
Statute of Limitations—Childhood Sexual Abuse; Senate Sub. for HB 2127 

Senate Sub. for HB 2127 permits a criminal prosecution for childhood sexual abuse to 
be commenced at any time, extends the time to file a civil  action for  recovery of damages 
resulting from childhood sexual abuse, and provides exceptions in the Kansas Tort Claims Act 
(KTCA) for claims arising from such abuse. 

Criminal Prosecution (Section 2)

The bill adds the crime of childhood sexual abuse, as defined by the bill, to the list of 
crimes in which a criminal prosecution may commenced at  any time.  [Note: Continuing law 
provides  that  the  prosecution  for  the  crimes of  rape,  aggravated  criminal  sodomy,  murder, 
terrorism, or illegal use of weapons of mass destruction may be prosecuted at any time.] 

For the purposes of the bill, “childhood sexual abuse” means any of the following crimes, 
as defined by the Kansas Criminal Code, when the victim is under 18 years of age: 

● Indecent liberties with a child or aggravated indecent liberties with a child; 

● Criminal sodomy; 

● Enticement of a child; 

● Indecent solicitation of a child or aggravated indecent solicitation of a child; 

● Sexual exploitation of a child; 

● Aggravated sexual battery; 

● Aggravated incest; 

● Aggravated human trafficking, if committed in whole or in part for the purpose of 
the sexual gratification of the defendant or another; 

● Internet  trading  in  child  pornography  or  aggravated  internet  trading  in  child 
pornography; or

● Commercial sexual exploitation of a child. 

Limitations on Civil Actions

The bill amends law governing the limitations on civil actions for recovery of damages 
suffered as a result of childhood sexual abuse to allow such actions be commenced within the 
following time frames, whichever occurs later: 
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● No more than 13 years after the date the victim turns 18 years of age; or

● No more than three years after  the date  of  a  criminal  conviction  for  a  crime 
related to childhood sexual abuse, as specified by the bill. 

Under current law, such actions may be brought no more than three years after  the 
victim turns 18, or no more than three years after the person discovers or reasonably should 
have discovered that the injury or illness was caused by childhood sexual abuse.

In addition,  the bill  clarifies that  the damages recovered for  childhood sexual  abuse 
include  those  for  illness  or  injury  suffered  as  a  result  of  such  abuse,  removes  language 
concerning the discovery of the injury or illness that was caused by childhood sexual abuse to 
reflect  the  amendments made by  the bill,  and makes a technical  amendment  to  remove a 
reference to actions pending on July 1, 1992. 

Kansas Tort Claims Act 

Written Notice of Claim Against Municipality

The  bill  amends  law  governing  the  procedure  for  payment  of  claims  against  a 
municipality to exempt civil childhood sexual abuse claims from the general requirement that 
persons with claims against a municipality or its employees under the KTCA must provide a 
written notice of such claims before commencing an action as provided by the section. 

Exceptions

The  bill  amends  law  governing  exceptions  from  liability  under  the  KTCA  for  a 
governmental entity or an employee acting within the scope of the employee’s employment to 
allow claims related to childhood sexual abuse in the following circumstances:

● For injuries resulting from the use of any public property intended or permitted to 
be used as a park, playground, or open area for recreational purposes, if  the 
employee of the governmental entity commits childhood sexual abuse; and

● For claims arising from providing a juvenile justice program to juvenile offenders, 
if involving a claim for childhood sexual abuse.

The bill states certain exceptions to liability specified in the KTCA may not be construed 
to  preclude,  prohibit,  or  otherwise  limit  a  claim for  damages  arising  from childhood  sexual 
abuse. 

In addition, in determining the question of a governmental entity’s negligence, the trier of 
fact may consider: 

● Failure of a governmental entity to adopt or enforce a policy, regulation, or law 
related to childhood sexual abuse; and 
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● Failure to exercise reasonable discretion in the supervision of a governmental 
employee who commits childhood sexual abuse. 

Maximum Liability for Claims; Punitive or Exemplary Damages

The bill  specifies  any  claim  for  recovery  of  damages  against  a  governmental  entity 
arising from childhood sexual abuse is not subject to provisions in the KTCA limiting liability to 
$500,000 for claims arising out of a single occurrence. Childhood sexual abuse claims against a 
governmental  entity also are not subject to the general prohibition on punitive or exemplary 
damages or awards for pre-judgment interest in claims within the scope of the KTCA.
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