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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Gary Hayzlett at 12:30 p.m. on February 16, 2009, in Room
783 of the Docking State Office Building.

All members were present except Representative Jerry Henry who was excused.

Committee staff present:
Bruce Kinzie, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Hank Avila, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Jill Shelley, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Betty Boaz, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Representative Niles Dillmore
Representative Lee Tafanelli
Representative Jason Watkins
Secretary of Health and Environment Roderick Bremby
Ron Gaches for Jim Hanni, AAA Kansas
Terry Heidner, Legislative Liaison, KDOT
Captain Art Wilburn, KS Highway Patrol
Tamara O’Conner, State Farm Insurance
Suzanne Wikle, KS Action for Childrlen
Jim Gartner, Representing AT & T Kansas
Terry Holdren, KS Farm Bureau (Written Testimony Only)
Dennis Cooley, American Academy of Pediatrics, (Written Testimony Only)
Chris Maurich, Lobbyist for ABATE
Ray Thomas
Art Swank, Vermeer Great Plains, Olathe, KS
Don McNeeley, KS Automobile Dealers Ass’n.

Others attending:
See attached list.

The next meeting is scheduled for February 17, 2009.
The meeting was adjourned at 3:15 p.m.
Chairman Hayzlett called the meeting to order. He recognized two 4-H groups who were visiting.

Chairman recognized Earl Willis with the Highway 50 Association who made some brief comments then he
introduced Willis Hecht, Vice Chairman of the Association, who provided a power-point presentation for the
Committee. The Highway 50 Association asked for continued support for the completion of projects in the
current plan, to be supportive of a new plan, and to be supportive of improvements to Highway 50 (for
example four lanes, improved shoulders, and passing lanes). Mr. Hecht reintroduced Earl Willis who made
some additional comments.

As a courtesy to Representative Dillmore, who needed to be in a meeting in the Capitol, Chairman Hayzlett
allowed him to give his testimony on HB 2133. (Attachment #1)

The Chairman opened the hearing on HB 2143.

HB 2143 - Driver’s licenses; restrictions.

Chairman Hayzlett recognized Secretary of Health and Environment Roderick Bremby. (Attachment #2)
According to Secretary Bremby, Kansas statistics show while teen drivers ages 14 - 19 account for only six
percent of all Kansas registered drivers, they represent 20 percent of all crashes. He said according to KDOT
teen drivers were involved in 16,686 crashes in 2007 and 68 Kansas teens died with 4,526 being injured as
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aresult of car crashes in our state. Secretary Bremby said comprehensive GDL programs are associated with
reductions of approximately 20 percent in 16 year old drivers’ fatal crash involvement rates. Additionally
programs that include a mandatory waiting period, at least 30 hours of supervised driving, and passenger and
nighttime restrictions were associated with reductions of 16-21 percent in fatal-crash involvement rates of 16
year old drivers. He concluded by saying it was time for Kansas to act on the evidence base that calls for
graduated drivers licensing.

Chairman Hayzlett recognized Representative Lee Tafanelli. (Attachment #3) He said the chief reason for
approving HB 2143 is that it will save lives but he also wanted to point out the economic benefits of
approving HB 2143. He said according to research conducted last year by AAA, teen crashes cost Kansans
a total of $467 million annually. According to Representative Tafanelli, these costs which include medical
care, emergency and police services, and property damages do not just impact the individual drivers. He said
national statistics show that almost 85% of medical costs for car crash victims fall on society. He concluded
by saying because of the economic impact on our state, and the emotional impact on Kansas families and
communities he urged the Committee to support HB 2143.

Ron Gaches provided testimony prepared by James Hanni, who had been called away. (Attachment #4)

According to Mr. Hanni’s testimony AAA Kansas supports HB 2143 which would make Kansas the 48" state
with an intermediate stage of licensing. He said the most important factor and effective countermeasure in
reducing motor vehicle crashes among novice drivers is gaining experience with a supervising adult. His
testimony concluded by saying the improvements proposed to the licensing system are simple, fair, and
targeted at the issues most likely to keep kids safe and significantly reduce crashes on Kansas roads.

Terry Heidner, Legislative Liaison for the KDOT was the next proponent to present testimony. (Attachment
#5) According to Mr. Heidner, this bill addresses the three areas where young drivers are most at risk, more
driving experience while in the learning phase, limitations on teen passengers, and nighttime driving when
they are first allowed to drive without adult supervision. He urged support for HB 2143.

The Chairman recognized Captain Art Wilburn, Kansas Highway Patrol. (Attachment #6) According to
Captain Wilburn, this bill would incorporate components of what is commonly referred to as Graduated
Driver’s Licensing into Kansas law. He said the Patrol recognizes challenges that may exist when considering
a bill, such as HB 2143, that would bring about a dramatic change in the way of life for young Kansans. The
Highway Patrol supports the life-saving potential of HB 2143.

Tamara O’Conner, Public Affairs Supervisor for State Farm Insurance in Kansas was the next proponent.
(Attachment #7), She said State Farm knows motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for
teenagers with inexperienced driving, lack of good judgment and risk-taking behaviors being significant
contributors to the high number of teen-crash rates. She said most states have implemented the three-stage
GDL approach that addresses the three greatest risks to young drivers; inexperience, multiple passengers and
late-night driving -- HB 2143 seeks to address all three of those areas.

The next proponent was Suzanne Wikle, Director of Health Policy for Kansas Action for Children.
(Attachment #8) Ms. Wikle said when compared to the rest of the nation, Kansas is clearly lagging behind
when it comes to properly preparing teens for the responsibility of driving. She said by instituting the
components of HB 2143 Kansas will bring our licensing system up to speed. She concluded by saying Kansas
is one of only three states that have not taken important steps to better prepare novice teen drivers. Without
a cost to the state implementing HB 2143 will create safer roads for all of us.

Jim Gartner, representing AT & T Kansas was recognized next. (Attachment #9) Mr. Gartner said that AT
& T Kansas is neutral on the issue of providing restrictions on teens related to using wireless communication
services while driving. He said certain situations could arise in which a teenage driver may witness and need
to report an illegal activity or summon medical or emergency help for themselves or someone else. Mr.
Gartner provided proposed language that would amend HB 2143 to allow use of wireless communications
in an emergency situation.
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The Chairman drew the Committee’s attention to written testimony in support of HB 2143 from
Representative Jason Watkins (Attachment #10); Dennis Cooley, MD, President-elect of the American
Academy of Pediatrics (Attachment #11); and Terry Holdren, KS Farm Bureau (Attachment #12).

There were no other proponents to HB 2143.

Bill Kennedy was the only opponent (no testimony provided). He disagreed with the driver education part
of the bill.

Chairman Hayzlett closed the hearing on HB 2143.

The Chairman open the hearing on HB 2133

HB 2133 - Right-of-way violations, increased penalties.

Representative Nile Dillmore spoke in support of HB 2133. (Attachment #1) According to Representative
Dillmore he introduced this bill two years ago and the purpose is the same as it was then, that being to
increase public safety. He said current law provides little in penalties for a right-of-way violation, even when
that violation results in serious injury and death. This bill would strengthen those penalties and create greater
awareness of this behavior and provide a meaningful deterrent.

Chairman Hayzlett recognized Chris Maurich, lobbyist for ABATE, Kansas. (Attachment 13) According to
Mr. Maurich they are asking for changes to HB 2133 to give the courts the tools they need to penalize
violators appropriately when serious injury or death occurs because of right-of-way violations concerning
vulnerable roadway users such as motorcyclists, bicyclists, pedestrians and others. This bill would increase
penalties for violations and provide a mechanism for law enforcement to accurately charge those who violate
the right of way of others and severely injure or kill other roadway users. He asked the committee to support
this bill and work to provide a bill that will provide language authorizing judges to impose penalties on those
convicted of accidents. Mr. Maurich concluded by providing names of other states who have passed such

legislation.

The next proponent for HB 2133 was Ray Thomas. (Attachment #14) According to Mr. Thomas previously
suggested amendments had overly severe penalties and no case by case flexibility. Mr. Thomas supports this
bill because it gives the judges authority to impose penalties on those convicted of accidents. He feels there
should be some latitude for fines whether you hit a post or hit and kill a person. He said HB 2133 is intended
to reduce the high number of right-of-way violation accidents and deaths through deterrence as well as
providing justice for victims of these illegal acts resulting in severe injury or death. He provided the
Committee with statistics on the number of fatality accidents and each one was given a $60 fine.

There were no other proponents and no opponents so the Chairman closed the hearing on HB 2133.

Chairman Hayzlett opened the hearing on HB 2188.

HB 2188 - Dealer-hauler full-privilege trailer license plates.

The Chairman recognized Art Swank, President of Vermeer Great Plains, Inc. (Attachment #15) He said
Vermeer Great Plains, Inc. manufactures industrial and agricultural equipment with the territory they represent
including all of Kansas, Oklahoma and the western half of Missouri. Mr. Swank said they sell, lease and rent
equipment and their seven salesmen travel to job sites and demonstrate the equipment that the customer is
considering buying. He said his salesmen are using trailers to haul equipment for demonstration purposes,
delivery or for pick-up. Under current law they have to license and register all of the trailers regardless of
whether these trailers are for resale. Mr. Swank said they are asking to be allowed to purchase up to ten “full-
privilege license plates” per year for the dealerships. He said they would transfer the “full-privilege license
plates” from one trailer to another. He concluded by saying passage of HB 2188 would be of extreme benefit
to their business and many other retailers and manufacturers of non-highway equipment that must be

transported by trailers.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

Page 3

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.




CONTINUATION SHEET

Minutes of the House Transportation Committee at 1:30 p.m. on February 16, 2009, in Room 783 of the
Docking State Office Building.

The last proponent of HB 2188 was Don McNeely, President of the Kansas Automobile Dealers Association.
(Attachment #16) Mr. McNeeley was appearing in support of HB 2188. He said he appreciated the
opportunity to provide input into the drafting of this bill. He did ask to amend HB 2188 to match the renewal
date of full use dealer tags to that of the regular dealer tags to avoid the confusion of the expiration dates and
to assist the Motor Vehicle Division in the administration of the annual dealer licensing renewal process.

There were no other proponents and no opponents so the Chairman closed the hearing on HB 2188.

It was the Chairman’s desire to work HB 2143 so he opened the floor to discussions, comments or motions.
Representative King provided the Committee with the sub-committee report. He handed out a balloon

amendment to the Committee. (Attachment #17) Representative King made a motion to adopt the sub-
committee report into HB 2143. seconded by Representative Menghini and the motion carried. Discussion

followed on the amendment proposed by Jim Gartner on the emergency use of a cell phone to report illegal
activity or summon emergency help. A motion was made by Representative Wetta to amend HB 2143 as a

new bill and such bill will be designated as Substitute HB 2143, seconded by Representative Swanson.,
motion carried. A motion was made by Representative Swanson to favorably pass Substitute HB 2143,
seconded by Representative Menghini, the motion carried.

Chairman Hayzlett opened HB 2134 to the Committee for discussion, questions or motions. The Committee
discussed this bill and an amendment proposed by the Motor Vehicle Division, Dept. of Revenue. The
Chairman said he would open this bill for discussion again tomorrow.

The Chairman opened HB 2152 for discussion, questions or motions. Staff provided an explanation of the
bill. After discussions and all questions were answered, Representative Burgess made a motion to pass

favorably HB 2152. seconded by Representative Kleeb and the motion carried.

There being no further business before the Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 3:15 p.m.
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FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS
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NILE DILLMORE
REPRESENTATIVE, 92ND DISTRICT
1102 JEFFERSON
WICHITA, KANSAS 67203
(316) 264-2988

"COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS
repdillmore @worldnet.att.net JOINT C

MEMBER: ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

STATE CAPITOL BUILDING, ROOM 278-W
TOPEKA, KANSAS B6612-1504
(785)296-7647

dillmore @ house. state.ks,us HOUSE OF

REPRESENTATIVES
Testimony on HB 2133

House Transportation Committee
February 16, 2009

TOPEKA

Mr. Chairman and members of the Transportation Committee I am
appearing today in support of HB 2133 concerning certain right-of-way
violations; providing for increased penalties.

Some of you may remember this bill when I introduced it two years
ago. The purpose for this bill remains as it did then. That is increase
public safety.

Current law provides little in penalties for a right-of-way violation,
even when that violation results in serious injury and even death. This
bill would strengthen those penalties and I believe create greater
awareness of this behavior and provide a meaningful deterrent.

You will hear from other proponents who are much better prepared
than I am to highlight the urgent need for this legislation. What I do
know is that we have worked hard to prepare a bill that is, I believe
to ensure a safer environment for ail Kansas

workable and wi

drivers.

T

Thank you Mr. Chairman for hearing this bill and I urge you and this
committee to pass HB 2133 favorably.

Nile Dillmore
House Transportation

Date:__2-/6-0F
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Testimony on HB 2143
Graduated Drivers Licensing

Presented to
Committee on Transportation

Presented by
Roderick L. Bremby, Secretary
Kansas Department of Health and Environment

February 16, 2009

Chairman Hayzlett and members of the Committee on Transportation, I am Roderick Bremby,
Secretary of the Kansas Department of Health and Environment. I am pleased to present
testimony today in support of HB 2143 which proposes to strengthen graduated drivers licensing
laws (GDL) in Kansas.

Motor vehicle crashes are a serious, though preventable, public health problem. Unintentional -
injuries kill more young Kansans than any other cause, and motor vehicle crashes result in nearly
half of these deaths.

e In2007, 7,512 people were killed nationally in crashes involving young drivers ages 16-
20; 3,108 of the fatalities were young drivers and 1,967 were passengers of teen drivers.

e Kansas statistics show a similar pattern.

1. While teen drivers ages 14 — 19 account for only six percent of all Kansas registered
drivers, they represent 20 percent of all crashes.

