

Kansas Legislative Research Department Providing nonpartisan, objective research and fiscal

analysis for the Kansas Legislature since 1934

68-West–Statehouse | 300 SW 10th Ave. | Topeka, Kansas 66612-1504 (785) 296-3181

kslegres@klrd.ks.gov

kslegislature.org/klrd

January 17, 2025

STATES' FEES FOR ELECTRIC AND HYBRID VEHICLES

Although electric vehicles (EVs) and hybrid vehicles comprise less than 1.0 percent and 2.8 percent of all vehicles in operation, respectively, they are increasing as a percentage of sales.^{1,2} To make up for traditional motor fuel tax revenue not received for these vehicles, an increasing number of states—39 to date—have imposed separate fees on EVs, hybrid vehicles, or both. This memorandum summarizes these fees on passenger vehicles and provides additional information on them. The states with these fees were identified using information from the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL).³ Statutory and other sources are listed at the end of this memorandum.

Amounts of Fees

Annual fees for EVs and hybrid vehicles range from \$30 to \$400. Except for Kansas' fees, the fees listed exclude registration fees applied to all vehicles; the standard fees are discussed below.

Terms used for EVs and hybrid vehicles and their definitions are not consistent from state to state, and some states apply fees to all types of vehicles using fuels not clasified and taxed as motor fuels. Kansas applies these fees to "electric hybrid or plug-in electric hybrid vehicles" and "all-electric vehicles." The fees listed below use those categories as much as possible. Also, fees in some states are adjusted annually for inflation; 2025 amounts are reported if readily available. Not all of the 39 states have a fee for both types of vehicles.

Electric Vehicles

• \$50—Colorado, Colorado, Hawaii, and South Dakota. Hawaii also imposes a state mileage-based road usage charge of \$0.8 cents per mile, capped at \$50, based on odometer readings at inspection;

¹ This memorandum updates a memorandum on this issue dated January 25, 2022.

^{2 &}lt;u>https://www.instituteforenergyresearch.org/fossil-fuels/gas-and-oil/new-registrations-of-gasoline-vehicles-are-still-growing-despite-the-ev-push/#:~:text=The%20distribution%20of%20vehicles %20in,with%20just%201%20percent%20electric; https://www.eia.gov/todayinenergy/detail.php? id=62924</u>

^{3 &}quot;Special Registration Fees for Electric and Hybrid Vehicles," November 27, 2024, <u>https://www.ncsl.org/transportation/special-registration-fees-for-electric-and-hybrid-vehicles</u>, accessed December 2024.

- \$57.19—Colorado, for FY 2024-2025; adjusted annually. Colorado also imposes an EV road usage fee at registration, \$12 in 2025, and increasing annually;
- \$60—South Carolina, \$120 biennially;
- \$75—Minnesota and Nebraska;

Kansas Currently Minus \$30 Base Fee

- \$89—Vermont;
- \$90—Missouri;
- \$100—California, Illinois, Kansas, Michigan (≥8,000 lbs., \$200), and New Hampshire. [*Note:* Only Kansas' fee is in lieu of other registration fees and not in addition to them.];
- \$110—Louisiana;
- \$115—Oregon. Oregon also imposes a fee on traditional-fueled vehicles based on mpg: ≤19 mpg, \$20; 20–39 mpg, \$25; ≥ 40 mpg, \$35;
- \$120—Kentucky and North Dakota;
- \$125—Maryland;
- \$128.14—Virginia. A highway use fee also is applied to alternative fuel, electric, and hybrid vehicles. The statutory formula is 85 percent of the difference in motor fuel taxes paid for a vehicle with a combined fuel economy of 23.7 miles per gallon (mpg) and the vehicle being registered over the average number of miles traveled by a passenger vehicle in the Commonwealth, as determined by the Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles: [((average miles traveled x fuels tax rate) / 23.7) ((average miles traveled x fuels tax rate) / vehicle's mpg rating)] x 0.85;
- \$130—lowa and Montana (≥6,000 lbs.–10,000 lbs., \$190). Montana statutes also authorize a permanent registration fee, \$260 or \$380, depending on weight;
- \$130.25—Utah;⁴
- \$140—Idaho;

←	Kansas New minus
• \$150—Mississippi and Nebrasl	\$30 Base Fee

- \$175—Wisconsin;
- \$180—North Carolina and Washington;

⁴ Utah's EV fee is based on its maximum road usage charge.

