Approved: ___May 4, 2010
Date
MINUTES OF THE HOUSE HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Brenda Landwehr at 8:30 a.m. on April 28, 2010, in Room
346 S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Representative Aaron Jack - excused
Representative Clark Schultz - excused

Committee staff present:
Norm Furse, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Melissa Calderwood, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Kathie Sparks, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Debbie Bartuccio, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the Committee:
Amy Warkentin, Johnson County Public Health/ KPHA Member (Attachment 1)
Marvin Stottlemire, Kansas Public Health Association (Attachment 2)
Marty Keaton-Ferron, Licensed Provider, Mission, Kansas (Attachment 3)
Megan Ward, Salvation Army, Kansas and Western Missouri Division (Attachment 4)
Reva Wywadis, ERC Resource & Referral, Topeka (Attachment 5)
Don Jordan, Secretary, Kansas Department of Social & Rehabilitation Services

(Attachment 6 & 7)

Others attending:
See attached list.

HB 2356 - S Sub for H 2356 by Committee on Public Health and Welfare — Child care; supervision of
children and licensure and inspection of child care facilities

Chairperson Landwehr continued the hearing on SB 2356.

Amy Warkentin, Johnson County Public Health/KPHA member provided testimony in support of the bill.
She stated the need to inspect all childcare facilities in Kansas is long overdue. For many years there has been
the need to eliminate the category called Registered Daycare Home. The main reason this category should
go away is that this category of facility does NOT receive ANY inspection by childcare licensing staff.
Currently the only time childcare surveyors have right of entry to a Registered home is for a complaint visit.
Most of the time these visits are long and violations are many. Many serious injuries/deaths of children occur
in RDCH’s that possibly could have been prevented if inspection of the home by childcare licensing staff had
occurred. Extending the time frame from 12 months to 15 months for all licensing inspections to be
completed is a compromise but it will allow inspections of all new registered daycare homes without financial
impact. The change would allow the surveyors the flexibility to continue to do the facilities that have
enforcement issues on a 12 month basis, inspect all new family childcare homes, continue to conduct
complaint investigations for all categories of child care, complete KDHE request compliance checks, and
complete the annual inspections of remaining licensed facilities with a good compliance records within the
15 month time frame. (Attachment 1)

Marvin Stottlemire, Kansas Public Health Association, provided testimony in support of the bill. Regulation
and inspection are more than enforcement. The child care licensing professional is more than a mere
inspector. He or she also is an educator and advisor to providers. Make no mistake caring for children in a
child care setting is vastly more complex from caring for one’s own children in one’s own home. Parents who
must leave their children in someone else’s care need to know that standards are being met. For years, Kansas
has been one of the very few States that allowed for child care without periodic inspections. Itis time to bring
our state and the safety of Kansas Children in care up to national standards. (Attachment 2)

Marty Keaton-Ferren, licensed provider, Mission, Kansas, provided neutral testimony on the bill. She spoke
about her concerns about the risk-based inspection system, initial and continuing education requirements of
providers, and defining “Competent Supervision” within legislation. (Attachment 3)
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Inspections:

- The quality of the system of inspections is as important as including all providers in it.

- Concern that overall compliance will deteriorate under the risk-based system.

- Concern that no study has been done by KDHE that tells us we cannot afford to continue with the system
we have - or that supports the new one they want. That Representatives can’t even get numbers by their
counties to consider.

- Do we still know if the Fiscal Note for SB447 still applies?

- The impact the risk-based system has on increasing the number of underground providers.

Education:

- No educational requirements are included in SB 447 for the new class of licensed family child care home

providers and should be addressed by amendment.

- Currently only First Aid is required in initial training for registered and licensed home day care providers.
Pediatric CPR training, and a requirement to maintain certification in it, should also be a requirement.

Competent Supervision:
- Concern about once something like Competent Supervision is defined by Law, further refinement of the
language can occur by rules and regulations (without public input).

In addition to her written testimony, she indicated she likes the idea of information available on the web site,
however, she is concerned about the safety of the providers and the children and thinks there should be some
sort of security code or other method used to allow the general public to find how where the providers and
children are located.

Megan Word, Salvation Army, Kansas and Western Missouri Division, provided testimony in support of the
bill. As a provider of child care for Kansas families, they recognize the importance of regular inspections,
clear supervision guidelines and the availability of open records for families while they search for child care.
Likewise, many of the families outside the metro areas rely on home day care for their children. The
protections offered in this bill provide the very basic quality assurances facilities like theirs have been
operating under for years. It is their belief that quality child care should be available to everyone regardless
of where that care is provided - home or center. Their public policy agenda articulates as a priority to “Protect
children and promote health and safe development” and it is their belief that this bill does that. (Attachment
4)

Reva Wywadis, ERC Resource & Referral, Topeka, provided testimony in support of the bill. Parents who
place their children in the care of others deserve knowing that the provider has received an inspection to
assure that minimum health and safety standards are met. Parents should also be able to easily access
information about the child care provider’s compliance history to help them make a wise child care choice.
Lastly, language regarding supervision makes clear the expectation that persons performing child care as a
business and for pay are expected to provide supervision that protects the health and well being of the children
entrusted to their care. Although this bill won’t assure quality, it does open the door to some consultation and
support to providers that might otherwise not receive it, and it is a very positive step for our state. To address
the fiscal impact across the state, the bill introduces a “risk based” inspection cycle, which was recommended
by the Kansas Child Care BEST Team after studying other state guidelines. Although ideally all programs
would receive regular inspection visits, this system directs resources to the programs that need them most.
Kansas children and families deserve the benefit of knowing that their child care provider has had an
inspection visit and meets basic health and safety standards. (Attachment 5)

Chairperson Landwehr expressed some concerns about scare tactics being used concerning the two tier system
in Kansas (registered and licensed) and the quality of these providers in Kansas, when the facts show that
many of the child deaths have been due to SIDS. There are many things that can be done from an education
standpoint to provide information to providers on SIDS.

Chairperson Landwehr recessed the meeting at 10:05 a.m. and announced it would be continued at 1:00 p.m.
in the afternoon at the same location.
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Chairperson Landwehr continued the committee meeting at 1:00 p.m in room 346S of the Capitol.

Don Jordan, Secretary, Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services provided testimony in which
he addressed the Agreement between the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees
(AFSCME) Child Care Providers Together-Kansas (CCPT), the Kansas Department of Social and
Rehabilitation Services and the Kansas Department of Health and Environment. This agreement allows for
a formalized process for CCPT and the state to discuss common goals identified throughout the agreement’s
development. These common goals include: child care quality standards, provider training and professional
development opportunities, rates for subsidized child care benefits, payment timeliness, health and safety
conditions, monitoring and evaluation of providers, and recruitment and retention of qualified providers and
the overall quality of child care programs in Kansas. Recently, the SPCC has been able to successfully
establish the Health and Safety Promotional Fund through the receipt of Recovery Act Child Care
Development Funds. These funds are allowing for professional development and peer mentoring
opportunities and the availability of facility upgrade and equipment/materials grants for child care providers.
(Attachment 6) In addition, a report listing local contractor charges as of March 2008 was provided.
(Attachment 7)

The Chair gave the committee members the opportunity to ask questions and when all were answered, the
hearing on HB 2356 was closed.

Chairperson Landwehr then proceeded to discuss alternatives for making a list of what the committee would
like to see done now on the bill and what the committee would like to see studied between now and next year.
The Chair commented that one of the things she took into consideration was the report by the National
Association of Child Care and Resource Agencies that ranked Kansas #47th in the country. (Attachment 8)
She then reviewed and discussed with the committee the weaknesses outlined in the report.

There was much discussion by the committee members concerning the issues in the NACCRA report and
other concerns of committee members. Suggestions for modifications to the current bill were made by
committee members.

Following this discussion, Chairperson Landwehr directed Revisor Norm Furse to amend the current bill
addressing the following issues:

- Licensing all homes.

- Seeing if we can complete the licensing in one year, possibly not inspecting current licensed homes for one
year.

- Raising the cap on the license fee to $100.

- Putting a year stamp on licenses.

- Requiring a high school diploma or equivalent and grandfathering those existing without one currently.

- Creating a fund for the licensing fee.

Chairperson Landwehr indicated the plan is to come back and review what Norm Furse provides and then with
agreement of the committee, she will take it to a conference committee. At some point, items for study will
be identified.

Written testimony only in support of the bill was provided by:

Kim and Bryan Engelman, parents, Overland Park (Attachment 9)

Steve and Alicia Patrick, parents, Overland Park (Attachment 10)

Suzanne Wilke, Kansas Action for Children (Attachment 11)

Representative of the Family Conservancy, Kansas City, Kansas (Attachment 12)
Shannon Zaring, provider, Bonner Springs (Attachment 13)

Julia Alfers, Child Care Surveyor, Marshal and Nemaha Counties (Attachment 14)
Kathy Deming, licensed provider, Johnson County (Attachment 15)

Kathy Griffin, Child Care Facilities Surveyor, Johnson County (Attachment 16)
Emily M. Lies Ed. D., Greater Wichita, YMCA (Attachment 17)

Jeff Wagaman, Boys and Girls Club of Topeka (Attachment 18)
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Janis McMillen, United Community Services of Johnson County (Attachment 19)
Kristen Fine, parent and provider, Prairie Village, Kansas (Attachment 20)

Written testimony providing answers to questions from Chairperson Landwehr:
Nancy Jensen, RN BSN, Division Supervisor, Child Care Licensing, City of Wichita Office of Health &
Environment (Attachment 21)

Written testimony in opposition to the bill was provided by:
Roland Morreaise, grandparents, Overland Park (Attachment 22)
Kristin Malara, parent, Lenexa (Attachment 23)

Katie Twenter, parent, Overland Park (Attachment 24)

Karen Laughton, Mission (Attachment 25)

Virginia M. Kellogg, Lenexa (Attachment 26)

Mark Werner, Overland Park (Attachment 27)

Gina B. Kellogg, Lenexa (Attachment 28)

Brenda Schoen, Child Care Provider, Olathe (Attachment 29)
Laura and Jeff Jaworski, Leawood (Attachment 30)

Ray and Melissa Stolhand, Overland Park (Attachment 31)
Leslie Foliles, Overland Park (Attachment 32)

Brenda Johnson, Olathe (Attachment 33)

Ken Ogle, Lenexa (Attachment 34)

April Hunt, parent, Lenexa (Attachment 35)

Bill Anderson, insurance agent, Anderson Peck Agency, Topeka (Attachment 36)

The next meeting will be announced by the Chairperson.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:43 p.m.
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Testimony Regarding Substitute Senate Bill 447 and Substitute House Bill 2354
Presented to Committee on Health and Human Services
Prepared by
Eldonna Chesnut, RN, BSN, MSN
Kansas Public Health Association President
Johnson County Health Department Division Director of Adult and Childcare Facilities
And
Amy Warkentin, BA, MPA (candidate)
KPHA Member

Johnson County Health Department Child Care Facility Surveyor

The need to inspect all childcare facilities in Kansas is long overdue. For many years there has
been the need to eliminate the category called Registered Daycare Home. The main reason
this category should go away is that this category of facility does NOT receive ANY inspection
by childcare licensing staff. Currently the only time childcare surveyors have right of entry to a
Registered home is for a compliant visit. Most of the time these visits are long and violations
are many. Many serious injuries/deaths of children occur in RDCH’s that possibly could have
been prevented if inspection of the home by childcare licensing staff had occurred.

Currently all the registered daycare home provider has to do is complete an application, self
complete the KBI form, self complete the fire life safety form, self complete a safety checklist,
and mail the forms in along with the five dollar application fee. As long as the KBI/SRS
background check clears this person can start doing care in their home with no one making sure
their home environment is safe for children. In Johnson County, we have been very lucky that
most of our local fire departments inspected all daycare homes annually. Due to our division’s
good working relationships with our fire departments — the fire inspector would usually let us
know when they saw areas of concern in registered homes. However, as the budget crunch
becomes worse and cities look for ways to trim their shrinking budgets, inspections of daycare
homes has been one of the first services cut. Johnson County - like many other counties

across Kansas, will have no one helping then identifying problems should the Registered
category remain.

As in any county Johnson County has both good and bad Registered as well as good and bad
licensed homes. Also like other counties, we often see licensed providers who have been in
frequent enforcement action switch to the registered category to eliminate the surveyors coming
into their home on at least an annual basis. Currently there is no legal way to stop this from
happening. Itis not in the best interest of children to be in this type of out of home care.

Under the proposed legislation, the category formally known as Registered Day Care Home
would become Family Child Care home. This would then aIIow for at least an annual inspection

Health & Human Services Committee
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of all applicants for home day care and for follow up visits for those with identified environmental
or other serious regulatory violations. In our county we believe that the initial visits are a benefit
to the home daycare provider. The surveyor comes to the provider's home by appointment and
spends one-on-one time with them. The surveyor walks through the home with the provider and
helps him/her identify the good things the provider has done to prepare his/her home for
childcare as well as areas of non-compliance that exist in the home. The home provider has the
chance to ask the surveyor questions re regulations, paperwork, and her/his home environment
as it relates to childcare regulations. We believe this is an important first step for someone
starting a home daycare. This visit helps to ensure that a safe/healthy environment is available
for the children. This is also a benefit for parents placing their child in care. Many parents do
not know that Registered Providers receive no inspection prior to starting to provide daycare
services. Often parents don't realize that their child care provider is registered and does not get
a yearly visit until is too late and their child is injured in care and the parent is calling in a
complaint.

Without a doubt all facilities should be inspected — the problem is where the money comes from.
A possible solution was proposed to decrease the need for more surveyors and money but
should allow for the inspections on all daycare homes - if you will please pass this legislation.
Please note this is a COMPROMISE that childcare surveyors and other licensing staff are
willing to make just to get all facilities inspected. Theoretically, extending the time frame from
12 months to 15 months for all licensing inspections to be completed, will allow inspections of all
new registered daycare homes without financial impact. The change in K.S.A. 65-512 would
allow the surveyors the flexibility to continue to do the facilities that have enforcement issues on
a 12 month basis, inspect all new family childcare homes, continue to conduct complaint
investigations for all categories of child care, complete KDHE request compliance checks, and
complete the annual inspection of remaining licensed facilities with a good compliance record
within the 15 month timeframe. In Johnson County this would mean an additional 400+
inspections/year. Our county estimates that it will take approximately 6 months to complete
these 400+ inspections. It is our understanding that licensed surveys will pick back up once the
Family Day Care Homes are completed. We believe the time frame between inspections can
be extended to 15 months to prevent the need for additional surveyors. Not picking back up the
licensed visits for greater than that time frame would be self defeating in nature. Research and
experience in other states has shown that as inspection frequency decreases so does
regulatory compliance. Therefore, the compromise would be to inspect all Family childcare
homes for the first time, a great improvement from where we are at present, and extend the time
period for renewal visits for all other categories of childcare.

While we understand that some providers do not want us in their home, and that some
legislators are hesitant to tack on more regulation, the standard should be the same across the
state. Providers must realize that they are running a business. All businesses are regulated to
some extent. You wouldn’t knowingly eat in a restaurant that had not ever been inspected
would you? Nor should parents have to leave their children with a provider that has never had
an inspection. Even if one child’s serious injury or death is prevented by this bill, it will have
been worth it.
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Testimony before the House Committee on Health and Human Services
April 27,2010

Thank you for the opportunity to testify in support of SB 447 and HB 2356. My name is Marvin
Stottlemire, and | am the Chairman of the Legislation and Issues Committee of the Kansas Public
Health Association The Kansas Public Health Association is the oldest and largest organization of
public health professionals and health advocates in the state. Today we represent more than 600
members from over 50 occupations and 145 organizations all across the state. In addition to my
position on the KPHA board, | am a certified trainer for the National Association of Regulatory
Administration, and a former attorney with the Kansas Department of Health and Environment. | have
met with child care licensing professionals in many states and Canadian Provinces, and | am convinced
that frequent visits by licensing professionals increases regulatory compliance and regulatory
compliance increases child welfare and safety while in care.