2. According to the Kansas Department of Transportation teen drivers were involved in
16,686 crashes in 2007. Clearly, this represents an at risk population in which a
focused intervention to promote safety can have far-reaching results.

3. Sixty - eight Kansas teens died and 4,526 were injured as a result of car crashes in our
state in 2007 (Kansas Department of Transportation).

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) programs have become an increasingly popular approach
used by other states” policy makers to effectively reduce the serious problem of high rates of

CURTIS STATE OFFICE BUILDING, 1000 SW JACKSON ST., STE. 540, TOPEKA, KS 66612-186%ise Transportation
Voice 785-296-0461  Fax 785-368-6368 Date: 2—/£-OF
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fatal and nonfatal crashes among beginning drivers. These programs vary from state to state, but
are designed to provide novice drivers the opportunity to gain driving experience in less risky
circumstances, typically implementing a combination of provisions.

Comprehensive GDL programs are associated with reductions of approximately 20 percent in
16-year-old drivers’ fatal crash involvement rates. Also, programs that include a mandatory
waiting period, at least 30 hours of supervised driving, and passenger and nighttime restrictions
were associated with reductions of 16-21 percent in fatal-crash involvement rates of 16-year-old

drivers.

It is time for Kansas to act on the evidence base that calls for graduated drivers licensing.
Enacting a Graduated Drivers License bill will save lives and reduce injuries to Kansas teens.
Thank you again for the opportunity to provide this information to the committee. I will be
happy to answer any questions you might have.
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Chairman Hayzlett and Members of the Committee,

Thank you for the opportunity to testify in support of HB 2143.

CHAIRMAN:

MEMBER:

TRANSPORTATION AND
PUBLIC SAFETY BUDGET

APPROPRIATIONS

VISION 2020

VETERANS, MILITARY AND
HOMELAND SECURITY

You’ll hear from a number of proponents today about the lives that stand to be saved by our
implementation of a Graduated Drivers Licensing policy. This is clearly the chief reason for

approving of this bill. But, I also wanted to

2143.

Economic Impact of Teen Crashes

With more than 16,000 teen crashes occurring in our state
tremendous and far-reaching.

and more than 6,500 injuries every single year.

point to the economic benefits of approving HB

each year, the economic impact is
These crashes result in more than 12,000 property damage claims

According to research conducted last year by AAA, teen crashes cost Kansans a total of $467

million annually.

These costs — which include medical care, emergency and police services, and property damages
— do not just impact the individual drivers. In fact, national statistics show that almost 85% of
medical costs for car crash victims fall on society.

Employers in our state are absorbing the cost of teen crashes throu
medical costs that fall to their group health care plans.

teen crashes through their auto and health insurance premiums.

gh lost productivity and the
Kansans can additionally bear the cost of

touse Transporiation
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Timeliness in this Economy
As you are well aware, our state is facing a serious financial situation. We’ve had to make a
number of difficult decisions, and will likely make many more before this Session is over.

Just as we are working to balance the state budget, Kansans are working to balance their personal
budgets. In this economy, the cost of private driver’s education and access to school-based
driver’s ed programs could be out-of-reach for many Kansas families. By strengthening our
drivers licensing system in this way, we can equip parents with better resources and provide a
more uniform system for training teen drivers.

Because of the economic impact on our state, and the emotional impact on Kansas families and
communities, I urge you to support HB 2143.



TESTIMONY, HB 2143
Presented by James R. Hanni,
Executive Vice President, AAA Kansas
February 16, 2009
House Transportation Committee

AAA Kansas supports HB 2143 which would make Kansas the 48th state with an
intermediate stage of licensing. The changes to K.S.A. 8-235d and 8-296 and K.S.A.
2008 Supp. 8-237 are simple and straightforward. They provide only the most effective,
yet fair and reasonable, countermeasures to make substantial reductions in motor vehicle
crashes, injuries and death among Kansas’ young drivers: 1) A twelve-month learner’s
permit for supervised driving in phase one, before restricted licensing, and 2) the
insertion of a six month intermediate stage of licensing at age 16, that extends supervised
driving after 9 p.m. at night and limits to one the number of non-sibling passengers when
driving unsupervised.

Research conducted by Wichita State University and others indicates overwhelming
support from Kansas voters for a graduated system of licensing with these features. The
study also identified a number of issues related to teen driving and the attitudes,
knowledge, beliefs and behaviors of Kansas parents and teens.

Why is a one year learner permit important?

The most important factor and effective countermeasure in reducing motor vehicle
crashes among novice drivers is gaining experience with a supervising adult. In the
Kansas study mentioned above, more than 90 percent of both rural and urban parents said
12 twelve months was either about right or not long enough.

Those GDL systems whose effects have been studied with scientifically sound research
designs show crash reductions of 20-39% (Shope, 2007). The largest crash-reducing
effects of GDL are found among states with twelve month learner periods. Georgia and
North Carolina, both with twelve-month learner periods, report almost identical effects
with 16 year-old crash rates declining 39 and 38 percent, respectively. 17 year-old
crashes declined 19 and 20 percent, respectively (Rios et al., 2006; Foss et al., 2007).
States with six month learner periods consistently find lesser effects on teen crash rates.

Why is an intermediate stage of licensing important?
Forty-seven other states have intermediate stages that include night driving and passenger
restrictions. Only Kansas, Arkansas and North Dakota remain without one. A bill has
been introduced in the North Dakota legislature and they are on the verge of passage.

The intermediate stage allows for the gradual transition to full driving privileges by
extending supervised driving protections against the riskiest activities of novice young
drivers: driving at night and the presence of other passengers, for an additional six
months. Every state that has adopted an intermediate stage of licensing has achieve

.. . . Qlouse fransportation
double-digit reductions in crashes. P
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How effective is a night driving restriction and why 9 p.m. to begin?
The chart (left) below shows the substantial reduction in 16 and 17 year-old crashes as a
result of the 9 p.m. night driving restriction in North Carolina as compared to adult
drivers. The chart also shows the lasting effects of the restriction. The other chart (right)
shows the distribution of Kansas 16 & 17 year-old driving trips at night. Over 75 percent
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of night crashes occur between 9 p.m. and midnight, with 32% of all night crashes
occurring between 9 p.m. and 10 p.m. In order to truly protect and achieve a significant
reduction in crashes among our young drivers, adopting this proposal is crucial.

Crash Rate Ratios for 16 & 17 year-olds _
vs. 25-54 year-old, NC 1991-2003 Why a 9 p.m. restriction is so important:

GDL Figure 4 Distribution of 16 & 17 year-old Kansas driver
l 380{,-’0 nighttime (9 p.m - 6 a.m) lrips on day prior to interview

18 an 1A% g 254
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S0 pm 1841 pm 4942 pm’ 424am  12am  2dam  Idam  4Sam  Sfam

Why is a passenger restriction important and is it effective in reducing crashes?

The left chart below shows the increased risk of death for 16 and 17 year-old drivers based on the
number of passengers in the vehicle. Passengers are a huge distraction for inexperienced drivers
Forty-one states have a passenger restriction. The chart on the right clearly shows both the
increase in risk of passengers and night driving.

Increased Risk of Driver Death by 16 & 17 Year-old Driver Death Rate
Number of Passengers and Driver Age by Time and Presence of Passengers

i
2 l S:::i:g:; 207% m No Passenger
= i > B Any Passenger(s)

6.37
3+ passengers 1 82% ; T mm—
[ 158%| ! _
% [ = ' 3.26 |

i 6 am- 10 pm 10 - midnight

Source Chen et al, JAMA, 2000 Source: Chen et al., JAMA, 2000

Driver Age

How do Kansas parents feel about these proposed restrictions?
e 82 percent of Kansas parents endorse having a passenger restriction limiting the number
of young passengers for the initial six months of unsupervised driving by teen drivers.

e A substantial majority of parents think Kansas should also have a night driving restriction
during teens first months of driving.

e Parents overwhelmingly endorse a cell phone restriction while teens are driving (89%).

The improvements we propose to the licensing system of licensing are simple, fair, reasonable
and targeted at the issues most likely to keep kids safe and significantly reduce crashes on Kansas
roads. A graduated system of licensing costs parents and taxpayers nothing, ultimately leads to
lower economic costs, brings clarity to parents and their teens on how to keep their kids safe
while they learn to drive and, most importantly, keeps our young adults safe at the most
dangerous time of their lives. For these reasons and the reasons brought forth by other
proponents, we support HB 2143 and ask that you pass it out of the House Transportation
Committee favorably.

YA
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REGARDING HOUSE BILL 2143
RELATING TO GRADUATED DRIVERS LICENSE

February 16, 2009
Mr. Chairman and Committee Members:

My name is Terry Heidner, Legislative Liaison, for the Kansas Department of Transportation. I am here to
provide testimony in support for House Bill 2143, an act relating to a graduated driver’s licensing system for
Kansas teen drivers. This proposed legislation was one of the many recommendations from the Driving Force,
a citizen task force studying ways to reduce fatalities and injuries on Kansas roadways. Young, novice drivers
are greatly overrepresented in motor vehicle crashes. Although they make up only 6 percent licensed drivers,
they are involved in 17 percent of fatal crashes and 23 percent of all crashes. According to research data
provided by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL)
is a countermeasure with proven effectiveness in reducing novice driver crashes.

Over the past three years, Kansas has made significant progress toward improving the health and well-being of
our next generation by updating two of three key child passenger safety policies. The Kansas Legislature
approved a booster seat bill in 2006. The percent of children in the 5 through 9 age group that are properly
restrained has risen from 53 percent in 2006, to 62 percent in 2007, and to 69 percent in 2008.

In 2007, the Kansas Legislature continued its commitment to child passenger safety by approving a primary
teen seat belt law. This law permits law enforcement officials to stop and issue citations to unbelted teen
drivers or teen passengers without the requirement of a second infraction. Qur state’s teen seat belt law
officially went into effect January 1, 2008.

The third child passenger safety area is graduated drivers licensing. The Legislature first considered a
comprehensive graduated drivers licensing policy in 2007 and again in 2008. During both Sessions, the
proposal was approved by the Senate, but not brought before the full House for consideration. HB 2143 would
provide teens with more driving experience prior to earning an unrestricted license. GDL policies that have
most effectively reduced injuries and deaths in other states also include a limitation on the number of teen
passengers riding with a teen driver and a limitation on late-night driving. HB 2143 addresses these two areas
as well. To date, 40 other states have implemented a graduated drivers licensing policy that includes these two
components.

This bill addresses the three areas where young drivers are most at risk; more driving experience while in the
learning phase, limitations on teen passengers, and nighttime driving when they are first allowed to drive
without adult supervision. I would appreciate your favorable action on House Bill 2143.

House Transporiation

OFFICE OF THE BUDGET Date:__J-/4-0F
Ethan Erickson, Chief Attachment #jf__

Dwight D. Eisenhower State Office Building
700 S.W. Harrison Street; Topeka, KS 66603-3745 ¢ (785) 296-35397 = TFax: (785) 296-1543
TTY (Hearing Impaired): (785) 296-3585 * e-mail: publicinfotrksdot.org * Public Access at North Entrance of Building




— hloer Sebelius,
KANSAS S Mo, S

HIGHWAY PATROL www.kansashighwaypatrol.org

Testimony on House Bill 2143
House Transportation Committee

Presented by
Captain Art Wilburn
Kansas Highway Patrol
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Good afternoon Mr. Chairman and members of the committee. My name is Art Wilburn
and | appreciate the opportunity to appear before you today regarding House Bill 2143.
This bill would incorporate components of what is commonly referred to as Graduated
Driver's Licensing or “GDL” into Kansas law.

The Patrol is dedicated to the promotion of traffic safety and the reduction of injuries
and fatalities from motor vehicle crashes. Our experience as a law enforcement agency
supports education and experience as key elements in developing safe driving habits,
especially with teen drivers. We recognize that experience and maturity are two
significant factors in a large number of crashes involving young drivers. Patrol troopers
see the horrors of what happens when teens try to “show off” for their friends or when
their peers distract their attention from driving. Teens also lack practical knowledge of
driving, particularly in adverse weather conditions, such as heavy rain, dense fog, snow,
and ice.

Graduated Driver's License programs are proven to help teens gain maturity and
experience behind the wheel, which assist in reducing the high crash rates for drivers in
this age group. Although teens make up a small percentage of licensed drivers, they are
over-represented in injury and fatality crashes. Teens rank highest in crashes attributed
to speeding, aggressive and reckless driving, and distractions. All these factors could be
minimized with education, experience, and maturity. Several of the provisions set forth
in House Bill 2143 tackle issues proven to reduce teen crash rates.

The Patrol recognizes challenges that may exist when considering a bill, such as HB
2143, that would bring about a dramatic change in the way of life for young Kansans.
The Highway Patrol supports the life-saving potential of HB 2143, and we ask that your
committee give this bill favorable support. | appreciate the opportunity to address you
today. At this time, | will stand for questions.
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Good Morning Chairman and members of the committee. My name is Tamara O’Connor.
I am a Public Affairs Supervisor for State Farm Insurance in Kansas.

State Farm has a long standing commitment to make our roads safer for all our customers,
as well as families across Kansas. We feel it is our responsibility to be a leader in raising

public awareness, supporting stronger laws, and leading research efforts on auto safety
issues.

Nationally, we know motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for teenagers.
On average, more than 10 teens are killed each day in the United States and many more
are injured as a result of motor vehicle crashes. Driving inexperience, lack of good
judgment, and risk-taking behaviors are significant contributors to the high number of
teen crash rates.

It has been estimated that if the current status quo remains unchanged among this group,
tens of thousands of teens will die in the United States in next ten years. Others are here
today to provide teen driver crash statistics and estimates for Kansas, so I won’t go into
those equally alarming numbers. Instead, I will focus on sharing with you a comparison
of what we know about Kansas compared to other states, as well as what we know about
GDL in helping to reverse negative trends to improve the problem.

