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COSTS OF AND LAWS TO REDUCE DISTRACTED DRIVING

This memorandum provides information on restrictions on fully licensed adult  drivers’
uses of electronic devices while driving noncommercial vehicles in Kansas and in other states. It
also provides information on costs of  distracted driving in general,  fines and penalties,  and
restrictions on commercial  drivers. The statutes reviewed for this memorandum are listed in
Appendix A.

Costs

Distracted  driving  is  costly  to  individuals,  the  states,  and  the  nation.  The  National
Highway  Traffic  Safety  Administration  (NHTSA)  estimated  in  2021  3,522  people  died  and
362,415 additional people were injured in the United States in crashes reported as involving
distracted  drivers.  Nationally,  costs  were  estimated  at  $98  billion  for  lost  productivity,  legal
representation and courts, medical services, insurance administration, congestion impacts, and
property damage.1 NHTSA further estimated 644 of those who died were not inside vehicles.

The Kansas Department of  Transportation (KDOT) has reported 88 people died and
5,389  were  injured  in  nearly  12,500  distraction-related  crashes  from  2017  through  2022.
According to data compiled by KDOT, more than 155,500 crashes in Kansas since 2013 have
involved distracted  drivers,  with  total  associated costs  of  approximately  $15.9 billion;  those
numbers include nearly 10,500 crashes and costs of $2.2 billion in 2023 through late November.
The chart below shows numbers of crashes and their estimated costs for 2013 through 20222

1 “Distracted  Driving in  2021,”  Traffic  Safety  Facts  Research  Note,  National  Highway Traffic  Safety
Administration,  May  2023,  accessed  December  2023.  Costs  are  for  2019,  the  most  recent  year
available.
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Laws Prohibiting Distracted Driving in General

Laws of at least ten states address driving while distracted by activities other than using
an electronic device, either included in laws prohibiting electronic device use while driving or as
stand-alone  laws  on  distracted,  inattentive,  or  careless  driving.  Language in  those  statutes
includes the following:

● Connecticut: [N]o person shall engage in any activity not related to the actual
operation of a motor vehicle in a manner that interferes with the safe operation of
such vehicle on any highway;

● Delaware:  Whoever  operates  a  vehicle  and  who  fails  to  give  full  time  and
attention to the operation of the vehicle, or whoever fails to maintain a proper
lookout while operating the vehicle, shall be guilty of inattentive driving;

● Maine: “Operation of a motor vehicle while distracted” means the operation of a
motor vehicle by a person who, while operating the vehicle, is engaged in an
activity: (1) That is not necessary to the operation of the vehicle; and (2) That
actually impairs, or would reasonably be expected to impair,  the ability of the
person to safely operate the vehicle; and

● North Dakota: An operator of a motor vehicle may not fail to maintain control of
that motor vehicle. An individual is in violation of this section if that individual: a.
Commits an offense under this title and, at the time of the offense, the individual
was engaged in the operation of a motor vehicle while distracted.

The full text of each statute generally prohibiting distracted driving as identified for this
memorandum is in Appendix B. 

“Reckless” has not been found to be equivalent to “distracted.” KSA 8-1566 prohibits
reckless driving. The Kansas Supreme Court in its opinion in State v. Remmers, 278 Kan. 598,
102 P.3d 433 (2004), stated, “There was no evidence of speeding, swerving, driving erratically,
or leaving the scene of the accident. Defendant's statement to the investigating officer was that
he was inattentive and failed to see the stop sign or the approaching Smith vehicle. Evidence of
defendant's mental state or aggravating circumstances necessary for a conviction of reckless
driving is absent.”

State Laws Restricting Use of Electronic Devices in Vehicles

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and NHTSA have described distracted
driving as any task that diverts use of a driver’s eyes, hands, or cognition from the driving task.
Use of electronic devices in vehicles can involve all three. According to the National Conference
of State Legislatures, “[m]ore than 220 million people in the United States subscribe to wireless
services, and it is estimated that as many as 80% of those subscribers use their phones while
driving.” All states except Montana prohibit at least some uses of wireless electronic devices by
drivers.  Of  142  people  fatally  injured  in  Kansas  crashes  in  2013 through 2022 that  KDOT
reported as involving distracted driving, 69 died in crashes related to mobile phone use.

2 Kansas Department  of  Transportation  Crash Statistics;  Unofficial  2023 data  were  provided to the
Kansas Legislative Research Department via open records request to the agency.
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The District of Columbia and 46 states have added or amended laws on texting or other
in-vehicle device use  since KSA 8-15,111 was enacted in  2010,  Kansas’ statute  prohibiting
texting in certain circumstances. Of the 106 statutes reviewed for this memorandum, including
penalty provisions, many were amended or added in 2023.

Activities or Actions the Laws Prohibit

In 2021, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine released a
report on using electronic devices while driving3 that includes an appendix on model legislation
(National Academies report). Among its recommendations are using the term “electronic device”
as opposed to specifying a particular type of device and to clearly state behaviors the driver
cannot engage in, including holding the device with any part of the body, manually entering text
or engaging in multiple swipes or taps, and using a device to stream, record, or broadcast video.

Wording from current statutes that captures the essence of the prohibition related to
device use while driving in  each state is  provided in  Appendix C.  Key words noted in the
appendix and in the table below describe the prohibitions: whether the state prohibits use of any
device  or  addresses  only  communications  devices,  whether  the  device  can  be  used  with
minimal  hand  motion  (“hands-free”)  or  voice  operation,  whether  the  prohibition  focuses  on
holding a device, whether the prohibition on activity focuses on text-based communication, and
whether driver interaction with video is prohibited. As noted above, Montana law contains no
such prohibitions.

The table below summarizes the prohibitions in each state by using key words in those
prohibitions. The table also provides the most recent amendment date or an enactment date;
multiple dates may be mentioned if more than one statute is summarized. The term “hands-free”
in these laws generally does not prohibit use of a finger to activate or deactivate the device,
such as with a swipe or pressing a single button.

Key Words in State Laws Prohibiting Device Use While Driving

3 National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. 2021.  Using Electronic Devices While
Driving: Legislation and Enforcement Implications. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press.
https://doi.org/10.17226/26082.
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State (enactment date) Any
Device

Comm.
Device

Hands-
Free

Voice
Operated

Hold the
Device

Texting Video

Kansas (2010) X

Alabama (2023) X X X

Alaska (2016) X X X

Arizona (2019) X X X X

Arkansas (2019, 2023) X X X

California (2011, 2018) X X X X

Colorado (2017) X

Connecticut (2023) X X X

District of Columbia
(2020)

X X

Delaware (2018) X X X

Florida (2022) X X

Georgia (2018) X X X X

Hawaii (2022) X X

Idaho (2021) X X X X

Illinois (2023) X X X X

Indiana (2020) X X X X

Iowa (2023) X X X X

Kentucky (2011) X

Louisiana (2016) X X

Maine (2019) X X

Maryland (2014) X X

Massachusetts (2019) X X X

Michigan (2023) X X X X

Minnesota (2023) X X X X X

Mississippi (2018) X X X X

Missouri (2023) X X X X X X

Montana 
(no comparable laws)

Nebraska (2014) X X X X

Nevada (2023) X X X

New Hampshire (2016) X X

New Jersey (2014) X X

New Mexico (2014) X X X X X

New York (2014) X X X

North Carolina (2012) X X X

North Dakota (2017) X X X
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State (enactment date) Any
Device

Comm.
Device

Hands-
Free

Voice
Operated

Hold the
Device

Texting Video

Ohio (2023) X X

Oklahoma (2022) X X

Oregon (2018) X X X

Pennsylvania (2011) X X

Rhode Island (2019, 2022) X X X

South Carolina (2014) X X X

South Dakota (2020) X X X

Tennessee (2019) X X X X

Texas (2017) X X X

Utah (2022, 2023) X X X X X

Vermont (2020, 2023) X X X X

Virginia (2023) X X

Washington (2017) X X X

West Virginia (2023) X X X X X

Wisconsin (2021) X X X X X

Wyoming (2010) X X X X

Exemptions Present in Kansas Law

KSA 8-15,111(c) and (d) contain exemptions to the Kansas ban on texting while driving.
These Kansas exemptions, noted in boldface below, are present in laws of most or some other
states.

