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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE CORRECTIONS AND JUVENILE JUSTICE COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Pat at1:30 p.m. on March 10, 2010, in Room 144-S of the
Capitol.

All members were present except:
Representative Stan Frownfelter- excused

Committee staff present:
Sean Ostrow, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Jason Thompson, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Athena Andaya, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Jerry Donaldson, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Jackie Lunn, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the Committee:

Others attending:
See attached list.

H Sub for S 458 by Committee on Corrections and Juvenile Justice - Amending the penalties for
violations of the Kansas uniform securities

Chairperson Colloton called the meeting to order and announced to the Committee they would open with
consideration of H Sub for SB 458. She called on Sean Ostrow, Office of the Revisor, to explain a balloon
of the Kansas Securities Commission (Attachment 1). After his explanation, Chairperson Colloton called on
Rick Fleming, Council for the Securities Commission. Mr. Fleming explained the balloon in more detail and
pointed out a couple of sections that should be changed.

Questions and answers followed with the Committee and Mr. Fleming.

Representative Barnes made a motion to amend the severity level from an 8 to a 7. Representative
McCray-Miller seconded the motion. The motion carried. By majority vote of the Committee, H Sub
for SB 458 was passed out favorably.

Sub for SB 67 by Committee on Judiciary — Amending the crime of mistreatment of a dependent
adult

SB 411 - Criminal possession of a firearm

Chairperson Collation advised the goal was to accomplish two things in addition to approving the changes that
- were made earlier; one to put SB 411 into it and review an amendment from Ed Klump, Kansas Association
of Chiefs of Police and the Kansas Peace Officers’ Association. Chairperson Collation requested Sean Ostrow,
Office of the Revisor, to explain the balloon amendment (Attachment 2), identifying identity theft, identity
fraud and their severity levels.

Representative Brookens made a motion to adopt the balloon amendment. Representative McCray-
Miller seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Representative Brookens made a motion to amend Page 2, line 19, taking the verbiage out which
indicates severity level 8 person felony and substitute with a class A personal misdemeanor.
Representative McCray-Miller seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Chairperson Collation requested Jason Thompson, Office of the Revisor of Statutes, to explain the balloon
amendment on Sub for SB 67 (Attachment 3), which changes the title to include “criminal possession of a
firearm” to make clear that a person convicted of attempts, conspiracy or solicitation of one of the crimes, you
also get a 10 year ban and without this amendment, it would be a 5 year ban.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1



CONTINUATION SHEET

Minutes of the House Corrections and Juvenile Justice Committee at 1:30 p.m. on March 10, 2010, in
Room 144-S of the Capitol.

Representative Bethel made a motion to move SB 411 into Sub for SB 67. Representative Spalding

seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Chairperson Collation stated Ed Klump, Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police and the Kansas Peace
Officers’ Association had another concern of the language in the recodification which is scheduled to go into
effect in another year, however, Mr. Klump requests it be put into the current law. Jason Thompson, Office
of the Revisor of Statutes, advises to strike most of the current law, replace it, but keep the part that says it is
supplemental to the criminal code (Attachment 4).

Representative Pauls made a motion to move the identity balloon. Representative Brookens seconded
the motion. The motion carried.

Representative Bethel made a motion to pass out favorably Sub for SB 67 as amended. Representative
Spalding seconded the motion. The motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 2:30 p.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for March 11, 2010, in room 144-S.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 2
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2010 9rs2004
PROPOSED HOUSE Substitute for SENATE BILL NO. 458

By
AN ACT concerning crimes, punishment and c¢riminal procedure;

relating to violations of the Kansas uniform securities act;
amending K.S.A. 17-12a508 and repealing the existing section.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 17-12a508 is hereby amended to read as

follows: 17-12a508. (a) Criminal penalties. (1) Except as

provided in subsections (a)(2) through (a)(4), a conviction for

an intentional violation of ¢his the Kansas uniform securities

act, or a rule adopted or order issued under this act, except
K.5.A. 17-12a504, and amendments thereto, or the notice filing
requirements of K.S.A. 17-12a302 or 17-12a405, and amendments
thereto, is a severity level # 8, nonperson felony. An individual
convicted of violating a rule or order under this act may be
fined, but may not be imprisoned, if the individual did not have
knowledge of the rule or order.
(2) A conviction for an intentional violation of K.S.A.
17-12a501 or 17-12a502, and amendments thereto, is+
tAy-—-A-severity-tevei-4;-nonperson-feteny--if--the--vietatien
resutted-in-a-toss-o0f-51007000-or-mores
tBy-——a--severity—-teveit--5;-nonpersen-felteny-if-the-vietation
resuited-in-a-toss-of-at-iteast-$257008-but-tess-than-$166+000+-or
t€r—-a-severity-ievei-77-nonperson-feteny—--if-—-the--violation

resutted--in--a--tess—--of--less--than--$257000+ if the violation

resulted in a loss of an amount of:

