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Morning Session

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Owens at 9:05 a.m.

Representative Pauls moved, Chris Mechler seconded, to approve the Commission minutes
of August 23, 2010. Motion carried.

Jason Thompson, staff revisor, distributed and reviewed a bill draft containing recommenda-
tions of the Commission (Attachment 1).

During the review suggestions were made regarding clarification and intent of the
Commission's recommendations.

It was recommended the revisor update the draft to include restrictions for drivers under the
age of 21.

Section 1 of the draft addressed KSA 2010 Supp. 8-1014. During the review, Doug Wells
moved, Greg Benefiel seconded to amend page 6 of the draft Section 2(a), to add court or court
ordered supervisions to the list of permitted purposes. Motion carried. Ed Klumpp voted no and
requested his vote be recorded.

Following discussion of Sec. 2(d) on page 7, Representative Pauls suggested a provision
indicating restrictions must comply with Kansas Department of Revenue (KDOR) regulations.
Representative Pauls moved, Ed Klumpp seconded, for the revisor to write a provision that KDOR
will establish regulations to require drivers with a restricted license to carry certain documentation
stating the restrictions, to carry certain documents to show that they are driving under an allowed

event, and make it a rebuttable presumption if not carrying the documentation that the offenders are
in violation. Motion carried.

Following discussion of Section 3(d)(2), it was recommended the revisor incorporate specific
treatment language changing the presumption that there is a specific intervention needed based on
the number of DUIs to completion of treatment based upon the recommendation in the evaluation.

Greg Benefiel moved, Representative Kinzer seconded to amend page 9, Section 3 (d) (1)
so that penalties for a first offense be a minimum of 30 days imprisonment, with probation after 48
hours or 100 hours of community service. Motion carried.

Following discussion of Section 3(f)(1) regarding provisions for third-time offenses, Doug
Benefiel moved to modify the misdemeanor provision to mandatory 90 days imprisonment with
release on probation after ten days with intensive supervised probation and alcohol monitoring to
work release or house arrest. There was no second, due to information provided by Judge Jones
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indicating a possible conflict due to a recent ruling by the Kansas Court of Appeals indicating work

release does not apply to the sentence. It was recommended the revisor review the options for the
next meeting.

Greg Benefiel moved, Karen Wittman seconded, on third-time felony cases, house arrest
would not be allowed. Motion carried.

Following discussion regarding looking back to previous offenses, Karen Wittman moved,
Ed Klumpp seconded, to allow the courts to take into consideration all prior convictions the offender
has received in their lifetime. Motion carried.

The Commission recessed for lunch at 12:00 p.m.

Afternoon Session

The Commission reconvened at 1:00 p.m.

Jason Thompson, staff revisor, continued with the draft bill review indicating that language
contained in Section 4(i)(4) (page 23) contains the provision allowing the courts to retain jurisdiction
to modify sentence on third-time felony offenses.

The Commission discussed the possibility of repealing existing law and submitting to the
Legislature a completely "new" act. Mr. Thompson indicated this would be equivaient to a
recodification and it would be difficult to accomplish in time for the legislative session in January,
2011. Following further discussion it was determined to proceed with the draft bill.

Mr. Thompson indicated there is currently no reference to the use of the Kansas Criminal
Justice Information System (KCJIS) and recordkeeping. He does not see the need for the inclusion
in this draft, there was previous discussion about a separate bhill to incorporate the Commission
recommendations. Ed Klumpp indicated there may be an issue using KCJIS regarding the sharing

information electronically with various agencies because of the Federal Bureau of Investigation link
with the national criminal database.

Mr. Thompson also addressed problems regarding jurisdiction. If the bill contains criteria
allowing only some cities jurisdiction, it will create a non-uniform law and home rule will allow any
municipality to do as it pleases, regardless of the state statute.

After the discussion of the bill draft, the Commission turned its attention to Secretary Roger

Werholtz, who presented the final recommendations from the Criminal Justice Subcommittee
(Attachment 2).

Secretary Werholtz prefaced his remarks that all recommendations are based on the
assumption that a complete and accurate criminal history is available.

It is the recommendation of the subcommittee that a first offense DUI conviction or diversion
is not automatically disabling for anyone licensed, registered, or certified in the State of Kansas
except for a holder of a commercial driver's license. Doug Benefiel moved, Representative Pauls
seconded, the governing body shall have a due process hearing, if requested, to determine what
impact the offense will have, which may include alternative corrective measures in lieu of termination
of licensure, registration, or certification. Motion carried.
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The subcommittee recommended for second-time offenders to change the incarceration
requirement specified in KSA 8-1567(v)(2). Specifically, 48 hours of incarceration would be followed
by either three days incarceration, six days work release, or ten days house arrest with no credit for
time served on house arrest. Greg Benefiel moved, Representative Pauls seconded, to incorporate
the recommendation stated by Secretary Werholtz. Following discussion, Representative Pauls

withdrew her second. Greg Benefiel moved, Judge Ruddick seconded, to make the penalty five ful
days. Motion failed.

Greg Benefiel moved, Judge Jones seconded, to recommend the penalty proposed by the

subcommittee of 48 hours incarceration followed by either three days incarceration, six days work
release, or ten days house arrest with no credit for time served on house arrest. Motion carried.

The subcommittee also recommended offenders using ignition interlock systems should be

on probation with more systemic feedback on performance provided to probation officers, courts, and
treatment providers.

Secretary Werholtz moved, Les Sperling seconded, to recommend the supervising court
imposing ignition interlock require the provider report violations to the court or the court designee,
which could be the supervising officer or treatment provider, within 48 hours. Motion carried.

Additional recommendations were:

® Treatmentimposed by the courts shall be based on meaningful evaluations which

include verified criminal history and treatment history, and is responsive to the
individual offender's treatment needs; and

e Verification independent of offender self reporting shall be made of both the
criminal history and treatment history.

Les Sperling moved, Helen Pedigo seconded, to include the additional recommendations in
the Commission report. Motion carried.