You are hearing this bill at an important time in our history. Nationally, the coal mine disasters in West
Virginia are once again reminding us of the critical role government regulation plays in safety. At the
same time economic factors — more people looking for outside income, and the possibility of many
school districts cutting back to half time kindergarten — make child care safety regulation more important
than ever.

Regulation and inspection are more than enforcement. The child care licensing professional is more
than a mere inspector. He or she also is an educator and advisor to providers. Make no mistake caring
for children in a child care setting is vastly more complex from caring for one’s own children in one’s
own home. Parents who must leave their children in someone else’s care need to know that standards
are being met. For years, Kansas has been one of the very few States that allowed for child care
without periodic inspections. It is time to bring our state and the safety of Kansas Children in care up to
national standards. '

On behalf of the Kansas Public Health Association and Kansas children in child care, | urge you to
report this bill out favorably.

| will be happy to answer any questions.

Health & Human Services Committee

Date: Y—2%~ (D

Attachment. .~ |



Kathie Sparks

From: Marty Keaton-Ferren [keatonferren@att.net]
Sent: Monday, April 26, 2010 3:02 PM

To: Brenda Landwehr; Kathie Sparks

Subject: SB447 (and/or HB2356) / Tomorrow's Testimony

Dear House Representative Landwehr,

Please share my email with the House Health & Human Services Committee, that is
considering SB447 (and/or HB2356) this Tuesday, 04/27/2010 and add my name to the list for neutral
testimony on SB447 (and/or HB2356).

| would like to speak to the Committee about my concerns about the risk-based inspection system,
initial and continuing education requirements of providers, and defining “Competent Supervision”
within legislation.

Inspections:
e The quality of the system of inspections is as important as including all providers in it.
¢ Concern that overall compliance will deteriorate under the risk-based system
o Concern that no study has been done by KDHE that tells us we cannot afford to continue with

the system we have — or that supports the new one they want. That Representatives can't
even get numbers by their counties to consider.

Do we still know if the Fiscal Note for SB447 still applies?
The impact the risk-based on increasing the number of underground providers.

Education:
¢ No educational requirements are included in SB447 for the new class of licensed family child
care home providers and should be addressed by amendment.
e Currently only 1% Aid is required in initial training for registered and licensed home day care

providers. Pediatric CPR training, and a requirement to maintain certification in it, should also
be a requirement.

Competent Supervision:

Since attending the last Committee Meeting for SB447, and hearmg multiple testimonies that
proponents of this bill support “more specificity to supervision through regulation” | have found out
that that once something like Competent Supervision is defined by Law — further refinement of the
language can occur in by rules and regulations (without public input). How can we ensure that does
not occur? | know what the original language of SB447 with regards to supervision. It was my
primary concern in getting involved in this matter.

Sincerely,

Marty Keaton-Ferren
5748 Walmer
Mission, KS 66202
(913) 789-9595

Health & Human Services Committee
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SS HB 2356 Testimony The Salvation Army

On behalf of The Salvation Army, Kansas and Western Missouri Division, I am here to offer our
support for Senate Substitute for House Bill 2356; a bill that will provide safer and more
transparent child care for all families throughout the state.

The Salvation Army is a provider of child care in three Kansas cities:

1. The Salvation Army Child Care Center in Topeka — This center operates 5 days a
week from 6:30 am to 5:30 pm and is licensed for up to 100 children, ages 2 weeks to
12 years. A sliding scale is utilized for families who are unable to pay. In 2008 the
center served 97 children, currently there is a waiting list for services.

2. The Salvation Army Early Learning Center in Kansas City, Kansas — This center
operates 5 days a week from 6:00 am to 5:30 pm and is licensed for up to 91 children,
ages 3 months to 2 'z years. A sliding scale is utilized for families who are unable to
pay. In 2008, the center served 154 children.

3. Small Wonders Preschool in Olathe — This center serves as a traditional preschool,
offering four classes, 2 %2 hours long, mid August through mid May. There is a
summer school program offered in June and July, three mornings a week. The center
is licensed for 36 children and served 40 children in 2008. The center offers
scholarships for eligible families.

All of our centers are licensed by the Kansas Department of Health and Environment and thus,
are subject to the regulatory oversight that comes with such a relationship — annual license
renewals, inspections, site visits, etc. Apart from the supervision we receive from the state, The
Salvation Army employs our own set of evaluation tools.

The Salvation Army practices regular comprehensive program evaluation and certification of all
its social services programs using standardized National Social Services Standards. Initial
program evaluations are conducted by Territorial Social Services. Renewal evaluation and
certification reviews are conducted every third year by Divisional Social Services. The National
Social Services Standards include critical program benchmarks in several key areas:
Organization, Governance, & Administration

Community

Personnel Management

Services

Finance & Contract Management

Facility & Equipment

Planning & Evaluation

Safety & Risk Management

AAAAAAAA

Specific program reviews are conducted periodically, annually, or as needed by funders and
service contractors, The United Way, other community providers, and The Salvation Army’s
Divisional or Territorial Headquarters:

< Annual Territorial command review of budgets, contracts, outcomes, & services

HEALTH AND HUMA]&ERVICES
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< Annual reports on United Way outcomes
< Ongoing review of budget & incident reports
< As needed social services program review and audit

The Safe From Harm Program is The Army’s child safety program aimed at educating staff,
volunteers and Corps Officers on recognizing and preventing child maltreatment within their
facilities and programs. Components of that program include:

< Mandatory training for new employees and volunteers

< Annual child safety audits submitted by each Corps community center

< Annual Divisional and Territorial evaluations on Safe From Harm policies and procedures

As a provider of child care for Kansas families, we recognize the importance of regular
inspections, clear supervision guidelines and the availability of open records for families while
they search for child care. Likewise, many of our families outside the metro areas rely on home
day care for their children. The protections offered in this bill provide the very basic quality
assurances facilities like ours have been operating under for years. It is our belief that quality
child care should be available to everyone regardless of where that care is provided - home or
center.

Our public policy agenda articulates as one of our priorities, "Protect children and promote
healthy and safe development", it is our opinion that Senate Substitute for House Bill 2356 does
that. We hope you will support this legislation and we stand ready to help you in any way we
can. Thank you for your time and your consideration.

Megan Word

Divisional Director of Government Relations

The Salvation Army, Kansas and Western Missouri Division
p. 816-285-2795

megan_word@usc.salvationarmy.org
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ERC

ERC Resource & Referral
1710 SW 10™, Suite 215
Topeka, KS 66604
785/357-5171
www.ercrefer.org

My name is Reva Wywadis and I am the executive director of ERC Resource & Referral. ERC is a licensed child
care resource and referral agency serving child care programs in nine counties in northeast Kansas: Shawnee,
Douglas, Jackson, Jefferson, Brown, Doniphan, Nemaha, Osage and Franklin. We provide consultation; training
and resources to child care providers, helping them improve their skills and practices. ERC also serves as the call
center for the “785" area code region of Kansas--- 46 counties. Parents searching for child care in this area are
routed to ERC for assistance with their child care search, and we give parents information about choosing child
care that will meet their family’s needs and information about quality indicators in child care.

We all may wish that bills like this one, HB 2356, weren't necessary. However, the reality is that they are. Parents
who place their children in the care of others deserve knowing that the provider has received an inspection to
assure that minimum health and safety standards are met. Parents should also be able to easily access
information about the child care provider's compliance history to help them make a wise child care choice. Lastly,
language regarding supervision makes clear the expectation that persons performing child care as a business and
for pay are expected to provide supervision that protects the health and well being of the children entrusted to
their care.

There many people who believe we have too many rules and laws, and if everyone used common sense and good
judgment perhaps we wouldn't need so many. We all know buckling a seat belt can save a life in a car wreck, but
it took legislation to stress the importance of buckling up. We all walk into restaurants on a regular basis and trust
that someone has inspected the kitchen and that good food handling and foodservice practices are followed. I
believe we owe it to Kansas children and families to put legislation into place that helps insure basic health and
safety standards in child care settings.

ERC's nine county district office area serves nearly 1100 regulated child care programs, many of which are
wonderful high-quality programs. However, some programs are not. Although this bill won't assure quality, it does
open the door to some consultation and support to providers that might otherwise not receive it, and is a very
positive step for our state.

To address the fiscal impact across the state the bill introduces a "risk based" inspection cycle, which was
recommended by the Kansas Child Care BEST Team after studying other state guidelines. Although ideally all
programs would receive regular inspection visits, this system directs resources to the programs that need them
most.

Prior to joining the staff at ERC, I operated a licensed family child care program in Shawnee County for twelve
years. As a provider, the annual survey visits always helped me have a better understanding of the regulations in
place to protect the children in my care, and the consultation I received when the surveyor visited was beneficial.
Every provider in Kansas should benefit from this type of consultation service.

The research is clear. What happens in a child's early years lays the foundation for later learning and success in
school and in life. Kansas children and families deserve the benefit of knowing that their child care provider has
had an inspection visit and meets basic health and safety standards. I urge you to support HB 2356.
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Chairwoman Landwehr and members of the committee, thank you for the opportunity to appear before you
today to address the Agreement between the American Federation of State, County and Municipal
Employees (AFSCME) Child Care Providers Together-Kansas (CCPT), the Kansas Department of Social and
Rehabilitation Services and the Kansas Department of Health and Environment.

On July 18, 2007, Executive Order No. 07-21 recognized CCPT as the representative of persons who are
registrants and licensees of family day care homes, licensed day care homes, and group day care homes.
Following this executive order, CCPT, SRS and KDHE entered into an agreement to work together to build a
child care system that promotes the safe, healthy development of the children of Kansas; respects and
recognizes child care providers; and complies with applicable state and federal regulations.

This agreement allows for a formalized process for CCPT and the state to discuss common goals identified
throughout the agreement’s development. These common goals include: child care quality standards;
provider training and professional development opportunities; rates for subsidized child care benefits;
payment timeliness; health and safety conditions, monitoring, and evaluation of providers; and recruitment
and retention of qualified provider and the overall quality of child care programs in Kansas. Continued
collaboration has occurred through CCPT participation in the Child Care Licensing Systems Improvement
Best Team with KDHE and the development of the State-Provider Cooperation Committee (SPCC).

Providers emphasized certain issues during the development of the agreement, such as the receipt of a child
care notice for children receiving SRS child care benefits and the availability of the EBT web portal to access
payment detail.

Recently, the SPCC has been able to successfully establish the Health and Safety Promotional Fund through
the receipt of Recovery Act Child Care Development Funds. These funds are allowing for professional
development and peer mentoring opportunities and the availability of facility upgrade and
equipment/materials grants for child care home providers.

Thank you. [ will stand for questions.

April 27, 2010 Child Care Providers Together Agreement Page 2 of 2



Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Child Care and Health Facilities
i Care Licensing and Registration Program LOCAL CONTRACTOR CHARGES

As of March 2008
County Type of Service RDCH ILDCH,GDCH ICenter-based Facility Resource & [[Residential
Referral Facilities
Barber Intial and annual fee $10] $10] $10]
Barton including Ness, Initial & annual Fee State $5 OF $501$100 except School Age Programs,
Lane, Rush requested compliance SAP $50
check
Butler Initial and annual fee $25 $25 $25
Cheyenne 0 0 0
[Clark of of of
[Clay Initial and annual fee $20] $20) $20)
lCloud (Mitchell, Jewell, [Initial and annual fee $25 Initial and  $25 Initial and $20 $50 Initial and $25 Renewal for CC, $100 Intial and
Lincoln, Osborn, Republic $20 Renewal Renewal PS, SAP; $50 Renewal
fland Smith) Fee
[Coffey Initial and annual fee $15 Initial Only §$25 Initial Only $25 Initial Only
Comanche L | of .o
Cowley including Initial and annual fee and $64J$70 LDCH and $73 forjl$115 plus $2 per child maximum $75
Chautauqua and Elk compliance checks GDCH capacity except preschool and school
age; Preschool and before OR after
school age $65 plus $1.75 per child
maximum capacity; Before AND
after school age $85 plus $1.75 per
child maximum capacity
Late payment fee $10 $10§ $10 $10
{Compliance check $20 plus $10 per 820 plus $10 per hour §820 plus $10 per hour for each $20 plus $10
hour for each for each consecutive [ficonsecutive visit made until per hour for
consecutive visit fvisit made until compliance is achieved each
made until compliance is achieved consecutive visi
compliance is made until
Jachieved compliance is
achieved ‘
Crawford including Initial & Annual Fee $250$20 LDCH and $25 for$30 plus $5 for each additional day $30 $30]
Bourbon and Cherokee §GDCH to complete the survey
Annual Survey $5 for each day after the first that it
takes to complete the survey
KDHE Requested $20 $20 $20
Compliance Checks

=28712010
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Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Child Care and Health Facilities
i Care Licensing and Registration Program LOCAL CONTRACTOR CHARGES

As of March 2008
Type of Service LDCH,GDCH Center-based Facility
Initial and annual fee $10 except
Decatur is 0
Dickinson Initial and annual fee $40] $50§$100 except Preschools; Preschools
$75
Doniphan Individual Orientation $25 $25( $25
Douglas Initial & Annual Fee $450$35 LDCH and $40 forfVaries based on facility capacity $300$65 per house
GDCH from $170 Initial and $105 Annual with 1-12
for 25 or less children to $410 Initial residents and
and $345 Annual for 201 or more F$75 per house
children. DROP IN programs for with 13-25
school age children fee schedule liresidents; RC
varies based on facility capacity $25 per house,
from $105 Initial and $65 annual for DC No charge
25 or less children to $265 Initial county facility
and $225 Annual for 201 or more
hildren
Compliance Checks $15 $15)$30 for facilities up to 100 children $25 per house
and $45 for facilities with 101 or :
more children; DROP IN programs
for school age children charged $20
for up to 100 children and $35 for
101 or more children
Amendment Fee $25
Edwards Orientation $20 $20 $20|
Initial $20 $2OF $20)
Compliance Chekcs 85 $5 89
Ellsworth 0 0 of
Finney (and Kearney) Initial and annual fee $20] $30] of
Ford [nitial and annual fee $10 $30§$50 if more than 24 children
Franklin Initial and annual fee $50F $500 $100
{Geary Initial Fee $35[$35 LDCH; $75 $75 $75 GBH $100
GDCH Detention Ctr
Annual Fee $35[|$35 LDCH; $75 $75 $75 GBH $100
GDCH Dentention Ctr
CompCk after 3rd visit $20 5204 $20 453

2010




Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Child Care and Health Facilities
i Care Licensing and Registration Program LOCAL CONTRACTOR CHARGES

