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Date
MINUTES OF THE SENATE FEDERAL AND STATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Pete Brungardt at 10:30 a.m. on February 22, 2011, in
Room 144-S of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:
Jason Long, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Doug Taylor, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Dennis Hodgins, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Julian Efird, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Connie Burns, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the Committee:
Others attending:
See attached list.

Introduction of Bills

Senator Faust-Goudeau requested a bill introduction concerning wage payment act; additional penalties
for employers who repeatedly fail to pay wages.

Senator Faust-Goudeau moved that this request should be introduced as a committee bill. Senator Reitz
seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Final Action:

SB 112 - Amendments to statutes pertaining to land surveyors
Staff updated the committee on the bill.

Senator Francisco spoke to the committee about a change in the definition regarding townhouse plats and
condominium plats; in one place it talks about boundaries of walks, floors, and ceilings and in another
section walls, floors and ceilings. Senator Francisco would like the definition to be consistent and to walls
instead of walks.

Senator Abrams moved the amendment to change reference from walks to walls. Senator Owens second
the motion. The motion carried.

Senator Haley moved to pass SB 112 out favorably as amended. Senator Reitz seconded the motion. The
motion carried.

SB 54 - Creating classes of license to sell alcoholic beverages at retail; fees, term and eligibility

Senator Abrams provided a balloon to have only one liquor license, and deals with Section 2 and 3 and
striking sections 4 and 5 and cover pages 1 through 4 of the balloon. (Attachment 1)

Senator Abrams moved the amendment. Senator Faust-Goudeau seconded the motion. The motion
carried.

Senator Abrams proposed capping the number of licenses and the change in population growth would
open the market for issuance of future liquor licenses. The committee did not favor this proposal.

Senator Longbine moved a balloon that would keep the cap on the number of full licenses from 3 vears to
5 years. Senator Ostmever seconded the motion. The motion carried. (Attachment 2)

Senator Bruneardt moved the amendment for ABC for licensee to pay a state transfer fee of $25 and a
state application fee set forth in Statute. Senator Reitz seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals

appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Pagel



CONTINUATION SHEET

The minutes of the Federal and State Committee at 10:30 a.m. on February 22, 2011, in Room 144-S of
the Capitol.

Senator Ostmeyer moved that workers must be 21 vyears old to sell, to stock, or otherwise handle any
alcoholic liquor. Senator Reifz seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Senator Brungardt provided the amendment in Tuck Duncan's testimony on wholesalers and distributors
to set a minimum price and quantity of liquor.

Senator Brungardt moved the amendment to permit distributors to establish order minimums for quantity
and/or dollar amounts. Senator Owens seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Staff provided a balloon that would cover definitions of corporations, board of directors or governing
bodies, and a designated premise that would includes stores classified under the North American Industry
Classification System (NAICS). (Attachment 3)

Senator Owens move the balloon on definitions and classifications. Senator Reitz seconded the motion.
The motion carried.

Senator Longbine moved that liquor stores restrict the expanded products for 5 vears. Senator Owens
seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Staff provided the Secretary of State's balloon, which is a technical clean up. (Attachment 4)

Senator Abrams moved the Secretary of State's balloon. Senator Owens seconded the motion. The motion
carried.

Senator Owens moved to pass SB 54 out favorably as amended. Senator Longbine seconded the motion.
The motion carried. -

Senator Abrams requested to be recorded as a no vote.

The next meeting is scheduled for March 2, 2011. The meeting was adjourned at 11:40 a.m.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the

individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page2
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Session of 2011
SENATE BILL No. 54

By Committee on Federal and State Affairs

1-25

Balloon to have only one license

Prepared by: Jason B. Long
H:\StaffDocs\JasonL\SB 54 (Retailer liquor rewrite)\single_license_balloon.odt

Sn Fed & State
Attachment 1

2.=22=4)

AN ACT concerning alcoholic beverages; relating to retailer's licenses
under the Kansas liquor control act; amending K.S.A. 41-
713 and K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-102, 41-301, 41-303, 41-310, 41-311,

41-313, 41-317, 41-326"and 79-4108 and repealing the existing
sections; also repealing K.S.A. 41-103, 41-308 and 41-711.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Except as otherwise provided in subsection (b),

,41-710

New Section 1. (a) 'On and after July 1, 2011, the total number of
retailer's licenses issued by the director to sell alcoholic liquor shall not
exceed the number of such valid licenses issued as of June 30, 2011.

New Sec. 2. (a

retailer's license shall allow the licensee to sell and
offer for sale at retail and deliver in the original package, as therein
prescribed, alcoholic liquor for use or consumption off of and away from

A retailer's license shall permit the sale and delivery of
alcoholic liquor only on the licensed premises and shall not permit the
sale of alcoholic liquor for resale in any form, except that the licensee
may:

(1) Sell alcoholic liquor to a temporary permit holder for resale by
such temporary permit holder; and

(2) sell and deliver alcoholic liquor to a caterer or to the licensed
premises of a club or drinking establishment, if such premises are in the
county where the retailer's licensed premises are located or in an adjacent
county, for resale by such caterer, club or drinking establishment.

the iremises specified in such license.

®)

(1) When the premises to be licensed is located in a county in which there is
one or more licensed premises at the time the application for a retailer's license
is submitted to the director, the director shall issue a license to a qualified
applicant only if the percentage of population growth for such county is equal to
or greater than the percentage of retailer's license growth in such county.

(A) The percentage of population growth shall be determined as follows:

(i) Divide the population of such county as of the previous July 1 by the
population of such county on July 1 of the year in which the last retailer's
license was issued for a premises located in such county; and

(ii) subtract one from the resulting quotient. The resulting difference is the
percentage of population growth.

The population of the county shall be the population as certified to the
secretary of state by the director of the division of the budget on J uly 1 in
accordance with K.S.A 11-201, and amendments thereto.

(B) The percentage of retailer's license growth shall be determined as
follows:

(i) Add one to the number of existing retailer's licenses issued for premises
located in such county;

(i) divide the sum determined under (i) by the number of existing retailer's
licenses issued for premises located in such county; and

(iii) subtract one from the resulting quotient. The resulting difference is the
percentage of retailer's license growth.

(2) When the premises to be licensed is located in a county in which there
is no existing licensed premises at the time the application for a retailer's license
is submitted to the director, the director shall issue a retailer's license to a
qualified applicant who meets all of the requirements of the Kansas liquor
control act.

A retailer's license transferred pursuant to section 3, and amendments thereto,
shall not be considered a new retailer's license for the purposes of this section.
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(d) A retailer's BIESSHg licensee may:
(1) Charge a delivery fee for delivery of alcoholic liquor to a caterer,

club or drinking establishment pursuant to subsection .E

(2) sell lottery tickets and shares to the public in accordance with
the Kansas lottery act, if the licensee is selected as a lottery retailer;

(3) include in the sale of alcoholic liquor any goods included by the
manufacturer in packaging with the alcoholic liquor, subject to the
approval of the director;

(4) distribute to the public, without charge, consumer advertising
specialities bearing advertising matter, subject to rules and regulations of
the secretary limiting the form and distribution of such specialities so that
they are not conditioned on or an inducement to the purchase of alcoholic
liquor;

(5) store alcoholic liquor in refrigerators, cold storage units, ice
boxes or other cooling devices, and sell such alcoholic liquor to
consumers in a chilled condition; and

(6) sell any other good or service on the licensed premises.