Use  by  law  enforcement  or  emergency  service  personnel. This  exemption  was
present in the distracted driving laws of all states4 with a few exceptions: Colorado, Indiana,
Maine, Maryland, Mississippi, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South
Carolina, Utah, and Vermont. It is strongly suspected such exemptions are present in laws not
specific to distracted driving.

Use in  a  vehicle  stopped off  the  regular  traveled portion of  the  roadway. This
exemption also is present in most states’ laws, although “stopped” is defined in several ways.
For example:

● Alabama law states the vehicle must be parked on the shoulder of the highway;

● Arkansas,  Oregon,  Vermont,  and Washington laws state the vehicle  must  be
stopped in a location where it can safety remain stationary; 

● Colorado,  Georgia,  Missouri,  North  Carolina,  Virginia,  West  Virginia,  and
Wyoming laws use the term “lawfully parked”;

4 The reader is reminded only Montana has no state laws regarding device use by drivers.
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● Connecticut,  Hawaii,  Maine,  and Michigan laws prohibit  device use when the
vehicle  is  temporarily  stopped due  to  traffic  or  traffic  signals,  but  Illinois  law
allows device use when the vehicle is stopped due to traffic being obstructed;

● Delaware and Maryland laws prohibit use when the vehicle is in motion; 

● Hawaii law requires the engine to be turned off; and

● Delaware, Nebraska, New York, and Rhode Island laws prohibit  use while the
vehicle is in motion, and Kentucky law adds the caveat that the motion is on the
traveled portion of the highway.

The  National  Academies  report  recommends  permitting  device  use  only  when  the
vehicle is legally parked or pulled over on the side of the road.

Use while reading, electing, or entering a number or name to make or receive a
phone  call. Laws  of  only  Iowa,  Kentucky,  Louisiana,  North  Dakota,  Pennsylvania,  South
Dakota, and Wyoming include this exemption.

When receiving an emergency,  traffic,  or weather alert  message. Several  states
include  variations  of  this  exemption:  Arizona  and  Wisconsin  (traffic,  road,  and  weather
information);  Florida,  Iowa,  and  Wisconsin  (safety-related  information  such  as  emergency,
traffic, or weather alerts, and data used primarily by the vehicle); Georgia, Idaho, Tennessee,
and West Virginia (subscription-based emergency communications); Rhode Island (emergency
notification);  South  Carolina  (navigation-related  traffic  and  road  condition  information);
Tennessee  (in-vehicle  security,  navigation,  autonomous  technology,  or  remote  diagnostics
system); Texas (enter information for traffic and road conditions or read a message the person
reasonably  believed  concerned  an  emergency);  and  West  Virginia  (security  or  remote
diagnostics).

Receiving a message related to operation or navigation of the vehicle. Most states
exempt receiving navigation messages, and a few states exempt additional messages:

● Information related to navigation: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida,
Georgia,  Hawaii,  Illinois,  Iowa,  Kentucky,  Louisiana,  Maine,  Maryland,
Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, New Hampshire, New
Mexico,  North  Carolina,  North  Dakota,  Ohio,  Oklahoma  (if  voice-operated),
Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont,
West Virginia, and Wisconsin;

● Other  types of  information:  Alaska (vehicle  information  related to  speed,  fuel
level, battery charge, or other safety or equipment operation), Florida (data used
primarily by the motor vehicle), Georgia (remote diagnostics), Hawaii (equipment
to provide emergency assistance to the operator), Illinois and Kentucky (a device
physically  or  electronically  integrated  into  the  vehicle),  and  Utah  (a  system
physically or electronically integrated into the vehicle).

Reporting current or illegal activity or preventing imminent injury to a person or
property. Most states have similar exemptions, but some are more restrictive:
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● Reporting  illegal  activity  or  summoning  help,  generally:  Arizona,  Arkansas,
California,  Colorado,  Delaware,  Florida,  Georgia,  Idaho,  Kentucky,  Maine,
Maryland,  Massachusetts,  Michigan,  Minnesota,  Nevada,  New Mexico,  South
Dakota, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, and Wyoming;

● Specifying which types of emergency responders may be contacted: Alabama,
Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Maryland, New Hampshire, New York,
Oklahoma, and Rhode Island;

● In an emergency situation only: Illinois, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, Ohio,
Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, Washington,
and Wisconsin; and

● 911 only: Hawaii, Indiana, and Maryland (texting).

Relaying  information  between a  transit  or  for-hire  operator  and the  operator’s
dispatcher. Some states exclude equipment commonly used by commercial  drivers without
being as specific as Kansas law; see exemptions below for operators of two-way or citizens-
band (CB) radios. These states include similar exemptions specifying commercial drivers and
dispatch: Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Missouri, North
Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, South Carolina, Texas, and West Virginia.

Exceptions Not Present in Kansas Law

Many states include exemptions from laws prohibiting electronic device use that are not
present in Kansas law:

● Licensed  users  of  amateur  radio: Arizona,  Arkansas,  Colorado,  Connecticut,
Delaware  Georgia,  Hawaii,  Idaho,  Illinois,  Indiana,  Louisiana,  Michigan,
Minnesota,  New  Jersey,  New  York,  New  Mexico,  Ohio,  Oregon,  Tennessee,
Texas,  Utah,  Washington,  West  Virginia,  and Wisconsin.  The vast  majority  of
these states require  the user  to  be licensed by the Federal  Communications
Commission (FCC);

● Operators of two-way or CB radios: Arkansas, Delaware (government employee),
Georgia,  Hawaii,  Idaho,  Illinois,  Louisiana,  Maine,  Michigan,  Minnesota,  New
Jersey, North Dakota, Oregon (while transporting forest products or facilitating
safe movement of another vehicle), Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, and Washington;

● Employees  of  utilities  and  certain  other  entities: Alabama,  Georgia,  Idaho,
Michigan, Nevada, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, and
West Virginia;

● Employees of certain other entities: Arizona (probation), Connecticut (military, in
military vehicle), Idaho (certain farming or ranching operations), Illinois (highway
worker),  Missouri  (roadside  assistance or transportation  network  companies),
Oregon (roadside assistance and pilot or accompanying vehicles), Rhode Island
(driver of a taxi, tow truck, or bus without passengers), Tennessee (emergency
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management agency officers),  Virginia (roadside assistance),  and Washington
(transit system);

● Operators  of  radios  licensed  by  the  FCC,  two-way  radios,  CB  radios,  or
combinations  of  those:  Arizona,  Arkansas,  Colorado,  Connecticut,  Delaware,
Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota,
Nevada,  New Jersey,  New Mexico,  North  Dakota,  Ohio,  Oregon,  Tennessee,
Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin; and

● Certain prescribed medical devices: Georgia, Idaho, Maine, Michigan, Oregon,
Tennessee, West Virginia.

