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Date
MINUTES OF THE SENATE FEDERAL AND STATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Pete Brungardt at 10:30 a.m. on March 3, 2010, in Room
144-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Senator Steve Morris- excused

Committee staff present:
Jason Long, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Julian Efird, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Dennis Hodgins, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Connie Burns, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the Committee:
Thomas Witt

Others attending:
See attached list.
Introduction of bills:

Thomas Witt requested a bill introduction concerning the campaign finance act; pertaining to coverage for
certain retention elections.

Senator Abrams moved that this request should be introduced as a committee bill. Senator Francisco
seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Final Action:

SB 454 - License to sell alcoholic beverages: fees, term and eligibility

Staff provided an overview of the balloon. (Attachment 1) The license fee amounts in the balloon are simply
twice the current annual fee to account for the change to two-year licenses. Primary amendments are on pages
10 and 14. This balloon includes provisions governing the 2-year payment plan, automatic revocation for
failure to pay the 2 half of fee, 30-day discretionary extension for time to pay 2™ half of fee, and expansion
of methods of payment. On pages 11 and 14 you will see a balloon that mandates the refund of one-half of
the license fee if the licensee has paid the full fee up front and ceases operations voluntarily for the entire 2™
year of the license term. Under current law a liquor license is issued for a specified premise. If that premise
is leased and the lease expires or the tenant licensee is otherwise unable to operate the business at the specified
premise then the licensee must notify ABC to transfer the license to another premise. If the licensee does not
transfer the license they cannot operate under the license at a different premise. For these reasons there are
no amendments to the provision on page 6, lines 18-20.

The committee requested an introductory paragraph prior to the sub sections on page 10 and 14, and staff
clarified the wording between revocation and cancellation.

Senator Reitz moved to change revocation to cancellation on pagel0 in large balloon. Senator Abrams

seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Senator Reitz moved the 30-day discretionary extension decision is up to the Director of ABC. Senator Faust-
Goudeau seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Senator Reitz moved to the city a bi-annual local fees set as same as bi-annual licenses. Senator Owens
seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1




CONTINUATION SHEET

Minutes of the Senate Federal and State Affairs Committee at 10:30 a.m. on March 3, 2010, in Room 144-
S of the Capitol.

HB 2445 - Land uses adjacent to military installations

Testimony and responses were received on the bill:

Representative Tom Sloan provided written testimony in support of the bill as written. (Attachment 2)
Representative Don Myers provided a written response in support of the bill as written. (Attachment 3)
Representative Tom Hawk provided a written response in support of the bill as written. (Attachment 4)
Clancy Holeman, Riley County Counselor, provided a written response in support of the bill as written.
(Attachment 5)

Sandy Jacquot, Director of Law/General Counsel, League of Kansas Municipalities, provided a written
response in support of the bill as written. (Attachment 6)

Melissa Wangemann, General Counsel, Kansas Association of Counties, provided a written response in
- support of the bill as written. (Attachment 7)

Stephen C. Scanlon, DoD Regional Environmental Coordinator, Region VII, provided a written response in
support of the bill as written. (Attachment 8)

Senator Reitz moved to pass HB2445 out favorably. Senator Francisco seconded the motion. The motion
carried.

The next meeting is scheduled for March 4, 2010. The meeting was adjourned at 11:20 a.m.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 2
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Session of 2010
SENATE BILL No. 454
By Committee on Federal and State Affairs

1-26

AN ACT concerning alcoholic beverages; relating to license fees, term
of license and eligibility; amending K.S.A. 41-326, 41-2607 and 41-
2629 and K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-308a, 41-310, 41-311, 41-317, 41-350,
41-2606, 41-2622 and 41-2623 and repealing the existing sections.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-308a is hereby amended to read as
follows: 41-308a. (a) A farm winery license shall allow:

(1) The manufacture of domestic table wine and domestic fortified
wine in a quantity not exceeding 100,000 gallons per year and the storage
thereof;

(2) the sale of wine, manufactured by the licensee, to licensed wine
distributors, retailers, clubs, drinking establishments, holders of tempo-
rary permits as authorized by K.S.A. 41-2645, and amendments thereto,
and caterers;

(3) the sale, on the licensed premises in the original unopened con-
tainer to consumers for consumption off the licensed premises, of wine
manufactured by the licensee;

(4) the serving free of charge on the licensed premises and at special
events, monitored and regulated by the division of alcoholic beverage
control, of samples of wine manufactured by the licensee or imported
under subsection (f), if the premises are located in a county where the
sale of alcoholic liquor is permitted by law in licensed drinking
establishments;

(5) if the licensee is also licensed as a club or drinking establishment,
the sale of domestic wine, domestic fortified wine and other alcoholic
liquor for consumption on the licensed premises as authorized by the
club and drinking establishment act;

(6) if the licensee is also licensed as a caterer, the sale of domestic
wine, domestic fortified wine and other alcoholic liquor for consumption
on the unlicensed premises as authorized by the club and drinking estab-
lishment act;

(7) the sale and shipping, in the original unopened container, to con-
sumers outside this state of wine manufactured by the licensee. provided
that the licensee complies with applicable laws and rules and regulations

Senate Federal and State Affairs
Proposed amendments to SB 454

Prepared by: J. Long

Sn Fed & State
Attachment |
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of the jurisdiction to which the wine is shipped; and

(8) the sale and shipping of wine within this state pursuant to a permit
issued pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 44348 41-350, and amendments
thereto.

(b) Upon application and payment of the fee prescribed by K.S.A.
41-310, and amendments thereto, by a farm winery licensee, the director
may issue not to exceed three winery outlet licenses to the farm winery
licensee. A winery outlet license shall allow:

(1) The sale, on the licensed premises in the original unopened con-
tainer to consumers for consumption off the licensed premises, of wine
manufactured by the licensee;

(2) the serving on the licensed premises of samples of wine manu-
factured by the licensee or imported under subsection (f), if the premises
are located in a county where the sale of alcoholic liquor is permitted by
law in licensed drinking establishments; and

(3) the manufacture of domestic table wine and domestic fortified
wine and the storage thereof; provided, that the aggregate quantity of
wine produced by the farm winery licensee, including all winery outlets,
shall not exceed 100,000 gallons per year.

(¢) Not less than 60% of the products utilized in the manufacture of
domestic table wine and domestic fortified wine by a farm winery shall
be grown in Kansas except when a lesser proportion is authorized by the
director based upon the director’s findings and judgment. The label of
domestic wine and domestic fortified wine shall indicate that a majority
of the products utilized in the manufacture of the wine at such winery
were grown in Kansas.

