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STATES’ FEES FOR ELECTRIC AND HYBRID VEHICLES

Although electric vehicles (EVs) and hybrid vehicles comprise less than 1.0 percent and
2.8 percent of all vehicles in operation, respectively, they are increasing as a percentage of
sales.” To make up for traditional motor fuel tax revenue not received for these vehicles, an
increasing number of states—39 to date—have imposed separate fees on EVs, hybrid vehicles,
or both. This memorandum summarizes these fees on passenger vehicles and provides
additional information on them. The states with these fees were identified using information from
the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL).? Statutory and other sources are listed at
the end of this memorandum.

Amounts of Fees

Annual fees for EVs and hybrid vehicles range from $30 to $400. Except for Kansas’
fees, the fees listed exclude registration fees applied to all vehicles; the standard fees are
discussed below.

Terms used for EVs and hybrid vehicles and their definitions are not consistent from
state to state, and some states apply fees to all types of vehicles using fuels not clasified and
taxed as motor fuels. Kansas applies these fees to “electric hybrid or plug-in electric hybrid
vehicles” and “all-electric vehicles.” The fees listed below use those categories as much as
possible. Also, fees in some states are adjusted annually for inflation; 2025 amounts are
reported if readily available. Not all of the 39 states have a fee for both types of vehicles.

Electric Vehicles

e $50—Colorado, Colorado, Hawaii, and South Dakota. Hawaii also imposes a
state mileage-based road usage charge of $0.8 cents per mile, capped at $50,
based on odometer readings at inspection;

1 This memorandum updates a memorandum on this issue dated January 25, 2022.
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3 “Special Registration Fees for Electric and Hybrid Vehicles,” November 27, 2024,
https://www.ncsl.org/transportation/special-registration-fees-for-electric-and-hybrid-vehicles, accessed
December 2024.
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e $57.19—Colorado, for FY 2024-2025; adjusted annually. Colorado also imposes
an EV road usage fee at registration, $12 in 2025, and increasing annually;

e $60—South Carolina, $120 biennially;
e $75—Minnesota and Nebraska;

e $89—Vermont;

o $90—Missouri;

e $100—California, lllinois, Kansas, Michigan (28,000 lbs., $200), and New
Hampshire. [Note: Only Kansas’ fee is in lieu of other registration fees and not in
addition to them.];

e $110—Louisiana;

e $115—O0regon. Oregon also imposes a fee on traditional-fueled vehicles based
on mpg: <19 mpg, $20; 20-39 mpg, $25; = 40 mpg, $35;

e $120—Kentucky and North Dakota;
e $125—Maryland;

e $128.14—Virginia. A highway use fee also is applied to alternative fuel, electric,
and hybrid vehicles. The statutory formula is 85 percent of the difference in motor
fuel taxes paid for a vehicle with a combined fuel economy of 23.7 miles per
gallon (mpg) and the vehicle being registered over the average number of miles
traveled by a passenger vehicle in the Commonwealth, as determined by the
Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles: [((average miles traveled x
fuels tax rate) / 23.7) - ((average miles traveled x fuels tax rate) / vehicle's mpg
rating)] x 0.85;

e $130—Ilowa and Montana (26,000 lbs.—10,000 Ibs., $190). Montana statutes also
authorize a permanent registration fee, $260 or $380, depending on weight;

e $130.25—Utah;*

e $140—Idaho;

e $150—Mississippi and Nebraska;
e $175—Wisconsin;

e $180—North Carolina and Washington;

4 Utah's EV fee is based on its maximum road usage charge.
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e $200—Alabama, Arkansas, Ohio, Pennsylvania (in 2025; will be $250 in 2026
and then adjusted annually), Tennessee, Texas (registration renewal), West
Virginia, and Wyoming;

e $210—Oklahoma, < 6,000 Ibs. ($258 if 6,001 Ibs.-10,000 Ibs.);

e $219.84—Georgia, in FY 2024, after an annual adjustment for inflation;
e $230—Indiana, adjusted annually;

e $250—New Jersey, to increase $10 per year through FY 2029; and

e $400—Texas, for a new registration.