Secretary Werholtz indicated the subcommittee recommends third-time offenders should be
handled at the district court level.

Greg Benefiel moved, Judge Jones seconded, that only district courts have jurisdiction of
third-time DUI offenders. Motion carried. Ed Klumpp voted no and requested his vote be recorded.

Other recommendations were:

Treatment now targeted toward third-time DUls remain available;
Supervision of third-time DUIs shifts to Community Corrections ;
Revocation time is served in county jails; and

Require a minimum 12-month probation period.

Chris Mechler moved, Greg Benefiel seconded, at the presentence investigation stage ofthe
third DUI offense, to change supervision of third-time DUI to either Community Corrections or Court
Services, depending on the assessment results. Following discussion, the Chairperson deferred the
vote on this motion until the next meeting in order to collect further information.
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Secretary Werholtz stated the subcommittee would like included in the report fourth and
subsequent DU offenders incarcerated in the state corrections system may be offered treatment
based on available resources but will not take priority over other prisoners in the corrections system.

Secretary Werholtz reviewed recommendations already approved by the Commission
regarding sentencing of fourth time offenders.

Greg Benefiel moved, Karen Wittman seconded, to make the special sentencing rules
already adopted not subject to duration or dispositional departure. Motion carried. Doug Wells voted
no and requested his vote be recorded.

Secretary Werholtz reported the subcommittee recommends the refusal of a request for
blood or urine be a violation of the DUI statute.

Following discussion, Greg Benefiel moved, Karen Wittman seconded, upon arrest for DU/
and the individual refuses an evidentiary blood or urine test will be a violation of the DUI statute.
Doug Wells made a substitute motion, Roger Werholtz seconded, to create a standalone bill
addressing refusals. Motion failed.

Back on the original motion, Greg Benefiel withdrew his motion, Karen Wittman agreed.

Greg Benefiel moved, Karen Wittman seconded, to adopt a law similar to the one used in

Nebraska. The Chairperson recommended the motion be written in detail and have it available for
review at the next meeting.

Secretary Werholtz reported the subcommittee recommendation to modify the expungement
statute to permit expungement after five years of completion of probation if the offense was a
misdemeanor, or seven years if the offense was a felony.

Representative Pauls moved, Doug Wells seconded, to modify the expungement statute to
permit expungement after five years of completion of probation if the offense was a misdemeanor
or 7 years is the offense was a felony. Motion carried.

Greg Benefiel moved, Karen Wittman seconded, to change the time limit to ten years for all
offenses. Motion carried.

Secretary Werholtz moved, Dalyn Schmitt seconded, to require any court hearing DU/ cases
that result in conviction to utilize a standardized risk assessment approved by the Sentencing
Commission, utilize a standardized substance abuse assessment approved by the Kansas
Department of Social Rehabilitation Services, utilize the results of those evaluations in determining
dispositions, and require the offenderto be supervised according to the results of those assessments
and to report all transactions to KCJIS. Motion carried.

Secretary Werholtz moved, Karen Wittman seconded, that each judicial district should be
encouraged, but not mandated, to establish at least one DUI court docket within the district and
those courts follow the ten principles of effective problem-solving courts, using evidence-based
practices, and maintain fidelity to the model in order to achieve successful outcomes being included
in the DUI Commission Report. Motion carried.

Secretary Werholiz indicated the subcommittee recommends that officers of the court shall
share criminal history information with the substance abuse professional preparing the substance

abuse evaluation, and the substance abuse professional shall request that information from the
appropriate entity designated by the court.
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Secretary Werholtz moved, Dalyn Schmitt seconded, to approve the recommendation as
stated. Representative Pauls requested the insertion of the language "as allowed by state and
federal law." Secretary Werholtz and Ms. Schmitt agreed to the modification, so the motion reads:
Officers of the court shall share criminal history information as allowed by state and federal law with
the substance abuse professional preparing the substance abuse evaluation, and the substance
abuse professional shall request that information from the appropriate entity designated by the court.
Motion carried.

The subcommittee recommends a change in criminal procedure should be drafted to
authorize and codify that procedures consistent with principles of therapeutic or problem-solving
courts should be included in the report.

This concluded the Criminal Justice Subcommittee recommendations. The meeting
adjourned at 5:02 p.m.

The next scheduled meeting is October 29, 2010.

Prepared by Karen Clowers
Edited by Athena Andaya

Approved by Commission on:

October 29, 2010
(Date)

50949~(11/11/10{9:25AM})
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DUI COMMISSION DRAFT #1 - 10/08/10

Section 1. K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 8-1014 is hereby amended to
read as follows: 8-1014. (a) Except as provided by subsection (e)
and K.S.A. 8-2,142, and amendments thereto, 1f a person refuses a
test, the division, pursuant to K.S.A. 8-1002, and amendments
thereto, shall:

(1) On the person’s first occurrence, suspend the person’s
driving privileges for cne year and at the end of the suspension,
restrict the person’s driving privileges for one year to driving
only a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device;

(2) on the person’s second occurrence, suspend the person’s

driving privileges for [two—years] one year and at the end of the

suspension, restrict the person’s driving privileges for two

vears to driving only a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition

interlock device;

(3) on the person’s third cccurrence, suspend the person’s
P

driving privileges for [threes—years] one vear and at the end of

the suspension, restrict the person’s driving privileges for

three vyears to driving only a motor vehicle eguipped with an

ignition interlock device;

(4) on the person’s fourth occurrence, suspend the person’s

driving privileges for [If—years=] one vear and at the end of the

suspension, restrict the person’s driving privileges for four

years to driving only & motor wvehicle equipped with an ignition

interlock device; and

(5) on the person’s fifth or subsequent occurrence, revoke
the person’s driving privileges permanently.

(b) (1) Excebt as provided by subsections (¢) and (e) and
K.3.A. 8-2,142, and amendments thereto, if a person fails a test
or has an alcohol or drug-related conviction in this state, the

division shall:
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(A) On the person’s first occurrence, suspend the person’s
driving privileges for 30 days, then restrict the person’s

driving privileges as provided by subsection (b) of K.S.A.