(d) A farm winery or winery outlet may sell domestic wine and do-
mestic fortified wine in the original unopened container to consumers for
consumption off the licensed premises at any time between 6 a.m. and
12 midnight on any day except Sunday and between 12 noon and 6 p.m.
on Sunday. If authorized by subsection (a), a farm winery may serve sam-
ples of domestic wine, domestic fortified wine and wine imported under
subsection (e) and serve and sell domestic wine, domestic fortified wine
and other alcoholic liquor for consumption on the licensed premises at
any time when a club or drinking establishment is authorized to serve
and sell alcoholic liquor. If authorized by subsection (b), a winery outlet
may serve samples of domestic wine, domestic fortified wine and wine
imported under subsection (e) at any time when the winery outlet is
authorized to sell domestic wine and domestic fortified wine.

(e) The director may issue to the Kansas state fair or any bona fide
group of grape growers or wine makers a permit to import into this state
small quantities of wines. Such wine shall be used only for bona fide
educational and scientific tasting programs and shall not be resold. Such

-2
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SB 454 3

wine shall not be subject to the tax imposed by K.S.A. 41-501, and amend-
ments thereto. The permit shall identify specifically the brand and type
of wine to be imported, the quantity to be imported, the tasting programs
for which the wine is to be used and the times and locations of such
programs. The secretary shall adopt rules and regulations governing the
importation of wine pursuant to this subsection and the conduct of tasting
programs for which such wine is imported.

(f) A farm winery license or winery outlet license shall apply only to
the premises described in the application and in the license issued and
only one location shall be described in the license.

(g) No farm winery or winery outlet shall:

(1) Employ any person under the age of 18 years in connection with
the manufacture, sale or serving of any alcoholic liquor;

(2) permit any employee of the licensee who is under the age of 21
years to work on the licensed premises at any time when not under the
on-premise supervision of either the licensee or an employee of the li-
censee who is 21 years of age or over;

(3) employ any person under 21 years of age in connection with mix-
ing or dispensing alcoholic liquor; or

(4) employ any person in connection with the manufacture or sale of
alcoholic liquor if the person has been convicted of a felony.

(h) Whenever a farm winery or winery outlet licensee is convicted of
a violation of the Kansas liquor control act, the director may revoke the
licensee’s license and order forfeiture of all fees paid for the license, after
a hearing before the director for that purpose in accordance with the
provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act.

(i) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the Kansas liquor
control act.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-310 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-310. (a) At the time application is made to the director for a
license of any class, the applicant shall pay the fee provided by this section.

(b) The annual fee for a manufacturer’s license to manufacture al-
cohol and spirits shall be %5%@609@ $5»OOO

(¢c) The annual fee for a manufacturer’s license to manufacture beer
and cereal malt beverage shall be:

(1) For 1 to 100 barrel daily capacity or any part the_reof, %%@59@————

(2) For 100 to 150 barrel daily capacity, $466 . $800
(3) For 150 to 200 barrel daily capacity, $766 B2; _]

(4) For 200 to 300 barrel daily capacity, $1:666 B3,669 $2,000
(5) For 300 to 400 barrel daily capacity, $+366[$4:004. $2,600

(8) For 400 to 500 barrel daily capacity, $3:-466 |85 $2,800
(7)  For 500 or more barrel daily capacity, $35660 p6; $3,200

s used in this subsection, “daily capacity” means the average daily
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barrel production for the previous 12 months of manufacturing operation.
If no basis for comparison exists, the licensee shall pay in advance for

operation during the first years-eperation term of the license a fee of

$+600

(d) The annusl fee for a manufacturer’s license to manufacture wine

shall be $500[81-508.
(e) (1) The annual fee for a microbrewery license or a farm winery

license shall be $256
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(2) The annusl fee for a winery outlet license shall be $56 E-Ség
(3) The annual fee for a microbrewery packaging and warehousing

facility license shall be $300

(f) The annual fee for a spirits distributor’s license for the first and
each additional distributing place of business operated in this state by the
licensee and wholesaling and jobbing spirits shall be $3;600 @-QQQ

(g) The annual fee for a wine distributor’s license for the first and
each additional distributing place of business operated in this state by the
licensee and wholesaling and jobbing wine shall be M@M

(h) The annual fee for a beer distributor’s license, for the first and
each additional wholesale distributing place of business operated in this
state by the licensee and wholesaling or jobbing beer and cereal malt

beverage shall be $3;000 ES—QQQ
(i) The anmuat fee for a nonbeverage user’s license shall be:

200

$100
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, (B, (g), (h) and (i):

(1) Any city in which the licensed premises are located may levy and
collect an annual occupation or license tax on the licensee in an amount
not exceeding the amount of the annual license fee required to be paid
under this act to obtain the license, but no city shall impose an occupation
or privilege tax on the licensee in excess of that amount; and

(2) any township in which the licensed premises are located may levy
and collect an annual occupation or license tax on the licensee in an
amount not exceeding the amount of the annual license fee required to
be paid under this act to obtain the license, but no township shall impose
an occupation or privilege tax on the licensee in excess of that amount:
the township board of the township is authorized to fix and impose the
tax and the tax shall be paid by the licensee to the township treasurer,
who shall issue a receipt therefor to the licensee and shall cause the tax
paid to be placed in the general fund of the township.

(1) Forclass 1, $10

(2) For class 2, $56 .

(3) For class 3, $160[§303

(4) For class 4, $200]

(5) For class 5, $506 BL; $1,000
(j) In addition to the license fees prescribed by subsections (b), (c),

$400
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(k) The amruaal fee for a retailer’s license shall be %OM

() In addition to the license fee prescribed by subsection (k):

(1) Any city in which the licensed premises are located shall levy and
collect an annual occupation or license tax on the licensee in an amount
not less than $100 nor more than $300, but no other occupation or excise
tax or license fee shall be levied by any city against or collected from the
licensee; and

(2) any township in which the licensed premises are located shall levy
and collect an annual occupation or license tax on the licensee in an
amount not less than $100 nor more than $300; the township board of
the township is authorized to fix and impose the tax and the tax shall be
paid by the licensee to the township treasurer, who shall issue a receipt
therefor to the licensee and shall cause the tax paid to be placed in the
general fund of the township.

(m) The license year term for a license shall commence on the date
the license is issued by the director and shall end ene-year two years after
that date. The director may, at the director’s sole discretion and after
examination of the circumstances, extend the license term of any license
for not more than 30 days beyond the date such license would expire
pursuant to this section.

