
State Code Section Description Code Link Levies Personal 
Income Tax

Alabama No No child care tax credit for families at this time Yes
Alaska No No child care tax credit for families at this time No
Arizona No No child care tax credit for families at this time Yes
Arkansas § 26-51-502 20% of the federal child and dependent care tax credit. Refundable. https://law.justia.com/codes/arkansas/2010/title-26/subtitle-

5/chapter-51/subchapter-5/26-51-502
Yes

California 18 CCR § 17052.6 For families with adjusted gross income less than $100,000, the dependent 
care tax credit is: 50% of the federal child and dependent care tax credit 
(CDCTC) for taxpayers earning up to $40,000; 43% of the federal CDCTC for 
taxpayers earning between $40,001 and $70,000; and 34% of the federal 
CDCTC for taxpayers earning between $70,000 and $100,000.

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/file/personal/credits/child-and-
dependent-care-expenses-credit.html

Yes

Colorado 39-22-119 For families with adjusted gross income less than $60,000; 50% of the federal 
child and dependent care tax credit (CDCTC) for taxpayers with income up to 
$25,000; 30% of the federal CDCTC for taxpayers earning between $25,000 
and $35,000; and 10% of the federal CDCTC for taxpayers earning between 
$35,000 and $60,000.

https://casetext.com/regulation/colorado-administrative-
code/department-200-department-of-revenue/division-201-
taxpayer-service-division-tax-group/rule-1-ccr-201-2-income-
tax/rule-39-22-119-child-care-expenses-tax-credit

Yes

Connecticut No No child care tax credit for families at this time Yes

Delaware § 1114 50% of the federal child and dependent care tax credit (CDCTC), not 
refundable

https://codes.findlaw.com/de/title-30-state-taxes/de-code-
sect-30-1114.html

Yes

District of 
Columbia

32% of the federal child and dependent care tax credit (CDCTC), not 
refundable

https://otr.cfo.dc.gov/sites/default/files/dc/sites/
otr/publication/attachments/2019%20D-
40_Booklet.pdf 

Yes

District of 
Columbia

§ 47–1806.15 Keep child care affordable tax credit. The credit is allowed for children who 
are younger than age 4 as of September 30 of the taxable year. The amount of 
the credit is the lesser of: (i) The total amount of all eligible child care 
expenses paid by the taxpayer in the taxable year OR the limit per eligible 
child, as set forth in (B), multiplied by the number of the taxpayer's eligible 
children.

(B)(i) For taxable years beginning on January 1, 2018, and January 1, 2019, the 
limit per eligible child shall be $1,000. (ii) For each taxable year beginning 
after December 31, 2019, the limit per eligible child shall be increased 
annually pursuant to the cost-of-living adjustment (if the adjustment does not 
result in a multiple of $5, it is rounded down to the next multiple of $5). The 
credit is refundable.

https://code.dccouncil.us/dc/council/code/sections/47-
1806.15.html

Yes

Florida No No child care tax credit for families at this time No

Georgia § 48-7-29.10 30% of federal child and dependent care tax credit (CDCTC), not refundable https://law.justia.com/codes/georgia/2010/title-
48/chapter-7/article-2/48-7-29-10/

Yes

Hawaii The tax credit is calculated as a percentage of qualifying expenses, not as a 
percentage of the federal credit. Refundable.

https://files.hawaii.gov/tax/forms/2019/schx_i.pdf Yes

Idaho* § 63-3022D Idaho does not have a dependent care tax credit. However, Idaho has a 
dependent care tax deduction.  Idaho increased the dedution to $12,000 per 
year through HB 288 enacted in April of 2023 (retroactive to 1/1/23).

https://legislature.idaho.gov/sessioninfo/2023/legislatio
n/H0288/

Yes

Illinois No No child care tax credit for families at this time Yes

Indiana No No child care tax credit for families at this time Yes
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Iowa § 422.12C Taxpayers with a net income of less than $90,000 (increased from $45,000) 
are eligible to take one of these two credits: the Child and Dependent Care 
Credit OR the Early Childhood Development Tax Credit. Refundable.  Families 
are not eligible for the Child and Dependent Care Credit if they were unable to 
take it on their federal tax return. Additional information: 
https://tax.iowa.gov/expanded-instructions/child-dependent-care-credit-
early-childhood-development-credit-2014
Modified in 2021 to increase $45,000 cap to $90,000.