Other actions or devices states have exempted include devices used to continuously
record  or  broadcast  video  (Alabama,  Georgia,  Michigan,  Missouri,  Tennessee,  and  West
Virginia); an  ignition  interlock  device  (Alabama,  New Hampshire,  Oklahoma,  and Vermont);
health  care  providers  (Arkansas,  Illinois,  Iowa,  and  Louisiana);  operators  of  autonomous
vehicles  in  autonomous mode (Florida,  Michigan,  and Nevada);  operating  a radio or  music
player (Florida, Missouri, and North Dakota); displays that enhance the operator’s view (Alaska);
a person  driving  an  unregistered  farm  vehicle  (Delaware);  and  devices  to  monitor  vehicle
occupants behind the driver (Wisconsin).

Fines and Other Penalties

Kansas, with a fine of $60 for a violation of KSA 8-15,111, is among the minority of states
that list a single fine amount or fine range; most states increase fines for subsequent violations,
which is recommended in the National  Academies report.  Fines in states with a single fine
amount range from no more than $25 to $500, with Kansas’ fine tied with Florida’s as 4th lowest.
Of the 34 states with increasing fines for subsequent violations, about half had minimum fines at
or below the Kansas amount, but maximum fines for subsequent violations ranged from $500 to
up to $2,500. A few states provide for driver’s license suspension, jail  time, restitution,  and
requiring the driver to take a safety course as possible penalties in addition to fines, under
certain circumstances.

Of the 33 states with increasing fines for subsequent violations, 20 did not specify a
lookback period for determining whether a penalty should increase for a subsequent violation.
Of those that did, lookback periods ranged from one year to ten years.

Twelve  states classify  violation  of  laws pertaining to  use of  electronic  devices while
driving as misdemeanors. In addition, Colorado classifies a violation as a misdemeanor if the
violation leads to bodily injury, Missouri if the violation results in injury or more than $5,000 in
property damage, and Illinois if the violation results in great bodily harm. Oregon classifies any
subsequent violation within ten years as a misdemeanor. Alaska terms any violation that results
in injury or death as a felony, and Illinois and Missouri classify any violation that results in death
as a felony. 

A table of fines and penalties by state is provided in Appendix D.
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Device Use by Drivers of Commercial Vehicles

Drivers of  commercial  vehicles in interstate commerce are prohibited from texting or
using  hand-held  mobile  telephones except  to  contact  law enforcement  or  other  emergency
services, under regulations of the  Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMSCA) in 49
CFR 392.80 and 392.82 (added in 2011). These restrictions are applied to Kansas intrastate
commercial  drivers  through  KAR  82-4-3h.  Some  states  provide  specific  restrictions  for
commercial drivers in their statutes, but those were not analyzed for this memorandum.

According to the FMCSA, 

Penalties  for  texting  or  using  a  hand-held  mobile  phone  can  reach
$2,750, as adjusted for inflation, for drivers and $11,000, as adjusted for
inflation, for employers who allow or require drivers to text or use a hand-
held mobile phone while driving. Second and third offenses result in driver
disqualifications for 60 and 120 days, respectively. States will suspend a
driver’s  Commercial  Driver’s  License (CDL)  after  two or  more  serious
traffic violations.
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APPENDIX A, STATUTES REVIEWED FOR THIS MEMORANDUM
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Kansas KSA 8-15,111 Text messaging, prohibited; exceptions 2010 X X
Alabama Ala.Code 1975 § 32-5A-350.1 Operating a motor vehicle in a distracted manner; 

violations; exceptions
2023 
(new)

X X X X X

Alaska AS § 28.35.161 Use of electronic devices while driving; unlawful 
installation of television, monitor, or similar device

2016 X x x x

Alaska AS § 12.55.035 Fines 2023 x
Arizona ARS 28-672 Causing serious physical injury or death by a 

moving violation; time limitation; penalties; 
violation; classification; definition

2020
X X X

Arizona ARS 28-963 Image display device; prohibition; exceptions; 2019 X X X X
Arizona ARS 28-914 Use of portable wireless communication device 

while driving; prohibition; civil penalty; state 
preemption; definitions

2019 
(new) X X

Arkansas Arkansas Code § 27-51-104 Careless driving 1995 X
Arkansas Arkansas Code § 27-51-1503 Definitions (Paul's Law: To Prohibit Drivers From 

Using a Wireless Communications Device While 
Operating a Motor Vehicle)

2023
X X X

Arkansas Arkansas Code § 27-51-1504 Use of wireless telecommunications device when 
driving

2019 X

Arkansas Arkansas Code § 27-51-1506 Penalties 2023 X
Arkansas Arkansas Code § 27-51-1602 Definitions (Fewer Distractions Mean Safer 

Driving Act)
2023 X X

Arkansas Arkansas Code § 27-51-1607 Penalties and public service work 2023 X
California Vehicle Code § 23123 Driving a motor vehicle while using a wireless 

telephone; penalty; exceptions
2011 X X X

Topics covered by the statute
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Topics covered by the statute

California Vehicle Code § 23123.5 Driving a motor vehicle while holding and 
operating a handheld wireless telephone or 
electronic wireless communications device; 
prohibition; exceptions; penalty

2018

X X X

Colorado C.R.S.A. § 42-4-239 Misuse of a wireless telephone - definitions - 
penalty - preemption

2017 X X X

Connecticut CGSA § 14-296aa Use of hand-held mobile telephones and mobile 
electronic devices by motor vehicle operators and 
school bus drivers prohibited or restricted. 
Exceptions. Penalties. Amounts remitted to 
municipality. Record of violation

2023

X X X X X X

Delaware 21 Del. C. § 4176C Electronic communication devices; penalties 2018 X X X X
Delaware 21 Del. C. § 4176 Careless or inattentive driving 2017 X X
Delaware 21 Del. C. § 4176A Operation of a vehicle causing death; unclassified 

misdemeanor
2003 X

District of 
Columbia

DC ST § 50-1731.03 Prohibition on distracted driving 2004 X

District of 
Columbia

DC ST § 50-1731.04 Restricted use of mobile telephone and other 
electronic devices

2020 X X

District of 
Columbia

DC ST § 50-1731.06 Enforcement; fines and penalties 2020 X

District of 
Columbia

DC ST § 50-1731.07 Police officer's report 2004 X

Florida FSA § 316.305 Wireless communications devices; prohibition 2022 X X X
Florida FSA § 316.306 School and work zones; prohibition on the use of 

a wireless communications device in a handheld 
manner

2023
X

Florida FSA § 318.18 Amount of penalties 2023 X
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Topics covered by the statute

Georgia Ga. Code Ann., § 40-6-241 Driver to exercise due care; proper use of radios 
and mobile telephones allowed

2018 X X X X

Hawaii HRS § 291C-137 Mobile electronic devices 2022 X X X
Hawaii HRS § 291-12 Inattention to driving 2016 X X
Idaho I.C. § 49-1401A Distracted driving 2021 X X X X X
Illinois 625 ILCS 5/12-610.1 Wireless telephones [in school speed zone, on a 

highway in a construction or maintenance speed 
zone or within 500 feet of an emergency scene]