According to experts, Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) is one of the few tools effective
in reducing the crash risk of new drivers. Research studies estimate a crash reduction of
up to 40% in states with strong GDL laws.

Driving conditions have changed tremendously in past 20 years across the U.S. and in
Kansas. Speed limits have increased, cars are more powerful, and we spend twice the
time on roadways as we did just two decades ago, yet the licensing law in Kansas has not
changed. Kansas unfortunately lags behind 47 other states that have updated licensing
systems in place. Meaning Kansas is 1 of only 3 states who hasn’t updated its drivers
licensing system.

Most states have implemented 3-stage GDL approach that addresses the 3 greatest risks
to young drivers: inexperience, multiple passengers, and late-night driving. HB 2143
seeks to address all three of those areas.

Experts believe one of the most effective GDL provisions is an extended learner’s period,
whereby higher-risk, unsupervised driving is ultimately delayed. Currently some states,
like Kansas, require the learner’s permit to be held for six months. Unfortunately for
many teens, this does not provide enough experience in varied circumstances including
inclement weather and trip characteristics. We know after implementing a one-year,
adult supervised learning period, other states have seen a 50% decrease in teen crashes
and 20-30% fewer fatalities.

Minimizing distractions by restricting passengers is proven to reduce crash risks. The
fatal crash risk of a 16 year-old driver is found to double with two teen passengers are in
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the vehicle, and triple with more than three teen passengers, compared to the teen driving
alone. Several states have reported positive results from passenger restrictions, including
California, which showed a 38% reduction in crashes where teen passengers were injured
or killed while riding with a 16-year-old driver. North Carolina attributes a 32%
reduction in multi-passenger crashes among 16-year-old drivers and 15% reduction
among 17-year-olds to their passenger restriction.

States with nighttime driving restrictions show crash reductions up to 60 percent. Teens
are twice as likely to die in a car crash during nighttime hours. Fatality rates for 16-year-
olds are approximately two times higher at night than during the daytime. National
statistics indicate almost half of all teen crash fatalities occur after 9 p.m. at night.

As the country’s leading auto insurer we know that auto insurance is more expensive for
teens than any other group. Why? It’s the math. Teens have more crashes than older
drivers — a lot more. Sadly, the numbers represent injuries and fatalities. While there is
no specific data on the effects of strengthened graduated licensing laws and their direct
impact on insurance premium rates, I can tell you that rate setting is largely driven by
claims costs. Any measure that reduces crashes, injury, etc., lowers claim costs, which in
turn ultimately has a favorable influence on rates.

State Farm firmly believes strong graduated licensing systems like HB 2143 have merit.
Research undeniably shows that immaturity and inexperience, coupled with distractions,
equals a dangerous and deadly driving combination for teens learning to drive. Graduated
licensing helps keep teens out of high-risk driving situations, while permitting them to
gradually gain on-road experience in low-risk environments. Kansas is behind the curve
on this important issue and has a significant opportunity to make simple, effective, no-
cost changes that will help reverse negative teen driver trends, resulting in safer roads and
reduced costs for all.

Chairman and the committee thank you for your time, and thank you to all those who
helped draft this legislation.
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Good afternoon Chairman Hayzlett and committee members. My name is
Suzanne Wikle and I serve as director of health policy for Kansas Action for
Children. Tt is my pleasure to appear before you today in strong support of HB
2143.

When compared to the rest of the nation, Kansas is clearly lagging behind when
it comes to properly preparing our teens for the responsibility of driving. By
mstituting the components of HB 2143 Kansas will bring our licensing system
up to speed and make the roads safer for everyone. The three greatest risks to
new teen drivers are inexperience, multiple passengers and late night driving —
all three of which are addressed in HB 2143.

Inexperience: The proposal before you address the inexperience of teen
drivers by implementing a 12 month instruction permit. Under current law, 16
year olds are able to obtain a completely unrestricted license simply by passing
a test — without the requirement of an instruction permit. By assuring that
Kansas teens hold an instruction permit for a full year, they will have adult
supervised driving in all seasons and weather conditions. Research in other
states has shown up to a 50% decrease in 16 year old teen crashes after
implementing a one-year adult-supervised learning period.

Multiple Passengers: Once teens have the privilege of unsupervised driving,
the presence of multiple teen passengers poses one of the greatest dangers. The
likelihood of death increases when the number of passengers increase. HB
2143 addresses the danger of multiple passengers by limiting new teen drivers
to one teenage passenger during the first six months of unsupervised driving.
This six-month limitation will better prepare teens to manage distractions on the
road.

Late-Night Driving: Research tells us that late-night driving poses a serious
risk for teen drivers. Nationally, nearly half of all teen crash fatalities occur
after 9:00pm. HB 2143 limits teen drivers, during their first six months of
unsupervised driving, to only driving after 9:00pm for work or school activities.
This provision of the legislation, together with the passenger limitation, will
prepare Kansas teen drivers for the full responsibility of driving.

In summary, Kansas is one of only three states that have not taken important
steps to better prepare novice teen drivers. Without a cost to the state,
implementing HB 2143 will bring our teen licensing system up to speed and
create safer roads for all of us.

Founded in 1979, Kansas Action for Children is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization
dedicated to shaping policy that improves the lives of Kansas children and their families.
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Key components to
strengthening Kansas’
licensing policy

TWELVE-MONTH
LEARNER’S PERMIT

Based upon licensing updates
made in other states, we know
that a one-year, adult-supervised
learning period stands to reduce
the number of teen crashes on
Kansas roads by up to 50%.

By incorporating a 12-month
learner's permit phase into our
licensing policy, Kansas teens
will be better equipped for the
lifelong responsibility of driving.

SIX-MONTH

PASSENGER LIMITATION
The risk of death amaong teen
drivers more than doubles
when there are two passengers
in the vehicle and more than
triples when there are three
passengers. By limiting young
drivers to one teen passenger
during the first six months of
unrestricted driving, Kansas
teens will be better equipped to
manage distractions on the road.

SIX-MONTH LATE-NIGHT
DRIVING LIMITATION

The research tells us that late-
night driving poses a serious
risk for young drivers. In fact,
teens are twice as likely to die
in a car crash during late-night
hours. National statistics show
that almost half of teen crash
fatalities occur after 9 p.m.

By limiting driving after 9 p.m.
to work and school purposes
during the first six months of
unrestricted driving, we stand to
significantly reduce the number

of fatalities among Kansas teens.

EXISTING FARM PERMIT
Given our state’s agricultural
roots, this proposal would leave
the existing Farm Permit in
intact to best meet the needs of
Kansas farm families.

TEEN DRIVERS LICENSING

Bringing Kansas up to speed

[N

Driving conditions have ESey

changed. Speed limits have i o
increased. Cars are more

powerful. And, Kansans

spend nearly twice as much

time on the road as they did

just two decades ago. But,

one thing hasn’t changed — :

our drivers licensing system. =

Meodern driving conditions 5 e

require an updated licensing 4 2
system. There’s a no-cost
step we can take that will:

©) Both passenger and late-night driving restrictions

. LICENSING POLICIES

e BY STATE .

~

O Eithera passenger and late-night driving restriction

» Bring Kansas up to speed

» Make three simple, yet
effective, changes to our
licensing system

» Result in safer roads and reduced
medical costs for all of us

KANSAS IS LAGGING BEHIND

Right now, Kansas is lagging behind most
of the nation when it comes to preparing
teens for the lifelong responsibility of
driving. While 47 other states have updated
their licensing systems, Kansas is among
the three states that have not. By making

a few simple, yet effective, changes to

our licensing system, we can provide
Kansas teens with the same level of driving
experience as teens in neighboring states.

THREE SIMPLE STEPS

Most states have updated their licensing
systems by implementing a three-stage

approach — called a Graduated Drivers

KANSAS

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

@ No passenger or late-night driving restrictions

Licensing system or GDL — that
addresses the three greatest risks to
young drivers: inexperience, multiple
passengers in the vehicle and late-night
driving. By addressing these three risks
in our state’s licensing system, we stand
to significantly reduce the number of car
crashes on Kansas roads.

SAFER ROADS, REDUCED
MEDICAL COSTS FOR ALL OF US
Every year, more than 7,000 Kansas
teens — a number twice the size of
Kansas State University's freshman class
— are injured or killed in car crashes.
We know that fewer crashes mean fewer
medical costs. In fact, almost 85% of
medical costs for crash victims fall on
society, increasing health insurance
premiums for all of us. And, nationally,
employers spend $9 billion per year in
health care costs associated with

crash injuries.

_ KANSAS
(@) ACTION For
~ CHILDREN

P2



TEEN CRASHES 7 2007 AETION ros

16,686 total teen crashes | 6,725 people injured CHILDREN
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Il More than 1,000 teen crashes per year

[ Between 200 and 999 teen crashes per year

[l Between 100 and 199 teen crashes per year
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Fewer than 40 teen crashes per year
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HB 2143

PHASE 1
Learner’s permit

« Available starting at age 14

« Permits teen drivers to drive when accompanied by a parent
(or an adult age 18+)

* Must hold a learner’s permit for at least 6 months if choosing to
obtain a restricted license (OR) teens may opt to skip the learner’s
permit and obtain a full license at age 16

Graduated Drivers Licensing

CURRENT POLICY PROPOSED POLICY

. KANSAS
2 ACTION For
~ CHILDREN

+ Available starting at age 14

* Permits teen drivers to drive when accompanied by a parent
(or an adult age 18+)

- Every teen must hold a learner’s permit for 12 months
before obtaining a restricted license or a full license

PHASE 2
Restricted license

This phase is optional
for Kansas teens

- Available starting at age 15

- Teen drivers must successfully complete a drivers education
course to obtain a restricted license

« Permits teen drivers to drive unsupervised to
and from work or school

- Allows teen drivers to transport siblings and adult passengers;
may not transport non-siblings under the age of 18

* No changes to existing Restricted License phase

PHASE 3
Full license

- Available starting at age 16

« No limits on passengers or late-night driving

- Available starting at age 16

« Limits teen drivers to no more than one non-sibling passenger
under the age of 18 during first 6 months of full licensing

« Limits late-night driving to 9 p.m. during the first 6 months of
full licensing unless driving to and from work/school

FARM PERMIT

- Available starting at age 14 to teens who live or work on a farm

The GDL SubCommittee recommends the following additions:
WIRELESS DEVICES — Use of wireless communication devices are prohibited until teen completes the six-month period of passenger and late-night driving restrictions.

» No changes to existing Farm Permit

PENALITIES FOR VIOLATION — 30-day suspension of license for first offense; 90-day suspension of license for second offense; and one-year suspension of license for third
offense. Penalities would apply to all teen drivers.

GRANDFATHER CLAUSE — Teens entering the licensing system prior to January 1, 2010, would fall under the current licensing guidelines rather than the GDL guidelines.

-
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Testimony of Jim Gartner, representing AT&T Kansas
Neutral, but recommending amendments to HB 2143, which provides certain restrictions
on driver’s licenses.
Before House Transportation Committee
February 16, 2009

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee:

My name is Jim Gartner and | am here today representing AT&T Kansas. Thank you
for the opportunity to speak regarding HB 2143. AT&T Kansas is neutral on the issue of
providing restrictions on teens related to using wireless communications devices while
driving, however we believe it is important that teen drivers be allowed to use wireless
communications in an emergency situation.

Situations could arise in which a teenage driver may witness and need to report an
illegal activity, or may need to summon medical or emergency help for themselves or
someone else. Allowing an exception would avoid penalizing a teenager who is trying
to be helpful, or avoid a potential dangerous situation in which a teenager might attempt
to pull to the side of the road to make an emergency call when it is not safe to do so.

For your consideration, before you are copies of proposed language that would amend
HB 2143 to allow use of wireless communications in an emergency. These proposed
amendments appear on pages 2, 3 and 9 of the subcommittee bill version. This
language is similar to that adopted in other states. We respectfully recommend your
favorable consideration and adoption of these amendments.

Thank you.
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text2143ball

New Section 1. (a) Any person who is at least 14 years of
age, but less than 17 years of age may apply to the division for
an instruction permit. The division may 1issue an instruction
permit under this section to any person who is at least 14 years
of age, but 1less than 16 vyears of age only upon written
application of a parent or guardian of the minor. The divisicn
may in its discretion, after the applicant has successfully
passed all parts of the examination other than the driving test,
issue to the applicant an instruction permit for a period of one
year.

(b) An instruction permit issued under this subsection shall
authorize the permit holder to drive a passenger car under the
following conditions:

(1) The permit holder shall be in immediate possession of
the instruction permit;

(2) a supervising driver shall be seated beside the permit
holder in the front seat of the passenger car when such car is in
motion. The supervising driver shall be an adult who is at 1least
21 years of age who is the holder of a valid commercial driver's
license, class A, B or C driver's license and who has at least
one year of driving experience. No person other than the
supervising driver can be in the front seat;

(3) the permit holder may drive at any time in accordance
with the provisions of this section;

(4) the permit holder shall not operate a wireless
communication device while driving a passenger car

(c) Any person who 1is at least 14 years of \age, but less

, except that this subsection (e) shall not apply to any such licensee operating a moving
motor vehicle while using a wireless communications device to (i) report illegal activity
or (ii) summon medical or other emergency help.

g-2
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3

section (¢)(1) shall entitle a licensee to operate the appropriate motor
vehicles at any time:

(A)  From 5:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m;

(B)  while going to or from or in connection with any job, employment
or farm-related work:

(C)  while going to or from authorized school activities;

(D}  when the licensee is operating a passenger car, at any time when
accompanied by an adult, who is the holder of a valid commercial driver's
license, class A, B or C driver's license and who is actually occupying a
seat beside the driver: or

(E) when the licensee is operating a motorcycle, at any time when
accompanied by an adult, who is the holder of a valid class M driver’s
license and who is operating a motorcycle in the general proximity of the
licensee.

After such six-month period, if the licensee has complied with the pro-
visions of this section, such restricted license shall entitle the licensee to
operate the appropriate motor vehicles at any time without any of the
restrictions required by this section.