- \$200—Alabama, Arkansas, Ohio, Pennsylvania (in 2025; will be \$250 in 2026 and then adjusted annually), Tennessee, Texas (registration renewal), West Virginia, and Wyoming;
- \$210—Oklahoma, ≤ 6,000 lbs. (\$258 if 6,001 lbs.-10,000 lbs.);
- \$219.84—Georgia, in FY 2024, after an annual adjustment for inflation;
- \$230—Indiana, adjusted annually;
- \$250—New Jersey, to increase \$10 per year through FY 2029; and
- \$400—Texas, for a new registration.

Hybrid Vehicles (noted if the statute specifies a plug-in hybrid)

/	Kansas Currently
• \$21.75—Utah, \$16.50 six-month option;⁵	Minus \$30 Base
	Fee

- \$30—Michigan (\$100 if >8,000 lbs.) and South Carolina (\$60 biennial fee);
- \$44.50—Vermont, for plug-in hybrids;
- \$50—Arkansas, Kansas, North Dakota, and Pennsylvania (in 2025; will be \$62.50 in 2026 and then adjusted annually) [*Note:* Only Kansas' fee is in lieu of other registration fees and not in addition to them.];
- \$56.50—Utah, for plug-in hybrid; \$43.50 six-month option;
- \$57.19—Colorado, for FY 2024-2025, adjusted annually. Colorado also imposes an EV road usage fee at registration, \$8 in 2025 and increasing annually;
- \$60—Louisiana, Missouri (adjusted annually), and South Carolina (biennially);
- \$65—lowa, for plug-in hybrid;
- \$70—Montana, for plug-in hybrid (\$100 if ≥6,000 lbs. and ≤10,000 lbs.). Montana statutes also authorize a permanent registration fee, \$140 or \$200, depending on weight;
 Kansas New Minus \$30 Base Fee
- \$75—Idaho (plug-in hybrid), Mississippi, Nebraska (plug-in hybrid), Washington, and Wisconsin;

⁵ Beginning on January 1, 2024, Utah's additional EV fee for hybrid vehicles is to be annually adjusted according to the change in the Consumer Price Index. Utah 2022 SB 51 changed fees for hybrid vehicles to \$15 and \$40 (plug-in hybrid), but that increase is not reflected in the Utah Code as published on its legislature's website.

- \$77—Indiana, adjusted annually;
- \$90—North Carolina, for plug-in hybrid;
- \$100—Alabama (plug-in hybrid), Arkansas (plug-in hybrid), Maryland, Ohio, Tennessee, and West Virginia;
- \$112—Oklahoma (\$148 if 6,000 lbs.–10,000 lbs.);
- \$120—Kentucky, new in 2025, will be adjusted annually. [*Note:* The definition of an EV includes any vehicle with plug-in charging capability.]; and
- \$150—Ohio, for plug-in hybrids.

Uses of the Fees Specific to Electric and Hybrid Vehicles

Of the 39 states that charge these fees, 27 direct fees collected for EVs and hybrid vehicles to their equivalents of Kansas' State Highway Fund, according to NCSL. Other states direct the revenues elsewhere, with some dividing them. These divisions may include between state, county, and city governments.

- Use for EV infrastructure—Vermont;
- Divide between the general transportation fund and fund for EV infrastructure— Alabama, Colorado, Oklahoma, and Washington;
- Divide between the general transportation fund and a different special fund— Alabama (with local transportation fund and EV infrastructure fund), Idaho (with local highway funds), Illinois (\$1 of additional fee is allocated to the Secretary of State Special Services Fund), Michigan (with a scrap tire regulation fund), Ohio (with a fund allocated to municipalities, counties, and townships), Tennessee (\$1 to Police Pay Supplement Fund and the rest allocated to the state highway fund, municipalities, counties, and the general fund), and West Virginia (hybrid fees allocated to State Road Fund); and
- Place into a different special fund—Indiana (local road and bridge matching grant fund).

