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MINUTES OF THE SENATE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman James Barnett at 1:30 P.M. on March 13, 2008 in
Room 136-N of the Capitol.

Senator Journey was excused.

Committee staff present:
Emalene Correll, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Terri Weber, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Sara Zafar, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Nobuko Folmsbee, Revisor of Statutes
Renae Jefferies, Revisor of Statutes
Jan Lunn, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Kevin Robertson, executive director, Kansas Dental Association

Teresa Schwab, executive director, Oral Health Kansas

Betty Wright, executive director, Kansas Dental Board

Brad Parry, MS, LAT, ATC, President Kansas Athletic Trainers Society

W. David Carr, PhD, LAT, ATC, Director of Athletic Training Education Program, University of
Kansas

Larry Buening, Jr., executive director, Kansas State Board of Healing Arts

Others attending:
See attached list.

HB 2781 - Dental offices; permitting an additional office in counties with low population
densities

Renae Jefferies, revisor, briefed Committee members on the bill. HB 2781 amends the current law
allowing a dentist to own two satellite offices (in addition to a primary office) if the satellite offices
are within a 125-mile radius of the primary office and are located in counties of less than 10,000.
There is no fiscal impact on the state budget. (Attachment 1)

HB 2702 - Excepted acts and reciprocity concerning the practice of dentistry makes two
changes to the dental practice act, according to Renae Jefferies, revisor. It allows a dental
hygienist licensed in another state or country to appear as a clinician at meetings of the Kansas
State Dental Association or other dental organizations approved by the Kansas Dental Board. The
second change requires an out-of-state applicant for licensure by credentials to provide evidence
that the 24-month continuing education requirement applicable to Kansas licensees has been met.
(Attachment 2)

HB 2695 - Athletic trainer licensure

Emalene Correll briefed the bill being heard. Ms. Correl. indicated the bill amends existing law
regarding the certification and training of athletic trainers and allows the Board of Healing Arts to
issue a license without examination if certain requirements are met. In addition, the bill amends
a temporary licensure provision to allow issuance to a trainer who meets all licensure requirements,
except examination. It also lengthens the notification period the Board must provide to licensees
regarding license expiration from 30-days to 60-days. Also, the bill deletes a current requirement
for 800 hours of clinical experience and deletes the “grandfather” clause (since it has expired).

HB 2781 - Dental offices; permitting an additional office in counties with low population
densities

Kevin Robertson, executive director of the Kansas Dental Association, discussed the current law
and the rationale for the bill being heard today. Mr. Robertson indicated fewer and fewer dental
school graduates desire to practice in rural or frontier areas due to the lack of support by a medical
professional and possibly, the community. In addition, the capital outlay required to initiate a
practice coupled with student loan debt further contributes to the dental population being
undeserved in rural areas. HB 2781 allows a graduate dental student to be an associate dentist
located in a satellite clinic in a community of less than 10,000 population within 125-miles of a
primary dentist-owned facility. Mr. Robertson provided a map of undeserved areas and his
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the Capitol.

testimony is attached. (Attachment 3)

Teresa Schwab, executive director of Oral Health Kansas, also spoke in support of HB 2781. Ms.
Schwab indicated that as a statewide coalition, barriers to dentist recruitment exist in rural or frontier
counties. Ms. Schwab indicated successful passage of HB 2781 would have an immediate and
substantial impact. (Attachment 4)

Following questions from Senators Schmidt, Haley and Brungardt that were clarified by conferees,
Senator Haley moved to favorably advance HB 2781 to the Senate floor. Senator Wagle seconded
the motion. The motion passed.

HB 2702 - Excepted acts and reciprocity concerning the practice of dentistry

Betty Wright, executive director of the Kansas Dental Board, spoke in support of the proposed
legislation. The proposed bill allows dental hygienists (licensed in another state) to provide clinical
education at dental organization meetings. In addition, the bill ensures that applicants seeking
licensure from other states have the same continuing educational requirements as Kansas
licensees. (Attachment 5)

Following questions from Senators Brungardt and Schmidt, Senator Schmidt moved to favorably
pass out HB 2702. Senator Wagle seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

HB 2695 - Athletic trainer licensure

Brad Parry, president of the Kansas Athletic Trainers Society, presented testimony in support of HB
2695, indicating that current educational requirements did not match requirements of the Board of
Certification. The result was the creation of the bill that updates current requirements to correlate
with Board of Certification Standards. Mr. Parry discussed the processes for certification and
educational standards. Mr. Parry’s testimony is attached, and therefore, becomes part of this

record. (Attachment 6)

Senator Schmidt asked whether there is a centralized database for the purpose of reporting
disciplinary actions. Mr. Parry indicated the Board of Certification does maintain disciplinary
reports, and those would be furnished to any Certification Board at the time of licensure application.