(d) (1) Any licensee issued a restricted license under subsection (a):

(A) Who is less than 16 years of age shall not operate any motor
vehicle with nonsibling minor passengers; or

(B) who is at least 16 years of age, for a period of six months after
reaching 16 vears of age, shall not operate any motor vehicle with more
than one passenger who is less than 18 years of age and who is not a
member of the licensee’s immediate family.

(2)  Any licensee issued a restricted license under subsection {e), for
a period of six months after such restricted license is issued, shall not
operate any motor vehicle with more than one passenger who is less than
I8 years of age and who is not a member of the licensee’s immediate
family.

(3} Any conviction for violating this subsection shall be construed as
a moving traffic violation for the purpose of K.S.A. 8-255, and amend-

uents thereto

, except that this subsection (e) shall not apply to any

such licensee operating a moving motor vehicle while using
a wireless communications device to (i) report illegal activity
or (i) summon medical or other emergency help.

(e) Any\licensee issued a restricted
license under\this section shall not operate

a wireless comhunication device while driving

a motor vehicle

T (-e)JA restricted driver’s license issued under this section is subject to

suspension or revocation in the same manner as any other driver's icense.

(f)  Evidence of failure of any licensee who was required to complete

(f) (1)

(2) A restricted driver:s license shall
be suspended in accordance with K:S.A._B—291,
and amendments thereto, for any violation of
restrictions under this section.

The division shall suspend the

(3) e
restricted driver's license upon receiving

satisfactory evidence that the l@censee has
been involved in two or more accidents
chargeable to the licensee and such suspended
license shall not be reinstated for cne year.

and by relettering the remaining subsections accordingly

N



HB 2143
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1 license, elass A, B or C driver’s license and who is actually occupying a
2 seat beside the driver.
3 After such six-month period, if the licensee has complied with the pro-
4 visions of this section, such farm permit shall entitle the licensee to operate
5 the appropriate motor vehicles at any time without the restrictions re-
6 quired by this section.
7 b3 (c) A farm permit shall be issued only if: , except that this subsection (e) shall not apply to any
S f(l) The applicant can prove that such applicant resides or works on such licensee operating a moving motor vehicle while using
d Iarmni; - - - - - - . -
' ice to (i) report illegal activit
10 (2)  the applicant has successfully completed the examination require- A W%Feless communlf:atlons device to (i) P hel & Y
I1  meuts in K.S.A. §-235d, and amendments thereto; and or (i) summon medical or other emergency help.
12 (3)  the applicant submits the signed affidavit of either a parent or

13 guardian, stating that the applicant lives on a farm or, if the applicant
14 does not live on a farm but works on a farm, the applicant submits the

15 signed affidavit of the applicant’s employer and parent or guardian, at- —
16 testing to such employment. : ; i
7 d a farm permit
17 te) (d) Any licensee issued a farm permit under this section: (e) N ll?ensee PR B P
18 (1) Who is less than 16 years of age shall not operate any motor under this\section shall m?t ope]::ate S
Lk “ ¥ y wireless compunication device while driving a

19 vehicle with nonsibling minor passengers and; or

20 (2) who is at least 16 years of age, for a period of six months after
21 reaching 16 years of age, shall not operate any motor vehicle with more
22 than one passenger who is less than 18 years of age and who is not a
23 inember of the licensee's immediate family.

24 Any conviction for violating this previsten subsection shall be construed
25 asa moving traffic violation for the purpose of K.S5.A. 8-255, and amend-
26 ments thereto.

27 td}(e) As used in this section, “farm” means any parcel of land larger
28  than 20 acres which is used in agricultural operations.

29 ée—l-_(ﬁJ A farm permit issued under this section is subject to suspension [ (g) (1)

30 or revocation in the same maimer as any other driver's license. A-persen

‘motor wvehicle

B

31

32 e s (2) A farm permit shall be suspended in
33 shaltbetssned-no-other-driversticense for-aperied-of-ene-year-or until accordance with K.S.A. 8-291, and amendments
34 thepersenreaches lﬁ,m-sufugh-wl.;‘.!u,“,rlm;udislm.s‘,'rfﬂ-edde‘tm, thereto, for any violation of restrictions

35 thedivisionmay—suspend-the-famm—permitupon-receiving aatisfastory under this section.

36 -evidenca thet: (3) The division shall suspend the farm
37 () —Thslicensee has viclated the restrictions of the farm permil; or permit upon receiving satisfactory evidence
38 R)—theliconseahasbesninvolvad in twua:':.':s-r:::.'cé:‘d,..tsm'm.s..ab!., that the licensee has been involved in two or
39 to-thelicenses— more accidents chargeable to the licensee and
40 Afarn-permitswspended-wnderthis-subsection-shall not-bo-reinstated such suspended license shall not be

41 foroneyear | ! | reinstated for one year.

42 & (g) Any licensee issued a farm permit under this section en-and
43 wdterfudy313669; shall provide prior to reaching 16 years of age, a signed

and by reletlering the remaining subsections accordingly
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Good afternoon, Chairman Hayzlett and fellow House members. I appreciate the opportunity to
address your committee and express my support for this Graduated Drivers Licensing proposal.

A rural and urban issue

As you’ve seen from the handouts related to HB 2143, the number of crashes involving teen
drivers in Kansas is staggering. In my county alone, we see more than 3,000 teen crashes every
year, which result in more than 1,400 people being injured or killed.

Though counties like Sedgwick and Johnson experience thousands of teen crashes each year, the
bright spot in those numbers is that we have immediate access to trauma care centers. That’s not
the case for many rural counties. Though the number of crashes may be fewer in remote parts of
the state, the outcomes are more likely fatal.

There are two reasons for this:

1. Location of Trauma Centers. We have five trauma centers in Kansas, but all five are
located in urban areas - Wichita, Overland Park and Topeka. This leaves large parts of
our state without timely access to a trauma center.

2. Discovery and Transport Time in Rural Areas. In rural areas, it often takes more time
to discover a crash, more time to transport the victims, and more time to reach a hospital
equipped to handle trauma situations. This is critical because 72 percent of our highway
fatalities occur in rural areas.

The bottom line is Kansans in urban areas experience more crashes, but are more likely to
survive a crash than Kansans living in rural areas. This underscores how critical it is for teens in
both urban and rural areas to receive the kind of supervised driving experience outlined in HB
2143 before they start driving on their own.

A bipartisan issue

I am convinced that the proposal you’re considering today will significantly decrease the number
of injuries and deaths on Kansas roads, and I am convinced it will be a welcome tool for parents
across the state.

Based upon recent polling, this is a policy we can take back to our districts with confidence. In
Sedgwick County, 83 percent of voters said they would support a driver’s licensing policy that
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includes the three components outlined in this bill: a 12-month learner’s permit, a passenger
limitation and a late-night driving limitation.

And, the support among voters was consistent across age demographics and across party lines.
Specifically, 88 percent of Democrats, 81 percent of Republicans, and 85 percent of independent
voters indicated their support for this bill.

A life-saving issue

By approving HB 2143, we will have put in place a system that better prepares Kansas teens for
the responsibility of driving. This is a rural and urban issue. This is a bi-partisan issue. And, most
importantly, this is a life-saving issue. Thank you for your consideration of this bill.
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DEDICATED TO THE HEALTH OF ALL CHILDREN™

Kansas Chapter

TESTIMONY FOR HB 2143
House Committee on Transportation

The Kansas Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics is a non-profit
organization representing over 95% of the practicing pediatricians in the state.
We are pleased to offer our support of House Bill 2143.

Teen drivers account for a disproportionate rate of motor vehicle accidents.
Nationally teens make up 6% of total drivers but 14% of fatal crashes. In the state
of Kansas teen drivers are involved in 20% of all motor vehicle accidents. The
teen drivers themselves are not the only ones injured. Almost 60% of the fatalities
were of passengers, occupants of other vehicles and pedestrians. One answer to
this problem is to implement a graduated driver’s license in Kansas.

There is large amount of data that indicates teens are involved in increased risk-
taking behaviors. It is normal for teens to take chances, over estimate their
abilities, and feel invincible. Recent evidence from MRI studies has shown the
prefrontal cortex area of the brain does not fully mature until the early to mid-
twenties. This is the area responsible for decision-making, planning, and impulse
control. In addition peer-pressure, emotions and other stressors may particularly
influence these behaviors. The result is teens take chances adults and more
experienced drivers would not.

We now have data that shows that accident rates decrease when a three stage
graduated driver’s license is implemented. As the teen driver gets more
experienced they become more proficient at integrating speed and making
adjustments to hazards. Limiting distractions, such as other teen passengers and
late night-time driving, have proven effective in decreasing the number of
accidents involving teens.

Since 1996 the American Academy of Pediatrics has supported efforts to establish
graduated drivers licenses. Graduated drivers licenses have been implemented
successfully in many states. A review of 13 graduated driver license laws
nationwide showed that in states with these laws total crashes decreased 26-41%,
injuries decreased 4-43% and hospitalizations due to MV As decreased 31%. HB
2143 would strengthen our current licensing law and protect not only the teen
driver but the other people who are victims in these motor vehicle accidents.

In summary The Kansas Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics strongly
encourages passage of HB 2143 to help save the lives of Kansas citizens young
and old.

House 'T'ranqurtaticn
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PUBLIC POLICY STATEMENT
HOUSE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

Re: HB 2143; Drivers License Age Restrictions.

February 16, 2009
Topeka, Kansas

Written Testimony Provided by:
Terry D. Holdren
KFB Governmental Relations

Chairman Hayzlett and members of the House Committee on Transportation, thank you
for the opportunity to discuss the potential impacts of HB 2143 on farmers, ranchers,
small businesses, and communities across the state. As you know KFB is the state’s
largest general farm organization representing more than 40,000 farm and ranch
families through our 105 county Farm Bureau Associations.

Over the years of this discussion, KFB has enjoyed the opportunity to provide input to a
number of legislative committees, task forces, and interest groups regarding the
structure of the legislation and the need for farming, ranching, and rural families to
continue to retain the ability for teens to drive under limited circumstances from farm
related work and to and from school activities. The bill before you today is, in our
opinion a significant step in the right direction and an effort that should result in better
equipped young drivers in Kansas.

Our members have, on numerous occasions, considered this issue and support the
graduated system presented to you today. Further, we support the increased
supervised driving requirements and restrictions within the bill.

KFB supports HB 2143 as a rational approach to teen driving in Kansas. It will ensure
that rural families and businesses retain their ability to depend on teen drivers while
promoting education and safety on our roads and highways. We strongly support the
bill and respectfully ask for your positive action when you work the measure.

Kansas Farm Bureau represents grass roots agriculture. Established in 1919, this
non-profit advocacy organization supports farm families who earn their living in Ziouse Transportation

changing industry. Date: _2-/6 <29
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Mr. Chairman, Members of the Committee, | am Chris Maurich — ABATE of Kansas. We are Proponents
of HB 2133 concerning certain right-of-way violations & increased penalties for violations concerning
vulnerable roadway users such as motorcyclists, bicyclists, pedestrians and others. This bill seeks to give
the courts the tools they need to penalize violators appropriately when serious injury or death occurs.
Under current law, the penalty for violating the right-of-way of another vehicle is $60 plus any court
fees. In many accidents of this nature, law enforcement and the courts cannot justify a higher charge
that would include more severe penalties and the violators are given only minimal fines and penalties.

HB 2133 as written leaves questions and directs penalties. | would ask the committee to vote for this
legislation, and work to provide a bill that will provide a mechanism for law enforcement to accurately
charge those who violate the right of way of others and severely injure or kill other roadway users. |
would like the directives contained in HB 2133 as written to provide language authorizing judges to
impose penalties on those convicted of accidents within the parameters of this legislation while not
specifying “shall”, rather “may”. The definitions of language contained therein also requires clarification,
an example being what constitutes a serious injury? | have provided you examples of how other states
that passed right of way legislation worded their bill that may help with ideas for language of
clarification, should this committee vote favorably to work HB 2133.

Many states have passed such legislation to Increase Penalties for Right of Way Violations. Both West
Virginia and lowa’s governors have signed their Right of Way bills into law, joining New York, Maine,
Missouri, Virginia, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Arkansas and Washington. | would like to see Kansas
listed among states that have laws that protect the most vulnerable roadway users that include
motorcycles, mopeds, motor scooters and bicyclists.

Thank you for time and consideration of HB 2133,
Chris Maurich

ABATE of Kansas, Inc.

House Transporiation
Date:_od/6-0F
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Missouri passes "Clutch's Law," raising fines for right-of-way violations

Missouri Governor Matt Blunt has signed a bill that includes "Clutch's Law," in memory of John Michael
“Clutch” Clubine, who was killed by an inattentive driver. The new law, which takes effect January 1,
2007, increases penalties for drivers who injure or kill others by committing right-of-way violations.

Clutch's Law was passed after several years of effort by the AMA and Freedom of Road Riders, an active
grassroots motorcyclists rights organization in Missouri. The law follows model legislation proposed as
part of the AMA's Justice for All campaign, and allows for additional penalties of up to $1,000 in fines
and a drivers license suspension of up to 180 days, when someone is injured or killed, beyond the other
fines for right-of-way violations.

The AMA supported the Missouri legislation by issuing Action Alerts through the AMA Rapid Response
Center and AMA Grassroots Manager Terry Lee Cook, a close friend of Clutch, personally testified on
behalf of the legislation. "I'm happy that this law was passed in the memory of my good friend Clutch,
but the best reward will be if other husbands, wives, sons, daughters, friends and family don't have to
suffer through senseless tragedies because of driver inattention," said Cook. "The state of Missouri has
sent the message that there have been too many funerals and these offenses need to be taken more

seriously."