New Sec. 3. (a) On and after January 1, 2012, any licensee holding
a valid retailer's BIBOI license may transfer such license to any person
qualified to hold such license under the Kansas liquor control act. The
transferee's proposed premises to be licensed shall be located in the same

(2)

county as the licensed premises of the transferor.

(b) Any transfer of a license pursuant to this section shall be
approved by the director. The director may require the transferor, the
transferee, or both, to submit such information as the director deems
necessary in order to determine that the license transfer satisfies the
requirements of the Kansas liquor control act. Such information shall be
submitted in the manner and on such forms as prescribed by the director,
and may include, but shall not be limited to, such information concerning
the transferee that shows such transferee is qualified to hold a retailer's
class C license and a copy of the agreement to transfer the license.

(c) On the effective date of the transfer of a license in accordance
with this section the director shall issue a retailer's - license to the
transferee. Such license shall be issued for the premises of the transferee
as stated in the transfer agreement. The term of such license shall be for
the remainder of the term of the license held by the transferor
immediately prior to the effective date of the transfer. The director shall
not require the payment of any new or additional retailer's - license
fee by the transferee. The transferee shall pay a transfer fee in the amount
of $25, which fee shall be submitted to the director at the same time the

request for airoval of the transfer is submitted to the director.

The parties to any such transfer agreement may agree to include any
existing inventory as part of the transfer agreement. In such event
the price of such existing inventory shall be one-half of the price of
such inventory paid to the distributor as set forth on the invoice for
such inventory.
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The provisions of sections 1 through I, and

New Sec. €

amendments thero, shall be a part of and supplemental to the Kansas
liquor control act.
Sec 816!

K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-102 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 41-102. As used in this act, unless the context clearly requires
otherwise:

(a) "Alcohol" means the product of distillation of any fermented
liquid, whether rectified or diluted, whatever its origin, and includes
synthetic ethyl alcohol but does not include denatured alcohol or wood
alcohol.

(b) "Alcoholic liquor" means alcohol, spirits, wine, beer and every
liquid or solid, patented or not, containing alcohol, spirits, wine or beer
and capable of being consumed as a beverage by a human being, but shall
not include any cereal malt beverage.

(c) "Beer" means a beverage, containing more than 3.2% alcohol by
weight, obtained by alcoholic fermentation of an infusion or concoction
of barley, or other grain, malt and hops in water and includes beer, ale,
stout, lager beer, porter and similar beverages having such alcoholic
content.

(d) "Caterer" has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 41-2601, and
amendments thereto.

(e) "Cereal malt beverage" has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 41-

New Sec. 4. A retailer's licensee that sells goods or services
other than alcoholic liquor pursuant to subsection (d)(6) of section
2, and amendments thereto, shall display all alcoholic liquor as
follows:

(a) In aroom or area of the licensed premises that is separated
from the rest of the premises by solid walls. Such separate room or
area may have an open doorway for access to and from the rest of
the licensed premises and may have windows; or

(b) in a locked display counter or cooler located within the
licensed premises.

And by renumbering the remaining sections accordingly
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2701, and amendments thereto.

() "Club" has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 41-2601, and
amendments thereto.

(g) "Director" means the director of alcoholic beverage control of
the department of revenue.

(h) "Distributor" means the person importing or causing to be
imported into the state, or purchasing or causing to be purchased within
the state, alcoholic liquor for sale or resale to retailers licensed under this
act or cereal malt beverage for sale or resale to retailers licensed under
K.S.A. 41-2702, and amendments thereto.

(i) "Domestic beer" means beer which contains not more than 8%
alcohol by weight and which is manufactured in this state.

() "Domestic fortified wine" means wine which contains more than
14%, but not more than 20% alcohol by volume and which is
manufactured in this state.

(k) "Domestic table wine" means wine which contains not more than
14% alcohol by volume and which is manufactured without rectification
or fortification in this state.

(1) "Drinking establishment" has the meaning provided by K.S.A.
41-2601, and amendments thereto.

(m) "Farm winery" means a winery licensed by the director to
manufacture, store and sell domestic table wine and domestic fortified
wine.

(n) "Manufacture" means to distill, rectify, ferment, brew, make,
mix, concoct, process, blend, bottle or fill an original package with any
alcoholic liquor, beer or cereal malt beverage.

(0) (1) "Manufacturer” means every brewer, fermenter, distiller,
rectifier, wine maker, blender, processor, bottler or person who fills or
refills an original package and others engaged in brewing, fermenting,
distilling, rectifying or bottling alcoholic liquor, beer or cereal malt
beverage.

(2) "Manufacturer” does not include a microbrewery or a farm
winery.

(p) "Microbrewery" means a brewery licensed by the director to
manufacture, store and sell domestic beer.

(9) "Minor" means any person under 21 years of age.

(r) "Nonbeverage user" means any manufacturer of any of the
products set forth and described in K.S.A. 41-501, and amendments
thereto, when the products contain alcohol or wine, and all laboratories
using alcohol for nonbeverage purposes.

(s) "Original package" means any bottle, flask, jug, can, cask, barrel,
keg, hogshead or other receptacle or container whatsoever, used, corked
or capped, sealed and labeled by the manufacturer of alcoholic liquor, to
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contain and to convey any alcoholic liquor. Original container does not
include a sleeve.

(t) "Person" means any natural person, corporation, partnership, trust
or association.

(u) "Primary American source of supply" means the manufacturer,
the owner of alcoholic liquor at the time it becomes a marketable product
or the manufacturer's or owner's exclusive agent who, if the alcoholic
liquor cannot be secured directly from such manufacturer or owner by
American wholesalers, is the source closest to such manufacturer or
owner in the channel of commerce from which the product can be secured
by American wholesalers.

(v) (1) "Retailer" means a person who sells at retail, or offers for
sale at retail, alcoholic liquors.

(2) "Retailer" does not include a microbrewery or a farm winery.

w) . "Retailer's license” means a license to sell at retail alcoholic
liquor in the original package issued pursuant to the Kansas liquor
control act.

&9 (x)  "Sale" means any transfer, exchange or barter in any manner
or by any means whatsoever for a consideration and includes all sales
made by any person, whether principal, proprietor, agent, servant or
employee.

&> () "Salesperson" means any natural person who:

(1) Procures or seeks to procure an order, bargain, contract or
agreement for the sale of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage; or

(2) 1is engaged in promoting the sale of alcoholic liquor or cereal
malt beverage, or in promoting the business of any person, firm or
corporation engaged in the manufacturing and selling of alcoholic liquor
or cereal malt beverage, whether the seller resides within the state of
Kansas and sells to licensed buyers within the state of Kansas, or whether
the seller resides without the state of Kansas and sells to licensed buyers
within the state of Kansas.

&3 (z) "Secretary" means the secretary of revenue.

) (aa) (1) "Sell at retail" and "sale at retail" refer to and mean sales
for use or consumption and not for resale in any form and sales to clubs,
licensed drinking establishments, licensed caterers or holders of
temporary permits.

(2) "Sell at retail" and "sale at retail" do not refer to or mean sales by
a distributor, a microbrewery, a farm winery, a licensed club, a licensed
drinking establishment, a licensed caterer or a holder of a temporary
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permit.

aa) (bb) "To sell" includes to solicit or receive an order for, to keep
or expose for sale and to keep with intent to sell.

