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MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Dwayne Umbarger at 8:30 a.m. on February 23, 2010, in
Room 152-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Senator Les Donovan- excused
Senator Mike Petersen- excused

Committee staff present:
Bruce Kinzie, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Daniel Yoza, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Julian Efird, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Jill Shelley, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Cindy Shepard, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the Committee:
Tom Krebs, Governmental Relations Specialist, Kansas Association of School Boards
Linda Kenne, Superintendent, Victoria USD 432
Carmen Alldritt, Director of Division of Vehicles, Kansas Department of Revenue
Llewellyn Crain, Executive Director, Kansas Arts Commission

Others attending:
See attached list.

The Chairman opened the hearing on SB 538 - Extending school bus exemption to 25 years. Bruce Kinzie,
staff revisor, reviewed the bill. He noted that HB 2486 is the exact same bill, which passed in the House of
Representatives, and has been assigned to this Committee.

Tom Krebs, Governmental Relations Specialist, Kansas Association of School Boards, appeared as a
proponent of SB 538, stating that school districts should have more ability to make decisions regarding the
most effective use of resources in meeting the needs of their community (Attachment 1).

Linda Kenne, Superintendent, Victoria USD 432 testified in support of SB 538. She spoke of a school bus
the district had to sell last year because it had turned 20 years old. It was in excellent condition, had 103,000
miles and had rarely seen an unpaved road. It only had one bidder and sold for $550. This year the district
is facing the same prospect. However, they cannot afford to buy another bus. School buses are designed to
go far more than 100,000 miles and must be inspected each year. Some school districts must buy new buses
because they are so heavily used, others do not. She continued that it is hard to understand why they have to
Junk a perfectly fine piece of equipment simply because of age (Attachment 2).

Written testimony in support of SB 538 was submitted by:
Cheryl Semmel, Executive Director, Unified School of Administrators of Kansas (Attachment 3)
Joan Friend, Superintendent, Syracuse USD 494 (Attachment 4)
Ken Arhnold, Superintendent, Ellsworth/Kanopolis/Geneseo USD 327 (Attachment 5)

There being no further conferees, the hearing on SB 538 was closed.

Chairman Umbarger opened the hearing on HB 2437 - Kansas arts license plates, requiring certain fees.
Bruce Kinzie, staff revisor, reviewed the bill.

Jill Shelley, Kansas Legislative Research Department, provided a full listing of all distinctive license plates,
related fees and royalty payments, the major provisions of KSA 8-1, 141, for the special, distinctive, or
organizational license plates as requested at the February 16, 2010 meeting (Attachment 6).

Carmen Alldritt, Director of Division of Vehicles, Kansas Department of Revenue presented testimony in
favor of HB 2437 stating that she questioned the exemption last year. She concluded with the rules for
distinctive or special license plates (Attachment 7).

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1




CONTINUATION SHEET

Minutes of the Senate Transportation Committee at 8:30 a.m. on February 23, 2010, in Room 152-S of the
Capitol.

Written testimony in support of HB 2437 was submitted by:
Virgil Peck, Jr., Representative, State of Kansas (Attachment 8)

Llewellyn Crain, Executive Director, Kansas Arts Commission was called upon for comments related to HB
2437. She stated that in HB 2134, passed during the last legislative session, the Kansas Arts Commission was
granted an exemption from the reservation fee, in which the first $40 of each plate sold would go to the state.
The current bill removes that exemption, meaning that the Commission would have to pay $40 of the $50
expected charge for the plate, having a negative impact of about $20,000 in the first year of the plate’s sales.
The Arts Commission has sustained a 35% cut of state general funds in the past two years. She indicated that
with passage of HB 2437, to her knowledge, the Arts Commission would be the only state agency with a
license plate that will not be exempt from the fee. The Kansas Arts Commission has raised almost $20,00
from private sources to have the plate made.

