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Driver’s License Suspension for Failure to
Comply with a Traffic Citation

KSA 8-2110 establishes the misdemeanor crime
of failure to comply with a traffic citation, which
is failure to appear in court or otherwise comply
with a citation, including failure to pay required
fines.

In Kansas, when a person fails to comply with

a citation, the individual is notified they have

30 days to appear in court or pay fines, after
which, the law requires the Division of Vehicles
to suspend the person’s driving privileges. As of
August 2023, licenses of 208,347 Kansas drivers
were suspended. Of these, 123,913, or 59.5
percent, were due to failure to comply with

a citation.

Kansas is one of 28 states that suspends
licenses for failure to pay traffic debts, and one
of 38 states that suspends licenses for failure to
appear in court to answer a citation.
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Reinstatement Fees

Drivers whose licenses are suspended for
failure to comply must pay reinstatement fees
to have their driving privileges restored. Kansas
reinstatement fees for such suspensions are
among the highest in the nation at $100 plus a
$22 court surcharge for each charge associated
with the original citation, regardless of whether
a court dismisses or reduces one or more of
the original charges. Kansas is the only state
that assesses a separate reinstatement fee for
each charge on an unanswered or unpaid traffic
citation.

If an individual petitions the court on the basis
of financial hardship, the court, since 2019, has
discretion to waive or reduce reinstatement fees.
Starting in 2021, a court may also waive fines or
court costs in response to such petition.

Restricted Driving Privileges

Since 2009, KSA 8-2110 has allowed individuals
to apply for restricted driving privileges in lieu

of suspension. This expanded in 2014 to also
allow individuals whose licenses had expired
while they were suspended to apply. Restricted
driving privileges permit driving under limited
circumstances—driving to and from work, school,
medical appointments, emergency care, or
court-appointed obligations, or in the course of
employment-related duties—for up to one year,
or until the terms of the traffic citation are fulfilled.
However, the program is generally under-utilized
for undetermined reasons.

Eligibility expansion proposed. Drivers whose
licenses have been revoked are currently not
eligible for the restricted driving privileges
program. 2023 SB 2 is one proposal to expand
eligibility to drivers whose licenses have been
revoked solely for driving while the person’s
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driving privileges were suspended due to

failure to comply with a traffic citation. SB 2 was
recommended for passage as amended by the
Senate Committee on Transportation, withdrawn
from the Senate Calendar, and referred to the
Senate Committee on Judiciary, where it remains
as of the start of the 2024 Session.

Special Committee on Restricted Driving
Privileges

The Special Committee on Restricted Driving
Privileges (Committee) met twice during the 2023
Interim to consider issues relating to reform of
laws pertaining to restricted driving privileges. Its
recommendations included the following.’

With regard to individuals whose licenses have
been revoked solely for driving while the person’s
driving privileges were suspended due to failure
to comply with a traffic citation, the Committee
recommended the Legislature:

e Provide for full restoration of driving privileges
once the individual complies with all
outstanding fines, fees, and court obligations.

With regard to license restrictions, the Committee
recommended the Legislature:

e Provide restricted driver’s licenses for drivers
attempting to comply and be accountable;

e Limit the number of opportunities an individual
has to apply for restrictions;

e Reform law pertaining to failure to comply
to begin with restrictions, with suspension
subsequent to continued non-compliance; and

e Include driving children to and from child care
among permissible driving activities.

1 http://kslegislature.org/li/b2023_24/committees/
ctte_spc_2023 restricted_driving _1/documents/ and the
published Interim Committee Report

84 | Kansas Legislative Research Department

The Committee further recommended the
Legislature consider or review the following:

e Explore the possibility of providing for
repayment plans for traffic debt with and
improved communication between the
Division of Vehicles and the courts;

e Consider limiting reinstatement fees to a
single administrative fee per reinstatement,
rather than a reinstatement fee for each
charge;

e Consider revising which traffic citations can
result in a driver’s license suspension; and

e Consider providing more judicial discretion
with regard to suspension and revocation.

Additional information can be found in the
Committee resources and in the published
Interim Committee Report.
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