8-1015, and amendments thereto, for an additional [336—cdeys] one
year;

(B) on the person’s second[7—tirtrd—or—fourth] occurrence,

suspend the person’s driving privileges for one year and at the
end of the suspension, restrict the person’s driving privileges
for one year to driving only & motor vehicle equipped with an
ignition interlock device; [arrd] '

(C) on the person’s third occurrence, suspend the person’s

driving privileges for one vyear and at the end of the suspension,

restrict the person’s driving privileges for two years to driving

only a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device;

(D) on the person’s fourth occurrence, suspend the person’s

driving privileges for one vear and at the end of the suspension,

restrict the person’s driving vrivileges for three vears to

driving only a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock

device; and

[t€r] (E) on the person’s fifth or subsequent occurrence,
the person’s driving privileges shall be permanently revoked.

(2) Except as provided by subsection (e) and K.S.A. 8-2,142,
and amendments thereto, 1f & person fails a test or has an
alcohol or drug-related conviction in this state and the person’s
blood or breath alcohol concentration is .15 or greater, the
division shall:

(A) On the person’s first occurrence, suspend the person’s
driving privileges for one year and at the end of the suspension,
restrict the person’s driving privileges for one year to driving
only a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device;

(B) on the person’s second occurrence, suspend the person’s

driving privileges for one year and at the end of the suspension,
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restrict the person’s driving privileges for two years to driving
only a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device;

(C) on the person’s third occurrence, suspend the person’s
driving privileges for one year and at the end of the suspension
restrict the person’s driving privileges for three years to
driving only a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock
device;

(D) on the person’s fourth ocgurrence, suspend the person’s
driving privileges for one year and at the end of the suspension,
restrict the person’s driving privileges for four years to
driving only a motor vehicle egquipped with an ignition interlock
device; and

(E) on the person’s fifth or subsequent occurrence, the

person’s driving privileges shall be permanently revoked.
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(c) Except as provided by subsection (e) and K.S.A. 8-2,142,
and amendments thereto, if a person who is less than 21 years of
age fails a test or has an alcohol or drug-related conviction in
this state, the division shaiyl:

(1) On the person’s first occurrence, suspend the person’s
driving privileges for one year. If the person’s blood or breath
alcohol concentration is .15 or greater, the division shall at
the end of the suspension, restrict the person’s driving
privileges for one year to driving only a motor vehicle equipped
with an ignition interlock device;

(2) on the person’s second and subsequent occurrences,
penalties shall be imposed pursuant to subsection (b).

(d) Whenever the division is notified by an alcohol and drug
safety action program that a person has failed to complete any
alcohol and drug safety action education or treatment program
ordered by a court for a conviction of a violation of K.S.A.
8-1567, and amendments thereto, the division shall suspend the
person’s driving privileges until the division receives notice of
the person’s completion of such program.

(e) (1) Except as provided in K.S.A. 8-2,142, and amendments
thereto, if a person’s driving privileges are subject to
suspension pursuant to this section for a test refusal, test
failure or alcohol or drug-related conviction arising from the
same arrest, the period of such suspension shall not exceed the
longest applicable period authorized by subsection (a), (b) or
(c), and such suspension periods shall not be added together or
otherwise imposed consecutively. In addition, in determining the
period of such suspension as authorized by subsecticn (a), (b) or

(c), such person shall receive credit for any period of time for
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which such person’s driving privileges were suspended while
awalting any hearing or final order authorized by this act.

(2) If a person’s driving privileges are subject to
restriction pursuant to this section for a test failure or
alcohol or drug-related conviction arising from the same arrest,
the restriction periods shall not be added together or otherwise

imposed consecutively. In addifion, in determining the period of

)

restriction, the person shall receive credit for any period of
suspension imposed for a test refusal arising from the same
arrest.

(£) If the division has takan action under subsection (a)
for a test refusal or under subsection (b) or (c) for a test
failure and such action is stayed pursuant to K.S.A. 8-259, and
amendments thereto, or 1f temporary driving privileges are issued
pursuant to K.S.A. 8-1020, and amendments thereto, the stay or
temporary driving privileges shall not prevent the division from
taking the ‘action required by subsection (b) or (c) for an
alcohol or drug-related conviction.

(g) Upon restricting a person’s driving privileges pursuant
to this section, the division shall issue a copy of the order
imposing the restrictions which is required to be carried by the
person at any time the person is operating a motor vehicle on the

highways of this state.
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(a) Whenever a person’s driving privileges have been

suspended for one vear as provided in subsection (a) or (b) of

K.S.A. 8-1014, and amendments thereto, after 45 days of such

suspension, such person may apply to the division for such

person’s driving privileges to be restricted for the remainder of

the one-vear suspension period to driving only a motor vehicle

equipped with an ignition initerlock and only for the purposes of

getting to and from work, school, or an aicohol treatment program

or to go to and from the ignition interlock provider for

maintenance and downloading of deta from the device. If such

person violates the restrict:ons, such pverson’s driving

privileges shall be suspended for an additional vear, in addition

to any term of restricticn as provided in subsection (a) or (b)

of K.S.A. 8-1014, and amendments thereto.
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(b) When a person has completed the suspension pursuant to

subsection (b) (1) (A) of K.S.A. 8-1014, and amendments thereto,

the division shall restrict the person’s driving privileges

pursuant to subsection (k) (1) (A) of K.S.A. 8~1014, and amendments

thereto, to driving only a motor vehicle eguipped with an

ignition interlock and only for the purposes of getting to and

from work, school, or an alcohol treatment program or to go to

and from the ignition interlock provider for maintenance and

downloading of data from the device. If such person violates the

restrictions, such person’s driving privileges shall be suspended

for an additional vear, in addition to anv term of restriction as

provided in subsection (b) (1) (A) of K.S.A. 8-1014, and amendments
thereto.