There being no further conferees, the hearing on HB 2437 was closed. The Chairman indicated he would take
no action on the bill at this time.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:30 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for February 24, 2010.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to
the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 2
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KANSAS
ASSOCIATION

Testimony before the
Senate Transportation Committee
on
SB 538

by
Tom Krebs, Governmental Relations Specialist
Kansas Association of School Boards
February 23, 2010

Mr. Chairman, Members of the Committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to testify. We appear today as proponents of SB 538.

The KASB board of directors in December voted as a priority the following statement as part of
its beliefs regarding local decision making: “School districts should have more ability to make
decisions regarding the most effective use of resources in meeting the needs of their community.”
We believe SB 538 fits that priority perfectly. Districts would always be able to replace busses
earlier if necessary, but SB 538 would stretch the time frame they had to be replaced by 25
percent if that fit the district’s need better.

Thank you for the opportunity to testify, and I’d be happy to stand for questions.

Senate Transportation
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Testimony before the Senate Transportation Committee regarding SB 538
February 23, 2010
Linda Kenne, Superintendent, USD #432 Victoria

Victoria is a rural district in Western Kansas and we do not have regular bus routes.
Our parents bring their children to school and we pay them mileage. We do own
several buses, however, and they are regular yellow school buses and fall under the

current law that only allows schools to use school buses that are less than 20 years
old.

Last year we had our first bus turn 20 and had to replace the bus. It was in excellent
condition, had 103,000 miles and had rarely seen an unpaved road. Nevertheless,
we bought the new bus and tried to sell the 20-year old bus. We sent flyers to every
church in the phone book within a two to three county range. We placed ads in the
papers, put the announcement on the cable TV station and sent an announcement to
every patron in the district. We had one bidder and sold that perfectly fine bus for
$550. The buyer used the motor and engine and junked the rest.

This year we face the same prospect, however, we cannot afford to buy another bus.
This bus is also in excellent condition, only drives on paved roads and has 74,000
miles. We will have to park this bus in March and attempt to sell it. School buses
are designed to go far more than 100,000 miles.

All of our buses must be inspected each year. Our buses are well maintained. All of
our school districts in Kansas are unique. Some schools must buy new buses
because they are so heavily used. Others, like Victoria, do not. Our local school
board tries to be as fiscally responsible as possible. It is hard for these western
farmer men and women to understand why we have to junk a perfectly fine piece of
equipment simply because of age.

This bill will give us some breathing room to buy a new bus and will allow us to use
equipment that is in great working order for a few years more. On behalf of our
school board, I urge you to consider passing SB 538.

Thank you,

Linda Kenne, Superintendent

U.S.D. #4532 Victoria

Linda Kenne
US.D. 432 Superintendent &
Elementary Principal

"P.O. Box 157

Victoria, KS 67671 Senate Transportation

e-mail: lkenne@rur: 223D
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USAKansas

United School Administrators of Kansas
515 S.Kansas Avenue Suite 201
Topeka,Kansas 66603
Phone:785.232.6566
Fax:785.232.9776

Web:www.usa-ks.org

Testimony on SB 538
Senate Transportation Committee
February 24, 2010

Submitted by: Cheryl L. Semmel, executive director

The mission of United School Administrators of Kansas (USA|Kansas*), through
collaboration of member associations, is to serve, support, and develop educational leaders and
to establish USA|Kansas as a significant force to improve education.

This testimony is provided in support of SB 538, which would amend K.S.A. 8-2009a
and extend the school bus exception rule from 20 to 25 years. Administrators appreciate your
efforts to provide additional flexibility as we continue to confront the challenges of this
unprecedented economic climate.

This bill would allow school districts and contractors to continue with their current
replacement schedule or have the option to operate their buses for up to 25 years. SB 538 would
allow districts to determine, on a case-by-case basis, the viability of retaining school buses in
their fleet. Decisions to exercise this additional flexibility will vary from district to district based
on mileage, road conditions and other factors.

Extending the life of school buses to 25 years is a cost-saving measure, which may help
some school districts operate more efficiently and realize immediate savings. This extension may
also serve to increase the resale value of buses for districts that choose to keep the current
replacement schedule.