W. David Carr, PhD, LAT, ATC, Director of Athletic Training Education Program, University of
Kansas, was present to discuss the educational standards for Athletic Training Programs and to
address the proposed changes. Dr. Carr’s testimony is attached and is incorporated into this record.

(Attachment 7)

Larry Buening, executive director of the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts, submitted testimony
(Attachment 8 ) in support of HB 2695. Mr. Buening reviewed proposed revisions to the current law.

Ms. Correll questioned whether the term “certified” should be deleted because that term is not one
that is protected by Kansas law. Conferees indicated this is a common term used by athletic
trainers and their preference would be to keep “certified athletic trainer” in the legislation as

proposed.

Senator Brungardt moved to favorably advance HB 2695: the motion was seconded by Senator
Jordan and passed unanimously.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:25pm.
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| (3/11/2008) Jan

Lunn - BriefingHB2781-~

Office of Revisor of Statutes
300 S.W. 10" Avenue
Suite 010-E, Statehouse
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1592
Telephone (785) 296 -2321 FAX (785) 296-6668

MEMORANDUM
To: Senate Committee on Public Health and Welfare
From: Renae Jefferies, Assistant Revisor
Date: March 13, 2008
Subject: HB 2781

HB 2781, as amended by House Committee, amends K.S.A. 65-1435 on page 2 of the
bill, in lines 15 through 22, to allow a dentist to own two satellite offices in addition to such
dentist’s primary office if the satellite offices are within a 125-mile radius of the primary office
and are located in counties with a population of less than 10,000. Under the current statute, a
dentist who owns practices must be in the office operating as a dentist or personally overseeing
operations in the office or each of the offices during a majority of the time the office or each of the
offices is open.

The fiscal note on the bill reflects no impact on the state budget.

The bill would take effect upon publication in the statute book.
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Office of Revisor of Statutes
300 S.W. 10" Avenue
Suite 010-E, Statehouse
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1592
Telephone (785) 296 -2321 FAX (785) 296-6668

MEMORANDUM
To: Senate Committee on Public Health and Welfare
From: Renae Jefferies, Assistant Revisor
Date: March 13, 2008
Subject:: HB 2702

HB 2702 makes two changes to the Dental Practices act. The first change, in section 1,
would allow a dental hygienist licensed in another state or country to appear as a clinician at
meetings of the Kansas State Dental Association or other dental organizations approved by the
Kansas Dental Board.

The second change, on page 5 of the bill, would require an out-of-state applicant for
licensure by credentials to provided evidence that such applicant has met the twenty-four-month
continuing education requirement applicable to Kansas licensees.

The fiscal note shows no impact on the state budget.

The bill would take effect upon publication in the statute book.
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QDA

KANSAS DENTAL ASSOCIATION

March 13, 2008
To: Senate Committee on Public Health and Welfare

From: Kevin J. Robertson, CAE
Executive Director

RE: Testimony in Support of HB 2781

Thank you for the opportunity to address you today, | am Kevin Robertson, Executive Director
of the Kansas Dental Association (KDA) representing approximately 80% of Kansas’ 1,300
licensed dentists. Today | am here to support HB 2781 which would provide more dental
practice opportunities in rural Kansas by reducing the restrictions on dentists operating satellite
offices in the 64 counties with population less than 10,000.

Currently licensed dentists who own dental practices are required to be physically present in
the satellite office(s) they operate a majority of time dentistry is being performed in the
satellite dental office(s). HB 2781 is a carve-out to this 50% rule which would allow dentists to
own two dental office (without being physically present) within 125 miles of the dentists
primary office in counties less than 10,000 population.

Towns from Atwood to Elwood struggle to recruit dentists into their rural communities. Many
have dental office facilities that a previous dentist simply abandoned after unsuccessful
attempts to sell the practice at any price. New dental school graduates seem to be less willing
to locate in rural areas. Though the reasons vary from student to student, we commonly hear
concerns about dental school debt that now averages $130,000, the financial viability of rural
practices and the lack of professional support in rural areas.