2023
X X X X X

Illinois 625 ILCS 5/12-610.2 Electronic communication devices 2023 X X X
Indiana IC 9-21-8-59 Texting while driving; confiscation 2020 X X
Indiana IC 9-13-2-177.3 Telecommunications device (definition) 2016 X
Indiana IC 34-28-5-4 Maximum judgments and amounts for violations 2020 X
Iowa I.C.A. § 321.276 Use of electronic communication device while 

driving
2017 X X

Iowa I.C.A. § 805.8A Motor vehicle and transportation scheduled 
violations

2023 X

Iowa I.C.A. § 707.6A Homicide or serious injury by vehicle 2023 X
Kentucky KRS § 189.292 Use of personal communication device prohibited 

while operating motor vehicle in motion on 
traveled portion of roadway; exclusions; 
administrative regulations

2011

X X

Kentucky KRS § 189.990 Penalties 2023 X
Louisiana LSA-R.S. 32:300.5 Use of certain wireless telecommunications 

devices for text messaging and social networking 
2016 X X X

Maine 29-A MRSA §2121 Use of mobile telephones and handheld 
electronic devices while operating motor vehicles 
prohibited

2019
X X X

Maine 29–A MRSA § 101 Definitions 2023 X
Maine 29–A MRSA § 2118 Failure to maintain control of a motor vehicle 2009 X
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Topics covered by the statute

Maryland MD Code, Transportation, § 21-
1124.1

Use of text messaging device while driving 
prohibited

2014 X X

Maryland MD Code, Transportation, § 21-
1124.2

Use of handheld telephone while driving 
prohibited

2014 X X X

Maryland MD Code, Transportation, § 21-
1124.3

Violations causing death or serious bodily injury 2017 X

Massachusetts M.G.L.A. 90 § 13B Composing, sending or reading of electronic 
messages while operating a motor vehicle 
prohibited; emergencies; penalties

2019
X X X

Michigan M.C.L.A. 257.602b Use of mobile electronic devices while operating 
vehicle; prohibitions; exceptions; penalties; 
ordinances; completion of court-ordered driver 
improvement course; citations; applicability

2023

X X X

Minnesota M.S.A. § 169.011 Definitions 2023 X
Minnesota M.S.A. § 169.475 Use of wireless communications device 2023 X X X
Mississippi Miss. Code Ann. § 63-33-1 Hand-held communication devices; prohibition of 

use while driving; penalties
2018 X X X

Missouri V.A.M.S. 304.822 Electronic communication device, use of while 
driving prohibited, when--citation of law--
definitions--school bus operations, prohibited acts-
-inapplicability, when--penalties for violations--
search of device, right to decline--preemption; 
also knows as the Siddens Bening Hands Free 
Law

2023

X

Montana
Nebraska Neb. Rev. St. § 60-6,179.01 Use of handheld wireless communication device; 

prohibited acts; enforcement; violation; penalty
2014

X X X

multiple sources say Montana is the only state that does not ban hand-held device use, cell phone use, or text messaging
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Topics covered by the statute

Nevada N.R.S. 484B.165 Using handheld wireless communications device 
to type or enter text, send or read data, engage in 
nonvoice communication or engage in voice 
communications without use of hands-free device 
prohibited; exceptions; penalty; additional penalty 
for violation in work zone or pedestrian safety 
zone

2023

X X X

Nevada N.R.S. 484B.130 Double penalty for certain traffic violations 
committed in work zones; exception in certain 
temporary traffic control zones

2021
X

Nevada N.R.S. 484B.135 Double penalty for certain traffic violations 
committed in pedestrian safety zones; exception 
in certain pedestrian safety zones

2021
X

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. § 265:79-c Use of Mobile Electronic Devices While Driving; 
Prohibition.

2016 X X X

New Jersey N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.3 Use of hands-free and hand-held wireless 
communication devices while driving; when 
permitted; penalty

2014
X X X

New Jersey N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.2 Driving or operating a motor vehicle in an unsafe 
manner; endangering persons or property; fines; 
surcharges

2019
X

New Mexico N. M. S. A. 1978, § 66-7-374 Texting while driving 2014 X X X
New Mexico N. M. S. A. 1978, § 66-8-116 Penalty assessment misdemeanors; definition; 

schedule of assessments
2019 X

New York McKinney's Vehicle and Traffic 
Law § 1225-c

Use of mobile telephones 2014 X X X

New York McKinney's Vehicle and Traffic 
Law § 1225-d

Use of portable electronic devices 2014 X X X
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Topics covered by the statute

North Carolina N.C.G.S.A. § 20-137.4A Unlawful use of mobile telephone for text 
messaging or electronic mail.

2012 X X X X

North Dakota NDCC, 39-08-23 Use of a wireless communications device 
prohibited

2017 X X X

North Dakota NDCC, 39-08-25 Failure to maintain control 2017 X
North Dakota NDCC, 39-06.1-06 Amount of statutory fees 2021 X
North Dakota NDCC, 36-06.1-09 Moving violation defined 2021 X
Ohio R.C. § 4511.204 Driving while texting (in Westlaw, Operating a 

motor vehicle while using an electronic wireless 
communication device)

2023
X X X X X

Oklahoma 47 Okl.St.Ann. § 11-901b Full time and attention to driving 2010
X

Oklahoma 47 Okl.St.Ann. § 11-901d Text messaging -- Penalties 2022
X X X X X

Oregon O.R.S. § 811.507 Driving a motor vehicle while using a mobile 
electronic device

2018 X X X X X

Oregon O.R.S. § 153.018 Fines 2021 X
Oregon O.R.S. § 153.019 Presumptive fines for violations 2021 X
Oregon O.R.S. § 153.020 Presumptive fines; violations in highway work 

zones, school zones, or safety corridors
2019 X

Oregon O.R.S. § 161.635 Misdemeanors; fines 2003 X
Pennsylvania 75 Pa.C.S.A. § 3316 Prohibiting text-based communications 2011 X X X
Rhode Island Gen.Laws 1956, § 31-22-30 Text messaging while operating a motor vehicle 2019 X X X X X
Rhode Island Gen.Laws 1956, § 31-22-31 Mobile telephone usage by motor vehicle 

operators
2022 X X X X
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Topics covered by the statute

South Carolina Code 1976 § 56-5-3890 Unlawful use of a wireless electronic 
communication device while operating a motor 
vehicle; penalties; limitation on law enforcement 
officers; department to maintain statistical 
information; preemption of local ordinances.

2014

X X X X

South Dakota SDCL § 32-26-47.1 Use of mobile electronic device--Prohibitions--
Violation as misdemeanor--Exceptions

2020 X X X

South Dakota SDCL § 22-6-2 Misdemeanor classes and penalties--Restitution--
Misdemeanor when not penalty imposed

2005
X

Tennessee TN ST § 55-8-199 Unlawful use of wireless telecommunication 
device

2019 X X X X X

Texas Transportation Code § 
545.4251

Use of portable wireless communication device 
for electronic messaging; offense

2017 X X X X X

Utah U.C.A. 1953 § 41-6a-1716 Prohibition on using a wireless communication 
device while operating a motor vehicle--
Exceptions--Penalties

2022
X X X X X

Utah U.C.A. 1953 § 76-5-207.5 Automobile homicide involving a handheld 
wireless communication device while driving

2023 X

Utah U.C.A. 1953 § 76-3-204 Misdemeanor conviction--Term of imprisonment 2019 X
Utah U.C.A. 1953 § 76-3-301 Fines of individuals 2023 X
Vermont 23 V.S.A. § 1095b Handheld use of portable device prohibited 2023 X X X
Vermont 23 V.S.A. § 1099 Texting prohibited 2020 X X X
Vermont 23 V.S.A. § 1095 Entertainment picture visible to the operator 2011
Virginia VA Code Ann. § 46.2-818.2 Use of handheld personal communications 

devices in certain motor vehicles; exceptions; 
penalty

2023
X X X

Washington RCWA 46.61.672 Using a personal electronic device while driving 2017 X X X X
Washington RCWA 46.61.673 Dangerously distracted driving 2017 X X
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Topics covered by the statute