Hybrid Vehicles (noted if the statute specifies a plug-in hybrid)
e $21.75—Utah, $16.50 six-month option;®
e $30—Michigan ($100 if >8,000 Ibs.) and South Carolina ($60 biennial fee);
e $44.50—Vermont, for plug-in hybrids;

e $50—Arkansas, Kansas, North Dakota, and Pennsylvania (in 2025; will be
$62.50 in 2026 and then adjusted annually) [Note: Only Kansas’ fee is in lieu of
other registration fees and not in addition to them.];

e $56.50—Utah, for plug-in hybrid; $43.50 six-month option;

e $57.19—Colorado, for FY 2024-2025, adjusted annually. Colorado also imposes
an EV road usage fee at registration, $8 in 2025 and increasing annually;

e $60—Louisiana, Missouri (adjusted annually), and South Carolina (biennially);
e $65—Ilowa, for plug-in hybrid;

e $70—Montana, for plug-in hybrid ($100 if 26,000 Ibs. and <10,000 Ibs.). Montana
statutes also authorize a permanent registration fee, $140 or $200, depending on
weight;

e $75—Idaho (plug-in hybrid), Mississippi, Nebraska (plug-in hybrid), Washington,
and Wisconsin;

5 Beginning on January 1, 2024, Utah’s additional EV fee for hybrid vehicles is to be annually adjusted
according to the change in the Consumer Price Index. Utah 2022 SB 51 changed fees for hybrid
vehicles to $15 and $40 (plug-in hybrid), but that increase is not reflected in the Utah Code as
published on its legislature’s website.
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e $77—Indiana, adjusted annually;
e $90—North Carolina, for plug-in hybrid;

e $100—Alabama (plug-in hybrid), Arkansas (plug-in hybrid), Maryland, Ohio,
Tennessee, and West Virginia;

e $112—Oklahoma ($148 if 6,000 Ibs.—10,000 Ibs.);

e $120—Kentucky, new in 2025, will be adjusted annually. [Note: The definition of
an EV includes any vehicle with plug-in charging capability.]; and

e $150—O0hio, for plug-in hybrids.

Uses of the Fees Specific to Electric and Hybrid Vehicles

Of the 39 states that charge these fees, 27 direct fees collected for EVs and hybrid
vehicles to their equivalents of Kansas’ State Highway Fund, according to NCSL. Other states
direct the revenues elsewhere, with some dividing them. These divisions may include between
state, county, and city governments.

e Use for EV infrastructure—Vermont;

e Divide between the general transportation fund and fund for EV infrastructure—
Alabama, Colorado, Oklahoma, and Washington;

e Divide between the general transportation fund and a different special fund—
Alabama (with local transportation fund and EV infrastructure fund), Idaho (with
local highway funds), lllinois ($1 of additional fee is allocated to the Secretary of
State Special Services Fund), Michigan (with a scrap tire regulation fund), Ohio
(with a fund allocated to municipalities, counties, and townships), Tennessee ($1
to Police Pay Supplement Fund and the rest allocated to the state highway fund,
municipalities, counties, and the general fund), and West Virginia (hybrid fees
allocated to State Road Fund); and

e Place into a different special fund—Indiana (local road and bridge matching grant
fund).

Dates of Enactment of the Initial Electric Vehicle Fees

Most states that currently require fees for EVs, hybrid vehicles, or both initially enacted
those fees in 2017 and later, and some precede 2011. Most state EV fee statutes have
subsequently been amended.

2011—Nebraska;

2013—Colorado and North Carolina;
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2014—Virginia;
2015—Georgia and Michigan;
2016—Wyoming;

2017—=California, ldaho, Indiana, Minnesota, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, West
Virginia, and Wisconsin;

2018—Mississippi and Utah;

2019—Alabama, Arkansas, Hawaii (flat fee), lllinois, lowa, Kansas, North Dakota, Ohio,
and Washington;

2021—O0klahoma and South Dakota;
2022—Kentucky and Louisiana;

2023—Hawaii (road usage charge), Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio,
and Texas; and

2024—Maryland, Nebraska, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania.