(c) Except as provided in subsection (b), when a person has

completed the suspension pursuant to subsection (a) or (b) of
K.S.A. 8-1014, and amendments thereto, the division shall
restrict the person’s driving privileges pursuant to subsection
(a) or (b) of K.S.A. 8-1014, and amendments thereto, to driving
only a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device
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(d) Whenever an ignition interlock device is required by

law, such ignition interlock device shall be approved by the

division and maintained at the person’s expense. Proof of the

installation of such ignition interlcck device, for the entire

period required by the applicable law, shall be provided to the

division before the person’s driving privileges are fully

reinstated.

(e) Except as provided further, any person whose license is

restricted to operating only a motor vehicle with an ignition
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interlock device installed may operate an emplover’s vehicle

without an ignition interlock device installed during normal

business activities, provided that the person does not partly or

entirely own or control the emplover’s vehicle or business. The

provisions of this subsection shall not apply to any person whose

driving privileges have been restricted for the remainder of the

one-vear suspension period as provided in subsection (a).

[tr] (£) Upon expiration of the period of time for which
restrictions are imposed pursuant to this section, the licensee
may apply to the division for the return of any license
previously surrendered by ctie licensee. If the license has
expired, the person may apply to the division for a new license,
which shall be issued by the division upon payment of the proper
fee and satisfaction of the other conditions established by law,
unless the person’s driving privileges have been suspended or
revoked prior to expiration.

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 8-1567, as amended by section 3 of chapter
153 of the 2010 Session Laws of Kansas, is hereby amended to read
as follows: 8-1567. (a) No person shall operate or attempt to
operate any vehicle within this state while:

(1) The alcohol corncentraticn in the person’s blood or
breath as shown by any competent evidence, including other
competent evidence, as defined in paragraph (1) of subsection (f)
of K.S.A. 8-1013, and am=2ndments thereto, is .08 or more;

(2) the alcohol concentration in the person’s blood or
breath, as measured within two hours of the time of operating or
attempting to operate a vehicle, is .08 or more;

(3) under the influence of alcohol to a degree that renders
the person incapable of safely driving a wvehicle;

(4) under the influence of any drug or combination of drugs
to a degree that renders the person incapable of safely driving a

vehicle; or
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(5) under the influence of a combination of alcohol and any
drug or drugs to a degree that renders the person incapable of
safely driving a vehicle.

Kb) No person shall operate or attempt to operate any
vehicle within this state if the person is a habitual user of any
narcotic, hypnotic, somnifacient or stimulating drug.

(c) If a person is charged with a violation of this section
involving drugs, the fact that the person is or has been entitled
to use the drug under the laws of this state shall not constitute
a defense against the charge.

(d) (1) Upon a first conviction of a violation of this
section, a person shall be guilty of a class B, nonperson
misdemeanor and sentenced to not less than 48 consecutive hours
nor more than six months’ imprisonment, or in the court’s
discretion 100 hours of public service, and fined not less than
$500 nor more than $1,000. The person convicted must serve at
least 48 consecutive hours’ imprisonment or 100 hours of public
service either before or as a condition of any grant of probation
or suspension, reduction of sentence or parole.

(2) In addition, the court shall enter an order which
requires that the person enroll in and successfully complete an
alcohol and drug safety action education program or treatment
program as provided in K.S.A. 8-1008, and amendments thereto, or
both the education and treatment programs.

(e} (1) On a second conviction of a violation of this
section, a person shall be guilty of a class A, nonperson
misdemeanor and sentenced to not less than 90 days nor more than
one year’s imprisonment and fined not less than $1,000 nor more
than $1,500. The person convicted must serve at least five
consecutive days’ imprisonment before the person is granted
probation, suspension or reduction of sentence or parole or is

otherwise released. The five days’ imprisonment mandated by this
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subsection may be served in a work release program only after
such person has served 48 consecutive hours’ imprisonment,
provided such work release program requires such person to return
to confinement at the end of eacn day in the work release
program. The court may piace the person convicted under a house
arrest program pursuant to K.5.A. 21-4603b, and amendments
thereto, to serve the remainaer or the minimum sentence only
after such person has servea 48 <onsecutive hours’ imprisonment.

(2) As a condition or any grant of probation, suspension of
sentence or parole or of any owther release, the person shall be
required to enter into ana complete a treatment program for
alcohol and drug abuse as provided in K.S.A. 8-1008, and
amendments thereto.

(£) (1) Except as provided further, c¢n the third conviction

of a violation of this section, &a person who, within the

preceding 10 vears, has not been convicted of a violation of this

section, shall be guilty of a class A, nonperson misdemeanor and

sentenced to not less than 90 days nor more than one vear’s

imprisonment and fined $2,500. The person convicted shall not be

eligible for release on probation, suspension or reduction of

sentence or parole until the person has served at least 90 days’

imprisonment. The 90 days’ imprisonment mandated by this

paragraph may be served in 4 weork release program only after such

person has served 72 conseculbive hours’ imprisonment, provided

such work release program requires such person to return to

confinement at the end of each day in the work release program.

[tr] (2) On the third conviction of = violation of this

section, a person who, within the preceding 10 vears, has been

convicted of a violation of this section, shall be guilty of a

nonperson felony and sentenced to not less than 90 days nor more
than one year’s imprisonmert and Zined $2,500. The person

convicted shall not be eligible for release on probation,
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suspension or reduction of sentence or parole until the person
has served at least 90 days’ imprisonment. The 90 days’
imprisonment mandated by this paragraph may be served in a work
release program only after such person has served 72 consecutive
hours’ imprisonment, provided such work release program requires
such person to return to confinement at the end of each day in
the work release program.

