
Insurance Code Amendments—Surplus Lines Premium Tax Rate; Prepaid Service 
Plans; Setting Certain Fees; HB 2090

HB 2090 makes several changes to the Insurance Code to decrease the premium tax 
rate assessed for certain surplus lines business, modify reporting and fee requirements relating 
to prepaid service plans, and amend the Uniform Insurance Agents Licensure Act and the Public 
Adjusters Licensing Act to allow the Commissioner of Insurance (Commissioner) to set certain 
fees lower  than the established statutory  maximum amounts and also  amend fingerprinting 
criteria for resident agents.

Surplus Lines, Premium Tax Rates

The  bill  amends  a  provision  in  the  Insurance  Code  pertaining  to  the  premium  tax 
assessed for  surplus lines business that  is  transacted on behalf  of  insureds (policyholders) 
whose home state is Kansas.

Under current law, on March 1 of each year, licensed agents are required to collect and 
pay to the Commissioner a tax of 6.0 percent on the total gross premiums charged, less any 
return  premiums.  The  bill  amends  this  rate  to  3.0  percent,  commencing  with  the  tax  year 
beginning January 1, 2024.

Prepaid Service Plans

The  bill  modifies  requirements  for  reporting  individuals  who  solicit  memberships  on 
behalf  of  prepaid  service  plans  from  semi-annually  to  annually.  The  bill  also  discontinues 
payment of annual registration fees.

Under current law, each prepaid service plan authorized to do business in the state is 
required to register each individual who solicits memberships on their  behalf, pay an annual 
registration  fee  of  $2  per  individual,  and  provide  a  list  of  those  individuals  to  the  Kansas 
Insurance Department (Department) biannually, on January and July 1 of each year.

The bill: 

● Discontinues  the  annual  registration  fee  of  $2  per  individual  who  solicits 
memberships on behalf of the prepaid service plan;

● Changes the list reporting requirements from a biannual to an annual basis at the 
time the prepaid service plan files to continue its certificate of registration;

● Includes the amendments to the registration requirements into KSA 40-4209; and

● Repeals the former location of the reporting requirements in KSA 40-4203.
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Commissioner of Insurance, Fees Established in Law

The bill amends provisions in the Uniform Insurance Agents Licensure Act and the Public 
Adjusters Licensing Act to allow the Commissioner to set fees in an amount lower than the 
maximum amount of the fees established in law. The bill also amends fingerprinting criteria for 
resident agents.

Resident Agents and Non-resident Agents

Resident agents. Under current law, an applicant for a resident agent license must pay 
a nonrefundable fee of $30 to the Commissioner. The bill instead requires each applicant to pay 
the fee in an amount not to exceed $30.  The bill  requires the Commissioner,  no later  than 
December 1, to annually set and publish the application fee for the next calendar year in the 
Kansas Register.

Continuing  law  permits  the  Commissioner  to  use  information  from  an  applicant’s 
background check, fingerprinting, and criminal history for the purpose of verifying identification 
and fitness of the applicant to be issued a license. The bill requires, rather than allows, the 
Commissioner to use this information in determining whether a license should be issued.

Non-resident agents. Under current law, an applicant for a non-resident agent license 
must pay a nonrefundable application fee of $30 and a biennial fee of $50. The bill  instead 
requires non-resident agents to pay the respective fees in an amount not to exceed $30 and 
$50. The bill also requires the Commissioner to annually set and publish this application fee for 
the next calendar year.

Public Adjusters

Under current law, an applicant for public adjuster licensure must pay an application fee 
of $100. The bill instead requires the applicants to pay a fee in an amount not to exceed $100. 
The bill also requires the Commissioner to annually set and publish this application fee for the 
next calendar year in the Kansas Register. 
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