The AMA launched the Justice for All campaign in response to numerous instances across the country in
which drivers killed or injured motorcyclists and walked away with minor fines. In many cases, state laws
do not provide for additional fines beyond a simple ticket for a traffic offense. The Missouri law
addresses that potential injustice. Elsewhere, laws consistent with the Justice for All campaign have
been passed this year in Louisiana, Wisconsin, Georgia, Oklahoma, New Hampshire, lowa, and West

Virginia.

© 2006, American Motorcyclist Association



State Legislation - Tennessee R-O0-W BILL
Concerns motor vehicles; increases penalties for violations of rights of way

that result in serious personal injury or death. - [Enacted - 6/27/2007]
Bill #: SB794 Year: 2007
Bill Summary: (Source Tennessee Legislature)

2007 TN S 794 same as: 2007 TN H 1335

AUTHOR: Burchett

VERSION: Enacted - Final

VERSION DATE: 06/27/2007 PUBLIC ACTS, 2007 PUBLIC CHAPTER NO. 537

SENATE BILL NO. 794 By Burchett, Marrero, Henry, Kilby, Raymond Finney
Substituted for: House Bill No. 1335 By Briley, Tidwell, Dean, Bell, Bass,
Sontany, Moore, Lundberg, Mike Turner, Hill, Leollar

AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 55, relative to motor wvehicle
accidents. '

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE :

SECTION 1. Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 55, Chapter 8, Part 1, is amended
by adding a new section thereto, as follows:

Section

(a) Any person who violates the provisions of Sections 55-8-128, 55-8-129,
55-8-130 or 55-8-131 by failing to yield the right of way as provided in such
statutes and such viclation results in an accident resulting in serious
bodily injury to or death of any person shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

(b) For the purposes of this section, serious bodily injury means:
(1) Substantial risk of death;
(2) Serious disfigurement; or.

(3) Protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member, organ
or mental faculty.

(c) (1) A violation of subsection (a) is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by a
fine of two hundred and fifty dollars ($250) if the accident results in
serious bodily injury of another.

(2) A violation of subsection (a) is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a
fine of five hundred dollars ($500) if the accident results in the death of

another.

(d) The court shall send the department a record of any of the convictions of
any of the sections indicated in subsection (a). The court shall indicate on
such record or abstract whether the violation resulted in serious bodily
injury of another or death of another.

(e) Upon conviction, the court may revoke the license or permit to drive and
any non-resident operating privilege of a person convicted under this section
for a period of up to six (6) months if the accident results in serious
bedily injury of another and up to one (1) year if the accident results in
death of another.

SECTION 2. This act shall take effect July 1, 2007, the public welfare
requiring it. .

13-



Georgia Right-Of-Way violation legislation;

To amend Title 40 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to motor vehicles and traffic, so as to revise
penalties for causing serious injury due to right of way violation resulting in a collision with a motorcyclist, pedestrian,
bicyclist, or farmer hauling agricultural products; to provide a penalty for a second offense; to provide for license

suspension; to provide for related matters; to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes.
BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA:
SECTION 1.

Title 40 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to motor vehicles and traffic, is amended in Article 3 of

Chapter 3, relating to cancellation, suspension, and revocation of licenses, by adding a new Code section to read as

follows:

(a) The driver’s license of any person who is convicted for a second or subsequent offense of violating Code Section 40-6-
77 within a five-year period of time, as measured from the dates of previous arrests for which convictions were obtained
or pleas of nolo contendere were accepted to the date of the current arrest for which a conviction is obtained or a plea of
nolo contendere is accepted, shall be suspended for 30 days. The person shall submit his or her driver’s license to the

court upon conviction and the court shall forward the driver’s license to the department.

(b) ‘After the suspension period and the person pays a restoration fee of $60.00 or, when processed by mail, $50.00, the

suspension shall terminate and the department shall return the person’s driver’s license to such person.”

SECTION 2.

Said title is further amended by revising Code Section 40-6-77, relating to penalties for causing serious injury due to right
of way violation resulting in a collision with a motoreyelist, pedestrian, bicyclist, or farmer hauling agricultural products,

as follows:

/39



(a) For purposes of this Code section, 'serious injury' shall include, but shall not be limited to, causing bodily harm to

another by depriving him or her of a member of his or her body, by rendering a member of his or her body useless, by

seriously disfiguring his or her head or body or a member thereof, or by causing organic brain damage which renders the

body or any member thereof useless.

(b) Any person who causes a serious injury to another person as a result of a collision with a motorcyclist, bicyelist,
pedestrian, or farmer operating any vehicle used to transport agricultural products, livestock, farm machinery, or farm
supplies by committing any right of way violation under this chapter when such motorcyclist, bicyclist, pedestrian, or
farmer operating any vehicle used to transport agricultural products, livestock, farm machinery, or farm supplies is

abiding by the provisions of this title shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished:

(1) For a first offense, by a fine of not less than $250.00 in addition to any other penalties stipulated by law; and

(2) For a second or subsequent offense within a five-vear period of time, as measured from the dates of previous arrests

for which convictions were obtained or pleas of nolo contendere were accepted to the date of the current arrest for which

a_convictien is_obtained or a plea of nole contendere is accepted, by a fine of not less than $500.00 nor more than

$1.000.00 and imprisonment for not less than ten days nor more than 12 months. Any fine imposed under this paragraph

shall be mandatory and shall not be suspended or waived or conditioned upon the completion of anv course or sentence.

The court imposing punishment under this paragraph shall forward a record of the disposition of the case to the

Department of Driver Services.

SECTION 3.

All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are repealed.

Y
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Maryland utilized this language in a Right-Of-Way violation bill;

(a) For purposes of this Code section, 'serious injury' shall include, but shall not be limited to, causing
bodily harm to another by depriving him or her of a member of his or her body, by rendering a member
of his or her body useless, by seriously disfiguring his or her head or body or a member thereof, or by
causing organic brain damage which renders the body or any member thereof useless.

. (b) Any person who causes a serious injury to another person as a result of a collision with a
motorcyclist, bicyclist, pedestrian, or farmer operating any vehicle used to transport agricultural
products, livestock, farm machinery, or farm supplies by committing any right of way violation under
this chapter when such motorcyclist, bicyclist, pedestrian, or farmer operating any vehicle used to
transport agricultural products, livestock, farm machinery, or farm supplies is abiding by the provisions

- of this title shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished:

(1) For a first offense, by a fine of not less than $250.00 in addition to any other penalties stipulated by
law; and

(2) For a second or subsequent offense within a five-year period of time, as measured from the dates of
previous arrests for which convictions were obtained or pleas of nolo contendere were accepted to the
date of the current arrest for which a conviction is obtained or a plea of nolo contendere is accepted, by -
a fine of not less than $500.00 nor more than $1,000.00 and imprisonment for not less than ten days nor
more than 12 months. Any fine imposed under this paragraph shall be mandatory and shall not be
suspended or waived or conditioned upon the completion of any course or sentence. The court

imposing punishment under this paragraph shall forward a record of the disposition of the case to the
Department of Driver Services.

Hawaii passed a bill into law several years ago however, this language was added last year to the
statute:

The penalty for a motorist failing to yield the right-of-way to a motorcyclist and contributing to a crash
was raised from a $150 fine to up to $1,000, plus a 180-day license suspension. Previously, a driver's
license was not suspended. '



STATE OF NEW YORK INTHE SENATE May 19, 2008

AN ACT to amend the vehicle and traffic law, in relation to inattentive driving, and to amend the state finance law,
in relation to creating the attentive driver education fund

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK, REPRESENTED IN SENATE AND ASSEMBLY, DO ENACT
AS FOLLOWS: Section 1. Legislative findings and intent. The legislature finds and determines that the National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), whose mission it is to save lives, prevent injuries, and reduce
traffic related health care costs and other economic costs through regulation, enforcement, economic incentives,
educational programs, basic and applied research, and technology demonstration programs, has taken a particular
interest in the issue of driver distraction. The legislature finds that NHTSA encourages states to actively enforce
their reckless and inattentive driving laws, regardless of the causes of such behavior.

For this reason, the legislature finds that New York state should vigorously enforce its current reckless driving law
and enact an inattentive driving statute to better discourage drivers from engaging in non-driving related activities
while driving or using a motor vehicle; activities that can interfere with or endanger other users of public highways.

The legislature further directs the governor’s traffic safety committee to create a public outreach program to inform
and educate the public about the dangers of reckless and inattentive driving and to encourage safe driving habits,

SectionZ. The vehicle and traffic law is amended by adding a new section S1212-A. to read as follows:

S 1212-A. INATTENTIVE DRIVING.

1. INATTENTIVE DRIVING SHALL MEAN ENGAGING IN ANY NON-DRIVING ACTIVITY WHILE
DRIVING A MOTOR VEHICLE, MOTORCYCLE, OR ANY OTHER VEHICLE PROPELLED BY
ANY POWER OTHER THAN
MUSCULAR POWER, WHERE (A) THE NON-DRIVING ACTIVITY UNREASONABLY
INTERFERES WITH THE FREE AND PROPER USE OF THE PUBLIC HIGHWAY; OR (B) THE
NON-DRIVING ACTIVITY UNREASONABLY ENDANGERS OTHER PEOPLE WHO ARE USING
THE PUBLIC HIGHWAYS. EVERY PERSON VIOLATING THE PROVISIONS OF THIS SECTION
SHALL BE GUILTY OF A TRAFFIC INFRACTION.

2. ANY PERSON WHO VIOLATES THE PROVISIONS OF SUBDIVISION ONE OF THIS SECTION
SHALL BE PUNISHED AS FOLLOWS: (A) BY A FINE OF NOT LESS THAN FIFTY DOLLARS NOR
MORE THAN ONE HUNDRED FIFTY DOLLARS FOR ANY CONVICTION THAT IS NOT
COVERED UNDER PARAGRAPH (B) OF THIS SUBDIVISION; OR (B) BY A FINE OF NOT LESS
THAN ONE HUNDRED FIFTY DOLLARS NOR MORE THAN TWO HUNDRED FIFTY DOLLARS
FOR A CONVICTION THAT OCCURS WITHIN SIX MONTHS OF A PREVIOUS CONVICTION
UNDER THIS SECTION.

3. Section 1212 of the vehicle and traffic law, as added by chapter 47 of the laws of 1988, is amended to
read as follows: S 1212. Reckless driving. (A) Reckless driving shall mean:

I. driving or using any motor vehicle, motorcycle or any other vehicle propelled by any power other than
muscular power or any appliance or accessory thereof in a manner which unreasonably interferes with the
free and proper use of the public highway, or unreasonably endangers users of the public highway.
Reckless driving is prohibited; OR _

2. VIOLATING THE PROVISIONS OF SECTION TWELVE HUNDRED TWELVE-A OF THIS
ARTICLE THREE TIMES, ALL OF WHICH ARE WITHIN A PERIOD OF EIGHTEEN MONTHS.
(B) Every person violating this provision shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. The governor's trafﬁc-safety
commitlee, with the cooperation of the department of motor vehicles, the department of transportation, the
division of state police, and any other department, division, board, bureau, commission, agency or public
authority of the state or any political subdivision deemed necessary by the committee shall develop and
implement a public outreach campaign to inform the general public of the dangers of reckless and
inattentive driving, including additional hazards created by engaging in non-driving related activities while
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driving a motor vehicle; and to encourage safe driving habits.

Subdivision 3 of section 1809 of the vehicle and traffic law, as amended by chapter 309 of the laws of
1996, is amended to read as follows: ;

3. The mandatory surcharge provided for in subdivision one of this section shall be paid to the clerk of the
court or administrative tribunal that rendered the conviction. Within the first ten days of the month
following collection of the mandatory surcharge the collecting authority shall determine the amount of
mandatory surcharge collected and, if it is an administrative tribunal or a town or village justice court, it
shall pay such money to the state comptroller who shall deposit such money in the state treasury pursuant
to section one hundred twenty-one of the state finance law to the credit of the general fund; PROVIDED,
HOWEVER, THAT THE COMPTROLLER SHALL DEPOSIT SUCH MONEY COLLECTED FOR
VIOLATIONS OF SECTION TWELVE HUNDRED TWELVE-A OF THIS CHAPTER TO THE
CREDIT OF THE ATTENTIVE DRIVER EDUCATION FUND ESTABLISHED PURSUANT TO
SECTION NINETY-EIGHT-D OF THE STATE FINANCE LAW. If such collecting authority is any other
court of the unified court system, it shall, within such period, pay such money to the state commissioner of
taxation and finance to the credit of the criminal justice improvement account established by section ninety-
seven-bb of the state finance law; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, THAT THE STATE COMMISSIONER OF
TAXATION AND FINANCE SHALL DEPOSIT SUCH MONEY COLLECTED FOR VIOLATIONS OF
SECTION TWELVE HUNDRED TWELVE-A OF THIS CHAPTER TO THE CREDIT OF THE
ATTENTIVE DRIVER EDUCATION FUND ESTABLISHED PURSUANT TO SECTION NINETY-
EIGHT-D OF THE STATE FINANCE LAW. The crime victim assistance fee provided for in subdivision
one of this.section shall be paid to the clerk of the court or administrative tribunal that rendered the
conviction. Within the first ten days of the month following collection of the crime victim assistance fee,
the collecting authority shall determine the amount of crime victim assistance fee collected and, if it is an
administrative tribunal or a town or village justice court, it shall pay such money to the state comptroller
who shall deposit such money in the state treasury pursuant to section one hundred twenty-one of the state
finance law to the credit of the criminal justice improvement account established by section ninety-seven-
bb of the state finance law. The state finance law is amended by adding a new section 98-d to read as
follows: ATTENTIVE DRIVER EDUCATION FUND. 1. THERE IS HEREBY ESTABLISHED IN THE
JOINT CUSTODY OF THE STATE COMPTROLLER AND THE COMMISSIONER OF MOTOR
VEHICLES A FUND KNOWN AS THE ATTENTIVE DRIVER EDUCATION FUND.