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-311 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-311. (a) No license of any kind shall be issued pursuant to the
liquor control act to a person:

(1) Who has not been a citizen of the United States for at least 10
vears, except that the spouse of a deceased retail licensee may receive
and renew a retail license notwithstanding the provisions of this subsec-
tion (a)(1) if such spouse is otherwise qualified to hold a retail license and
is a United States citizen or becomes a United States citizen within one
year after the deceased licensee’s death;

(2) who has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state,
any other state or the United States; -

(3) who has had a license revoked for cause under the provisions of
the liquor control act, the beer and cereal malt beverage keg registration
act or who has had any license issued under the cereal malt beverage laws
of any state revoked for cause except that a license may be issued to a
person whose license was revoked for the conviction of a misdemeanor
at any time after the lapse of 10 years following the date of the revocation;

(4)  who has been convicted of being the keeper or is keeping a house
of prostitution or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges
of being a keeper of a house of prostitution;

(5) who has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gambling house,
pandering or any other crime opposed to decency and morality or has
forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges for any of those

$500
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SB 454

crimes;

(6) who is not at least 21 years of age;

(7) who, other than as a member of the governing body of a city or
county, appoints or supervises any law enforcement officer, who is a law
enforcement official or who is an employee of the director;

(8) who intends to carry on the business authorized by the license as
agent of another;

(9) who at the time of application for renewal of any license issued
under this act would not be eligible for the license upon a first application,
except as provided by subsection (a)(12);

(10) who is the holder of a valid and existing license issued under
article 27 of chapter 41 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated unless the per-
son agrees to and does surrender the license to the officer issuing the
same upon the issuance to the person of a license under this act, except
that a retailer licensed pursuant to K.S.A. 41-2702, and amendments
thereto, shall be eligible to receive a retailer’s license under the Kansas
liquor control act;

(11) who does not own the premises for which a license is sought, or
does not, at the time of application, have a written lease thereon fer-at

(12) whose spouse would be ineligible to receive a license under this
act for any reason other than citizenship, residence requirements or age,
except that this subsection (a)(12) shall not apply in determining eligibility
for a renewal license;

(13) whose spouse has been convicted of a felony or other crime
which would disqualify a person from licensure under this section and
such felony or other crime was committed during the time that the spouse
held a license under this act; or

(14) who does not provide any data or information required by K.S.A.
2009 Supp. 41-311b, and amendments thereto.

(b) No retailer’s license shall be issued to:

(1) A person who is not a resident of this state;

(2) aperson who has not been a resident of this state for at least four
years immediately preceding the date of application;

(3) a person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer, distrib-
utor, farm winery or microbrewery licensed under this act;

(4) a person who has a beneficial interest in any other retail estab-
lishment licensed under this act, except that the spouse of a licensee may
own and hold a retailer’s license for another retail establishment;

(5) acopartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to obtain
a license;

(6) a corporation; or

(7)  a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible

kN
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to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the provi-
sions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a ben-
eficiary would be eligible for a license.

(¢) No manufacturer’s license shall be issued to:

(1) A corporation, if any officer or director thereof, or any stockholder
owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock of the corporation
would be ineligible to receive a manufacturer’s license for any reason
other than citizenship and residence requirements;

(2) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners shall have been res-
idents of this state for at least five years immediately preceding the date
of application and unless all the members of the copartnership would be
eligible to receive a manufacturer’s license under this act;

(3) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible
to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the provi-
sions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a ben-
eficiary would be eligible for a license;

(4) an individual who is not a resident of this state;

(5) an individual who has not been a resident of this state for at least
five years immediately preceding the date of application; or

(6) a person who has a beneficial interest in a distributor, retailer,
farm winery or microbrewery licensed under this act.

(d) No distributor’s license shall be issued to:

(1) A corporation, if any officer, director or stockholder of the cor-
poration would be ineligible to receive a distributor’s license for any rea-
son. It shall be unlawful for any stockholder of a corporation licensed as
a distributor to transfer any stock in the corporation to any person who
would be ineligible to receive a distributor’s license for any reason, and
any such transfer shall be null and void, except that: (A) If any stockholder
owning stock in the corporation dies and an heir or devisee to whom stock
of the corporation descends by descent and distribution or by will is in-
eligible to receive a distributor’s license, the legal representatives of the
deceased stockholder’s estate and the ineligible heir or devisee shall have
14 months from the date of the death of the stockholder within which to
sell the stock to a person eligible to receive a distributor’s license, any
such sale by a legal representative to be made in accordance with the
provisions of the probate code; or (B) if the stock in any such corporation
is the subject of any trust and any trustee or beneficiary of the trust who
is 21 years of age or older is ineligible to receive a distributor’s license,
the trustee, within 14 months after the effective date of the trust, shall
sell the stock to a person eligible to receive a distributor’s license and
hold and disburse the proceeds in accordance with the terms of the trust.
If any legal representatives, heirs, devisees or trustees fail, refuse or ne-
glect to sell any stock as required by this subsection, the stock shall revert

Y
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to and become the property of the corporation, and the corporation shall
pay to the legal representatives, heirs, devisees or trustees the book value
of the stock. During the period of 14 months prescribed by this subsec-
tion, the corporation shall not be denied a distributor’s license or have its
distributor’s license revoked if the corporation meets all of the other
requirements necessary to have a distributor’s license;

(2) acopartnership, unless all of the copartners are eligible to receive
a distributor’s license;

(3) atrust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible
to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the provi-
sions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a ben-
eficiary would be eligible for a license; or

(4) aperson who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer, retailer,
farm winery or microbrewery licensed under this act.

(e) No nonbeverage user’s license shall be issued to a corporation, if
any officer, manager or director of the corporation or any stockholder
owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock of the corporation
would be ineligible to receive a nonbeverage user’s license for any reason
other than citizenship and residence requirements.

(f) No microbrewery license or farm winery license shall be issued to
a:

(1) Person who is not a resident of this state;

(2) person who has not been a resident of this state for at least four
years immediately preceding the date of application;

(3) person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer or distrib-
utor licensed under this act or a person who currently has a beneficial
interest in a farm winery;

(4) person, copartnership or association which has a beneficial inter-
est in any retailer licensed under this act or under K.S.A. 41-2702, and
amendments thereto;

(5) copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to obtain
a license;

(6) corporation, unless stockholders owning in the aggregate 50% or
more of the stock of the corporation would be eligible to receive such
license and all other stockholders would be eligible to receive such license
except for reason of citizenship or residency; or

(7) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible
to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the provi-
sions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a ben-
eficiary would be eligible for a license.

(g) The provisions of subsections (b)(1), (b)(2), (c)(3), (c)(4), (d)3),
(H(1), (H(2) and K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-311b, and amendments thereto,
shall not apply in determining eligibility for the 10th, or a subsequent,
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consecutive renewal of a license if the applicant has appointed a citizen
of the United States who is a resident of Kansas as the applicant’s agent
and filed with the director a duly authenticated copy of a duly executed
power of attorney, authorizing the agent to accept service of process from
the director and the courts of this state and to exercise full authority,
control and responsibility for the conduct of all business and transactions
within the state relative to alcoholic liquor and the business licensed. The
agent must be satisfactory to and approved by the director, except that
the director shall not approve as an agent any person who:

(1) Has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state, any
other state or the United States;

(2) has had a license issued under the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt
beverage laws of this or any other state revoked for cause, except that a
person may be appointed as an agent if the person’s license was revoked
for the conviction of a misdemeanor and 10 years have lapsed since the
date of the revocation;

(3) has been convicted of being the keeper or is keeping a house of
prostitution or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges of
being a keeper of a house of prostitution;

(4) has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gambling house,
pandering or any other crime opposed to decency and morality or has
forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges for any of those
crimes; or

(5) is less than 21 years of age.

