroliment Form and e-mail notification information will be
sent to the employee after Open Enrollment or may be requested from their Agency Human
Resources Office during the year. All forms may also be downloaded from the ASI website
(www.asiflex.com). The employee must mail or fax the completed form and proof of
expense to the address or fax number on the form. Proof of expense includes:

« A receipt from the provider detailing the dates that dependent care services were
provided and amount of the expense; and

« The Dependent Care provider's name, address, and Tax Identification Number or
Social Security Number.

The IRS does not allow cancelled checks as proof of expense or payment.
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KANELECT FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PROGRAM

DEPENDENT CARE FLEXIBLE SPENDING ACCOUNT

Reimbursement Payments

The employee will be reimbursed for eligible dependent care expenses up to the balance
currently on deposit in the employee's account. The IRS will not allow advance
reimbursement of future or projected expenses from the Dependent Care Flexible Spending
Account. Claims are processed within 24 hours following receipt. A check or notice of
direct deposit will be mailed to the employee's home address, or the employee has the
option of receiving an e-mail notice if direct deposit is activated.

An employee may file claims until April 15" of the following year for eligible expenses
incurred in the current Plan Year. Any money remaining in an employee's account after
April 15" following the end of the Plan Year will be forfeited.

How to Plan Ahead

The first payroll deduction for Dependent Care Flexible Spending Accounts will be taken
from the first paycheck of the Plan Year. An employee should plan ahead for the effect of
payroll reductions during their participation in the Dependent Care Account. At first, the
employee will need to have a cushion of enough money to pay their expenses after payroll
reductions to the account. The Dependent Care Account deductions come out of the
employee’'s pay. The employee pays expenses directly to their provider. Then the
employee submits a claim for reimbursement of expenses and is reimbursed from ASI.
Remember that no claim will be paid before the first paycheck of the Plan Year - when the
account is funded.

Benefits of the Dependent Care Account

Current tax laws offer both a federal and state income tax credit for eligible dependent care
expenses paid on an after-tax basis. The tax credit is a percentage of the employee's
annual dependent care expenses based on the employee's family's adjusted gross income.
The maximum amount of expenses eligible for the tax credit is $3,000 for one dependent
and $6,000 for two or more dependents. Any expense reimbursed through the Dependent
Care Account reduces the amount of expenses eligible for the income tax credit.

Generally, the Dependent Care Account offers greater tax savings if the employee is:
» Single and has an adjusted gross income over $30,000; or,
» Married, filing jointly and their family's adjusted gross income over $31,000.

The above information is based on approximate calculations. It does not take into
consideration any individual tax circumstances. Because this issue is complex, the
employee may want to consult a tax advisor to find out whether the Dependent Care
Flexible Spending Account or the income tax credit is better for their situation.

2.9
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i KANELECT FLEXIBLE BENEFITS EROGRA_M

WORKSHEET - FLEXIBLE MEDICAL BENEFITS

Use this sheet to estimate your out-of-pocket expenses for the new year. Consider any
known factors that could impact these amounts. Remember you cannot change, increase
or decrease your KanElect contribution during the Plan Year, unless your status changes.
When increasing the annual election for Flexible Medical Benefits, you may only include
expenses that are incurred after the effective date of the change of election.

HEALTH CARE EXPENSE REIMBURSEMENT ACCOUNT

Annual estimated expenses for medical services rendered in the upcoming Plan Year.
Only use expenses not reimbursed by your medical, dental, and/or vision plans:

» Medical expenses, such as:
» Deductibles and coinsurance
+ Routine physical exams
o Well baby care *
e Prescriptions (Insulin, Birth Control, etc.)
e Hearing aids or exams
o Other eligible expenses™
« Dental expenses, such as:
» Deductibles and coinsurance
« Routine check-ups ;
« Orthodontic (braces, etc.) -- paid only on a services
rendered or monthly payment basis
» Vision care expenses, such as:
e Exams
e Eyeglasses or contacts
¢ OTC Medicine and drugs (used to treat an existing medical
condition) $

& & 7 A H

© 67 &7

1 7

Total Annual Estimated Flexible Health Care Expenses $

*Eligible expenses include most expenses considered deductible by the IRS for federal income tax
purposes. See Eligible Expenses on page 4. '

DEPENDENT CARE ASSISTANCE

Qualifying expenses are those incurred for the care and well being of your dependent
(under 13) in order for you to be gainfully employed.

CHILD/DEPENDENT CARE REIMBURSEMENT ACCOUNT

« Annual payment to a child/dependent care facility or individual $
» Annual payment to other qualifying care providers - 3
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GROUP LIFE'AN_D DISABILITY INSURANCE

Group life insurance, long term disability insurance, optional group life insurance, death
benefits and accidental death benefits are provided for benefits eligible state employees
and are administered through KPERS (Kansas Public Employees Retirement System). The
employee names a primary beneficiary(ies) and may name a contingent beneficiary(ies).

Group Life Insurance

All benefits eligible state employees have group life insurance coverage. The employer
pays the entire cost of the coverage. The group life insurance coverage provides an
insured death benefit, which is currently 150% of the employee's annual rate of
compensation.

Upon termination of employment or retirement, an employee may convert the life insurance
to an individual policy. A completed conversion form and the first month’'s premium
payment must be made within 31 days of termination or retirement, whichever occurs first.
This individual policy is sold by Minnesota Life Insurance and is not available at group
rates. While the cost of this insurance is competitive with other carriers, the primary
advantage is that issuance of the policy does not require proof of good health by the former
employee. The employee should contact their designated agent to receive information on
converting group life insurance.

Long Term Disability Insurance

All benefits-eligible State of Kansas employees have long-term disability insurance
coverage. The employer pays thé entire cost of the coverage.

As of January 1, 2006, disability income benefits provide a monthly benefit based on 60%
of the employee's annual rate of compensation. To qualify for a disability benefit, an
employee must be totally disabled for 180 continuous days. Disability income benefits are
subject to reduction for benefits received from primary social security, worker's
compensation, or any other employer-provided disability benefit.

As of July 1, 1998, the long-term disability benefit is offset 100% for Workers
Compensation. All members applying for KPERS disability are required to apply for
Social Security benefits. If denied such benefits, the member must pursue and exhaust all
administrative remedies of the Social Security Administration including reconsideration and
hearings. During the time in which the member is pursuing Social Security benefits, any
future Social Security benefits may be estimated and deducted from the KPERS disability
benefits.

In no event will the disability income benefit be less than $100.00 per month. No benefits
are payable as long as the member is receiving compensation from the employer.
Withdrawal of contributions from KPERS forfeits entitlement to disability benefits under this
program.
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©  GROUP LIFE AND DISABILITY INSURANCE

Long -Term Disability Insurance (continued)

Qualifying members at the time of disability will receive benefits until the earlier of:
» Recovery from the disability;

» Retirement;

e Attainment of age 65 if disablement occurred prior to age 60;

e End of a five-year period, if disablement occurred on or after age 60;

Employees who qualify for disability income benefits receive continued group life insurance
coverage, and participating service credit for the period of disability. A Member with
optional group life insurance may continue to participate at group rates by paying premiums
directly to Minnesota Mutual. This benefit is available as long as the member receives
disability benefits or until age 65, whichever occurs first. Conversion benefits are then
available. Ifthe employee was disabled at least five years prior to death or retirement, the
employee's annual rate of compensation for life insurance coverage or final average salary
used for calculation of retirement benefits will be adjusted based on current adjustment
factors in effect during the period of disability.

Members age 65 and over ‘at time of disability must convert their optlonal group life
insurance in order to keep the coverage.