(A) $1,000,000 or more is a severity level 2, nonperson
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felony;
(B) at least $250,000 but less than $1,000,000 is a severity

level 3, nonperson felony;

(C) at least $100,000 but less than $250,000 is a severity

level 4, nonperson felony;

(D) at least $25,000 but less than $100,000 is a severity

level 5, nonperson felony; or

(E) less than $25,000 is a severity level 6, nonperson

felony.

(3) A conviction for an intentional wviolation of K.S.A.
17-12a301, 17-12a401(a), 17-12a40ttc)y 17-12a402(a),
17-128402¢d¥7 17-12a403(a)7--—-17#-12a483tey7——-17-12a403¢tdy7 or
17-12a404(a), er-t7?-t2ad404te¥7 and amendments thereto, is:

+AY--A--severity--tevel--5;-nenperson-fetony-if-the-violation
resulted-in-a-toss-0£-51667060-or—-meres

{By--a-severity-tevei-67-nonpersen—-feleny—-if--the--viotation
resglted-in-a-ltess-eof-at-least-$2570066-but—tess-than-$16007066;-or

{t€y--a—-severity--ltevei—-—-F;-nonperseon—£fetony-if-the-viotation

restited-in-a--ltoss——-of--less--than--$257000s if the violation

resulted in a loss of an amount of:

(A) $1,000,000 or more is a severity level 2, nonperson

felony;
(B) at least $250,000 but less than $1,000,000 is a severity

level 3, nonperson felony;

(C) at least $100,000 but less than $250,000 is a severity

level 4, nonperson felony;

[- X
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(D) at least $25,000 but less than $100,000 is a severity

level 6, nonperson felony; or

(E) less than $25,000 is a severity 1level 7, nonperson

felony.

(4) A conviction for an intentional violation of K+S<aA~
i?miEaS95ﬁef—i?—}2a5667—and—ameﬂdments-—thereteT——is——a——severity
teveil-87-nenperson-fetony=-:

(A) K.S.A. 17-12a404(e) or 17-12a505, and amendments

thereto, or an order to cease and desist issued by the

administrator pursuant to K.S.A. 17-12a4l12(c) or 17-12a604(a),

and amendments thereto, is a severity level 5, nonperson felony.

(B) K.S.A. 17-12a40l(c), 17-12a403(c) or 17-12a506, and

amendments thereto, is a severity level 6, nonperson felony.

(C) K.S.A. 17-12a402(d) or 17-12a403(d), and amendments

thereto, is a severity level 7, nonperson felony.

(5) Any violation of K.S.A. 17-12a301, 17-12a401l(a),
17-12a401tedT 17-12a402(a), 17-12a402+dy7 17-12a403(a),
17-12a463tey7-17-128403¢dy7 17-12a404(a), t7-i2a484{tey7 17-12a501
or 17-12a502, and amendments thereto, resulting in a 1loss of
$25,000 or more shall have-a-presumptive-sentence-of-imprisonment
regardiess—-of--its--location—-on--the--sentenecing--grid-bteeck be

presumed imprisonment.

(b) Statute of Limitations. Except as provided by subsection

(9) of K.S.A. 21-3106, and amendments thereto, no prosecution for
any crime under this act may be commenced more than 10 vyears

after the alleged violation if the victim is the Kansas public
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employees retirement system and no prosecution for any other
crime under this act may be commenced more than five years after
the alleged violation. A prosecution 1is commenced when a
complaint or information is filed, or an indictment returned, and
a warrant thereon is delivered to the sheriff or other officer
for execution, except that no prosecution shall be deemed to have
been commenced if the warrant so issued is not executed without

unreasonable delay.