As you consider SB 538, please be assured that administrators will always weigh the
safety and well-being of students when evaluating whether to extend the life of a school bus. In
closing, I would like to reiterate that administrators appreciate your efforts to identify additional
flexibility and cost-savings measures for school districts and thank you for your leadership.

*USA|Kansas represents more than 2,000 individual members and ten member associations:

Kansas Association of Elementary School Principals

Kansas Association of Middle School Administrators

Kansas Association of School Administrators

Kansas Association of School Business Officials

Kansas Association of School Personnel Administrators

Kansas Assoc for Supervision and Curriculum Development

Kansas Association of Special Education Administrators

Kansas Association of Secondary School Principals

Kansas Council of Career and Technical Education Administrators Senate Transportation
Kansas School Public Relations Association 2-23 -0

Attachment 3



Testimony on SB 538

Senate Transportation Committee
Submitted by Joan Friend, Superintendent, Syracuse USD 494

February 24, 2010

My name is Joan Friend, and I serve as the superintendent of schools for USD 494, Syracuse, KS.
We have the largest square mile district in the state with 992 square miles. With the large school
district territory, we have many miles on buses with transporting our students to school as well as
delivering students to the many activities in which our students participate.

‘With this information said, I believe that our district does a superb job of maintaining all of our
buses and vehicles for the district. Each year when the state highway patrol does their annual
mspection of our vehicles, we receive good ratings on our buses and vans which transport students.

We currently have two buses which are 20 years old. Both of these buses are in excellent
condition. One of the two buses is equipped as a handicapped bus This bus has 19,000 miles on
it, and if the law is not changed, we will need to replace this bus. This would be an unfair expense
for USD 494 as the bus has many more years of service for the district.

With the extremely tight budgets all school districts in Kansas are facing and will continue to face
in the next few years, the added expense of purchasing new buses based on the 20 year law will be
very difficult. It is my belief that since we are required by law to have our buses inspected each
summer by the highway patrol, and the patrolmen who inspect the buses must sign off that the
buses are either in good condition for student transportation or the buses do not meet standards
for transporting students, the extension of the bus usage from 20 to 25 years would allow school
districts to continue using current buses which have been approved by inspection for students an
additional five years. This change would save USD 494 $160,000 out of a tight budget for the
2009-10 and 2010-11 school years.

I encourage you as a committee to approve the extension presented in SB 538. 1 would be
available for any questions you might have with regards to the transporting of students in the
Syracuse district as the largest square mile district. I will be in my office on Tuesday and would
welcome a phone conversation if you would like to visit with me.

Thank you for your time in reading my testimony.
Joan Friend, USD 494 Syracuse Superintendent

620-384-7872, ext. 1505
Uriend@usd494.org

Senate Transportation
29310
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Testimony on
SB 538

Senate Transportation Committee

Submitted by: Ken Arnhold, Superintendent
Ellsworth USD 327

February 23, 2010

My name is Ken Arnhold and I am the superintendent for Ellsworth USD 327. The mission of
the Unified School District 327 is to provide an educational environment in which all children
can learn to the maximum of their capabilities. The educational environment in this district will
demonstrate our belief that it is essential to develop positive personal character and challenge
every learner through programs that demand excellence. It is through combined efforts of
patrons, faculty, administrators and staff that we lead our students into responsible citizenship in
the 21st century.

I am submitting this testimony in support of SB 538 and ask that you report it favorably.

Under current law, the Ellsworth school must replace one bus a year for the next five years (see
schedule below). Senate Bill 538 would allow flexibility for our district, allowing us to keep
well-serviced busses in use while we plan for future replacement. The money that we would be
required to spend on busses could be used to mitigate possible staff reductions during this
difficult economic time.

Ellsworth/Kanopolis/Geneseo USD #327 Transportation Fleet as of February 1, 2010

Year Capacity Mileage Replacement Year  Comments

1992 66 205,233 2012

1993 66 - 141,927 2013

1994 66 128,305 2014

1995 66 70,501 2015 Handicap Lift

1996 72 81,930 2016

1999 72 118,431 2019

2000 51 243,902 Never Red & Black Activity Bus
2004 83 29,529 2024 Yellow Activity Bus

I have also included, for your reference, a list of states that do not have age restrictions on the
life of a school bus, but rather use an inspection process to retire a bus.