Missouri began imposing fees on alternative fuel vehicles in 1998 and added hybrid
vehicle fees in 2018. In 2020, Virginia reduced its registration fees but enacted its Highway Use
Fee and Mileage-based User Fee Program, tying fees to vehicle mpg.

Adjustments to the Fees

Statutes of 14 of the 39 states provide for some sort of automatic adjustment to the fees
on EVs or hybrid vehicles.

e Adjustments based on inflation. California, Colorado, Indiana, Maryland,
Mississippi, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, and Utah base adjustments on changes in
the inflation rate, generally using the Consumer Price Index (CPI) with some
specifying the CPI for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U);

o California specifies the California Consumer Price Index;

o Colorado limits an annual increase to 5 percent, regardless of whether
inflation exceeds that rate;

o Indiana’s adjustment averages changes in CPI-U and Indiana personal
income;

o Kentucky’s adjustments are based on the National Highway Construction
Cost Index, starting in 2025;

o Maryland’s adjustments for inflation begin annually in FY 2026;

o Pennsylvania’s adjustment averages changes in CPI-U beginning in
2027; and
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o Tennessee’s annual adjustments for inflation, based on CPI-U, begin in
2028, and are limited to 3 percent;

e Adjustments based on fuel efficiency. Georgia law states the fee is to be
adjusted by multiplying the percentage of increase or decrease in U.S. average
mpg against the current fee. An alternative fuel logo or emblem on a license plate
allows the vehicle to use lanes reserved for motorcycles and high-occupancy
vehicles. Virginia’s formula for its highway use fee is based in part on the fuel
efficiency of the vehicle;

e Adjustment based on fuel tax rates. Michigan law states adjustments will be
based on increases in the state fuel tax, by $2.50 for a hybrid vehicle and $5.00
for each all-electric vehicle for each 1 cent above 19 cents per gallon in fuel tax.
The statutory state fuel tax of 26.3 cents per gallon on gasoline and also on
diesel fuel is indexed for inflation and currently 31 cents per gallon;

e Adjustments of a set amount. Alabama law states its fees will increase $3
every four years, starting in 2023. Colorado increases its added “road usage
equalization fee” of $4 ($3 for a hybrid) by $4 or more each subsequent year
through FY 2032. Missouri law specifies its alternative vehicle fees will increase
by 20 percent a year for 5 years starting in 2022. New Jersey specifies a $10
increase every year from 2024 into 2028. Tennessee specifies a $74 increase in
2027 then begins to adjust for inflation; and

e Adjustment based on miles driven. Virginia’s formula for its highway use fee is
based in part on the average number of miles traveled by a passenger vehicle in
the state.

Base Registration Amounts

More than half of the states with fees for EVs, hybrid vehicles, or both have flat fees for
registration of passenger vehicles. In some states, however, those flat fees vary based on
various factors. Unless specified otherwise, all fees listed are annual. This memorandum does
not address other fees or taxes, such as the Kansas motor vehicle tax, that may be charged at
vehicle registration.

e Based on weight. Arkansas (<3,000 Ibs., $17; 3,001-4,500 Ibs., $25; 24,501
Ibs., $30); Kansas (<4,500 Ibs., $30; >4,500 Ibs., $40); Maryland (3,500 Ibs.,
$70,50; >3,500 lbs.—<3,700 Ibs., $80.50; >3,700 Ibs., $121.50); Michigan (<3,000
Ibs., $29; 3,001-3,500 lbs., $32; increases by $5 for each additional 500 Ibs.);
New Jersey (3,500 Ibs, $25; >3,500 Ibs, $50); Oklahoma (<6,000 Ibs., $110;
>6,001 Ibs. 10,000 Ibs., $158); Pennsylvania (14,000 Ibs); Virginia (<4,000 Ibs.,
$23; >4,000 Ibs., $28);

