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Date
MINUTES OF THE SENATE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Jim Barnett at 1:30 p.m. on March 5, 2009, in Room 136-N
of the Capitol.

All members were present except Senator Haley who was absent.

Committee staff present:
Nobuko Folmsbee, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Doug Taylor, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Kelly Navinsky-Wenzl, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Terri Weber, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Jan Lunn, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the Committee:
Phyllis Gilmore, Executive Director, Kansas Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board

Others attending;:
See attached list.

Doug Taylor briefed those attending on HB 2162 - Marriage and family therapists educational
requirements and psychologists application fees which would amend the licensing requirements for
marriage and family therapists in Kansas by deleting the requirement of completing a program of study
with standards consistent with those of the state universities in Kansas. The bill also would increase the
statutory maximum the Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board is permitted to charge for the application
fee for the licensure of a psychologist from $150 to $225 and would reduce the statutory maximum of
the original license fee from $200 to $150. The bill would become effective upon publication in the
Kansas Register.

Senator Barnett opened the hearing on HB 2162 and recognized Phyllis Gilmore who testified in support
of the legislation (Attachment 1). The first change in the bill would allow applicants who have not had a
500-hour practicum to receive a Kansas license after completion of additional, direct-client contact hours.
The second change in the bill relates to licensing fees. Currently, a Licensed Psychology (LP) fee is: $100
application fee and $175 original license feel for a total of $275. The change is to charge $225 for an
application fee and to charge an original license fee of $50 for a total of $275. There is no net increase in
the total amount paid. Ms. Gilmore indicated that with a low application fee, applicants are allowed to sit
for the examination without intent to come to Kansas to practice; the change in fee structure may
positively impact

Considerable discussion ensued relative to the Senate Rules and Regulation Committee, Kansas criteria
for licensure compared to national criteria, unlawful delegation of authority, etc. Discussion was also
heard related to delineation of scope of practice, qualifications for licensure, and regulations which enact
the larger structure of an agency/entity.

It was the consensus of the committee that all affected parties and the Behavioral Sciences Regulatory
Board require an opportunity to respond to the concerns discussed at the meeting today. Senator Barnett
requested that Terri Weber, legislative research department, furnish the testimony that was heard at the
Senate Rules and Regulations Commiittee as well as the Rules and Regulations themselves.

Senator Barnett indicated Public Health and Welfare Committee would return to HB 2162 at a later date.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:53pm.

The next meeting is scheduled for March 9, 2009.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1
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SENATE TESTIMONY
PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE COMMITTEE
March 5, 2009

HB 2162
Mister Chair and Committee Members:

Thank you for the opportunity to testify today in support of HB 2162. | am Phyllis Gilmore the Executive
Director of the Kansas Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board (BSRB).

The BSRB is the licensing board for most of the state’s mental health professionals; the doctoral level
psychologists, the master level psychologists, the clinical psychotherapists, the bachelor, master and
clinical level social workers, the master and clinical level professional counselors, and the master and
clinical level marriage and family therapists. Additionally, some of the drug and alcohol counselors are
registered with the board, although most of them are certified with SRS at the present time.

The first change in the bill is related to Marriage and Family Therapy (MFT). This amendment simply
strikes the phrase “consistent with the state universities of Kansas.” The marriage and family therapists
are requesting this change so they may allow applicants who have not had a 500 hour practicum to
receive a Kansas license after they complete some additional hours of direct client contact. Currently, if
they have not had a 500 hour practicum while they were in graduate school, the applicant is forever
barred from a marriage and family therapy license in Kansas. The Commission on Accreditation for
Marriage and Family Therapy Education, the national accrediting body for MFT university programs, has
lowered the practicum hour requirement. Thus, many universities have also lowered their hour
requirement, but K-state has not. K-state is the only state university with a MFT program in Kansas.
Therefore, we cannot change our regulation without the statutory change as we would be inconsistent
with the K-state requirement.

The second change in the bill is also simple. The current Licensed Psychology (LP) fees are: application
fee - $100 and original license fee - $175. Total - $275. We want to change these fees to an application
fee of $225 and original license fee of $50. Total -$275. There would be no net increase in the total
amount paid for an application fee and original license fee, only a shift. However, we cannot do this in
regulation without the statutory change in the application fee which moves the ceiling from $150 to $225.

The attached graph shows the number of out of state applicants who apply and never aétually geta
license. Only 20% of the 2008 out of state applicants requested Kansas licensure. They apply to get
approval fo sit for the national psychology examination prior to completing their post doctoral hours.
Kansas allows this and most other jurisdictions do not. The applicants are willing to pay our application
fee even when they do not intend tc get a Kansas license, so they can go ahead and take the
examination early. The review of the application is time consuming, especially with out of state
applicants. Obviously, by increasing the application fee, we hope to slow down the number of out of state
applicants who are not planning to practice in Kansas. This would not penalize Kansas applicants
because there will be no net change in the cost of a license.

Thank you. | will be happy to stand for questions.