As of March 2008
County Type of Service RDCH LDCH,GDCH Center-based Facility Resource & [Residential
Referral Facilities
Gove 0 0 0
Graham of of of
Grant [nitial and annual fee $20] $20] ~ $20f
Gray Orientation s10f s10l s100
Initial & Annual Fee $15 $15 $15
|Greeley of of off
{Greenwood Initial and annual fee $35 plus $1.50  [835 plus $1.50 per $35 plus $1.50 per child enrolled
fper child enrolledfichild enrolled
Harper Initial and annual fee 0l$30 initial year; $15  J$30 initial year; $15 renewal
renewal
Harvey fiOrientation $25 Group; $45 [$25 Group; $45 $25 Group; $45 Individual $25 Group; [$25 Group; $45
Individual Individual $45 Individual
Individual
Initial & Annual Fee $75§$60 LDCH; §75 # capacity Initial Annual $150 plus $50
{GDCH <25children ($182, $ 136) 26-50 per building
fchildren (8213, $159) 51-75
children $243, $182 76-100 children
($273, $205) 101-150 children
($334, $258) >150 children ($395,
296)
Compliance Checks, $35 for the first §$35 for the firsthour §$35 for the first hour and $8.75 each $35 for the first
Amendments, Blue Print  fhour and $8.75 Iand $8.75 each additional quarter hour hour and $8.75
Consultations, Building each additional fadditional quarter hour each additional
Inspections and other quarter hour quarter hour
services
ILate payment fee Send late payment for collection after 90 days
Hodgeman FOrientation $10 which is $10 which is applied tof$10 which is applied to the initial feell
applied to the the initial fee upon upon receipt of application
initial fee upon [receipt of application
receipt of
application
Initial & Annual Fee $15 $25 $25
Jefferson Initial and annual fee $50 $50I$25 per hour
4/2842010
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Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Child Care and Health Facilities
| Care Licensing and Registration Program LOCAL CONTRACTOR CHARGES

As of March 2008

Johnson

Type of Service

Initial & Annual Fee

LDCH,GDCH

Center-based Facility

$60Varies based on facility capacity

from $360 Initial and $170 Annual annual; RC
for 25 or less children to $790 Initial $195; SRC
and $690 Annual for 151 or more $400 Initial and
children $300 Renewal;
Compliance Checks $35 for first hour §$35 for first hour plus §$60 for first hour plus $30 each All Types of
connected to the Initial or fiplus $25 each $25 each additional |additional hour prorated by quarter Residential
Annual Survey additional hour |hour prorated by hour facilities $60 for|
prorated by quarter hour first hour plus
quarter hour $30 each

additional hour

KDHE Requested
fCompliance Checks

$40 for first hour §$40 for first hour plus
fplus $30 each $30 each additional

additional hour fhour prorated by
fprorated by quarter hour

quarter hour

$100 for first hour plus $50 each
additional hour prorated by quarter
Fhour

Room Measurements

$90 for the first room plus $25 each
fladditional room

In-House Consultation

$25

Kingman

Initial and annual fee and
compliance checks

$15 Initial and $0§
Renewal unless
RDCH requests
HD to review
renewal
Fapplication
Ibefore sending to
KDHE then $10
fee is assessed

$15 Initial plus $10 if
additional compliance
check is required; $10
Renewal plus $10 if
additional compliance
check is required

$15 Initial plus $10 if additional
compliance check is required; $10
Renewal plus $10 if additional
compliance check is required

L7 ‘.)Wa

ette

Initial and annual fee

i |

$20| $20

$20

$20

Leavenworth

$15

$15| $15

4/28

2010



Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Child Care and Health Facilities
1 Care Licensing and Registration Program LOCAL CONTRACTOR CHARGES

As of March 2008
County Type of Service RDCH LDCH,GDCH Center-based Facility Resource & [[Residential
Referral Facilities
Lyon (and Chase) Initial and annual fee $40 $30 $75
Marion Initial and annual fee $50 plus $2.00  §$50 plus $2.00 for $50 plus $2.00 for each child
for each child each child enrolled enrolled
enrolled
Marshall fCompliance Checks $25 $25 $25
Meade Initial and annual fee $10§ $10§ $10f
Miami Initial and annual fee $30] $354$25 per hour
Montgomery Orientation but will $15 $15 $15
provide the application and
regulations if a person
refuses the orientation
Mortis Initial and annual fee $11.65 $22.79 $28.09
Morton Initial and annual fee and §$25 Sliding Fee [$25 Sliding Fee Scale §$25 Sliding Fee Scale Orientation
orientation Scale Orientation jOrientation
NEK (Atchison, Brown [nitial and annual fee $50, $50) $100
and Jackson)
INeosho (and Allen) Initial and annual fee $10§$30 LDCH; $35 $45
GDCH
Fosage Initial & Annual Fee $250$35 LDCH; $75 $100
GDCH
Compliance Checks $20] $20} $20f
Pawnee Orientation $10) $104 3 |
Initial & Annual Fee $35 $35 $75
Pottawatomie Initial and annual fee $35 $50 $508
Pratt $0 $0| $0|
Rawlins $O| $0f $0}

4/28/2010
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Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Child Care and Health Facilities
| Care Licensing and Registration Program LOCAL CONTRACTOR CHARGES

I As of March 2008
Type of Service LDCH,GDCH Center-based Facility
Orientation $20 Group; $5 JIndividual $5 for 15  JIndividual $5 for 15 minutes or 1
for 15 minutes or jminutes or 1 unit and funit and $30 for 6 units; Group $20
1 unit and $30  §$30 for 6 units; Group
for 6 units $20
mividual
Initial & Annual Fee $30] $30] $60{ $60
Rice Initial and annual fee of $20 $30f
Riley Initial and annual fee $35 initial year; $35[$60 Preschool; $75 CCC; $50 SAP;
$20 renewal $35 Drop In SAP and Outdoor and
: Summer SAP
Rooks Of 0 of
Russell Initial and annual fee $5 Initial $5 Initial and Annual [$5 Initial and Annual
Salina, inc]uding Ottawa Initial & Annual Fee $20 $30pCCC $50 plus 1-24 RSC $100 per
fand McPherson $25 25-49  §50 license plus
50-74  $75 >75 124 825
$100 PS $30 plus $1 per 25-49  $50
child per license SAP 50-74  $75
$50 >75  $100
GBH  $60
Complaint substantiated 840§ $40 $40 $40 $40
KDHE Requested $3 0| $3 0| $3 0| $30] $3 0’
Compliance Checks
Scott and Wichita OI Ol of
Sedgwick Initial & Annual Fee $750$65 LDCH and $70 forj|Varies based on facility capacity $90IGBH $115 plus
GDCH from $210 Initial and $150 Annual $30 each
for 25 or less children to $450 Initial additional
and $335 Annual for 151 or more building; RC
children $150 plus $30
for each
additional
building; DC
$175 plus $30
for each
additional

T



Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Child Care and Health Facilities
' Care Licensing and Registration Program LOCAL CONTRACTOR CHARGES

As of March 2008
ICounty LDCH,GDCH Center-based Facility
Compliance Checks $35 for first hour §$35 for first hour plus §$90 for first hour plus $60 each
plus $30 each $30 each additional ~ fadditional hour
additional hour fhour
additional
fhour
Amendment Fee $35 $350$60 for name change; $50 for a
change to one room; $90 for a change; $60 for
change to two or more rooms a change to one
room; $90 for a
change to two or
more rooms
Blueprint Consultation $60 initial and $35 each follow up $60 initial and
visit $35 each follow
up visit
Preliminary Building $90 initial and $60 each follow up 1%90 initial and
Inspection visit $60 each follow
up visit
Consultation $60 each consultation
Seward [nitial and annual fee $20 $25 $35
Shawnee Initial and annual fee $590$35 base plus $4 per 865 base plus $4 per child allowed
child allowed in the in the licensed capacity.
licensed '
capacity.Usually $75
for Licensed and $83
Sheriden 0 of
Stevens (Stanton and Initial and annual fee $25 $35
Haskell)
Stafford Initial and annual fee $10§ $10 $108
ner Initial and annual fee $0f $25 $25
I’l nomas (Logan, Sherman {Initial and annual fee 0| $10 $10
and Wallace) 22312010

27"



Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Child Care and Health Facilities
1 Care Licensing and Registration Program LOCAL CONTRACTOR CHARGES

As of March 2008

LDCH,GDCH

Center-based Facility

Wabaunsee Initial and annual fee $1 OI $1 OI $1 OI
Washington Initial and annual fee $10] $10] $10]
Wyandotte Initial & Annual Fee $50] $50013-25 children=$100
26-50 children=$125 51-75
children=$150 76-100
children=$175 101-125
children=%$200 126-150
children=%$225 151-175
children=$250 176-200
i =$275
KDHE Requested $20 $20| $20I
JCompliance Checks |
Amendment Fee $30] $30 $30]

4/28/2010
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State of Small Family Child Care Homes in

0% 133%) Score™:0/i40 (4140
 of total polnts  Rank:#t

Number of children in care when state 1

licensing begins:*

Inspection or visit before being licensed: No

Supply of FCC Homes in 2008

Number of FCC homes

Number of spaces/slots
in FCC homes

For an infant

For a 4-year old

®m Does not inspect before licensing.

® Does not conduct a background check using
fingerprints and does not check juvenile records.

= Does not require providers to have completed a high
school education or GED.

| Providers are required to undergo only two hours of
training in first aid prior to working with children. No
training in CPR is required.

W Providers are not required to complete any training on
an on-going basis.

® Providers are not required to communicate with
parents about the care of their children or have
contracts with the parents.

| Providers are not required to have any specific toys
and materlals designed to promote learning.

m Providers are not required to engage in any learning
activities with children or provide them with literacy
opportunities.

W Providers are not required to address SIDS prevention,
crib safety, playground safety or door locks/safety
gates.

76

M Providers caring for even one unrelated child for pay are

required to be licensed.,

B Licensed FCC providers, their substitutes and assistants

and family members over 12 years of age are required to
have background checks.

M Background checks include checks of child abuse

registries,criminal records and sex offender registries,

W Providers must follow seven of 10 health requirements

- handwashing, meals/snacks, immunizations, toxic
substances, diapering/toileting, home sanitation, and
after hour care,

M Total number of children that a single provider can care

for at one time is six.

- Inspect homes before licensing; inspect homes at
least annually.

Conduct criminal records check on exempt providers
recelving subsidies.

.. Require providers to have a high school diploma or
GED and a CDA, college courses in early childhood
education, or an AA degree within three years of
licensing,

- Require 40 hours of Initial training Including training
on CPR, child development, child abuse prevention,
learning actlvitles, health and safety, chiid guidance,
and business practices.

Increase the required annual training to at least 24
hours including renewal of CPR and first aid.

Require providers to communicate with parents about
the care of their children, have written contracts with
parents, and let parents know when a substitute will
be caring for their child.

Require providers to have specific toys and materlals
including books to promote development in all areas.

Require providers to offer learning activitles including
reading to chiidren to promote school readiness.

Note

Kansas' score could have been 47 (33%), but they
received zero because they do not inspect providers
before they are licensed and caring for children.

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DATE: Y-8~ 1>
ATTACHMENT: S ]




State of Small Family Child Care Homes in

2

Key:

Requires FCC homes to be inspected/visited before
being licensed, at least quarterly, and when there is
a complaint.®

Requires FCC home inspections/visits (routine and
when there are complaints) to be unannounced.?

Requlres licensed FCC providers, their substitutes
and assistants, family members over 12 years of
age, and exempt providers recelving subsldies to
have a background check,

Background checks Inciude checks criminal records,
Juvenile records, child abuse registries and sex
offender registries. Checks of federal records are
based on fingerprints.

Requires FCC providers to have a high school
diptoma or GED, and have the CDAR, college courses
in ECEC or an Associate's degree Initially or within 3
years of starting to provide child care.

Requires FCC providers to have at ieast 40 hours of
initial training (including CPR and first aid).

Requires FCC providers to have initial training In
elght specific areas.®

Small Family Child Care Standands

13

14.

* Small Family Child Care Standards

Requires FCC providers to have at least 24 hours of
annual training (including CPR and first aid renewal),

Requires FCC providers to communicate with
parents, have contracts with parents, allow parents
access to the home, Inform parents on use of
substitutes and give written policies to parents.

Requires FCC providers to have toys and materials
avallable In eight different developmental areas.®®

Requires FCC providers to offer learning
opportunities in eight different areas.®®®

. Limits the total number of children that can be

cared for in a small FCC home based on the ages of
children in care.

Addresses 10 critical health areas.2®%°

ddresses 10 critical safety issues 0000

. sty Mests o substantiatly Mevis 0 Prrtiakty Meets G Marginaily Meets O Does not mest  NJA = Not Avaliable  FCC = Family Child Care

®Gtates receive a score of O If they do not licen

of O if t

added f
Childho
CPR an

or each family exempted before ficensing begins.

se small famlly child care homes. States rec
he number of children the provider (including the provider's children) could ca
*0ut of 50 states, plus the District of Columbia and the U.S. Department of Defense.

chitdren in care when state licensing begins. One child wi

re for pay is seven or above, The
#To derive the total number of chifdren in care,
as added If the state does not inc
aCredit is given for licensing, fire, safef

ty and health Inspections. sCh

o ¢ € O O & O

elve a score of O If they do not inspect or visit betore llcensing. States recelve a score
total maximum paints a state could recelve is 140,
NACCRRA started with the number of

fude the provider's own children In establishing Its licensing threshold. One child was

lid Development Assoclate credential, ®Early

od Education, © The eight areas of Initlal training are child development, child abuse prevention, learning activitles, heaith and safety, child quldance, business practices,

d first aid. oThe elght different types of toys and materlals Include those for:

motor development, language and literacy,

ages and materials that are culturally sensitive, 00oThe eight types of learning opportunitles are:

concepts,

Source

membel

for regulatory information: State requiations reviewed by staff at the Natlona! Association of
and/or state licensing staff and are

rs. Alf capacity and price information reported are 2008 data.

offer creative activities, offer dramatic play, offer active play,
and snacks, Immunlzations, exclusion of il children, universal health requirements,
weekend/evening care, 00000The 10 safety areas are: SIDS prevention, discipline/prohiblting corpora

and other water sources, fire drilis/emergency plans, ou

administration of

current as of 2/1/2010. Source for capacity and price information;

art, math, science, dramatic play, books for all

plan a variety of learning activities, read to chlldren, Introduce mathematical
encourage self-help skitis and limit use of television, ©000The 10 health areas are: hand washing, meals

tions, toxic subst

Natlonal Assoclation of Child Care Resource & Referral Agencias ¢ www.naccrraorg * {7Q3) 3431-4100

77

, diapering/toileting, home sanitation and
| punishment, crib safety, electrical hazards, protection from swimming pools
tdoor playground surfaces, supervision, door locks/safety gates and transportation. .

Child Care Resource & Referral Agencies and by state resource and referral
National Assaciation of Child Care Resource & Referral Agencies and its




Date: April 27" 2010
To: Health & Human Services Committee
Re: SB 447/ HB 2356

From: Bryan & Kim Engelman

You likely have heard much about the Lexie Law child care bill that has been discussed throughout this
legislative session and that has been passed twice by the Kansas Senate. Simply put, Lexie’s Law represents
legislation squarely aimed at improving child care oversight. We respectfully request that you NOT LOSE
SIGHT of the purpose of this bill — to better ensure the safety of over 125,000 children in Kansas daycare
environments. Kansas has not addressed childcare oversight in 20 years — this has contributed to the gradual
and steady detriment of our children, your nieces, nephews and grandchildren, and other special children
present in all of our lives. It is critical that our State step up to the plate now, revisit issues directly related to
the safety of the children of working parents in Kansas, and address them in a head on fashion. The Lexie
Law bill is an excellent start to this movement and a step in the right direction.

As you already know, our lives were abruptly and tragically affected in 2004 when our daughter, Lexie
Engelman, sustained fatal injuries in a Johnson County daycare home on her 3™ day of attendance. Lexie’s
fate and the similar fate of entirely too many children in Kansas could have and should have been prevented.
There is a critical need to improve daycare provisions available to all parents across our state. While it is a
parent’s responsibility to select a daycare option that is best suited to their child and family circumstances, it
is the state’s responsibility to better ensure that all daycare options available to Kansas families have
received at least a minimum level of oversight. As a current Kansas legislator related to us recently, this
simply amounts to a common sense provision. The key elements of the Lexie Law, inspections, supervision,
and an online database that will allow parents to select a daycare setting with their ‘eyes open’ are important
first steps for Kansas.

