

2022 - 2023 Executive Board Ashley Mannis, Sherman County President Janet Paddock, Franklin County Vice President Rick Piepho, Harvey County Secretary

> Dori Munyan, Finney County Treasurer

January 24, 2023 - Kansas House Elections Committee hearing on HB 2013, relating to the runoff elections for selected statewide races – Opposition testimony

Chairman Proctor and Distinguished Committee Members,

My name is Rick Piepho, Harvey County Clerk and Chairman of the Elections Committee of the Kansas County Clerks and Elections Officials Association (KCCEOA). The KCCEOA is a statewide organization with 109 members including 103 publicly elected county clerks, 2 charter appointed county clerks, and additionally, four election officers from the most populous counties in Kansas. Our duties are significant under statute and one of our most public facing functions is free and fair administration of elections. We take this duty very seriously.

I am submitting this testimony on behalf of the KCCEOA membership. The KCCEOA prepared a legislative agenda which was agreed to by a majority of the members. One of the items specifically included is: "Maintain the status quo with regard to election, registration and canvass schedules...".

We support maintaining the current system of electing candidates to office who receive the greatest number of votes. We foresee multiple issues with this proposed legislation, including but not limited to:

- Significant costs to conduct an extra countywide election. This would be an unfunded mandate that would be difficult to budget.
- Which results are used to determine whether a runoff is needed is not clearly defined. Some options are:
 - o Preliminary election night results which do not include all valid ballots cast
 - County Canvass results which include all ballots cast, but canvass can occur up to 13 days after an election
 - State Canvass results which include all ballots cast in every county; deadline is December 1
- Significant difficulties with conducting an additional election 28 days after General Election with limited ability to prepare in advance.
 - Very short timeframe to create and produce ballots, including programming and testing voting equipment, and to schedule and secure polling places and election workers
 - Could be difficult to comply with advance voting timelines. Advance ballots begin mailing 20 days prior to election day and Early in-person voting begins up to 20 days prior to election day
- Impossible to comply with 45 day deadline for delivery of ballots to UOCAVA/Federal Service voters

The KCCEOA opposes HB 2013 as currently presented. We ask that the committee hear our concerns and act accordingly. I will gladly stand for questions at the appropriate time.

Sincerely,

is Presto

Rick Piepho Harvey County Clerk & Election Officer – KCCEOA Elections Committee Chair



2023 Legislative Priorities

The members of the KCCEOA want to bring special focus to the following with regard to elections:

- Support manageable procedures and timelines for recounts.
- Maintain the status quo with regard to election, registration and canvass schedules and with regard to partisan/non-partisan elections.
- Advocate for protecting the integrity of the anonymous ballot.
- Advocate for measures that allow provisional ballots to be counted for registered voters who moved within the state.
- Advocate for expansion of eligibility requirements for permanent advance voting status while also making requirements more stringent for all permanent advance applicants to maintain status.
- Support initiatives which build on already secure and transparent election equipment and processes.
- Advocate for establishing lawful, consistent and workable timelines for special elections.
- Maintain local control of usage and placement of drop boxes for advance ballots.
- Ease pollworker employment restrictions for KPERS and unemployment.

The membership of the KCCEOA reviews, discusses and participates in drafting the Kansas Association of Counties (KAC) annual legislative policy. The members of KCCEOA want to bring special focus to the following with regard to county governance:

- Support allowing choice of alternate sources or methods for distributing official publications, including legal notices.
- Support elimination of newspaper publication requirement for Revenue Neutral Rate hearing notices.
- Retain and enhance county home rule authority and maintain local decision making, standing on the principle that government closest to the people will best understand and serve the community's needs.
- Support local control of property taxes.
- Oppose unfunded mandates and support state funding for any current statutory mandates.
- Support flexibility to utilize preliminary values when calculating mill levy rates for shared districts.
- Join with other county office holders in opposing deferment of payments to KPERS and the sweeping of funds intended for transportation.



Statement: The Kansas County Clerks and Election Officials Association (KCCEOA) serves the residents of all Kansas Counties through professional training for our members, presenting the Association's position on state issues, advocating policy positions which increase access for our constituents to county government and safe, secure, free and fair elections.

2022 - 2023 KCCEOA Executive board & legislative committees

Ashley Mannis, Sherman County | President Janet Paddock, Franklin County | Vice president Rick Piepho, Harvey County | Secretary Dori Munyan, Finney County | Treasurer

The **Election committee** formulates policy and education for election-related topics. Members also work with the Secretary of State's office and legislative committee on any election legislative initiatives.

Rick Piepho, Harvey County (chair) Sarah Rains, Hodgeman County (vice-chair) Shannon Patterson, Allen County Kayla Wang, Clay County Angie Kirchner, Coffey County Karen Madison, Cowley County Lisa Lusker, Crawford County Jamie Shew, Douglas County Debbie Cox, Ford County Rebecca Nordyke, Geary County Fred Sherman, Johnson County Crystal Rucker, Logan County Heather Weston, Mitchell County Stacey Rein, Pawnee County Rich Vargo, Riley County Stacia Long, Seward County Andrew Howell, Shawnee County Keesa Mariman, Thomas County Kayla Busch, Wilson County Michael Abbot, Wyandotte County

The **Legislative committee** is tasked with proposing and monitoring any legislation not dealing with elections.

Karen Madison, Cowley County (chair) Jamie Doss, Saline County (vice-chair) Rebecca Brassart Cherokee County Janet Paddock, Franklin County Ashley Rogers, Gray County Rick Piepho, Harvey County Linda Buttron, Jefferson County Amy Meeker-Berg, Johnson County Dawn Harlow, Lincoln County Sandra Wilson, Marshall County Janet White, Miami County Chelsey Schmidt, Morris County Rachel Finley, Rawlins County Donna Patton, Reno County Marie Allen, Scott County Kelly Arnold, Sedgwick County Debra Norris, Sumner County Brett Deichler, Wyandotte County

KCCEOA Lobbyist - Dick Carter, The Carter Group

www.kcceoa.org