Sec. 4. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-317 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-317. (a) Applications for all licenses under this act shall be upen
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te)| | All fees received by the director pursuant to this section shall be
remitted by the director to the state treasurer in accordance with the
provisions of KS.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of
each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount
in the state treasury to the credit of the state general fund.

(1) Each applicant shall submit to the division of alcoholic
beverage control the full amount of the application fee and:

(A) The full amount of the license fee required to be paid for
the kind of license specified in the application; or

(B) one-half of the full amount of the license fee required to be
paid for the kind of license specified in the application.

(2) If the applicant elects to pay only one-half of the license
fee pursuant to paragraph (1)(B), the remaining one-half of the
license fee plus 10% of such remaining balance shall be due
and payable one year from the date of issuance of the license.
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, failure to pay the
full amount due under this paragraph on the date it is due shall
result in the automatic revocation of such license. The director
may, at the director's sole discretion and after examination of
the circumstances, extend the date payment is due pursuant
to this paragraph for not more than 30 days beyond the date
such payment is originally due.

(3) Any license fee paid by an applicant shall be returned to
the applicant if the application is denied.

(4) Payment of all fees required to be paid pursuant to this
section may be made by personal, certified or cashier's check,
United States post office money order, debit or credit card or
cash, or by electronic payment authorized by the applicant in a

manner prescribed by the director.

(-b}Ef)]' Every applicant for a manufacturer’s, distributor’s, nonbever-
age user's, microbrewery, farm winery, retailer’s or special order shipping
license shall file with the application a joint and several bond on a form
prescribed by the director and executed by good and sufficient corporate
sureties licensed to do business within the state of Kansas to the director,
in the following amounts:

(1) For a manufacturer, $25,000;

(2) for a spirits distributor, $15,000 or an amount equal to the highest
monthly liability of the distributor for taxes imposed by the Kansas liquor
control act for any of the 12 months immediately prior to renewal of the
distributor’s license, whichever amount is greater;

(3) for a beer or wine distributor, $5,000 or an amount equal to the
highest monthly liability of the distributor for taxes imposed by the Kansas
liquor control act for any of the 12 months immediately prior to renewal
of the distributor’s license, whichever amount is greater;
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(4) for a retailer, $2,000;

(5) for nonbeverage users, $200 for class 1, $500 for class 2, $1,000
for class 3, $5,000 for class 4 and $10,000 for class 5;

(6) for a microbrewery or a farm winery, $2.000; and

(7) for a winery holding a special order shipping license, $750, unless
the winery has already complied with subsection {663 ()(6).

If a distributor holds or applies for more than one distributor’s license,
only one bond for all such licenses shall be required, which bond shall be
in an amount equal to the highest applicable bond.

ée@' All bonds required by this section shall be conditioned on the
licensee’s compliance with the provisions of this act and payment of all
taxes, fees. fines and forfeitures which may be assessed against the

licensee.
Sec. 5. K.S.A. 41-326 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-326.

A license shall be purely a personal privilege, valid for not to exceed ere
vear two years after issuance, except as otherwise provided by law, unless
sooner suspended or revoked, and shall not constitute property, nor shall
it be subject to attachment, garnishment or execution, nor shall it be
alienable or transferable, voluntarily or involuntarily, or subject to being
encumbered or hypothecated. A license shall not descend by the laws of
testate or intestate devolution but shall cease and expire upon the death
of the licensee except that executors, administrators or representatives of
the estate of any deceased licensee and the trustee of any insolvent or
bankrupt licensee, when such estate consists in part of alcoholic liquor,
may continue the business of the sale, distribution or manufacture of
alcoholic liquor under order of the appropriate court and may exercise
the privilege of the deceased, insolvent or bankrupt licensee after the
death of such decedent, or after such insolvency or bankruptey, until the
expiration of such license but not longer than one year after the death,
b%kruptcy or insolvency of such licensee.

When the licensee pays the full amount of the license fee upon
application and is prevented from operating under such license in
accordance with the provisions of this section for the entire second

he sec-
retary of revenue may adopt rules and regulations pursuant to K.S.A. 41-
210, and amendments thereto, which provide for the authorization of

A }\,\:1?

year of the license term, a refund shall be made of one-half of the
license fee paid by such licensee.

|one-half of the license fee paid when ]

L ot-nortion—of thelicense-fees-prid—for—any s I
refunds of jthet-pertion-of-the-licensefees—paid-forany-perioa-in-whi
the licensee does not use such licenseyas a result of the cancellation of

the license upon the request of the licensee for voluntary reasons.

Sec. 6. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-350 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-350. (a) For the purposes of this act, the term “winery” means
any maker or producer of wine whether in this state or in any other state,
who holds a valid federal basic wine manufacturing permit. The terms
“director” and “secretary” have the meaning ascribed to these terms in

I__ [for the entire second year of the license term
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K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-102, and amendments thereto.

(b) Any winery may be authorized to make direct shipments of wine
to consumers in this state upon obtaining a special order shipping license
from the secretary pursuant to this act.

(1) A special order shipping license shall only be issued to a winery
upon compliance with all applicable provisions of this act and the regu-
lations promulgated pursuant to this act, and upon payment of a license
fee in the amount of $50 $100. The license term for a special order ship-
ping license shall commence on the date the license is issued by the di-
rector and shall end two years after that date.

(2) A special order shipping license shall entitle the winery to ship
wine upon order directly to consumers for personal or household use in
this state. The purchaser shall pay the purchase price and all shipping
costs directly to the permit holder. Enforcement taxes collected herein
shall be paid solely on the purchase price and not on the shipping costs.

(¢) No holder of a special order shipping license shall be permitted
to ship in excess of 12 standard cases of wine of one brand or a combi-
nation of brands into this state to any one consumer or address per cal-
endar year.

(d) (1) Before accepting an order from a consumer in this state, the
holder of a special order shipping license shall require that the person
placing the order to state affirmatively that he or she is 21 years of age
or older and shall verify the age of such person placing the order either
by the physical examination of an approved government issued form of
identification or by utilizing an internet based age and identification serv-
ice approved by the director of alcoholic beverage control, or the direc-
tor’s designee.

(2) Every shipment of wine by the holder of a special order shipping
license shall be clearly marked °Alcoholic Beverages, Adult Signature Re-
quired’ and the carrier delivering such shipment shall be responsible for
obtaining the signature of an adult who is at least 21 years of age as a
condition of delivery.

(e) A special order shipping license shall not authorize the shipment
of any wine to any premises licensed to sell alcoholic beverages pursuant
to this act or the club and drinking establishment act.