Dates of Enactment of the Initial Electric Vehicle Fees

Most states that currently require fees for EVs, hybrid vehicles, or both initially enacted those fees in 2017 and later, and some precede 2011. Most state EV fee statutes have subsequently been amended.

2011—Nebraska;

2013—Colorado and North Carolina;

2014—Virginia;

2015—Georgia and Michigan;

2016—Wyoming;

2017—California, Idaho, Indiana, Minnesota, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, West Virginia, and Wisconsin;

2018—Mississippi and Utah;

2019—Alabama, Arkansas, Hawaii (flat fee), Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, North Dakota, Ohio, and Washington;

2021—Oklahoma and South Dakota;

2022—Kentucky and Louisiana;

2023—Hawaii (road usage charge), Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio, and Texas; and

2024—Maryland, Nebraska, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania.

Missouri began imposing fees on alternative fuel vehicles in 1998 and added hybrid vehicle fees in 2018. In 2020, Virginia reduced its registration fees but enacted its Highway Use Fee and Mileage-based User Fee Program, tying fees to vehicle mpg.

Adjustments to the Fees

Statutes of 14 of the 39 states provide for some sort of automatic adjustment to the fees on EVs or hybrid vehicles.

- Adjustments based on inflation. California, Colorado, Indiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, and Utah base adjustments on changes in the inflation rate, generally using the Consumer Price Index (CPI) with some specifying the CPI for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U);
 - California specifies the California Consumer Price Index;
 - Colorado limits an annual increase to 5 percent, regardless of whether inflation exceeds that rate;
 - Indiana's adjustment averages changes in CPI-U and Indiana personal income;
 - Kentucky's adjustments are based on the National Highway Construction Cost Index, starting in 2025;
 - Maryland's adjustments for inflation begin annually in FY 2026;
 - Pennsylvania's adjustment averages changes in CPI-U beginning in 2027; and

- Tennessee's annual adjustments for inflation, based on CPI-U, begin in 2028, and are limited to 3 percent;
- Adjustments based on fuel efficiency. Georgia law states the fee is to be adjusted by multiplying the percentage of increase or decrease in U.S. average mpg against the current fee. An alternative fuel logo or emblem on a license plate allows the vehicle to use lanes reserved for motorcycles and high-occupancy vehicles. Virginia's formula for its highway use fee is based in part on the fuel efficiency of the vehicle;
- Adjustment based on fuel tax rates. Michigan law states adjustments will be based on increases in the state fuel tax, by \$2.50 for a hybrid vehicle and \$5.00 for each all-electric vehicle for each 1 cent above 19 cents per gallon in fuel tax. The statutory state fuel tax of 26.3 cents per gallon on gasoline and also on diesel fuel is indexed for inflation and currently 31 cents per gallon;
- Adjustments of a set amount. Alabama law states its fees will increase \$3 every four years, starting in 2023. Colorado increases its added "road usage equalization fee" of \$4 (\$3 for a hybrid) by \$4 or more each subsequent year through FY 2032. Missouri law specifies its alternative vehicle fees will increase by 20 percent a year for 5 years starting in 2022. New Jersey specifies a \$10 increase every year from 2024 into 2028. Tennessee specifies a \$74 increase in 2027 then begins to adjust for inflation; and
- Adjustment based on miles driven. Virginia's formula for its highway use fee is based in part on the average number of miles traveled by a passenger vehicle in the state.

Base Registration Amounts

More than half of the states with fees for EVs, hybrid vehicles, or both have flat fees for registration of passenger vehicles. In some states, however, those flat fees vary based on various factors. Unless specified otherwise, all fees listed are annual. This memorandum does not address other fees or taxes, such as the Kansas motor vehicle tax, that may be charged at vehicle registration.

