

LEGISLATURE of THE STATE of KANSAS

Legislative Attorneys transforming ideas into legislation.

300 SW TENTH AVENUE • SUITE 24-E • TOPEKA, KS 66612 • (785) 296-2321

## MEMORANDUM

To: House Committee on Transportation

From: Office of Revisor of Statutes

Date: February 11, 2025

Subject: Bill Brief – HB 2169

HB 2169 amends military branch license plate statutes to eliminate the requirement that applications occur not less than 60 days prior to such person's registration date and amends language concerning the types of discharge to be eligible for a license plate and the required documentation to prove veteran status for a military license plate.

Section 1 amends K.S.A. 8-1,146, the statute that provides for the issuance of a military license plate for current members and veterans of the United States Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, Coast Guard, Space Force or Merchant Marines. This license plate is the general military plate in which a person can apply a decal to for the particular branch the person served in. Currently, a person may provide a DD214 form, a DD form 2 (Retired) or a Kansas driver's license with a veteran designation to prove veteran status and must apply for the license plate not less than 60 days prior to the person's renewal of registration date. HB 2169 amends the discharge language regarding a veteran to clarify that a veteran must have been discharged or released under an honorable discharge or a general discharge under honorable conditions to be eligible for the license plate. Subsection (c) is amended to strike the requirement that military plate applications be made not less than 60 days prior to the person's renewal of registration date. Subsection (c) is further amended to update the documentation required to prove veteran status. To prove veteran status for a military license plate, a person shall provide to a Kansas driver's license with a veteran designation or a copy of the veteran's DD form 214, NGB form 22 or an equivalent discharge document as permitted by the director of vehicles showing character of service as honorable or general under honorable conditions.

Sections 2 through 7 amends K.S.A. 8-1,194 through 8-1,199, the statutes that provide for separate military license plates for the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force and



Space Force. Similar amendments are made in each statute to standardize the requirements for each license plate and match the general military license plate requirements in K.S.A. 8-1,146. Each statute is amended to make the same clarification to the discharge language for military veterans to match K.S.A. 8-1,146. The documentation required to prove veteran status also mirrors what is required in K.S.A. 8-1,146 with each plate providing that satisfactory proof is provided in K.S.A. 8-1,146. Finally, the requirement that each license plate be applied for not less than 60 days prior to a person's renewal of registration is also removed.

If enacted, the provisions of HB 2169 would become effective upon publication in the statute book, July 1, 2025.