2. THE FUND SHALL CONSIST OF MONIES RECEIVED BY THE STATE FROM ANY COURT OF
THE UNIFIED COURT SYSTEM PURSUANT TO SECTION EIGHTEEN HUNDRED NINE OF THE
VEHICLE AND TRAFFIC LAW FOR VIOLATIONS OF SECTION TWELVE HUNDRED TWELVE-A
OF SUCH LAW, AND ALL OTHER FINES, FEES, GRANTS, BEQUESTS, OR OTHER MONIES
CREDITED, APPROPRIATED OR TRANSFERRED THERETO FROM ANY OTHER FUND OR

SOURCE. 3. THE MONIES OF THE FUND, FOLLOWING APPROPRIATION BY THE
LEGISLATURE, SHALL BE MADE AVAILABLE TO THE GOVERNOR'S TRAFFIC SAFETY
COMMITTEE FOR THE DEVELOPMENT AND IMPLEMENTATION OF A PUBLIC OUTREACH
CAMPAIGN AS PROVIDED IN SECTION FOUR OF THE CHAPTER OF THE LAWS OF TWO
THOUSAND EIGHT THAT ADDED THIS SECTION. 4. THE MONIES OF THE FUND MADE
AVAILABLE PURSUANT TO SUBDIVISION THREE OF THIS SECTION SHALL BE PAID OUT ON
THE AUDIT AND WARRANT OF THE COMPTROLLER ON VOUCHERS APPROVED AND
CERTIFIED BY THE COMMISSIONER OF MOTOR VEHICLES. AT THE END OF EACH YEAR
ANY MONIES REMAINING IN THE FUND SHALL BE RETAINED IN THE FUND AND SHALL
NOT REVERT TO THE GENERAL FUND. THE INTEREST AND INCOME EARNED ON MONEY IN
THE FUND, AFTER DEDUCTING ANY APPLICABLE CHARGES, SHALL BE CREDITED TO THE
FUND.

This act shall take effect on the first of January next succeeding the date on which it shall have become a
law.



Ray Thomas Testimony
HB 2133
February 16, 2009

L Suggested amendment
A. Previous submission had overly severe penalties
B. Previous submission had no case by case flexibility

II. Intent of HB2133
A. Reduce high number of ROW violation accidents and deaths through
deterrence
B. Justice for victims of these illegal acts resulting in severe injury or death

I11. Comparison with pending/current legislation
A. Neighboring states of lowa/Oklahoma
B. HB2263 enhances DUI penalties
C. Enhanced stalking penalties passed last session

House Transportation
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Session of 2009

HOUSE BILL No. 2133

By Committee on Transportation

1-28

9 AN ACT regulating traffic; concerning certain right-of-way violations;providing for increased
10 penalties.

12 Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

13 Section 1. (a) Any person who is convicted of violating K.S.A. 8-1526,

14 8-1527, 8-1528, 8-1529 or 8-1531, and amendments thereto, and as a

15 result of such violation, such person was involved in a vehicle accident or

16 collision resulting in injury to any person, upon conviction such person

17 shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not more than $500 and such person’s
18 driving privileges may be suspended for a period not to exceed 90 days.

19  (b) Any person who is convicted of violating K.S.A. 8-1526, 8-1527,

20 8-1528, 8-1529 or 8-1531, and amendments thereto, and as a result of

21 such violation, such person was involved in a vehicle accident or collision

22 resulting in the death of any person, upon conviction such person shall

23 be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall may be sentenced to not less than six

24 months imprisonment and fined not more than $1,000. Such person’s driving privileges
25 may be suspended for a period not to exceed three years.

26 (c) Upon a second or subsequent conviction of a violation of subsec-

27 tion (a), a person shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shal#l may be sentenced

28 to not less than 90 days imprisonment and fined not more than $2,000. Such person’s
29 driving privileges may be suspended for a period not to exceed one year.

30 (d) Upon a second or subsequent conviction of a violation of subsec-

31 tion (b), a person shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall may be sentenced

32 to not less than one year imprisonment and fined not less more than $5,000.

33 Such person's driving privileges may be suspended for a period not to

34 exceed three years.

35 (e) For the purpose of this section, "conviction” means a final con-

36 viction without regard whether sentence was suspended or probation

37 granted after such conviction. Forfeiture of bail, bond or collateral de-

38 posited to secure a defendant's appearance in court, which forfeiture has

39 not been vacated, shall be equivalent to a conviction.

40 Sec. 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its

41 publication in the statute book.
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FACT SHEET

Eight Year Comparison:

Year ROW Accidents DUI Accidents
2000 10,707 2,890
2001 10,705 3.081
2002 10,346 3.139
2003 9,928 2,927
2004 9,731 2.894
2005 8.871 2,654
2006 8,587 2,753
2007 8.334 2,847
Totals 77,209 23,185

Source: Kansas Department of Transportation,

16 states (Arkansas, California, Georgia, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine,
Missouri, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma,
Pennsylvania, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin) have recently passed

increased ROW violations laws, and legislation is pending in 4 others.

(Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey and Ohio.)
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STATEWIDE FATALITY SUMMARY

WHERE A DRIVER FAILED TO YIELD THE RIGHT OF WAY

Fatalities by Vehicle Body Type

12/4/2008

/1Y-4

Pedestrian Fatalities

Year ATV Car Cor:::;:aal Motorcycle :!:::: Camper/RV | SUV S(;h;o' Tr::sslt Van Other Ped (':’:ct:iaslt F::i::lf
57] 1990 - 11 3 7 14 - - - . 2 - 1 o P
46f 1991 - 40 - 5 10 1 - - - 1 - - - -
53] 1992 - 41 2 2 10 1 - = - 4 - 1 - -
67| 1993 - 57 4 3 8 - - - - 5 . 5 z -
50] 1994 - 37 4 6 12 = - = - 1 2 3 1 -
50| 1995 - 41 - 2 13 - - - - 1 - 2 1 -
63| 1996 - 49 5 2 11 - - - S 4 - 1 - -
70] 1997 - 53 2 4 16 - - - - 7 . = 2 -
56] 1998 7 40 3 3 10 - - - - 6 4 2 = 4
70| 1999 2 52 2 5 17 - - - - 5 - 2 b i
60| 2000 - 49 - 6 12 - 1 - - 2 - 1 1 -
72] 2001 - 48 1 7 18 - - - - 5 & 1 s .
58] 2002 - 38 2 4 14 - - - - 7 - - z K
57] 2003 1 30 2 10 5 - 8 1 - 2 - 2 1 -
64] 2004 - 34 2 10 9 - 4 1 - 6 1 - - 1
58] 2005 - 36 2 6 16 - 3 - 1 5 - 1 - -
58] 2006 2 29 2 17 8 - 3 1 - 6 - 2 - -
40] 2007 27 2 4 7 5 - 3 1 - -

Y
KANSAS

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Responsible & Responsive




IRT CASE: 06TM018342 IN THE MUNICIPAL COURT

—~ INCIDENT: 06C019171 OF THE CITY OF WICHITA,
KANSAS

Defense Att'y: lO 6( %_Q){\‘Ol%'gr‘N ﬁ QH Date Entered: 6"%’060 Date W/D:

Defense Att'y: BarNo.. Date Entered: Date W/D:
The City of Wichita, Plaintiff vs.

WISE, MELISSA D AKA:
3&%5'_:'(4“:5}{55%;3'4 OFFICERS: WITNESSES:
1 KENNEDY, JOSEPH MCVEIGH, KEVIN W - W

SSN: 511785403 DOB: 01/08/1977 F /W MITCHELL,, MONICA A - W

LANE, JIMMIE R - W
LEIJA, RODOLFO * - W
PRIBBENOW, TROY L - W

Ticket/UCC # Offense Date Charge:

1 51034522 , 03/16/2006 1138175 - INATTENTIVE DRIVING

PLEA: COURT FINDING: __ L 325" DISPOSITION DATE: FINE: JAIL: DAYS MNTHS____

CHARGE AMENDED TO: 2D /R A1

51034522 03/16/2006 1128960 YIELD ROW-LEFT TURN
TEA:__- COURT FINDING: DISPOSITIONDATE: “7- 24 | FINE: S ©  Jai:pavs MNTHS____

~ CHARGE AMéNDED_TO: , . . N

INTERPRETER NEEDED FOR EACH COURT APPEARANCE: YE.SZ ' NQO:

COMMERCIALDL: YES __ NO__ #
SCHEDULED HEARINGS:

FIRST APPEARANCE DATE: ARR (’3 J-19-3006
DATE REQ.BY JUDGE = CODE NXT CT DATE TIME cT BFBW
500 a%Lj C{@@J_ heo  _Lz50lL g0 &

(g2ie aHuF i T-2Z10xp 0D a_

LAB FEE ASSESSED: [ |

Arraignment: In Person Prisoner X/i BOND CONDITIONS:
Accused advised of charges, penalties, right fo d¢o NO ALCOHOL OR DRUGS

conditions on: ; NO DRIVING WITHOUT VALID DL OR INSURANCE -
Defendant given complaint on: \ ; . 72 HOURS NO CONTACT WITH VICTIM

'y
Defendant signs waiver of counsel on: \‘{t\“"“ 2 - %}' AMOUNTS DUE.
\C‘}w% ALY Total Fine: 53'(’)6@
. 5 Paroled Fine Amt.. _ <t—r"
Court Costs: L iAT)
Reinstatement:  *

"Bl Total Amt. Due: (? 7 <0

Diver./ Defer. Judg. granted / denied on:
Diver./Defer. Judg. terminated / completed on;.

Sentences here in: Concurrent ___ iR

Concurrent all cases eoUivbiat casge L.
Commit / Schedule to jail: serve
Work Release approved for

c,ch /|Defendant to pay fines and costs as ordered
E% 0 obey these conditions:

__ Sign Journal Entry of Probation
today.
__ Non-reporting probation for
months.
— Submit to fingerprinting today.
__ Forfeit weapon(s) seized herein to

Defendant advised of appeal & expungement rights. Yes __ No___
Stay of sentence granted to:
if Defendant fingerprinted on:

Appeal Bond: § Judge:
Conditions: City.

. Obey all federal, state and city
OR NO OR SURETY CASH ONLY laws.

Municipal Court Judae: /%//1//[// M’ y PAamsekie M orob ALl /Z‘ﬁm



THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION
OF THE KANSAS LEGISLATURE
Representative Gary K. Hayzlett, Chairman

February 16, 2009

Testimony of Arthur E. Swank
In Support of HB 2188

Mr. Chairman and the Members of the House Transportation Committee,
I am Art Swank, president of Vermeer Great Plains, Inc. of Olathe, Kansas.

Vermeer Great Plains, Inc. is a family-owned equipment dealership with two locations in Kansas —
Olathe, where we are headquartered and a branch in Goddard. We also have locations in Springfield,
MO, Oklahoma City and Tulsa, Oklahoma. The territory we represent includes all of Kansas, Oklahoma
and the western half of Missouri. We retail Vermeer industrial equipment. Our company was founded in
1964.

Vermeer Corporation manufactures industrial and agricultural equipment. We do not represent the
agricultural line of Vermeer equipment, we only represent the industrial line which includes,
environmental, trenching, terrain leveling and compact equipment. Examples of the types of equipment
we sell, lease and rent are brush chippers, stump-cutters, excavators, tree spades, horizontal drills, track
trenchers, and many other products.

As we work to sell, lease and rent equipment to our customers, our seven salesmen who work and travel
Kansas, for the most part, travel to job sites and demonstrate the equipment that the customer is
considering buying. These salesmen load equipment on trailers and haul the equipment behind their
trucks to the job site where the equipment is put into use and demonstrated so that the customer is assured
that the equipment will operate in the soil and rock conditions he is dealing with on his particular job site.

Some of our equipment is sold with a trailer as the equipment has to be transported by the customer from
job site to job site. Sometimes, the customer has his own trailer or other means of transporting the
equipment once he owns it. In either case, our salesmen are using trailers to haul equipment for
demonstration purposes, delivery or for pick-up and delivery in the situation where the equipment needs
repair.

Under current Kansas law, we find that we have to license and register all of the trailers we are using —
regardless of whether these trailers are for resale purposes or not. For example, if we have a drill that we
normally would sell with a trailer, our salesman hauls the drill and trailer to the job site for a
demonstration. We have the trailer licensed in our name and if the customer buys the drill/trailer
“package” and our salesman leaves the drill and trailer on the site, then we have paid the registration and
licensing on that particular trailer, sold it and the new owner then registers and licenses the same trailer.

We are asking for relief from this cumbersome manner of doing business by allowing us to purchase up to
ten (10) “full-privilege license plates” per year for our dealerships. These plates would exempt us from
having to purchase a regular trailer registration and license plate and we could transfer the “full-privilege

license plates” from one trailer to another that we own or are in our inventory for resale.
House Transportation
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.£ HOUSE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION
OF THE KANSAS LEGISLATURE
Testimony of Arthur E. Swank
In Support of HB 2188
February 16, 2009

Passage of HB2188 will be of extreme benefit to our business and to many other retailers and
manufacturers of nonhighway equipment that must be transported via trailers.

Thank you for this opportunity to appear before you, and I will be happy to answer any questions you
may have.

Sincerely,

Arthur E. Swank
President



Serving The Kansas Automobile & Truck Dealers Since 1932

KANSAS AUTOMOBILE DEALERS ASSOCIATION

February 16, 2008

To:  The Honorable Gary Hayzlett, Chairman
and Members of the House Transportation Committee

From: Don McNeely, PresidentW

Re:  HB 2188 - An Act concerning dealer-hauler full-privilege trailer license plates

Good afternoon Chairman Hayzlett and Members of the House Transportation
Committee. I am Don McNeely and I serve as the President of the Kansas Automobile
Dealers Association, which represents the retail new franchised motor vehicle industry in
Kansas.

I am pleased to appear today in support of HB 2188 and thank the sponsor of this
legislation and the Division of Vehicles for the opportunity to provide input in the
drafting of the legislation.

