SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1712

A Resolution congratulating and commending the 2025 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of Kansas' best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2025; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. A committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2025 winners; and

WHEREAS, The 2025 Kansas Master Teachers are Casey Engel, an English language arts teacher at Blue Valley High School, USD 229 Blue Valley; Jennifer Gillespie, a social studies teacher at Macksville High School, USD 351 Macksville; Jessica Madinger, an English language arts teacher at Northern Heights High School, USD 251 North Lyon County; Rochelle Mann, a K-4 music teacher at Amelia Earhart Elementary, USD 265 Goddard; Heather Newkirk, a 3rd grade teacher at Heller Elementary, USD 461 Neodesha; Marylavonne Roseberry, an English and speech communications teacher at Sedgwick High School, USD 439 Sedgwick; and Andrew Taylor, a 9th grade biology teacher at Olathe Northwest High School, USD 233 Olathe; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1953; and

WHEREAS, The awards are presented annually to teachers who have long served the profession and exemplify the outstanding qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers; and

WHEREAS, Since 1980, Bank of America has pledged more than \$100,000 to permanently endow the Kansas Master Teacher Awards; and

WHEREAS, In 1984, the Black family of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, established an endowed chair for Kansas Master Teachers; and

WHEREAS, The fund provides a stipend to bring two Master Teachers to Emporia State University for a portion of a semester to provide presentations to classes of education students; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the State of Kansas recognize the invaluable contributions of great teachers such as those being honored today; and

WHEREAS, These 2025 Master Teachers serve as mentors and role models and lay the groundwork for the best educators of tomorrow. They go above and beyond what is expected and offer inspiration, as well as instruction. They teach with heart and soul, and by giving the best of themselves, they encourage students to give their best in return: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2025 Kansas Master Teachers for demonstrating excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That we offer our heartfelt thanks to those extraordinary educators who face so many challenges in the classroom each day, yet persevere, choosing the satisfaction of doing their best and overcoming the frustrations inherent in their job, and we extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send seven enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Argabright.

Senate Resolution No. 1712 was sponsored by Senators Argabright, Blasi, Blew, Owens, Sykes, Tyson and Warren.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.