Faculty and unclassified academic and professional staff at the Regents institutions and
Board Office have an additional Board of Regents long-term disability benefit. The
retirement plan contribution, both employee and employer's, will be paid by the agency for
the first five years of approved long-term disability. Thereafter, an after-tax benefit will be
paid directly to eligible employees for the duration of the approved long-term disability

status.

Death Benefits

If an employee dies as the result of an accident arising out of the performance of their
duties, accidental death benefits are payable to the employee's spouse, to children under
age 18 or up to age 23 if full-time students, or to dependent parents, in that order. Benefits
are a $50,000 lump sum payment and a monthly amount based on 50% of the employee's
final average salary subject to reduction for any benefits received under worker's
compensation. The minimum benefit is $100 per month. Benefits are in addition to the
insured death benefit and the return of contributions plus interest.

If death occurs before retirement, the employee’s contributions plus interest are returned to
the employee's beneficiary. If, however, at the time of death the employee met the age and
service requirements to retire and the spouse is the only named beneficiary, the spouse
may elect monthly benefits under any option in lieu of the contributions in a lump sum. If, at
the time of death, the employee met requirements for retirement or had at least 10 years of
credited service but had not yet reached retirement age, the surviving spouse could leave
the employee's accumulated contributions on deposit with the Retirement System. Then
they can elect to receive monthly benefits under one of the available options at the earliest
date the member would have become eligible for retirement.
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GROUP LIFE AND DISABILITY INSURANCE

OPTIONAL GROUP LIFE INSURANCE

All benefits eligible employees may elect to purchase optional group life insurance
coverage through additional payroll deductions. Employees must apply within 30 days
. following their first active workday. If the application is not completed and postmarked
within 30 days, the application will be rejected. Other employees may increase their
optional coverage with proof of insurability or when a life status change occurs (marriage,
divorce, birth or adoption of child).

Initial Enrollment Period

The initial enrollment period for Optional Group Life Insurance is limited. To enroll,
employees must submit a completed Enroliment Form to Minnesota Mutual, postmarked
within 30 days of their first active workday in an eligible position. If the application is not
submitted to Minnesota Mutual, and postmarked within the designated time frames, the
employee will be allowed to enroll with eligibility of insurability. Coverage amounts are
subject to underwriting guidelines. Effective date of coverage is dependent upon enroliment
approval. Optional insurance may also be increased at times of life changes (marriage,
birth of child, adoption, etc.) Call Minnesota Mutual at (785) 354-0783 or toll-free at 1 (877)
215-1476 for more details.

Coverage Amounts

Coverage levels range from $5,000 to $250,000 on the employee only. The insurance
carrier must underwrite coverage levels over $50,000. Monthly rates are subject to change
and are based on the age of the employee and the amount of coverage selected.

Conversion Option

Upon termination of employment or retirement, an employee may convert the life insurance
to an individual policy. The completed conversion form and first premium payment must be
made within 31 days of termination or retirement, whichever occurs first. This individual
policy is sold by Minnesota Mutual companies and is not available at group rates. While
the cost of this insurance is competitive with other carriers, the primary advantage is that
issuance of the policy does not require proof of good health of the former employee. The
employee should contact their designated agent to receive information on converting group
life insurance.

For more information, contact KPERS (Toll-Free) at 1-888-275-5737 outside Topeka
or 296-6166 in Topeka.

2. 5o
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~ KPERS RETIREMENT

The Kansas Public Employees Retirement System (KPERS) was established in 1961 for
State of Kansas public employees to provide a defined benefit pension plan. KPERS
membership is mandatory for all employees in eligible positions regardless of age.

Contributions

Following one year of service, employees become members and begin contributing to
KPERS (school employees and Kansas' Police and Fire members become immediate
members). Employee contributions are set by statute (currently four percent of gross
compensation) and are excluded from gross income for federal income tax purposes.
Employee contributions are taxable for state income tax purposes and should be reported
on the employee’s state tax return.

Employer contributions may fluctuate depending on the funding needs of KPERS. The
employer contributions remain with KPERS at the time an employee terminates and

withdraws.

Retirement Guidelines -

Normal retirement for KPERS members is at age 62 with at least two quarters of service
requirement. Members under age 65 may retire without reduction in benefits in the
following situations:

s Age 62 with 10 years of service
e Age 65 with 1 year of service
« Any age when attained age plus years of service equal 85

Members may retire with reduced benefits as early as age 55 if they have atleastten years
of service. A reduction factor of 0.2% for each month between age 60 and 62 and 0.6% for
each month between ages 55 and 60 will apply. For certain classes of employees, the

following rules apply:

o KPERS School and Non School - retirement benefit is calculated by multiplying the
Final Average Salary times percentage multiplier times years of service credit.

» Corrections Officers - Normal retirement age is either 55 or 60 depending on
employment group, or any age with 85 “points”. Benefits and calculations are the same

as for all other KPERS employees.

o Kansas Police and Fire - Normal retirement age is 50, 55 or 60 depending on length of
service and member type. Retirement benefit is final average salary x 2.5% x years of
service. The maximum benefit cannot exceed 80% of final average salary.

| Y
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- KPERS RETIREMENT

Retirement Guidelines (continued)

* Judges - Normal retirement age is the same as for all other KPERS members.
Retirement benefits for those who become judges after July 1, 1987 is final average
salary x years of service x 3.5%. The maximum benefitis 70% of final average salary.
The benefit formula for those who become judges before July 1, 1987 is 5% for each of
the first 10 years plus 3.5% for each additional year to a maximum of 70% of final
average salary.

Death Benefits

When an employee retires, KPERS provides the retiree a death benefit of $4,000 which in
the event of the death of the retiree, is payable to the retiree's named beneficiary.

Additional Information

Employees should contact KPERS online at http://www.kpers.org or by telephone at 1-888-
275-5737 (outside Topeka) or 296-6166 (in Topeka) for detailed information about benefit
calculations, partial lump sum option, estimate tools, terminations, annual statements and
other KPERS matters.

KANSAS BOARD OF REGENTS UNCLASSIFIED RETIREMENT PLAN

The Kansas Board of Regents Mandatory Retirement Plan is a defined contribution
retirement plan for Kansas Board of Regents faculty and unclassified academic and
professional staff. All eligible faculty and staff shall participate in the plan after completing
one year of service. Eligible faculty and staff may, under certain circumstances, be
qualified to enroll immediately upon employment. The major features of this plan are:

« Employee contributions are currently 5 1/2 percent of gross compensation and are tax
deferred.

« Employer contributions are currently 8 1/2 percent of gross compensation.

« Vesting is immediate. The current value of the combined employee and employer
contributions is payable to beneficiaries if the employee dies before retirement.

e The employee may select from one of four approved companies for the management
of their retirement plan contributions.

Retirement under this program shall not occur before the fifty-fifth birthday; provided,
however, that individuals who seek to retire from age 55 to 59 must have ten years of
service in a benefits-eligible position at a Regents institution or with the Board of Regents
Office.

For more information, faculty and staff should contact their University Human Resources
Office.
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- KPERSRETIREMENT

KANSAS BOARD OF REGENTS TAX-SHELTERED ANNUITY PROGRAM

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) allows all benefits-eligible faculty and staff of
educational institutions to participate in 403(b) tax sheltered annuity programs. For more
information, faculty and staff should contact their University Human Resources Office.
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DEFERRED COMPENSATION

Deferred Compensation plans are authorized under Section 457 of the Internal Revenue
Code. The State of Kansas offers this defined contribution plan to its employees as a
supplement to their regular retirement income from the state. Deferred compensation
defers income taxes on contributions to and investment earnings of the Plan. This is how it
works:

» The employee decides how much money to defer.

» The employee decides which investment options in which to participate.

e The State reduces the employee's paycheck before withholding federal and state
taxes.