Washington RCWA 46.63.020 Violations as traffic infractions--Exceptions 2023 X
Washington RCWA 46.63.110 Monetary penalties 2018 X
West Virginia W. Va. Code, § 17C-14-15 Electronically Distracted Driving Act 2023 X X X X X
West Virginia W. Va. Code, § 17C-5-1 Negligent Homicide; penalties 1979 X
Wisconsin W.S.A. 346.89 Inattentive driving 2021 X X X X X X
Wisconsin W.S.A. 346.95 Penalty for violating sections 346.87 to 346.94 2017 X
Wyoming W.S.1977 § 31-5-237 Use of handheld electronic wireless 

communication devices for electronic messaging 
prohibited; exceptions; penalties

2010
X X X X

numbers of statutes (not states) 12 33 37 49 42 79
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State
Statutory 
citation Statute title Statute text

Arkansas A.C.A. § 
27-51-104

Careless 
driving

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to drive or operate any vehicle in such a careless manner 
as to evidence a failure to keep a proper lookout for other traffic, vehicular or otherwise, or in 
such a manner as to evidence a failure to maintain proper control on the public thoroughfares 
or private property in the State of Arkansas.
(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to operate or drive any vehicle on the public 
thoroughfares or private property in the State of Arkansas in violation of the following 
prohibited acts:
(1) Improper or unsafe lane changes on public roadways;
(2) Driving onto or across private property to avoid intersections, stop signs, traffic control 
devices, or traffic lights;
(3) Driving in such a manner or at such a speed so as to cause a skidding, spinning, or sliding 
of tires or a sliding of the vehicle;
(4) Driving too close to or colliding with parked or stopped vehicles, fixtures, persons, or 
objects adjacent to the public thoroughfares;
(5) Driving a vehicle which has any part thereof or any object extended in such fashion as to 
endanger persons or property;
(6) To operate any vehicle in such a manner which would cause a failure to maintain control;
(7) To operate or drive a vehicle wherein or whereon passengers are located in such a manner 
as to be dangerous to the welfare of such passengers; or
(8) To operate a vehicle in any manner when the driver is inattentive and such inattention is not 
reasonable and prudent in maintaining vehicular control.
(c) A person who violates this section shall be subject to a fine not to exceed one hundred 
dollars ($100).

Connecticut CGSA § 
14-296aa

Use of hand-
held mobile 
telephones 
and mobile 
electronic 
devices by 
motor vehicle 
operators . . .

(f) Except as provided in subsections (b) to (e), inclusive, of this section [use of communication 
devices], no person shall engage in any activity not related to the actual operation of a motor 
vehicle in a manner that interferes with the safe operation of such vehicle on any highway, as 
defined in section 14-1.

Delaware 21 Del.C. 
§ 4176

Careless or 
inattentive 
driving

(a) Whoever operates a vehicle in a careless or imprudent manner, or without due regard for 
road, weather and traffic conditions then existing, shall be guilty of careless driving.
(b) Whoever operates a vehicle and who fails to give full time and attention to the operation of 
the vehicle, or whoever fails to maintain a proper lookout while operating the vehicle, shall be 
guilty of inattentive driving.
(c) Whoever violates this section shall for the first offense be fined not less than $25 nor more 
than $75. For each subsequent like offense occurring within 3 years of a former offense, the 
person shall be fined not less than $50 nor more than $95.

Georgia Ga. Code 
Ann., § 40-
6-241

Driver to 
exercise due 
care; proper 
use of radios 
and mobile 
telephones 
allowed

(b) A driver shall exercise due care in operating a motor vehicle on the highways of this state 
and shall not engage in any actions which shall distract such driver from the safe operation of 
such vehicle.

Hawaii HRS § 
291-12

Inattention to 
driving

Whoever operates any vehicle negligently as to cause a collision with, or injury or damage to, 
as the case may be, any person, vehicle or other property shall be fined not more than $500 or 
imprisoned not more than thirty days, or both, and may be subject to a surcharge of up to 
$100, which shall be deposited into the trauma system special fund.
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Maine 29–A 
MRSA § 
2118

Failure to 
maintain 
control of a 
motor vehicle

1.  Definitions.  As used in this section, unless the context otherwise indicates, the following 
terms have the following meanings.  
A. "Operation of a motor vehicle while distracted" means the operation of a motor vehicle by a 
person who, while operating the vehicle, is engaged in an activity:  
(1) That is not necessary to the operation of the vehicle; and  
(2) That actually impairs, or would reasonably be expected to impair, the ability of the person to 
safely operate the vehicle.
2.  Failure to maintain control of a motor vehicle.  A person commits the traffic infraction of 
failure to maintain control of a motor vehicle if the person:  
A. Commits either a traffic infraction under this Title or commits the crime of driving to 
endanger under section 2413 and, at the time the traffic infraction or crime occurred, the 
person was engaged in the operation of a motor vehicle while distracted; or   
B. Is determined to have been the operator of a motor vehicle that was involved in a reportable 
accident as defined in section 2251, subsection 1 that resulted in property damage and, at the 
time the reportable accident occurred, the person was engaged in the operation of a motor 
vehicle while distracted.
A person may be issued a citation or summons for any other traffic infraction or crime that was 
committed by the person in relation to the person's commission of the traffic infraction of failure 
to maintain control of a motor vehicle.

North Dakota NDCC, 39-
08-25

Failure to 
maintain 
control

1. An operator of a motor vehicle may not fail to maintain control of that motor vehicle. An 
individual is in violation of this section if that individual:
a. Commits an offense under this title and, at the time of the offense, the individual was 
engaged in the operation of a motor vehicle while distracted; or
b. Is determined to have been the operator of a motor vehicle that was involved in a reportable 
accident as defined in section 39-08-09 which resulted in property damage and, at the time the 
reportable accident occurred, the individual was engaged in the operation of a motor vehicle 
while distracted.
2. An individual may be issued a citation or summons for any other traffic offense that was 
committed by the individual in relation to the individual's commission of the traffic offense of 
failure to maintain control of a motor vehicle.
3. As used in this section, “operation of a motor vehicle while distracted” means the operation 
of a motor vehicle by an individual who, while operating the vehicle, is engaged in an activity 
that:
a. Is not necessary to the operation of the vehicle; and
b. Actually impairs, or would reasonably be expected to impair, the ability of the individual to 
safely operate the vehicle.

Oklahoma Title 47 
§47-11-
901b

Full time and 
attention to 
driving

The operator of every vehicle, while driving, shall devote their full time and attention to such 
driving.

No law enforcement officer shall issue a citation under this section unless the law enforcement 
officer observes that the operator of the vehicle is involved in an accident or observes the 
operator of the vehicle driving in such a manner that poses an articulable danger to other 
persons on the roadway that is not otherwise specified in statute.

Washington RCW 
46.61.673

Dangerously 
distracted 
driving

(1)(a) It is a traffic infraction to drive dangerously distracted. Any driver who commits this 
infraction must be assessed a base penalty of thirty dollars.
(b) Enforcement of the infraction of driving dangerously distracted may be accomplished only 
as a secondary action when a driver of a motor vehicle has been detained for a suspected 
violation of a separate traffic infraction or an equivalent local ordinance.
(c) For the purposes of this section, "dangerously distracted" means a person who engages in 
any activity not related to the actual operation of a motor vehicle in a manner that interferes 
with the safe operation of such motor vehicle on any highway.
(2) The additional monetary penalty imposed under this section must be deposited into the 
distracted driving prevention account created in subsection (3) of this section.
(3) The distracted driving prevention account is created in the state treasury. All receipts from 
the base penalty in subsection (1) of this section must be deposited into the account. Moneys 
in the account may be spent only after appropriation. Expenditures from the account may be 
used only to support programs dedicated to reducing distracted driving and improving driver 
education on distracted driving.