We urge you to please help to close the gap between Kansas and the highest performing counterpart states.
More importantly, we urge you to keep the safety of the more than 125,000 children and their families in
Kansas in mind when pondering the value of the Lexie Law bill. All other things aside, do your part to be a
positive force behind a bill that, when passed, will be crucial to the health and welfare for future Kansas
generations and all without costing the state any additional dollars. If not now, then when will action on this
issue ever take place?

“The business of the law is to make sense of the confusion of what we call human life- to reduce it to order
but at the same time to give it possibility, scope and dignity” — Archibald MacLeish

Sincerely,

Bryan and Kim Engelman (in honor of our firstborn daughter, Lexie)

9403 W. 150" Street
Overland Park, KS 66221
913-269-7895
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

DATE: M-8~ 1%
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We are Steve and Alecia Patrick of Overland Park, KS. We are not going to stand here and tell you what
happened to our daughter Ava. We are sure you are all well aware of our situation. What we would like
to talk to you about today is WHY SB 447 needs to be in place and how things would have been different
for us if it would have been in place a year ago.

With the category of Registered daycare no longer being an option to providers, our provider
would have been forced to become licensed and inspected yearly. It had been 10 years since she had
been inspected due to our current laws and statutes. It is extremely important that every child care
facility is inspected. We have certain laws and standards in place for plumbers, contractors,
inspectors, etc. to adhere by, but we raise the issue of daycare inspections and people believe that this
should not be a government issue. Why not? Are our children and their safety not important enough?

With the Secretary of Health and Environment having the authority to revoke any license should
the child care provider be a repeat violator, our provider would have been shut down and prohibited
from ever running any type of daycare again years ago. We know that there are gocd daycares out
there and we are eternally grateful for them. But the truth is, there are a lot of bad daycare providers
that have become lax in their care just like the enforcements that have been in place.

If KDHE had been forced to welcome the internet age in every aspect, they would have already
had a website in place for parents to see specific provider records and license information. For us to
obtain our providers record, our attorney had to supply KDHE with a written request. This took two
weeks and $80.00 to get a paper copy (225 pages long).

If the supervision language would have been in place, our provider would have been required to
be in CLOSE PROXIMITY and HEARING distance of the children. The reason why we capitalized these
words is quite simple. If she would have been anywhere near our daughter or in her house, she
would have heard our daughter screaming. Providers have been deemed as a “babysitter” for far too
long. It is time for them to step up to the plate and give the level of care that parents trust them to
provide. We consider the daycare industry a professional industry and it is time that we treated it as
such.

Today we do not need to look at the children that have lost their lives or been seriously injured in
daycare as statistics, but as children that carry an important lesson. It is time to change the laws and
statutes that were put in place MANY years ago. We need to focus on the thousands of children that are
currently in daycare and need our help.

We have not met one set of parents that take the decision of childcare lightly. So we are urging you
today to not only think about this bill as a Kansas Representative, but to also think of this bill as a parent,
grandparent, aunt or uncle. What would you do if this happened to a loved one or a close friend?

Steve and Alecia Patrick, 7419 W 140" Terrace #2401 Overland Park, KS 66223
(913) 710-8353 (913) 710-9168
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KANSAS

@) ACTION ror

April 27,2010

To: Health and Human Services
From: Suzanne Wikle, Director of Health Policy

Please accept this testimony in support of SB 447 and HB 2356.

Kansas among the worst states

A 2009 report by the National Association of Child Care Resource and Referral
Agencies ranked Kansas 47" in the nation for child care oversight and regulation.
Families in most other states rely on a child care system that has adequate checks
and balances, but unfortunately that is not the case in Kansas. This lack of oversight

has contributed to a growing number of preventable deaths in child care facilities.

Inspections and Supervision

One step toward improving the quality and oversight of child care in Kansas is to
implement inspections for every child care facility. Currently, “Registered Homes”
are never inspected unless it is too late — multiple complaints or a child’s death.
Senate Bill 447/House Bill 2356 accomplishes across-the-board inspections in the
most efficient manner, by implementing an inspection system based on risk.
According to KDHE data, Registered Homes have a disproportionally high rate of
sleep-related deaths. In the past three years, the large majority of deaths in
Registered Homes have been sleep-related. Inspections would directly address this
because 1) information on safe sleep practices is a central component of on-site
inspections 2) an inspection would verify that the facility has appropriate equipment
(cribs) for children to use for sleep.

Additionally, setting a minimum standard for supervision, including regularly
checking on infants that are sleeping, will prevent many of the types of deaths
Kansas has seen in child care facilities in recent years.

Stakeholder Support

Senate Bill 447/House Bill 2356 has received broad support from early childhood
stakeholders across the state: Kansas Head Start Association, Kansas Association
for the Education of Young Children, Kansas Association of Child Care Resource
and Referral Agencies, Tiny-K, The Kansas Coalition for School Readiness, and
United Way. Collectively, we view SB 447/House Bill 2356 as a sensible approach
to improving child care in Kansas by ensuring that all facilities are inspected and
bringing supervision standards for child care up to par with other states. '

Kansas Action for Children respectfully asks for your support of Senate Bill 447/
House Bill 2356.

CHILDREN

Shaping policy that puts children first

Kansas Action for Children Inc.
720 SW Jackson | Suite 201
Topeka, KS 66603

P 785-232-0550 | F 785-232-0699
kac@kac.org | www.kac.org

Celebrating 30 years
of child advocacy

PRESIDENT & CEO
Gary Brunk
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Pat Anderson

Margot Breckbill

Gui Burley

Dennis Cooley, MD
Carol Cowden

Tina DeLaRosa

Sue Evans

Susan Fetsch, PhD, RN
Judy Frick

Susan Garlinghouse
Rebecca Holmquist
Jermee Jones

Larry Kane

Marta Kennedy

Rhonda K. Lewis-Moss, PhD, MPH
Sarah Mays

Bill McEachen, MD
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John Poertner, PhD
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626 Minnesota Avenue

Kansas City, KS 66101
913.342.411.0
F 913.342.3632

www.thefamilyconservancy.org

The mission of The Family Conservancy is “Championing the healthy development of children
by supporting parents and families and promoting quality early education.” The legislation in
discussion today directly supports our mission by improving the quality of child care in Kansas.

We regret that we are not able to appear in person; please accept this testimony as our strong
support of SB 447/HB 2356.

The Family Conservancy supports this legislation because it will improve the standards for child
care in Kansas and provide parents with greater information about their child care options. We
serve parents and families in Johnson and Wyandotte counties, which have more than 400
registered child care providers — that is 400-plus providers that are not inspected. Parents often
falsely assume that because these providers have filed paperwork with the state to become
registered that someone has ensured they are meeting minimum safety and supervision
guidelines. The Family Conservancy believes that every child care facility should be inspected
in order to ensure children’s safety while their parents are at work.

In addition to inspections, we firmly believe that there should be greater transparency for the
child care system. Allowing parents access to basic information about a provider — whether they
are licensed or registered or how long they have been in business — gives parents information
they need to make informed decisions about their child’s care. The website included as part of
HB 2356 and SB 447 will make tremendous strides toward greater transparency and provide
parents with basic information about a very important decision.

Ensuring that young children in Kansas have child care opportunities that are safe and meet
quality standards is a critical component of making sure children are on a path to success. For
the reasons outlined, The Family Conservancy supports the legislation before you today and
believes its passage would be a tremendous benefit to families and children across the state.
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Date: April 27", 2010
To: Health and Human Service Committee

From: Shannon Zaring, Owner & Operator of Good Beginnings Daycare Home

Re: SB 447 / HB 2356

| have watched with interest as the Lexie Law bill has progressed through the Kansas legislature and |
am in full support of the bill. | reside in Bonner Springs, Kansas and have been a home daycare
provider for 10 1/2 years. | also serve actively as a Regional Representative Council Delegate for the
National Association for Family Child Care (NAFCC) and twice have been accredited by the NAFCC.

| take my role as a child care provider very seriously. In preparation for my career in child care, | obtained a
CDA in Family Child Care as well as an Associate Degree in Early Childhood Education. My daycare
children’s parents trust wholly in me to care for their children in a kind, compassionate, and safe manner. |
like to think of my house as a home away from home for the children in my care. And yet, | also treat my
daycare home as a professional business and strive to conduct myself in a professional manner. This is
also evidenced by my participation in the Kansas Quality Ratings Improvement System.

Perhaps the most important child care duty of mine involves keeping my daycare children’s safety first and
foremost. I'd like to think that all daycare providers are as safety conscious but the fact is, many are not.
This is apparent to me by the many preventable child care related deaths and serious injuries that | read
about in the newspaper or hear about on the news. Lexie’s Law serves as an excellent springboard that our
State can use to begin making the necessary improvements in child care. We need to protect our children
and such protections begin by assuring that child care facilities are inspected. | actually welcome the
annual inspection that | receive — it not only provides me with ideas on how to better organize my child care
environment but the inspectors also often provide me with great tips regarding child development, relevant
consumer product recalls, and other pertinent education like how to prevent SIDS. Since the bar is pretty
low in Kansas regarding the necessary credentials for becoming a home daycare provider, | firmly believe
that it is imperative that currently registered daycare homes be inspected to better assure the safety of
these environments and to provide more access to the informal education that occurs commonly in
inspections.

| also believe that if a daycare provider is doing a good job of enriching the lives of the children in their
care through age appropriate and engaging activities along with balancing the many tasks involved in
their daily daycare routine all the while ensuring the safety of children in their care, then they likely
ALREADY follow the supervision provisions outlined in the Lexie Law bill. | personally follow the
NAFCC accreditation standard that all children 2 and under are in the providers line of sight at all time.
SIDS is something that | worry about constantly so my daycare infants 7 months or younger always nap
in the same room that | am in so | can keep a close eye on them. Even my napping children under 2
are in my line of sight while they sleep. | also very frequently check in on my older daycare children who
are napping — this is not an arduous task and | have simply made it part of my routine.

| urge you to support the Lexie Law bill — | am sickened by the MANY tragic and needless child care
injuries and deaths that are occurring in Kansas daycare settings. The passing of this bill will be a major
stepping stone and accomplishment in the State of Kansas and will do much to advance the child care
options for families in our state.

Shannon Zaring
616 W. Morse
Bonner Springs, KS 66012
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Having the resolution in Marshall County to inspect all registered day care providers has given me the
opportunity to meet each and every legal provider in the county. Building rapport with all the providers
and being able to inspect every home in the county provides for more continuity and provides more
assurances to parents that providers and their homes are being regulated.

I receive regular phone calls and/or emails when the registered providers have questions and often
these providers have switched over to become licensed, thus providing more space for children to
receive care in Marshall County.

In Nemaha County the only opportunities | have in visually making contact with the registered providers
is through Smart Start Programs that | attend or if | go out on a complaint survey. Since | started
surveying in mid June of 2008 | have had four complaints that | have investigated regarding registered
day care homes in Nemaha County. One complaint was regarding a contagious disease in the day care,
in which we worked together to do the proper education of cleaning to prevent the spread of the
disease. One was for an application error on the provider’s part regarding the time of day that children
are present that would have put her over-capacity of the limit of six children in her care. Another
registered provider indicated on her application that she over capacity of six on two days a week. |
substantiated that she was over her registered capacity limits at the time of my complaint survey; she
too has become a licensed provider. The fourth complaint was in regards to lack of supervision. |
substantiated at the complaint survey that this provider was over capacity limit of six children as she had
seven children in care and reported that she would have more later in the day; she is currently in the
process of becoming licensed. | have also conducted three investigations regarding illegal care in which |
substantiated on all three. One of them has completed the process of becoming licensed and the two
others are in the process and have their temporary permits.

The difference for me that | have experienced in surveying Marshall County registered homes is the fact
that the providers are aware that | am going to be conducting annual unannounced surveys and that is
part of both of our jobs, mine as the surveyor and theirs as the provider. Those registered in Nemaha
County and | do not have that rapport established and upon my arrival of an investigation providers are
often guarded because of the nature of my survey and the fact that | am not familiar with them or their
day care home. This response is much different than when | conduct a complaint survey of
licensed/group day care homes in Nemaha County. Again, | believe it reverts back to the fact that lam
familiar with these licensed/group providers and their day care homes. When | have conducted
complaints in Marshall County regarding registered, licensed, or group it is similar to what | experience
with licensed or group providers in Nemaha County.

Julia E. Maxton Alfers, LMSW
Child Care Surveyor
Marshall and Nemaha Counties
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Date: April 22, 2010
To: KS Legislative Health and Human Service Committee

From: Kathy Deming, Licensed Home Day Care Provider in Johnson County

Re: SB 447/HB 2356

The child care bill currently under consideration by the Kansas Legislature is a bill that | support
strongly. | work in early childhood education and have been a licensed home day care provider for
five years in Johnson County, KS.

| watch children in my home day care on a part-time basis, generally just one day per week. | love
the children in my care like they were my own and | feel honored that the parents of my day care
children allow me to care for their children. | feel that is important for all day care providers to have
inspections — this is why | have chosen to be a licensed provider. | have found that inspections of
my day care have done nothing but help to improve the quality of care | provide. They really are
no big deal and | see it as a selling point to my current and prospective parents that they can
review my inspection reports and see that | excel in the manner in which | care for my daycare
children. Similarly, if the Lexie law is passed and my licensed daycare home is selected as one
that is allowed a less frequent inspection based on my past successful inspections, | also see this
as an opportunity to demonstrate to my parents that | am a good provider. It is a win-win situation
— good providers get recognized as such and currently registered providers get needed
inspections.

The Lexie Law bill really seems very common sense to me and if it passes as it is currently
written, it will have very little bearing on how | continue to conduct my home day care business. |
have read through its provisions for direct supervision and feel that | am already in compliance
with the language in place. Safety is my #1 priority with my day care kids so it makes sense to me
to actually be engaged with them. Plus, isn’t this what my daycare parents are paying me to do —
actually ‘watch’ their children in their absence?

Please provide your unwavering support of this bill.

Kathy Deming
9314 W. 150th Street
Overland Park, KS 66221

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DATE: Y-2F-1S
ATTACHMENT: | 5 _g



April 23, 2010

To: Health and Human Services Committee Members
From: Kathy Griffin

Re: Substitute for HB 2356 and Substitute for SB 447

Chairperson Landwehr and members of the Health and Human Services Committee my name is Kathy
Griffin. 1 am a Child Care Facilities Surveyor for the Johnson County Health Department. | believe that
every child in Kansas has the right to be protected while in care outside their own home. | believe this
right is inherent regardless of the child care facility in which the child is enrolled. The state of Kansas
acknowledged in 1919 that it is responsible to protect the health, safety and well-being of children in
out of home care. Providing child care is a business that requires regulation just like any other.

Currently there are two types of day care homes, licensed and registered. A Licensed Day Care Home
receives an initial visit from a surveyor as well as annual re-licensure visits. A Registered Day Care Home
receives neither an initial visit nor an annual re-certification visit. The current statutes only allow KDHE
access to a Registered Day Care Home on a complaint. Currently all a Registered Day Care Home
provider is required to do is complete paperwork (application, background check form, fire life safety
form and checklist) and submit a $5.00 fee. No visit is ever made to the home to verify compliance with
the regulations that the provider states that, by signing the checklist, he/she will follow unless a
complaint is made. This option of out of home care for the children of Kansas has always baffled me.
Don’t the children in these facilities deserve the same level of protection as those in licensed facilities?

I have heard discussion regarding the supervision aspect of these bills. | have heard legislators comment
that requiring a provider to visually check on sleeping children every 15 minutes is unrealistic and that
parents themselves do not check on their own children that frequently. Please understand that child
care providers are expected to provide a higher level of supervision to this vulnerable population as they
are providing care for other people’s children. A provider’s sole purpose is to provide for the health,
safety and well being of other people’s children in his/her care, including naptime. That is the job
he/she is getting paid to do and he/she should be held to a higher standard.