[t27] (3) The court may order that the term of imprisonment
imposed pursuant to paragraph (1) or (2) be served in a state
facility in the custody of the secretary of corrections in a
facility designated by the secretary for the provision of
substance abuse treatment pursuant to the provisions of K.S.A.
21-4704, and amendments thereto. The person shall remain
imprisoned at the state facility only while participating in the
substance abuse treatment program designated by the secretary and
shall be returned to the custody of the sheriff for execution of
the balance of the term of imprisconment upon completion of or the
person’s discharge from the substance abuse treatment program.
Custody of the person shall be returned to the sheriff for
execution of the sentence imposed in the event the secretary of
corrections determines: (A) That substance abuse treatment
resources or the capacity of the facility designated by the
secretary for the incarceration and treatment of the person is
not available; (B) the person fails to meaningfully participate
in the treatment program of the designated facility; (C) the
person is disruptive to the security or operation of the
designated facility; or (D) the medical or mental health
condition of the person renders the person unsuitable for
confinement at the designated facility. The determination by the
secretary that the person either is not to be admitted into the
designated facility or is to be transferred from the designated

facility is not subject tc review. The sheriff shall be
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responsible for all transportation expenses tc and from the state
correctional facility.

At the time of the filing of the judgment form or Jjournal
entry as required by K.5.2. 21-4620 or 22-3426, and amendments
thereto, the court shall cause a certified copy to be sent to the
officer having the offender in charge. The law enforcement agency
maintaining custody and control of a defendant for imprisonment
shall cause a certified copy of the judgment form oxr journal
entry to be sent to the secretary of corrections within three
business days of receipt of the Jdudgment form or journal entry
from the court and notify the secretary of corrections when the
term of imprisonment expires and upon expiration of the term of
imprisonment shall deliver the defendant to a location designated
by the secretary. After the term of imprisonment imposed by the
court, the person shall be placea in the custody of the secretary
of corrections for a mandatory one-year period of postrelease
supervision, which such period of postrelease supervision shall
not be reduced. During such postrelease supervision, the person
shall be required to participate in an inpatient or outpatient
program for alcohol and drug abuse, including, but not limited
to, an approved aftercare plan or mental health counseling, as
determined by the secretary and satisfy conditions imposed by the
Kansas parole board as provided by K.S.A. 22-3717, and amendments
thereto. Any violation of the conditions of such postrelease
supervision may subject such person to revocation of postrelease
supervision pursuant to K.S.A. 75-5Z17 et seqg., and amendments
thereto and as otherwise provided by law.

(g) [tEXr] On the fourth or subsequent conviction of a

violation of this section, a person shall bhe guilty of a
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(h) Any person convicted of violating this section or an

ordinance which prohibits the acts that this section prohibits
who had one or more children under the age of 14 years in the
vehicle at the time of the offense shall have such person’s
punishment enhanced by one month of imprisonment. This
imprisonment must be served consecutively to any other minimum
mandatory penalty imposed for a violation c¢f this section or an
ordinance which prohibits the acts that this section prohibits.
Any enhanced penalty impcsed shall riot exceed the maximum
sentence allowable by law. During the service of the enhanced
penalty, the judge may order the person on house arrest, work
release or other conditional release.

(1) The court may establish the terms and time for payment
of any fines, fees, assessments and costs imposed pursuant to
this section. Any assessment and costs shall be required to be
paid not later than 90 days after imposed, and any remainder of
the fine shall be paid prior to the final release of the

defendant by the court.
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(7) In lieu of payment of a fine imposed pursuant to this
section, the court may order that the person perform community
service specified by the court. The person shall receive a credit
on the fine imposed in an amount equal to $5 for each full hour
spent by the person in the specified community service. The
community service ordered by the court shall be required to be
performed not later than one year after the fine is imposed or by
an earlier date specified by the court. If by the required date
the person performs an insufficient amount of community service
to reduce to zero the portion of the fine required to be paid by
the person, the remaining balance of the fine shall become due on
that date.

(k) (1) Except as prcvided in paragraph (5), in addition to
any other penalty which may be imposed upon a first conviction of
a violation of this section, the court may order that the
convicted person’s motor vehicle or vehicles be impounded or
immobilized for a period not to exceed cne year and that the
convicted person pay all towing, impoundment and storage fees or
other immobilization costs.

(2) The court shall not order the impoundment or
immobilization of a motor vehicle driven by a person convicted of
a violation of this secticn i1if the mctor vehicle had been stolen
or converted at the time it was driven in violation of this
section.

(3) Prior to ordering the impoundment or immobilization of a
motor vehicle or vehicles owned by a person convicted of a
violation of this section, the court shall consider, but not be
limited to, the following:

(A) Whether the impoundment or immobilization of the motor
vehicle would result in the loss of employment by the convicted

person or a member of such person’s family; and
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(B) whether the ability of the convicted person or a member
of such person’s family to attend school or obtain medical care
would be impaired.

(4) Any personal property in a vehicle impounded or
immobilized pursuant to this supsection may be retrieved prior to
or during the period of such impoundment or immobilization.

(5) As used in this subsection, the convicted person’s motor
vehicle or vehicles shall include any vehicle leased by such
person. If the lease on the convicted person’s motor vehicle
subject to impoundment or immobilization expires in less than one
year from the date of the impoundment or immobilization, the time
of impoundment or immobilization of such vehicle shall be the
amount of time remaining on the lease.

(1) (1) Except as provided in paragraph (3), in addition to
any other penalty which may be imposed upon a second or~
subsequent conviction of a violation of this section, the court
shall order that each motor vehicle owned or leased by the
convicted person shall either be equipped with an ignition
interlock device or be impounded or immobilized for a period of
two years. The convicted person shall pay all costs associated
with the installation, maintenance and removal of the ignition
interlock device and all towing, impoundment and storage fees or
other immobilization costs.

(2) Any personal property in a vehicle impounded or
immobilized pursuant to this subsection may be retrieved prior to
or during the period of such impoundment or immobilization.

(3) As used in this subsection, the convicted person’s motor
vehicle or vehicles shall include any vehicle leased by such
person. If the lease on the convicted person’s motor vehicle
subject to impoundment or immobilization expires in less than two

years from the date of the impoundment or immobilization, the
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time of impoundment or immeobilization of such vehicle shall be
the amount of time remaining on the lease.