While more often rural dental practices are abandoned, the number of dentists working as
employees in safety net clinics across the state have increased from 5-21 in the past four years.
This seems to show a willingness of new dental school graduates to locate in all areas of the
state when the financial burden and risk of practice ownership is not a factor.

HB 2781 will create more dental practice opportunities in the areas of the state that are most in
need for both existing and new dentists. Some scenarios under HB 2781 might include a dentist
purchasing a practice (or two) to staff fully with an associate dentist or an associate dentist
sharing time between the primary satellite office. | have even received calls from dentists who
are interested in purchasing a satellite practice with the thought of hiring an associate dentist in
order to sell or transition the practice to the new dentist over a short period of time with the
motivation of taking the pressure off their already over-busy dental practice. Whatever the
case, it is hoped that any new dentist recruited to these rural areas will ultimately stay.
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There are some other issues coming together that the KDA and others think will increase the
potential of dentists locating in rural areas and, therefore, create greater dental access to
Kansans who live in these areas.. Wichita State University is currently preparing to begin an
Advanced Education in General Dentistry (AEGD) program. This program will be a two-year
residency which will have around ten students in each class. The second year of the residency
will include rotations in rural communities around Wichita. Also, a bridging loan bill (SB 597)
for dental student students who agree to practice in rural communities is currently in the
Senate Committee on Ways and Means would provide a financial incentive to new dentists.

Let me take a minute to answer a few questions that | have heard while discussing this bill with
some of the committee members:

1. Why a 125 mile radius restriction?
One concern that new dentists have regarding a rural practice is the isolation of being in
a community without another dentist or dental specialist to back them up. In larger
communities there are oral surgeons, endodontists and other specialists to handle the
more complex dental procedures; however, in the rural areas the general dentist often
must do it all. What if they get in trouble with a complicated extraction or other
procedure —where do they go for help? The 125 mile radius keeps the dentist-owner in
close proximity to the satellite practice and creates a mentoring aspect to the law.

Also, there is concern by many rural dentists that completely opening up satellite
practices will result in a growing number of rural practices being owned by urban
dentists with no ties or understanding of special dental needs of the rural population.
The 125 mile radius for ownership will keep the dentist owner more “local.”

2. Why not simply eliminate the “majority or 50% rule” regarding satellite practices?
The KDA does not believe there is a need to provide greater incentives for dentists to
open dental offices in the more populous areas of the state above the free market
incentives that naturally exist. Simply eliminating the 50% rule will result in more dental
offices where there is already an abundance. An unscientific study by the KDA of Kansas
counties under 10,000 shows the dentist to population ratio is 1:2,958 compared to
1:1,779 statewide. Johnson County is about 1:1,100.

Finally, to help give you an idea of the counties in your area that would be affected by HB 2781
let me bring your attention to the colored Kansas map I've provided. As you can see this is a
somewhat crudely colored county map overlain with a Google Earth Map. The red/pink
indicates the 64 counties with less than 10,000 population according to the 2000 U.S. Census.
On the bottom right there is a 125 mile scale that you can use to measure from any city.

The KDA believes private practice dentistry can improve dental access in rural Kansas. Please
support HB 2781 and give Kansas dentists the opportunity to so.

Thanks you for your time
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Board of Directors

Andrew Alfison, PhD
KS Health Policy Authority

Mary Baskett, MPA
KS Head Start Assn.

Barry Daneman
UMKC School of Dentistry

Karen Finstad
Delta Dental of KS Foundation

Ron Gaches, JD
KS Dental Hygienists' Assn.

Cathy Harding. MA
KS Assn. for the
Medically Underserved

Mark Herzog, DDS

Denise Maseman, RDH, M$S
WSU School of
Dental Hygiene

Daniel Minnis, DDS
Community Health Center of SEK

Kim Moore, JD
United Methodist Health
Ministry Fund

Kevin Robertson, MPA, CAE
KS Dental Assn.

Loretta J. Seidl, RDH, MHS
Kansas Health Care Assn.

Deborah Stern, RN, JD
KS Hospital Assn.

Douglas Stuckey
Community Health Center of SEK

Sharon Tidwell
Jones Foundation

Marlou Wegener
Blue Cress and
Blue Shield of KS

Katherine Weno, DDS, JD
KDHE, Office of Oral Health

800 SW Jackson, Suite 1120
Topeka, KS 66612

785.235.6039 (phone)
785.233.5564 (fax)
ohks@oralhealthkansas.org

www.oralhealthkansas.crg

ORAL HEALTH KANSAS

Testimony before the Senate Public Health & Welfare Committee
Regarding HB 2781

March 13, 2008

Chairman Barnett and Members of the Committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony to you this afternoon
regarding our support of HB 2781, a bill permitting an additional dental
office in counties with low population densities.