(¢) Criminal reference. The administrator may refer such

evidence as may be available concerning violations of this act or
of any rules and regulations or order hereunder to the attorney
general or the proper county or district attorney, who may in the
prosecutor's discretion, with or without such a reference,
institute the appropriate criminal proceedings under this act.
Upon receipt of such reference, the attorney general or the
county attorney or district attorney may request that a duly
employed attorney of the administrator prosecute or assist in the
prosecution of such violation or violations on behalf of the
state. Upon approval of the administrator, such employee shall be
appointed a special prosecutor for the attorney general or the
county attorney or district attorney to serve without
compensation from the attorney general or the county attorney or
district attorney. Such special prosecutor shall have all the
powers and duties prescribed by law for assistant attorneys
general or assistant county or district attorneys and such other

powers and duties as are lawfully delegated to such special

/-4
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prosecutor by the attorney general or the county attorney or
district attorney. If an attorney employed by the administrator
acts as a special prosecutor, the administrator may pay
extradition and witness expenses associated with the case.

(d) No limitation on other criminal enforcement. This act

does not limit the power of this state to punish a person for
conduct that constitutes a crime under other laws of this state.
Sec. 2. K.S.A. 17-12a508 is hereby repealed.
Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and

after its publication in the statute book.



10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40

A1

Session of 2010
Substitute for SENATE BILL No. 67
By Committee on Judiciary

2-16

AN ACT concemning crimes and punishment; relating to mistreatment
of a dependent adult; amending K.S.A. 21-3437 and repealing the ex-
isting section.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 21-3437 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-
3437. (a) Mistreatment of a dependent adult is knowingly and intention-
ally committing one or more of the following acts:

(1) Infliction of physical injury, unreasonable confinement or erael
unreasonable punishment upon a dependent adult,

(2) taking unfair advantage of a dependent adult’s physical or financial
resources for another individual’s personal or financial advantage by the
use of undue influence, coercion, harassment, duress, deception, false
representation or false pretense by-w-earetaker oranother-persen; or

(3) omittingordepriving omission or deprivation of treatment, goods
or services by-sa-earetaker-or-anotherpersorwhieh that are necessary to
maintain physical or mental health of a dependent adult.

(b) No dependent adult is considered to be mistreated for the sole
reason that such dependent adult relies upon or is being furnished treat-
ment by spiritual means through prayer in lieu of medical treatment in
accordance with the tenets and practices of a recognized church or relig-
ious denomination of which such dependent adult is a member or
adherent.

(c) For purposes of this section: “Dependent adult” means an indi-
vidual 18 years of age or older who is unable to protect their own interest.
Such term shall include:

(1) Any resident of an adult care home including but not limited to
those facilities defined by K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments thereto;

(2) any adult cared for in a private residence;

(3) any individual kept, cared for, treated, boarded or otherwise ac-
commodated in a medical care facility;

(4) any individual with mental retardation or a developmental disa-
bility receiving services through a community mental retardation facility
or residential facility licensed under K.S.A. 75-3307b and amendments
thereto;

.
.
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(5) any individual with a developmental disability receiving services
provided by a community service provider as provided in the develop-
mental disability reform act; or

(6)  any individual kept, cared for, treated, boarded or otherwise ac-
commodated in a state psychiatric hospital or state institution for the
mentally retarded.

(d) (1) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection
(a)(1) is a severity level 6 (5), person felony.

{2)  Mistreatment of a éependent adult as defined in subsection (2)(2)

is a severity level 6 (5); persen-felony-if-the-ageregate nmountefthevalue
(3)  Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2)

4 person felony if the aggregate
amount of the value of the resources is
at least $100,000 but less than

is a severity level 7. péison felony if the aggregate amount of the value
of the resources is at least $25,000 but less than $100,000.
{4)  Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2)

$250,000.

is a severity level 9. p?rsou felony if the aggregate amount of the value
of the resources is at least $1,000 but less than $25.000.
(5)  Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2)

7]

is a elass-A-person-risdemeaner ifthe aggregate amount of the value of
the resources is less than $1,000.

(6) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(3)
is a elassperson-misdemeanor severity level 8, person felony.

(T)  Mistreatment ofa dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2)

severity level 8
person felony

is a severity level 8, person felony if the aggregate amount of the value
of the resources is less than $1,000 and committed by a person who has,
within five years immediately preceding commission of the crime, been
convicted of mistreatment of a dependent adult two or more times.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 21-3437 is hereby repealed.

Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its
publication in the Kansas register.

(2) Mistreatment of
a dependent adult
as defined in
subsection (a)(2) is
a severity level 2,
person felony if the
aggregate amount
of the value of the
resources is
$1,000,000 or more.