e Based on vehicle age. Idaho (1-2 years old, $69; 3-6 years old, $57; 7+ years
old, $45); Oklahoma (registration years 1-4, $85; years 5-8, $75; years 9-12, $55;
years 13-16, $35; years 17 and subsequent, $15);

e Based on value. Nebraska, $15 + $5-$30 based on base value when new;
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e Based on age of the registrant. South Carolina, age 65 or older or
“handicapped,” $36; age 64, $36; age 63 and younger, $40; and

e Based on a combination:

o Colorado—weight (2,000 Ibs, $6; <4,500 Ibs., $6 + $0.20/100 Ibs or
fraction thereof) + vehicle age (<7 years old, $12; 7-10 years old, $12;
210 years, $7);

o Hawaii—flat fee + weight tax of $0.0125/Ib., minimum $12;
o lowa—1 percent of value + $0.40/100 Ibs;
o Louisiana—flat fee + $1 for each $1,000 in value;

o Minnesota—$10 +1.25 percent (if first registered before November 15,
2020) or 1.285 percent (if first registered after that date) of manufacturer’s
suggested retail price, adjusted by age (second year, 90 percent of price,
decreasing in increments of 10 percent to 10 percent in the tenth year) to
$25 for the eleventh and succeeding years;

o North Dakota—gross weight + years the vehicle has been registered,
decreased as the vehicle ages (3,200—4,499 Ibs, years 1-6, $93; years
7-9, $81; years 10-12, $69; years 13+, $57);

o Oregon—flat fee + miles per gallon (for a 2-year registration: <19 mpg,
$126; 20-39 mpg, $136; 40+ mpg, $156 or $86 if participating in a pay-
by-mile program);

o South Dakota—weight (<2,000 lbs, $36; 2,001—4,000 lbs., $72; 4,001-
6,000 Ibs,$108; >6,000 Ibs, $144) + age (70 percent if vehicle is 210
years old as of January 1 of the license fee year); and

o Wyoming—flat fee + factory price + age (3 percent of a percentage of the
price depending on the vehicle’s year of service).

Applicability of Fees to Other Alternative Fuels

While most of the state statutes specified “electric vehicle,” “hybrid vehicle,” or a similar
term, some apply special fees to vehicles powered by more types of alternative fuels:

e California applies its fee to a “zero emission vehicle,” defined as “a vehicle that
produces no emissions of criteria pollutants, toxic air contaminants, and
greenhouse gases when stationary or operating, as determined by the state
board”;

e Missouri, which has an “alternative fuel decal fee,” defines “alternative fuel” as
“electricity, liquefied petroleum gas (LPG or LP gas), compressed natural gas
product, or a combination of liquefied petroleum gas and a compressed natural
gas or electricity product used in an internal combustion engine or motor to
propel any form of vehicle, machine, or mechanical contrivance”;
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e Nebraska law states, “Alternative fuel includes electricity, solar power, and any
other source of energy not otherwise taxed under the motor fuel laws which is
used to power a motor vehicle”; and

e Virginia grants authority to its Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles
to determine “a rate equivalent to that levied on gasoline and gasohol on all other
alternative fuel used to operate a highway vehicle.” “Alternative fuel”’ is a
“‘combustible gas, liquid or other energy source that can be used to generate
power to operate a highway vehicle and that is neither a motor fuel nor electricity
used to recharge an electric motor vehicle or a hybrid electric motor vehicle.”

Statutes of Georgia, Missouri, and Nebraska define and use the term “alternative fuel”
but then exclude fuels such as propane, natural gas, or compressed gases from fees listed
above for EVs and hybrid vehicles.