The following example shows the benefit of part|C|patmg in a deferred compensation plan
when contributing $75.00 per bi-weekly pay period’:

After Tax Savings Plan Deferred Compensation Plan

Bi-weekly contribution $75.00 $75.00
Less Income Tax 18.75 | 0

Net biweekly contribution 56.25 75.00
Net Yearly contribution $1,462. 50 - $1,950.00
Value After Ten Years $19,113.08 $27,910.70
Value After Twenty Years $50,995.54 $82,815.26
Value After Thirty Years $104,178.53 $190,802.86

How Much to Defer

For 2006, the employee may defer a minimum of $11.54 per biweekly pay period or a
maximum of the lesser of 100% of includable income up to $15,000. During the last three
years prior to the employee’s normal retirement date, they may be eligible to defer up to
$30,000 per year. Employees 50 or over are eligible to defer an additional $5,000 above
the $15,000 maximum. This amount willincrease in increments of $500 starting January 1,
2007.

The employee may increase (to the legal maximum), reduce or restart deferral once every
90 days. Deferrals may be stopped prior to the beginning of any pay perlod however there
is a 90 day waiting period to restart the deferral.

Forcomplete information regarding deferrals, See “How Much Can | contribute?” at
http://ingretirementplans.com/custom.ks.

1 This is an example only. It assumes a 7.0% rate of return and an income tax rate of 25%. It does not take into
consideration such things as market fluctuations, investment fees, etc.
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~ DEFERRED COMPENSATION Continued

Investment Options

The employee may choose any one or a combination of multiple investment options
including self directed brokerage accounts. A combination of options offers both fixed rate
of returns and opportunities for inflation hedge, preservation of capital and potential for

growth.

The employee selects the investment options that will determine their ultimate retirement
benefits. This flexibility gives the employee an added opportunity for complete retirement

planning.

The employee may change investment selection for both accumulated funds and current
contributions at their discretion provided they do not exceed ING's trading policy.

All amounts of compensation deferred under this plan are held in trust for the exclusive
benefit of Participants’ and their Beneficiaries. Lf such amounts are not subject to the
claims or the State's general creditors.

Distributions

Distributions are allowed only upon severance from employment, death, or the
occurrence of an unforeseeable emergency. The Plan also includes a provision allowing
the in-service distribution of accounts that do not exceed $5,000 if:

1) The employees has not made any contributions to the Plan during the prior two
years; and

2) The employee has not received this type of in-service distribution in the past.

Payment Options

All of the payments received from the Plan are subject to federal and state income
taxes. There are no surrender charges or IRS penalty.

Termination of Employment —/f an employee stops working for the State, the value of
the deferred compensation account may be paid to them as a lump sum, or the funds
may be rolled over into an IRA, 403(b), 401(a) or another 457 plan when they leave or

at any time in the future.

Retirement — The Plan provides several payout options including lump sum, annuity
payouts, systematic withdrawal, estate conservation, deferral until a later date or a
combination of these options.

Death Benefits — Benefits are payable to the participant beneficiary(ies) or your estate if
no beneficiaries are named.

Loans - Your retirement plan is designed for long-term investing. The tax deferred
treatment on your contributions and their potential earnings are considered
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DEFERRED COMPENSATION Continued

incentives to encourage investment in these plans. If you are in need of immediate
resources, an installment loan may be for you, but make sure you consider your other
options prior to requesting a loan. You may be eligible to borrow a minimum of $1,000
up to 50% of your account balance not to exceed $50,000. For more information
contact the ING Service Center in Topeka.

Unforeseeable Emergency Withdrawals — The Internal Revenue Service allows the
Deferred Compensation Plan to provide distribution from the account as a result of an
illness or accident, the loss of property due to casualty or other similar extraordinary and
unfoseseeable circumstances beyond your control, to the extent the hardship cannot be
relieved through reimbursement or compensation by insurance or otherwise, by
liguidating assets, by borrowing that would not cause a severe financial hardship.

Considering This Plan

The employee should consider this plan if they have sufficient emergency funds and are:
e Currently investing money on an after-tax basis;

e Paying substantial amounts of federal incomes taxes;
e In a dual-income family; or

« Single with no dependents.

The employee should not defer compensation if they can not afford to reduce their current
income or if they do not have a savings account to cover emergencies.

For additional information contact the Deferred Compensation Plan Office at 1-800-
232-0024 outside Topeka or 296-7095 in Topeka.

Website Address: www.ingretirementplans.com/custom.ks
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HEALTHQUEST -~

HealthQuest Mission

To partner with employees to improve their health and
well-being and to reduce health care costs.

HealthQuest, the State of Kansas health promotion program, is designed to enhance the
health and wellness of employees and assist in the containment of health care costs. The
Kansas State Employees Health Care Commission and Kansas Health Policy Authority
jointly administer this program. Current programs and services are for State of Kansas
employees and Non-State Public Employer groups.

Visit the HealthQuest web page for additional information about health and safety programs
available to employees: http://da.state ks.us/ps/subject/healthquest.htm

Disease Management Programs

HealthQuest is partnering with Caremark, the State's Pharmacy Benefit Manager, to provide
disease management programs. These programs focus on identified areas of the Health Plan
and integrate pharmacy benefits, clinical services and patient support services into programs
designed to help people achieve optimal health.

Caremark administers a series of disease management programs. The goal of these
programs is to assist people in maintaining or enhancing their health through self-care
management and effective communication with their physician. Many of the patient
interventions used in the Building Better Health series include the use of condition or disease
specific educational booklets, seasonal health reminder messages, medication cards, resource
lists, telephonic outreach and other educational messaging. Some important facts to remember

are.

e The programs are totally voluntary.

« The programs are completely confidential. No participant's personal medical information
is shared with any State of Kansas agency.

« The programs are free to eligible members.

« The programs are a great way to become a more knowledgeable consumer of health
services.
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~ HEALTHQUEST continued

Caremark gears their interventions towards physicians and patients in an effort to reinforce
standards of physician practice, improve preventive care, increase communication between the

patient and healthcare team and foster patient self-management skills. The following are

descriptions of the disease management programs.

Cardiovascular Risk Reduction

According to the Centers for Disease Control, over 60 million Americans have some form of
cardiovascular disease (CVD). Moreover, CVD is the nation's number one killer for men
and women among all racial and ethnic groups. In 2000, CVD cost the nation $215 billion in
direct and indirect health care expenditures. Despite understanding the role of cholesterol

management, only one fourth of patients recommended for cholesterol therapy are being .

treated, more than half discontinue use by the end of year one and many are not treated to
target levels.

Depression Management

Depression is a serious and common iliness that can be effectively treated. According to
the National Institute of Mental Health, almost 19 million Americans suffer from a
depression disorder each year. Depression can affect anyone, although the risk is often
greatest in people with chronic conditions.

To sum it up, these Disease Management programs are intended to help participants with
chronic disease manage their care and improve their quality of life. More information about
these and other health concerns are available to plan participants through the Building Better
Health website. The identified programs will offer participants with chronic conditions an
opportunity to take the next step in managing their care.

Educational Services

The bi-monthly HealthQuest eNewsletter provides a wealth of health information
covering nutrition, exercise, stress management, and self-care and much more.
Current  and past issues of  the newsletter  are online  at:
http://da.state.ks.us/ps/subject/healthquest/newsletters.htm

Agencies can request health promotion presentations on a variety of topics including
stress management, self-care, exercise, healthy eating, and healthy aging.
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HEALTHQUEST continued

HealthQuest Wellness (Winterfit, Springfit, Summerfit, Fallfit) is an online wellness
program to help employees stay healthy and active year round. Employees can sign up to
receive tips and strategies to support year-round wellness. Currently 4,200 employees
subscribe. For more information and +to subscribe, visit this website:
http://da.state.ks.us/ps/subject/winterfit/2004/welcome.htm

LIFELINE

LIFELINE, the State of Kansas employee assistance program, provides free, confidential
help to any employee or immediate family member experiencing personal problems. In-
person or telephone counseling is available for many problems including the following:

o Stress

e Depression

e Marital or family problems

e Child care and elder care issues
e Financial problems

e« Legal Issues

e Drug or alcohol issues.