- Based on weight. Arkansas (≤3,000 lbs., \$17; 3,001-4,500 lbs., \$25; ≥4,501 lbs., \$30); Kansas (≤4,500 lbs., \$30; >4,500 lbs., \$40); Maryland (≤3,500 lbs., \$70,50; >3,500 lbs.–≤3,700 lbs., \$80.50; >3,700 lbs., \$121.50); Michigan (<3,000 lbs., \$29; 3,001–3,500 lbs., \$32; increases by \$5 for each additional 500 lbs.); New Jersey (≤3,500 lbs, \$25; >3,500 lbs, \$50); Oklahoma (≤6,000 lbs., \$110; ≥6,001 lbs. ≤10,000 lbs., \$158); Pennsylvania (≤14,000 lbs); Virginia (≤4,000 lbs., \$23; >4,000 lbs., \$28);
- **Based on vehicle age.** Idaho (1-2 years old, \$69; 3-6 years old, \$57; 7+ years old, \$45); Oklahoma (registration years 1-4, \$85; years 5-8, \$75; years 9-12, \$55; years 13-16, \$35; years 17 and subsequent, \$15);
- **Based on value.** Nebraska, \$15 + \$5-\$30 based on base value when new;

- **Based on age of the registrant.** South Carolina, age 65 or older or "handicapped," \$36; age 64, \$36; age 63 and younger, \$40; and
- Based on a combination:
 - Colorado—weight (≤2,000 lbs, \$6; ≤4,500 lbs., \$6 + \$0.20/100 lbs or fraction thereof) + vehicle age (<7 years old, \$12; 7-10 years old, \$12; ≥10 years, \$7);
 - Hawaii—flat fee + weight tax of \$0.0125/lb., minimum \$12;
 - lowa—1 percent of value + \$0.40/100 lbs;
 - Louisiana—flat fee + \$1 for each \$1,000 in value;
 - Minnesota—\$10 +1.25 percent (if first registered before November 15, 2020) or 1.285 percent (if first registered after that date) of manufacturer's suggested retail price, adjusted by age (second year, 90 percent of price, decreasing in increments of 10 percent to 10 percent in the tenth year) to \$25 for the eleventh and succeeding years;
 - North Dakota—gross weight + years the vehicle has been registered, decreased as the vehicle ages (3,200–4,499 lbs, years 1–6, \$93; years 7–9, \$81; years 10–12, \$69; years 13+, \$57);
 - Oregon—flat fee + miles per gallon (for a 2-year registration: ≤19 mpg, \$126; 20–39 mpg, \$136; 40+ mpg, \$156 or \$86 if participating in a payby-mile program);
 - South Dakota—weight (≤2,000 lbs, \$36; 2,001–4,000 lbs., \$72; 4,001–6,000 lbs,\$108; >6,000 lbs, \$144) + age (70 percent if vehicle is ≥10 years old as of January 1 of the license fee year); and
 - Wyoming—flat fee + factory price + age (3 percent of a percentage of the price depending on the vehicle's year of service).

Applicability of Fees to Other Alternative Fuels

While most of the state statutes specified "electric vehicle," "hybrid vehicle," or a similar term, some apply special fees to vehicles powered by more types of alternative fuels:

- California applies its fee to a "zero emission vehicle," defined as "a vehicle that produces no emissions of criteria pollutants, toxic air contaminants, and greenhouse gases when stationary or operating, as determined by the state board";
- Missouri, which has an "alternative fuel decal fee," defines "alternative fuel" as "electricity, liquefied petroleum gas (LPG or LP gas), compressed natural gas product, or a combination of liquefied petroleum gas and a compressed natural gas or electricity product used in an internal combustion engine or motor to propel any form of vehicle, machine, or mechanical contrivance";

- Nebraska law states, "Alternative fuel includes electricity, solar power, and any other source of energy not otherwise taxed under the motor fuel laws which is used to power a motor vehicle"; and
- Virginia grants authority to its Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles to determine "a rate equivalent to that levied on gasoline and gasohol on all other alternative fuel used to operate a highway vehicle." "Alternative fuel" is a "combustible gas, liquid or other energy source that can be used to generate power to operate a highway vehicle and that is neither a motor fuel nor electricity used to recharge an electric motor vehicle or a hybrid electric motor vehicle."