(3) Mistreatment of
a dependent adult
as defined in
subsection (a)(2) is
a severity level 3,
person felony if the
aggregate amount
of the value of the
resources is at least
$250,000 but less
than $1,000,000.
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identity theft and identity fraud;

v

AN ACT concerning crirfes and punjshment; relating to mistreatment

of a dependent adult;amending K.S.A. 21-3437‘and repealing the ex-

isting seeton.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 21-3437 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-
3437. (a) Mistreatment of a dependent adult is knowingly and intention-
ally committing one or more of the following acts:

(1) Infliction of physical injury, unreasonable confinement or ereel
unreasonable punishment upon a dependent adult;

(2) taking unfair advantage of a dependent adult’s physical or financial
resources for another individual’s personal or financial advantage by the
use of undue influence, coercion, harassment, duress, deception, false
representation or false pretense by-a-earetaker-oranother-person; or

(3) emitting-or-depriving omission or deprivation of treatment, goods
or services by-a-earetakeror-another-person-which that are necessary to
maintain physical or mental health of a dependent adult.

(b) No dependent adult is considered to be mistreated for the sole
reason that such dependent adult relies upon or is being furnished treat-
ment by spiritual means through prayer in lieu of medical treatment in
accordance with the tenets and practices of a recognized church or relig-
ious denomination of which such dependent adult is a member or
adherent.

(c) For purposes of this section: “Dependent adult” means an indi-
vidual 18 years of age or older who is unable to protect their own interest.
Such term shall include:

(1) Any resident of an adult care home including but not limited to
those facilities defined by K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments thereto,

(2) any adult cared for in a private residence;

(3) any individual kept, cared for, treated, boarded or otherwise ac-
commodated in a medical care facility;

(4) any individual with mental retardation or a developmental disa-
bility receiving services through a community mental retardation facility
or residential facility licensed under K.S.A. 75-3307b and amendments
thereto;

sections

i and 21-4018 l
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)

1 (5) any individual with a developmental disability receiving services

2 provided by a community service provider as provided in the develop-

3 mental disability reform act; or

4 (6) any individual kept, cared for, treated, boarded or otherwise ac-

5 commodated in a state psychiatric hospital or state institution for the

6 mentally retarded.

7 (d) (1) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection

§  (a)(1) is a severity level 6 (5), person felony.

9 (2) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2)
10 is a severity level 6 (5), person felony if the aggregate amount of the value
11  of the resources is $100,000 or more.

12 (3) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2)

3-9

13 is a severity level 7, person felony if the aggregate amount of the value

14  of the resources is at least $25,000 but less than $100,000.

15 (4) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2)

16 is a severity level 9, person felony if the aggregate amount of the value

17 of the resources is at least $1,000 but less than $25,000.

18 (5) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2)

19 is a class A person misdemeanor if the aggregate amount of the value of

20 the resources is less than $1,000.

21 (6) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(3)

22 is a elassA-persormisdemeanss severity level 8, person felony. Insert

23 (7) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2) Sec. 2. Amend K.S.A. 21-4018
24 s a severity level 9, person felony if the aggregate amount of the value (attached)

25  of the resources is less than $1,000 and committed by a person who has,

26  within five years immediately preceding commission of the crime, been o .

27 convicted of mistreatment of & dependent adult two or more times. € Renumber remaining sections
28 Sec. 2. K.S.A. 21-3437 is\hereby repealed.

29 Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its and 21-4018 are

30 publication in the Kansas register.
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(a) Identity theft is obtaining, possessing, transferring,
using, selling or purchasing any personal identifying
information, or document containing the same, belonging to or
issued to another person, with the intent to defraud that person,
or any one else, in order to receive any benefit.

(b) Identity fraud is:

(1) Using or supplying information the person knows to be
false in order to obtain a document containing any personal
identifying information; or

(2) altering, amending, counterfeiting, making,
manufacturing or otherwise replicating any document containing
personal identifying information with the intent to deceive;

(c) (1) Identity theft is a:

(A) Severity level 8, nonperson felony, except as provided
in subsection (c) (1) (B), and

(B) severity level 5, nonperson felony if the monetary loss
to the victim or victims is more than $100,000.

(2) Identity fraud is a severity level 8, nomperson felony.

(d) It is not a defense that the person did not know that
such personal identifying information belongs to another person,
or that the person to whom such personal identifying information
belongs or was issued is deceased.