LIFELINE benefits have been expanded to include 1-4 office visits for each mental health
issue. When an employee, immediate family member, or a co-worker are troubled by life
stresses and events, they can call 1-800-284-7575 for free counseling and referral
services. The calls and visits are completely confidential. They can call any time, any day.

Special Services for Employees

Legal Advice: The employee can receive legal consultation with an attorney. The
employee will receive a 25% discount if they retain the attorney for resolution of their

issue.

« Financial Advice: A wide variety of financial services are available when the
employee calls.

« Dependent Care Consultation and Referral: If the employee is concerned about
appropriate care for an aging parent (e.g., Alzheimer's, special health issues,
nursing homes), they can talk with a Certified Geriatric Care Manager for
consultation and referral services.

« Day Care Referrals: Call LIFELINE for consultation and referral services.

« Extended Benefit for employees and immediate family members for 6 months after
any layoff action.

e« Monthly Messages — e-newsletter with tips on staying mentally healthy
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- HEALTHQUEST continued

» Healthy Weight Program (5-week teleclass series)
more info and sign up>> http://www.lifelineeap.com

* Life Coaching on a variety of topics (stress management, self-confidence and
self-esteem, building sound relationships; strengthening your career)
more info and sign up>> http://www.lifelineeap.com

Special Services for Agencies

Human Resource Managers can contact HealthQuest for information about the following
offerings:

= Critical Incident/Grief Counseling Sessions - LIFELINE provides critical incident
and grief counseling and resource materials for employee groups experiencing
trauma or major loss.

« Supervisory Training - "How to Use LIFELINE as a Supervisory Tool" is a seminar
designed for supervisors and is offered annually or by special request.

« Fitness-For-Duty program to help agencies recognize behaviors in employees that
signal potentially dangerous situations, and offer the resources and ability to react
in a swift but fair manner. Additional information about the Fitness for Duty agency
offering: http://da.state. ks.us/ps/subject/healthquest/fitnessduty.htm

LIFELINE can be accessed 24-hours a day by calling 1-800-284-7575. For more
specifics about the program, go to the HealthQuest web page:
http://da.state.ks.us/ps/subject/healthquest/lifeline.htm

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide ~ Rev. 05/01/06 o i o

59 fd?& é}()



SAVINGS BONDS

The State's current payroll system allows employees to purchase $100, $200, $500,
$1,000, $5,000 and $10,000 U.S. savings bonds to earmark minimum deductions as low as
$5 per pay period. The purchase price of the bond is half of the face value. Bonds are
issued and begin to earn interest after the full purchase price has been accumulated
through payroll deductions.

The interest on savings bonds is exempt from state and local income taxes, and federal tax
is deferred until the bonds are redeemed or until maturity. The investment accumulates
steadily to provide a savings reserve for an employee’s future needs.

Bonds purchased prior to May 1, 1997, but after May 1, 1995 earn market based rates from
the date of purchase. Bonds purchased prior to May 1, 1995 but after March 1, 1993 and
held for six months up to five years from issue earn four-percent interest. Bonds held for
five to eighteen years from issue earn an average market-based rate or four percent,
whichever is higher. Bonds can continue to earn interest for 30 years.

On April 30, 1997, the Secretary of the Treasury announced three important changes in the
U.S. Savings Bond Program that affect Series EE bonds purchased on or after May 1,
1997. These changes are summarized below:

« Series EE bonds issued on or after May 1, 1997 will earn interest from the date of

issue at rates equivalent to 90 percent of 5-year Treasury security yields. The new
rates will continue to be announced on May 1 and November 1 of each year.

« Series EE bonds will now increase in value monthly, rather than every six months.
» A 3-month loss of interest will apply to bonds redeemed less than five years from date
of issue. This feature is designed to encourage owners to hold their bonds for the
longer term. It will not affect bonds held for five or more years.
The new terms will not apply to bonds with issue dates before May 1, 1997.
Employees may purchase multiple denominations, designate different owners/co-owners
and beneficiaries for each bond and specify designated amounts or percentages for each

account.

For more information concerning Savings Bonds, the employee should contact their
Agency Human Resources Office or refer to the website listed below:

http://savingsbonds.gov/
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. LEARNING QUEST

The Kansas Learning Quest Education Savings Program is an optional benefit that
provides State of Kansas employees a way to save for higher education. Learning Quest,
an Internal Revenue Code (IRS) Section 529 college savings plan, is administered by the
Kansas State Treasurer and managed by American Century Investments.

Account Information

« Anaccount may be opened for any beneficiary—child, grandchild, a friend, even the
employee. _

¢ Account owners maintain control over their accounts and can change the beneficiary
at any time.

« Accounts can be used for an education at any accredited or approved post-
secondary school in the United States.

Tax Information

e Kansas taxpayers receive a deduction of up to $3,000 ($6,000 married, filing jointly)
from their Kansas adjusted gross income per student, per year matching the amount
contributed.

» Contributions are made with after tax dollars, and grow tax deferred.

o Qualified withdrawals are free from federal and state tax.

Investment Information

e The minimum investment to open an account is $25 with a monthly investment
($11.54 a paycheck) or a lump sum investment of at least $500.

» At the time an account is opened, the account owner selects a Learning Quest
portfolio based on risk (conservative, moderate, or aggressive) and length of time
until the money is needed.

e The account owner may switch their portfolio once a year without changing the
beneficiary.

Withdrawal Information

o Qualified Withdrawals

o The account must be open for 12 months to make a qualified withdrawal.
o Student must attend an accredited U.S. institution:

» Public or private college or university

=  Community college

= Vocational or technical school eligible for federal financial aid
o Education expenses covered:

= Tuition and books

= Fees

= Required supplies and equipment

» Room and board
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S e TEARNING QUEST:

Withdrawal Information (cont.)

e Penalty Free Withdrawals
o Available if student receives a scholarship (equal to the value of the

scholarship) or in the case of the death or disability of the student.

o Non Qualified Withdrawals
o May be made at anytime, for any reason.
o Penalty on the earnings portion of the withdrawal.

For More Information

To receive more information on the Kansas Learning Quest Education Savings Program
call 1-800-579-2203, or visit www.learningguestsavings.com and request an enrollment kit.

Accounts established under Learning Quest and their earnings are neither insured nor
guaranteed by the State of Kansas, the Kansas State Treasurer or American Century.

Al 3
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LEAVE PLANS

The benefits described in the Leave Plans Section of this document are applicable to
eligible classified employees and unclassified employees who follow Executive
Order 04-13.

For leave information for the Legislative or Judicial Branches of Government, the
employee should contact their Agency Human Resources Office. Judicial Branch
employees may also refer to the Kansas Court Personnel System Rules.

VACATION LEAVE

Employees who are eligible for vacation leave will begin accruing vacation time the first day
of employment. '

Employees accumulate vacation credit based on length of service. Vacation leave accrual
by an eligible employee during a pay period will be credited to the employee on the first day
- of the following pay period. Eligible non-exempt employees who are in pay status than 80
hours in a biweekly payroll period will accrue leave based on a prorated schedule.