@b} (cc) "Sleeve" means a package of two or more 50-milliliter
(3.2-fluid-ounce) containers of spirits.

ee) (dd) "Spirits" means any beverage which contains alcohol
obtained by distillation, mixed with water or other substance in solution,
and includes brandy, rum, whiskey, gin or other spirituous liquors, and
such liquors when rectified, blended or otherwise mixed with alcohol or
other substances.

(dd) (ee) "Supplier" means a manufacturer of alcoholic liquor or
cereal malt beverage or an agent of such manufacturer, other than a
salesperson.

ee) (f) "Temporary permit" has the meaning provided by K.S.A.
41-2601, and amendments thereto.

&5 (gg) "Wine" means any alcoholic beverage obtained by the
normal alcoholic fermentation of the juice of sound, ripe grapes, fruits,
berries or other agricultural products, including such beverages
containing added alcohol or spirits or containing sugar added for the
purpose of correcting natural deficiencies.

Sec. On and after January 1, 2012, K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-301 is

hereby amended to read as follows 41-301. {a)—E*eept—as—pfewded—by

@) (a) No retailer's license shall be issued for premises within a city
if the governing body of such city, on or before February 15, 2006, adepts
adopted an ordinance prohibiting the licensing of the sale at retail of
alcohohc 11quor in the ongmal package w1th1n such c1ty Upeﬂ—adepﬁeﬂ

B
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€} (b) No retailer's license shall be issued for premises within a city
if, after November 15, 2005, a majority of the qualified voters of such
city voting at an election held as provided by K.S.A. 41-302, and
amendments thereto, votes against the licensing of the sale at retail of
alcoholic liquor in the original package within such city unless, at a
subsequent election, a majority of the qualified voters of such city voting
at such election votes in favor of the licensing of the sale at retail of
alcoholic liquor in the original package within such city.

Sec. On and after January 1, 2012, K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-303
is hereby amended to read as follows 41 303 (a) Cllhe—dtfeeter—may—issee

Ne—such No retailer's license shall be issued te-any-applicant-under
this—seetion for premises not located in an incorporated city unless the
board of county commissioners of the county in which the premises for
which licensure is sought are located adopts a resolution approving the
issuance of such license. A certified copy of such resolution shall

accompany the apphcatxon for a such license au&hemed—by—t-has—seet—teﬂ-

e (b) Any fet»ar} retazlers hcense 1ssued prior to the effectlve date
of this act for premises not located in an incorporated city shall continue
to be valid and such premises shall continue to be eligible for licensure if
the board of county commissioners of the county in which the premises
are located has adopted a resolution approving the issuance of such
hcense A certified copy of such resolutlon shall accompany the
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Sec. K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-310 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 41-310. (a) At the time application is made to the director for a
license of any class, the applicant shall pay the fee provided by this
section.

(b) The fee for a manufacturer's license to manufacture alcohol and
spirits shall be $5,000.

(c) The fee for a manufacturer's license to manufacture beer and
cereal malt beverage shall be:

(1) For 1 to 100 barrel daily capacity or any part thereof, $400.

(2) For 100 to 150 barrel daily capacity, $800.

(3) For 150 to 200 barrel daily capacity, $1,400.

(4) For 200 to 300 barrel daily capacity, $2,000.

(5) For 300 to 400 barrel daily capacity, $2,600.

(6) For 400 to 500 barrel daily capacity, $2,800.

(7) For 500 or more barrel daily capacity, $3,200.

As used in this subsection, "daily capacity" means the average daily
barrel production for the previous 12 months of manufacturing operation.
If no basis for comparison exists, the licensee shall pay in advance for
operation during the first term of the license a fee of $2,000.

(d) The fee for a manufacturer's license to manufacture wine shall be
$1,000.

(e) (1) The fee for a microbrewery license or a farm winery license
shall be $500.

(2) The fee for a winery outlet license shall be $100.

(3) The fee for a microbrewery packaging and warehousing facility
license shall be $200.

(f) The fee for a spirits distributor's license for the first and each
additional distributing place of business operated in this state by the
licensee and wholesaling and jobbing spirits shall be $2,000.

(g) The fee for a wine distributor's license for the first and each
additional distributing place of business operated in this state by the
licensee and wholesaling and jobbing wine shall be $2,000.

(h) The fee for a beer distributor's license, for the first and each
additional wholesale distributing place of business operated in this state
by the licensee and wholesaling or jobbing beer and cereal malt beverage
shall be $2,000.

(i) The fee for a nonbeverage user's license shall be:

(1) Forclass 1, $20.

(2) For class 2, $100.

(3) Forclass 3, $200.

(4) For class 4, $400.

(5) Forclass 5, $1,000.
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() In addition to the license fees prescribed by subsections (b), (c),
(), (), (g), (h) and (i):

(1) Any city in which the licensed premises are located may levy
and collect a biennial occupation or license tax on the licensee in an
amount not exceeding the amount of the license fee required to be paid
under this act to obtain the license, but no city shall impose an occupation
or privilege tax on the licensee in excess of that amount; and

(2) any township in which the licensed premises are located may
levy and collect a biennial occupation or license tax on the licensee in an
amount not exceeding the amount of the license fee required to be paid
under this act to obtain the license, but no township shall impose an
occupation or privilege tax on the licensee in excess of that amount; the
township board of the township is authorized to fix and impose the tax
and the tax shall be paid by the licensee to the township treasurer, who
shall issue a receipt therefor to the licensee and shall cause the tax paid to

be placed in the general fund of the township.
g R e —

license shall be $500.

(1) In addition to the license fee prescribed by subsection (k):

(1) Any city in which the licensed premises are located may levy
and collect a biennial occupation or license tax on the licensee in an
amount not less than $200 nor more than $600, but no other occupation or
excise tax or license fee shall be levied by any city against or collected
from the licensee; and

(2) any township in which the licensed premises are located may
levy and collect a biennial occupation or license tax on the licensee in an
amount not less than $200 nor more than $600; the township board of the
township is authorized to fix and impose the tax and the tax shall be paid
by the licensee to the township treasurer, who shall issue a receipt
therefor to the licensee and shall cause the tax paid to be placed in the
general fund of the township.

(m) The license term for a license shall commence on the date the
license is issued by the director and shall end two years after that date.
The director may, at the director's sole discretion and after examination of
the circumstances, extend the license term of any license for not more
than 30 days beyond the date such license would expire pursuant to this
section. Any extension of the license term by the director pursuant to this
section shall automatically extend the due date for payment by the

10
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licensee of any occupation or license tax levied by a city or township
pursuant to this section by the same number of days the director has
extended the license term.

