SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1717

A RESOLUTION denouncing a satanic worship ritual on the grounds of the Kansas state capitol that is scheduled to take place on March 28, 2025.

WHEREAS, The United States of America is one nation under God, founded upon principles that recognize the importance of faith, morality and the common good; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Senate acknowledges and respects that the First Amendment to the Constitution of the United States guarantees all citizens the right to assemble and the freedom of speech, even as it expresses its profound disagreement with actions that mock or desecrate sacred beliefs; and

WHEREAS, The planned satanic worship ritual is an explicit act of anti-Catholic bigotry and an affront to all Christians. It blasphemes our shared values of faith, decency and respect that strengthen our communities: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we denounce the planned satanic worship ritual scheduled to take place on the grounds of the people's house, the Kansas state capitol grounds, on March 28, 2025, as a despicable, blasphemous and offensive sacrilege to not only Catholics but all people of goodwill, and it runs contrary to the spiritual heritage of this state and nation; and

Be it further resolved: That we condemn the extensive vandalism, including damage to statues, candles and glass, the disrespect of an American flag and hate speech graffitied on the walls of St. Patrick Parish in Wichita, Kansas, on March 15, 2025; and

Be it further resolved: That we call upon all Kansans to promote unity, mutual respect and the values that uphold our identity as one nation under God; and

Be it further resolved: That we call upon Kansas Governor Laura Kelly to condemn the stated activity and its implicit use of stolen property; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Senators Masterson, Blasi and Shallenburger.

Senate Resolution No. 1717 was sponsored by Senators Blasi, Alley, Argabright, Billinger, Blew, Bowers, Bowser, Claeys, J.R. Claeys, Clifford, Corson, Dietrich, Erickson, Fagg, Faust Goudeau, Gossage, Haley, Holscher, Klemp, Kloos, Masterson, Murphy, Owens, Peck, Petersen, Pettey, Rose, Ryckman, Schmidt, Shallenburger, Shane, Starnes, Sykes, Thomas, Thompson, Titus, Tyson, Ware and Warren.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.