The maximum vacation accrual earned each payroll period and the maximum vacation
leave balance that may be accumulated are as follows:

Length of Service Maximum Biweekly Maximum
Vacation Accrual Accumulation
Per Payroll Period

Less than 5 years 3.7 hours | 144 hours

5 years and less 4.7 hours 176 hours
than 10 years

10 years and less 5.6 hours 208 hours
than 15 years

15 years and over 6.5 hours 240 hours

At the end of the last payroll period paid in each fiscal year, up to 40 hours of any accrued
vacation leave that exceeds an employee’s maximum accumulation of hours shall be
converted to sick leave.. After this conversion, all remaining vacation leave over the
maximum accumulation of hours shall be forfeited at the end of the last payroll period paid
in that fiscal year.
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LEAVE PLANS _

Vacation Leave (cont.)

Eligible employees are not charged vacation time for official holidays occurring during an
employee’s scheduled vacation. Both the employee and the supervisor must agree upon
specific dates and times of vacation leave. Employees who separate from State service
are paid for accumulated vacation leave (up to the maximum accumulation) and
compensatory time credits when they are issued their last paycheck.

When an employee changes agencies or transfers to a leave eligible position, the
employee's vacation leave will transfer to the new agency. The employee's new agency
may require six months of service before a transferring employee may use vacation leave.

The employee should centact their Agency Human Resources Office or refer to
Kansas Administrative Regulation 1-9-4 (Vacation Leave) for more detailed
information. To view the regulation, see the following web page.

http://da.state.ks.us/ps/documents/regs/art-9.htm#1-9-4
VACATION LEAVE — REGENTS

Unclassified academic and professional staff at the Regents institutions and Board
Office who are appointed to full-time 12-month positions shall earn annual leave not to
exceed 176 hours per fiscal year. Persons appointed to a less than full-time 12-month
position shall earn annual leave on a pro-rated basis. The maximum accumulation at
any time during the year is 304 hours.

Unclassified academic and professional staff at the Regents institutions or Board Office
who separate from service are paid for up to 176 hours of accumulated vacation leave.

If the separation from service is because of retirement eligibility, those employees are
paid for up to 240 hours of accumulated vacation leave.

The employee should contact the regent’s Human Resources Officer for more
detailed information.

A5
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HOLIDAY LEAVE

The State of Kansas provides paid holiday credit to eligible employees in recognition of
special days throughout the year. '

Holidays for the State service include New Year's Day, Martin Luther King Day, Memorial
Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving Day, the Friday following
Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day. (The preceding Friday is observed when the legal
holiday falls on Saturday; the following Monday is observed when the holiday falls on
Sunday.)

The Governor may designate additional legal holidays ‘in observance of a holiday or a
holiday season. In addition, the Governor may designate a discretionary holiday. The
memo announcing holidays for state service will include whether or not the Governor
authorizes a discretionary holiday. If authorized, the discretionary day must be taken as a
fullday. New benefits eligible employees will be allocated the discretionary day following
six months of continuous employment.

Eligible full-time employees receive holiday credit for all observed holidays regardless of
their work schedule. Less than full-time eligible non-exempt employees who have a regular
work schedule receive holiday creditif the day falls within their regular schedule — those on
irregular schedules do not receive holiday credit.

Employees who are on leave without pay the day before and the day following a holiday
shall not receive holiday credit unless the appointing authority approves the credit.

Eligible non-exempt employees who work on a legal or officially observed holiday will be
compensated with holiday pay or holiday compensatory time credits at the one and one-half
rate for those hours worked, unless the employee is in overtime status, at which time the
employee will receive overtime or compensatory time instead of holiday compensation at
the 1.5 rate the employee will receive an additional .5 rate instead.

If an employee is required to work both the legal and officially observed holidays, the
employee will receive holiday compensation for only one day. If both days are designated
legal holidays, holiday premium pay or holiday compensatory time will be applied to both
days.

The employee should contact their Agency Human Resources Office or refer to
Kansas Administrative Regulation 1-9-2 (Holiday Leave) for more detailed
information.
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- LEAVEPLANS

HOLIDAY LEAVE — REGENTS

If any listed or special holiday falls during a time when classes at the Regents institution
are in session, such holidays shall not be observed by unclassified academic and
professional staff at that Regents institution, e.g. Veterans Day.
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LEAVE PLANS

SICK LEAVE

Eligible full-time employees’ sick leave accrues at a maximum rate of 3.7 hours per
biweekly payroll period. Eligible non-exempt employees are in pay status less than 80
hours in a biweekly payroll period will accrue sick leave based on a prorated schedule.

Hours worked and paid leave are considered hours in pay status.

Sick leave accrual by an eligible employee during a pay period will be credited to the
employee on the first day of the following period.

Sick leave with pay shall be granted only for the following reasons:

1. lliness or disability of the employee, including pregnancy, childbirth, miscarriage,
abortion and recovery therefrom, and personal appointments with a physician, dentist or
other recognized health practitioner;

2. lliness or disability, including pregnancy, childbirth, miscarriage, abortion, and recovery

therefrom, of a family member, and family member's personal appointments with a

physician, dentist or other recognized health practitioner, when the iliness, disability or

appointment reasonably requires the employee to be absent from work;

Legal quarantine of the employee; or

The adoption of a child by an employee or initial placement of a foster child in the home

of an employee, when the adoption or initial placement reasonably requires the

employee to be absent from work.

B

Employees who become ill while on vacation may request all or part of the time charged to.

sick leave. Please refer to Kansas Administrative Regulation 1-9-4(f)

Former terminated employees who are reinstated into a regular leave eligible position
within a year will be credited with unused sick leave accrued at time of separation. (Does
not apply to employees who retire from State service.)

Accumulated sick leave is transferable when an employee transfers to a leave eligible
position or changes agencies.

The employee should contact their Agency Human Resources Office or refer to
Kansas Administrative Regulation 1-9-5 (Sick Leave) for more detailed information.

2.8
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LEAVE PLANS :

SICK LEAVE PAID AT RETIREMENT

State of Kansas Retirees, who have completed at least 8 or more years of service and
have accumulated 800 hours or more of sick leave, will be compensated for a portion of .

that accumulation.

Compensation for accumulated sick leave is subject to KPERS retirement contributions if
the employee was hired into a KPERS eligible position prior to July 1, 1993.

Retiring employees will be compensated:

240 hours (30 days) - with 8 or more years of service and Who have accumulated 800-999
hours,

360 hours (45 days) - with 15 or more years of service and who have accumulated 1,000-
1,199 hours, or

480 hours (60 days) - with 25 or more years of service and who have accumulated 1,200
hours or more.

The employee should contact their Agency Human Resources Office or refer to
Kansas Statutes Annotated 75-5517 for more detailed information.
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FUNERAL and Death LEAVE

The State of Kansas provides funeral leave and death leave upon the death of a close
relative to eligible employees of up to six working days per occurrence with full pay.

The appointing authority or designated agent will make the final decision about whether or
not to grant funeral or death leave and if so, length of leave after considering these factors:

1. Employee’s relationship to deceased; and
2. Necessary travel time.
The employee should contact their Agency Human Resources Office or refer to

Kansas Administrative Regulation 1-9-12 (Funeral Leave) for more detailed
information.
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JURY DUTY LEAVE

The State of Kansas provides time off to eligible employees with no loss of pay for jury duty
and other required appearances before a court or certain boards and commissions.

All classified employees in a regular position (or unclassified staff who follow Executive
Order 04-13 are eligible for jury duty leave.

The employee is granted paid leave of absence by the appointing authority for required jury
duty. Thisis in order to comply with a subpoena as a witness before the civil service boara,
the Kansas Commission on civil rights, the United States EEO commission, or a court;
and/or an appearance before a count, legislative committee, or other public body if judged
to be in the best interest of the State of Kansas.

