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Brief*

House Sub. for SB 83 would create the Naturopathic
Doctors Licensure Act by making amendments to existing law
to change the regulatory status of naturopathic doctors and also
would amend the Physical Therapy Practice Act by creating two
new licensure categories, “exempt license” and “federally active
license.”

Naturopathic Doctors Licensure Act

The bill would change regulatory status of naturopathic
doctors with the Board of Healing Arts from registrants to
licensees.  In addition, the bill would authorize naturopaths to
form professional corporations and would provide clarifying
language that licensure does not require health insurance to
provide covered services. (Sections 1-14, 17)

Physical Therapy Practice Act, 
   Amendments to Licensure Categories

SB 490 would amend current law concerning the licensure
of physical therapists by creating two new licensure categories -
“exempt license” and “federally active license” - to be included
in the Physical Therapy Practice Act.
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For the “exempt license” category:

! The State Board of Healing Arts would be authorized to
issue an exempt license to a person who is not regularly
engaged in the practice of physical therapy in Kansas and
who does not hold themselves out to the public as being
professionally engaged in the practice of physical therapy;

! The Board of Healing Arts would be required to adopt
rules and regulations to establish continuing education
requirements for licensees who have been exempt for less
than two years and who again want to regularly practice
physical therapy within Kansas;

! The Board would be allowed to determine whether the
exempt licensee, whose license has been exempt for
longer than two years and who has not been in the active
practice of physical therapy or engaged in a formal
educational program since holding the exempt license,
would be required to complete additional testing, training
or education; 

! The exempt licensee would not be prohibited from serving
as a paid employee or unpaid volunteer of a local health
department or an indigent health care clinic;

! The requirement that a physical therapist have
professional liability insurance coverage would not apply
to an individual having an exempt license; and

! The fee schedule for an individual practicing under an
exempt license would be not more than $80 initially and
not more than $70 for annual renewal.  In addition, a
written verification of license would require a fee of $25.

For the “federally active license” category:

! The State Board of Healing Arts would be authorized to
issue a federally active license only to a person who meets
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the requirements for a license to practice physical therapy
in Kansas and who practices that branch of physical
therapy solely in the course of employment or active duty
in the United States government or any of its departments,
bureaus or agencies;

! The federally active license holder would be permitted to
engage in limited practice outside the course of federal
employment consistent with the scope of practice of
exempt licenses, except that the scope of practice would
be limited to providing direct patient care services,
supervision, direction or consultation for no compensation.
The license holder would be permitted to receive payment
for subsistence and actual expenses incurred in providing
such services;

! The federally active license holder would be permitted to
render professional services as a charitable health care
provider; and

! The federally active license holder would not be required
to maintain individual professional liability insurance. 

The bill also would amend the “inactive license” category
by requiring the Board of Healing Arts to adopt rules and
regulations to establish continuing education requirements for
licensees who have been inactive for less than two years and
who want to again regularly practice physical therapy within
Kansas.  For licensees whose license has been inactive for
longer than two years, the Board would be allowed to determine
whether the inactive licensee would be required to complete
additional testing, training or education. (Sections 15-16)

Effective Dates, Provisions of the Bill

The provisions of the bill that apply to the licensure of
naturopathic doctors will become effective on and after July 1,
2011. The provisions of the bill that amend the Physical
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Therapy Practice Act (as it applies to exempt or federally active
licensees only) will become effective upon publication in the
Statute Book.

Conference Committee Action

The Conference Committee agreed to the House
Committee amendments to the bill and agreed to further amend
the bill to insert the provisions of SB 490 (physical therapists),
as amended by the House Committee on Health and Human
Services.

Background

House Sub. for SB 83 included the language from HB
2575.  The proponents of the bill (HB 2575) included several
representatives of the Kansas Naturopathic Physician’s
Association, as well as  representatives of Ancient Formulas,
Inc. and the Kansas Department of Health and Environment.

A representative of the Kansas Medical Society (KMS)
appeared in opposition to the bill.  The KMS was opposed to
the original bill’s inclusion of scope of practice which would
have allowed naturopaths to prescribe, recommend, or
administer bio-identical medicines approved for intravenous
administration and would have allowed naturopathic doctors to
perform school health assessments for students up to the age
of nine.  An agreement was reached between the naturopathic
doctors and the KMS.  The agreement is the amended bill.

The original SB 83 would have re-established the Kansas
Autism Task Force which was created by the 2007 Legislature
and expired on December 31, 2008. 

The fiscal note for HB 2575 indicated the original bill would
have increased the rules and regulations, applications, online
booklets, and other website information as they apply to
naturopathic doctors to reflect the new regulatory status of



5-83Ccrb83_001_97.wpd

licensure and the new scope of practice.  The Board estimated
the costs to make these changes was estimated to be under
$2,000. 

The fiscal information for SB 490 is available in the
supplemental note associated with the bill.

Naturopathic Doctors Licensure Act; Physical Therapist Practice Act amendm ents
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