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Date
MINUTES OF THE HOUSE AGING AND LONG TERM CARE COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Bob Bethell at 3:30 p.m. on March 12, 2009, in Room 711
of the Docking State Office Building.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:
Doug Taylor, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Kelly Navinsky-Wenzl, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Terri Weber, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Judith Holliday, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the Committee:
Bill Sneed, Legal Counsel, America’s Health Insurance Plans
Cindy Luxem, Director of Government and Public Affairs, Kansas Insurance Department
David Halferty, Director, Nursing Facility and PACE Division, Kansas Department on Aging

Written testimony submitted:
Joseph Kroll, Director, Bureau of Child Care and Health Facilities, Kansas Department of Health

and Environment
Mark Bailey, Vice President, Via Christi Senior Services, Via Christi Medical Center, Wichita

Others attending:
See attached list.

Hearing on HB 2310 - Long-term care partnership program; exchange of policies.

Chairman Bethell called the meeting to order and opened the hearing on HB 2310. He called on Doug Taylor
of the Revisor’s office to present a brief overview of the bill.

The bill addresses long-term care insurance and would allow policyholders the option to exchange certain
long-term care policies issued on or before February 8, 2006, for coverage intended to qualify under the
Kansas Long-Term Care Partnership Program. Several provisions of the amendment include leaving the offer
open for a minimum of 45 days from the date of mailing by the insurer; the offer shall be made on a
nondiscriminatory basis without regard to age or health status of the insured; and options for the insurers in
underwriting policies.

Bill Sneed, Legal Counsel, America’s Health Insurance Plans, testified as a proponent of HB 2310.
(Attachment 1) Mr. Sneed testified that the implementation of the Long-Term Care Partnership Act provides
Kansas citizens opportunities to protect their long-term care and save the State money for the care of these
individuals.

Mr. Sneed explained that the amendment requires a carrier to offer in writing, on a one-time basis, to all
policyholders issued long-term care coverage on or after February 8, 2006, the option to exchange their
existing long-term care coverage for coverage that is intended to qualify under the Kansas Long-term Care
Partnership Program.

Cindy Hermes, Director off Governmental and Public Affairs, Kansas Insurance Department, testified as a
proponent of HB 2310. (Attachment 2) Ms. Hermes testified that HB 2310 was achieved through
collaboration with America’s Health Insurance Plans, John Hancock, MetLife, and Genworth. She stated that
sixteen companies offer these policies and they are a “win-win” for the policyholders and the State.

Ms. Hermes stated the policy must contain specific consumer protection provisions; be a tax-qualified policy;
and have inflation protection for certain age classifications.

The policyholder has a minimum of 45 days from the date of the mailing of the option to make a decision.
The insurer may underwrite if the policy is amended to provide additional benefits or the exchange would
require the issuance of a new policy. Any portion of the policy added because of the exchange may be priced
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based on the policyholder’s age at the time of the exchange. The consumer will not be able to exchange the
policy if the individual is in the elimination period or on claim status.

Chairman Bethell closed the hearing on HB 2310.

Hearing on HB 2366 - All-inclusive care for the elderly (PACE) program.

Chairman Bethell opened the hearing on HB 2366. He called upon Staff to explain the provisions of the b_ill.
The bill would allow qualified staff of a Program for All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) to provide
services to PACE participants in the participant’s homes without a home health agency license.

David Halferty, Director, Nursing Facility and PACE Division, Kansas Department on Aging, testified as a
proponent of HB 2366. (Attachment 3) At present, there are two PACE providers in Kansas: Via Christi
HOPE in Wichita, and Midland Care Connections in Topeka. During February 2009, these two PACE sites
provided care for 226 Medicaid-eligible participants. A third program currently being developed in Kansas
City will be operational when funded.

An amendment to HB 2366 will exempt PACE providers from maintaining separate home health licensure.
This dual licensure is costly and unnecessary because it requires PACE providers to participate in two
redundant provider review processes, plus dual required documentation of case records.

Written testimony was submitted by proponents Joseph Kroll, Director, Bureau of Child Care and Health
Facilities, Kansas Department of Health and Environment (Attachment 4); and Mark Bailey, Vice President,
Via Christi Senior Services, Via Christi Medical Center, Wichita. (Attachment 5)

The hearing was closed on HB 2366.

Chairman Bethell discussed HB 2323, the bill dealing with criminal history of persons working in care homes
which was heard at the previous Committee meeting. Because of concerns with the title of the bill, a technical
amendment may be necessary. He directed Staff to work on the amendment and bring to the Committee so
the bill can be worked.