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/422.12C.pdf
https://legiscan.com/IA/text/SF619/id/2404268

Yes

Kansas § 79-32,190 In tax year 2020, the Kansas dependent care credit is equal to 25% of the 
federal child and dependent care tax credit (CDCTC). Not refundable. This 
credit was repealed in 2013 and re-instated in 2017 (for taxable year 2018 
and beyond). For additional information:  
https://www.ksrevenue.org/taxnotices/notice17-07.pdf

https://www.ksrevisor.org/statutes/chapters/ch79/079_032_
0190.html

Yes

Kentucky § 141.067​ 20% of federal child and dependent care tax credit (CDCTC), not refundable. https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=2
9058

Yes

Louisiana § 6104 Child Care Family Tax Credit. Families can receive a tax credit that increases as 
the quality rating of the child care program increases. Tax credits are available 
for each child in care. Refundable.

http://legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?d=453233 Yes

Louisiana § 6106 Credit for child care directors and staff. Child care staff and directors can 
receive a refundable tax credit based on credentials and levels of education. 
Level Four Director or Level Four Staff                     $3,000
Level Three Director or Level Three Staff                 $2,500
Level Two Director or Level Two Staff                      $2,000
Level One Director or Level One Staff                       $1,500

The credit is adjusted annually for each calendar year by the percentage 
increase in the Consumer Price Index United States city average for all urban 
consumers (CPI-U), as prepared by the United States Department of Labor, 
Bureau of Labor Statistics, as determined by the secretary of the Department 
of Revenue on December first of the preceding calendar year.

http://legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?d=453235 Yes

Louisiana § 47:297.4 Child Care Tax Credit Based on federal child and dependent care tax credit 
(CDCTC). In addition to the child care tax credit that is available to families 
based on the quality rating of programs they select, there is also a refundable 
credit linked to the federal CDCTC for families with income below $25,000; 
nonrefundable credit for other families with a sliding scale based on income.

https://law.justia.com/codes/louisiana/2018/code-
revisedstatutes/title-47/rs-47-297.4/

Yes

Maine § 5218 The Maine child care tax credit is equal to 25% of the federal child and 
dependent care tax credit (CDCTC). The credit doubles if the expenses are 
related to a quality child care provider with a Step 4 Quality Certificate. The 
credit is also refundable up to $500. 

http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/36/title36sec5218.html Yes

Maryland § 10-716 Effective July 1, 2019, state legislation was enacted to increase the maximum 
income limit on eligibility for the State income tax for child and dependent 
care expenses, alter the phase-out of the tax credit, make the credit 
refundable, subject the credit to increased  income limits (below $75,000),  
and increase the tax credit each taxable year for income eligibility and 
refundability thresholds by a cost-of-living adjustment. The credit applies to 
taxable years beginning after December 31, 2018. See fiscal note descibing 
changes. http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2019RS/fnotes/bil_0000/sb0870.pdf

https://casetext.com/statute/code-of-maryland/article-tax-
general/title-10-income-tax/subtitle-7-income-tax-
credits/section-10-716-for-child-care-or-dependent-care

Yes

Massachusetts* C.M.R. § 
364.400(D)

Massachusetts does not have a dependent care tax credit. However, 
Massachusetts offers taxpayers two child and dependent care related tax 
deductions. One is for child care expenses and the other is for dependent care 
more generally (including for the elderly or a disabled family member). 
Families cannot take both deductions. For more information: 
https://www.mass.gov/service-details/view-child-and-dependent-related-
deductions#Child

https://www.mass.gov/service-details/view-child-and-
dependent-related-deductions#Child

Yes

Michigan No No child care tax credit for families at this time Yes

Minnesota § 290.067 The Minnesota dependent care tax credit equals the federal child and 
dependent care tax credit (CDCTC) for which the family is eligible, subject to 
an income-based phaseout.  While all filers with tax liability and qualifying 
expenses may claim the federal credit, the state credit is fully phased out for 
families with higher incomes. The Minnesota credit is refundable. 
https://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hrd/pubs/ss/ssdepcred.pdf also: 
https://www.revenue.state.mn.us/child-and-dependent-care-credit

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/290.067 Yes

Mississippi No No child care tax credit for families at this time Yes

Missouri No No child care tax credit for families at this time Yes

http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/36/title36sec5218.html
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Montana* § 15-30-2131. Montana does not have a dependent care tax credit. Instead, Montana has a 
dependent care expense deduction. Maximum expenses: $2,400 in the case 
of one qualifying individual, $3,600 in the case of two qualifying individuals,  
and $4,800 in the case of three or more qualifying individuals. If the 
combined adjusted gross income of a family exceeds $18,000 for the tax year 
during which the expenses are incurred, the amount of the dependent care 
expenses are reduced by one-half of the excess of the combined adjusted 
gross income over $18,000. 

https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0150/chapter_0300/part_0
210/section_0310/0150-0300-0210-0310.html

Yes

Nebraska §  77-
2715.07(2)(b) 

Refundable for families with federal adjusted gross income of $29,000 or less, 
whether or not the federal child and dependent care tax credit (CDCTC) was 
limited by  federal tax liability. The percentage of the federal CDCTC shall be 
100% for families with income less than $22,000, and the percentage is 
reduced by 10% for each $1,000, or fraction above.