Jury duty leave will be denied by the appointing authority when the employee is called as a
witness on the employee's own behalf in an action in which the employee is a party.

Each employee granted jury duty leave who receives pay or fees for a required
appearance, excluding jury duty, shall turn over to the state the payment or fees in excess
of $50.00. The employee may retain any amount paid to the employee for expenses in
traveling to and from the place of the jury duty or required appearance. When any
employee travels in a state vehicle for a required appearance before a court, or a legislative
committee, or other public body, the employee shall turn over to the state any mileage
expense payments received.

The employee should contact their Agency Human Resources Office or refer to
Kansas Administrative Regulation 1-9-8 (Jury Duty Leave) for more detailed
information.

2.7/
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LEAVE PLANS

MILITARY LEAVE

Military leave is available without pay for those employees who enlist, are drafted or are
otherwise commissioned as the result of orders requiring active duty in the Armed Forces.

Military leave is available with pay for up to 12 working days each year for those eligible
employees in a regular position who, as National Guard or Reserve component members,
are called to active duty. '

Military leave shall be counted as part of the employee’s length of service. Sick leave and
vacation leave shall not be earned or accrued during military leave without pay.

Job Protection

a) An employee’s position will be protected for as long as they are reqdired to remain on
active duty. This protection will not include classified temporary employees, only
unclassified temporary employees with benefits.

b) An employee who was on active duty for more than 181 consecutive days must return
to state employment within 90 days after release from active duty or within one year
after discharge if hospitalized. Employees on active duty for 31-180 days must return to
state employment within 14 days after release from active duty and employees on
active duty for 30 days or less must return to work on the first regularly scheduled day
of work following their release from active duty.

c) Upon returning to their state position after release from active duty, employees will be
protected from termination based on performance issues for up to one year, depending
on the duration of the employee’s period of active duty. This is intended to allow these
employees time to reacclimatize to their state position after returning from military leave.

Compensation

a) General increases and step increases that would have been received had the employee
not been on military leave without pay will be granted when the employee returns to
work from active duty.

b) Bonuses for which the state has already made an obligation will be paid while the
employee is on military leave without pay.

c) Employees will receive longevity bonuses that they would have received had the

employee not been on military leave without pay. Bonuses are to be paid when due,
just as if the employee were not on military leave.
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e LEAVE PLANS

Military Leave (Continued)

Length of Service

a) Length of service will continue while the employee is on military leave.

b) The time spent on military leave will be counted as time worked toward length of
service, eligibility for longevity pay, and the accrual rate for vacation leave.

Payment of Leave and Compensatory Time

a) Atthe request of employees, agencies must provide a payout of the total balance (not
to exceed the maximum allowed by K.A.R. 1-9-4) or a portion of the balance of any
vacation leave, compensatory time, and holiday compensatory time accrued prior to
leaving for active duty. The leave or compensatory time accrued during the pay period
of the payout should not be paid out at the time the employee leaves for active military
duty. This leave and/or time will be available for use when the employee returns from

military duty.

b) Employees will have the option to buyback either all or none of their vacation leave that
was paid out, at the value that it was paid out, regardless of subsequent increases to
the employees’ rate of pay. Employees must exercise this option within 30 days after
returning to work.

Leave Accrual and Usage

a) Vacation and sick leave will not accrue while the employee is on unpaid military leave or
military leave without pay. '

b) Employees may request and use accrued vacation leave, compensatory time, and
holiday compensatory time at any time over the course of the period that the employee
is on leave for active duty.

c) Adiscretionary holiday will be afforded to each eligible employee while the employee is
on active duty. Employees must use the discretionary holiday within the period of time
established for all state employees, either before being called to active duty, or after
returning from active duty. If the employee does not use their discretionary  holiday
within the allotted time, the discretionary holiday is lost.

Health Plan

a) Employee coverage ends effective the last day of the month in which the employee
goes on military leave without pay.

. . A2-73
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LEAVE PLANS .

Military Leave (Continued)

b) Employees on military leave without pay may continue coverage for the next 30 days;
the agency will continue to make the employer contribution for the 30 days. The
employee is required to remit his/her premium (regular payroll deduction amount).to the
agency to retain coverage during the 30 days following the effective date of the military
leave without pay.

c) Employees may continue coverage beyond the 30-day leave without pay timeframe, but
must remit the full premium to the Direct Bill Program. There will be no agency
contribution. An employee with spousal, children, or full family coverage may elect to
drop themselves and keep their spouse and/or children covered by the State Health
Plan. However, employees must make the change within 30 days of the effective date
of the military leave without pay.

d) Employees who dropped coverage while on military leave without pay may reenter the
plan they left upon returning to work if it is within 90 days of release from military leave.
There is no waiting period.

e) Employees on military leave without pay during Open Enrollment may enroll in any
coverage for which they are eligible, without penalty, upon their return to active
employment status, if done so within 90 days of release from military leave.

KanElect Flexible Spending Accounts (FSA) for Health Care and Dependent Care

a) Employee participation ends on the last day of the month in which leave begins.

b) Employees may choose to continue enroliment only in the Health Care FSA under the
state plan (personal payment of contribution). If an employee chooses to continue their
HealthCare FSA while on military leave, they would need to make the non-pretax
payment (semi-monthly/monthly or lump sum) to Kan Elect c/o DPS Health Benefits
Section.

¢) The employee may terminate active enroliment and reenter the plan upon return from
military leave without a waiting period.

Deferred Compensation

a) If enrolled, participation will be suspended on the last paycheck.
b) Employees may reenter the program upon returning to work.

c) Hardship withdrawals can be considered based on IRS guidelines.

2. 14#
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Military Leave (Continued)

Life Insurance and Death Benefit

a) Employees retain state provided coverage at no cost to the employee while on military
leave. :

b) Employees may remain in the group for Optional Group Life Insurance for up to 12
months by paying the premium. Payments should be arranged with the employee’s

agency.

c) Atthe end of the 12-month period, if the employee chooses to continue Optional Group
Life Insurance coverage, the employee must convert to a private policy. The employee
would then make arrangements with and remit the premium directly to the vendor.

The employee should contact their Agency Human Resources Office or refer to
Bulletins 03-03 & 04-02 and Kansas Administrative Regulation 1-5-30 (benefits for
employees activated to military duty), 1-9-7a, or 1-9-7c (military leave) for more
detailed information. To view the bulletin, see the following web page.

http://da.state.ks.us/ps/documents/bulletins/
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FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE

The Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA) allows eligible employees to be away
from work for 12 work weeks of paid or unpaid leave during any 12 month period beginning
with the first day leave was taken. The eligible employee is returned to the same or an
equivalent position with equivalent pay, benefits and terms and conditions of employment
when returning from FMLA leave.

FMLA can be used for an employee’s own qualified health condition, or a qualified health
condition of the employee’s spouse, children or parents.

An employee is eligible for FMLA if the following conditions are met:

“1. The employee has been in pay status for any part of a week for at least 52 weeks,
including any period of paid or unpaid leave during which other benefits or
compensation were provided to the employee by the State of Kansas.

2. The employee has worked for the State of Kansas at least 1,250 hours during the 12-
month period immediately before the beginning of the leave designated as FMLA leave.

The employee should contact their Agency Human Resources Office or refer to
Bulletins 01-02 (Workers Compensation and the use of leave including FMLA) & 05-

06 (Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) Guidelines for the State of Kansas) for
more detailed information.
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SHARED LEAVE

The State of Kansas has in place a donated shared leave program to benefit eligible
employees who have exhausted all sick and vacation leave.

Eligible employees who have worked continuously for the State of Kansas for at least six
months and who have exhausted all paid leave may apply for shared leave for an
employee’'s own qualified health condition, or for a family member's qualified health

condition.

