

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 102 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3201

www.ksde.gov

To: Chair Estes and Members of the House Committee on Education

From: Frank Harwood, Deputy Commissioner

Gabrielle Hull, Legislative Coordinator

Date: February 25, 2025

Re: Education Service Centers

Chair Estes and members of the House Committee on Education:

K.S.A. 72-13,100 authorizes boards of education to enter interlocal cooperation agreements.

"In the event the boards of education of any two or more school districts enter into a school district interlocal cooperation agreement for the purpose of jointly and cooperatively performing any of the services, duties, functions, activities, obligations or responsibilities which are authorized or required by law to be performed by school districts of this state."

The primary purpose for interlocal cooperative agreements is to more efficiently and effectively provide special education services. There are two types of interlocal cooperation agreements, cooperatives and interlocals.

- Cooperative One district serves as the fiscal agent.
 - o 24 Coops with 103 member districts
- Interlocal A separate governing board is created and the interlocal is the fiscal agent.
 - o 17 Interlocals with 150 member districts

Service Centers are Interlocals that provide more than special education services. Additional services range from professional learning to pooled insurance groups. KSDE often contracts with Service Centers to provide professional development and training as well as other support services to school districts. Below are the education Service Centers in Kansas:

- Southeast Kansas Education Service Center (Greenbush) Girard & Lawrence
- Educational Services and Staff Development Association of Central Kansas (ESSDACK) Hutchinson
- Keystone Learning Services Ozawkie
- Orion Education and Training Clearwater
- Smoky Hill Education Service Center Salina & Hays
- Southwest Plains Regional Service Center Sublette
- Northwest Kansas Educational Service Center Oakley

For more information, contact:

Gabrielle Hull

Legislative Coordinator
Division of Fiscal and Administrative Services

Gabrielle.Hull@ksde.gov (785) 296-7840

Frank Harwood

Deputy Commissioner
Division of Fiscal and Administrative Services
Frank.Harwood@ksde.gov
(785) 296-3871