Dear Kansas Law Makers,

I am writing requesting that you consider lengthening the days that we are allowed to sell fireworks in Kansas. I have managed a Jake's Fireworks stand in Sedan for over 10 years. I employ students to help me set up and tear down along with hiring other adults who depend upon the money they can earn during the summer time.

Here in Kansas as you are aware, according to the State Fire Marshal statute 22-6-5 it states, "A seasonal retailer shall not sell fireworks, except during the fireworks season. The fireworks season shall be the period beginning on June 27 and ending on July 5 of each calendar year."

I would be in support of, and are asking you to consider lengthening those days and adding any additional fireworks season days to the calendar as it would greatly impact the monies raised. I always donate a percentage of my earnings to non-profit organizations in my community, such as the City Fireworks on July 3rd, the Animal Shelter, the Emmett Kelly Museum and other worthy causes.

I live 10 miles from Oklahoma and they are allowed to sell fireworks earlier than I am plus they are able to sell during the Christmas to New Years season. I know that I miss out on a lot of sales because Oklahoma begins sales earlier. This would also increase the sales tax for Kansas.

Listed below are the legal days for our neighboring states: Missouri- June 20-July 10, and also December 20-January 2 Oklahoma- June 15- July 6 and also December 15-January 2

The fireworks industry is large and popular in our state. I strongly encourage you to consider making their season longer around the July 4th holiday and possibly adding a few days for the New Year's Eve season as well. I understand this would be more work for us as a small group, but I feel like the increased sales, profits, and taxes would be worth it for the state as a whole.

Respectfully Submitted

Rosie Sweaney Sedan, KS