Statutes and Additional Sources

Alabama Ala. Code § 40-12-242

Arkansas A.C.A. §§ 27-14-601, 27-14-614

California Cal.Vehicle Code §§ 9250.6, 9250.8

Colorado C.R.S.A. §§ 42-1-102, 42-3-304, 42-3-306; https://dmv.colorado.gov/state-dmv-
fees, Sustainability Of The Transportation System Act Fees

Georgia Ga. Code Ann., §§ 40-2-151, 40-2-86.1

Hawaii HRS §§ 249-31, 249-36;
https://www.hawaiicounty.gov/departments/finance/vehicle-registration-
licensing/motor-vehicles-fee-information

Idaho I.C. §§ 49-402, 49-457

lllinois 625 ILCS 5/3-805, 5/3-806, 5/1-217

Indiana IC 9-18.1-5-2, 9-18.1-5-12, 6-6-1.6-2, 6-6-1.6-3

lowa I.C.A. §§ 321.109, 321.116

Kansas KSA 8-143, 8-145

Kentucky KRS §§ 138.475, 138.477, 186.050

Louisiana LSA-R.S. 32:461, 47:463

Maryland MD Code, Transportation, § 13-956, 13-912, 13-954

Michigan M.C.L.A. 257.801; https://www.michigan.gov/taxes/business-taxes/motor-
fuel/current-tax-rates-for-motor-fuel-and-alternative-fuel

Minnesota M.S.A. §§ 168.013, 169.011

Mississippi Miss. Code Ann. §§ 27-19-21, 27-19-23

Missouri V.A.M.S. 138.477, 142.869, 301.055; https://dor.mo.gov/motor-vehicle/fuel-
decals.html

Montana MCA 61-3-572

Nebraska Neb.Rev.St. §§ 60-3,143, 60-3,190, 60-3,191

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. § 261:141-C

New Jersey N.J.S.A. 39:3-8.5
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https://dor.mo.gov/motor-vehicle/fuel-decals.html
https://dor.mo.gov/motor-vehicle/fuel-decals.html
https://www.michigan.gov/taxes/business-taxes/motor-fuel/current-tax-rates-for-motor-fuel-and-alternative-fuel
https://www.michigan.gov/taxes/business-taxes/motor-fuel/current-tax-rates-for-motor-fuel-and-alternative-fuel
https://www.hawaiicounty.gov/departments/finance/vehicle-registration-licensing/motor-vehicles-fee-information
https://www.hawaiicounty.gov/departments/finance/vehicle-registration-licensing/motor-vehicles-fee-information

North Carolina

N.C.G.S.A. § 20-87

North Dakota

NDCC, 39-04-19, 39-04-19.2

Ohio

R.C. § 4503.10; https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/doc-fees.aspx

Oklahoma

68 Okl.St.Ann. § 6511; 47 Okl.St.Ann. § 1132, 1132.7

Oregon

O.R.S. §§ 803.420, 803.422;
https://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv/pages/fees/vehicle.aspx

Pennsylvania

Vehicle Code 75 P.a. C.S. §§ 1021912. 9024

South Carolina

Code 1976 §§ 56-3-645, 56-3-620

South Dakota

SDCL §§ 32-5-6. 32-5-30, 32-5-188

Tennessee T. C. A. §§ 55-4-116, 55-4-111

Texas V.T.C.A., Transportation Code §§ 502.252, 502.360, 502.252

Utah U.C.A. 1953 §§ 41-1a-1201, 41-1a-1206, 72-1-213.1

Vermont 23 V.S.A. § 361

Virginia VA Code Ann. §§ 46.2-770, 46.2-772, 46.2-774, 46.2-694; 58.1-2201, 58.1-2249;
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/vehicles/reqgistration

Washington RCWA 46.17.323, 46.17.324, 46.17.350

West Virginia W. Va. Code, §§ 17A-10-3c, 17A-10-3

Wisconsin W.S.A. 341.25

Wyoming W.S.1977 §§ 31-3-101, 31-3-102

All cited statutes and websites were accessed in December 2024, January 2025, or both.
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https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title72/Chapter1/72-1-S213.1.html?v=C72-1-S213.1_2022050420230101
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/vehicles/registration
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title41/Chapter1A/41-1a-S1206.html?v=C41-1a-S1206_2025010120240501
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title41/Chapter1A/41-1a-S1201.html
https://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv/pages/fees/vehicle.aspx
https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/doc-fees.aspx