Chairman Bethell asked for action on SB 148, the silver alert plan heard at the previous Committee meeting.
Representative Hill moved to pass SB 148 favorably and request that it be added to the Consent
Calendar. Representative Schwab seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Chairman Bethell called on Representative Schwab to give the report of the Subcommittee on Fiduciary

Abuse. (Attachment 6) Representative Schwab reported that the Subcommittee held three meetings in which

they looked at how other states handled the issue. The Subcommittee recommends:

1. amending the statutes by inserting language relating to the authority granted by durable power of attorney;
and,

2. forming an interim committee on fiduciary abuse to conduct a more in-depth analysis of the laws
concerning dependent adults and fiduciary abuse.

Chairman Bethell asked for action on the report. Representative Schwab made a motion to move the report,
seconded by Representative Hill. There was discussion as to whether this bill needs a vehicle to change this
statute. Chairman Bethell told the Committee that he will find a bill in which to insert the language of the
report and will finalize the bill at a meeting next week. The motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 4:15 p.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for March 17, 2009.
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TO: THE HONORABLE BOB BETHEL, CHAIRMAN
HOUSE AGING AND LONG-TERM CARE COMMITTEE

FROM: WILLIAM W. SNEED, LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL
AMERICA’S HEALTH INSURANCE PLANS

RE: H.B. 2310

DATE: MARCH 12, 2009

Mr. Chairman, Members of the Committee: My name is Bill Sneed and I am Legislative
Counsel for America’s Health Insurance Plans (“AHIP”). AHIP is a trade association
representing nearly 1,300 member companies providing health insurance coverage to more than
two million Americans. Our member companies offer medical expense insurance, long-term
care insurance, disability income insurance, dental insurance, supplemental insurance, stop-loss
insurance and reinsurance to consumers, employers and public purchasers. Please accept this
memorandum as our support for H.B. 2310.

My client has been working with the Kansas Insurance Department regarding the
implementation of long-term care coverages that qualify under the Long-term Care Partnership
Act. As I am sure the Kansas Insurance Department will present an explanation of that Act, I
will not do the same in my testimony, except to say that implementation of the Long-term Care
Partnership Act does provide Kansas citizens with opportunities to protect their long-term care,
and ultimately to save the State of Kansas money for the care of these individuals.

The amendment provided in H.B. 2310 requires a carrier to offer, on a one-time basis, in
writing, to all existing policyholders that were issued long-term care coverage on or after
February 8, 2006, the option to exchange their existing long-term care coverage for coverage that
is intended to qualify under the Kansas long-term care partnership program.

“When my client and the Kansas Insurance Department worked on the creation of K.S.A.
2008 Supp. 40-2136, it was our hope to provide the “exchange” of long-term care policies to be
handled through rules and regulations. After meeting with both the Attorney General and
various attorneys on the matter, it became clear late in 2008 that we were going to be unable to
implement the exchange through rules and regulations, and thus, that is why we have come
before the Legislature requesting this amendment.

We believe these exchanges provide every Kansan the opportunity to make the choice as
to whether they wish to procure a long-term care health policy that in fact will qualify for the
partnership program.
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On behalf of my client, we appreciate the opportunity to present this information, and we
respectfully request that the Committee act favorably on H.B. 2310.

I am available for questions at your convenience.
Respectfully submitted,

oL kL)

William W. Sneed
WWS:kjb



Kansas Insurance Department
Sandy Praeger, Commissioner of Insurance

TESTIMONY ON
HB 2310

HOUSE AGING AND LONG-TERM CARE COMMITTEE
March 12, 2009

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee:
Thank you for the opportunity to address the committee on House Bill 2310.

House Bill 2310 was achieved through collaboration with America’s Health Insurance Plans
(AHIP), John Hancock, MetLife and Genworth.

House Bill 2310 requires long-term care companies offer in writing on a one-time basis to
qualified policyholders the option to exchange their existing long-term care coverage for a
Kansas long-term care partnership policy.

The offer of an exchange applies only to policies issued by the insurance company, on or after
February 8, 2006, that are comparable and on the policy series that the company has certified as
partnership qualified. President George W. Bush signed into law the Deficit Reduction Act on
February 8, 2006, allowing all interested states participation in the long-term care partnership
program.

The policy must contain specific consumer protection provisions, be a tax-qualified policy and

have inflation protection. If the policy is sold to an individual:

e who has not attained age 61 as of the date of purchase, the policy must provide compound
inflation.

* who has not attained age 76, the policy must provide some level of inflation — either simple
or compound.

e who has attained age 76, the policy may have inflation protection but not required.

The policyholder will have a minimum of 45 days from the date of the mailing of the option to
make a decision.

The insurer may underwrite if the policy is amended to provide additional benefits or the
exchange would require the issuance of a new policy. Any portion of the policy that is added
because of the exchange may be priced based on the policyholder’s age at the time of the
exchange. The consumer will not be able to exchange the policy if the individual is in the
elimination period or on claim status.