(f) The failure to comply strictly with the requirements of this act and
rules and regulations promulgated pursuant to this act shall be grounds
for the revocation of a special order shipping license or other disciplinary
action by the director. After notice and an opportunity for hearing in
accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure
act, the director may refuse to issue or renew or may revoke a shipping
permit upon a finding that the permit holder has failed to comply with
any provision of this section or K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-501 et seq., and



© W -1 U LM

SB 454
13

amendments thereto, or any rules and regulations adopted pursuant to
such statutes. Upon revocation of a special order shipping license for
shipment of wine to a person not of legal age as required herein such
winery shall not be issued any special order shipping license pursuant to
this act for a period of one year from the date of revocation.

(g) The holder of a special order shipping license shall collect all
gallonage taxes imposed by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-501 et seq., and amend-
ments thereto, shall remit such taxes annually in a manner prescribed by
the secretary and shall accompany such remittance with such reports,
documentation and other information as may be required by the secre-
tary. In addition, an applicant for and a holder of a special order shipping
license, as a condition of receiving and holding a valid license, shall:

(1) Collect and pay the applicable Kansas enforcement tax on each
sale shipped to a consumer in Kansas imposed by K.5.A. 79-4101 et seq.,
and amendments thereto;

(2) accompany each remittance with such sales tax reports, docu-
mentation and other information as may be required by the director of
taxation; and

(3) if the holder of the license is an out-of-state shipper, the licensee
shall be deemed to have appointed the secretary of state as the resident
agent and representative of the licensee to accept service of process from
the secretary of revenue, the director and the courts of this state con-
ceming enforcement of this section, K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-501 et seq.,
and amendments thereto, and any related laws and rules and regulations
and to accept service of any notice or order provided for in the liquor
control act.

(h) The secretary of revenue may adopt rules and regulations to im-
plement, administer and enforce the provisions of this section.

(i) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the Kansas liquor
control act.

Sec. 7. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-2606 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 41-2606. (a) Applications for all licenses under this act shall be

ieate completed and submitted to
a manner prescribed by the director. Each

the director in

appheation-shall-be-accom
panted-by applicant shall submit an application fee of %G%r each

initial application, and ME@ for each renewal application, to defray
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(b) Each api)licaiion for licensure as a club shall be accompanied by
a copy of the current bylaws and rules of the club and a current list of
the officers of the club.

|-

ée-)Ef)J' All applieatien fees collected by the director pursuant to this
section shall be remitted to the state treasurer in accordance with the
provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of
each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount
in the state treasury to the credit of the state general fund.

Sec. 8. K.S.A. 41-2607 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-
2607. (a) The license provided herein shall be issued for a term of ene

(1) Each applicant shall submit to the division of alcoholic
beverage control the full amount of the application fee and:

(A) The full amount of the license fee required to be paid for
the kind of license specified in the application; or

(B) one-half of the full amount of the license fee required to
be paid for the kind of license specified in the application.

(2) If the applicant elects to pay only one-half of the license
fee pursuant to paragraph (1)(B), the remaining one-half of the
license fee plus 10% of such remaining balance shall be due
and payable one year from the date of issuance of the license.
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, failure to pay the
full amount due under this paragraph on the date it is due shall
result in the automatic revocation of such license. The director
may, at the director's sole discretion and after examination of
the circumstances, extend the date payment is due pursuant
to this paragraph for not more than 30 days beyond the date
such payment is originally due.

(3) Any license fee paid by an applicant shall be returned to
the applicant if the application is denied.

(4) Payment of all fees required to be paid pursuant to this
section may be made by personal, certified or cashier's check,
United States post office money order, debit or credit card or
cash, or by electronic payment authorized by the applicant in a

manner prescribed by the director.

— (@)

- 4 5 i JThe secretary
shall adopt, in accordance with KS.A. 41-210, and amendments thereto,
rules and regulations providing for the authorization of refunds ofEhe:[

When the licensee pays the full amount of the license fee upon
application and is prevented from operating under such license
in accordance with the provisions of this section for the entire
second year of the license term, a refund shall be made of one-
half of the license fee paid by such licensee.
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shi ’the licensee does not use such

licenseyas a result of the cancellation of the license upon the request of the IfOl' the entire second year of the license terml
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licensee for voluntary reasons.

(b) The director, may, at the director’s sole discretion and after ex-
amination of the circumstances, extend the license term of any license for
not more than 30 days beyond such date the license would expire pursuant
to this section.

Sec. 9. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-2622 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 41-2622. (a) At the time application is made to the director for a
license pursuant to the club and drinking establishment act, the applicant
shall pay the following anmuat license fee in the manner provided by
K.S.A. 41-2606, and amendments thereto:

(1) For a class A club which is a bona fide nonprofit fraternal or war
veterans’ club, as defined by rules and regulations of the secretary, $256

(2) for a class A club which is a bona fide nonprofit social club, as
defined by rules and regulations of the secretary, and which has not more

than 500 members, $560 81
(3) for a class A club which is a bona fide nonprofit social club, as
defined by rules and regulations_of the secretary, and which has more

than 500 members, $3:800)$3-

(4) for a class B club, $1;600 g3
(5) for a drinking establishment, &999@-1—50@

(6) for a hotel of which the entire premises are licensed as a drinking

establishment, $3;060 M

(7) for a caterer, $500 Eal—ééq

(8) for a drinking establishment/caterer, 81—599@}06@ and
(9) for a drinking establishment/caterer, if the dn’nkinc;- establishment
is a hotel of which the entire premises are licensed as a drinking estab-

lishment, $3:506185;064.

S PN H P | head +h £ 41 x b bichock
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(b) On and after July 1, 2011, at the time an application is submitted
to the director for a drinking establishment license pursuant to the club
and drinking establishment act, the applicant shall pay the following li-
cense fee in the manner provided by K.S.A. 41-2606, and amendments

thereto:

(1) For a drinking establishment,g%égg

(2) for a hotel of which the entire premises are licensed as a drinking

establishment, EQ, 00g

P 4
(3) fora drinking establishment/caterer,@—ﬁ&@@@ and

(4) fora drinking establishment/caterer, if the drinking establishment
is a hotel of which the entire premises are licensed as a drinking estab-

$

$2,000
$6,000

3.000
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lishment, El&@@%

b} (c) In addition to the fee provided by subseetionta} subsections
(a) and (b), any city where the licensed premises of a club or drinking
establishment are located or, if such licensed premises are not located in
a city, the board of county commissioners of the county where the li-
censed premises are located may levy and collect an annual occupation
or license tax from the licensee in an amount equal to not less than $100
nor more than $250.

te} (d) No occupational or excise tax or license fee other than that
authorized by subsection ¢} (¢) shall be levied by any city or county
against or collected from a licensed club or drinking establishment.

