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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND TOURISM COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Lana Gordon at 3:30 P.M. on March 18, 2008 in Room
519-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Broderick Henderson- excused

Committee staff present:
Ryan Hoffman, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Jason Long, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Matt Todd, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Ann Deitcher, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Rep. Tom Burroughs
Aaron Davis, Kansas Boxing Commissioner

HB 2843 - amending and supplementing the Kansas Professional Regulated Sports Act

Matthew Todd addressed the Committee with an explanation of amendments made by HB 2843.
(Attachment 1).

Representative Tom Burroughs appeared as a proponent to HB 2843. (Attachment 2).

Introducing Aaron Davis, he referred to the copies of the Rules and Regulations for the Committee’s
attention saying that these would allow the Commission and the Boxing Commissioner to move forward

to insure a safe and transparent industry.

Questions and answers followed.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, March 19, 2008.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1




Office of Revisor of Statutes
300 S.W. 10" Avenue
Suite 010-E, Statehouse
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1592
Telephone (785) 296-2321 Fax (785) 296-6668

MEMORANDUM

To:  House Committee on Economic Development and Tourism

From: Matthew Todd, Assistant Revisor

Date: March 18, 2008

Re:  HB 2843 — amending and supplementing the Kansas Professional Regulated Sports Act

New section 1 would be part of and supplemental to the Kansas Professional Regulated
Sports Act and would establish a civil penalty not exceeding $500 for a violation of the act.
Such penalty would be held in an escrow account for 30 days, to allow time for the athletic
commission to review any appeals and affirm, reverse or modify the penalty assessment. Once a
penalty 1s affirmed or modified, the amount of the civil penalty shall be deposited in the Athletic
Fee Fund. An appeal must be made in writing, within 15 days of when the penalty order is
served. Appeals hearings would be covered under the Kansas Administrative Procedure Act.

Section 2 would amend K.S.A. 74-50,181 to specify that section 1 would be part of the
Kansas Professional Regulated Sports Act.

Section 3 would amend K.S.A. 74-50,182, which is the definitions section of the act. The
definition of “commissioner,” meaning the boxing commissioner, is added in lines 27 and 28.
The definition of “contestant” is clarified to mean a person who “is licensed by the commission
to compete.” The definition of “professional full-contact karate” is amended by removing from
the meaning a bout or contest with weapons. Such contests would also no longer be defined as
taking place in a rope-enclosed ring or having timed rounds. The definition of professional, and
now “‘amateur,” mixed martial arts would no longer include a bout or contest with weapons.
Finally, the definition of “regulated sports™ is clarified to include all of the defined sports.

Section 4 would amend K.S.A. 74-50,186, which specifies the supervisory powers and
duties of the commission. Subsection (b), dealing with licenses, changes the expiration date of

an issued license from June 30 in the year after it was issued to one year from the date the license
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is actually issued. Additionally, subsection (c) is amended to clarify that the commission may
assess a “fee,” not a “tax,” which still may not exceed 5% of the gross receipts of each regulated
sports contest. Finally, this section contains a clean-up amendment that removes subsection (d),
which is no longer applicable because the date of performance has already passed.

Section 5 would amend K.S.A. 74-50,187, which sets out the rules and regulations
authority of the commission. The bill would require the commission to adopt rules and
regulations regarding “procedures and requirements for testing for drugs and communicable
diseases,” in addition to the other existing requirements. It would also make the limitation on
rules and regulations concerning professional wresting permissive, rather than mandatory.

Section 6 would amend K.S.A. 74-50,188, which establishes the Athletic Fee Fund in the
State Treasury. The bill would eliminate the requirement that 20% of the revenue credited to the
Athletic Fee Fund be deposited in the State General Fund. The Director of the Budget estimates
that this change would increase revenue to the Athletic Fee Fund by $23,400 and decrease
revenue to the State General Fund by the same amount. See Fiscal Note for HB 2843.

