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October 6, 2023

To: 2023 Special Committee on Restricted Driving Privileges

From: Eric Adell, Research Analyst

Re: State Statutes and Legislation Establishing Payment Plans for Debts Related to 
License Suspension and Revocation

This memorandum provides a review of state statutes and legislation pertaining to the 
establishment of payment plans for debts related to license suspension and revocation.

Currently,  Kansas does not  have any statutory directives requiring  Kansas courts to 
establish payment plans; however, KSA 8-2110, which establishes procedures for suspension of 
driving privileges for failure to comply with a traffic citation, permits courts to modify the methods 
of  payment  of  fines,  fees,  and  court  costs  associated  with  traffic  citations  and  license 
reinstatement.

Statutes and legislation of  other states pertaining to payment plans for  traffic-related 
debts are provided below.

Alabama

SB 154, enacted in 2023, specifies if a court’s order permits payment plans, the court is 
prohibited  from  suspending  driving  privileges  for  failure  to  pay  a  fine,  fee,  or  court  cost 
associated with a traffic violation unless the individual fails to make three or more payments.

Florida

Florida law requires courts to enter into payment plans if an individual is determined to 
be indigent; HB 397 was enacted in 2022, added the following limitations:

● Limits monthly payment amounts on all debts combined to the greater of:

○ Two percent of the person’s annual net income; or

○ Twenty-five dollars; and

● Limits down payments to establish a payment plan to the lesser of:

○ Ten percent of the total amount owed; or

○ One hundred dollars.



The new Florida law also requires the licensing agency to work with court  clerks to 
ensure court  technology systems can be used to reinstate suspended driver  licenses upon 
compliance.

Indiana

Indiana law requires courts to permit individuals owing traffic debts to apply to be placed 
on an installment plan. Under Indiana law:

● Courts have discretion to allow installment agreements and to set terms; and

● Suspension of driving privileges occurs if an individual defaults on the payment 
plan until they are back in compliance.

Louisiana

Louisiana law requires the licensing agency to enter into installment plans for payment of 
outstanding traffic fines and penalties with any individual who:

● Owes $250 or more in fines or penalties;
● Has satisfied all other conditions for reinstatement of their driver’s license; 
● Requests the installment plan within an allotted time frame;
● Signs a written agreement with the agency; and 
● Waives any right to judicial or administrative review of the final sum.

The law requires installment plans to have a set final amount due with payments in equal 
monthly installments on a scale determined by the total amount due.

Under such payment agreements, failure to pay on time per the agreement can cause 
the whole amount to come due. The driver then has 60 days to pay or request the agreement be 
reinstated and for the licensing agency to grant a 60-day suspension of payments for good 
cause.  Failure  to  pay or  request  the  agreement  be reinstated results  in  suspension of  the 
driver’s license.

Oklahoma

HB 3925 was enacted in 2023 and requires courts to establish 72-month payment plans 
for defendants who cannot immediately pay fines and penalties. The law also:

● Requires courts to make a determination of the defendant’s ability to pay at the 
time of sentencing;

● Permits defendants to request a cost hearing for the court to determine the ability 
to pay and request modification of the installment plan or reduction or waiver of 
amount owed;
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● Permits courts to imprison or suspend licenses of individuals determined to be 
able to pay but unwilling to pay;

● Establishes a court cost compliance program in which all counties are required to 
participate and which:

○ Clarifies county participation with third-party collections agents; and

○ Requires courts to recall failure-to-pay warrants if the offender makes a 
$100  down  payment  and  agrees  to  a  monthly  payment  plan  with  the 
collection agent; and

● Creates  a  Cost  Administration  Implementation  Committee  within  the  judicial 
branch to oversee the implementation of the bill and make recommendations to 
the Oklahoma Legislature for any changes it deems necessary and appropriate 
for the administration of court fines, fees, costs, and assessments.

Montana

Montana law provides discretion to courts to order payment plans for traffic citations. The 
law prohibits  driver’s  license suspension and requires  restoration  of  driving  privileges if  the 
individual:

● Can provide proof of insurance;
● Agrees to a payment plan; and
● Does not default on the payment plan.

In case of default, the law requires that the individual’s license be suspended until they 
are back in compliance.

Maryland

Maryland law authorizes courts to approve installment plan agreements for the payment 
of citations or fines imposed at a hearing or trial. Under the law, such payment plans:

● Constitute compliance with a traffic citation;
● May be established if the total amount of fines is $150 or more; and
● Do not require minimum monthly payments.

New York

New York law requires courts to offer payment plans for traffic citations. Under the law, 
payment plans must provide monthly payments not exceeding 2.0 percent of the individual’s 
monthly net income or $10 per month, whichever is larger.

The law also requires notification of right to a payment plan be provided:

● At the time a citation is issued;
● At the time of sentencing; and
● In any communication concerning collection of fines and fees.
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Tennessee

Tennessee law requires courts to offer payment plans based on income and ability to 
pay to anyone who requests one or is required to enter into one. The law also:

● Requires  courts  to  permit  modifications  upon  request,  based  on  changes  in 
financial circumstances or upon good cause;

● Provides for an appeal process for modification denials;

● Permits courts to order suspension upon 30 days after notice of default or failure 
to adhere to the payment plan if the person does not come into compliance; and

● Permits issuance of a restricted drivers license upon non-compliance with the 
payment plan if the person would otherwise be eligible for a drivers license.

West Virginia 

West Virginia law requires court clerks to establish payment plans for drivers convicted 
of failure to respond or appear when charged with a traffic citation.

The law also requires that courts:

● Implement a uniform payment plan; and
● Utilize a uniform financial affidavit for payment plan requests.

Under West Virginia law, such repayment plans must: 

● Include the number and schedule of payments;

● Set monthly payments based on the greater of $10 or 1/12th of the person’s net 
annual income; and

● Be subject to modification or waiver by the court.
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