After induction of HB 2188, discussions where held with the Division of Vehicles
in regard to the expiration and renewal date of January 31* for full-use dealer tags and the
expiration and renewal date of February 16" for regular dealer tags. I appear this
afternoon requesting an amendment to HB 2188 to match the renewal date of full use
dealer tags to that of the regular dealer tags to avoid the confusion of the expiration dates
and to assist the Division in the administration of the annual dealer licensing renewal
process. -

On behalf of the Kansas Automobile Dealers Association, we respectfully request
the Committee’s consideration of this amendment.

7l31 S. Kansas Ave. Topeka, KS 66603 ® (785) 233.6456 » Fax (785) 233.1462



10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41

2
3

Sesslon of 2009
HOUSE BILL No. 2143

By Committee on Transportation

1-29

AN ACT relating to duiver’s licenses; providing for certain restrictions;

Proposed Amendments to HB 2143

Prepared by: Bruce Kinzie, Revisor of Statutes Office
February 11, 2009

z2143h1 . pdf

text2143ball

8-239, 8-291, 8-296 and 8-297

amending K.S.A. 8—235{_&&&—8-%96 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 8-237 and

repealing the existing sections. TTe—

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

8-234a and

New Section 1. The division of vehicles may issue a restricted class
C or M driver’s license in accordance with the provisions of this section.
A restricted class C license issued under this section shall entitle the
licensee, while possessing the license, to operate any motor vehicle in
class C, as designated in K.S.A. 8-234b, and amendments thereto. A re-
stricted class M license shall entitle the licensee, while possessing such
license, to operate a motorcycle.

(a) The division may issue a restricted class C or M driver’s license
to any person who:

(1) Isatleast 15 years of age;

(2) has successfully completed an approved course in driver training;

(3) has held an instructional permit issued under the provisions of
K.S.A. 8-239, and amendments thereto, for a period of at least one year
and has completed at least 25 hours of adult supervised driving; and

(4) upon the written application of the person’s parent or guardian,
which shall be submitted to the division.

Any licensee issued a restricted license under this subsection, shall
provide prior to reaching 16 years of age, a signed affidavit of either a
parent or guardian, stating that the applicant has completed the required
25 hours prior to being issued a restricted license and 25 hours of addi-
tional adult supervised driving. Of the 50 hours required by this subsec-
tion, at least 10 of those hours shall be at night. The adult supervised
driving shall be conducted by an adult who is at least 21 years of age and
is the holder of a valid commercial driver’s license, class A, B or C driver’s
license.

(h) (1) A restricted license issued under subsection (a) shall entitle a
licensee who is at least 15 years of age but less than 16 years of age, to
operate the appropriate motor vehicles at any time:

(A) While going to or from or in connection with any job, employ-
ment or farm-related work;

\

New Section 1
(see attached)

A-/6-09
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New Section 1. (a) Any person who is at least 14 years of
age, but less than 17 years of age may apply to the division for
an instruction permit. The division may issue an instruction
permit wunder this section to any person who is at least 14 years
of age, but 1less than 16 years of age only upon written
application of a parent or guardian of the minor. The division
may in its discretion, after the applicant has successfully
passed all parts of the examination other than the driving test,
igssue to the applicant an instruction permit for a period of one
year.

(b) An instruction permit issued under this subsection shall
authorize the permit holder to drive a passenger car under the
following conditions:

(1) The permit holder shall be in immediate possession of
the instruction permit;

(2) a supervising driver shall be seated beside the permit
holder in the front seat of the passenger car when such car is in
motion. The supervising driver shall be an adult who is at least
21 years of age who is the holder of a valid commercial driver's
license, class A, B or C driver's license and who has at least
one year of driving experience. No person other than the
supervising driver can be in the front seat;

(3) the permit holder may drive at any time in accordance
with the provisions of this section;

(4) the permit holder shall not operate a wireless
communication device while driving a passenger car.

(c) Any person who 1s at least 14 years of age, but less

/7-2
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operate a motorcycle either separate from or in conjunction with
an instruction permit to operate a passenger car. The applicant
shall successfully pass all parts of the examination other than
the driving test. An instruction permit issued under this
subsection shall authorize the permit holder to operate a
motorcycle if such permit holder is accompanied by an adult who
is at least 21 years of age, who is the holder of a valid class M
driver's license, who has had at least one year of driving
experience and who 1is riding a motorcycle in the general
proximity of the permit holder.

(d) An instruction permit issued under this section is
subject to suspension or revocation in the same manner as any
other driver's license. An instruction permit shall be suspended
in accordance with K.S.A. 8-291, and amendments thereto, for any
violation of restrictions under this section.

(e) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the

motor vehicle driver's license act.

f 753
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(B) on days while school is in session, over the most direct and ac-
cessible route between the licensee’s residence and school of enrollment
for the purposes of school attendance;

(C) when the licensee is operating a passenger car, at any time when
accompanied by an adult, who is the holder of a valid commercial driver’s
license, class A, B or C driver’s license and who is actually occupying a
seat beside the driver; or

(D) when the licensee is operating a motorcycle, at any time when
accompanied by an adult, who is the holder of a valid class M driver’s
license and who is operating a motorcycle in the general proximity of the
licensee.

(2) For a period of six months, a restricted license issued under sub-
section (a) shall entitle a licensee who is at least 16 years of age to operate
the appropriate motor vehicles at any time:

(A) From 3:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m;

(B) while going to or from or in connection with any job, employment
or farm-related work;

(C) while going to or from authorized school activities;

(D) when the licensee is operating a passenger car, at any time when
accompanied by an adult, who is the holder of a valid commercial driver’s
license, class A, B or C driver’s license and who is actually occupying a
seat beside the driver; or

(E) when the licensee is operating a motorcycle, at any time when
accompanied by an adult, who is the holder of a valid class M driver’s
license and who is operating a motorcycle in the general proximity of the
licensee.

After such six-month period, if the licensee has complied with the pro-
visions of this section, such restricted license shall entitle the licensee to
operate the appropriate motor vehicles at any time without any of the
restrictions required by this section.

(¢) (1) The division may issue a restricted class C or M driver’s li-
cense to any person who is under 17 years of age but at least 16 years of
age, who:

(A) Has held an instructional permit issued under the provisions of
K.S.A. 8-239, and amendments thereto, for a period of at least one year;
and

(B) has submitted a signed affidavit of either a parent or guardian,
stating that the applicant has completed at least 50 hours of adult super-
vised driving with at least 10 of those hours being at night. The required
adult supervised driving shall be conducted by an adult who is at least 21
years of age and is the holder of a valid commercial driver’s license, class
A, B or C driver’s license.

(2) For a period of six months, a restricted license issued under sub-

[7-4
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section (c)(1) shall entitle a licensee to operate the appropriate motor
vehicles at any time:

(A)  From 5:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m;

(B) while going to or from or in connection with any job, employment
or farm-related work;

(C) while going to or from authorized school activities;

(D) when the licensee is operating a passenger car, at any time when
accompanied by an adult, who is the holder of a valid commercial driver’s
license, class A, B or C driver’s license and who is actually occupying a
seat beside the driver; or

(E) when the licensee is operating a motorcycle, at any time when

12 accompanied by an adult, who is the holder of a valid class M driver’s
13 license and who is operating a motorcycle in the general proximity of the
14 licensee.
15 After such six-month period, if the licensee has complied with the pro-
16 wvisions of this section, such restricted license shall entitle the licensee to
17  operate the appropriate motor vehicles at any time without any of the
18  restrictions required by this section.

=1 @ Ul &~ w o —

e
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19 (d) (1) Aﬁy licensee issued a restricted license under subsection (a):
20 (A) Who is less than 16 years of age shall not operate any motor
21  vehicle with nonsibling minor passengers; or

99 (B) who is at least 16 years of age, for a period of six months after

23  reaching 16 years of age, shall not operate any motor vehicle with more
24 than one passenger who is less than 18 years of age and who is not a
25 member of the licensee’s immediate family.

26 (2) Any licensee issued a restricted license under subsection (c), for
27 a period of six months after such restricted license is issued, shall not
28  operate any motor vehicle with more than one passenger who is less than
29 18 years of age and who is not a member of the licensee’s immediate
30 family.

31 (3) Any conviction for violating this subsection shall be construed as
32 a moving traffic violation for the purpose of K.S.A. 8-255, and amend-
33 _ments theretn

34 T_ te) JA restricted driver’s license issued under this section is subject to
35 _ suspeusion or revocation in the same manner as any other driver’s license.
36 [ hraddition-the-divisten-may-suspend-the-restrieted-drivers-lieense-upon
37 receivingsatisfactery-evidence-that:

38 (I—Fheticemsee-hasviolated-therestrictionrol-the licerseror

39 () —thetieenseehas-beerinvelved-in-two-ormere-accidents-charge-
40  ableto-the-livenses,

(e) Any licensee issued a restricted
license under this section shall not operate
a wireless communication device while driving

a motor vehicle.

(f) (1)

(2) A restricted driver's license shall
be suspended in accordance with K.S.A..8—291,
and amendments thereto, for any violation of
restrictions under this section.

(3) The division shall suspend the
restricted driver's license upon receilving
satisfactory evidence that the licensee has
been involved in two or more accidents
chargeable to the licensee and such suspended

4] A-li@ea;%-—sus-pelade-el—u-md@-;——t—l—li&—s&bseet-ian—s—haﬂ—ﬁe!:—’ee-vreﬁ}sm‘feé—fer'
42 enesyear. )
43 () Evidence of failure of any licensee who was required to complete

license shall not be reinstated for one year.

and by relettering the remaining subsections accordingly
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the 50 hours of adult supervised driving under this section shall not be
admissible in any action for the purpose of determining any aspect of
comparative negligence or mitigation of damages.

(g) Any licensee issued a restricted license under:

(1) Subsection (a) who:

(A) Is under the age of 16 years and is convicted of two or more
moving traffic violations committed on separate occasions shall not be
eligible to receive a driver’s license which is not restricted in accordance
with the provisions of subsection (b)(1) until the person reaches 17 years
of age;

(B) is under 17 years of age but at least 16 years of age and is con-
victed of two or more moving traffic violations committed on separate
occasions shall not be eligible to receive a driver’s license which is not
restricted in accordance with the provisions of subsection {b)(2) until the
person reaches 18 years of age; or

(C) fails to provide the affidavit required under subsection (a) shall
not be eligible to receive a driver’s license which is not restricted in ac-
cordance with the provisions of subsection (b)(1) until the person provides
such affidavit to the division or the person reaches 17 years of age, which-
ever occurs first.

(2) Subsection (c) who is under the age of 17 years and is convicted
of two or more moving traffic violations committed on separate occasions
shall not be eligible to receive a driver’s license which is not restricted in
accordance with the provisions of subsection (c) until the person reaches
18 years of age.

(h) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the motor
vehicle driver’s license act.

Sec. 9. K.5.A. 8-235d is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-235d.
(a) Drivers’ license examiners of the division shall accept original appli-
cations for drivers’ licenses and instruction permits, as distinguished from
applications for renewals of licenses, on forms prescribed by the division
and also shall issue instruction permits. Drivers’ license examiners of the
division shall examine every applicant for a driver’s license who is required
by the provisions of the motor vehicle drivers’ license act to be examined.
Such examination shall be held in the county where the applicant resides
or at a place adjacent thereto reasonably convenient to the applicant or
at a location established by the secretary for the issuance of a commercial
driver’s license. Such examination shall include a test of the applicant’s
eyesight, the applicant’s ability to read and understand highway signs reg-
ulating, waming and directing traffic, the applicant’s knowledge of the
traffic laws of this state and shall include an actual demonstration of ability
to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of motor
vehicles which the class of license applied for would entitle the applicant

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 8-234a
(see attached)
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Sec. 3. K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 8-234a is hereby amended to read
as follows: 8-234a. (a) As used in the motor vehicle drivers'
license act, the following words and phrases shall have the
meanings respectively ascribed to them herein:

(1) "Drivers' license examiner" or ‘"examiner" means a
drivers' license examiner of the division of wvehicles or any
person whom the director of vehicles has authorized, pursuant to
the authority granted by this act, to accept applications for
drivers' 1licenses and administer the examinations required for
the issuance or renewal of drivers' licenses. Any county
treasurer authorized to accept applications for drivers' licenses
or administer drivers' license examinations shall be deemed to be
acting as an agent of the state of Kansas;

(2) "nonresident" means every person who is not a resident
of this state. For the purposes of the motor vehicle drivers'
license act any person who owns, rents or leases real estate in
Kansas as such person's residence and engages in a trade,
business or profession within Kansas or registers to vote in
Kansas or enrolls such person's children in a school. i -Ehis
state or purchases Kansas registration for a motor vehicle, shall
be deemed a resident of the state of Kansas 90 days after the
conditions stated in this subsection commence, except that
military personnel on active duty and their military dependents
who are residents of another state, shall not be considered
residents of the state of Kansas for the purpose of this act;

(3) "patrol" means the state highway patrol;

(4) "address of principal residence" means: (A) The place

where a person makes his or her permanent principal home; (B)

19-7



place where a person resides, has an intention to remain and
where they intend to return following an absence; or (C) place of
habitation to which, whenever the person is absent, the person
intends to return. If a person eats at one place and sleeps at
another, the place where the person sleeps shall be considered
the person's address of principal residence; and

(5) "state" means a state of the United States, the District
of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American
Samoa and the Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands<; and

(6) "wireless communication device" means any wireless

electronic communication device that provides for voice or data

communication between two or more parties, including, but not

limited to, a mobile or cellular telephone, a text messaging

device, a personal digital assistant that sends or receives

messages, an audio-video player that sends or receives messages

or a laptop computer.

(b) As wused in this act, the words and phrases defined by
the sections in article 14 of chapter 8 of the Kansas Statutes
Annotated, and amendments thereto, shall have the meanings
respectively ascribed to them therein, unless a different meaning

is ascribed to any such word or phrase by subsection (a) of this

section.

