HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 6007

A RESOLUTION recognizing the Kansas National Guard Best Warriors and Airmen of the Year.

WHEREAS, The Kansas Air National Guard's 190th Air Refueling Wing at Forbes Field Air National Guard Base in Topeka, Kansas, currently flies the KC-135R Stratotanker and provides significant contributions to our national defense; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Army National Guard Best Warriors and the Kansas Air National Guard Airmen of the Year represent the most accomplished enlisted members of the Kansas National Guard; and

WHEREAS, The Best Warrior Competition is designed to test all aspects of a soldier through a four-day period in which both junior-enlisted and non-commissioned officers (NCOs) compete for the title of Best Warrior; and

WHEREAS, The competition includes expertise in soldier common tasks, weapons proficiency, outstanding physical fitness and comprehensive military knowledge; and

WHEREAS, The Outstanding Airman of the Year competition is an annual event in which Airmen, NCOs and Senior NCOs compete in various areas, including leadership, job performance in their primary duties, the whole Airman concept and participation in the Wing and local community; and

WHEREAS, Specialist Joseph Minder was selected as the Best Warrior, Sergeant First Class Cody Breon as the Best Warrior NCO, Staff Sergeant Darian Leasher as the Airman of the Year, Technical Sergeant Rachel Pence as the Honor Guard Member of the Year and Master Sergeant Hunter "DIAL" Thurston as the Senior NCO of the Year for the Kansas National Guard: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That we recognize and congratulate the Best Warriors and Airmen of the Year for their outstanding service, dedication and leadership; and

Be it further resolved: That their unwavering professionalism and accomplishments not only strengthen the State of Kansas but also inspire those around them to strive for greatness.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the House, and

was adopted by	y that body	
		Speaker of the House.
		Chief Clerk of the House.