Wisconsin W.S.A. 
346.89

Inattentive 
driving

(1) No person while driving a motor vehicle may be engaged or occupied with an activity, other 
than driving the vehicle, that interferes or reasonably appears to interfere with the person's 
ability to drive the vehicle safely.
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Kansas (2010) no person shall operate a motor vehicle on a public road or highway while using a wireless 
communications device to write, send or read a written communication X

Alabama (2023)

an individual shall not engage in any actions prohibited by law which distract the individual from 
safe operation of the vehicle; operating a vehicle in a distracted manner includes while physically 
holding or supporting a wireless telecommunications or stand-alone electronic device; the 
prohibition does not apply if use device to conduct substantially hands-free voice-based wireless 
communications

X X X

Alaska (2016)
a person commits the crime of driving while texting, while communicating on a computer, or while 
a screen device is operating if the person has a visual display operating in full view of the driver 
or the person is reading or typing a nonvoice message

X X X

Arizona (2019)

a person may not operate a motor vehicle on a street or highway if the person physically holds a 
device or writes, sends or reads any text-based communication; a person shall not view a 
broadcast television image or a visual image from an image display device while driving a motor 
vehicle

X X X X

Arkansas 
(2019, 2023)

a driver of a motor vehicle shall not operate a motor vehicle while using a wireless 
telecommunications device to engage in texting or access, read, or post to a social networking 
site; definition of "wireless telecommunications device" excludes hands-free device

X X X

California 
(2011, 2018)

a person shall not drive a motor vehicle while holding and operating a wireless telephone, a 
handheld wireless telephone, or an electronic wireless communications device unless the device 
is specifically designed and configured to allow voice-operated and hands-free operation, and it is 
used in that manner 

X X X X

Colorado (2017) a person shall not use a wireless telephone for the purpose of engaging in text messaging or 
other similar forms of manual data entry or transmission while operating a motor vehicle X

Connecticut (2023)

no person shall operate a motor vehicle upon a highway while using a hand-held mobile 
telephone to engage in a call or while using a mobile electronic device; holding a telephone to or 
in immediate proximity of the ear is presumed to be engaging in a call; no person shall engage in 
any activity not related to the actual operation of a motor vehicle in a manner that interferes with 
the same operation of such vehicle except as provided

X X X

Delaware (2018)
no person shall drive a motor vehicle on any highway while using an electronic communication 
device while the vehicle is in motion; the prohibition does not apply when using a device hands-
free if the device is not held in a hand

X X

District of 
Columbia (2020)

a person shall not use a mobile telephone or other electronic device while operating a moving 
motor vehicle unless the telephone or device is equipped with a hands-free accessory X X X

Florida (2022)

a person may not operate a motor vehicle while manually typing or entering multiple letters, 
numbers, symbols, or other characters into a wireless communications device (a handheld device 
used or capable of being used in a handheld manner) or while sending or reading data on such a 
device for the purpose of nonvoice interpersonal communication

X X

Georgia (2018)
a driver shall not engage in any actions that distract the driver from safe operation of the vehicle; 
hold or support a wireless telecommunications device; write, send, or read a text-based 
communication; watch video

X X X X

Hawaii (2022) no person shall operate a motor vehicle while using a mobile electronic device; "using" means 
holding a mobile electronic device X X

Idaho (2021)
a person shall not operate a motor vehicle while using a mobile electronic device or watching 
motion on a screen; the prohibition does not apply to the use of a mobile electronic device in a 
voice-operated or hands-free mode

X X X X

Illinois (2023)
a person shall not operate a motor vehicle while using an electronic communication device, 
including using any device to watch or stream video or participate in any video conferencing; the 
prohibition does not apply if using the device in hands-free or voice-operated mode

X X X X

Indiana (2020) a person may not use or hold a telecommunications device while operating a motor vehicle 
except hands free or voice operated X X X X

Iowa (2023)
a person shall not use a hand-held electronic communication device to write, send, or view an 
electronic message while driving a motor vehicle; may use a device that is voice-operated or 
hands-free

X X X X

Kentucky (2011) no person shall, while operating a motor vehicle that is in motion on the traveled portion of a 
roadway, write, send, or read text-based communication X

Louisiana (2016)
no person shall operate any motor vehicle upon any public road while using a wireless 
telecommunications device to write, read, or send a text-based message or access, read, or post 
to a social networking site

X X

Maine (2019) a person may not operate a motor vehicle on a public way while using . . . or otherwise interacting 
with a handheld electronic device; a person may use a device in hands-free mode X X

Maryland (2014)
an individual may not use a text messaging device to write, send, or read a text message or an 
electronic message while operating a motor vehicle; the driver of a motor vehicle may not use the 
driver’s hands to use a handheld telephone

X X

Massachusetts 
(2019)

a vehicle operator shall not use a mobile electronic device unless the device is being used in 
hands-free mode; no operator of a motor vehicle operator shall hold a mobile electronic device or 
view an image on a mobile electronic device

X X X

Michigan (2023)

an individual shall not hold or use a mobile electronic device while operating a motor vehicle; the 
prohibition does not apply to the use of a mobile electronic device in a voice-operated or hands-
free mode if the operator of the motor vehicle does not use the operator's hands to operate the 
device

X X X X

Minnesota (2023)

the person operating the vehicle upon a street or highway is prohibited from holding a wireless 
communications device with one or both hands or using a wireless communications device for an 
electronic message, phone call, or accessing video or images; the prohibition does not apply if a 
person uses a wireless communications device solely in a voice-activated or hands-free mode

X X X X X
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Mississippi (2018)

an operator of a moving motor vehicle is prohibited from writing, sending, or reading a text 
message and from accessing, reading, or posting to a social networking site using a hand-held 
mobile telephone, which does not include a voice-operated or hands-free device; “hand-held 
mobile telephone” means a mobile telephone or other portable electronic communication device 
with which a user engages in a call or writes, sends or reads a text message using at least one 
hand

X X X X

Missouri (2023)

no vehicle operator shall physically hold or support an electronic communication device; write, 
send, or read any text-based communication; make any communication, including a phone call, 
voice message; engage in any form of electronic data retrieval or communication; manually enter 
letters, numbers, or symbols; watch a video; or record, post, send, or broadcast video; the 
prohibition does not apply to use of a voice-operated or hands-free feature or function

X X X X X X

Montana no similar prohibitions in state law

Nebraska (2014)
no person shall use a handheld wireless communication device to read a written communication, 
manually type a written communication, or send a written communication while operating a motor 
vehicle which is in motion; the prohibition does not include use of a handsfree device

X X X X

Nevada (2023)

a vehicle operator shall not manually enter text into a handheld wireless communications device, 
or send or read data using such device; a vehicle operator shall not use a handheld wireless 
communications device to engage in voice communications unless the device allows use without 
using hands other than to activate, deactivate, or initiate a device feature or function

X X X

New Hampshire 
(2016)

no person, while driving a moving motor vehicle upon a way, shall use any hand-held mobile 
electronic device capable of providing voice or data communication; holding a device in proximity 
to the ear is presumed to be engaging in a call

