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Office of Revisor of Statutes 

MEMORANDUM 

To:    Chair Dietrich and the Senate Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance  

From:    Office of Revisor of Statutes 

Date:    March 6, 2025 

Subject:   HB  2087  – Authorizing  certain  nonadmitted  insurers  to  transact  certain  business  in 
Kansas  and  requiring  the  commissioner  of  insurance  to maintain  a  list  of  eligible 
nonadmitted insurers. 

 
 
HB 2087 would amend current law to allow certain nonadmitted insurers to provide motor vehicle liability 
insurance to motor vehicle dealers. The bill replaces the phrase, "insurer not authorized to do business in 
this state," with "eligible nonadmitted insurer," and would require the commissioner to maintain a list of 
eligible nonadmitted  insurers for review. The bill also makes changes to capital requirements  for such 
such  insurers  to appear on  the  list and would remove  the $200  filing  fee required of such  insurers  to 
submit their annual statement for review in order to be included on the commissioner's list. Finally, the 
bill states that a nonadmitted insurer (not included on the list) would be able to do business in the state 
if such nonadmitted insurer meets the eligibility requirements of 15 U.S.C. § 8204. 
 
Section 1 amends K.S.A. 8‐2405, pertaining to liability insurance required of motor vehicle dealers. Under 
current law, in order to be licensed in Kansas, a dealer must carry motor vehicle liability insurance. If such 
insurance lapses or is canceled, the dealer's license also is canceled. This section would allow an eligible 
nonadmitted insurer to also issue such insurance. 
 
Section  2  amends  K.S.A.  40‐246b,  pertaining  to  excess  lines  coverage  insurance.  In  this  section,  the 
amendments made were primarily to update  language from "insurers not authorized to do business  in 
this state," to "eligible nonadmitted insurers. 
 
Section 3 amends K.S.A. 40‐246e, pertaining to the commissioner's list of eligible nonadmitted insurers. 
The bill updates the capital requirement for such an insurer to appear on the list, increasing it from $4.5M 
to $15M. This section also would eliminate the $200 filing fee for an eligible nonadmitted insurer to file 
its annual report in order to appear on the list. 
 
The House Committee on Insurance passed the bill with no amendments, and the House Committee of 
the Whole passed the bill unanimously on February 20, 2025. 