In my five short years as a surveyor | have unfortunately been assighed to investigate the death of three
infants in our county, and | am only one of ten surveyors. | personally investigated the death of an eight
month old that was put down to nap behind a closed door and by the admission of the provider not
checked on for two hours. The coroner determined that the child had been dead for at least an hour
and half before being found unresponsive. That means the child died within 30 minutes after being put
down for a nap. That fact haunts me to this day. Visually checking on napping children every 15
minutes is not an unrealistic expectation.

The purpose of regulation of child care facilities is to reduce the risk of predictable harm to children
while in out of home care. Public regulation represents the basic level of protection for these children.
The most effective way of monitoring compliance with the regulations is through a surveyor’s presence
in the facility. Better compliance is obtained with routine unannounced visits to the facility. Without
these visits the health, safety and well being of the children cannot be monitored. The need to inspect

all child care facilities in the state of Kansas is long overdue. The children of Kansas deserve it.
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DATE: Y —2% -s
ATTACHMENT: /(=)




April 26,2010

The Honorable Brenda Landwehr, Chair
Members of the House Health and Human Services Committee
Statehouse, Room No. 151-South
Topeka, Kansas 66612

7Greater Wichita YMCA

Corporate Office + 3330 N. Woodlawn ¢ Wichita, KS 67220
316-219-9622 ¢+ 316-858-1540 {fax) « www.ymcawichita.org

Re: HB 2356 & SB 447-Supervision of Children in Child Care Facilities

Dear Representative Landwehr, Members of the House Health Human Services Committee:

The purpose of this letter is to express support for Senate Bill 447 and House Bil} 2356 by the Greater Wichita
YMCA.

The content of the bill extends the type and number of child carc facilitics which would be inspected by KDHE
and speaks to a necessary change in regulation and inspection. Tn addition the bill would also set up improved
access for the public in regards to facility information, such as history of citations and complaints.

As the largest provider of licensed child care programs in the Wichita, Sedgwick and Butler County area, with
over 50 licensed sites, the YMCA has a great deal of experience with what local surveyors and KDHE
specialists can bring as support, suggestion and resolution of an understanding and implementation of child care
regulations for the benefit of children and families.. 1t would be useful to parents, children and to providers to
extend KDHE expertise to family day homes that are not currently monitored.

Many of the programs that enroll children in unlicensed and unregulated care receive state funds through SRS
child care plans and yet there is little if any accountability for safety and weli-being of the children, let alone
quality of programming. Given the fact that public funding is occurring and that no accountability occurs seems
like an inappropriate combination. Based on the incidents of child abuse, neglect and tragedy to the point of
death for young children, it appears that regulation and accountability are overdue.

1 urge you to give thoughtful consideration to the bills and pass them for the benefit of our children and families
in the state of Kansas. Thank you for your consideration of our letter of support. 1f you have questions or
would like additional information, please feel free to contact me at (316) 2641610, extension 250.

Sincerely,

ity M lies
Emily M. Lies Ed.D.
Executive Director
Child Care and Camping Branch

Andover Branch YMCA

Rabert . Love Ceneral Branch YMCA
East Branch YMCA

H Dorado BranchYMCA

North BranchYMCA

Northwest Branch YMCA

Richard A. DeVore South Branch YMCA
West Branch YMCA

YMCA Child Care/Camp Branch

Camp Hyde Branch

YMCA Commurity Development Branch

1115 E.US Highway 54, Andover. KS 67002
402 N. Market, Wichita, KS 67202

9333 £ Douglas,Wichim, KS 67207

300 N. Main, & Dorado, KS 67042

3330 N, Woodlawn Wichits, KS 67220
13838W. 215t St North Wichit, KS 67235
3405 S. Meridian, Wichia, KS 67217

6940 Newell, Wichita, KS 67212

402 N, Marker, Wichita, KS 67202

402 N. Market,Wichita, K§ 67202

402 N. Marker,Wichits, KS 67202

(316) 7339622
(316) 264-9374
(316) 6852251
(316) 320-9622
(316) 858-9622
(316) 260-9622
(316} 942:55114
(318 942-2271
(316) 264-1610
(3161 264-1610
(316) 264-4066

(316) 733.7684 (fax)
(316} 2640757 (fax)
(316) 6B5-2254 (fax)
(318) 322-0055 (fax)
(316) 858-1541 (fax)
(316) 260-9680 {fax)
(316) 942-6936 fiax}
(316) 942-4829 (%)
(316) 2640757 {fax)
(316) 264-0757 (fax)
(316) 264-0757 (fax)

Qur Mission: To put Christan prindples
into practice through programs that promote
fiealthy Ifestyles, strong farmifies and positive
youth development to build healily spirit mind
and body for all, regardiess of abifity to pay.

We build strong kids, strong families,
strong communities.
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Testimony of Jeff Wagaman,
Chief Professional Officer
Boys & Girls Club of Topeka

SS HB 2356

On behalf of the Boys & Girls Club of Topeka, I submit this written testimony

in support of SS HB 2356 - a bill that will provide safer and more open childcare
facilities in Kansas.

The Boys & Girls Club of Topeka has served youth in our community since
1955. We are licensed by KDHE as a drop in facility. Starting from our founding
in the former Washington Grade School, we now serve approximately 4,500
youth in eight different locations in Topeka. Our mission is comprehensive
youth development and we serve the youth who need us the most. We never
turn away a child for the inability to pay. Our comprehensive programs are
designed by Boys & Girls Clubs of America and are proven to enhance the lives
of youth. Some of our programs include comprehensive homework assistance
and mentoring, character and leadership development, health and life skills,
sports, fitness, an anti-obesity education.

We serve youth between the ages of 6-17 and offer them a safe, positive place to
go where they can learn, grow, give back to the community, discover their needs,
set goals, and enhance their lives.

After reviewing the legislation, BGC Topeka believes it is important that
facilities, regardless of size, should meet certain basic requirements. BGC
Topeka also believes these requirements not be onerous, but rather have the best
interests of the children in mind. Parents sometimes lack the time or expertise to
make fully informed decisions alone. This legislation seems to strike a balance
that is 1) good for children; 2) helpful to parents; 3) not onerous on facilities
either in providing for inspections or costly to the facility.

BGC Topeka understands there may be additional reporting due to this
legislation, but offsetting good will result from this bill making improved safety
of the facility and the child worth the extra requirement.

If you have any questions do not hesitate to contact me.

BOYS & GIRLS CLUR

OF TOPEKA

2150 SW Westport Dr, Ste 204
Topeka, Kansas 66614

Tel (785)232-5699

Fax (785)228-1399
www.bgctopeka.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS
Coleen Jennison, President
Chad Harkness, Vice President
Mark Ruelle, Treasurer
Matt Billingsley

Matt Bradberry

Shaun Deegan

Gary Domer

Kathy Fair

Scott Grosskreutz

Dan Hess

Frank Kerr

Mark Nordstrom

Leslie Palace

John Payne

Jeff Peterson

Herman Simon

Rick Slocum

Shon Spader

Keith Walberg

CHIEF PROFESSIONAL
OFFICER
Jeff Wagaman

Way

United Way of Greater Topeka
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April 26, 2010

Chairwoman Brenda Landwehr and members of the Committee:

United Community Services (UCS) of Johnson County, a community planning
agency that secures resources for vital human services, is pleased to submit
testimony supporting passage of HB 2356. One of the priority public policy
positions for UCS in 2010 is to improve the safety of children in child care by
requiring all providers to be licensed and inspected.

Passage of HB 2356 is an important step toward improving the quality, safety
and oversight of child care in Kansas. Right now, one in three child care facilities
in Kansas are never inspected, and we have some of the weakest child care
supervision standards in the country.

Implementing across-the-board inspections of all child care facilities will help
ensure the safety of thousands more Kansas children. In Johnson County, for
example, in those families with children under the age of 6, 70% of all parents
are in the workforce. Enacting this legislation will give working parents the
peace of mind that their children are being cared for in a safe environment
during the work day. Just as the state provides consumer protections that
ensure the safety of our restaurants, gas pumps and beauty salons, we need to
ensure the safety of child care facilities.

On behalf of United Community Services of Johnson County, thank you for
your concern for the safety of our community’s children. HB 2356 will make a
difference.

Janis McMillen
Public Policy Committee Chair
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April 27, 2010
To: Health and Human Services Committee
From: Kristen Fine, Prairie Village, KS

I came to Topeka today to speak in support of Lexie’s Law because [ know firsthand, as a
parent and as a child care provider, how important this legislation is.

As a director of an early education center, | have experienced many inspections of our
child care facility. These inspections are important to our program, and we value them as
an educational tool to help us provide the best care we can for children. It is hard for me
to imagine that the same State that writes a program up for non-compliance of chipped
paint on a stepstool would willingly allow an individual to care for children in his or her
home without annual inspections. I believe that every child care center in Kansas should
be subject to inspections — both for the educational benefit of the provider and for the
safety of the children.

As a parent, I was shocked to learn how the child care system in Kansas has failed me. I
have my degree in Early Childhood Education, and as an insider to child care I thought I
would know how to choose a quality in-home provider for my son. Knowing that
Registered providers are not inspected, I chose to seek a Licensed provider for my son. [
asked the provider all the right questions and she assured me that she was Licensed. She
answered every question about ratio, meals and curriculum with professional detail. Her
answers told me that she was passionate about children. I selected this provider because
she was licensed, had a small group size, and seemed to have my son’s development in
her best interest.

Due to my experience with my son’s provider, [ believe that the part of this bill that
would establish an online “open records” database is very important. Requiring that
information would be available on a website about providers’ licensing and compliant
history would have shown that this provider was lying about her Licensed status. [ was
lucky enough to have only used this provider for four days before seeing red flags and
having concern about her ability to operate as a home provider. I pulled my son from her
care on day 4. About a month later, the State shut her down due to her caring for 6
infants under the age of 12 months. As a parent who was well-informed about child care
licensing in Kansas, I had no where to turn to validate the claims of my provider, and the
system ended up failing me and jeopardizing the safety of my son.

I have been on both sides of this issue and I fully believe that inspections should be
required of all providers, especially of in-home providers. Parents need to know that
there are minimum supervision standards that all Licensed providers in Kansas must
follow. They also need easy access to information about providers. With these changes
in Lexie’s Law, we are moving in the right direction to improve the safety and quality of
child care in Kansas.
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o City of Wichita
455 N Main, Wichita, KS. 67202
g hi ! !
WICHITE Wichita Phone: 316.268 4351
Dale Goter dgoter@wichita.gov

Government Relations Manager

April 27,2010
Responses to questions raised by Rep. Brenda Landwehr,
chair, House Health and Human Services Committee

SUBMITTED BY:

Nancy Jensen, RN BSN

Division Supervisor, Child Care Licensing

City of Wichita- Office of Environmental Health

These responses are based on Ms. Jensen’s 22 years of experience as a Public Health
Nurse/Child Care Licensing Surveyor in Sedgwick County and the City of Wichita. She is an
active member of the BEST (Budget Efficiencies Savings Team) Team. Contact numbers are
316-268-8325 (office) or 316-204-7143 (mobile).

QUESTION:
| have day care providers telling me they will not be able to obtain liability insurance for lack of
inspections in the currently licensed homes. Those who have insurance companies willing to

provide liability insurance have said there will be an increase in costs, because the risk is
greater.

RESPONSE:

Obtaining liability insurance has been a challenge for child care providers for as long as | can
remember. During the Child Care Home Orientation that all providers in Sedgwick County must
attend, we tell them they are becoming Small Business owners, and must educate themselves
about the legal requirements for running a business. We tell them our focus is regulations, and
the only regulation regarding liability insurance is 28-4-130 (a) (3) with regard to their vehicles
when they transport children. We make sure they understand that accidents are the fourth
leading cause of death in preschool age children and SIDS is the number one cause of death
in children under 12 months of age. It is common sense to have liability insurance on the

home, but beyond that, it is up to the provider to search out and contract with an insurance
provider if they choose to.

QUESTION:
In discussions with Norm Furse (the committee revisor who has written most of the legislation

in this area over the years) we have found several items of concern. | will list a few of them
here:
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Section 1 of the bill requires close oversight of the children, always a good thing, but whether
this type of requirement is workable in statute as a practical matter would be a question. Since
this would be a public health regulation and applies to a wide variety of child care homes, the
requirements in this section increase the potential liability for these homes. Health care
requirements in statutes create automatic proof of liability. This becomes a trial lawyers
dream. ‘

RESPONSE:

| have known for a long time that “child care providers, without education, tend to care for
children in the way that they were parented by their own parents”. This includes how they
supervise children. Up to now, “adequate” supervision in any given investigation depended on
the severity of the incident/injury/abuse, and the provider's ability to verbalize what happened.
This Section attempts to define “adequate supervision”, eliminate any one person’s opinion of
what that may mean, and clarify the general expectation for the child care provider. They no
longer have to be mind readers but have concrete guidelines to follow. Many providers have
requested this very thing over the years because they felt they were not “at the mercy” of any
one surveyor's personal opinion.

QUESTION:

In addition this section requires “direct visual supervision” and supervision “within hearing
distance” yet it states that nothing in the section is to be construed to prevent a person who is
blind or visually impaired or who is deaf or hearing impaired...” from being licensed as a day

care provider. This does not appear to pass ADA compliance and could result in potential
lawsuits.

RESPONSE:

The legality of this section is outside of my professional training and experience. Whether it
needs to be in statute or regulation is a question for lawmakers.

QUESTION:
Section 1 creates other exemptions to the duties imposed by the section (bathroom breaks,
other care provider duties) but do more exceptions need to be created?

RESPONSE:

The reasons why child care providers might be distracted or “momentarily unavailable” to the
children are not the same as ADA exceptions. These are common, everyday occurrences and
should never be an excuse or reason for any child to be “unsupervised”. That is why defining

what supervision is can be very helpful. Again, whether it needs to be in statute or regulation is
a question for lawmakers.

QUESTION:

Section 11 deletes the ability of certain legislative committees to close their meetings to
receive certain records relating to child care facilities. This section purports to open those
records except under subsection (b) the secretary of KDHE is given authority to “prohibit the
release of the name... of the maternity center or child care facility” in certain circumstances.
These were circumstances the legislature was interested in when they adopted language in
2001 to be allowed access to assist with complaints and concerns by constituents. With lines
15-25 removed the legislature would not be able to obtain information.
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RESPONSE:

As a nurse, | feel strongly about the individual's right to privacy as it applies to children and
their families. Often times their information is caught up in a facility’s information and should be
protected. The development of “on-line public access to facility surveys and other information”
allows for the release of information necessary for legislative decisions. A committee hearing
where testimony is given allows individuals to release confidential information about them if
they choose.

QUESTION:

Section 15 is the carryover provision from registered family day care home to a licensed family
child care home. Read literally this language says the family day care home becomes a
licensed family child care home until an inspection is conducted and a licensed duly issued, in
other words, it becomes a licensed home unit it is licensed? If the bill had gone through the
committee vetting process, these illogical errors would have been challenged and changed.

RESPONSE:

This appears to be a semantics issue that could be addressed by the committee to clarify the
intent.

QUESTION:

In addition, in Section 15 the old registered family day care homes not licensed are licensed
“for all purposes under law” which means they would suddenly (on Kansas Register
publication) be subject to licensure standard of licensed homes and subject to potential liability
for perhaps not meeting those standards.

Section 17 makes the act effective on publication in the Kansas register. 1t would be unusual
for the legislature in these types of transitions situations not to give entities time to adjust to the
new regulatory circumstances.

