

Legislative Attorneys transforming ideas into legislation.

300 SW TENTH AVENUE • SUITE 24-E • TOPEKA, KS 66612 • (785) 296-2321

MEMORANDUM

To: House Committee on Appropriations

From: Office of Revisor of Statutes

Date: March 12, 2025

Subject: Bill Brief – HB 2402

House Bill 2402 creates the blue ribbon commission on higher education to study, discuss and make recommendations for higher education in Kansas.

HB 2402 establishes the blue ribbon commission on higher education with 17 members. The members on the commission include:

- 1) One member appointed by the chairperson of the state board of regents;
- 2) one member appointed by the governor;
- 3) one member of the majority party of the house of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives;
- 4) one member of the majority party of the house of representatives appointed by the majority leader of the house of representatives;
- 5) one member of the minority party of the house of representatives appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives;
- 6) one member of the majority party of the senate appointed by the president of the senate;
- 7) one member of the majority party of the senate appointed by the majority leader of the senate;
- 8) one member of the minority party of the senate appointed by the minority leader of the senate;
- 9) one member to represent the regional universities jointly appointed by the president of the senate and the speaker of the house of representatives;
- 10) one member to represent the big three universities jointly appointed by the president of the senate and the speaker of the house of representatives;
- 11) one member appointed by the Kansas association of technical colleges;



- 12) one member appointed by the Kansas association of community colleges;
- 13) one member who is a student attending a postsecondary educational institution appointed by the speaker pro tem of the house of representatives;
- 14) one member who is the parent of a student attending a postsecondary educational institution appointed by the vice president of the senate;
- 15) one member who is a higher education expert jointly appointed by the president of the senate and the speaker of the house of representatives;
- 16) one member of the public appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives; and
- 17) one member of the public appointed by the president of the senate.

Terms for members originally appointed to the commission expire on January 1, 2027, and any vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment. The chairperson of the commission is jointly appointed by the president of the senate and the speaker of the house of representatives. Meetings may occur at any time or place in the state upon call of the chairperson and nine members constitute a quorum for purposes of committee actions. Members attending commission meetings will be compensated by the state board of regents for expenses, mileage and subsistence for such attendance. Staff of the state board of regents, office of revisor of statutes, legislative research department and legislative administrative services shall assist the commission as requested.

The commission is tasked with studying, discussing and making recommendations for the following:

- 1) Long-term goals and priorities for higher education;
- 2) governing structures, financing, cost, savings and consolidation of the state board of regents schools and community and technical colleges;
- 3) accessibility and affordability of higher education;
- 4) strengths and weaknesses of higher education and postsecondary educational institutions;
- 5) strategies for enrollment and degree completion; and
- 6) strategies for right-sizing and streamlining higher education with a student focus.

The commission will be required to provide a preliminary report to the legislature on or before January 12, 2026, and a final report on the commission's findings and recommendations on or before January 27, 2027.

The provisions of HB 2402 would become effective on and after July 1, 2025.