(m) (1) Prior to filing a complaint alleging a violation of
this section, a prosecutor shall request and shall receive from
the division a record of all prior ccnvictions obtained against
such person for any violations of any of the motor vehicle laws
of this state.

(2) Prior to filing a complaint alleging a violation of this
section, a prosecutor shall request and shall receive from the
Kansas bureau of investigation central repository all criminal
history record information concerning such person.

(n) The court shall electronically report every conviction
of a violation of this section and every diversion agreement
entered into in lieu of further criminal proceedings or a
complaint alleging a violation of this section to the division.
Prior to sentencing under the provisions of this section, the
court shall request and shall receive from the division a record
of all pricr convictions obtained against such person for any

viclations of any of the motor vehicle laws of this state.

(o) For the purpose of [dctc.r_m_'tﬂi.ug wiretirer—ea—convicttonr—+=

(&Y fJ‘_.LDt, ocpuud, tllJ‘..L"L}., fuui_th L oubockiucut k.,Ull\/_Lk,t_lLUJ.l 'Lll
serntencimg—urd=r] this section:

(1) “Conviction” includes being convicted of a violation of
this section or entering into a diversion agreement in lieu of
further criminal proceedings on a complaint alleging a violation

of this section; .

(2) “conviction” includes being convicted of a violation of
a law of another state or an ordinance of any city, or resolution
of any county, which prohibits the acts that this section
prohibits or entering into a diversion agreement in lieu of
further criminal proceedings in a case alleging a violation of

such law, ordinance or resolution;
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offerder] only convictions occurring on or after July 1, 1996,

shall be taken into account when determining whether a conviction

is a first, second, third, fourth or subsegquent conviction in

sentencing under this section;

(4) it is irrelevant whether an offense occurred before or
after conviction for a previous offense; [arrd)

(5) a person may enter into a diversion agreement in lieu of
further criminal proceedings for a violation of this section, and
amendments thereto, or an ordinarce which prohibits the acts of
this section, and amendments thereto, only once during the
person’s lifetime;

(6) “alcohol concentration’” means the number of grams of

alcohol per 100 miliiliters of blood or per 210 liters of breath;

(7) “imprisonment” shai. include anvy restrained environment

in which the court and law enforcement agency intend to retain

custody and control of a defendant and such environment has been

approved by the board of county commissioners or the governing

body of a city;

(8) “drug” includes toxic vapors as such term is defined in

K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36al2, and amendments thereto.

(p) Upon conviction of & person of a violation of this
section or a violation of a city ordinance or county resolution
prohibiting the acts prohibited by this section, the division,
upon receiving a report of conviction, shall suspend, restrict or
suspend and restrict the person’e driving privileges as provided
by K.S.A. 8-1014, and amendments thereto.

(q) (1) (A) Nothing contained in this section shall be
construed as preventing any ity from enacting ordinances, or any

county from adopting resolutions, declaring acts prohibited or
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made unlawful by this act as unlawful or prohibited in such city
or county and prescribing penalties for violation thereof. Except
as specifically provided by this subsection, the minimum penalty
prescribed by any such ordinance or resolution shall not be less
than the minimum penalty prescribed by this act for the same
violation, and the maximum penalty in any such ordinance or
resolution shall not exceed the maximum penalty prescribed for
the same violation.

(B) On and after July 1, 2007, and retroactive for ordinance
violations committed on or after July 1, 2006, an ordinance may
grant to a municipal court Jjurisdiction over a violation of such
ordinance which is concurrent with the jurisdiction of the
district court over a violation of this section, notwithstanding
that the elements of such ordinance violation are the same as the
elements of a violation of this section that would constitute,
and be punished as, a felony.

(C) Any such ordinance or resolution shall authorize the
court to order that the convicted person pay restitution to any
victim who suffered loss due to the violation for which the
person was convicted. Except as provided in paragraph (5), any
such ordinance or resolution may require or authorize the court
Lo order that the convicted person’s motor vehicle or wvehicles be
impounded or immobilized for a period not to exceed one year and
that the convicted person pay all towing, impoundment and storage
fees or other immobilization costs.

(2) The court shall not order the impoundment or
immobilization of a motor vehicle driven by a person convicted of
a violation of this section if the motor vehicle had been stolen
or converted at the time it was driven in violation of this
section.

(3) Prior to ordering the impoundment or immobilization of a

motor vehicle or vehicles owned by a person convicted of a
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violation of this section, the court shall consider, but not be
limited to, the following:

(A) Whether the impcunciment or immobilization of the motor
vehicle would result in the loss of employment by the convicted
person or a member of such person’s family; and

(B) whether the abilitcy of the convicted person or a member
of such person’s family to attend school or obtain medical care
would be impaired.

(4) Any personal property in a vehicle impounded or
immobilized pursuant to this subsection may be retrieved prior to
or during the period of such impoundment or immobilization.

(5) As used in this subsection, the convicted person’s motor
vehicle or vehicles shall include any vehicle leased by such
person. If the lease on the convicted person’s motor vehicle
subject to impoundment or immobilization expires in less than one
year from the date of the impoundment or immobilization, the time
of impoundment or immobilization of such vehicle shall be the
amount of time remaining on the lease.

(r) (1) Upon the filing of a complaint, citation or notice
to appear alleging a person has violated a city ordinance
prohibiting the acts prohibited by this section, and prior to
conviction thereof, a city attorriey shall request and shall
receive from the division a record of all prior convictions
obtained against such person for any violations of any of the
motor vehicle laws of this state.

(2) Upon the filing of a complaint, citation or notice to
appear alleging a person has violated a city ordinance
prohibiting the acts prohibited by this section, and prior to
conviction thereof, a city attorney shall request and shall
receive from the Kansas bureau of investigation central
repository all criminal history record information concerning

such person.
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(3) If the elements of such ordinance vioclation are the same
as the elements of a violation of this section that would
constitute, and be punished as, a felony, the city attorney shall
refer the violation to the appropriate county or district
attorney for prosecution.