Sec JIBF10! K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-311 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 41-311. (a) No license of any kind shall be issued pursuant to the
liquor control act to a-pesser an individual:

(1) Who has not been a citizen of the United States for at least 10
years, except that the spouse of a deceased retail licensee may receive and
renew a retail license notwithstanding the provisions of this subsection (a)
(1) if such spouse is otherwise qualified to hold a retail license and is a
United States citizen or becomes a United States citizen within one year
after the deceased licensee's death;

(2) who has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state,
any other state or the United States;

(3) who has had a license revoked for cause under the provisions of
the liquor control act, the beer and cereal malt beverage keg registration
act or who has had any license issued under the cereal malt beverage laws
of any state revoked for cause except that a license may be issued to a
person whose license was revoked for the conviction of a misdemeanor at
any time after the lapse of 10 years following the date of the revocation;

(4) who has been convicted of being the keeper or is keeping a
house of prostitution or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer
charges of being a keeper of a house of prostitution;

(5) who has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gambling
house, pandering or any other crime opposed to decency and morality or
has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges for any of those
crimes;

(6) who is not at least 21 years of age;

(7) who, other than as a member of the governing body of a city or
county, appoints or supervises any law enforcement officer, who is a law
enforcement official or who is an employee of the director;

(8) who intends to carry on the business authorized by the license as
agent of another;

(9) who at the time of application for renewal of any license issued
under this act would not be eligible for the license upon a first
application, except as provided by subsection (2)(12);

(10) who is the holder of a valid and existing license issued under
article 27 of chapter 41 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and
amendments thereto, unless the person agrees to and does surrender the
license to the officer issuing the same upon the issuance to the person of a
license under this act, except that a retailer licensed pursuant to K.S.A.
41-2702, and amendments thereto, shall be eligible to receive a retailer's
license under the Kansas liquor control act;
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(11) who does not own the premises for which a license is sought, or
does not, at the time of application, have a written lease thereon;

(12) whose spouse would be ineligible to receive a license under this
act for any reason other than citizenship, residence requirements or age,
except that this subsection (a)(12) shall not apply in determining
eligibility for a renewal license;

(13) whose spouse has been convicted of a felony or other crime
which would disqualify a person from licensure under this section and
such felony or other crime was committed during the time that the spouse
held a license under this act; or

(14) who does not provide any data or information required by
K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-311b, and amendments thereto.

(b) (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), no retailer's license
shall be issued to:

€3 (4) A person who is not a resident of this state;

€3 (B) a person who has not been a resident of this state for at least
four years immediately preceding the date of application;

&) (C) a person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer,
distributor, farm winery or microbrewery licensed under this act, except
that the spouse of an applicant for a retailer's license may own and hold a
farm winery license, microbrewery license, or both, if the spouse does not
hold a retailer's license issued under this act;

) (D) a person who has a beneficial interest in any other retail
establishment licensed under this act, except that the spouse of a licensee
may own and hold a retailer's license for another retail establishment;

€3} (E) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to
obtain a license;

€} (F) a corporation; or

A (G) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be
ineligible to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the
provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a
beneficiary would be eligible for a license.

(2) On and after January 1, 2012, the provisions of paragraph (1)
shall have no force and effect, and on and after such date, no retailer's
license shall be issued to a person who has a beneficial interest in a
manufacturer, distributor, farm winery or microbrewery licensed under
this act, except that the spouse of an applicant for a retailer’s license may
own and hold a farm winery license, microbrewery license, or both, if the
spouse does not hold a retailer’s license issued under this act.

(¢) No manufacturer's license shall be issued to:

(1) A corporation, if any officer or director thereof, or any
stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock of the
corporation would be ineligible to receive a manufacturer's license for

|-
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any reason other than citizenship and residence requirements;

(2) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners shall have been
residents of this state for at least five years immediately preceding the
date of application and unless all the members of the copartnership would
be eligible to receive a manufacturer's license under this act;

(3) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible
to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the
provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a
beneficiary would be eligible for a license;

(4) an individual who is not a resident of this state;

(5) an individual who has not been a resident of this state for at least
five years immediately preceding the date of application; or

(6) a person who has a beneficial interest in a distributor, retailer,
farm winery or microbrewery licensed under this act, except as provided
inK.S.A. 41-305, and amendments thereto.

(d) No distributor's license shall be issued to:

(1) A corporation, if any officer, director or stockholder of the
corporation would be ineligible to receive a distributor's license for any
reason. It shall be unlawful for any stockholder of a corporation licensed
as a distributor to transfer any stock in the corporation to any person who
would be ineligible to receive a distributor's license for any reason, and
any such transfer shall be null and void, except that: (A) If any
stockholder owning stock in the corporation dies and an heir or devisee to
whom stock of the corporation descends by descent and distribution or by
will is ineligible to receive a distributor's license, the legal representatives
of the deceased stockholder's estate and the ineligible heir or devisee shall
have 14 months from the date of the death of the stockholder within
which to sell the stock to a person eligible to receive a distributor's
license, any such sale by a legal representative to be made in accordance
with the provisions of the probate code; or (B) if the stock in any such
corporation is the subject of any trust and any trustee or beneficiary of the
trust who is 21 years of age or older is ineligible to receive a distributor's
license, the trustee, within 14 months after the effective date of the trust,
shall sell the stock to a person eligible to receive a distributor's license
and hold and disburse the proceeds in accordance with the terms of the
trust. If any legal representatives, heirs, devisees or trustees fail, refuse or
neglect to sell any stock as required by this subsection, the stock shall
revert to and become the property of the corporation, and the corporation
shall pay to the legal representatives, heirs, devisees or trustees the book
value of the stock. During the period of 14 months prescribed by this
subsection, the corporation shall not be denied a distributor's license or
have its distributor's license revoked if the corporation meets all of the
other requirements necessary to have a distributor's license;

[-13
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(2) a copartmership, unless all of the copartners are eligible to
receive a distributor’s license;

(3) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible
to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the
provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a
beneficiary would be eligible for a license; or

(4) a person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer, retailer,
farm winery or microbrewery licensed under this act.

(e) No nonbeverage user's license shall be issued to a corporation, if
any officer, manager or director of the corporation or any stockholder
owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock of the corporation
would be ineligible to receive a nonbeverage user's license for any reason
other than citizenship and residence requirements.

(f) No microbrewery license or farm winery license shall be issued
to a:

(1) Person who is not a resident of this state;

(2) person who has not been a resident of this state for at least one
year immediately preceding the date of application;

(3) person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer or
distributor licensed under this act, except as provided in K.S.A. 41-305,
and amendments thereto;

(4) person, copartnership or association which has a beneficial
interest in any retailer licensed under this act or under K.S.A. 41-2702,
and amendments thereto, except that the spouse of an applicant for a
microbrewery or farm winery license may own and hold a retailer's
license if the spouse does not hold a microbrewery or farm winery license
issued under this act;

(5) copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to obtain
a license;

(6) corporation, unless stockholders owning in the aggregate 50% or
more of the stock of the corporation would be eligible to receive such
license and all other stockholders would be eligible to receive such
license except for reason of citizenship or residency; or

(7) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible
to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the
provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a
beneficiary would be eligible for a license.

() The provisions of subsections (b)(1), (b)(2), (c)(3), (c)4), ()(3),
(), (H(2) and K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-311b, and amendments thereto,
shall not apply in determining eligibility for the 10th, or a subsequent,
consecutive renewal of a license if the applicant has appointed a citizen of
the United States who is a resident of Kansas as the applicant's agent and
filed with the director a duly authenticated copy of a duly executed power
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of attorney, authorizing the agent to accept service of process from the
director and the courts of this state and to exercise full authority, control
and responsibility for the conduct of all business and transactions within
the state relative to alcoholic liquor and the business licensed. The agent
must be satisfactory to and approved by the director, except that the
director shall not approve as an agent any person who:

(1) Has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state, any
other state or the United States;

(2) has had a license issued under the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt
beverage laws of this or any other state revoked for cause, except that a
person may be appointed as an agent if the person's license was revoked
for the conviction of a misdemeanor and 10 years have lapsed since the
date of the revocation;

(3) has been convicted of being the keeper or is keeping a house of
prostitution or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges of
being a keeper of a house of prostitution;

(4) has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gambling house,
pandering or any other crime opposed to decency and morality or has
forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges for any of those
crimes; or

(5) isless than 21 years of age.