(e) As used in this section “personal identifying
information” includes, but is not limited to, the following:

(1) Name;

(2) birth date;

(3) address;,

(4) telephone number;

(5) drivers license number or card or non-drivers
identification number or card;

(6) social security number or card;

(7) place of employment;,

(8) employee identification numbers or other personal
identification numbers or cards,

(9) mother’s maiden name;

(10) birth, death or marriage certificates;

(11) electronic identification numbers;

(12) electronic signatures; and

(13) any financial number, or password that can be used to
access a person’s financial resources, including, but not limited
to, checking or savings accounts, credit or debit card
information, demand deposit or medical information.

(f) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the
Kansas criminal code.
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criminal possession of a firearm;

AN ACT concemning criyés and punishment; relating to mistreatment
of a dependent adult; amending K.S.A. 21-3437‘and repealing the ex-

isting seetion.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A.21-3437 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-
3437. (a) Mistreatment of a dependent adult is knowingly and intention-
ally committing one or more of the following acts:

(1) Infliction of physical injury, unreasonable confinement or ertel
unreasonable punishment upon a dependent adult;

(2) taking unfair advantage of a dependent adult’s physical or financial
resources for another individual’s personal or financial advantage by the
use of undue influence, coercion, harassment, duress, deception, false
representation or false pretense by-s-earetaker-or-anetherperson; or

(3) emittingordepriving omission or deprivation of treatment, goods
or services by-a-earetakeroranotherperson-whieh that are necessary to
maintain physical or mental health of a dependent adult.

(b) No dependent adult is considered to be mistreated for the sole
reason that such dependent adult relies upon or is being furnished treat-
ment by spiritual means through prayer in lieu of medical treatment in
accordance with the tenets and practices of a recognized church or relig-
ious denomination of which such dependent adult is a member or
adherent.

(c) For purposes of this section: “Dependent adult” means an indi-
vidual 18 years of age or older who is unable to protect their own interest.
Such term shall include:

(1) Any resident of an adult care home including but not limited to
those facilities defined by K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments thereto;

(2) any adult cared for in a private residence;

(3) any individual kept, cared for, treated, boarded or otherwise ac-
commodated in a medical care facility;

(4) any individual with mental retardation or a developmental disa-
bility receiving services through a community mental retardation facility
or residential facility licensed under K.S.A. 75-3307b and amendments
thereto;
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(5) any individual with a developmental disability receiving services
provided by a community service provider as pl(mded in the develop-
mental d_lsa.blhty reform act; or

(6) any individual kept, cared for, treated, boarded or otherwise ac-
commodated in a state psychiatric hospital or state institution for the
mentally retarded.

(d) (1) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection
(a)(1) is a severity level & (5), person felony.

(2) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2)
is a severity level & (5), person felony if the aggregate amount of the value
of the resources is $100,000 or more.

2 (3) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2)
is a severity level 7, person felony if the aggregate amount of the value
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14  of the resources is at least $25.000 but less than $100,000.
15 (4) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a}(2)
16

is a severity level 9, person felony if the aggregate amount of the value
of the resources is at least $1,000 but less than $25,000.
(5) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2)

is a class A person misdemeanor if the aggregate amount of the value of
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20 the resources is less than $1,000.
1 (6) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(3) Insert
2 is a elassA-persenrrisdemeansr severity level 8, person felony. Sec. 2. Amend K.S.A. 2009
3 (7) Mistreatment of a dependent adult as defined in subsection (a)(2)

Supp. 21-4204 as amended in

g

is a severity level 9, person felony if the aggregate amount of the value

SB 411 (attached
5 of the resources is less than $1,000 and committed by a person who has, ( )
within five years immediately preceding commission of the crime, been o )
convicted of mistreatment of a dependent adult two or more times. Renumber remaining sections
8 Sec. 2. K.S.A. 21-3437 is\hereby repealed. ,
& g NElE e _ - and K.S.A. 2000
9 Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its
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publication in the Kansas register. Supp. 21-4204 are
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Session of 2010
SENATE BILL No. 411
By Committee on Judiciary

1-21

AN ACT concerning crimes and punishment; relating to criminal pos-
session of a firearm; amending K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 21-4204 and re-
pealing the existing section.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 21-4204 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 21-4204. (a) Criminal possession of a firearm is:

(1) Possession of any firearm by a person who is both addicted to and
an unlawful user of a controlled substance;