Respectfully submitted,

Phyllis Giimore

Executive Director

Kansas Behavioral
Sciences Regulatory Board

Public Health and Welfare
Date: 03/05/09

Attachment: 1
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SENATE TESTIMONY
PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE COMMITTEE

HB 2162

ADDENDUM
Mister Chair and Committee Members:

The Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board (BSRB) met on March 9, 2009. It is my
understanding that | am to relay back to the committee the Board’s response to the

proposed amendment to HB 2162. Therefore, | am submitting this addendum to my
original testimony.

It is the understanding of the Board the amendment was introduced as a result of a
hearing before the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules and Regulations regarding
amendments to K.A.R. 102-2-6. A response related to that hearing is also being
prepared and will be sent to the Joint Committee.

However, one point of concern at that hearing was the Board’s procedure for
promulgating a regulation without a formal vote. At yesterday’s meeting the Board
formally agreed to take an official vote in the future prior to sending a regulation forward.

A second concern from the committee related to the belief that the Board had concerns
about the quality of social work programs at the state universities of Kansas. That
simply is not true. The Board has no concerns about the educational standards of social
work programs at Kansas state universities. In fact, the Board assumed that all of the
universities would be in compliance with the proposed regulation since the request for
the amendment originated from a request of the Kansas Council on Social Work
Education. Yesterday the Board voted unanimously to withdraw the motion. The
universities will have an opportunity for input/review of future amendments coming forth
from the social work advisory committee/Board regarding social work programs.

Thus, the Board would hope that the committee would no longer wish to proceed with
the amendment. However, should that not be the case, the Board does have specific
thoughts related to the proposed amendment.

¢ The board has concerns about delegating the authority of licensure to an entity
other than the state of Kansas. In addition to questioning the wisdom of such a
decision, the Board would also question its constitutionality and whether it is the
“unlawful delegation of legislative authority” as mentioned in the Kansas
Constitution in Article 2; Section 1.

¢ The credentialing criteria of CSWE are a moving target and one over which
Kansas would have no input when changes are made.

o There could be a logistical problem of knowing when changes are made and
being able to notify applicants that there has been a change. Without knowledge
of CSWE changes, the Board would be out of compliance with Kansas Statute.



There could also be a lag in compliance due to the possible need to change
regulations, forms, and/or processes related to requirement changes of CSWE.

o Arecent example of this is HB 2162. COMFTE is moving toward
outcome measurements and lowered the practicum hour requirement to
300 from 500. Kansas State University has not as yet implemented such
a change. This has posed a problem for some out of state applicants
requesting a license in Kansas. Therefore, the Board has opted for a
compromise, with the blessing of KSU, to allow folks with a 300 hour
practicum to become licensed if additional practicum hours are completed
post graduately. If HB 2162 passes, the Marriage and Family Therapy
committee has discussed offering a regulation change that would allow
individuals who have less than a 500 practicum to double the deficit hours
in the work setting since work supervision is less intense that practicum
supervision. This would mean, as an example, for the 200 hours not
completed in school, they would need to have 400 client contact hours
completed in a post graduate work setting prior to receiving a permanent
license.

This seems to the Board a fair and reasonable solution which helps
individuals to become licensed, but more importantly also protects the
public. Such flexibility would not be allowed for social work under the
proposed amendment.

A question arises related to the status of an applicant from a non-accredited
CSWE program. Currently, one can be licensed if they meet the criteria
stated in regulation. This would no longer be possible unless the criteria are
equal to or less stringent than CSWE. Obviously, they could not be equal to
CSWE requirements if they are not accredited by CSWE, so then they would
have to be less stringent. Currently, the committee requests a professor from
the University of Kansas and in the past we have used professors from
Washburn and Ft. Hays to evaluate the non-accredited programs. How this
would work under the proposed amendment is unclear.

One specific example differences between current Kansas law and CSWE
requirements of which we are aware is in clinical coursework requirements.
An applicant for a clinical license must have completed a 3 credit hour course
in psychopathology as part of the 15 credit hours supporting the diagnosis or
treatment of mental disorders referred to above. (K.S.A. 65-6306(d)(1)(B))
CSWE does not require this course. Thus, under this amendment, Kansas
could issue an independent level license to a social worker who would legally
allow the individual to diagnose and treat mental disorders independently
when he/she has never had a course in psychopathology. We are not clear
at this time if any of the 15 credit hours of clinical coursework are a
requirement of CSWE. We are also not sure at this time how it would affect
other requirements such as those related to supervision.

The purpose of a national credentialing body is very different from that of a
state licensing board. The social work credentialing body looks at a course of
study for the broad field of social work. It is focused on the education of the
social worker. Whereas a licensing board is charged with protecting the



public when an individual chooses to enter into that field. The role of the
Board then becomes a determination of whether the education and training
received by an individual and the role to be performed by that individual when
granted a license are congruent. The question a licensing board must
answer, “Is the education and training sufficient for what the applicant wants
to do™.

Therefore, the Board would respectfully request House Bill 2162 be passed out of
committee favorable for passage without the proposed amendment.

Respectfully submitted,
Phyllis Gilmore

Executive Director

Kansas Behavioral Sciences
Regulatory Board