SecJIPTTl On and after January 1, 2012, K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-
313 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-313. (a) No corporation,
either organized under the laws of this state, any other state or a foreign
country, shall be issued a retailer's, manufacturer's, distributor's,
microbrewery or farm winery license unless the corporation has first
procured a certificate of authority from the secretary of state to do
business in this state as provided by law, appointed a citizen of the United
States, and resident of Kansas, as its agent and filed with the director a
duly authenticated copy of a duly executed power of attorney, authorizing
the agent to accept service of process from the director and the courts of
this state and to exercise full authority of the corporation and full
authority, control and responsibility for the conduct of all business and
transactions of the corporation within the state relative to alcoholic liquor
and the business licensed. The agent must be satisfactory to and approved
by the director with respect to the agent's character. The agent shall at all
times be maintained by the corporation.

In addition, any corporation organized under the laws of any other
state or foreign country, as a condition precedent to the issuance to it of
any license, shall file with the secretary of state of the state of Kansas, a
duly authorized and executed power of attorney, authorizing the secretary
of state to accept service of process from the director and the courts of
this state and to accept service of any notice or order provided for in this

[-15



O 00O A W

W W W LW LW LW W WIRMNDRNDNDNDDNDRNDRNDNDDN G = et e e e e
N AN NDWNN = OVOIANNRARWNOROWOVOIONWPDWN-=O

-

41
42
43

SB 54 16

act, and all such acts by the secretary of state shall be fully binding upon
the corporation.

(b) Every nonresident applicant on applying for a license or permit
under this act, and as a condition precedent to obtaining such license or
permit, shall file with the secretary of state of this state its written
consent, irrevocable, that any action or garnishment proceeding may be
commenced against such applicant in the proper court of any county in
this state in which the cause of action shall arise or in which the plaintiff
may reside by the service of process on the resident agent specified in
subsection (a), and stipulating and agreeing that such service shall be
taken and held in all courts to be as valid and binding as if due service
had been made upon the applicant. The written consent shall state that the
courts of this state have jurisdiction over the person of such applicant and
are the proper and convenient forum for such action and shall waive the
right to request a change of jurisdiction or venue to a court outside this
state and that all actions arising under this act and commenced by the
applicant shall be brought in this state's courts as the proper and
convenient forum. Such consent shall be executed by the applicant and if
a corporation, by the president and secretary of the corporate applicant,
and shall be accompanied by a duly certified copy of the order or
resolution of the board of directors, trustees or managers authorizing the
president and secretary to execute the same.

Sec JilBlliZ] K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-317 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 41-317. (a) Applications for all licenses under this act shall be
completed and submitted to the director in a manner prescribed by the
director. Each applicant shall submit an application fee of $50 for each
initial application and $10 for each renewal application to defray the cost
of processing the application.

(b) Each applicant shall submit to the division of alcoholic beverage
control the full amount of the application fee and:

(1) The full amount of the license fee required to be paid for the kind
of license specified in the application; or

(2) one-half of the full amount of the license fee required to be paid
for the kind of license specified in the application.

(c) If the applicant elects to pay only one-half of the license fee
pursuant to subsection (b)(2), the remaining one-half of the license fee
plus 10% of such remaining balance shall be due and payable one year
from the date of issuance of the license. Notwithstanding any other
provision of law, failure to pay the full amount due under this paragraph
on the date it is due shall result in the automatic cancellation of such
license for the remainder of the license term. The director may, at the
director's sole discretion and after examination of the circumstances,
extend the date payment is due pursuant to this paragraph for not more

| -l
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than 30 days beyond the date such payment is originally due.

(d) Any license fee paid by an applicant shall be returned to the
applicant if the application is denied.

(¢) Payment of all fees required to be paid pursuant to this section
may be made by personal, certified or cashier's check, United States post
office money order, debit or credit card or cash, or by electronic payment
authorized by the applicant in a manner prescribed by the director.

(f) All fees received by the director pursuant to this section shall be
remitted by the director to the state treasurer in accordance with the
provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of
each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in
the state treasury to the credit of the state general fund.

(g) Every applicant for a manufacturer's, distributor's, nonbeverage
user's, microbrewery, farm winery, retailer's or special order shipping
license shall file with the application a joint and several bond on a form
prescribed by the director and executed by good and sufficient corporate
sureties licensed to do business within the state of Kansas to the director,
in the following amounts:

(1) For a manufacturer, $25,000;

(2) for a spirits distributor, $15,000 or an amount equal to the
highest monthly liability of the distributor for taxes imposed by the
Kansas liquor control act for any of the 12 months immediately prior to
renewal of the distributor's license, whichever amount is greater;

(3) for a beer or wine distributor, $5,000 or an amount equal to the
highest monthly liability of the distributor for taxes imposed by the
Kansas liquor control act for any of the 12 months immediately prior to
renewal of the distributor's license, whichever amount is greater;

@) For a retailer,

$2,000;

(5) for nonbeverage users, $200 for class 1, $500 for class 2, $1,000
for class 3, $5,000 for class 4 and $10,000 for class 5;

(6) for a microbrewery or a farm winery, $2,000; and

(7) for a winery holding a special order shipping license, $750,
unless the winery has already complied with subsection (g)(6).

If a distributor holds or applies for more than one distributor's license,
only one bond for all such licenses shall be required, which bond shall be
in an amount equal to the highest applicable bond.

(h) All bonds required by this section shall be conditioned on the
licensee's compliance with the provisions of this act and payment of all
taxes, fees, fines and forfeitures which may be assessed against the
licensee.

[T
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Sec.Jl#13] K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-326 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 41-326. Except as otherwise provided by law, a license shall be
purely a personal privilege, valid for not to exceed two years after
issuance, exceptas—otherwise-provided-bylaws unless sooner suspended
or revoked, and shall not constitute property, nor shall it be subject to
attachment, garnishment or execution, nor shall it be alienable or
transferable, voluntarily or involuntarily, or subject to being encumbered
or hypothecated. A license shall not descend by the laws of testate or
intestate devolution but shall cease and expire upon the death of the
licensee except that executors, administrators or representatives of the
estate of any deceased licensee and the trustee of any insolvent or
bankrupt licensee, when such estate consists in part of alcoholic liquor,
may continue the business of the sale, distribution or manufacture of
alcoholic liquor under order of the appropriate court and may exercise the
privilege of the deceased, insolvent or bankrupt licensee after the death of
such decedent, or after such insolvency or bankruptcy, until the expiration
of such license but not longer than one year after the death, bankruptcy or
insolvency of such licensee.

When the licensee pays the full amount of the license fee upon
application and is prevented from operating under such license in
accordance with the provisions of this act for the entire second year of the
license term, a refund shall be made of one-half of the license fee paid by
such licensee. The secretary of revenue may adopt rules and regulations
pursuant to K.S.A. 41-210, and amendments thereto, which provide for
the authorization of refunds of one-half of the license fee paid when the
licensee does not use such license for the entire second year of the license
term as a result of the cancellation of the license upon the request of the
licensee for voluntary reasons.

amended to red as follows: 41-713. It shall be unlawful for a retailer of
alcohohc hquor (1) To penmt any person to mix drinks in or on the

-,' or -| to authorize or allow any person who has been adjudged

Sec. 14. K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-710 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 41-710. (a) No retailer's license shall be issued for
premises unless such premises comply with all applicable zoning
regulations.