My name is Teresa Schwab, and | am the Executive Director of Oral
Health Kansas, the statewide oral health coalition. The coalition was
established a little over four years ago to respond to critical oral health
issues in the state. In that time, the coalition has been built to over 200
members representing a wide array of stakeholders, including Head Start,
elder care and disability organizations, safety net clinics, educational
institutions, advocacy organizations, professional associations, health
foundations, dental insurers as well as private dentists, dental hygienists
and other clinicians.

As you are all well aware, access to dental care presents a major
challenge to many Kansans, especially those living in rural areas of our
state. In January 2005, Kansas Health Institute (KHI) released a report
entitled The Declining Supply of Dental Services: Implications for Access
and Options for Reform. The report clearly showed that many poor and
rural Kansans lag significantly behind an accepted standard for dental
care and oral health—the gaps in services caused in part by a limited
supply of dentists, especially in rural areas of the state.

It is clear that rural areas face significant challenges to providing dental
care to their residents, including recruiting dentists to practice in rural
Kansas. In fact, according to a recent Office of Oral Health workforce
survey, there are currently 14 counties in Kansas that do not have a full-
time practicing dentist, including the following: Barber, Chase, Clark,
Comanche (an Oklahoma dentist provides care one day per week in
Coldwater), Elk, Greeley, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kiowa, Lane, Ness, Rawlins,
Trego and Wabaunsee.

Over the last several months, at least three Kansas counties have
encountered barriers as they have tried to develop dental care service
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models for their communities. These counties include Rawlins,
Wallace/Greeley and Scott Counties, all in the most western part of our
state. In each of these instances, the communities had overcome the
most difficult barrier, which was recruiting a dentist. After finding a
dentist, however, each of these counties could not follow through with
their plans due to barriers presented in the dental practice act.
Unfortunately, two of these counties lost their dentist and were forced to
abandon their immediate plans. '

The bill before you today would allow some flexibility for these and other
rural communities. Without the added burden of having to be in the
actual practice, a dentist owner would be able to send an associate to
practice in one of these rural areas or could split his/her time in each of
the practice locations, thereby allowing the community some options as
it explores ways to create access to dental care services.

| would be happy to stand for questions.

Respectfully submitted,
Teresa Schwab, LMSW
Executive Director
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KANSAS DENTAL BOARD KATHLEEN SEBELIUS, GOVERNOR

Testimony re: HB 2702
Senate Public Health and Welfare Committee
Presented by Betty Wright
March 13, 2008

Chairman Barnett and Members of the Committee:

My name is Betty Wright, and | am the Executive Director of the Kansas Dental Board. The Board
consists of nine members: six dentists, two hygienists and one public member. The mission of the Dental
Board is to protect the public through licensure and regulation of the dental profession.

The Kansas Dental Board has proposed two changes to the dental practices act for this session.

KSA 65-1423 — This revision would allow dental hygienists who are licensed out of the state to provide
clinical education “hands-on teaching” at dental organization meetings. This educational opportunity is
available for dentists KSA 65-1423 (5)(a). The insertion of or licensed dental hygienist would allow this practice
for hygienists.

KSA 65-1434- This revision is designed to insure that applicants who are seeking licenses from other
states by credentials will have the same requirement for continuing education as Kansas licensees. It
increased the requirement from 12 months of continuing education (30 hours for dentists or 15 hours for
hygienists) to 24 months of continuing education for licensure (60 hours for dentists and 30 hours for
hygienists). The change would place the same requirements for continuing education for current licensees on
applicants from other states. The requirement will raise the standards for licensing dental professionals from
other states in to Kansas.

I will be glad to address your questions.

Sincerely,
o "

Betty Wright
Executive Director
Kansas State Dental Board.
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To: Kansas State Senate Public Health and Welfare Committee
From: Brad Parry, MS, LAT, ATC, President Kansas Athletic Trainers Society
RE: House Bill 2695

Date: March 10, 2008

The Athletic Training subcommittee of the Board of Healing Arts met a little over a year
ago. They brought to our attention that the educational requirements listed in our current
bill do not match the current requirements of the Board of Certification. We feel we need
to update the current requirements in our statutes to bring them more in line with
standards being set by the Board of Certification. In this letter I will discuss the
certification process for athletic trainers, and where we were educationally when our bill
was first passed. That will be followed by a letter from David Carr, PhD, LAT, ATC. Dr.
Carr is the director of the University of Kansas Athletic Training Curriculum Program,
and is currently serving on the Board of Healing Arts Athletic Training subcommittee. .
He will discuss the current educational standards for athletic trainers, and the proposed
changes we feel need to be made in our bill.

