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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMERCE AND LABOR COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Steve Brunk at 9:00 a.m. on March 18, 2009, in Room 784
of the Docking State Office Building.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:
Renae Jefferies, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Daniel Yoza, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Jerry Donaldson, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Dennis Hodgins, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Stephen Bainum, Committee Assistant

Others attending:
See attached list.

The Meeting was called to order by Chairman Steve Brunk at 9:00 a.m. He opened the hearing on SB 160.

SB 160 - Kansas minimum wage law; minimum wage increase.

The Chairman called upon Renae Jefferies, Assistant Revisor to explain SB 160. Tt increases the Kansas
Minimum Wage to $7.25 an hour on January 1, 2010. Section 1 (b) has new language that allows tips and
gratuities received by the employee to be used to make up the $7.25 an hour. If the tips and gratuities are not
enough to make up the $7.25 an hour then the employer must make up the difference. Renae then introduced
Balloon Amendment Representative Brunk.1 (Attachment 1). This balloon struck everything in Section 1 and
has the effect of repealing the Minimum Wage Law. The second Balloon Amendment dated March 18, 2009
(Attachment 2) adds two new amendments to the bill. Each of these amendments should be considered
separately. The first amendment has to do with newly hired employees who are less that 20 years of age, that
in lieu of the minimum wage they may be paid a wage of not less than $4.25 an hour for 90 consecutive
calendar days. The otheramendment adds a new Section 2 which allows the Secretary of Labor from and after
January 1, 2010 to adopt rules and regulations establishing the state minimum wage which is consistent with
and not less than the minimum wage established by the federal fair labor standards act.

Representative Grant wanted to lower the age in the first amendment from 20 to 18 years of age.
Representative Schwab asked if under the second amendment the Secretary of Labor could enact rules and
regulations to make the Kansas Minimum Wage higher than the Federal Minimum Wage. Renae said that

if it was more that the Federal rate it would not be consistent.

Representative Grange asked who does the bill cover. Renae said that it would cover those employees of
companies who do not deal in interstate commerce.

Representative Tietze asked Daniel Yoza to look up the age requirements in the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Representative Bethell mentioned some Amish farmers who are self sufficient and do a restaurant setting,
providing a meal out of what they produce, that they might not fall under the Fair Labor Standards-Act.

Representative Ruiz asked if the military fell under a different law. Renae said she thought that there was an
exemption for them in the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Representative Bowers asked about using the language “equal to” rather than “consistent with” in the second
amendment. Renae said that this was the language for a proper delegation.

Representative Brunk said that even though the amendments had his name on them it did not mean that he
was advocating for them. It was only because he asked Renae to draft the amendments.

Representative Tietze asked if the language “full time student” was just high school or did it include college
as well. Representative Brunk explained that a company wishing to hire a full time student would have to
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apply for an exemption to the Federal law. The Kansas law does not get in to that because it is covered by
the Federal law.

Representative Grange made a motion to adopt the language in the first amendment of the second Balloon
Amendment dated March 18, 2009. Representative Ruiz seconded the motion.

Representative Worley said that if we adopted the other Balloon Amendment which basically eliminates the
minimum wage that this amendment would not be necessary.

Representative Gatewood made a substitute motion to lower the age from 20 to 18 years of age, seconded by
Representative Garcia.

Representative Brunk said that since the language was “less than 20 years of age” the effect would be to
eliminate those who are 19 years old from the bill.

Representative Grange suggested that Representative Gatewood make ita floor amendment and indicated that
he would vote against the substitute motion.

Representative Schwab agreed with Representative Grange and said that he had a problem with going above
what the Federal law established.

The Chairman called for a voice vote on the substitute motion. The substitute motioned failed.

Back on the original motion to amend the Chairman called for a voice vote. The original motion to amend
the base bill carried.

Representative Schwab made a conceptual amendment to exempt non-profit business from the requirements
of the bill to pay the minimum wage. Representative Grange seconded the motion.

Daniel Yoza said that we should check to see if non-profits are already covered under the Fair Labor
Standards Act.

Representative Garcia asked if non-profits fall under the Fair Labor Standards Act. Daniel thought that they
were.

Representative Ruiz suggested that we carry that amendment on the floor. Representative Prescott agreed and
Representative Pottorff said that this issue should have come up before since the law has been in effect for

a long time.

The Chairman called for a vote on the conceptual amendment. The motion failed.

We are back on the bill as amended. Representative Grange made a motion to adopt the language of the

Balloon Amendment that requires the Secretary to adopt rules and regulations establishing the minimum
wage. The motion was seconded by Representative Bethell.

Representative Quigley asked if this amendment tied Kansas to the Federal Minimum Wage. Renae said that
the amendment would allow the Secretary to raise the minimum wage to be consistent with the Federal
Minimum wage and it would not have to come before the legislature to be raised.

Representative Schwab asked what would happen if the Fed raised the minimum wage $2.50. He would not
support giving that much power to the Feds and would vote against this amendment. Representative Palmer
was also concerned with giving too much authority to the Feds. Representative Prescott said that was the
reason we are considering this today. We are considering raising the minimum wage to $7.25 to match the
Feds. Representative Garcia asked if the minimum wage had ever been decreased. The consensus was that
it had never gone down.
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The Chairman called for a voice vote on the motion. The Chairman was in doubt on the vote and called for
a hand count. The hand count was 12 aye and 7 no. The motion carried.

Representative Grant made a motion to pass SB 160 out favorably for passage as amended. Representative
Hermanson seconded the motion.

Representative Grange suggested that the Representatives work with the Revisor to answer any questions they
may have.

The Chairman called for a voice vote. The motion carried.