Senate Transportation
2=23-1O
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Nebraska
Oklahoma
Colorado
Texas
Idaho
Missouri
Mississippi
Illinois

Nevada

California
Louisiana
Towa
Arkansas
Arizona

Wyoming

Other State Bus Length of Service Policies

Annual Inspection Only

Annual Inspection Only

Annual Inspection Only

Annual Inspection Only

Annual Inspection Only

Annual Inspection Only

Quarterly Inspections Only

Annual Inspection Only (Except Chicago School District that has a
10-year limit)

Annual Inspection Only (Except LA School District that has a
15-year limit)

Annual Inspection Only

25 Year bus limit

Inspection twice annually

Annual Inspection Only

Annual Inspection Only

Annual Inspection with a state reimbursement from 80%, 90% or 100%
depending on age and mileage

I appreciate your support for this bill that will allow districts like Ellsworth to keep well-
maintained, safe busses in service for up to 25 years. This will allow us to better us districts fund
for educational purposes rather that unnecessary transportation costs.

5 -



Distinctive license plate fees and royalty payments

KSA License plate description $40 fee |Additional information on fees Year this Requires
applies? platewas |paymentto
(1) first sponsor? {2)
authorized
8-132 personalized license plates (unique yes 1974

combination of letters and numbers)

8-161 disabled veteran no 1951

8-162 call letters for licensed amateur radio no fee is $1 (unchanged since 1953) 1953
station

8-172 antique auto {with or without model year| yes (3) 1955
on the license plate)

8-177a National Guard no 1979

8-177¢ Prisoner of War no 1983

8-195 special interest vehicle or street rod no $26 annual fee includes plate 1973

8-1,139 |Pearl Harbor Survivor no 1991

8-1,140 |Purple Heart recipient no 1994

8-1,142  |Educational institution no $5 plus presentation of an annual emblem use 1994 |yes, $25-$100

authorization statement

Alumni associations of these universities
currently have such plates:

Emporia State University

Fort Hays State University

Kansas State University

Kansas University

Pittsburg State University

Washburn University

Wichita State University

8-1,141, enacted in 1994 and most recently amended in 2009, makes any distinctive license plate authorized after 1994 subject to the
personalized license plate fee but contains exemptions, as noted below.
8-1,145 {Congressional Medal of Honor recipient no exempted under 8-1,141(c) 1997

8-1,146 |active or retired military no exempted under 8-1,141(d); a fee of $2 shall 1997
be paid for each decal (which indicates
military branch)

8-1,148 |Children's Trust Fund no exempted under 8-1,141(d) 1999]yes, $25-$100
8-1,150 |Kansas Foundation for Agriculture in the yes 2000|yes, $25-$100
Classroom
8-1,151 |Shriners yes 2001 |yes, $25-5100
8-1,153 |Helping Schools no exempted under 8-1,141(d) 2004 |yes, $40
8-1,155 |Firefighter yes 2004
8-1,158 |Breast cancer research and outreach no exempted under 8-1,141(d) 2006 |yes, $25-$100
8-1,159 |Emergency medical services yes 2007
8-177d  |Gold Star Mother no exempted under 8-1,141(c} 2008
8-1,160 |in God We Trust yes 2008
8-1,161 |Support Kansas Arts no exempted under 8-1,141(d}); 2010 HB 2437 2009 |yes, $25-$100
would remove this exemption
HB 2660 |Boy Scouts of America yes passed yes, $25-5100
House
2/19/10

(1) The personalized license plate fee has been $40 since 1983. It is paid when a metal plate is issued, and not at renewal.

(2) No answer in this column means no logo fee is charged. Royalty amounts are set in statute.

(3) For antique vehicles, this is called a "special combination fee."