RESPONSE:

Any change requires a transition period which allows for due process of law. Providers would
need to be legally notified and provided an opportunity to raise questions and educate
themselves as to how this change affects them personally.

QUESTION: ‘

In summary this bill needs additional careful consideration and amendment. The committee
needs some specific idea of what rules and regulations the department intends to adopt to
implement these changes and what fiscal effects these changes would bring about.

There will also be two levels of licensed day care homes in Kansas. Each level will be allowed
a different number of children in their care (currently licensed homes are allowed 10 depending
on age and registered are allowed 6 depending on age) which means the state will be keeping
track of a two tiered system with no additional funding. The question of the number of children

in the home is one of the subjects the Best Team suggested be changed. That is not done in
this bill.

RESPONSE:

Practically speaking, from the surveyor’s perspective, we have always managed a “two tiered”
system, albeit licensed vs. registered home. This change would make it less confusing and
more consistent for surveying. It also would make it less confusing for the provider who wishes
to change the category of child care they are providing.
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QUESTION:

The reason Kansas did not rank high with the National Association of Child Care Resource
and Referral Agencies are not being addressed in this bill.

RESPONSE:

The BEST team was established in part to respond to this study. This bill is a response to the

fact that the study was based on the “most basic” type of child care home. Kansas ranked low
because registered day care homes were not routinely surveyed.

QUESTION:
Some of the concerns they sited were:

Kansas fails to conduct a background check using fingerprints and fails to check juvenile
records.

The state does not require provider's completion of a high school education or GED.

Providers are required to undergo only two hours of training in first aid prior to working with
children. No training in CPR is required.

RESPONSE:

This is incorrect. 28-4-128 (f) required documentation of first aid training. It does not require
only two hours and the Sedgwick County surveyors always recommend strongly a first time
Basic First Aid Course, which is eight hours. CPR is required by 28-4-129 (b) (5). This
standard should be required of all providers, regardless of whether a pool is being used.

These concerns wouid directly affect all Child Care Homes. This bill should be viewed as the
beginning of the process for improving child care in homes, not the only change.

QUESTION:
Providers are not required to complete adequate ongoing training.

Providers are not required to communicate with parents about the care of their children or have
contracts with the parents.

RESPONSE: .

Providers are required to inform parents of discipline policies and iilnessfinjury, among others. .
They are required to have certain information on file for every child that is pbtainedlfrom the
parents. Common sense dictates that the conversations between adults will rgesult in questions,
answers, and clarifications. Parents have a shared responsibility to ask ques’uo.ns andget
satisfactory answers. It is unreasonable to expect statute or regulations to provide every detail
ihat needs to be discussed when a parent enrolis their child in someone’s care or for the law to
be responsible for a person that is setting up their own small business.

QUESTION:

Providers are not required to have any spegcific toys and materials designed to promote
learning.
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RESPONSE:

This is also inaccurate. Providers are required to have activities and equipment to support
children’s healthy growth and development.

QUESTION:

Providers are not required to engage in any learning activities with children or provide them
with literacy opportunities.

RESPONSE:
Age-appropriate learning activities are required under 28-4-116 (a) in the Licensed Day Care
home regulation book or the Registered Day Care Home Self Evaluation Checklist.

QUESTION:

Providers are not required to address SIDS prevention, crib safety, playground safety or door
locks/safety gates.

RESPONSE:
The proposed requirement for 15-minute inspections of sleeping infants is a step toward SIDS
reduction. Crib safety, playground requirements and safety gates are already in regulations.

QUESTION:
| know that in our discussion, you talked about some of the things your inspectors do when

they go out and they address some of these items. Unfortunately, that does not mean that all
inspectors in Kansas have the same approach.

RESPONSE:

KDHE has developed in the last 10-15 years standard training that is required quarterly for all
surveyors and is included as part of our Grant requirements. This is intended to make the
interpretation and implementation of regulations consistent across the State.

QUESTION:

| am also concerned there are no requirements for a death that occurs at a child care facility or
even in private homes that are identified as SIDS (most advocates believe the majority of the
child deaths in the day cares were SIDS) and are not reported fo the state to assist in
identifying the different causes of SIDS.

RESPONSE:

28-4-127 (f) requires all injuries or illnesses that result in the death of a child must be reported
to the local department or KDHE by the next working day. To define a death as SIDS would
require a death scene investigation, a medical history review, and a coroner’s report. This can
take weeks to months to become final.
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Kathie Sparks

From: Roland Morreale [tmicg4@gmail.com]
Sent: Monday, April 26, 2010 9:03 AM

To: Kathie Sparks

Cc: brendalandwehr@house.ks.gov
Subject: SB447 & HB2356

Dear House Representative Landwehr,

As Committee Chair for the House Health & Human Services Committee that is considering SB447

(and/or HB2356) | am asking that you share this email with every Committee Member in at Tuesday's
4/27/2010 9:00 am .

Please vote No on these 2 bills which will do nothing to ensure the safety & education of pre-
schoolers or require the right type of education for providers.. Please don't pass a bill which doesn't
fund the appropriate type & frequency of effective inspections, provider certification, and realistic

funding.
We are grandparents who are committed to protecting the future of the next generation.

Thank you.

Roland & Jan Morreale
Overland Park, KS 66207

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
1 DATE: M~ o8-l
ATTACHMENT: 5 5 — |
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Kathie Sparks

From: Kristin Malara [kmalara1@kc.rr.com]

Sent: Monday, April 26, 2010 9:10 AM

To: Kathie Sparks; Brenda Landwehr; Clay Aurand; Barbara Ballard; Melany Barnes; Lisa Benlon;
Bob Bethell; Barbara Bollier; Elaine Bowers; Bob Brookens; Anthony Brown; Tony Brown;
Steve Brunk; Mike Burgess; Tom Burroughs; Sydney Carlin; Richard Carlson; Pat Colloton;
Barbara Craft; Marti Crow; David Crum; Paul Davis; Pete DeGraaf; Nile Dillmore; Owen
Donohoe; John Faber; Bill Feuerborn; Gail Finney; Geraldine Flaharty; Stan Frownfelter;
Rocky Fund; Dolores Furtado; Delia Garcia; Doug Gatewood; Sean Gatewood; Pat George;
Mario Goico; Lana Gordon; Raj Goyle; John Grange; Bob Grant; Tom Hawk; Gary Hayzlett,;
Broderick Henderson; Jerry Henry; Phil Hermanson; Don Hill; Don Hineman; Carl Holmes;
Mitch Holmes; Deena Horst; Steve Huebert; Aaron Jack; Dan Johnson;
kahsa.kelley@house.ks.gov; Dan Kerschen; Mike Kiegerl; Jeff King; L.ance Kinzer

Subject: PLEASE take a moment to consider...

Importance: High

Dear Kathie Sparks, House Representative Landwehr and Esteemed Representatives of the People,

As Committee Chair for the House Health & Human Services Committee that is considering SB447
(and/or HB2356) | am asking that you share this email with every Committee Member in at Tuesday's
4/27/2010 9:00 am.

I am deeply concerned with some of the vague wording regarding the Lexie's Law. When | chose to
become a home childcare provider six years ago, | opted to become Licensed, so that the parents of
the children | cared for had the extra reassurance that my daycare was inspected ANNUALLY by the
state, as well as persons from the Food Program. Although | adamantly agree that all childcare
centers, including registered and centers, ought to be inspected (i.e. Inspect the Rest), | feel | will be
penalized for being a good provider by being pushed to the side regarding annual inspections in favor
of the "rest". Do you realize that this bill could potentially allow for a provider's home to only be
inspected ONCE for the duration of infancy through to kindergarten per child if this bill is passed?!?!
How safe is that for our children? Funding MUST be found - whether through increased licensing
fees (which would apply to registered individuals, thus increasing income) in order to train and
dispatch professional inspectors for ALL childcare. 'Self-evaluation' is simply not enough.

As the mother of two young children, | understand first-hand how important it is for childcare
individuals to enrich themselves with continuing education. No one is born with the knowledge of how
to properly care for and teach young children. That is why EDUCATION is so important!!l Not to
mention mandatory CPR and First Aid on at least a biannual basis. It is the power of education that
will help keep children safe - especially classes on SIDS and Back to Sleep.

| am concerned that this bill has nothing to do with improving child care. This bill addresses
budget cutting measures.

This is a flawed piece of legislation that does nothing to improve child care but solves budget

problems for legislators who are under pressure to address fiscal problems. Kansas children
deserve better than this!!!

In summary, when cornered to make a decision on this bill, | have to opt to STRONGLY urge you to
kill this bill. It needs to be reviewed and re-worded by the Best Team and the financial difficulties

' HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DATE: M-a8 -1
ATTACHMENT:
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new.. (0 be hammered out in the best interest of our children. PLEASE VOTE NO on HB2356 a.....or
SB447 (Lexie's Law)

Sincerely,

Kristin Malara
7836 Park St.
Lenexa, KS 66216
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Kathie Sparks

From: Katie Twenter [k.twenter@yahoo.com]
Sent: Monday, April 26, 2010 8:50 AM

To: Kathie Sparks; Brenda Landwehr
Subject: HB2356 and/or SB447 Lexie's Law

Dear House Representative Landwehr,

[, as a mother to an infant in a licensed home daycare, am very concerned with (HB2356 and/or SB447) Lexie’s Law
which is why I will be voting NO on it unless major changes are made.

If this bill is passed, it will put more children across Kansas at risk with no oversight for at least 3 years

Kansas Action for Children's big push has been all about the large number children's death in Registered Homes. What I
found surprising (because of the KAC campaign," INSPECT THE REST") was that after reading this report, the major
cause of deaths was from SIDS. Yet, this bill does NOT require registered providers to have any training. No CPR, No
Back to Sleep - for SIDS prevention training. This bill has nothing to do with improving child care. This bill
addresses budget cutting measures that have more importance to legislators.

This is a flawed piece of legislation that does nothing to improve child care but solves budget problems for legislators
who are under pressure to address fiscal problems. Kansas children deserve better than this!!!

Sincerely,

Katie Twenter

8592 Perry Lane
Overland Park, KS 66212

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
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Kathie Sparks

From: laughtons@netzero.com

Sent: Monday, April 26, 2010 6:59 AM

To: Kathie Sparks; Brenda Landwehr

Cc: Clay Aurand; Barbara Ballard; Melany Barnes; Lisa Benlon; Bob Bethell; Barbara Bollier;
Elaine Bowers; Bob Brookens; Anthony Brown:; Tony Brown; Steve Brunk; Mike Burgess; Tom
Burroughs; Sydney Carlin; Richard Carlson; Pat Colloton; Barbara Craft; Marti Crow; David
Crum; Paul Davis; Pete DeGraaf; Nile Dillmore; Owen Donohoe; John Faber; Bill Feuerborn;
Gail Finney, Geraldine Flaharty; Stan Frownfelter; Rocky Fund; Dolores Furtado: Delia Garcia;
Doug Gatewood; Sean Gatewood; Pat George; Mario Goico; Lana Gordon: Raj Goyle; John
Grange; Bob Grant; Tom Hawk; Gary Hayzlett; Broderick Henderson; Jerry Henry; Phil
Hermanson; Don Hill; Don Hineman; Carl Holmes; Mitch Holmes; Deena Horst;, Steve
Huebert; Aaron Jack; Dan Johnson; kahsa.kelley@house.ks.gov; Dan Kerschen: Mike
Kiegerl; Jeff King; Lance Kinzer

Subject: Please VOTE NO ON SB447 AND/OR HB2356

Dear House Representative Landwehr,

As Committee Chair for the House Services Committee, considering SB447 on 04/27/2010, I am
asking that you share this email with every Committee Member. Additionally, I would ask that
you share this email with the other Conference Committee Members at your first Conference
Committee Meeting for HB2356.

Please VOTE NO ON SB447 AND/OR HB2356.

These bills don't even address the matter of provider education. That should have been the

first issue addressed when looking at how to improve quality care and ensure the safety of
children.

The risk-based system is too risky. It does not provide enough specific detail about how it
will be run and allows for too many variables ("other such factors™") for KDHE to consider in
determining risk criteria.

In today's economy why would we risk pushing more providers into illegal care? Nothing in
these bills will make anyone be a better care giver. 1In fact, the inspection system alone
will just drive the worst of legally registered and licensed providers (and even very good
providers who just have fundamential problems with inspections) underground, further from
oversight by the State and harder to get to when a problem does arise.

Specific supervision requirements should not be outlined in legislation, but as basic
expectations for safety (such as within hearing distance, child proofing of homes, and basic
1st Aid and CPR requirements) should be outlined in regulation.

VOTE NO ON SB447 AND/OR HB2356 when it comes before your attention in committee or from the
floor.

Sincerely,

Karen Laughton
5515 Barkley
Mission KS 66202

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DATE: Y4281
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Kathie Sparks &
From: Special K @ Hott Cornflakes Communications [hottcornflakes@ke.rr.com]

Sent: Sunday, April 25, 2010 11:33 PM

Subject: VOTE NO on HB2356 and/or SB447 (Lexie's Law)

Hello! Today, my letter concerns the upcoming vote on Lexie's Law. I am OPPOSED!

My concern centers around a number of issues. Most notably, the fact that child-care
facilities will be required to do their own annual self-evaluations for three years before
getting an official inspection. This is just crazy! A center that is ignoring the rules and

putting children in danger will go even LONGER putting children in their care at risk? That
makes no sense to me.

And while I know the bill supposedly says the oversight will take place sooner than three
years, from the information I've heard from government authorities in the know, the state's
budget won't allow those inspections to happen any sooner than three years. Knowing the
financial realities, it is just dangerous to even consider creating a law with these types of
restrictions. And, of course, none of this even takes into consideration the vague language
of the law, which could allow the time to go even LONGER than three years. Again, this is
just crazy talk.

That vague language is one of the other main concerns I have. What's the point of creating a
law that can be changed willy-nilly after it's approved? You're voting to to put in place a
law that could eventually change to something completely different from what you voted on!

Yet one more major concern is the fact that the bill is not requiring any training to educate
day care providers regarding the major cause of infant deaths who are in the care of others:
SIDS. If this is the main way our babies are dying, and you are concerned for their safety,
then it seems you should be making sure they know CPR, how to lay a baby down to sleep
properly, etc. It simply seems that this bill has nothing to do with improving child care. In
fact, it primarily addresses budget-cutting measures that have more importance to
legislators.

As I'm sure you are hearing from others, this is truly a flawed piece of legislation that
does nothing to improve child care but, instead, solves budget problems for legislators who
are under pressure to address fiscal problems.

Kansas children deserve better than this!!!

Please: VOTE NO on HB2356 and/or SB447 (Lexie's Law)
Sincerely,
Virginia M. Kellogg

7911 Hadley
Lenexa, KS 66212

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DATE: Y4-25-/O
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Kathie Sparks

From: ghogan@kc.rr.com

Sent: Sunday, April 25, 2010 11:29 PM

Subject: VOTE NO on HB2356 and/or SB447 (Lexie's Law)

Good morning:

My letter today is in regards to Lexie's law. I am opposed to the upcoming vote. Please take
action against it.

I have numerous concerns. Most notably, I worry about the fact that child-care facilities
will be required to do their own annual self-evaluations for three years before getting an
official inspection. This is not smart. A center that is ignoring the rules and putting
children in danger will go even LONGER putting children in their care at risk? This is
nonsensical.

And while I know the bill supposedly says the oversight will take place sooner than three
years, from the information I've heard from government authorities in the know, the state's
budget won't allow those inspections to happen any sooner than three years. Knowing the
financial realities, it is just dangerous to even consider creating a law with these types of
restrictions. And, of course, none of this even takes into consideration the vague language
of the law, which could allow the time to go even LONGER than three years. Again, this is
just crazy talk.