Certified Athletic Trainers, as defined by the National Athletic Trainers Association, are
health care professionals who specialize in preventing, recognizing, managing, and
rehabilitating injuries that result from physical activity. Historically Athletic Trainers
have been employed by professional teams, university and colleges, and high schools to
provide health care for their athletes. In recent years that role has expanded. You can now
find Athletic Trainers working in sports medicine clinics, hospitals, industrial settings,
and with the military.

Athletic Trainers are certified nationally by the Board of Certification. Their sole mission
as stated on their website is to certify Athletic Trainers and to identify for the public,
quality healthcare professionals through a system of certification, adjudication, standards
of practice, and continuing education programs. The first bill registering Athletic Trainers
went into effect in Kansas in 1996. It was decided at that time to follow the standards set
forth by the Board of Certification for registration of Athletic Trainers in Kansas. An
Athletic Trainer would be granted registration in Kansas if he had met the educational
standards, and had passed the certification exam administered by the Board of
Certification. This essentially enables Kansas to stay out of the business of testing
Athletic Trainers.
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In 1996 the Board of Certification allowed prospective Athletic Trainers two separate
educational pathways to be able to sit for their certification exam. The first path was
referred to as the Internship Program. The student in this program had to take list of
specific classes, but would not receive a degree in athletic training. They also had to
document that they had a minimum of 1200 hours in the college or universities athletic
training facility under the supervision of their athletic training staff. The second path was
an approved Curriculum Program. College and universities that furnished a Curriculum
Program would offer a degree in athletic training. There would be more specific course
work designed for the athletic training student. Since there was more course work the
hour requirement was lowered from 1200 to 800 hours of supervision in the athletic
training facility. Once a student had completed their degree through an Internship or
Curriculum Program, and had meet the hour requirement they could sit for the exam. Our
registration bill that went into law in 1996 reflects the educational standards as discussed
above.

In 2000 the Board of Certification made the decision to eliminate the Internship Program.
By 2004 all athletic training students would have to have gone through an accredited
Curriculum Program to be able to take the certification exam. In Dr. Carr’s letter he will
address educational changes that have occurred, and the proposed changes in our bill to
bring it more in line with the current Board of Certification standards. Thank you for your
time and consideration.

Sincerely Yours,
Brad Parry, MS, LAT, ATC



To: Kansas Senate Committee for Public Health and Welfare

From: W. David Carr, PhD, LAT, ATC, Director of the Athletic Training Education
Program at the University of Kansas

RE: House Bill 2695

The purpose of this letter is to outline the educational standards for Athletic Training
Education Programs (ATEPs) and address the proposed changes in our bill. As discussed
in the letter from our association president, Mr. Parry, the National Athletic Trainers’
Association Board of Certification (BOC) has changed the requirements for exam
eligibility since our bill was first introduced in 1996.

A task force was created in 1995 by the National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA)
Board of Directors to study the issue of education reform and make recommendations.
After lengthy discussion and review it was decided that effective January 2004 anyone
sitting for the National Athletic Trainers’ Association Board of Certification (BOC) exam
must graduate from an accredited curriculum program.

Accredited curriculum programs must teach a prescribed set of competency and
proficiency content as dictated by the Commission of Accreditation of Athletic Training
Education (CAATE). The minimum clinical hour requirements have been removed as
the philosophical change is towards a competency based approach to education.
However, clinical education is still an integral part of our education programs.

Proposed changes and rationale are as follows:

Section 2. K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 65-6905

Removing grandfather clause as no longer needed
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Section 3. K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 65-6906

Clinical experience hours no longer required — competency based approach

traineri-such-person—performs-the functions-and-duties-of an-athletictrainer: has, af

the time of application, a current valid certificate by the national athletic trainers’

~association _board of certification, inc. or other recognized national voluntary

credentialing body which the board finds was issued on the basis of an examination

which meets standards at least as stringent as those established by the board.

