

2024 - 2025 Executive board

Rick Piepho, Harvey County President Dori Munyan, Finney County Vice President Abby Amick, Wabaunsee County Secretary Jamie R Doss, Saline County Treasurer

February 6, 2025 - hearing on SB 73 - Property taxation; relating to certifications and tax statements; modifying deadlines for mailing tax statements to taxpayers and certification of levies to the director of property valuation to be earlier than the current deadlines; providing for the county clerk's use of the previous year's budget when a taxing subdivision fails to timely file its budget – Neutral testimony from Jamie R. Doss, representing KCCEOA - written-only.

Chairwoman Tyson and Members of the Committee,

Thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony regarding Senate Bill 73, which proposes changes to deadlines in the tax and abstract calendar. While I understand and acknowledge the intent behind these proposed changes, I respectfully urge the Committee to consider convening an interim study to thoroughly review all statutory deadlines that may be impacted.

Adjusting a single deadline without a comprehensive review of the entire framework of interconnected deadlines could result in unintended inefficiencies and operational challenges for counties. Local governments are committed to sending tax statements in a timely manner, typically around December 1st, to allow sufficient time for mail delivery. However, without assessing the full scope of statutory deadlines, it is possible that isolated changes could inadvertently complicate the process and create additional burdens.

For these reasons, we respectfully request that an interim committee be established to conduct a comprehensive examination of all relevant statutory deadlines. This will ensure that any proposed changes are well-coordinated and contribute to more efficient and accurate tax administration.

Thank you for considering our perspective and concerns as you deliberate on this proposed legislation.

Respectfully submitted.

Jamie R. Doss, Saline County Clerk/Election Officer - KCCEOA Legislative Committee Chair