Thank you for this opportunity, and I will stand for questions.
' HOUSE AGING & LONG TERM CARE
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/ o Kathleen Sebelfius, Governor

K A N s A s Kathy Greenlee, Secretary

DEPARTMENT ON AGING www.agingkansas.org
House Aging and Long Term Care Committee
March 12, 2009
HB 2366/PACE
Dave Halferty, Director

Nursing Facility and PACE Division

Chairman Bethell and members of the House Aging and Long Term Care Committee, thank you
for the opportunity to appear before you today in support of HB 2366, amending home health
care licensure requirements for PACE providers.

There are currently two PACE providers in the state of Kansas. Via Christi HOPE is located in
Wichita and serves Sedgwick County. Midland Care Connections is located in Topeka, and
serves Shawnee and the surrounding counties. During the month of February, 2009 these two
PACE sites provided care for 226 Medicaid eligible participants.

A third program is being developed in Kansas City and, when funded, will serve parts of
Wyandotte and Johnson counties.

Both of state’s current PACE programs provide home health services themselves as well as
contracting for home health services with other providers. HB 2366 contains an amendment to
K.S.A. 65-5112 that would exempt PACE providers from maintaining separate home health
licensure.

This requirement is duplicative because it requires the PACE provider to participate in two
redundant provider review processes. PACE providers must pass an initial certification and then
be recertified for Medicare and Medicaid at least every two years, by a joint federal and state
review team. To maintain a home health license, PACE providers must also acquire an initial
license and then be re-licensed every three years by the Kansas Department of Health and
Environment. The additional requirement for a home health license is unnecessary since the
PACE provider must already meet the Medicaid and Medicare certification requirements, which
includes a review of their home health care provision.

An example of the duplication this requirement creates involves documentation of care. PACE
providers are required to maintain comprehensive care records for each enrollee. As home
health providers, PACE organizations are also required to maintain a separate home health care
specific record. This amendment would eliminate redundant requirements that are only
necessary for a PACE provider to maintain a separate home health license.

The KDOA encourages your support of HB 2366. Thank you again for the opportunity to appear

before you.
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House Bill 2366
Written Testimony

Presented to
Aging and Long Term Care Committee

By
Joseph F. Kroll
Director, Bureau of Child Care and Health Facilities

March 12,2009

Chairman Bethell and members of the committee, my name is Joseph Kroll and I
am the Director of the Bureau of Child Care and Health Facilities. This is the
bureau in the department which regulates home health agencies. Thank you for the
opportunity to provide written testimony in support of House Bill 2366.

HB 2366 would exempt PACE programs (program for all inclusive care for the
elderly) from the provisions of the home health agency licensing act. To be
exempt the program must provide services only to PACE participants.

PACE was authorized by the balanced budget act of 1997 and enables states to
provide services to Medicaid beneficiaries as a state option. Participants must be
55 years of age and eligible for nursing home care. The PACE program becomes
the sole source of services which are provided in a nursing home, personal home or
inpatient setting,

Licensing as a home health agency is not required by federal law and is not
necessary to assure quality of care or services. Exempting such programs from
licensing removes a requirement that is not necessary. There are only a small
number of such programs and KDHE supports HB 2366.

Thank you for the opportunity to provide comment in support of HB 2366.

HOUSE AGING & LONG TERM CARE
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Aging and Long Term Care Committee
Home health Exemption for PACE
Mark Bailey — Via Christi, Wichita

March 12, 2009

Addressed to Madam Chair and Committee Members:

PACE (Program of All-inclusive Care for the Elderly) has been operational in Kansas
since September 2002. There are currently two PACE programs, Via Christi HOPE in
Wichita and Midland Care in Topeka. The PACE philosophy is to keep older adults in
their homes with supportive services. Homemaker, attendant care, nursing services and
medical services are provided to ensure participants are supported and safe to live in
the community for as long as possible. PACE is an alternative to traditional long-term
care placement and operates as a capitated managed care model for acute and non-
acute care services. PACE is at full risk for all medically necessary costs approved by
the Interdisciplinary Team. As PACE programs in Kansas, we are seeking exemption
from the Kansas Home Health requirement.

Regulatory Duplication: The PACE requirement provides a robust set of guidelines to
ensure program participants receive the highest quality of home care services. In fact,
with the interdisciplinary approach to PACE, we believe a PACE program affords the
participant greater access to comprehensive healthcare services and oversight than
does a home health agency licensed in the state of Kansas. Kansas Home Health
regulations create duplication within PACE policies, procedures and medical records.
These duplications increase program operating costs and decrease efficiencies. We
have developed a regulatory cross-walk to compare the requirements of PACE to those
outlined in the Kansas Home Health regulations. This cross-walk was presented to the
Kansas Department on Aging, the Kansas Department of Health and Environment, and
the Secretary on Aging for review. Dave Halferty, Director of Nursing Facility and PACE
Division, has verbalized the support of the KDOA and KDHE.