(b) No microbrewery license or farm winery license shall be
issued for premises which are zoned for any purpose except
agricultural, commercial or business purposes.

(¢) No retailer's, microbrewery or farm winery license shall be
issued for premises which:

(1) Are located within 200 feet of any public or parochial
school or college or church, except that if any such school, college
or church is established within 200 feet of any licensed premises
after the premises have been licensed, the premises shall be an
eligible location for retail licensing; or

(2) do not conform to all applicable building regulations.

(d) No retailer's license shall be issued for premises which
are located within 500 feet of the property line of the licensed
premises of a retailer's licensee.

And by renumbering the remaining sections accordingly

authorize or allow any person under the age of 21 years to
sell at retail an alcoholic liquor

, or to stock or otherwise handle any alcoholic liquor

guilty of a felony to sell at retail any alcoholic liquor.

Sec. 6. K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 79-4108 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 79-4108. All revenue collected or received by the director of
taxation from taxes imposed by K.S.A. 79-4101 to 79-4105, and

©))
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amendments thereto, shall be remitted to the state treasurer in accordance
with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon
receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire
amount in the state treasury to the credit of the state general fund, except
that 3% of the revenue remitted to the state treasurer during the prior
calendar year quarter and deposited in the state treasury shall be
credited to the local cereal malt beverage sales tax fund, which is hereby
created in the state treasury. Moneys credited to the local cereal malt
beverage sales tax fund shall be distributed quarterly as part of the
January, April, July and October sales tax distribution to each city and
county which levied a local retailers' sales tax. The amount to be
distributed to each city and county shall be determined by the department
of revenue based on a weighted population average. The weighted
population average shall be computed by multiplying the total tax rate in
effect for the city or county by the population of such city or county. The
weighted population average for each city and county shall then be
divided by the total Kansas population. The resulting quotient is the
percentage of distribution for such city or county. The population data
shall be updated annually with the issuance of the certified population
data through the division of the budget. The state treasurer shall transfer
any moneys remaining in the county and city alcoholic liquor control
enforcement fund on the effective date of this act to the state general
fund.

Sec Jli7] K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-102, 41-310, 41-311, 41-317, 41-

326jand 79-4108 are hereby repealed.
m On January 1, 2012, K.S.A. 41-103, BIE804, 41-308, 41-
711 and 41-713 and K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-301, 41-303 and 41-313 are

hereby repealed.
SecJBlF19. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after

its publication in the statute book.

,41-710
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Session of 2011
SENATE BILL No. 54

By Committee on Federal and State Affairs

1-25

AN ACT concerning alcoholic beverages; relating to retailer's licenses
under the Kansas liquor control act; amending K.S.A. 41-304 and 41-
713 and K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-102, 41-301, 41-303, 41-310, 41-311,
41-313, 41-317, 41-326 and 79-4108 and repealing the existing
sections; also repealing K.S.A. 41-103,41-308 and 41-711.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:
New Section 1. (a) On and after July 1, 2011, the total number of

retailer's licenses issued by the director to sell alcoholic liquor shall not

exceed the number of such valid licenses issued as of June 30, 2011.

(b) From July 1, 2011, to December 31, 2011, the director may only
issue a retailer's license to sell alcoholic liquor to a qualified applicant if
the issuance of such license would not cause the total number of such
valid licenses issued to exceed the number determined pursuant to
subsection (a).

Balloon to extend cap to 5 years

Prepared by: Jason B. Long

H:\StaffDocs\Jason\SB 54 (Retailer liquor rewrite)\Syr_cap_balloon.odt

Sn Fed & State
Attachment 2

(¢) From January 1, 2012, to December 31, -, the total number
of retailer's class C licenses issued by the director shall not exceed the
number determined pursuant to subsection (a).

New Sec. 2. (a) On and after January 1, 2012, all retailer's licenses
to sell alcoholic liquor issued by the director prior to such date shall be
deemed to be retailer's class C licenses.

(b) A retailer's class C license shall allow the licensee to sell and
offer for sale at retail and deliver in the original package, as therein
prescribed, alcoholic liquor for use or consumption off of and away from
the premises specified in such license.

(c) A retailer's class C license shall permit the sale and delivery of
alcoholic liquor only on the licensed premises and shall not permit the
sale of alcoholic liquor for resale in any form, except that the licensee
may:

(1) Sell alcoholic liquor to a temporary permit holder for resale by
such temporary permit holder; and

(2) sell and deliver alcoholic liquor to a caterer or to the licensed
premises of a club or drinking establishment, if such premises are in the
county where the retailer's licensed premises are located or in an adjacent
county, for resale by such caterer, club or drinking establishment.

(d) Aretailer's class C licensee may:

2016
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(1) Charge a delivery fee for delivery of alcoholic liquor to a caterer,
club or drinking establishment pursuant to subsection (b);

(2) sell lottery tickets and shares to the public in accordance with
the Kansas lottery act, if the licensee is selected as a lottery retailer;

(3) include in the sale of alcoholic liquor any goods included by the
manufacturer in packaging with the-alcoholic liquor, subject to the
approval of the director;

(4) distribute to the public, without charge, consumer advertising
specialities bearing advertising matter, subject to rules and regulations of
the secretary limiting the form and distribution of such specialities so that
they are not conditioned on or an inducement to the purchase of alcoholic
liquor;

(5) store alcoholic liquor in refrigerators, cold storage units, ice
boxes or other cooling devices, and sell such alcoholic liquor to
consumers in a chilled condition; and

(6) sell any other good or service on the licensed premises.

New Sec. 3. (a) On and after January 1, 2012, any licensee holding
a valid retailer's class C license may transfer such license to any person
qualified to hold such license under the Kansas liquor control act. The
transferee's proposed premises to be licensed shall be located in the same
county as the licensed premises of the transferor.

(b) Any transfer of a license pursuant to this section shall be
approved by the director. The director may require the transferor, the
transferee, or both, to submit such information as the director deems
necessary in order to determine that the license transfer satisfies the
requirements of the Kansas liquor control act. Such information shall be
submitted in the manner and on such forms as prescribed by the director,
and may include, but shall not be limited to, such information concerning
the transferee that shows such transferee is qualified to hold a retailer's
class C license and a copy of the agreement to transfer the license.

(¢) On the effective date of the transfer of a license in accordance
with this section the director shall issue a retailer's class C license to the
transferee. Such license shall be issued for the premises of the transferee
as stated in the transfer agreement. The term of such license shall be for
the remainder of the term of the license held by the transferor
immediately prior to the effective date of the transfer. The director shall
not require the payment of any new or additional retailer's class C license
fee by the transferee. The transferee shall pay a transfer fee in the amount
of $25, which fee shall be submitted to the director at the same time the
request for approval of the transfer is submitted to the director.

New Sec. 4. (a) On and after January 1, 2012, the director may
issue to qualified applicants a retailer's class A license. A retailer’s class A
license shall allow the licensee to sell and offer for sale at retail and
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deliver in the original package, as therein prescribed, beer for use or
consumption off of and away from the premises specified in such license.

(b) A retailer's class A license shall permit the sale and delivery of
beer only on the licensed premises and shall not permit the sale of beer
for resale in any form, except that the licensee may:

(1) Sell beer to a temporary permit holder for resale by such
temporary permit holder; and

(2) sell and deliver beer to a caterer or to the licensed premises of a
club or drinking establishment, if such premises are in the county where
the retailer's licensed premises are located or in an adjacent county, for
resale by such caterer, club or drinking establishment.

