Approved: March 21, 2025

### MINUTES OF THE HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Susan Estes at 1:30 pm on Wednesday, February 05, 2025, in room 218-N of the Capitol.

### All members were present except:

Representative Steve Huebert – Excused Representative Louis Ruiz – Excused

### Substitute members:

Representative Kyle Hoffman, appointed substitute member to the committee Representative Brooklynne Mosley, appointed substitute member to the committee

# Committee staff present:

Elaina Rudder, Legislative Research Department Jason Long, Office of Revisor of Statutes Michelle Sims, Kansas Legislative Committee Assistant Nicole Fielder, Legislative Research Department

# Conferees appearing before the Committee:

AJ Kuhl, Ace Scholarships

Moe Paw-Macias and Norbert Htoo, Private citizens

Chuck Weber, Executive Director, Kansas Catholic Conference

Kirsten Wondra, Associate Superintendent, Archdiocese of Kansas City, Kansas on behalf of

Dr. Lorenzo Rizzi, Associate Superintendent, Archdiocese of Kansas City, Kansas

Leonardo Estrada, Private citizen

Trina Delgado, Superintendent, Catholic Diocese of Dodge City School Office

Father Rick Kotrba, Pastor, St Cecelia's Catholic Church Hayville

Dr. Delia Shropshire, President, Holy Savior Academy

Naomi Vertilus, Private citizen

Vincent Anch on behalf of Catholic Education Foundation, Northeast Kansas

Dr. Jamie Finkeldie, Associate Superintendent, Catholic Diocese, Wichita

James Franko, President, Kansas Policy

Angela Swisher, Private citizen

Mari-Lynn Poskin, Representative, State of Kansas, House of Representatives

Rabi Moti Reiber, Executive Director, Kansas Interfaith Action

Mary Sinclair, PhD, Kansas PTA Advocacy Team

Judith Deedy on behalf of Game On for Kansas Schools

Ann Mah, Private citizen

Jim Karleskint, United School Administrators

Shannon Kimball, Government Relations Specialist, Kansas Association of School Boards

### Others in attendance:

### CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES of the Committee on Education at 1:30 pm on Wednesday, February 05, 2025, in room 218-N of the Capitol.

No list available

<u>Discussion & action on: HB2033 — Including programs and services provided by nonprofit organizations accredited by the international multisensory structured language education council as approved at-risk educational programs.</u>

Chairwoman Estes opened discussion and action on **HB2033**.

<u>Representative Brantley moved, seconded by Representative Schreiber, to adopt bill **HB2033,** Motion Carried.</u>

The following Representatives requested their nay vote be recorded: Representative Stogsdill, Representative Miller, Representative Mosley, Representative Winn, Representative Schreiber.

Hearing on: HB2136 — Expanding student eligibility under the tax credit for low income students scholarship program, increasing the amount of the tax credit for contributions made pursuant to such program and providing for aggregate tax credit limit increases under certain conditions.

Chairwoman Estes opened the hearing on **HB2136**.

Chairwoman Estes recognized Jason Long, Senior Assistant Revisor, Office of Revisor of Statutes who have an overview of **HB2136**. (Attachment 1).

Proponent In-person

AJ Kuhl (<u>Attachment 2</u>), Moe Paw-Macias and Norbert Htoo (<u>Attachment 3</u>), Chuck Weber (<u>Attachment 4</u>), Kirsten Wondra (<u>Attachment 5</u>), Leonardo Estrada (<u>Attachment 6</u>), Trina Delgado (<u>Attachment 7</u>), Father Rick Kotrba (<u>Attachment 8</u>), Dr. Delia Shropshire (<u>Attachment 9</u>), Naomi Vertilus (<u>Attachment 10</u>), Vincent Anch (<u>Attachment 11</u>), Dr. Jamie Finkeldie (<u>Attachment 12</u>), James Franko (<u>Attachment 13</u>), Angela Swisher (<u>Attachment 14</u>),

Proponent Written only:

A-L (Attachment 15), M-Z (Attachment 16).

Opponent In-person

Mari-Lynn Poskin (Attachment 17), Rabi Moti Reiber (Attachment 18), Mary Sinclair (Attachment 19), Judith Deedy (Attachment 20), Ann Mah (Attachment 21), Jim Karleskint (Attachment 22),

## **CONTINUATION SHEET**

MINUTES of the Committee on Education at 1:30 pm on Wednesday, February 05, 2025, in room 218-N of the Capitol.

Shannon Kimball (Attachment 23).

Opponent Written only:

A-J (Attachment 24), K-Z (Attachment 25).

Chairwoman Estes closed the hearing on **HB2136.** 

Meeting adjourned at 3:02 p.m.