## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1711

A RESOLUTION honoring Michael Young for his outstanding work and contribution to our state as a talented artist and proud Kansas native.

WHEREAS, Michael Young is the visionary behind the remarkable *Brown v. Board of Education* mural, one of the most admired artworks on the Kansas Capitol tour; and

WHEREAS, Through his creativity and dedication, Michael Young brilliantly captured the significance of this pivotal moment in history, reminding us of Kansas' commitment to justice and equality; and

WHEREAS, The mural serves as a striking visual representation of progress and a powerful tool to spark meaningful conversations about civil rights; and

WHEREAS, *Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, Kansas*, stands as a landmark United States Supreme Court case that declared racial segregation in public schools unconstitutional and affirmed that segregation violates the Equal Protection Clause of the 14<sup>th</sup> Amendment of the Constitution of the United States; and

WHEREAS, The *Brown v. Board of Education* landmark decision in 1954 became a monumental step in the fight for civil rights; and

WHEREAS, Kansas has been a leading voice in the struggle for civil rights since it entered the Union as a "free state" in 1861: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we honor Michael Young for his outstanding work and contribution to our state as a talented artist and proud Kansas native; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send enrolled copies of this resolution to Michael Young and Senator Klemp.

Senate Resolution No. 1711 was sponsored by Senators Klemp, Alley, Argabright, Blasi, Blew, Bowers, Bowser, Clifford, Corson, Dietrich, Erickson, Fagg, Faust Goudeau, Francisco, Gossage, Haley, Holscher, Kloos, Masterson, Owens, Peck, Petersen, Pettey, Rose, Ryckman, Schmidt, Shallenburger, Shane, Starnes, Sykes, Thomas, Titus, Ware and Warren.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.