X X

New Jersey (2014)
use of a wireless telephone or electronic communication device by an operator of a moving motor 
vehicle on a public road or highway shall be unlawful except when the telephone is a hands-free 
wireless telephone or the electronic communication device is used hands-free

X X

New Mexico (2014)
a person shall not read or view a text message or manually type on a handheld mobile 
communication device for any purpose while driving a motor vehicle; the prohibition does not 
include a voice-operated or hands-free device

X X X X X

New York (2014)

no person shall operate a motor vehicle upon a public highway while using a mobile telephone to 
engage in a call or any portable electronic device while such vehicle is in motion; "engaged in a 
call" is assumed if the device is near the ear; “using the device” is assumed if the operator is 
holding the device; the prohibition does not apply to the use of a hands-free mobile telephone

X X X

North Carolina 
(2012)

it is unlawful for any person to operate a vehicle on a public street or highway while using a 
mobile telephone to manually enter multiple letters or text in the device as a means of 
communicating with another person; or read any electronic mail or text message transmitted to 
the device or stored within the device; does not apply to voice-operated technology

X X X

North Dakota 
(2017)

the operator of a motor vehicle that is part of traffic may not use a wireless communications 
device to compose, read, or send an electronic message; does not include voice commands to 
initiate or receive a call

X X X

Ohio (2023)
no person shall operate a motor vehicle on any street, highway, or property open to the public for 
vehicular traffic while using, holding, or physically supporting with any part of the person's body 
an electronic wireless communications device

X X

Oklahoma (2022)
it is unlawful for any person to operate a motor vehicle on any street or highway while using a 
hand-held electronic communication device to manually compose, send or read an electronic text 
message

X X

Oregon (2018)

a person commits the offense of driving a motor vehicle while using a mobile electronic device if 
the person, while driving a motor vehicle on a highway or premises open to the public, holds a 
mobile electronic device in the person’s hand; or uses a mobile electronic device for any purpose; 
using a hands-free accessory is an affirmative defense

X X X

Pennsylvania 
(2011)

no driver shall operate a motor vehicle on a highway or trafficway while using an interactive 
wireless communications device to send, read or write a text-based communication X X

Rhode Island 
(2019, 2022)

no person shall use a wireless handset, personal wireless communication, or hand-held personal 
wireless communication device to compose, read, or send text messages or engage in a call 
while driving a motor vehicle on any public street or public highway; “use” means to operate a 
wireless handset or a personal wireless communication device in a manner not consistent with 
hands-free operation

X X X

South Carolina 
(2014)

it is unlawful for a person to use a wireless electronic communication device to compose, send, 
or read a text-based communication while operating a motor vehicle on the public streets and 
highways; the prohibition does not apply to a person who is using a hands-free electronic 
communication device

X X X

South Dakota 
(2020)

no person may operate a motor vehicle while using a mobile electronic device; the prohibition 
does not apply to the use of a device in voice-operated or hands-free mode X X X

Tennessee (2019)

a person, while operating a motor vehicle on any road or highway, shall not physically hold or 
support, with any part of the person's body, a wireless communications device; write, send, or 
read any text-based communication; reach for the device; watch a video; or record or broadcast 
video

X X X X

Texas (2017)
an operator commits an offense if the operator uses a portable wireless communication device to 
read, write, or send an electronic message while operating a motor vehicle unless the vehicle is 
stopped; it is an affirmative defense if used in conjunction with a hands-free device

X X X

Utah (2022, 2023)
an individual may not use a wireless communication device while operating a moving motor 
vehicle to write or send a written communication, read a written communication, or view a video 
or photograph; an operator may use hands-free or voice-operated technology

X X X X X
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Vermont 
(2020, 2023)

an individual shall not use a portable electronic device or engage in texting while operating a 
moving motor vehicle in a place open to general circulation of vehicles or on a public highway, 
including while the vehicle is stationary; does not apply to hands-free use; a person shall not 
operate a moving motor vehicle carrying or having installed a screen or other device transmitting 
a moving entertainment picture that is visible to the operator

X X X X

Virginia (2023) it is unlawful for any person, while driving a moving motor vehicle, to hold a handheld personal 
communications device X X

Washington (2017)
a person who uses a personal electronic device while driving a motor vehicle on a public highway 
is guilty of a traffic infraction; "use" includes holding a device in one or both hands and watching 
video

X X X

West Virginia 
(2023)

a driver shall not engage in any actions involving any stand-alone electronic device or wireless 
telecommunications device that distracts such driver from the safe operation of the vehicle; write, 
send, or read any text-based communication; hold or support a wireless communications device 
with his or her body; write, send, or read any text-based communication; make any 
communication involving a wireless telecommunications device; engage in any form of electronic 
data retrieval or electronic data communication; manually enter letters, numbers, or symbols into 
any website, search engine, or application; watch a video; record, post, send, or broadcast video; 
or actively play any game

X X X X X

Wisconsin (2021) 

no person while driving a motor vehicle may be engaged or occupied with an activity, other than 
driving the vehicle, that interferes or reasonably appears to interfere with the person's ability to 
drive the vehicle safely; no person may drive any motor vehicle while composing or sending an 
electronic text message or an electronic mail message; may not operate or be in a position to 
directly observe any electronic device that is providing entertainment primarily by visual means; 
the prohibition does not apply to a voice-operated or hands-free device

X X X X X

Wyoming (2010)
no person shall operate a motor vehicle on a public street or highway while using a handheld 
electronic wireless communication device to write, send or read a text-based communication; the 
prohibition does not apply if using hands-free or voice-operated technology

X X X X



APPENDIX D, FINES AND OTHER PENALTIES FOR DISTRACTED DRIVING

Classification of violation
Fine, if does 
not increase

Fine, first 
offense

Fine, second 
offense

Fine, third 
offense 

Fine, 
subsequent 
offense Penalty, other

Lookback 
period Additional information

Kansas traffic infraction $60
Alabama misdemeanor ≤ $50 ≤ $100 ≤ $150 24 months
Alaska felony if causes physical 

injury or death
$500

Arizona civil penalty $75-$149 $150-$250 $150-$250 $150-$250 license suspension 
and possible 
restitution if results in 
injury or death

[not specified]

Arkansas misdemeanor if crash 
results in serious 
physical injury or death

$25-$250 $50-$500 $50-$500 $50-$500 additional fine of 
double the standard 
fine if a crash; court 
may also order ≤ 100 
hours of public 
service work

[not specified]

California infraction $20 $50 $50 $50 [not specified]
Colorado infraction, misdemeanor 

traffic offense 1 if injury
$50 $100 $100 $100 if injury: minimum 10 

days imprisonment, 
$300 fine, or both; 
maximum 1 year 
imprisonment, 
$1,000 fine, or both; 
required restitution; 
sentence may 
include public 
service

[not specified]

Connecticut [not specified] $200 $375 $625 $625 [not specified]
Delaware 
(device use)

[not specified, civil 
penalty]

$100 $200-$300 $200-$300 $200-$300 2 years

Delaware 
(inattentive 
driving)

[not specified] $25-$75 $50-$95 $50-$95 $50-$95 3 years

Delaware 
(causing death)

unclassified 
misdemeanor

≤ $1,150 ≤ $2,300 ≤ $2,300 ≤ $2,300 imprisonment for ≤ 
30 months for first, ≤ 
60 months for 
subsequent

[not specified]

District of 
Columbia

[not specified] $100 fine suspended if first-
time violator provides 
proof of acquisition of 
hands-free accessory
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Classification of violation
Fine, if does 
not increase