(s) No plea bargaining agreement shall be entered into nor
shall any judge approve a plea bargaining agreement entered into
for the purpose of permitting a person charged with a violation
of this section, or a vioclation of any crdinance of a city or
resolution of any county in this state which prohibits the acts
prchibited by this section, to avoid the mandatory penalties
established by this section or by the ordinance. For the purpose
of this subsection, entering into a diversion agreement pursuant
to K.S.A. 12-4413 et seqg. or 22-2%06 et seq., and amendmegts
thereto, shall not constitute plea bargaining.

(t) The alternatives set out in subsections (a) (1), (a) (2)
and (a) (3) may be pleaded in the alternative, and the state, city
or county, but shall not be required %o, may elect one or two of
the three prior to submission of the case to the fact finder.

(u) Upcn a third or subsequent conviction, the judge of any
court in which any person is convicted of violating this section,
may revoke the person’s license plate or temporary registration
certificate of the motor vehicle driven during the violation of
this section for a period of one year. Upon revoking any license
rlate or temporary registration certificate pursuant to this
subsection, the court shall require that such license plate or

temporary registration certificate be surrendered to the court.
y
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[twr] (v) The amount of the increase in fines as specified
in this section shall be remitted by the clerk of the district
court to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of
K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of
remittance of the increase provided in this act, the state
treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury
and the state treasurer shall credit 50% to the community
alcoholism and intoxication programs fund and 50% to the
department of corrections alcohol and drug abuse treatment fund,
which is hereby created in the state treasury.

[fxr] (w) Upon every coaviction of a violation of this
section, the court shall order such person to submit to a
pre-sentence alcohol and drugabuse evaluation pursuant to K.S.A.
8-1008, and amendments thereto. Such presentence evaluation shall
be made available, and shall be considered by the sentencing
court.

Section 4. Section 285 of chapter 136 of the 2010 Session
Laws of Kansas is hereby amended to read as follows:
<This is the recodified sentencing grid statute, 21-4704>

<current law (a)-{(h) will appear here>

(1) (1) The sentence for the violation of the felony

provision of subsection (f) (2) of K.S.A. 8-1567, subsection

(b) (3) of section 49 of chaphter 136 of the 2010 Session Laws of

Kansas, subsections (b) (3) and (b) (4) of section 109 of chapter
136 of the 2010 Session Laws of Kansas, section 223 of chapter

136 of the 2010 Session Laws of Kansas and section 227 of chapter

136 of the 2010 Session Laws of Kansas, and amendments thereto,
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shall be as provided by the specific mandatory sentencing
requifements of that section and shall not be subject to the

provisions of this section or section 288 of chapter 136 of the

2010 Session Laws of Kansas, and amendments thereto.

(2) If because of the offender’s criminal history
classification the offender is subject to presumptive
imprisonment or if the Jjudge departs from a presumptive probation
sentence and the offender is subject to imprisonment, the

provisions of this section and section 288 of chapter 136 of the

2010 Session Laws of Kansas, and amendments thereto, shall apply

and the cffender shall not be subjecﬁ to the mandatory sentence

as provided in section 109 of chapter 136 of the 2010 Session

Laws of Kansas, and amendments thereto.

(3) Notwithstanding the provisions of any other section, the

term of imprisonment imposed for the violation of the felony

provision of subsection (£f)(2) of K.S.A. 8-1567, subsectiocn

(b) (3) of section 49 of chapter 136 of the 2010 Session Laws of

Kansas, subsecticns (b) (3) and (b) (4) of section 109 of chapter

136 of the 2010 Session Laws of Kansas, section 223 and section

227 of chapter 136 of the 2010 Session Laws of Kansas, and

amendments thereto, shall not be served in a state facility in
the custody of the secretary of corrections, except that the term
of imprisonment for [fetromy] violations of subsection (f) (2) of

K.S.A. 8-1567, and amendments thereto, may be served in a state

correctional facility designated by the secretary of corrections
if the secretary determines that substance abuse treatment
resources and facility capacity is available. The secretary’s
determination regarding the availability of treatment resources
and facility capacity shall not be subject to review.

(4) Notwithstanding the provisions of any cther section, the

sentencing court shall retain Jurisdiction to modifyv the sentence
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imposed for the violation of subsection (f) (2) of K.S.A. 8-1567,

and amendments thereto.

<current law (j)-(r) will appear here>

(s) Notwithstanding the provisions of any other section, an

offense under subsection (g) of K.S.A. B8-1567, and amendments

thereto, shall be classified in grid block 7-G, except when,

because of the offender’s criminal history classification, the

offense is classified in grid block 7-A, 7-B, 7-C, 7-D, 7-E or
7-F.

RS- H:\StaffDocs\JasonT\ADUI Commission Pratt !.wpd (JThompsoun) 24

e



Kansas DUI
Commission

Criminal Justice
Subcommittee

DUI Commission 2010

Jjo—8~/0

Attachment 2.




Charge

m Study current DUI statutes

m Are penalties adequate?

Ols the sanction appropriate?

OWill penalties help reduce reoffending?
m \What are the issues with the

organizational structures for how DUI
cases are handled?

m Which courts should have jurisdiction over
DUI's?
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Findings & Recommendations

m All recommendations are based on the
assumption that a complete and accurate
criminal history is available.

m Penalties for first time offenders are
adequate.

m Treatment imposed by the courts shall be
based on meaningful evaluations which
Include verified criminal history, treatment
history, and is responsive to the individual
offender’s treatment needs, and shall be
Imposed even on a first offense. 3



Findings & Recommendations

m A first offense DUI conviction or diversion
Is not automatically disabling for anyone
who is licensed, registered or certified in
the state with the exception of a
Commercial Driver’s License (CDL).