That vague language is one of the other main concerns I have. What's the point of creating a
law that can be changed willy-nilly after it's approved? You're voting to to put in place a
law that could eventually change to something completely different from what you voted on!

Yet one more major concern is the fact that the bill is not requiring any training to educate
day care providers regarding the major cause of infant deaths who are in the care of others:
SIDS. If this is the main way our babies are dying, and you are concerned for their safety,
then it seems you should be making sure they know CPR, how to lay a baby down to sleep
properly, etc. It simply seems that this bill has nothing to do with improving child care. In
fact, it primarily addresses budget-cutting measures that have more importance to
legislators.

As I'm sure you are hearing from others, this is truly a flawed piece of legislation that
does nothing to improve child care but, instead, solves budget problems for legislators who
are under pressure to.address fiscal problems.

Kansas children deserve better than this!!!

Please: VOTE NO on HB2356 and/or SB447 (Lexie's Law)
Sincerely,

Mark Werner
10233 Roe
Overland Park, KS 66207

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
DATE: Y -~28 -1
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Kathie Sparks

From: Special K [gkellogg@ke.rr.com]

Sent: Sunday, April 25, 2010 11:24 PM

Subject: VOTE NO on (HB2356 and/or SB447) Lexie's Law
Good day!

I am writing to let you know that I am opposed to the upcoming vote on Lexie's Law and want
to let you know of my view so you can take action against it.

My concern centers around a number of issues. Most notably, the fact that child-care
facilities will be required to do their own annual self-evaluations for three years before
getting an official inspection. This is just crazy! A center that is ighoring the rules and
putting children in danger will go even LONGER putting children in their care at risk? That
makes no sense to me.

And while I know the bill supposedly says the oversight will take place sooner than three
years, from the information I've heard from government authorities in the know, the state's
budget won't allow those inspections to happen any sooner than three years. Knowing the
financial realities, it is just dangerous to even consider creating a law with these types of
restrictions. And, of course, none of this even takes into consideration the vague language
of the law, which could allow the time to go even LONGER than three years. Again, this is
just crazy talk.

That vague language is one of the other main concerns I have. What's the point of creating a
law that can be changed willy-nilly after it's approved? You're voting to to put in place a
law that could eventually change to something completely different from what you voted on!

Yet one more major concern is the fact that the bill is not requiring any training to educate
day care providers regarding the major cause of infant deaths who are in the care of others:
SIDS. If this is the main way our babies are dying, and you are concerned for their safety,
then it seems you should be making sure they know CPR, how to lay a baby down to sleep
properly, etc. It simply seems that this bill has nothing to do with improving child care. In
fact, it primarily addresses budget-cutting measures that have more importance to
legislators.

As I'm sure you are hearing from others, this is truly a flawed piece of legislation that
does nothing to improve child care but, instead, solves budget problems for legislators who
are under pressure to address fiscal problems. Kansas children deserve better than this!!!

Please: VOTE NO on HB2356 and/or SB447 (Lexie's Law)
Sincerely,

Gina B. Kellogg

6101 W 87th St.

Overland Park, KS 66207-1503
913-648-8753

913-522-3209 (c)

gkellogg@ke.rr.com

Twitter: @SpecialK1963

www., linkedin.com/in/ginabkellogg
http://Hottcornflakes.Wordpress.Com

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
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Kathie Sparks ,

From: Brenda Schoen [bschoen@comcast.net]
Sent: Sunday, April 25, 2010 9:06 PM

To: Brenda Landwehr

Cc: Kathie Sparks

Subject: HB2356/ SB447(Lexie's Law)

Dear House Representative Landwehr,

As Committee Chair for the House, Health & Human Services Committee that is considering SB447 (HB2356) |

am asking that you share this email with every Committee Member this Tuesday, 4/27/2010, at the 9:00 am
meeting.

I am Kansas Provider of the Year, 2010. | have been an in-home child care provider since 1995, | have an A.S. in
Early Childhood Education, Montessori certification, have earned national accreditation, have worked in a child
care center, and am a parent/grandparent. | believe | am qualified to understand what Lexie's law means to
providers, children, and their parents. | have read every word of the updated version of the law. Please vote
NO on SB447/HB2356 (Lexie's law).

This bill will put Kansas children at high risk! Child care facilities must be inspected much more often than every
two or three years! Kansas regularly inspects restaurants. Isn't it more important to inspect where our children
spend the majority of their hours awake? We are talking about our children's safety! Children's lives! Although
national accreditation agencies like NAEYC and NAFCC emphasize education as a large component to quality
child care, this bill does nothing to require more classes (like CPR and SIDS prevention).

This bill would mean less supervision, less inspections, and less hassles for someone like myself. Yet | am
against it. That should speak volumes to you. | care and educate children because there is nothing more

precious than a child. This bill will put our children at high risk! Please keep Kansas children safe, and vote no
on Lexie's law.

Brenda Schoen, NAFCC accredited provider

16013 W. 144th Street, Olathe, KS 66062

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
1 DATE: =257t
ATTACHMENT:
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From: Laura and Jeff Jaworski [jjaworski@kec.rr.com]
Sent: Sunday, April 25, 2010 6:58 PM

To: Kathie Sparks

Subject: SB447 and/orHB2356

Dear House Representative Landwehr,

As Committee Chair for the House Health & Human Services Committee that is considering SB447 (and/or HB2356) | am
asking that you share this email with every Committee Member in at Tuesday's 4/27/2010 9:00 am (be sure to write this at
the beginning of your email)

Suggestions to write about:

We are told that Representatives will read and pay attenation to emails that are written by constituents with specific
concerns. Feel free to cut and paste from below, but start your email with your concerns so the email sounds more like
you. If you need help writting an email, we can help.

VOTE NO on (HB2356 and/or SB447) Lexie's Law

Any child care facility: licensed child care homes, group day care homes, child care centers, preschool programs, school-
age programs and drop-in programs in compliance on or before Jan. 1, 2011 will do their own annua! 'self-evaluation' and
will go without an inspection for 3 years! Yes, this is also includes ALL LARGE CENTERS too!

If this bill is passed, it will put more children across Kansas at risk with no oversight for at least 3 years. Even
though the bill says 2-3 years, Senator Kelly told me it would be 3 years until the KDHE (Kansas Dept. of Health &

Environment) goes into compliant facilities for an actual physical inspection (this covers all the child care programs not
just family child care).

Even though the bill reads that the 3 year inspection cycle will expire on July 1, 2013, (with the vague language of the
bili--below) KDHE, can extend the time period for this 3 year cycle or (if the economy doesn't get better or they are short
on staffing), it could be INCREASED.

KDHE can change the "supervision language" through regulation, without any public

input or knowlege, and without going back to the legislature.

(page 6 & 7) Section 7/Subsection 2 reads: On or before July 1, 2013, the secretary of health and environment shall
develop and implement a risk-based system for use in determining the freqency of inspections by adopting rules and
regulations the secretary deems necessary to carry out this subsection. Risk criteria shall include the ages of children
authorzied under care, hours of operation, complaint history, compliance history, and other factors the secretary deems
necessary to assess risk in all child care facilities.”

Attachment: Kansas Child Death and Serious Injury Data in Registered and Licensed Day Care Homes. (This is just to
inform you)

Kansas Action for Children's big push has been all about the large number children's death in Registered Homes (read
attachment). What | found surprising (because of the KAC campaign," INSPECT THE REST") was that after reading this
report, the major cause of deaths were from SIDS. Yet, this bill does NOT require registered providers (even though we
have pushed hard for education) to have any training. No CPR, No Back to Sleep - for SIDS prevention training. This bill
has nothing to do with improving child care. This biil addresses budget cutting measures that have more
importance to legislators. ’

This is a flawed piece of legislation that does nothing to improve child care but solves budget problems for legislators who
are under pressure to address fiscal problems. Kansas children deserve better than this!!!

VOTE NO on HB2356 and/or SB447 (Lexie's Law)

Sincerel

y, HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
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La.  aworski
3012 W 90th Ter
Leawood, KS 66206
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Kathie Sparks

From: RMSTOLHAND@aol.com
Sent: Sunday, April 25, 2010 6:43 PM
To: Kathie Sparks; Brenda Landwehr; Clay Aurand; Barbara Ballard; Melany Barnes; Lisa Benlon:;

Bob Bethell; Barbara Bollier; Elaine Bowers; Bob Brookens; Anthony Brown; Tony Brown;
Steve Brunk; Mike Burgess; Tom Burroughs; Sydney Carlin; Richard Carlson; Pat Colloton;
Barbara Craft, Marti Crow; David Crum; Paul Davis; Pete DeGraaf; Nile Dillmore; Owen
Donohoe; John Faber; Bill Feuerborn; Gail Finney; Geraldine Flaharty; Stan Frownfelter;
Rocky Fund; Dolores Furtado; Delia Garcia; Doug Gatewood; Sean Gatewood; Pat George,;
Mario Goico; Lana Gordon; Raj Goyle; John Grange; Bob Grant; Tom Hawk; Gary Hayzlett:
Broderick Henderson; Jerry Henry; Phil Hermanson; Don Hill; Don Hineman; Carl Holmes;
Mitch Holmes; Deena Horst; Steve Huebert; Aaron Jack; Dan Johnson;
kahsa.kelley@house.ks.gov; Dan Kerschen; Mike Kiegerl; Jeff King; Lance Kinzer; Marvin
Kleeb; Forrest Knox; Annie Kuether; Harold Lane; Bill Light; Judith Loganbill; Margaret Long;
Steve Lukert, Ann Mah; Pat Maloney; Peggy Mast; Melody McCray-Miller; Joe McLeland;
Melanie Meier, Julie Menghini; Ray Merrick; Jim Morrison; Tom Moxley; Don Myers; Cindy
Neighbor; Melvin Neufeld; Connie O'Brien; Mike O'Neal; Robert Olson; Bill Otto; Shirley
Palmer; Joe Patton; Janice Pauls; Virgil Peck; Michael Peterson; Eber Phelps; JoAnn Pottorff;
Larry Powell; Willie Prescott; Richard Proehl; Jill Quigley; Gene Rardin; Marc Rhoades;
Charles Roth; Louis Ruiz; Don Schroeder; Scott Schwab; Sharon Schwartz; Joe Seiwert;
Clark Shultz; Arlen Siegfreid; Mike Slattery; Tom Sloan; Sheryl Spalding; Gene Suellentrop;
Don Svaty, Vern Swanson; Dale Swenson; Lee Tafanelli; Milack Talia; Annie Tietze; Ed
Trimmer; Jene Vickrey; Jim Ward; Vince Wetta; Jeff Whitham; Jerry Williams; Valdenia Winn;
Kay Wolf, Ron Worley; Kevin Yoder

Subject: SB447 (and/or HB2356) Please vote no

Attachments: handSeriousInjuryDatainRegisteredandLicensedDayCareHomes. pdf

Dear House Representative Landwehr and Kansas Legislators,

As Committee Chair for the House Health & Human Services Committee that is

considering SB447 (and/or HB2356) I am asking that you share this email with every
Committee Member in at Tuesday's 4/27/2010 9:00 am.

As Grandparents of children currently involved in a group day care home, We are quite
concerned about the passage of this Bill as it is written. Although we have a great deal
of sympathy for Lexie, we fail to see how this law would have prevented her untimely
death. This Bill seems to be requiring fewer inspections of day care operations by the
State.

VOTE NO on (HB2356 and/or SB447) Lexie's Law

Any child care facility: licensed child care homes, group day care homes, child care
centers, preschool programs, school-age programs and drop-in programs in compliance
on or before Jan. 1, 2011 will do their own annual 'self-evaluation' and will go without
an inspection for 3 years!

If this bill is passed, it will put more children across Kansas at risk with no
oversight for at least 3 years. Even though the bill says 2-3 years, we were told it
would be 3 years until the KDHE (Kansas Dept. of Health & Environment) goes

into compliant facilities for an actual physical inspection (this covers all the child

care programs not just family child care). HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
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Even though the bill reads that the 3 year inspection cycle will expire on July

1, 2013, (with the vague language of the bill--below) KDHE, can extend the time
period for this 3 year cycle or (if the economy doesn't get better or they are short on
staffing), it could be INCREASED.

KDHE can change the "supervision language" through regulation, without any public
input or knowledge, and without going back to the legislature.

(page 6 & 7) Section 7/Subsection 2 reads: On or before July 1, 2013, the Secretary
of health and environment shall develop and implement a risk-based system for use in
determining the frequency of inspections by adopting rules and regulations the Secretary
deems necessary to carry out this subsection. Risk criteria shall include the ages of
children authorized under care, hours of operation, complaint history, compliance
history, and other factors the Secretary deems necessary to assess risk in all child care
facilities.”

Attachment: Kansas Child Death and Serious Injury Data in Registered and Licensed
Day Care Homes.

Kansas Action for Children's big push has been all about the large number of children's
deaths in Registered Homes (read attachment). What I found surprising (because of the
KAC campaign," INSPECT THE REST") was that after reading this report, the major
cause of deaths were from SIDS. Yet, this bill does NOT require registered providers
(even though others have pushed hard for education) to have any training. No CPR, No
Back to Sleep - for SIDS prevention training. This bill has nothing to do with
improving child care. This bill addresses budget cutting measures that have
more importance to legislators.

This is a flawed piece of legislation that does nothing to improve child care but solves
budget problems for legislators who are under pressure to address fiscal problems.
Kansas children deserve better than this!!!

Sincerely

Ray and Melissa Stolhand

9607 Catalina
Overiand park, Kansas 66207
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Kathie Sparks
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From:
Sent:
To:

Subject:

Leslie Foiles [ffoiles@ke.rr.com]

Monday, April 26, 2010 9:38 AM

Kathie Sparks; Brenda Landwehr; Clay Aurand; Barbara Ballard; Melany Barnes; Lisa Benlon:
Bob Bethell; Barbara Bollier; Elaine Bowers; Bob Brookens; Anthony Brown; Tony Brown;
Steve Brunk; Mike Burgess; Tom Burroughs; Sydney Carlin; Richard Carlson; Pat Colloton;
Barbara Craft; Marti Crow; David Crum; Paul Davis; Pete DeGraaf; Nile Dillmore; Owen
Donohoe; John Faber; Bill Feuerborn; Gail Finney; Geraldine Flaharty; Stan Frownfelter:
Rocky Fund; Dolores Furtado; Delia Garcia; Doug Gatewood; Sean Gatewood; Pat George;
Mario Goico; Lana Gordon; Raj Goyle; John Grange; Bob Grant, Tom Hawk; Gary Hayzlett;
Broderick Henderson; Jerry Henry; Phil Hermanson; Don Hill; Don Hineman; Carl Holmes:
Mitch Holmes; Deena Horst; Steve Huebert; Aaron Jack; Dan Johnson:
kahsa.kelley@house.ks.gov; Dan Kerschen; Mike Kieger!; Jeff King: Lance Kinzer

VOTE NO on (HB2356 and/or SB447) Lexie's Law

| continue have great concern about Lexie’s Law. The original intent was good but it has been changed so many times
that now child care facilities will more than likely go uninspected for 3 years. Providers and centers will let things slip
that normally in anticipation of being inspected they would keep in tip top shape. The bill should be re-written to

improve child care to protect the children not put them at further risk. Please really consider our children - vote no!