Statutes of Georgia, Missouri, and Nebraska define and use the term "alternative fuel" but then exclude fuels such as propane, natural gas, or compressed gases from fees listed above for EVs and hybrid vehicles.

Alabama	Ala. Code § 40-12-242
Arkansas	A.C.A. §§ 27-14-601, 27-14-614
California	Cal.Vehicle Code §§ 9250.6, 9250.8
Colorado	C.R.S.A. §§ 42-1-102, 42-3-304, 42-3-306; https://dmv.colorado.gov/state-dmv- fees, Sustainability Of The Transportation System Act Fees
Georgia	Ga. Code Ann., §§ 40-2-151, 40-2-86.1
Hawaii	HRS §§ 249-31, 249-36; https://www.hawaiicounty.gov/departments/finance/vehicle-registration- licensing/motor-vehicles-fee-information
Idaho	I.C. §§ 49-402, 49-457
Illinois	625 ILCS 5/3-805, 5/3-806, 5/1-217
Indiana	IC 9-18.1-5-2, 9-18.1-5-12, 6-6-1.6-2, 6-6-1.6-3
Iowa	I.C.A. §§ 321.109, 321.116
Kansas	KSA 8-143, 8-145
Kentucky	KRS §§ 138.475, 138.477, 186.050
Louisiana	LSA-R.S. 32:461, 47:463
Maryland	MD Code, Transportation, § 13-956, 13-912, 13-954
Michigan	M.C.L.A. 257.801; <u>https://www.michigan.gov/taxes/business-taxes/motor-fuel/current-tax-rates-for-motor-fuel-and-alternative-fuel</u>
Minnesota	M.S.A. §§ 168.013, 169.011
Mississippi	Miss. Code Ann. §§ 27-19-21, 27-19-23
Missouri	V.A.M.S. 138.477, 142.869, 301.055; <u>https://dor.mo.gov/motor-vehicle/fuel-decals.html</u>
Montana	MCA 61-3-572
Nebraska	Neb.Rev.St. §§ 60-3,143, 60-3,190, 60-3,191
New Hampshire	N.H. Rev. Stat. § 261:141-C
New Jersey	N.J.S.A. 39:3-8.5

Statutes and Additional Sources

North Carolina	N.C.G.S.A. § 20-87
North Dakota	NDCC, 39-04-19, 39-04-19.2
Ohio	R.C. § 4503.10; https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/doc-fees.aspx
Oklahoma	68 Okl.St.Ann. § 6511; 47 Okl.St.Ann. § 1132, 1132.7
Oregon	O.R.S. §§ 803.420, 803.422; https://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv/pages/fees/vehicle.aspx
Pennsylvania	Vehicle Code 75 P.a. C.S. §§ 1021912. 9024
South Carolina	Code 1976 §§ 56-3-645, 56-3-620
South Dakota	SDCL §§ 32-5-6. 32-5-30, 32-5-188
Tennessee	T. C. A. §§ 55-4-116, 55-4-111
Texas	V.T.C.A., Transportation Code §§ 502.252, 502.360, 502.252
Utah	U.C.A. 1953 §§ <u>41-1a-1201, 41-1a-1206, 72-1-213.1</u>
Vermont	23 V.S.A. § 361
Virginia	VA Code Ann. §§ 46.2-770, 46.2-772, 46.2-774, 46.2-694; 58.1-2201, 58.1-2249; https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/vehicles/registration
Washington	RCWA 46.17.323, 46.17.324, 46.17.350
West Virginia	W. Va. Code, §§ 17A-10-3c, 17A-10-3
Wisconsin	W.S.A. 341.25
Wyoming	W.S.1977 §§ 31-3-101, 31-3-102

All cited statutes and websites were accessed in December 2024, January 2025, or both.