Section 7 would amend K.S.A. 74-50,189, which enumerates the conditions under which
the commission may issue a license. The bill would supplement the requirement that a city or
county must adopt a resolution in approval of hosting a regulated sports contest with the option
that the commission may issue a written assurance that the required license will be issued. Such
assurance must be conditioned upon the adoption of the resolution by the governing body.

Section 8 would amend K.S.A. 74-50,193, which currently lists reasons the commission
may refuse to issue a license or the commission may file a complaint against a licensee. The bill
essentially incorporates all of the same reasons in existing law but clarifies the ability of the
commission to deny, suspend, revoke or refuse renewal of any license. Any action taken by the
commission pursuant to this section which affects any license or imposes any administrative
penalty would remain subject to the Kansas Administrative Procedure Act and would require
notice and an opportunity for a hearing. Additionally, the bill would make it clear that certain
actions taken by the commission pursuant to the act would not deprive it of the right to conduct
disciplinary proceedings against a licensee, to suspend, revoke or refuse to renew a license, or to
make a record of the facts of any violation of law for any lawful purpose.

Section 9 contains a technical amendment to K.S.A. 74-50,194.
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Chairperson Gordon, Vice Chair Hunnington, Ranking Member Winn and
Committee Members

Thank you for the opportunity to appear before the committee and present HB
2843 today. A few years back this committee passed out a bill establishing the
Kansas Athletic Commission and the Senate and House passed the legislation
overwhelmingly.

Recognizing it has been awhile since representatives of the Athletic
Commission have been before you to report our progress; Mr. Aaron Davis and I
are here to do so if the committee so desires. In addition we also seek your support
for the authority to carry-out the legislative intent of the Kansas Regulated Sports
Act. Therefore, I submit for your review the Rules and Regs that will allow the
commission and the Boxing Commissioner to move forward to insure a safe and
transparent industry.

I have attached to my testimony a breakdown of the bill by section to aid in
presenting the information and statutory requirements necessary for the Athletic
Commission to establish and clarify its mandated responsibilities.

I respectfully request that the committee pass-out HB 2843 favorably.
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HOUSE BILL No. 2843
The Kansas Professional Regulated Sports Act

New Section 1, Imposes civil penalties for violation of the act. This amendment will allow the
Kansas Boxing Commission to impose civil penalty for violations of the act and provides that:

. No civil penalty will exceed $500 for each violation.

. The Commissioner shall have the authority to impose the civil penalty.

. The civil penalties shall be due and payable at the time of the violation.

. Any person may appeal a civil penalty imposed within 15 days to the Commission.

Section 3, amends K.S.A. 74-50,182 definitions as follows:
. "Commissioner" means the boxing commissioner or the commissioner's designee.

. Clarifies the definition of "Contestant" to mean a person who is licensed by the
commission to compete in a regulated sport.

. "Professional full-contact karate"
Strikes the use of weapons

Such contests take place in a rope enclosed ring and are fought in timed rounds.
. Adds amateur contestants to mixed martial arts.

Strikes the use of weapons

. Regulated sports definition is amended to include amateur mixed martial arts and
professional wrestling.

Section 4, amends K.S.A. 74-50,186

(b) changes the date licenses are issued. License will be issued on the anniversary of the renewal
of the licenses.

(c) amends and delets tax imposed to fee assessed.
(d) is stricken since it is no longer applicable.
Section 5, K.S.A. 74-50187

Allows for procedures and requirements for testing for drugs and communicable diseases.



(b)(1) changes the requirement from shall to may. This will allow the Commission more
discretion as to regulation professional wrestling.

Section 6. K.S.A. 74-50,188

(a) Strikes out the provision that 20% of the Athletic Fund deposits be deposited in the state
general fund.

Section 7, K.S.A. 74-50,189

(b) amends this section to allow the commission to issue a written assurance that the required
license will be issued. on the condition that the governing body approves such contest.

Section 8, K.S.A. 74-50193

This prior section allowed third parties to bring complaints against licensees but did not provide
that the Boxing Commissioner the right to bring the complaint.

This section is revised to allow the Boxing Commissioner to deny, suspend, revoke or refuse
renewal of any license issued under the act.
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