Division of the Budget Landon State Office Building 900 SW Jackson Street, Room 504 Topeka, KS 66612

Adam Proffitt, Director



Phone: (785) 296-2436 adam.c.proffitt@ks.gov http://budget.kansas.gov

Laura Kelly, Governor

January 27, 2023

The Honorable Troy Waymaster, Chairperson House Committee on Appropriations 300 SW 10th Avenue, Room 112-N Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Representative Waymaster:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for HB 2078 by Joint Committee on Information Technology

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning HB 2078 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

HB 2078 would change the membership of the Information Technology Executive Council. Under current law, the President of the Senate and the Minority Leader of the Senate each appoint one member from the Senate Ways and Means Committee. Also, under current law, the Speaker of the House and the Minority Leader of the House each appoint one member from the House Government, Technology and Security Committee or its successor committee. The bill would remove the requirement that a member of the Senate or House be a member of the respective committees mentioned above.

The bill specifies that legislative members must remain members of the Legislature in order to retain membership on the Council and would serve until replaced. Vacancies of members during a term would be filled in the same manner as the original appointment only for the unexpired part of the term. The appointing authority for a member could remove the member, reappoint the member or substitute another appointee for the member at any time. HB 2078 would specify that a quorum of the Council would be nine members and all actions of the Council would be required to be taken by a majority of all members of the Council.

Both the Office of Information Technology Services and Legislative Administrative Services indicate enactment of the bill would not have a fiscal effect on the operations of either agency.

Sincerely,

Adam Proffitt

Director of the Budget

- C. - 7

cc: Brian Reiter, OITS

Karen Clowers, Legislative Services