If eligible, State of Kansas employees donate vacation or sick leave to a specific shared
leave recipient, the recipient can then record shared leave and continue to receive pay
instead of having to record leave without pay.

An employee is eligible to donate leave if he or shevhas a vacation leave balance of at least
80 hours and a sick leave balance of atleast 480 hours after donating the respective leave,
unless the donation occurs at the time of separation from service.

The employee should contact their Agency Human Resources Office or refer to
Kansas Administrative Regulation 1-9-23 (Shared Leave) and Bulletin 03-02 (Shared
Leave) for more detailed information.
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SHARED LEAVE - REGENTS

Regents institutions have in place a donated shared leave program to benefit eligible
employees who have exhausted all sick and vacation leave, discretionary day and
compensatory time credits.

Eligible employees who have worked continuously for a Regents Institution for at least six
months and who have exhausted all paid leave may apply for shared leave for an
employee's own qualified health condition, or for a family member's qualified health
condition.

If eligible, Regents employees donate vacation or sick leave to a specific shared leave
recipient, the recipient can then record shared leave and continue to receive pay instead of
having to record leave without pay.

NOTE: Faculty and unclassified academic and professional staff at the Regents
institutions and Board Office can donate sick leave only.

An employee is eligible to donate leave if he or she has a vacation leave balance of at least
80 hours and a sick leave balance of at least 480 hours after donating the respective leave,
unless the donation occurs at the time of separation from service.
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Workers Compensation

Workers Compensation provides medical and disability compensation for injuries/accidents
that arise out of and during the course of employment. Workers Compensation is
administered by the State Self Insurance Fund (SSIF) :

What should an employee who is injured at work do?

Report any injury/accident to supervisor
Complete incident reports per agency policy
Agency staff must complete the Employer's Report of Accident form

Seek medical treatment if necessary (use managed care contracted facilities).
This does not mean a claim will be approved.

Communicate with agency/department and SSIF (phone: 785-296-2364)
Complete WC'—Q (SSIF) and submit written claim (within 200 days of accident)

A Mileage Form is available for your use in keeping track of your miles and may
be submitted periodically, usually monthly, as you drive

A Guideline for the Repair or Replacement of Eyeglasses, WC-00-A, explains the
process for obtaining benefits.” A Prescription Eyeglasses Replacement Form,
WC-00 needs to be filled out and returned to SSIF should your prescription
eyeglasses be damaged during the course of your work.

What are the responsibilities of the agency when an employee is injured at work?

Direct the employee to receive medical care, if necessary. Refer them to a
managed care facility if there is one in the area (see list below). Otherwise, the
employee may go to their PCP or to the emergency room at the local hospital.

It is important to understand that directing the employee to seek medical care
does not mean their Workers Compensation claim is approved. The SSIF
adjuster will determine compensability of the claim.

If a medical provider contacts you for authorization of medical care, refer the
provider to the State Self Insurance Fund at 785-296-2364.

Complete the Employer's Report of Accident form; Form 1101-A and send it as
soon as possible to the State Self Insurance Fund. You may either mail it to:
SSIF, 900 SW Jackson, Room 951-S, Landon State Office Building, Topeka, KS
66612 or fax it to: 785-296-6995.

Submission of the Employers Report of Accident does not mean that the
employee has been approved for Workers Compensation. The SSIF will
investigate the claim once they have received the Employers Report of Accident

and determine compensability.
2-79
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Workers Compensation

Workers Compensation (continue'd)

« Refer the employee to this website for information they need to know about
Workers Compensation. If they don't have ready access to the website, please
print out and Information for Employees and give it to them. You may also refer
them to call the SSIF at 785-296-2364 or the Division of Workers Compensation
at 1-800-332-0353. '

« If the employee receives medical care and is given work restrictions by the
medical provider, the agency must determine if those restrictions can be
accommodated. If an employee is missing work due to a work-related injury and
you haven't received any information from the medical provider, contact the
employee and obtain a copy of the work release or restrictions.

« lItis important to keep the SSIF informed about any changes in the status of an
injured worker. This includes changes in work restrictions, if they begin missing
work or return to work.

« When the employee is eligible to receive Workers Compensation disability
benefits, they may want to supplement it with vacation or sick leave. Please
contact the SSIF if you have questions about the SHARP adjustments.

» Employees who receive Workers Compensation are not eligible for Shared Leave
for the same medical condition. If you have questions about Workers
Compensation and how it interacts with the Family Medical and Leave Act, you
may contact the SSIF.

« Please contact the SSIF whenever you have questions about any aspect of
handling a work-related injury. The phone number is 785-296-2364 and the fax is
785-296-6995. If you know who the adjuster is for a particular claim, you may
contact them directly.

Managed Care Facilities

The State Self Insurance Fund has designated medical care providers in certain areas.
To receive authorized medical treatment, injured employees must be seen at these
facilities (if within their area). In locations that do not have managed care facilities the
employee should be seen by their primary care physician.

Topeka: Kansas City:

St. Francis Hospital & Medical Center University of Kansas Hospital Authority
1700 SW 7th Street 3901 Rainbow Blvd.

Topeka, KS 66606 Kansas City, KS 66160

(785) 295-8000 (913) 588-5000

2.87
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~ Workers Compensation

Workers Compensation (continued)

Lawrence:

Lawrence Memorial Hospital
325 Maine Street

Lawrence, KS 66044

(785) 749-6100

Manhattan:

Mercy West

315 Seth Child
Manhattan, KS 66502
(785) 776-2813

Kansas City:

KU Med West

7405 Renner Road
Shawnee, KS 66217
(913) 588-8400

Wichita:

Wichita Clinic

Occupational Health Building
3311 E. Murdock

Wichita, KS 67208

(316) 261-6183

State of Kansas — Active State Employee Benefits Guide — Rev. 05/01/06
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KPERS administers three statewide, defined benefit retirement plans
covering most public employees in Kansas.

= Kansas Public Employees Retirement System

3 -2

= Kansas Police & Firemen’s Retirement System
= Kansas Retirement System for Judges

In addition to retirement benefits, KPERS provides death and disability
benefits for KPERS members and other public employees such as members
of the Regents’ retirement plan.

The remainder of this presentation will focus on KPERS-administered
benefits for approximately 24,000 state employees who are members of the
KPERS retirement plan.

X
*
(
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Employees, including State employees, generally have three main sources of
retirement income (commonly referred to as the “three-legged stool”):

= Social Security
= Employer-sponsored retirement plans
= Personal savings

Employer-sponsored plans fall into two main categories:

= Defined benefit plans (including KPERS) which provide guaranteed lifetime
retirement benefits based on the employee’s salary and years of service.

= Defined contribution plans in which retirement benefits are based on actual
employer and employee contributions into an individual employee’s account and
investment earnings on the individual account.

The Kansas Deferred Compensation Plan would be one example of a defined
contribution plan.

Kansas Public Employees Retirement System « 3
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KPERS is a defined benefit plan governed by K.S.A. 74-4901 et seq. and
Section 401(a) of the Internal Revenue Code.

= KPERS retirement benefits considered contractual obligations of the State of Kansas.

The Legislature acts as the plan sponsor and enacts retirement plan design in
state statutes, including:

= Eligibility for membership = Vesting requirements
= Employee & employer contribution rates = Benefit formula
= Service credit = Retirement eligibility

Statutory Benefit Formula (KPERS)
= Final Average Salary X  Years of Service X Statutory Multiplier = Annual Benefit
Example: $35,000 X 30 years X 1.75% $18,375

Kansas Public Employees Retirement System ¢ 4
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Retirement Basics (cont.) o;

The KPERS defined benefit plan is actuarially pre-funded with contributions
plus investment income.