Other major provisions of KSA 8-1,141, for special/distinctive/organizational license plates:

o the sponsor must guarantee a minimum of 500 license plates;l

e the sponsor must submit a nonrefundable amount up to $20,000 to defray development costs;

e at least 250 plates, including annual renewals, must be issued during any two-year period; and

e if the minimum numbers are not met for initial issuance and renewal ,the Director must discontinue the plate.

Senate Transportation
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Mark Parkinson, Governor

I A N SA S Joan Wagnon, Secretary

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE www. ksrevenue.org

February 22, 2010

To: Chairman Dwayne Umbarger and
Senate Transportation Committee

From: Carmen Alldritt, Director of Vehicles

Subject: Distinctive or Special License Plates

KSA 8-1,141 allows for Distinctive or Special license plates. Please note the following;

All distinctive or special plates pay the one-time special plate fee. Thisis a $40.00 one-time fee
individuals pay in addition to title and registration fees when purchasing a special plate.

Associations/Organizations are required to submit a list of 500 individuals that have expressed interest in
purchasing a license plate.

250 license plates are required to be registered annually. If registration drops, the organization is notified
and has one year to increase the number of plates. If 250 plates are not registered the state will cease
making that plate.

Associations/Organizations are responsible to remit to the state up to $20,000 for license plate
development.

If proposal passes the legislature the Association/Organization working with the state has 2 years to
implement the plate. Otherwise at the end of 2 years the process must begin again.

Associations/Organizations are advised to meet directly with the Vehicle Director’s office prior to
submitting legislative proposals. Working out details prior to a legislative request will streamline the entire
process. "

Please contact Director of Vehicles 785-296-3601. You may contact directly, Mary Tolbert at

mary_tolbert@kdor.state.ks.us or 785-296-2228.

DIVISION OF VEHICLES .
DOCKING STATE OFFICE BUILDING, 915 SW HARRISON ST., TOPEKA, KS 666121 Senate Transportation
Voice 785-296-3601 Fax 785-291-3755 http://www ksrevenue.org/ 2230

Attachment "7



STATE OF KANSAS

VIRGIL PECK, JR.
REPRESENTATIVE, DISTRICT 11
Box 277
TYRO, KANSAS 67364

COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS:

VICE-CHAIRMAN: INSURANCE

MEMBER: TAXATION
TRANSPORTATION
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS
LEGISLATIVE POST AUDIT

STATE CAPITOL.
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66612
(785) 296-7641

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
MAJORITY CAUCUS CHAIRMAN

Testimony in support of HB 2437
February 23, 2010

Chairman Umbarger and Committee members, thank you for the opportunity to provide written
testimony in support of HB 2437.

HB 2437 is a simple, two page bill and you can see the change in statute on page one. What the bill
does is correct what several of us see as an error in a bill we passed last session.

In 2009 we passed the Conference Committee Report on HB 2134, which authorized several changes
regarding distinctive license plates. One of the provisions of the CCR was to authorize the issuance of
the distinctive Support Kansas Arts license plate; a move that was a good move. However, it was
noticed late in the game that the new Arts plate was exempt from paying the $40 personalized license
plate fee.

HB 2437 simply allows purchasers of the Support Kansas Arts distinctive license plate the privilege of
paying the same $40 fee to the State that purchasers of several other plates currently pay.

The personalized license plate fee has been $40 since 1983. In 1994 the Legislature passed a bill to
make distinctive license plates subject to the fee for plates authorized after that year. Of course the
Legislature can approve exemptions to the fee, and those exemptions are generally reserved for plates
honoring our military.

Plates that must pay the $40 fee include: Shriners, Emergency Medical Services, Kansas Foundation
for Agriculture in the Classroom, In God We Trust, and Firefighter. As a sense of fairness to vehicle
owners who purchase the aforementioned plates, I think it is only right to include the Support Kansas
Arts license plate on the list of plates that pay the $40 fee.

Passage of HB 2437 will take nothing away from the Arts Commission. They will continue the
privilege of charging a $25 - $100 annual royalty fee.

Senate Transportation
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