OThe governing body shall have a due process
hearing, if requested, to determine what
impact the offense will have, which may
Include alternative corrective measures in lieu

of termination of licensure, registration or
certification.
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Findings & Recommendations

m The full commission voted to recommend on first
offenses:

O Test results of .08 BAC to less than .15 BAC: 30 day
suspension and mandatory use of an ignition interlock

device for one year and to be restricted to driving to
and from work or treatment

O Test results of .14 BAC and greater: 45 day
suspension and mandatory use of an ignition interlock
device for two years and to be restricted to driving to
and from work and treatment during the first year and
no restriction during the second year. |

O Test refusals: 45 day suspension and mandatory use
of an ignition interlock device for two years and to be
restricted to driving to and from work and treatment
during the first year and no restriction during the
second year.
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Findings & Recommendations

m Penalties for second time offenders are adequate with
these stipulations: |
O The incarceration requirement specified in KSA 8-1567 v.2 is
followed. This means jail or some other housing arrangement
that serves to confine the offender and restrict their contact

anyone other than staff and other program participants during
the period of confinement

O Weekend Intervention Programs (WIPs) would satisfy this if
approved by the court

O 2 days jail (per clarification above) followed by:
= 3 days jail, or
= 6 days work release, or
= 10 days house arrest with no credit for time served on house arrest

m Offenders using ignition interlock systems should be on
probation with more systemic feedback on performance

provided to probation officers, courts, and treatment
providers.
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Findings & Recommendations

m [reatment imposed by the courts shall be
based on meaningful evaluations which
Include verified criminal history, treatment
history, and is responsive to the individual
offender’s treatment needs.

m Verification independent of offender self
reporting shall be made of both the
criminal history and treatment history.
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Findings & Recommendations

m [he full commission voted to recommend
on second and subsequent convictions:

O Test results of .08 BAC to less than .15 BAC:

30 day suspension and mandatory use of an
ignition interlock device for two years and to

be restricted to driving to and from work or
treatment.

O Test results of .14 BAC and greater and
refusals: 45 day suspension and mandatory
use of an ignition interlock device for three
years and to be restricted to driving to and
from work and treatment during the first year

and no restriction during the remaining years.

A-§



Findings & Recommendations

m The full commission voted to limit the “look

back” period for criminal history to July 1,
1996.

m The full commission voted to recommend,
following a second offense, if a clean ten
year record has been maintained, the third
offense will be charged as a
misdemeanor.
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Findings & Recommendations

m Third time DUI offenses should be a
misdemeanor with the same penalties
currently attached to a third time
conviction.

L
t
t

The full DUl Commission voted to retain the

nird DUI conviction as a felony and to allow

ne courts to retain jurisdiction over the case

post sentence.

m Third time DUI offenses should be handled

at the district court level.

10
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Findings & Recommendations

m Assumes that treatment now being
targeted toward third time DUI’s remains

available.

m Supervision of third time DUI’s shifts to
Community Corrections.

m Revocation time is served in county jails.

m Requires at least a 12 month probation
period.

11
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Findings & Recommendations

m Fourth and subsequent DUI convictions
are felonies with substantial sentences

with incapacitation as the predominant
strategy.

O Treatment may be offered to DUI offenders
incarcerated in the state corrections system
based on available resources, but DUI
offenders will not take priority over other
prisoners in the corrections system.

12



Findings & Recommendations

m The full commission voted to recommend that
fourth and subsequent DUI’s be placed on the
Kansas Sentencing Guidelines Grid as a
severity level 7 felony with two methods of
scoring criminal history.

O Regular method

O Special rule — ND level 7 G

O Whichever penalty is greater shall apply
O Two years post release supervision

O Offender may be immediately released from prison
portion of sentence upon satisfactory completion of
treatment as determined by the Kansas Parole Boards
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Findings & Recommendations

m Refusal of a request for blood or urine
would be a violation of the DUI statute. If
the suspect refuses to comply with the
request, the officer will request the
evidentiary breath or blood test. The
person being charged will be given a
reasonable opportunity to confer with an
attorney.

OWithin 1 hr. of request for blood test if 3 hr.
‘window or 30 minutes if 2 hr. window.

14
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Findings & Recommendations

m Expungement — modify the expungement
statute to permit expungement after 5
years of completion of probation if a
misdemeanor or 7 years if a felony.

ODoes not have an |mpact on how people are
charged.
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Findings & Recommendations

® Municipal courts wanting jurisdiction over DUI
cases shall be approved the Supreme Court in
accordance with rules promulgated by the Court.
Those rules should include requirements that:

00 a standardized risk assessment instrument approve
by the Kansas Sentencing Commission be used.

[0 a standardized substance abuse evaluation approved
by the Department of Social and Rehabilitation
Services be used.

O the court utilize the results of that risk assessment
and evaluation in determining dispositions.

O the court have the capacity to supervise the offender
‘accordingly. |
: 16
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Findings & Recommendations

m Any court hearing DUI cases that result in
conviction shall order the standardized risk
assessment approved by the Sentencing
Commission and the standardized
substance abuse evaluation approved by
SRS.

m Any court hearing DUI cases shall have
the ability to report those transactions
electronically to KCJIS

17
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Findings & Recommendations

m Each judicial district should be
encouraged, but not mandated, to
establish at least one DUI court within the
district. Any such court should:

OFollow the 10 principles of effective problem
solving courts

O0Conform to evidence based practices

‘OMaintain fidelity to the model in order to
achieve successful outcomes.

18
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Findings & Recommendations

m Officers of the court shall share criminal
history information with the substance
abuse professional preparing the
substance abuse evaluation, and the
substance abuse professional shall
request that information from the
appropriate entity designated by the court.

19
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Findings & Recommendations

m Recommend that treétment capacity be
established within KDOC for offenders
convicted of 4t and subsequent DUI's.

m |t is our preference that treatment be
offered during each incarceration, but the
prioritization for placement and impact on
parole eligibility should diminish with each
subsequent conviction.

20
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‘Other Considerations

m Regarding DUI or Drug Courts:

O There should be statutory authorization for the
change in the nature of the relationship

between the court and defendant (ex parte
communlcatlon)

OA change in criminal procedure should be
drafted to authorize and codify procedures
consistent with principles of therapeutic or
problem solving courts.
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