() (e) The director shall remit all moneys received under this section
to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215,
and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state
treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury. Of each
such deposit, 50% shall be credited to the state general fund, and the
remaining 50% shall be credited to the other state fees fund of the de-
partment of social and rehabilitation services. In addition to other pur-
poses for which expenditures may be made from the other state fees fund
of the department of social and rehabilitation services, expenditures may
be made by the secretary of social and rehabilitation services for the
purpose of implementing the powers and duties of the secretary under
the provisions of K.S.A. 65-4006 and 65-4007, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 10. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-2623 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 41-2623. (a) No license shall be issued under the provisions of
this act to:

(1) Any person described in subsection (a)(1), (2), (4), (5), (6), (7),
(8), (9), (12) or (13) of K.S.A. 41-311, and amendments thereto, except
that the provisions of subsection (a)(7) of such section shall not apply to
nor prohibit the issuance of a license for a class A club to an officer of a
post home of a congressionally chartered service or fraternal organization,
or a benevolent association or society thereof.

(2) A person who has had the person’s license revoked for cause un-
der the provisions of this act.

(3) A person who has not been a resident of this state for a period of
at least one year immediately preceding the date of application.

(4) A person who has a beneficial interest in the manufacture. prep-
aration or wholesaling or the retail sale of alcoholic liquors or a beneficial
interest in any other club, drinking establishment or caterer licensed here-
under, except that:

(A) A license for premises located in a hotel may be granted to a
person who has a beneficial interest in one or more other clubs or drinki ng
establishments licensed hereunder if such other clubs or estabhshments

$7,000

| -1



~1 O UL W

O w

o
o

[N NI SR LT ST (O R (3}
=1 O Ut W

e SN YV IV RN UV R Wb BE OV IR GV RNV BV R OV}
OJ[\'))--‘O(DC‘IJ~1010‘(>&OJ[OH%QOOO

B 454
SB 45 17

are located in hotels.
(B) A license for a club or drinking establishment which is a restau-

rant may be issued to a person who has a beneficial interest in other clubs
or drinking establishments which are restaurants.

(C) A caterer’s license may be issued to a person who has a beneficial
interest in a club or drinking establishment and a license for a club or
drinking establishment may be issued to a person who has a beneficial
interest in a caterer.

(D) A license for a class A club may be granted to an organization of
which an officer, director or board member is a distributor or retailer
licensed under the liquor control act if such distributor or retailer sells
no alcoholic liquor to such club.

(E)  Any person who has a beneficial interest in a microbrewery or
farm winery licensed pursuant to the Kansas liquor control act may be
issued any or all of the following: (1) Class B club license; (2) drinking
establishment license; and (3) caterer’s license.

(5) A copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to ob-
tain a license.

(6) A corporation, if any officer, manager or director thereof, or any
stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 5% of the common or
preferred stock of such corporation would be ineligible to receive a li-
cense hereunder for any reason other than citizenship and residence
requirements.

(7) A corporation, if any officer, manager or director thereof, or any
stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 5% of the common or
preferred stock of such corporation, has been an officer, manager or di-
rector, or a stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 5% of the
common or preferred stock, of a corporation which:

(A) Has had a license revoked under the provisions of the club and
drinking establishment act; or

(B) has been convicted of a violation of the club and drinking estab-
lishment act or the cereal malt beverage laws of this state.

(8) A corporation organized under the laws of any state other than
this state.

(9) A trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible
to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the provi-
sions of subsection (a)(6) of K.S.A. 41-311, and amendments thereto shall
not apply in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a
license.

(b) No club or drinking establishment license shall be issued under
the provisions of the club and drinking establishment act to:

(1) A person ; in—stbseet S -
amendments-thereto who does not own the premises for which a license

|- 17
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is sought, or does not, at the time the application is submitted, have a
written lease thereon, except that an applicant seeking a license for a
premises which is owned by a city or county, or is a stadium, arena,
convention center, theater, museum, amphitheater or other similar prem-
ises may submit an executed agreement to provide alcoholic beverage serv-
ices at the premises listed in the application in lieu of a lease.

(2) A person who is not a resident of the county in which the premises
sought to be licensed are located.

Sec. 11. K.S.A. 41-2629 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-

2629. (a) A class B club license;drinkingestablishmentlieense or caterer’s
license shall be purely-a-personal-privilege-goodfor issued for a term not

to exceed ene-year two years after issuance, except as otherwise provided
by law, unless sooner suspended or revoked as provided in this act.

(b) Prior to July 1, 2011, a drinking establishment license shall be
issued for a term not to exceed one year after issuance, except as otherwise
provided by law, unless sooner suspended or revoked as provided by this
act. On and after July 1, 2011, a drinking establishment license shall be
issued for a term not to exceed two years after issuance, except as other-
wise provided by law, unless sooner suspended or revoked as provided
by this act.

(c) The director, may, at the director’s sole discretion and after ex-
amination of the circumstances, extend the license term of any license for
not more than 30 days beyond such date the license would expire pursuant
to this section.

(d) A class B license, drinking establishment license or caterer’s li-
cense shall be purely a personal privilege and shall not constitute property,
nor shall it be subject to attachment, garnishment or execution, nor shall
it be alienable or transferable, voluntarily or involuntarily, or subject to
being encumbered or hypothecated. A class B club license, drinking es-
tablishment license or caterer’s license shall not descend by the laws of
testate or intestate devolution but shall cease or expire upon the death of
the licensee subject to the following provision.

(e) An executor, administrator or representative of the estate of any
deceased holder of a class B club, drinking establishment or caterer’s
license or the trustee of any insolvent or bankrupt class B club, drinking
establishment or caterer’s license may continue the licensee’s business
under order of the appropriate court and may exercise the privilege of
the deceased, insolvent or bankrupt licensee after the death of such li-
censee or after such insolvency or bankruptey until the expiration of such
license, but in no case longer than one year after the death, insolvency
or bankruptcey of such licensee.

MWE—M—&MB&M
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he secretary shall’adopt,

in accordance with K.S.A. 41-210, and amendments thereto, rules and

When the licensee pays the full amount of the license fee upon
application and is prevented from operating under such license
in accordance with the provisions of this section for the entire
second year of the license term, a refund shall be made of one-
half of the license fee paid by such licensee.

regulatlons prowding for the authorization of refunds ofEhe—keease—fees

the licensee does not use such license being l__ Ione half of the license fee paid when|
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result of the cancellation of the license upon the request of the licensee for

voluntary reasons.
Sec. 12. K.S.A. 41-326, 41-2607 and 41-2629 and K.S.A. 2009 Supp.

41-308a, 41-310, 41-311, 41-317, 41-350, 41-2606, 41-2622 and 41-2623

are hereby repealed.
Sec. 13. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its

publication in the statute book.

