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Testimony to the House Committee on Judiciary

In Support of HB2347
February 14, 2025

Chair Humphries and Committee Members:

Our associations are in support of HB2347 strengthening the auto theft laws. Auto thefts
continue to be an issue across Kansas. From 2020 through 2023, we averaged 8373 vehicles
stolen in Kansas per year. That is an average of 23 per day or one every 57 minutes. While the
trend seems to be dropping slightly, the 2023 auto theft rate is about 5% above the 10-year
average. Some of these vehicles are stolen to use in other crimes.

The amendment found on Page 1 lines 15-16 is to address one of the issues we have in getting
convictions when we catch an offender in possession of a stolen car. Current language requires
proving the person in possession of the vehicle either is the one that stole it or actually knows it
was stolen. Absent a confession, it is very difficult to prove what the person had knowledge the
vehicle is stolen. Even if the ignition is punched or the vehicle can be operated without a key the
current language creates challenges. The phrase “reason to know” is used in five other criminal
statutes and in one traffic statute, KSA 8-116, relating to stolen antique vehicles. This change is
consistent with other statutes.

The second amendment, found on page 2, lines 16-17, makes the crime of theft of a vehicle
under $1500 value a SL 10 felony. It is currently an A misdemeanor. Even as a SL10 felony the
sentencing will be presumptive probation absent the offender having two or more person felony
convictions. We believe this change is justified and important because of the ancillary damage
done to many victims of stolen vehicles in this value range. People with these types of cars rarely
have insurance to cover their loss and often it is their only vehicle. This has adverse effects on
their ability to get to work, medical appointments, and other daily needs. These owners are often
financially struggling. The harm caused to these victims is much more than the value of the
vehicle. I haven’t updated my data on this for a few years, but the last time I checked about 14%
of the stolen motor vehicles in Kansas were valued below $1500.

We encourage you to move HB2347 forward favorably.

Ed Klumpp
Legislative Liaison
eklumpp@cox.net
(785) 640-1102



