Division of the Budget Landon State Office Building 900 SW Jackson Street, Room 504 Topeka, KS 66612



Phone: (785) 296-2436 adam.c.proffitt@ks.gov http://budget.kansas.gov

Laura Kelly, Governor

Adam C. Proffitt, Director

February 14, 2025

The Honorable Pat Proctor, Chairperson House Committee on Elections 300 SW 10th Avenue, Room 218-N Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Representative Proctor:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for HB 2053 by House Committee on Local Government

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning HB 2053 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

HB 2053 would repeal provisions in statute prohibiting a city or county from regulating or prohibiting the placement or number of political signs on certain properties during the 45-day period prior to any election and the two-day period following any election. The bill would also repeal provisions in statute allowing cities and counties to regulate the size and set-back distance for the placement of signs for safety reasons.

The Office of the Secretary of State indicates enactment of the bill would have a minimal effect that could be absorbed within existing resources. The Office states it would have to update training materials for local election offices and update educational and promotional materials to the voting public to comply with the provisions of the bill.

The Governmental Ethics Commission indicates enactment of the bill would not have a fiscal effect on the agency. Any fiscal effect associated with HB 2053 is not reflected in *The FY 2026 Governor's Budget Report*.

The Kansas Association of Counties indicates enactment of the bill would reduce county enforcement of certain statute and could increase complaints by county residents to counties, but a fiscal effect cannot be estimated. The League of Kansas Municipalities indicates enactment of the bill would not have a fiscal effect on cities.

Adam C. Proffitt Director of the Budget

cc: Sandy Tompkins, Office of the Secretary of State Kaitlyn Bull-Stewart, Governmental Ethics Commission Wendi Stark, League of Kansas Municipalities Jay Hall, Kansas Association of Counties