= Contributions collected from employees and employers during the
employees’ working years and invested to provide funds for the future
retirement benefits.

= Employees contribute 4% of salary (statutory rate).

= Employer contribution rates change annually based on actuarial calculations,
subject to 0.6% statutory cap on annual rate increases.

Oy Kansas Public Employees Retirement System « 5



Membership
Vesting Period

Normal Retirement Eligibility

Age & service required to receive
unreduced retirement benefits.

Early Retirement Eligibility

Age & service required to receive reduced
retirement benefits.

Final Average Salary (FAS)

Retirement Benefit Formula
Partial Lump-Sum Option

Survivor Benefits

A Cost-of-Living Adjustments

97"
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State employees work for 1 year before becoming members.
10 years
= Age 65

Age 62 with 10 years of service
85 Points (age plus years of service equal at least 85)

Age 55 with 10 years of service

All early retirement reductions subsidized meaning
reductions are less than full actuarial reduction.

Average of three highest years (hired after 7-1-93).

1.75% X FAS X Years of Service

At retirement, receive lump-sum payment equal to 10, 20, 30,
40, or 50% of actuarial present value of benefits with reduced
monthly benefits.

Provide lifetime benefits for a survivor (reduced monthly
benefits for retiree).

Ad Hoc

Kansas Public Employees Retirement System <« 6
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Retirement Income Amounts® and Replacement Ratios®)
KPERS Social Security Total
Age 55 w/ 30 years $1,684 $0 $1,684
= Retiree w/ 85 Points 51% 0% 51%
Age 62 w/ 22 years $1,235 $746 $1,981
® Average retiree 37% 22% 59%
Age 65 w/ 15 years $842 $1,009 $1,851
® “Short” service retiree 25% 30% 55%
Age 65 w/ 30 years $1,684 $1,009 $2,692
= Career employee 51% 30% 81%

(@) Assumes employee retires at listed age and service with a final salary of $40,000 ($3,333 monthly).

(b) Income replacement ratio refers to percent of pre-retirement income provided by retirement benefits.
A Financial planners generally recommend minimum income replacement ratios of 70% to 80% from all
sources (Social Security, employer plans, and personal savings).

-3 Kansas Public Employees Retirement System « 7
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Contributions vs. Benefits

The average KPERS member’s retirement benefits will exceed his or her
contributions during the second year of retirement.

= Exceed employee contributions and interest in fourth year of retirement.

Kansas Public Employees Retirement System ¢ 8
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Established in 1980 under Section 457 of the Internal Revenue Code, the
Kansas Deferred Compensation Plan is an employer-sponsored savings plan
intended to encourage State employees to save for retirement.

The Plan has total assets of approximately $650 million with about 9,000
state employees actively contributing to the Plan at this time.

= Participation is voluntary.

= Currently funded by employee contributions only.

Following recommendations from Secretary of Administration and KPERS
Board of Trustees, the Joint Committee on Pensions, Investments and
Benefits has recommended transferring Plan administration to KPERS
beginning in 2008 (House Bill 2385).

= The Plan is currently administered by the Department of Administration and the
Deferred Compensation Oversight Committee.

= Transfer intended to provide State and local employees with coordinated
retirement education and increased emphasis on personal savings for retirement.

\é Kansas Public Employees Retirement System +« 9
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Several other states have encouraged personal savings through 457 plans
by providing relatively modest levels of employer matching funds.

= Example: $1 contribution for every $2 employee contribution (up to $20 per pay
period or $50 per month).

= Participation generally increases after employer matching program established.

Approximately 35% of eligible State employees currently participate in the
Plan (excluding Regents’ employees).

= Match program allowed by State law and could be tailored to available funding.

- Cost Estimates — Employer Match Program Annual Cost — —
Assumes employer match of $1 for every $2 in employee contributions (up to specified maximum).

Current Participants Projected Participants
9,000 12,000 15,000

= Match = $10/pay period $2,340,000 $3,120,000 $3,900,000

(maximum = $260 annually)

= Match = $20/pay period $4,680,000 $6,240,000 $7,800,000

(maximum = $520 annually)

Kansas Public Employees Retirement System « 10
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In addition to retirement benefits, KPERS provides death and disability

benefits for State employees.
* Funded and administered separately from the KPERS retirement plan.

= Funded entirely by employer contributions set at 1% of payroll.
= Includes life insurance and long-term disability benefits.

Life Insurance Benefits

Basic Life Insurance Employees automatically receive group life insurance
equal to 150% of annual salary.

= No cost to employee.

Optional Life Insurance Employees may opt to purchase an additional $5,000 to
$250,000 of coverage.
Benef" t Example $40,000 Annual Salary = $60,000 Basic Life Insurance

Kansas Public Employees Retirement System « 11
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Disability Definition

Benefit Waiting Period
Monthly Benefit Amount

Social Security Benefits

Life Insurance

Retirement Benefits

Benefit Example

|
-
3 A2

Unable to perform own occupation during first 24 months.
Unable to perform any occupation after 24 months.

180 days
60% of salary (up to $5,000 monthly)

Must apply for Social Security disability benefits and exhaust all
administrative remedies.

» KPERS benefits reduced for Social Security benefits.

Continue to have life insurance coverage equal to 150% of salary
at no cost to disabled employee.

Continue to receive service credit while disabled
If disabled for at least five years, salary indexed upon retirement.

$40,000 Annual Salary = $24,000 Annual Benefit
KPERS = $9,600
Social Security = $14,400

Kansas Public Employees Retirement System « 12
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Plan Design Background
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As the final piece in developing a comprehensive, long-term funding plan for
KPERS, the Joint Committee on Pensions, Investments and Benefits has
been considering plan design changes for future members for several years.

The tenuous nature of KPERS funding, along with demographic trends and
projections, appear to support plan design changes for future members.

= Current retirement rules create incentives for the most experienced and
marketable employees to leave in their early- to mid-50s.

= As the Baby Boomer generation begins to retire, a larger number of members will
move into retirement and collect benefits.

= Ratio of active, contributing members to retired members is expected to decline
from current level of 2.40 active members for each retiree to about 1.67 in 2020.

= Members who retire in 2036 expected to live (and collect benefits) about two years
longer than those who retire in 20086.

During 2006, KPERS Board of Trustees and Joint Committee systematically
examined a range of plan design alternatives for future members.

Kansas Public Employees Retirement System « 14
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Recommended Plan Design Objectives

Financial Soundness - Establish actuarial funding plan with an affordable mix of
employer & employee contribution rates that ensures financial soundness of the
plan over the long term.

Retirement Benefit Adequacy - Provide benefits that, when combined with

Social Security and personal savings, sustain the retiree’s standard of living in
retirement.

Workforce Incentives - Provide sufficient incentives to attract and retain high
quality employees as part of the total compensation and benefits package.

Recommended Plan Design Features

Direct greater emphasis and resources toward encouraging personal savings.
Increase the normal retirement age above current levels.

Reduce incentives for members to retire early.

Provide earlier membership and vesting for all employees.

Protect the purchasing power of KPERS retirement benefits over time.

Kansas Public Employees Retirement System + 15
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Senate Bill 362, sponsored by the Joint Committee, provides the following
benefits for KPERS members first employed on or after July 1, 2009.

First day membership
Five-year vesting
Normal retirement at age 65 with five years of service, or at age 60 with 30 years.

Early retirement at age 55 with 10 years of service with reduced early retirement
subsidies for members with less than 30 years of service.

Automatic annual 2% cost-of-living adjustments beginning at age 65.
Employee contribution rate of 6%.

The bill also includes two enhancements for current employees.

First day membership for those hired between July 1, 2008, and June 30, 2009.
Five-year vesting effective July 1, 2009.

Kansas Public Employees Retirement System « 16





