SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1714

A RESOLUTION recognizing the members of Kansas Task Force 1 for their outstanding efforts as responders during Hurricanes Helene and Milton.

WHEREAS, During the fall of 2024, the Southeastern states of the United States were pummeled by back-toback Hurricanes Helene and Milton; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Task Force 1 was deployed to Florida, Georgia and North Carolina to help with hurricane relief efforts; and

WHEREAS, The members of Kansas Task Force 1 helped local teams with search and rescues, set up mobile hospitals, provided basic life support medical care, transported humans and animals to the nearest location for secondary air or land transport and assisted with relief efforts; and

WHEREAS, Members of Kansas Task Force 1 conducted rescue operations in areas under extremely difficult and grim conditions; and

WHEREAS, The 36 responders deployed represent 22 agencies across Kansas, including Chanute Fire Department, Cherryvale Fire Department, Derby Fire Department, Johnson County MED-ACT, Junction City Fire Department, Manhattan Fire Department, Neodesha Fire Department, Neosho Memorial Regional Medical Center, Olathe Fire Department, Salina Fire Department, Sedgwick County Fire Department, Shawnee Fire Department, Wichita Fire Department and the Office of the State Fire Marshal: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we recognize the members of the Kansas Task Force 1 for their outstanding efforts as responders during Hurricanes Helene and Milton; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 37 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Titus.

Senate Resolution No. 1714 was sponsored by Senators Titus, Alley, Argabright, Billinger, Blasi, Blew, Bowers, Bowser, Joseph Claeys, J.R. Claeys, Clifford, Corson, Dietrich, Erickson, Fagg, Faust Goudeau, Francisco, Gossage, Haley, Holscher, Klemp, Kloos, Masterson, Murphy, Owens, Peck, Petersen, Pettey, Rose, Ryckman, Schmidt, Shallenburger, Shane, Starnes, Sykes, Thomas, Thompson, Tyson, Ware and Warren.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.