(¢) Aretailer's class A licensee may:

(1) Charge a delivery fee for delivery of beer to a caterer, club or
drinking establishment pursuant to subsection (b);

(2) sell lottery tickets and shares to the public in accordance with
the Kansas lottery act, if the licensee is selected as a lottery retailer;

(3) include in the sale of beer any goods included by the
manufacturer in packaging with the beer, subject to the approval of the
director;

(4) distribute to the public, without charge, consumer advertising
specialities bearing advertising matter, subject to rules and regulations of
the secretary limiting the form and distribution of such specialities so that
they are not conditioned on or an inducement to the purchase of beer;

(5) store beer in refrigerators, cold storage units, ice boxes or other
cooling devices, and sell such beer to consumers in a chilled condition;
and

(6) sell any other good or service on the licensed premises.

New Sec. 5. (a) On and after January 1, 2012, the director may issue
to qualified applicants a retailer's class B license. A retailer's class B
license shall allow the licensee to sell and offer for sale at retail and
deliver in the original package, as therein prescribed, beer and wine for
use or consumption off of and away from the premises specified in such
license.

(b) A retailer's class B license shall permit the sale and delivery of
beer and wine only on the licensed premises and shall not permit the sale
of beer and wine for resale in any form, except that the licensee may:

(1) Sell beer and wine to a temporary permit holder for resale by such
temporary permit holder; and

(2) sell and deliver beer and wine to a caterer or to the licensed
premises of a club or drinking establishment, if such premises are in the
county where the retailer's licensed premises are located or in an adjacent
county, for resale by such caterer, club or drinking establishment.

(c) A retailer's class B licensee may:
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(1) Charge a delivery fee for delivery of beer and wine to a caterer,
club or drinking establishment pursuant to subsection (b);

(2) sell lottery tickets and shares to the public in accordance with the
Kansas lottery act, if the licensee is selected as a lottery retailer;

(3) include in the sale of beer and wine any goods included by the
manufacturer in packaging with the beer and wine, subject to the approval
of the director;

(4) distribute to the public, without charge, consumer advertising
specialities bearing advertising matter, subject to rules and regulations of
the secretary limiting the form and distribution of such specialities so that
they are not conditioned on or an inducement to the purchase of beer or
wine;

(5) store beer and wine in refrigerators, cold storage units, ice boxes
or other cooling devices, and sell such beer and wine to consumers in a
chilled condition; and

(6) sell any other good or service on the licensed premises.

New Sec. 6. On and after January 1, -, the director may issue to
qualified applicants a retailer's class C license. A holder of a retailer's
class C license shall have all the privileges granted to such licensees as
set forth in section 2, and amendments thereto.

New Sec. 7. The provisions of sections 1 through 7, and
amendments thereto, shall be a part of and supplemental to the Kansas
liquor control act.

Sec. 8. K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-102 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 41-102. As used in this act, unless the context clearly requires
otherwise:

(a) "Alcohol" means the product of distillation of any fermented
liquid, whether rectified or diluted, whatever its origin, and includes
synthetic ethyl alcohol but does not include denatured alcohol or wood
alcohol.

(b) "Alcoholic liquor" means alcohol, spirits, wine, beer and every
liquid or solid, patented or not, containing alcohol, spirits, wine or beer
and capable of being consumed as a beverage by a human being, but shall
not include any cereal malt beverage.

(c) "Beer" means a beverage, containing more than 3.2% alcohol by
weight, obtained by alcoholic fermentation of an infusion or concoction
of barley, or other grain, malt and hops in water and includes beer, ale,
stout, lager beer, porter and similar beverages having such alcoholic
content.

(d) "Caterer" has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 41-2601, and
amendments thereto.

(e) "Cereal malt beverage" has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 41-
2701, and amendments thereto.

2017
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pursuant to this section by the same number of days the director has
extended the license term.

Sec. 13. K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-311 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 41-311. (a) No license of any kind shall be issued pursuant to the

liquor control act to a-person-mrrirmtridwet

(1) Who has not been a citizen of the United States for at least 10
years, except that the spouse of a deceased retail licensee may receive and
renew a retail license notwithstanding the provisions of this subsection
(a)(1) if such spouse is otherwise qualified to hold a retail license and is a
United States citizen or becomes a United States citizen within one year
after the deceased licensee's death;

(2) who has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state,
any other state or the United States;

(3) who has had a license revoked for cause under the provisions of
the liquor control act, the beer and cereal malt beverage keg registration
act or who has had any license issued under the cereal malt beverage laws
of any state revoked for cause except that a license may be issued to a
person whose license was revoked for the conviction of a misdemeanor at
any time after the lapse of 10 years following the date of the revocation;

(4) who has been convicted of being the keeper or is keeping a
house of prostitution or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer
charges of being a keeper of a house of prostitution;

(5) who has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gambling
house, pandering or any other crime opposed to decency and morality or
has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges for any of those
crimes;

(6) who is not at least 21 years of age;

(7) who, other than as a member of the governing body of a city or
county, appoints or supervises any law enforcement officer, who is a law
enforcement official or who is an employee of the director;

(8) who intends to carry on the business authorized by the license as
agent of another;

(9) who at the time of application for renewal of any license issued
under this act would not be eligible for the license upon a first
application, except as provided by subsection (a)(12);

(10) who is the holder of a valid and existing license issued under
article 27 of chapter 41 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and
amendments therelo, unless the person agrees to and does surrender the
license to the officer issuing the same upon the issuance to the person of a
license under this act, except that a retailer licensed pursuant to K.S.A.
41-2702, and amendments thereto, shall be eligible to receive a retailer's

license under the Kansas liquor control act;

(11) who does not own the premises for which a license is sought, or

a natural person
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does not, at the time of application, have a written lease thereon;

(12) whose spouse would be ineligible to receive a license under this
act for any reason other than citizenship, residence requirements or age,
except that this subsection (a)(12) shall not apply in determining
eligibility for a renewal license;

(13) whose spouse has been convicted of a felony or other crime
which would disqualify a person from licensure under this section and
such felony or other crime was committed during the time that the spouse
held a license under this act; or

(14) who does not provide any data or information required by
K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-311b, and amendments thereto.

(b) (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), no retailer's license
shall be issued to:

(B (4) Aperson who is not a resident of this state;

) (B) a person who has not been a resident of this state for at least
four years immediately preceding the date of application;

&) (C) a person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer,
distributor, farm winery or microbrewery licensed under this act, except
that the spouse of an applicant for a retailer's license may own and hold a
farm winery license, microbrewery license, or both, if the spouse does not
hold a retailer's license issued under this act;

(4) (D) a person who has a beneficial interest in any other retail
establishment licensed under this act, except that the spouse of a licensee
may own and hold a retailer's license for another retail establishment;

() (E) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to
obtain a license;

¢6) (F) a corporation; or

) (G) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be
ineligible to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the
provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a
beneficiary would be eligible for a license.