The Chairman called the Committee’s attention to a document that was passed out about HB 2374
(Attachment 3). He advised that this was for information only and that we would have a hearing on it on
March 19, 2009. This is part of the stimulus package and provides approximately 69 million dollars to the
unemployment trust fund for people that are unemployed. It comes in two sections. A third of the money or
$22. 990,048 can only come if we change the base period for qualifying someone for unemployment benefits.
It is a policy change that would allow more people to receive unemployment benefits. The other two thirds
would come if we have two of the four provisions listed on the form. Kansas already has provision one. In
order to receive the money we would have to pick up a second policy change. Provision number four has
three reasons for allowing a worker to leave employment and qualify for unemployment benefits. Kansas
already has two of the three reasons in Kansas law. The progenitor of the bill chose to add the third reason
under provision four to make Kansas qualify with two provisions in law. So we are gathering information
about the meaning of the third reason in provision four. We will also be asking about the long run costs of
adopting the provision and if we can add a sunset to it. We are also looking at the options under provision
number two.

Representative Bethell asked if reason three of provision four allowed them to collect UI benefits while they
were taking care of a sick family member. Representative Brunk said that they have to first quit working for
their company and then they would be eligible for benefits only when they come back into the labor market
actively seeking employment.

Representative Garcia asked if we were going to hear this bill tomorrow. The answer was yes.

The next meeting is scheduled for March 19, 2009.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:17 a.m.
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As Amended by Senate Committee

Session of 20049

SENATE BILL No. 160

By Senators Francisco, Faust-Goudeau, ]Iale_\', Henslev, Holland, Kelly,

Kutala, Reitz, Steineger and Wysony

2-2

AN ACT concerning the minimum wage and maximum hours law:

= ) o

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:
Section 1. k=5 203 il . .

oo

Balloon Amendment

Representative Brunk. 1
February 26, 2009

repealing K.S.A. 44-1203

Revisor of Statutes Office: RJ
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9 See—2:  K.S.A. 44-1203 is hereby repealed.
10 Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its

11 publication in the statute book.

And by renumbering the remaining section accordingly
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As Amended by Senate Committee

Session of 2009
SENATE BILL No. 160

By Senators Francisco, Faust-Goudeau, Haley, Hensley, Holland, Kelly,
Kutala, Reitz, Steineger and Wysong

AN ACT concerning the minimum wage and maximum hours law;
amending K.S.A. 44-1203 and repealing the existing section.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 44-1203 is hereby amended to read as follows: 44-
1203. (a) Except as otherwise provided in the minimum wage and maxi-
mum hours law, every emplm er shall pay to each empimee wages at a
rate ef+ 526! = as follows:

(1) Prtor to September=5-2009 January 1, 2010, employee wages
shall be paid at a rate of not less than $2.65 an hom and

(2) onand after Septemberd-2009 January 1,2010, employee wages

shall be pam’ at a rate of not fess than $7.25 an hour

(b)
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: e i ior: In calculating such minimum wage rate,
an employer may include tips and gratuities received by an em-
ployee if such tips and gratuities have customarily constituted part
of the remuneration of the employee and if the employee concerned
actually received and retained such tips and gratuities. For em-
ployees receiving tips and gratuities, the employer shall pay a min-
imum wage of at least $2.13 an hour. If when combined with the
minimum wage rate prescribed in this subsection the amount of the
employee’s tips and gratuities are:

(1) At least equal to $7.25 an hour, no further payment is re-
quired by the employer; or

(2) less than $7.25 an hour, the employer must pay the employee
the difference between $7.25 an hour and the actual hourly amount

Representative Brunk

Balloon Amendment
March 18, 2009

Revisor of Statutes Office: RJ
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received by the employee determined by combining the amount of
tips and gratuities received by the employee with the minimum
wage prescribed by this subsection paid by the employer.

Newly hired employees who are less than 20 years of age, in lieu of the
minimum wage prescribed in subsection (a), may be paid by an

3 (¢) { The provisions of this section shall not apply to any employers
and employees who are covered under the provisions of section 6 of the
fair labor standards act of 1938 as amended (29 U.S.C.A. § 206), and as
amended by the fair labor standards amendments of 1974 and any other
acts amendatory thereof or supplemental thereto.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 44-1203 is hereby repealed.
Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its
publication in the statute book.

employer, during the first 90 consecutive calendar days after such
employee is initially employed by such employer, a wage which is not
less than $4.25 an hour. No employer may take any action to displace
employees (including partial displacements such as reduction in hours,
wages or employment benefits) for purposes of hiring individuals at the
wage authorized in this subsection.

(d)

New Sec. 2. (a) From and after January 1, 2010, the secretary shall
adopt rules and regulations establishing the state minimum wage. These
rules and regulations shall be consistent with and not less than the
minimum wage established by the federal fair labor standards act.

(b) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the minimum
wage and maximum hours law.

And by renumbering the remaining sections accordingly
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$22,990,048

$45,980,095

To receive the first To receive remaining 2/3 of Special Transfer to Ul Trust Fund,

1/3 of State law must have TWO of the four following provisions:
Special Transfer
to Ul Trust Fund: 1 2 3 4
State must have Provide benefits Extend Ul benefits Provide a Workers will not be disqualified for leaving work for
Alternative Base to workers seeking while worker weekly dependent compelling family reasons, which must include
Period part-time is in training allowance the following THREE reasons:
employment W _\‘qp( of at least $15
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Needs to be added to
Kansas law

Has been policy of
Kansas for years —
need codification of
long-standing
practice

Kansas does not
have such law

Kansas does not
have such law

Kansas has
this in law
K.S.A.
44-706(a)(12)

Kansas has
this in law
K.S.A.
44-706(a)(4)

Kansas does not
have such law