Leslie Foiles
9600 Catalina

Overland Park, KS 66207

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
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Kathie Sparks

From: Brenda Johnson [Johnson545@comcast.net]

Sent: Monday, April 26, 2010 10:09 AM

To: Kathie Sparks; Brenda Landwehr; Clay Aurand; Barbara Ballard, Melany Barnes; Lisa Benlon;
Bob Bethell; Barbara Bollier; Elaine Bowers; Bob Brookens; Anthony Brown; Tony Brown;
Steve Brunk; Mike Burgess; Tom Burroughs; Sydney Carlin; Richard Carlson; Pat Colloton;
Barbara Craft; Marti Crow; David Crum; Paul Davis; Pete DeGraaf; Nile Dillmore; Owen
Donohoe; John Faber; Bill Feuerborn; Gail Finney; Geraldine Flaharty; Stan Frownfelter;
Rocky Fund; Dolores Furtado; Delia Garcia; Doug Gatewood; Sean Gatewood; Pat George;
Mario Goico; Lana Gordon; Raj Goyle; John Grange; Bob Grant; Tom Hawk; Gary Hayzlett;
Broderick Henderson; Jerry Henry; Phil Hermanson; Don Hill; Don Hineman; Carl Holmes;
Mitch Holmes; Deena Horst; Steve Huebert; Aaron Jack; Dan Johnson;
kahsa.kelley@house.ks.gov; Dan Kerschen; Mike Kieger!; Jeff King; Lance Kinzer

Subject: Vote No on HB2356 and / or SB 447

Importance: High

Dear House Representative Landwehr,

As Committee Chair for the House Health & Human Services Committee that is considering SB447

(and/or HB2356) | am asking that you share this email with every Committee Member in at Tuesday's
4/27/2010 9:00 am

Dear House of Representatives,

Please look at how this bill has been sneaked in at the last minute! Do not make a quick
rash decision and let the children down in the state of Kansas...A huge risk to our
children the inspect the rest but not licensed or group homes for 2 to3 years! Let us
INSPECT ALL so our kids are safe!

There is a lot of information in this bill that I feel is overwhelming to me as a daycare
provider....The line of sight or visual supervision with a 2 minute potty break is
crazy..... Many times we must prepare food or a bottle or change a diaper, etc while the
other children are safe and doing an activity...I can not herd my children like cattle to
the changing table, the stove, sink, etc while I do my duty...This is where our hearing
is important along with having a safe room for the children to play in!

My insurance agent has informed me this will affect my liability insurance rates....The
rates will go up if this bill becomes a law...It puts us at a greater responsibility with

the visual supervision wording! This increase will affect my daycare parents because the
expense will be passed on!

By passing this law it will cost SRS more money for the children they pay daycare costs
for. Registered providers get paid less money than licensed providers. That money has not
been budgeted for in the 2011 budget! So it will cost taxpayers more money in their
taxes! Many providers will switch from Family Daycare Homes to licensed daycare
homes....Because if all are being inspected why not be licensed?

Another point is the inspection for registered providers but they will not inspect

licensed providers for 2 1/2 to three years....How does that encourage those daycares to
be compliant when no inspection is expected for two to three years! Plus these licensed/
group homes, daycare centers have a much higher turnover rate of employees then does the

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
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se.. cmployed registered provider who runs her daycare alone! You would be opening u, d
new can of worms by the licensed daycares would have a larger death rate....

In the state of Kansas licensed and group falls in the same category so 12 died out of the
4000 licensed / group homes which makes a ratio of 1 out of every 333 kids died....compared
to registered daycares of 1 out of every 312.3 died...which is 8 out of 25680 homes. You are
either licensed or registered in the state....If you are a group home it means you are
licensed with two adults present at all times or your ratio of kids is at the licensed
standard if only one adult is there. That is why the statement of 7 kids died in licensed
homes is misleading. In licensed homes it would be the licensed plus the group deaths added
together makes 12 deaths in that category!

The state of Kansas has wanted to reduce costs by decreasing inspections! This is so wrong of the state. Here are my
facts to prove this! Please read this attachment, on page 2 under:

Extend Renewal Period and Streamline Renewal Process for Childcare Facilities

It shows they were planning on cutting back on inspecting all license child care facilities since Oct. 2004 to
every 2 or 3 years cycle to gain efficiencies and to better use the Department's limited resources.
http://datacounts.net/chac/Documents/Jan%2012,%2009/KDHE%20Policy%20Init. pdf

Registered providers are only going to get an annual inspection, they will get one (unless there are problems)
then they will go in the same cycle as all the rest of the licensed daycares!

Any child care facility: licensed child care homes, group day care homes, child care centers, preschool
programs, school-age programs and drop-in programs in compliance on or before Jan. 1, 2011 will do their
own annual 'self-evaluation' and will go without an inspection for 3 years! Yes, this is also includes ALL
LARGE CENTERS too!

Why, is the State of Kansas putting more children at risk, in the name of "inspect the rest"? The public has
been misinformed by Lexie's Law!

How can we afford not to protect our children in Kansas? All children have a right to a safe child care
facility while their parents are at work, not every 2 or 3 years.

If this bill is passed, it will put more children across Kansas at risk with no oversight for at least 3
years. Even though the bill says 2-3 years, Senator Kelly told me it would be 3 years until the KDHE (Kansas
Dept. of Health & Environment) goes into compliant facilities for an actual physical inspection (this covers all
the child care programs not just family child care).

Even though the bill reads that the 3 year inspection cycle will expire on July 1, 2013, (with the vague
language of the bill--below) KDHE, can extend the time period for this 3 year cycle or (if the economy doesn't
get better or they are short on staffing), it could be INCREASED.

KDHE can change the "supervision language" through regulation, without any public

input or knowlege, and without going back to the legislature.

(page 6 & 7) Section 7/Subsection 2 reads: On or before July 1, 2013, the secretary of health and
environment shall develop and implement a risk-based system for use in determining the freqency of
inspections by adopting rules and regulations the secretary deems necessary to carry out this subsection.
Risk criteria shall include the ages of children authorzied under care, hours of operation, complaint history,
compliance history, and other factors the secretary deems necessary to assess risk in all child care facilities."

I do not like the way they have made it sound that this bill was created because of
Lexie..... KDHE has wanted to reduce costs and have less inspections since 2004. I feel
this whole bill has mislead many on the wording and timing of it. The bill needs to be
reworked and if it does not happen this session so be it....Better to get the bill right

2
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the. <o push it thru and hurt so many! I am glad to hear that KDHE did admit this was
thought of in 2004 to help save costs...

My main concern is the language of this bill....The line of sight is a tough one...Whether we
are changing a diaper and have our eyes off the kids, a child is in the play house or in the
centers....no more reading tent fun because we could not see them, no more divided centers

cause how we watch all the kids, no more time where kids can explore different area because
we could not see them in the garden area if others are in the play house....Yet I am in the
yard! Please evaluate the language carefully on this....

By forcing the change here for registered daycares and letting all the licensed homes go with
no inspections for up to 3 years that includes your La Petite's with the high turnover of
employees! Dangerous situations! Please think of the whole picture....

Let's get the wording right on this bill....do not just pass it thru...Get it right inspect
this bill thoroughly....Make sure of the wording, Do not just slide it thru....Many will be
very upset....In 2004 this was being brought up by the KDHE to do the self evaluations on
licensed daycare to save money for the State! Inspections would only be scheduled every 2 1/2
to 3 years! We inspect nail salons, beauty shops, restaurants annually....our children should
be just as valuable! We should not do less with them!

The inspect the rest is important! Inspect ALL! Do not make any delays! Our children will ALL
be at risk! Non compliance is what is being said cause the children's death in daycare homes

so why would you make licensed hopes not be inspected? This will cause many homes and centers
to not be concerned about being inspected!

My final thought is let's get the wording right and work on this bill later getting passed
thru....Work with the daycare providers along with the parents for Lexis's law. Together we
can create an awesome bill that will be able to work for all of us! Thank you so much for

listening to me. I appreciate it and I hope I have your support to vote NO today when going
into your session this afternoon! Thank you!

Brenda Johnson
545 East 126th Terrace
Olathe, Kansas 66061

http://daycareresource.com/BrendasDaycare.htm!
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Kathie Sparks

From: Ken Ogle [kenogle2@sbcglobal.net]
Sent: Monday, April 26, 2010 1:23 PM
To: Kathie Sparks

Cc: Brenda Landwehr

Subject: Day Care Bill

Dear House Representative Landwehr,

As Committee Chair for the House Health & Human Services Committee that is considering SB447

(and/or HB2356) | am asking that you share this email with every Committee Member in at Tuesday's
4/27/2010 9:00 am

VOTE NO on (HB2356 and/or SB447) Lexie's Law

Any child care facility: licensed child care homes, group day care homes, child care centers,
preschool programs, school-age programs and drop-in programs in compliance on or before Jan.
1, 2011 will do their own annual 'self-evaluation' and will go without an inspection for 3 years! Yes,
this is also includes ALL LARGE CENTERS too!

If this bill is passed, it will put more children across Kansas at risk with no oversight for at
least 3 years. Even though the bill says 2-3 years, Senator Kelly told me it would be 3 years until
the KDHE (Kansas Dept. of Health & Environment) goes into compliant facilities for an actual physical
inspection (this covers all the child care programs not just family child care).

Even though the bill reads that the 3 year inspection cycle will expire on July 1, 2013, (with the
vague language of the bill--below) KDHE, can extend the time period for this 3 year cycle or (if the
economy doesn't get better or they are short on staffing), it could be INCREASED.

KDHE can change the "supervision language" through regulation, without any public
input or knowlege, and without going back to the legislature.

(page 6 & 7) Section 7/Subsection 2 reads: On or before July 1, 2013, the secretary of health and
environment shall develop and implement a risk-based system for use in determining the freqency of
inspections by adopling rules and regulations the secretary deems necessary to carry out this
subsection. Risk criteria shall include the ages of children authorzied under care, hours of operation,

complaint history, compliance history, and other factors the secretary deems necessary to assess risk
in all child care facilities."

Attachment: Kansas Child Death and Serious Injury Data in Registered and Licensed Day Care
Homes. (This is just to inform you)

Kansas Action for Children's big push has been all about the large number children's death in
Registered Homes (read attachment). What | found surprising (because of the KAC campaign,”
INSPECT THE REST") was that after reading this report, the major cause of deaths were from SIDS.
Yet, this bill does NOT require registered providers (even though we have pushed hard for education)
to have any training. No CPR, No Back to Sleep - for SIDS prevention training. This bill has
nothing to do with improving child care. This bill addresses budget cutting measures that
have more importance to legislators.

HEALTII AND HUMAN SERVICES
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Thi. . a flawed piece of legislation that does nothing to improve child care but solves budget
problems for legislators who are under pressure to address fiscal problems. Kansas children
deserve better than this!!!

VOTE NO on HB2356 and/or SB447 (Lexie's Law)

Ken Ogle
12402 West 100" Place
Lenexa, Kansas
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Kathie Sparks

From: April Hunt [hunt.april@gmail.com]
Sent: Tuesday, April 27, 2010 7:44 AM
To: Kathie Sparks; Brenda Landwehr; Clay Aurand; Barbara Ballard; Melany Barnes; Lisa Benlon;

Bob Bethell; Barbara Bollier; Elaine Bowers; Bob Brookens; Anthony Brown; Tony Brown;
Steve Brunk; Mike Burgess; Tom Burroughs; Sydney Carlin; Richard Carlson; Pat Colloton;
Barbara Craft; Marti Crow; David Crum; Paul Davis; Pete DeGraaf; Nile Dilimore; Owen
Donohoe; John Faber; Bill Feuerborn; Gail Finney; Geraldine Flaharty, Stan Frownfelter;
Rocky Fund; Dolores Furtado; Delia Garcia; Doug Gatewood; Sean Gatewood; Pat George;
Mario Goico; Lana Gordon; Raj Goyle; John Grange; Bob Grant, Tom Hawk; Gary Hayzlett;
Broderick Henderson; Jerry Henry; Phil Hermanson; Don Hill; Don Hineman; Carl Holmes:
Mitch Holmes; Deena Horst, Steve Huebert; Aaron Jack; Dan Johnson;

kahsa.kelley@house.ks.gov; Dan Kerschen; Mike Kiegerl; Jeff King; Lance Kinzer
Subject: "Vote No no for SB447 or HB2356"

Dear Chairperson Landwehr and other House Committee Members,
Please "Vote No no for SB447 or HB2356".

As a parent looking at this matter, it makes no sense for the State to mandate changes expecting

providers to improve care if in the same bill they put into place a system of inspections that allows
such little oversight of providers.

The majority of the deaths in day cares happened during nap time and many are attributed to SIDS (which can
happen at home too). Under the risk-based system, who is going to be regularly checking providers during nap
times to ensure that they are following safe sleep practices?

How will you know if basic regulations that actually keep kids safe are being followed when you may
not inspect a provider for 3-years? Does she keep the children in the approved areas of her
home? Are cleaning supplies, scissors, medicines store away correctly? Are there guns stored under
a bed or in a nightstand (even if it is not a day care area)? Does everyone that may live in her house
have the necessary background screening?

I may be able to watch how she interacts with the children, but I am not looking through her kitchen
drawers and cabinets. When you exclude the compliant providers - you are saying the children in
their care are not as important as other children. You are saying that MY CHILD is not as important
as the rest because I made the decision to put them in the best care I could find. Every child is as
important as the other, a system of inspections needs to be as fair as it now for all children whose
parent's place them in licensed care.

Every care situation is risky. Everyday, children in good care situations are exposed to danger. As a
parent I can watch over quality and safety to some degree - but the State needs to watch closely over
the providers they license and that is not checking in on them every 3 years.

Please "Vote No no for SB447 or HB2356".

April Hunt
13228 W, 107th Ct.
Lenexa, KS 66210
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Kathie Sparks

From: Bill Anderson [bill@andersonpeck.com]
Sent: Monday, April 26, 2010 2:56 PM

To: Kathie.Sparks@kird.ks.gov

Cc: Brenda Landwehr

Subject: FW:

Here is a copy of my testimony for tomorrow’s hearing.
Thanks
Bill

From: Bill Anderson

Sent: Monday, April 26, 2010 12:49 PM
To: Kathie.Sparks@kird.ks.gov

Cc: Rose Grimes; Ann Uhl; Bill Anderson
Subject:

My name is Bill Anderson and | am President of Anderson Peck Insurance Agency, Inc., an Independent Insurance
Agency located in Topeka. | am a Certified Insurance Counselor, an Accredited Advisor of Insurance, and | have worked
closely with Kansas Child Care Providers for over 25 years. | am also an annual presenter of a Continuing Education
Class entitled "Who's The Risk Manager Here?” at the Child Care Providers Coalition of Kansas state convention, and
many local association meetings.

Although | believe the intent of SB447 (Lexie’s Law) is honorable, | would like to address the following concerns:

1. As one who advocates accountability and oversight (Risk Management), | am deeply disturbed by the proposed
reduction in services provided by the State. It would appear, if the State is concerned about an “abnormally high”
death rate, that “more effective” oversight and “focused” continuing education would be a more affective deterrent
than reducing annual inspections to once every three years. | believe in the professionalism of the Kansas Child
Care community, but any industry involved with the care of our children, warrants our continual regulation and
support.

2. As one involved with the insurance industry, | am also concerned about unrealistic requirements, such as,
Eﬁﬁgggg ?\xithin their line of sight” at all times. Such requirements will be impossible to administer, and may
fhus Jper(;)tvider, and the industry, o increased litigation. Increased litigation may lead to higher insurance premiums,
ggs§@bly, fewer insurance markets willing to insure this exposure. Kansas currently enjoys a very reputable
gzwsétr;(;ninsurance companies for its’ regulatory climate. Unfortunately, | fear that many of the features of this bill
will undermine this preferred standing, and create unintended consequences in the insurance market.

Thank you for your time and for allowing me to share my thoughts.
Sincerely,

Bill Anderson, CIC, AAl
President
ANDERSON PECK AGENCY, INC.
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