(2)  On and after January 1, 2012, the provisions of paragraph (1)
shall have no force and effect, and on and after such date, no retailer's

license shall be issuedlto a person who has a beneficial interest in a
manufacturer; distributor, farm winery or microbrewery licensed under
this act, except that the spouse of an applicant for a retailer’s license may
own and hold a farm winery license, microbrewery license, or both, if the

spouse does not hold a retailer's license issued under this acl

(c) No manufacturer's license shall be issued to:

(1) A corporation, if any officer or director thereof, or any
stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock of the
corporation would be ineligible to receive a manufacturer's license for
any reason other than citizenship and residence requirements;

1 (A)

- INSERT ATTACHED
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(B)  to a corporation, if any officer or member of the board of directors or governing body
thereof, or the manager of the licensed premises, would be ineligible to receive a retailer’s license for

any reason specified in subsection (a) other than citizenship requirements;

(C) to a corporation, if any officer or member of the board of directors or governing body
thereof, or the manager of the licensed premises, has been an officer, manager or member of the board

of directors or governing body of a corporation which has had a license revoked under the provisions of

the liquor control act;

(D)  to a person who is not engaged in business as a liquor store, a convenience store or a
grocery store. As used herein: “liquor store” means a store whose primary business is the retail sale of
alcoholic liquor in the original and unopened container and not for consumption on the premises and it
includes stores classified under the north american industry classification system (NAICS) on the
effective date of this act as NAICS 445310; “convenience store” means a retail business with primary
emphasis placed on providing the public a convenient location to quickly purchase from a wide array of
consumable products (predominantly food or food and gasoline) and services, and includes stores
classified on the effective date of this act as either NAICS 44512, convenience stores, or NAICS
447110, gasoline stations with convenience stores; and ‘“grocery store” means a store established

primary for the retailing of food, and includes stores classified under NAICS 445110 on the effective

date of this act;

(E)  to apartnership, unless all of the partners are qualified to obtain a license; and



(F)  to a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee thereof would be ineligible to receive a
retailer’s license for any reason specified in subsection (a) other than the age and citizenship

requirements
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Session of 2011
SENATE BILL No. 54

By Committee on Federal and State Affairs
1-25

AN ACT concerning alcoholic beverages; relating to retailer's licenses
under the Kansas liquor control act; amending K.S.A. 41-304 and 41-
713 and K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-102, 41-301, 41-303, 41-310, 41-311,
41-313, 41-317, 41-326 and 79-4108 and repealing the existing
sections; also repealing K.S.A. 41-103, 41-308 and 41-711.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

New Section 1. (a) On and after July 1, 2011, the total number of
retailer's licenses issued by the director to sell alcoholic liquor shall not
exceed the number of such valid licenses issued as of June 30, 2011.

(b) From July 1, 2011, to December 31, 2011, the director may only
issue a retailer's license to sell alcoholic liquor to a qualified applicant if
the issuance of such license would not cause the total number of such
valid licenses issued to exceed the number determined pursuant to
subsection (a).

(¢) From January 1, 2012, to December 31, 2014, the total number
of retailer's class C licenses issued by the director shall not exceed the
number determined pursuant to subsection (a).

New Sec. 2. (a) On and after January 1, 2012, all retailer's licenses
to sell alcoholic liquor issued by the director prior to such date shall be
deemed to be retailer's class C licenses.

(b) A retailer's class C license shall allow the licensee to sell and
offer for sale at retail and deliver in the original package, as therein
prescribed, alcoholic liquor for use or consumption off of and away from
the premises specified in such license.

(c) A retailer's class C license shall permit the sale and delivery of
alcoholic liquor only on the licensed premises and shall not permit the
sale of alcoholic liquor for resale in any form, except that the licensee
may:

(1) Sell alcoholic liquor to a temporary permit holder for resale by
such temporary permit holder; and

(2) sell and deliver alcoholic liquor to a caterer or to the licensed
premises of a club or drinking establishment, if such premises are in the
county where the retailer's licensed premises are located or in an adjacent
county, for resale by such caterer, club or drinking establishment.

(d) Aretailer's class C licensee may:

Balloon regarding Sec. Of State amendments
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director and the courts of this state and to exercise full authority, control
and responsibility for the conduct of all business and transactions within
the state relative to alcoholic liquor and the business licensed. The agent
must be satisfactory to and approved by the director, except that the
director shall not approve as an agent any person who:

(1) Has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state, any
other state or the United States;

(2) has had a license issued under the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt
beverage laws of this or any other state revoked for cause, except that a
person may be appointed as an agent if the person's license was revoked
for the conviction of a misdemeanor and 10 years have lapsed since the
date of the revocation;

(3) has been convicted of being the keeper or is keeping a house of
prostitution or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges of
being a keeper of a house of prostitution;

(4) has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gambling house,
pandering or any other crime opposed to decency and morality or has
forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges for any of those
crimes; or

(5) 1isless than 21 years of age.

Sec. 14. On and after January 1, 2012, K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-313 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-313. (a) No corporation, either
organized under the laws of this state, any other state or a foreign country,
shall be issued a retailer’s, manufacturer's, distributor's, microbrewery or
farm winery license unless the corporation has first

Ithe secretary of state to do business in this state as
provided by law, appointed a citizen of the United States, and resident of
Kansas, as itsjagent

authorizing the agent to accept
service of process from the director and the courts of this state and to
exercise full authority of the corporation and full authority, control and
responsibility for the conduct of all business and transactions of the
corporation within the state relative to alcoholic liquor and the business
licensed.

The agent shall at all times be
maintained by the corporation.

filed a formation document with

resident

l/t.ﬁ/
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(b) Every nonresident applicant on applying for a license or permit
under this act, and as a condition precedent to obtaining such license or
permit, shall file with the secretary of state of this state its written
consent, irrevocable, that any action or garnishment proceeding may be
commenced against such applicant in the proper court of any county in
this state in which the cause of action shall arise or in which the plaintiff
may reside by the service of process on the resident agent specified in
subsection (a), and stipulating and agreeing that such service shall be
taken and held in all courts to be as valid and binding as if due service
had been made upon the applicant. The written consent shall state that the
courts of this state have jurisdiction over the person of such applicant and
are the proper and convenient forum for such action and shall waive the
right to request a change of jurisdiction or venue to a court outside this
state and that all actions arising under this act and commenced by the
applicant shall be brought in this state's courts as the proper and
convenient forum. Such consent shall be executed by the applicant and if
a corporation, by the president and secretary of the corporate applicant,
and shall be accompanied by a duly certified copy of the order or
resolution of the board of directors, trustees or managers authorizing the
president and secretary to execute the same.

Sec. 15. K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 41-317 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 41-317. (a) Applications for all licenses under this act shall be
completed and submitted to the director in a manner prescribed by the
director. Each applicant shall submit an application fee of $50 for each
initial application and $10 for each renewal application to defray the cost
of processing the application.

(b) Each applicant shall submit to the division of alcoholic beverage
control the full amount of the application fee and:

(1) The full amount of the license fee required to be paid for the kind
of license specified in the application; or

(2) one-half of the full amount of the license fee required to be paid
for the kind of license specified in the application.

(c) If the applicant elects to pay only one-half of the license fee
pursuant to subsection (b)(2), the remaining one-half of the license fee
plus 10% of such remaining balance shall be due and payable one year
from the date of issuance of the license. Notwithstanding any other
provision of law, failure to pay the full amount due under this paragraph
on the date it is due shall result in the automatic cancellation of such
license for the remainder of the license term. The director may, at the
director's sole discretion and after examination of the circumstances,
extend the date payment is due pursuant to this paragraph for not more
than 30 days beyond the date such payment is originally due.
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