Unnecessary Costs: When a person enrolls in PACE they receive all Medicare,
Medicaid and Part D benefits from the PACE program. The PACE program is the
payment source and utilizes an interdisciplinary team approach to manage care and
deliver services effectively and efficiently. Currently, Kansas PACE providers are
contracting Home Health services and/or managing the costs associated with duplicate
regulation. Via Christi HOPE could reduce monthly operating costs by nearly $10,000
by providing these services internally. These savings will be necessary for PACE to
balance rising costs of care against state and federal funding cuts. Our goal is to
continue to provide Kansans with access to a high-quality healthcare alternative,
dedicated to promoting independence and choice for the older adult.

HOUSE AGING & LONG TERM CARE
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House Subcommittee on Fiduciary Abuse

Recommendation to the House Committee on Aging and Long Term Care

Brief
The House Subcommittee on Fiduciary Abuse respectfully makes the following
recommendations:

. Amend K.S.A. 21-3437 by inserting language relating to the authority granted by
durable power of attorney (see attached)
. Form an interim committee on fiduciary abuse to conduct a more in-depth analysis

of the laws concerning dependent adults and fiduciary abuse

Background
After reviewing the laws concerning fiduciary abuse in other states, it appears that a multitude of

jurisdictions utilize an “elder adult abuse™ approach. The statutes in these states treat violations
of power of attorney as abuse of an elder adult. allowing such violations to be prosccuted
criminally. While Kansas currently lacks the ability to prosecute such violations criminally.
Kansas statutes do provide criminal penalties for “mistreatment of a dependent adult.”™ This
statute, however, does not include power of attorney violations in the conduct that constitutes
such mistreatment. Loren Snell of the Kansas Attorney General's Office spoke to the
subcommittee and presented additional language amending K.S.A. 21-3437 to include the use of
authority granted by power of attorney in the list of actions that could amount to mistreatment of
a dependent adult. While this amendment would provide a “quick fix,” so to speak, Mr. Snell
expressed the opinion that an in-depth investigation and revision of the laws regarding dependent
adults and fiduciary abuse would be necessary to ensure that the entirety of the problem is
addressed.

HOUSE AGJNG & LONG TERM CARE
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* derlined italics represent proposed amendatory language**=

21-3437. Mistreatment of a dependent adult. (a) Mistreatment of a dependent adult is
knowingly and intentionally committing one or more of the following acts:

(1) Infliction of physical injury, unreasonable confinement or cruel punishment upon a
dependent adult;

(2) taking unfair advantage of a dependent adult's physical or financial resources for
another individual's personal or financial advantage by the use of undue influence,
coercion, harassment, duress, deception. false representation or false pretense,_or by use of
authority granted by durable power of attorney or other similar instrument by a caretaker
or another person; or

(3) omitting or depriving treatment. goods or services by a caretaker or another person
which are necessary to maintain physical or mental health of a dependent adult.

(b) No dependent adult is considered to be mistreated for the sole reason that such
dependent adult relies upon or is being furnished treatment by spiritual means through
prayer in lieu of medical treatment in accordance with the tenets and practices of a
recognized church or religious denomination of which such dependent adult is a member or
adherent.

(¢) For purposes of this section: "Dependent adult" means an individual 18 years of age or
older who is unable to protect their own interest. Such term shall include:

(1) Any resident of an adult care home including but not limited to those facilities defined
by K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments thereto;

(2) any adult cared for in a private residence;

(3) any individual kept, cared for, treated, boarded or otherwise accommodated in a
medical care facility;

(4) any individual with mental retardation or a developmental disability receiving services
through a community mental retardation facility or residential facility licensed under
K.S.A. 75-3307b and amendments thereto:

(5) any individual with a developmental disability receiving services provided by a
community service provider as provided in the developmental disability reform act: or

(6) any individual kept, cared for, treated, boarded or otherwise accommodated in a state
psychiatric hospital or state institution for the mentally retarded.

(d) (1) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(1) is a severity level
6, person felony.

(2) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2) is a severity level 6,
person felony if the aggregate amount of the value of the resources is $100,000 or more.
(3) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2) is a severity level 7,
person felony if the aggregate amount of the value of the resources is at least $25,000 but
less than $100,000.

(4) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2) is a severity level 9.
person felony if the aggregate amount of the value of the resources is at least $1,000 but
less than $25.000.

(5) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2) is a class A person
misdemeanor if the aggregate amount of the value of the resources is less than $1,000.

(6) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(3) is a class A person
misdemeanor.

(7) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2) is a severity level 9.
person felony if the aggregate amount of the value of the resources is less than $1,000 and
committed by a person who has, within five years immediately preceding commission of
the crime, been convicted of mistreatment of a dependent adult two or more times.
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