Reflective of one route to certification

(g} (e) The board may issue a temporary permit to an applicant for licensure as

an athletic trainer w

beard; who meets the requirements for licensure as an athletic trainer as required by



K.S.A. 65-6907, and amendments thereto, or who meets all the requirements for

licensure except examination and who pays to the board the temporary permit fee as

required under K.S.A. 65-6910, and amendments thereto. Such temporary permit shall
expire six months from the date of issue or on the date that the board approves or
denies the application for licensure, whichever occurs first. No more than one such
temporary permit shall be granted to any one person.

Modification to application process to reflect practical need of newly hired
Athletic Trainers awaiting completion of the national certification exam

Section 4. K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 65-6907

(b)

Proof of clinical experience hours no longer required for certification exam
Section 5. K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 65-6909
(c) At least 38 60 days before the expiration of the license of an athletic trainer,
the board shall notify the licensee of the expiration by mail, addressed to the licensee's
last mailing address, as noted upon the board's records. If the licensee fails to pay the

renewal fee and submit an application by at least 30 days prior to the date of

expiration of the license, the licensee shall be given a second notice that the licensee's
license has-expired will expire and the license may be renewed only if the renewal fee
and thelate an additional renewal fee are received by the board within the 30-day
period following the date of expiration and that if both fees are not received within-the

30-day—peried by the dale of expiration the license shall be canceled for failure to

renew and shall be reissued only after the athletic trainer has been reinstated under

subsection (d).



(d) Any licensee who allows the licensee's license to be canceled by failing to
renew as herein provided may be reinstated upon payment of the renewalfee—the
reinstatement fee, filing an updated practice protocol and upon submitting evidence of
satisfactory completion of any applicable continuing education requirements
established by the board. The board shall adopt rules and regulations for reinstatement
of persons whose licenses have been canceled for failure to renew. Renewal of
canceled licenses or reinstatement of licenses may include additional testing, training
or education as the board deems necessary to establish the person's present ability to
perform the functions or duties of an athletic trainer.

Section 6. K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 65-6910

Application and license fee based upon certificate of

priorexamingtion; nebmore thalw, s pressm cpeps s v $80
Annual renewal fee, not more than.........ccoeeveevevecverveeenans [T $70
Late Additional renewal fee, not more than.........ccccooeeveeeeeeeeveeeenneen, $75
Reinstatement fee, not more than..........ccceveeveeieieieviieeesiee e $80
Certified copy of license, not more than............ccceeeevieveeieieeieeeeneans $15
Temporaty PEril. cnmmnimmnsemmmmsisss S $25

Modification to application timing, fees, and renewal process



KATHLEEN SEBELIUS - ST ATE B}) ARD | OF HEALIN G | ARTS LAWRENCE T. BUENING, JR.

GOVERNOR EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
TO: Senate Committee on Public Health and Welfare
FROM: Lawrence T. Buening, Jr.
Executive Director
DATE: March 10, 2004
RE: Testimony on House Bill No. 2695

Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you and provide testimony on behalf of the
Kansas State Board of Healing Arts in support of House Bill No. 2695, as amended by House
Committee. The bill was reviewed and recommended by the Athletic Trainers Council and
approved by the Board as a whole.

Section 2(d) on page 1 line 40 through page 2, line 1 deletes the savings clause that was added
when the credentialing of athletic trainers was changed from registration to licensure by the 2004
Legislature. This clause is no longer needed.

Section 3 of the bill deletes current subsection (¢) and (d) of K.S.A. 65-6906 which contain the
grandfather provisions that were included when athletic trainers were first credentialed in 1995.
The language added by the House Health and Human Services Committee allows the Board to
issue an athletic trainer’s license to an individual if they are licensed in another state or if they
have engaged in practice in another state and passed an examination administered by the National
Athletic Trainers’ Association Board of Certification, Inc. or comparable examination. The other
amendment to K.S.A. 65-6906 deletes the requirement for a separate form in order to request a
temporary permit and allows the Board to issue a temporary to individuals who meet all
requirements for licensure except examination.

Section 4 deletes the requirement for clinical experience in addition to a baccalaureate or post-
baccalaureate degree as clinical education is part of the education requirements for a degree from
approved athletic trainer programs.

Section 5 changes the language regarding the expiration date to eliminate the 30-day grace period
between expiration and cancellation of license. This would eliminate uncertainly as to the status
of a license for those individuals who, in the past, have renewed their license following the date
of expiration but before it was cancelled.

The Board requests the support of the Committee for H.B. No. 2695. Thank you and I would be
happy to respond to any questions.
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