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-
2715.07

Yes

Nevada No No child care tax credit for families at this time No

New Hampshire No No child care tax credit for families at this time No

New Jersey § 54A:4-17 For families with New Jersey taxable income of $150,000 or less, a refundable 
dependent care tax credit as a percentage of the federal child and dependent 
care tax credit (CDCTC) is available. The credit is 50% of the federal CDCTC for 
families with income under $20,000 declining to 10% for families with income 
of $150,000 or less.  This credit was increased in 2021 from a maximum of 
$60,000 and also made refundable. For more information:  
https://www.nj.gov/treasury/taxation/depcarecred.shtml

https://pub.njleg.gov/bills/2020/S4500/4065_R1.
HTM

Yes

New Mexico § 7-2-18.1 The New Mexico dependent care tax credit is limited to taxpayers with 
income under $31,160. The credit is refundable.

https://laws.nmonesource.com/w/nmos/Chapter-7-NMSA-
1978?zoupio-debug#!fragment/zoupio-
_Toc49963938/(hash:(chunk:(anchorText:zoupio-
_Toc49963938),notesQuery:'',scrollChunk:!n,searchQuery:'dep
endent%20care%20tax%20credit',searchSortBy:RELEVANCE,ta
b:search))

Yes

New York Article 22, Part 1 § 
606 (c)(1)

The NYS dependent care tax credit is a minimum of 20% of the federal child 
and dependent care tax credit (CDCTC) or it may exceed the federal credit and 
be refundable. It is calculated based on the amount of NYS adjusted gross 
income, the number of qualifying persons, and the amount of qualified 
expenses paid. 
https://www.tax.ny.gov/pit/credits/child_and_dependent_care_credit.htm

http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/lawssrch.cgi?NVLWO: Yes

North Carolina No No child care tax credit for families at this time Yes

North Dakota No No child care tax credit for families at this time Yes

Ohio § 5747.054 The Ohio dependent care tax credit is available for families with income under 
$40,000. The credit is 25% of the federal child and dependent care tax credit 
(CDCTC) except that the amount of the credit for a taxpayer with modified 
adjusted gross income of less than $20,000 is equal to the federal credit. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5747.054v1 Yes

Oklahoma § 710:50-15-71 Families have a choice between: 20% of the federal child and dependent care 
tax credit (CDCTC) or 5% of the federal child tax credit. Federal adjusted gross 
income can not exceed $100,000. Not refundable. 

https://casetext.com/regulation/oklahoma-administrative-
code/title-710-oklahoma-tax-commission/chapter-50-
income/subchapter-15-oklahoma-taxable-income/part-7-
credits-against-tax/section-71050-15-71-credit-for-child-
carechild-tax-credit

Yes

Oregon § 315.264 Oregon has a Working Family Household and Dependent Care Credit (WFHDC) 
that supports low- to moderate-income families to pay for the care of 
dependents while they're working or looking for work.​​

https://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/315.264 Yes

Pennsylvania Act 53 of 2022 
(HB 1342)

Dependent and Child Care Enhancement Program. Beginning for tax year 
2022, Pennsylvania residents who claim the federal Child and Dependent Care 
Tax Credit (CDCTC) may claim a tax credit against their Pennsylvania tax 
liability. The Pennsylvania Dependent and Child Care Enhancement Tax Credit 
was established as part of the 2022-2023 state budget. The provision creates 
a refundable personal income tax credit calculated at 30% of the federal 
CDCTC for those who qualified for the federal program.

PA tax form:  https://www.google.com/url?client=internal-
element-cse&cx=007572080359491747877:iaa8-
kcfhsa&q=https://www.revenue.pa.gov/FormsandPublications
/FormsforIndividuals/PIT/Documents/2022/2022_pa-
40dc.pdf&sa=U&ved=2ahUKEwjBwMWNtuH9AhXOjokEHUrpA
tQQFnoECAgQAQ&usg=AOvVaw0rVqmtNGIVFbyUHiNK30NU
State Budget Summary, Revenue Provisions. 
https://www.google.com/url?client=internal-element-
cse&cx=007572080359491747877:iaa8-
kcfhsa&q=https://www.revenue.pa.gov/TaxLawPoliciesBulleti
nsNotices/TaxSummaries/Documents/2022_tax_summary_jul.
pdf&sa=U&ved=2ahUKEwjBwMWNtuH9AhXOjokEHUrpAtQQF
noECAEQAQ&usg=AOvVaw2fccEfi8ytTNRhCduvIEdt

Yes

Rhode Island 25% of the federal child and dependent care tax credit (CDCTC), not 
refundable

http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2019/Income/2019%20Resident
%20Instructions_12052019.pdf