/7-&
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to drive. At the conclusion of the examination the examiner shall issue a
license to the applicant, if the applicant has successfully passed the ex-
amination with the class of license the applicant has applied for.

(b) In addition to the requirements of subsection {a):

(1) Any person applying for a driver’s license shall comply with the
provisions of subsection (b) of K.S.A. §-240, and amendments thereto;
and

(2) any person who is under the age of 18 years and at least 6 I7
years of age, who is applying for a driver’s license for the first time, not
including an instruction permit, shall submit a signed affidavit of either
a parent or guardian, stating that the applicant has completed at least 50
hours of adult supervised driving with at least 10 of those hours being at
night. The required adult supervised driving required in this subsection
shall be conducted by an adult who is at least 21 years of age and is the
holder of a valid commercial driver's license, class A, B or C driver’s
license.

Evidence of failure of any licensee who was required to complete the
50 hours of adult supervised driving under this subsection shall not be
admissible in any action for the purpose of determining any aspect of
comparative negligence or mitigation of damages.

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 8-237 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 8-237. The division of vehicles shall not issue any driver’s license to
any persoi:

(a) Who is under the age of 6 17 years, except that the division may

issue a restricted class C or M license, as provided in this—aet;-to—any
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eemparativeneghgence or mitigation of-damages section I, and amend-
ments thereto, or a fm'm penmit, under K.S.A. 8-296, and amendments
thereto.

(b)  Who is under the age of 18 years, except as provided in K.S.A. 8-
2,147, and amendments thereto, for the purpose of driving a commercial
or class A or B motor vehicle.

(c) Whose license is currently revoked, suspended or canceled in this
or any other state, except as provided in K.5.A. 8-256, and amendments
thereto.

(d) Who is a habitual drunkard, habitual user of narcotic drugs or
habitual user of any other drug to a degree which renders the user in-
capable of safely driving a motor vehicle.

(e) Who has previously been adjudged to be afflicted with or suffering
from any mental disability or disease and who, at the time of making
application for a driver’s license, has not been restored to capacity in the
manner provided by law. Application of this limitation to any person
known to have suffered any seizure disorder is subject to the provisions
of paragraph (7) of subsection (e) of K.S.A. 8-247, and amendments
thereto.

(f)  Who is required by the motor vehicle drivers’ license act to take
an examination, unless the person has successfully passed the
examination.

| 7-/1



Sec. 6. K.S.A. 8-239 is hereby amended to read as follows:
8-239. +t&% Any person who 1is at least ¢ 17 years of age may
apply to the division for an instruction permit. The division may
in its discretion, after the applicant has successfully passed
all parts of the examination other than the driving test, issue
to the applicant an instruction permit which shall entitle the
applicant while having such permit in such person's immediate
possession to drive a passenger car upon the public highways for
a period of one year subject to the restrictions herein
contained. Fhe-diviston-may-isstue—-an—-—instruction——-er——restricted
instruction-—-permit-to-any-persen-whe-its-at-lteast-14-years-of-age
and-under—the—age-of-i6-years—enty-upon—the--written——appiieation
ef--a--parent——or—-—guarditan——-of--the--miner+ The one having the
instruction permit may operate a passenger car at any time when

accompanied by an adult who is at least 21 years of age, who is

the holder of a valid commercial driver's license, class A, B or
C driver's license, who has had at least one year of driving
experience and who is occupying a seat beside the driver. Any
person who 1is at 1least %4 17 years of age may apply for an
instruction permit to operate a motorcycle either separate from
or in conjunction with an instruction permit to operate a
passenger car, and such permit shall entitle the permittee to
operate a motorcycle if such person is accompanied by an adult

who is at least 21 years of age, who is the holder of a wvalid

class M driver's 1license, who has had at least one year of
driving experience and who is riding a motorcycle in the general

proximity of the permittee.

tby-—Fhe-diviston-upon—-recetving-proper—apptication-may—-trssue

| -1



in-its-diseretion—a-restricted-instruction—-permit-effective—for-a
seheel--year—-—er—for—a-more-restricted-perioed-to-an—apptieant-who
tg—-—at--teast-—-t4--years--ef--age--and--whe-—is—-enretted--itn—--a
river—edueation——-progran——-whteh--inetudes——-practice——driving—and
whieh-is—approved-by-the-divistony-even—though-the-apptiecant-—has
net—-—reached-the-tegat-age-to-be-etigible-for-a-driverts—ticenses
Sueh-instruetion-permit-shali-—-entitlie—-—the-—-permittee——-when——the
persen—-has--stueh-permit-in-such-perseonts—immediate-possessien—to
eperate-a-passenger—car-onty-on-a-designated-highway-er-within--a
destgnated-area-but-onty-when-an—-approved-instructor-is-eceupying
a-seat-beside—the-permittee-or-when-such-permit-has-been—-endorsed
by-—an—--approved-—-instructor--to--operate——a-passenger-car-with-a
parent-cr~g&afdiaﬁ—wha——%s——the——heider——ef-—a——v&i%d-—eammefeia&
driverlg——licenser——elass-A;-B-or—-E-driverlia-ticensey—who—has—had
gt-teast-one-year-of-driving-experience-and-who——is--oceupying——a
seat-beside—the-drivers
tey-—-Fhe-—divisien;——in-tta-diseretiony—may—issue—a-temporary
driverls-permit-to-an-apprieant-for-a-ctassified-driveris—ticense
permitting-the—appticant-to-eperate-a-motor—-vehicte——within-—-suech
cltassifieation—-yhite-the-divisien-is—cempteting-tts—investigation
and-determinatien-of-ati-facts-retative-to-such-apptieantis—zight
to--receive——a—--driverig--liecenser-——-Fhe-division-may—-tssue-such-a
temperary—-driverlis——permit——to——any——appiicant—-whose-——empioyer
eertifies—-that--such--permit--is——necessary-to—cemptete—seasonaz
agrieuitural-operations——-eof-—the——empioyers——Any——such--temporary
driverls——permit-—issued--pursuant—te—this-subseetion-shati-be-in
the-immediate-pessession-ef-the-permittee—white-operating-a-moter

vehietey—and-it-shati-be-invatid-en-the-date——-specified--thereony

{ F=43
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whieh--shati-net-be-more-than-i5-days—-after—its-issuanecey—or-when
the—appiiteantla-iiecense-has-been-issued-or--for-—-good--cause——has
been-refuseds

Sec. 7. K.S.A. 8-291 1is hereby amended to read as follows:
8-291. (a) It is a misdemeanor for any person to operate a motor
vehicle in violation of the restrictions on any driver's license
or permit imposed pursuant to any statute.

(b) Except as provided in subsection (c):

(1) Any person guilty of violating this section, upon the
first conviction, shall be fined not to exceed $250, and the
court shall suspend such person's privilege to operate a motor
vehicle for not less than 30 days and not more than two years.

(2) Any person guilty of violating this section, upon a
second or subsequent conviction, shall be fined not to exceed
$500, and the court shall suspend such person's privilege to
operate a motor vehicle for not less than 90 days and not more
than two years.

(c) ZEn-——additien——teo-—the-—-penatties-provided-by-subseetions
tbyt13-and-+2y7-tf-the-convierion—is——£for——a--viotatien——of--this
seetton——cemmttted-—after—-June-367-19947—and-befeore—duty-t7-18567
and-—eommitted—-white--the--personts-——driving-—-priviteges——-are
restriecked-—-pursuant-te-K-S+A+-8-1014—and-amendments—theretoy—the
diviston—upen—completion-of-the-period-of-suspension-provided——by
this--seetiony—shalti-restriect-the-persents-driving-priviteges—for
an-additionat-126-days-te-driving-enty-a-motor—-—vehiete--equipped
with-—an——ignition-—-interteck-devicer—as—defined-by-K+5+A+-8~-10813
and-amendments-theretor-approved-by-the--diviston——-and--ebtaineds

instatted-and-maintained-at-the-persents—-expense~

/714



On-—-er—--befere-February-1t7-15967-the-diviaton—-shati-report—to
the-tegistature-regarding-the—-use——eof-—the--previsions—-—-ef-—-this
sybseetien-—-and-making-recommendations—concerning—continnation-or

medifiearton-of-such-provisions+ Any person guilty of wviolating

this section, for wviolating restrictions on a driver's license or

permit imposed pursuant to K.S.A. 8-237, 8-296, section 1 or

section 2, and amendments thereto:

(1) Upon first conviction, the court shall suspend such

person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle for 30 days;

(2) upon a second conviction, the court shall suspend such

person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle for 90 days; and

(3) upon a third or subsequent conviction, the court shall

suspend such person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle for

one year.

(d) ©Nothing in this section sghall limit a court in imposing
penalties, conditions or restrictions authorized by any other
statute arising from the same occurrence in addition to penalties

and suspensions imposed under this section.
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license, class A, B or C driver’s license and who is actually occupying a
seat beside the driver. :

After such six-month period, if the licensee has complied with the pro-
visions of this section, such farm permit shall entitle the licensee to operate
the appropriate motor vehicles at any time without the restrictions re-
quired by this section.

3 (¢) A farm permit shall be issued only if:

(1) The applicant can prove that such applicant resides or works on
a farm;

(2) the applicant has successfully completed the examination require-
ments in K.8.A. 8-235d, and amendments thereto; and

(3) the applicant submits the signed affidavit of either a parent or
guardian, stating that the applicant lives on a farm or, if the applicant
does not live on a farm but works on a farm, the applicant submits the
signed affidavit of the applicant’s employer and parent or guardian, at-
testing to such employment. ‘

te} (d) Any licensee issued a farm permit under this section:

(1) Who is less than 16 years of age shall not operate any motor
vehicle with nonsibling minor passengers and; or

(2) who is at least 16 years of age, for a period of six months after
reaching 16 years of age, shall not operate any motor vehicle with more
than one passenger who is less than 18 years of age and who is not a
member of the licensee’s immediate family.

Any conviction for violating this previsien subsection shall be construed
as a moving traffic violation for the purpose of K.5.A. 8-255, and amend-
ments thereto.

under this section shall not operate a

Ld} (e) As used in this section, “farm” means any parcel of land larger
than 20 acres which is used in agricultural operations:
{—e—)llw(j‘-)w_JA farm permit issued under this section is subject to suspension

motor vehicle.

P S,

(@) (1)

or revocation in the same manner as any other driver’s license. zﬂrpetseﬂ

cl < 2

alxalll H 1 gl e ot o n e 12 Loz o3 - +:]
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e i)u.\‘.)uu e 11ua‘ 165 years ulr ages w'L.;.ully VeI 1beiuk1 1S Iluug\_,l I?f‘ﬁfgfii't:i'g‘ﬂ", d

the—division-may-suspend-the—frmm—permit-upen—reeeiving—satisfactory-
evidencethat:
(L—The licensee hasviolated.the-restrictions of the form permit; ar
(2} thelicenseshas-boen-invelved-intivo-ormore-aseidents-chargeable-
te-the-licensee—
Afarm-permit-suspended-underthis-subscction-shall-not-bo-reinstated

fer-one-year.
# (g) Any licensee issued a farm permit under this section em-and

after Judy1-3999; shall provide prior to reaching 16 years of age, a signed

(2) A farm permit shall be suspended in
accordance with K.S.A. 8-291, and amendments

thereto, for any violation of restrictions
under this section.

(3) The division shall suspend the farm
permit upon receiving satisfactory evidence
that the licensee has been involved in two or
more accidents chargeable to the licensee and

such suspended license shall not be
reinstated for one year.

(e) Any licensee issued a farm permit

wireless communication device while driving a

and by releltering the remaining subsections accordingly

]7-/¢



Sec. 9. K.S.A. 8-297 1is hereby amended to read as follows:
8-297. Notwithstanding any other provisions of this act, any

person who held any valid restricted class C or class M driver's

license, instruction permit er, restricted instruction permit or

farm permit on the effective date of this act may continue to

operate motor vehicles subject to the conditions, limitations and
restrictions contained in K.S.A. 8-237 and, 8-239 and 8-296, and

amendments thereto, as 1in effect on JFune-38+-1953 December 31,

2009.

) 717
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affidavit of either a parent or guardian, stating that the applicant has
completed at least 50 hours of adult supervised driving with at least 10
of those hours being at night. The adult supervised driving required by
this paragraph shall be conducted by an adult who is at least 21 years of
age and is the holder of a valid commercial driver’s license, class A, B or
C driver’s license.

Evidence of failure of any licensee who was required to complete the
50 hours of adult supervised driving under this subsection shall not be
admissible in any action for the purpose of determining any aspect of
comparative neghgence or mitigation of damages.

tgr(h) Any licensee issued a farm permit under this section who: (1)
Is under the age of 16 years and is convicted of two or more moving
traffic violations committed on separate occasions shall not be eligible to
receive a driver’s license which is not restricted in accordance with the
provisions of subsection {&) (b)(1), until the person reaches 17 years of
age; or (2) is at least 16 years of age, but less than 17 years of age and is
convicted of two or more moving traffic violations committed on separate
occasions shall not be eligible to receive a driver’s license which is not
restricted in accordance with the provisions of subsection (b)(2), until the
person reaches 18 years of age; or (3) fails to provide the affidavit required

(h)

under subsection £ (g){ shall not be eligible to receive a driver’s license
which is not restrictéd in accordance with the provisions of subsection fa
(b)(1), until the person provides such affidavit to the division or the person
reaches 17 vears of age. whichever occurs first

Sec. 9. K.S.A. 8-297
(see attached}

8-234a and

Sec. 5. K.S.A. 8-235djand 8—29@\311(1 K.S.A. 2008 Supp.18-237 are

hereby repealed. 3
Sec. 6. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after Jan-

uvary 1, 2010, and its publication in the statute book.

8-239, 8-291, 8-296 and 8-297

and by renumbering the sections accordingly
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