Fine, first 
offense

Fine, second 
offense

Fine, third 
offense 

Fine, 
subsequent 
offense Penalty, other

Lookback 
period Additional information

Florida infraction, moving 
violation

$60 $35 court costs may participate in 
approved driving safety 
program in lieu of fine 
and court costs if first 
offense

Georgia misdemeanor ≤ $50 ≤ $100 ≤ $150 24 months fine suspended if first-
time violator provides 
proof of acquisition of 
device that complies

Hawaii
(mobile 
electronic 
devices)

traffic infraction $300 $400 if in school 
zone or construction 
area

[not specified]

Hawaii
(inattentive 
driving that 
causes injury or 
damage)

[not specified] ≤ $500 possible $100 
surcharge

[not specified]

Idaho infraction, moving 
violation

$75 $150 $300 $300 may suspend license 
for ≤90 days if ≥ 3 
violations within 3 
years

3 years

Illinois offense against traffic 
regulations governing 
the movement of 
vehicles; misdemeanor if 
violation results in great 
bodily harm; felony if 
violation results in death

≤ $75 ≤ $100 ≤ $125 ≤ $150 ≥ $1,000 if disability 
or death

[not specified]

Indiana class C moving violation $35.50 $250.50 $500 [not specified] fine depends on the 
number of moving 
violations and is not 
specific to distracted 
driving

Iowa simple misdemeanor; 
felony if cause death

$45

Kentucky [not specified] $25 $50 $50 $50 [not specified]
Louisiana moving violation ≤ $500 ≤ $1,000 ≤ $1,000 ≤ $1,000 fine doubled if a 

crash
[not specified]

Maine traffic infraction $50 $250 $250 $250 [not specified]
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Classification of violation
Fine, if does 
not increase

Fine, first 
offense

Fine, second 
offense

Fine, third 
offense 

Fine, 
subsequent 
offense Penalty, other

Lookback 
period Additional information

Maryland [not specified] ≤ $5,000 if 
violator 
causes 
death or 
serious 

bodily injury

≤ $75 ≤ $125 ≤ $175 ≤ $175 ≤ 1 year in jail if 
violator causes 
death or serious 
bodily injury

[not specified] first-time penalty 
waived if violator 
acquires hands-free 
accessory or device

Massachusetts [not specified] $100 $250 $500 $500 third or subsequent: 
complete program on 
distracted driving

[not specified]

Michigan civil infraction $100 $250 $250 $250 community service: 
16 hours for first, 24 
hours for 
subsequent; driver 
improvement course 
if 3 or more within 3 
years

[not specified] fines doubled if violator 
is at fault in a crash

Minnesota [not specified] $275
Mississippi civil violation $100
Missouri infraction; misdemeanor 

if serious physical injury 
or property damage 
>$5,000; felony if cause 
death of another person

≤ $150 ≤ $250 ≤ $500 ≤ $500 ≤ $500 if in work or 
school zone

24 months misdemeanor if 
violation causes 
serious physical injury 
(class B) or property 
damage > $5,000 
(class D); class D 
felony if violation 
causes death of 
another person

Nebraska traffic infraction $200 $300 $500 $500 [not specified]
Nevada civil infraction $50 $100 $250 $250 double penalty if in 

work zone or 
pedestrian safety 
zone

7 years

New Hampshire violation $100 $250 $500 $500 24 months
New Jersey
(mobile devices)

[not specified] $200-$400 $400-$600 $600-$800 $600-$800 10 years

New Jersey 
(operating in 
unsafe manner)

$50-$150 $100-$250 $200-$500 $200-$500 5 years

New Mexico penalty assessment 
misdemeanor

$25 $50 $50 $50 [not specified]
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Classification of violation
Fine, if does 
not increase

Fine, first 
offense

Fine, second 
offense

Fine, third 
offense 

Fine, 
subsequent 
offense Penalty, other

Lookback 
period Additional information

New York traffic infraction $50-$200 $50-$250 $50-$450 $50-$450 18 months

North Carolina infraction $100
North Dakota moving violation $100
Ohio unclassified 

misdemeanor
≤ $150 or 

attend 
distracted 

driving 
safety 
course

≤ $250 ≤ $500 ≤ $500 may suspend driver's 
license if second or 
subsequent violation 
within 2 years

2 years fine doubled if in 
construction zone

Oklahoma [not specified] ≤ $100
Oregon Class B traffic violation; 

class A violation if a 
second violation or 
contributes to a crash; 
class B misdemeanor for 
third or subsequent 
violation

≤ $1,000; 
$265 

presumptive 
fine

≤ $2,000; 
$440 

presumptive 
fine

≤ $2,500 ≤ $2,500 10 years higher presumptive 
fines in work, school, 
or safety zones

Pennsylvania summary offense $50
Rhode Island
(text messaging)

[not specified] $100, ≤ 30 
days 

suspension

$150, ≤ 3 
months 

suspension

$250, ≤ 6 
months 

suspension

$250, ≤ 6 
months 

suspension

fine, license 
suspension, or both

[not specified]

Rhode Island 
(mobile 
telephone 
usage)

[not specified] $100 fine suspended for first-
time violator who 
acquires a hands-free 
accessory

South Carolina [not specified] ≤ $25
South Dakota class 2 misdemeanor ≤ $500, ≤ 30 

days in jail, 
or both

Tennessee Class C misdemeanor; 
moving violation

$50 or 
completion 

of driver 
education 

course

$50 $100 $100 ≤ $10 in court costs [not specified] fine $100 if a crash, 
$200 if in a work zone 
or marked school zone 
when flashers are 
operating

Texas misdemeanor $25-$99 $100-$200 $100-$200 $100-$200 [not specified] fine ≤ $4,000 and ≤ 1 
year in jail if violation 
causes death or 
serious bodily injury
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Classification of violation
Fine, if does 
not increase

Fine, first 
offense

Fine, second 
offense

Fine, third 
offense 

Fine, 
subsequent 
offense Penalty, other

Lookback 
period Additional information

Utah Class C misdemeanor; 
Class B misdemeanor if 
serious bodily injury or 
>1 conviction within 3 
years; felony if cause 
death

≤ $100 for 
class C, ≤ 
$1,000 for 
class B, ≤ 
$10,000 if 

felony

imprisonment ≤ 90 
days if class C, ≤ 6 
months if class B, ≤ 
15 years if felony

Vermont traffic violation $100-$200 $250-$500 $250-$500 $250-$500 2 years fines doubled for 
violation in work and 
school zones; offenses 
counted for previous 2 
years

Virginia traffic infraction $125 $250 $250 $250 [not specified] fine is $250 if in work 
zone

Washington traffic infraction ≤ $250 under RCWA 
46.63.110, fines are 
set by Washington 
Supreme Court

West Virginia misdemeanor $100 $200 ≤ $350 ≤ $350 court may suspend 
driver's license for 90 
days

24 months fine $500-$1,000, ≤120 
days in jail, or both and 
license revoked for 1 
year if cause serious 
physical harm; violator 
is guilty of negligent 
homicide if death within 
1 year after violation, 
≤1 year in jail, fine 
$100-$1,000, or both, 
license revoked

Wisconsin
(distracted 
driving, texting)

[not specified] $20-$400

Wisconsin
(work zone)

[not specified] $20-$40 $50-$100 $50-$100 $50-$100 1 year

Wyoming misdemeanor ≤ $75
federal, CMV disqualified 

for 60 days
disqualified 
for 120 days

3 years
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