(2) possession of any firearm by a person who has been convicted of
a person felony or a violation of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 21-36a01 through 21-
36a17, and amendments thereto, or a crime under a law of another ju-
risdiction which is substantially the same as such felony or violation, or
was adjudicated a juvenile offender because of the commission of an act
which if done by an adult would constitute the commission of a person
felony or a violation of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 21-36a01 through 21-36al7,
and amendments thereto, and was found to have been in possession of a
firearm at the time of the commission of the offense;

(3) possession of any firearm by a person who, within the preceding
five years has been convicted of a felony, other than those specified in
subsection (a)(4)(A), under the laws of Kansas or a crime under a law of
another jurisdiction which is substantially the same as such felony, has
been released from imprisonment for a felony or was adjudicated as a
juvenile offender because of the commission of an act which if done by
an adult would constitute the commission of a felony, and was found not
to have been in possession of a firearm at the time of the commission of
the offense;

(4) possession of any firearm by a person who, within the preceding
10 years, has been convicted of: (A) A felony under K.S.A. 21-3401, 21-
3402, 21-3403, 21-3404, 21-3410, 21-3411, 21-3414, 21-3415, 21-3419,
21-3420, 21-3421, 21-3427, 21-3442, 21-3502, 21-3506, 21-3518, 21-
3716, K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 21-36a03, 21-36a05 er, 21-36a06, 21-36a07 or
91-36a09, and amendments thereto;; K.S.A. 65-4127a, 65-4127b, 65-
4159, 65-4160, 65-4161, 65-4162, 65-4163, 65-4164 or 65-7006, prior to
such section’s repeal; an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as
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defined in K.S.A. 21-3301, 271-3302 or 21-3303, and amendments thereto,
of any such felony; or a crime under a law of another jurisdiction which
is substantially the same as such felony, has been released from impris-
onment for such felony, or was adjudicated as a juvenile offender because
of the commission of an act which if done by an adult would constitute
the commission of such felony, was found not to have been in possession
of u firearm at the time of the commission of the offense, and has not
had the conviction of such crime expunged or been pardoned for such
crime; or (B) a nonperson felony under the laws of Kansas or a crime
under the laws of another jurisdiction which is substantially the swme as
such nonperson felony, has been released from imprisonment for such
nonperson felony or was adjudicated as a juvenile offender because of
the commission of an act which if done hy an adult would constitute the
commission of a nonperson felony, and was found to have been in pos-
session of a firearm at the time of the commission of the offense;

(5) possession of any firearm by any person, other than a law enforce-
ment officer, in or on any school property or grounds upon which is
located a building or structure used by a unified school district or an
accredited nonpublic school for stucdent instruction or attendance or ex-
tracurricular activities of pupils enrolled in kindergarten or any of the
grades 1 through 12 or at any regularly scheduled school sponsored ac-
tivity or event;

(6) refusal to surrender or immediately remove from school property
or grounds or at any regularly scheduled school sponsored activity or
event any firearm in the possession of any person, other than a law en-
forcement officer, when so requested or directed by any duly authorized
school employee or any law enforcement officer; or

(7) possession of any firearm by a person who is or has been a men-
tally ill person subject to involuntary commitment for care and treatment,
as defined in K.S.A. 59-2946, and amendments thereto, or persons with
an alcohol or substance abuse problem subject to involuntary commit-
ment for care and treatment as defined in K.S.A. 59-29b46, and amend-
ments thereto.

(h)  Subsection (a)(5) shall not apply to:

(1) Possession of any firearm in connection with a firearms safety
course of instruction or firearms education course approved and author-
ized by the school;

(2) any possession of any firearm specifically authorized in writing by
the superintendent of any unified school district or the chief administrator
of any accredited nonpublic school;

(3) possession of a firearm secured in a motor vehicle by a parent,
guardian, custodian or someone authorized to act in such person’s behalf
who is delivering or collecting a student; or
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(4) possession of a firearm secured in a motor vehicle by a registered
voter who is on the school grounds, which contain a polling place for the
purpose of voting during polling hours on an election day.

(¢) Subsection (a)(7) shall not apply to a person who has received a
certificate of restoration pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 75-7¢26, and
amendments thereto.

(d) Violation of subsection (a)(1) or (a)(5) is a class B nonperson select
misdemeanor; violation of subsection (a)(2), (a)(3), (a)(4) or (a)(7) is a
severity level 8, nonperson felony; violation of subsection (a)(6) is a class
A nonperson misdemeanor,

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 21-4204 is hereby repealed.

See. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its
publication in the statute book.