[for the entire second year of the license term|
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STATE OF KANSAS
TOM SLOAN

REPRESENTATIVE, 45TH DISTRICT
DOUGILAS COUNTY

COMMITTEE ASSIGNMEN 15
CHAIRMAN: VISION 2020

{ MEMBER: ENERGY AND UTILITIES
STATE ¥ 31D
CAPITOL, 55-S @]ﬂl' GOVERNMENT EFFICIENCY
300 SW 10TH AVENUE Sl o /,‘_ N AND FISCAL OVERSIGHT
TOPEKA. KANSAS 66612 1{ ‘ mm ,ll””n_ﬁm JOINT COMMITTEE ON ENERGY
e 2667654 L) e -.ulﬂ‘... AND ENVIRONMENT
R e T g R RTIT Rx e =
1-800-432-3924 -
TOPEKA
772 HWY 40
LAWRENCE, KANSAS 66049-4174 HOUSE OF

(785) 841-1526
tom.sloan@house ks.gov

REPRESENTATIVES

February 24, 2010

Senator Pete Brungardt, Chairman
Federal & State Affairs Committee
136-E

State Capitol

Topeka, KS 66612

Dear Senators:

While | did not testify before the Federal & State Affairs Committee today, | am a sponsor of HB 2445.

As Rep. Hawk noted in his testimony, | have been working with Pentagon level Dept. of Defense officers

on this legislative issue for several years. As retired Army Colonel David Snodgrass and the uniformed

officers from each military facility in Kansas and the Kansas National Guard representative noted, this is
. an important piece of legislation.

HB 2445 is important because it codifies best communications and coordinated planning practices
between the military installations and local governments. There will be additional BRAC (base re-
alignment and closure) rounds in the future. The persons constituting the BRAC Committee will look for
reasons to close facilities — HB 2445 demonstrates a long-term commitment between Kansans and our
military to ensure that the Army, Air Force, and National Guard troops can continue to “train as they will
fight.” This sustainable training capability is key to surviving and thriving in the BRAC rounds.

No one plans to “hurt” the military facilities that contribute almost $8 billion annually to the Kansas
economy, but incremental decisions by local governments result in homes and businesses being built in
places that adversely impact military training capabilities. For example, a mall shopping center parking
lot located next to a night-vision training ground could easily result in the closure of the training area
because parking lot lights “leak” over the fence and negate the night vision goggles’ effectiveness.
Similarly, military and civilian decisions about the siting of firing ranges and schools can have adverse
public relations consequences for both parties.

HB 2445 seeks to prevent inadvertent conflict through increased communications and coordination.
Both parties ultimately remain in control of their own decision-making processes and decisions, but the
expectation is that mutual education and conversations will result in decisions that support the
objectives of both civilian and military communities.

Rep. Hawk and | have reviewed Rep. Powell’s suggested amendments and do not support them. While
on their surface they appear innocuous, they represent an unnecessary complication to the military-

Sn Fed & Stage
Attachment
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Not every interaction between the two parties necessitates “coordination.” The two parties may meet
and “determine” an area of interest with one party having no real role in a “coordinated” policy or
action. For example, the parties might identify part of a dirt tank track/road on a military post from
which dust causes problems on a nearby county road. The military may use a water truck to contain the
dust — such an action does not require coordination with the county government. They jointly
determine an issue, but one party addresses it — not a “coordinated” action.

The above example, | believe, demonstrates that the proposed amendments are not necessary. The
military and civilian parties will determine what needs to be “coordinated” through the communications
processes required by best practices and HB 2445. encourage you to pass HB 2445 as passed by the
House. Thank you for your consideration.
///
: \L/ O

Tom Sloan
45" District Representative
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REPRESENTATIVES
March 1, 2010

Chairman Pete Brungardt

Senate Federal and State Committee
State Capitol Building Room 136-E
Topeka, KS. 66612

Dear Senator,

HB 2445 - Land uses adjacent to military installations received a hearing in the Senate
Federal and State Committee on February 24,2010. An amendment was suggested which would
substantially alter the intent of the legislation.

Replacing “interlocal agreement” with “coordination” potentially removes the documentation
that results from an “interlocal agreement.”

The intent of the “as written” bill encourages dialogue between local government and military
installations, resulting in agreements regarding safety near military installations.

I urge the Committee to not change the wording of the bill.

Sincerely,
-
o

Don Myers

e-mail: myers@house.state.ks.us

Hotline: 1-800-432-3924 Sn Fed & State
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February 28, 2010

Senator Pete Brungardt, Chairman
Federal and State Affairs Committee
State Capitol 136-E

Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Chairman Brungardt:

| left you a short handwritten note in your office on Friday to respond to your request on my reaction to
Representative Larry Powell’s suggested amendments. | have read them and will address my four major
concerns:

1. Potential language conflicts with “coordination agreements” and “interlocal agreements”
2. Previous amendments placed on HB2445 by House Military Affairs Committee this year
3. Primary purpose of this bill is formal communication process to protect our BRAC position
4. Advantage of keeping HB2445 clean in the Senate

I do very much appreciate your leadership, that of Vice Chair Reitz and President Morris in getting an
early hearing on this bill. The bill and its concept of formalizing military and community communication to
avoid encroachment problems has been a long and serious working process, especially with my County
Commissioners and the citizen working group in Riley County for the past two years. This bill is a good
win-win compromise between our military installations and our local governments.....good evidence for
that is the strong support from County Counselor Clancy Holeman and our Riley County Commissioners.
They have changed from critics of the original bill (HB2169) to very strong advocates for the compromise
| language currently in HB2445!

Now for my more detailed responses to the amendments by Rep. Powell:

1. In visiting with Riley County Counselor Holeman and Commissioner Kearns, some of the Powell
language on “coordination agreement” raises some statutory concerns that affect cur current
language that is clearer using the term "“interlocal agreement”. It seems unwise to me to create
that kind of conflict when this bill simply brings the parties officially to the table to communicate
and clearly in Section 4 leaves the final authority with local cities and counties. This change is
not necessary.

2. Inthe House, the Military Affairs Committee heard this bill and did incorporate Rep. Powell's
concerns without changing the focus of the bill. He was heard and | am a little surprised that he
would potentially try to add additional language that might kill the bill or compromise its simple
intent. | know he does not support anything that deals with “ACUB” or any kind of conservation
easement. This bill does not prescribe any easements....it simply defines those programs and
planning processes that currently exist.

3. Again, this bill in it's current form represents a long compromise process involving local
government, State Associations, local citizens, DoD, Kansas military installation representatives,

Sn Fed & State
Attatchment
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the Kansas National Guard, the Governor's Military Council, and a final group stakeholder “get
the language straight” meeting in November with Rep. Lee Tafanelli and myself. The bill
changed from a prescriptive focus in HB2169 to the current “communication” focus in HB2445
with local government having final authority. This language was agreed to by all stakeholders in
that November meeting.