Yes

https://pub.njleg.gov/bills/2020/S4500/4065_R1.HTM
https://pub.njleg.gov/bills/2020/S4500/4065_R1.HTM
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South Carolina § 12-6-3380 7% of the federal child and dependent care tax credit (CDCTC). The maximum 
credit allowed is $210 for one child or $420 for two or more children. For 
additional information: https://dor.sc.gov/forms-
site/Forms/SC1040Instr_2019.pdf

https://law.justia.com/codes/south-carolina/2014/title-
12/chapter-6/section-12-6-3380/

Yes

South Dakota No No child care tax credit for families at this time No

Tennessee No No child care tax credit for families at this time No

Texas No No child care tax credit for families at this time No

Utah No No child care tax credit for families at this time Yes

Vermont § 5828c Families with federal adjusted gross income less than $30,000 (or $40,000 for 
married, filing jointly) are eligible for a refundable credit. The credit is equal 
to 50% of the federal child and dependent care tax credit (CDCTC) allowed to 
the taxpayer for the taxable year for child or dependent care services 
provided in Vermont in a registered home or licensed facility certified by the 
Agency of Human Services as meeting national accreditation or national 
credential standards endorsed by the Agency. A credit under this section shall 
be in lieu of any child and dependent care credit available under subsection 
5822(d) of the Vermont code.

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&
crid=a50415bf-1b67-44d2-9d2c-
0a0a94bd6330&config=00JAA0NzU3MGY5Yy1iNzAxLTQ3ZDUt
ODllMy1iYjg4Y2IzOGNjNGIKAFBvZENhdGFsb2eitsnnFfJQCs4nR
x7kBtbY&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-
legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5PJ4-RFJ0-004G-G51R-
00008-
00&pdcontentcomponentid=234198&pdteaserkey=sr1&pditab
=allpods&ecomp=c5w_kkk&earg=sr1&prid=d25afb49-6b36-
4ad3-94fe-9599cc20f41f

Yes

Vermont § 5822d (d)(1) 24 percent of each of the credits allowed against the taxpayer's federal 
income tax for the taxable year as follows: credit for people who are elderly 
or permanently totally disabled, investment tax credit attributable to the 
Vermont-property portion of the investment, and child care and dependent 
care credits.

https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/151/0582
2

Yes

Virginia* § 58.1-322.03 Virginia does not have a dependent care tax credit. Instead, a deduction is 
allowed for dependent care expenses based on expenses claimed under the 
federal child and dependent care tax credit (CDCTC). Families may only claim 
this deduction on their Virginia tax return if they were eligible to claim a 
credit for child and dependent care expenses on their federal return. For 
more information: https://www.tax.virginia.gov/deductions

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter3/section5
8.1-322.03/

Yes

Washington No No child care tax credit for families at this time No
West Virginia No No child care tax credit for families at this time Yes
Wisconsin 2021 Wis. Act 58, 

sec. 71.07(9g)
Additional Child and Dependent Care Tax Credit. Beginning in 2022, 
Wisconsin residents who claim the federal Child and Dependent Care Tax 
Credit (CDCTC) may claim a tax credit against their Wisconsin tax liability.  The 
provision creates a refundable personal income tax credit calculated at 50% 
of the federal CDCTC for those who qualified for the federal program. The 
credit is not refundable.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc
=s&source=web&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwiPp7L-
ueH9AhUzSzABHYSNAFgQFnoECA4QAQ&url=https
%3A%2F%2Fwww.revenue.wi.gov%2FWisconsinTa
xBulletin%2F214-07-21-
WTB.pdf&usg=AOvVaw1xCqjLaIVQPH18utb_Mgiw

Yes

Wyoming No No child care tax credit for families at this time No

As of:

May 2023

Note: Idaho, Massachusetts, Montana, and Virginia do not have child care tax credits for families. Instead, these states allow for a deduction for child care expenses (up to certain limits).
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https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwiPp7L-ueH9AhUzSzABHYSNAFgQFnoECA4QAQ&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.revenue.wi.gov%2FWisconsinTaxBulletin%2F214-07-21-WTB.pdf&usg=AOvVaw1xCqjLaIVQPH18utb_Mgiw
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwiPp7L-ueH9AhUzSzABHYSNAFgQFnoECA4QAQ&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.revenue.wi.gov%2FWisconsinTaxBulletin%2F214-07-21-WTB.pdf&usg=AOvVaw1xCqjLaIVQPH18utb_Mgiw
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwiPp7L-ueH9AhUzSzABHYSNAFgQFnoECA4QAQ&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.revenue.wi.gov%2FWisconsinTaxBulletin%2F214-07-21-WTB.pdf&usg=AOvVaw1xCqjLaIVQPH18utb_Mgiw
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