4. | believe, not knowing when the next BRAC may be called with the current national economic
situation, it is in our state’s best interest to get this priority legislation passed and signed by the
Governor in this session. |If a sudden BRAC is called, then we have moved ahead of other states
once again in showing the commitment of Kansas to our military installations. Our Kansas
Legislative delegation's NCSL trip in 2008 to Camp Bullis in Texas demonstrated how important
this issue can become if not addressed early. By keeping the bill clean, we avoid a possible
distortion of the simple intent of “communication” and the addition of amendments such as Rep.
Powell's and possible others that could keep this bill from passing.

| thank you and Vice Chair Reitz for your timely attention to this bill and offer any additional help for you
and your committee as you continue deliberations on this matter.

Sincerely,
/a

SRR

Tom Hawk



Manhattan, Kansas 66502

Phone: 785-565-6844

Fax: 785-565-6847

\ COUNSELOR’S OFFICE Website: www.rileycountyks.gov

Email: adillon@rileycountyks.gov

”Ilf y 00””’ y ) 115 N. 4" Street, 1* Floor

February 26, 2010

The Honorable Pete Brungardt, Chairman
Senate Committee on Federal and State Affairs
Capitol Building, Rm. 144-S

Topeka, KS 66612

Re: H.B. 2445

Dear Chairman Brungardt:

I am the lawyer representing the Board of Riley County Commissioners, and I testified before your
committee Wednesday, February 24, 2010, as a proponent of the above bill.

Representative Powell has proposed several balloon amendments to H.B. 2445. My client opposes two of
them. First, Representative Powell’s proposed amendment on page 4, line 9, changing “interlocal
agreements” to “coordination agreements,” would be a mistake. Intetlocal agreements are specifically
authorized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 12-2904, and specific legal formalities are requited to be obsetved in such
agreements, pursuant to that statute’s subparagraphs (d)(1),(2),(3),(4),(5),(6), (e)(1)-(2). Further, as pointed
out during Wednesday’s testimony by lawyers representing the League of Municipalities and the Kansas
Association of Counties, all such intetlocal agreements must be reviewed and either approved or disapproved
by the Kansas Attorney General, before they can become legally effective.

There is no statutory authority for a municipality to enter into the “cordination agreement” which
Representative Powell’s language would create, and so none of the foregoing statutory requitements for all
interlocal agreements would apply to govern the agreement terms required. That prevents the legislature from
requiring a military installation and a municipality to address potentially important contractual issues in their
written agreement. When important contractual issues are not resolved in the text of a document, the
cooperative relationship between the patties can be damaged, or even destroyed. That can leave litigation as
the only means to resolve the dispute. Avoidable litigation between a municipality and its neighboting
military installation in the “BRAC” era is not in the long-term interest of municipalities, ot the State of
Kansas.

The Second proposed change by Representative Powell which my client opposes is his alteration on page 3,
line 25. If that amendment were made, my client would have to conform its comprehensive plan and all its
zoning regulations with the distinct comprehensive plans and zoning regulations of Sedgwick, Clay, Geary
and Leavenworth counties. That absolutely cannot be done, because each county’s land use regulations ate
based upon unique local concerns, as they must be.

On behalf of the Riley County Commissioners, please encourage your committee to reject at least the
foregoing two amendments to H.B. 2445, as proposed by Representative Powell.

Sn Fed & State
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250> -0



Feel free to share this letter with the members of your committee, and please contact me with any questions
you may have.

Sincerely,

Riley’County Counselot

cc: Michael B. KKearns, Chairman, Boatd of Riley County Commissioners
Karen McCulloh, Vice-Chair, Board of Riley County Commissioners
Alvan D. Johnson, Member, Board of Riley County Commissioners

\J?
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TO: Senate Federal and State Affairs Committee
FROM: Sandy Jacquot, Director of Law/ General Counsel
DATE: March 1, 2010

RE: Proposed Amendment of HB 2445

I want to thank the Committee for hearing HB 2445. The Committee received some proposed
amendments from Representative Larry Powell and LKM opposes one amendment in particular. On page 4,
line 9, he proposes to substitute “interlocal” with “coordination” when referring to agreements. First, there
really is no such thing as a coordination agreement, but certainly interlocal agreements are specifically
authorized by K.S.A. 12-2901 et seq., the Interlocal Cooperation Act. Thus, removing the word “interlocal”
and substituting cooperation has an unintended consequence. While local governments could probably still
enter into interlocal agreements, there really is no reason to muddy the water by substituting meaningful
language with meaningless language. Therefore, LKM would request that the committee not amend the bill
with this proposed change. Thank you for your consideration when working this bill.

n Fed & State

Attatchment L
3.0%~10




o

KANSAS

ASSOCIATION OF

COUNTIES

300 SW 8th Avenue
3rd Floor
Topeka, KS 66603-3912
785¢2722585
Fax 7852723585

D

March 2, 2010

Chairman Pete Brungardt

Senate Federal and State Affairs Committee
State Capitol

Topeka, Kansas 66612

Re: HB 2445
Dear Chairman Brungardt and Members of the Committee:

The Kansas Association of Counties testified last week in support of HB
2445. Amendments were proposed to this bill by Representative Larry
Powell. While KAC takes no position on the merits of the amendments, we
do register concerns about the language proposed on page 4. Representative
Powell’s amendment removes the reference to “interlocal” agreements and
inserts “coordination” in its place.

Interlocal agreements are agreements between local jurisdictions and have
specific requirements outlined in statute, including approval by the Attorney
General. The term “coordination agreement” has no meaning to local
jurisdictions. We think the reference to “interlocal” agreement should remain
in the bill.

I appreciate your consideration of our request.

Sincerely,

General Counsel

Sn Fed & State
Attatchment {
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DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY
OFFICE OF THE ASSISTANT SECRETARY OF THE ARMY
INSTALLATIONS AND ENVIRONMENT
CENTRAL REGION ENVIRONMENTAL & GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS
601 EAST 12™ STREET, SUITE 0417
KANSAS CITY, MO 64106-2896

February 26, 2010

Re: House Bill 2445

The Honorable Pete Brungardt

Chairperson, Senate Committee on Federal and State Affairs
Room 136-E

Kansas State Capitol

300 SW 10™ Street

Topeka, KS 66612

Dear Chairman Brungardt,

After reviewing the revisions proposed by Representative Powell to HB 2445 and
discussing the proposed revisions with local government representatives, we recommend the
suggestions on page 3 of his proposed changes at line 25 and page 4 of his proposed changes at
line 9 not be adopted. It is our understanding that coordinating "with all jurisdictions named
herein, and shall," imposes excessive coordination requirements for communities and the term
“interlocal” proposed for replacement is a legal term local authorities would prefer to keep in the
bill language. Because all other suggested revisions by Representative Powell do not

substantially modify the intent and meaning of the bill language, we have no objection to their
adoption.

Sincerely,

NI Aeunti—

Stephen C. Scanlon v
DoD Regional Environmental Coordinator, Region VII

Sn Fed & State
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